OpenRice Index
  
spherepiece
This is spherepiece living in Jurong West. I am a UndergraduateI like to hang out in Arab Street, Chinatown, City Hall. Vietnamese, Singaporean, Malaysian, Hong Kong/ Cantonese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Rare gems and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Pannacotta, Vietnamese Beef Pho.
Member 71 First(s)
No. of Review422 Review(s)
編輯推介數目25 Editor's Choice
Recommended22 Recommended
Popularity4059 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos2460 Photo(s)
Upload Videos5 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant239 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1016 Following
粉絲1297 Follower(s)
spherepiece  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 422 Reviews in Singapore
Singapore: Le Halo Cafe Smile Nov 27, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Kids-Friendly


Don't blink - this is not your average cafe.

 
Le Halo is determined to make your tastebuds and nostalgia-seeking soul very happy, just like its name promises... 'Le' refers to the Chinese character, Joy; while 'halo' is a pun on the word 'hello' (Cue: Adele). It is definitely not your average cafe, and I am thoroughly in love with their creations, one after another after another. Is it far-fetched to say it's worth travelling down to try it? Not at all.

 

 
The moment I entered, I realized that Le Halo is half a boutique store that sells paraphernalia from yesteryear Singapore. curiously well-stocked with all kinds of childhood playthings, furniture and display decor that you might want to furnish your space with. If you're looking to get one of these things... yes, Le Halo is likely to have it.

 

 
Battered soldiers to play morbid games with - pre-meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
No doubt there's a crazy amount of things in there, but somehow it's not too messy and visually assaulting. It serves as a good entertainment and distraction while waiting for your food to be served. Working around a tiny open-concept kitchen, it's surprising how the interior space doesn't smell of oil and food at all, which I deeply appreciate.

 
Mouthwatering and delicious, I dare say this Otak Egg (SGD9.50) tastes even better than otak itself. Inventive and fun dish that has succeeded in understanding what delicious should be, I found myself reaching for it repeatedly because I can't get enough of the taste. A slab of juicy Muah otak on toast. Never knew this combination could be this good.

 
The show-stopper must be this all-time customers favourite, Piggy Stew (SGD11.50), and it's not difficult to see why at all. I'm impressed by how truly flavourful the pork stew is from slow-cooked process, it was just so satisfying to dip in the crispy, freshly toasted bread into this. It looks oily but it doesn't bother the taste when I tried it.

 
Award-winning Eggs Benedict (SGD14.50) from Le Halo deserves all the praise it has gotten thus far, precisely because it does justice to the glorious eggs it incorporated into this dish. Two-way eggs - first is good ol' poached egg doused with in-house hollandaise sauce done to perfection, and second, a cheesy salted muffin cup with ham, egg and cheese stuffed. If all these seemed too overwhelming, take a step back with the brush of pea-paste, horse radish, cherry tomatoes and salad. It is definitely one of the best eggs benedicts around, and worth trying if you're bored of the usual version you get.

 
When the Mushroom Carbonara (SGD14.50) was first set on the table, I eyed it with queer suspicion beacause I almost always found carbonara too greasy and heavy for my liking... but guess what, this one passed my test. It was still slightly greasy but it didn't grate on my appetite, and its bacon bits were gratifying to have... as usual. Beautifully done.

 

 

 
For desserts, Le Halo's eye-catching rainbow Kueh Lapis and rainbow Cakes are their best sellers. Common reservations about rainbow desserts are about how artificial the colours are, but here, they insist that colours are carefully created by natural ingredients. While it must be painstaking to do so, it isn't easy to detect the flavours. For the Kueh Lapis, it tastes like a regular kueh lapis; for the rainbow cake, I must give it credit it does fare better than normal rainbow cakes, I would prefer to have another flavour. Stick to the mains, but at least the desserts are fun to photograph and finally, something rainbow that's safe to eat.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 17, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Singapore: Monster Curry Smile Nov 17, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Curries


Breathe fire, tasty tasty fire.

 
It's been some time since Monster Curry opened in Jurong Point (aka. the best shopping mall in the West and the reason why Westies don't go to town anymore), but I think queues are still forming for this extremely eye-catching fiery red Japanese curry store! If you have trouble finding it... just know it's somewhere beside Starbucks ;)

 

 

 

 
You know how Singaporeans absolutely love new things, new shops, new shopping malls? Same goes for Monster Curry, which saw snaking queues for the first few two weeks of its opening. Unsurprisingly, I joined the queue (after days of badgering people to eat it with me), and had to wait 40 minutes before getting a booth. Luckily, our order of the Combo Curry (SGD25) of Level 1 came pretty quickly. It was humongous; it was practically the size of a face basin! There was pork katsu, fried fish, pork shabu-shabu, shrimp tempura and cheese, and then we added an omelette as a topping. It wasn't that spicy, and level 1 came in the form of a heart-shaped chilli on top of the Japanese curry, so you could easily order Level 5, mix as you go along when you don't think it's spicy enough. The curry was lovely and very fragrant. All of the components were obviously freshly prepared and cooked, I love especially the fried fish and shrimp tempura which had super crispy and thin batter and generous in the meat itself. Three hungry people finished it easily. Would I go again? Yes. Beware, it is addictive!
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Singapore: Aroy Dee Thai Kitchen Smile Nov 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai


Comfort food hunting ground.

 
Aroy Dee Thai Kitchen probably isn't the absolute best Thai food you can get in Singapore, but it does the trick perfectly for me. I've been there twice in a week, somewhat manipulating my friends to go there just because I was eager to return for the taste again. At least, their Thai Iced Milk Tea is a must-order from me, thick and luscious, a bit of an overkill on the first few sips so that it doesn't get watered down when the ice melts. The truly divine milk tea comes from Aloy Thai though.

 

 

 

 
Aroy Dee's Green Curry Chicken was quite spicy, but very shiok with strong flavours of the curry seeped deep into the chicken. The curry itself is quite light and goes very well with the rice. The spiciness and saltiness, however, meant spamming more rice to go with it. In fact, you could very well order this and simply eat this with rice. The Cashew Chicken is another regulars' favourite, with the sweet and sour sauce coating every part of the tender chicken evenly, and real cashew nuts sprinkled around the dish. There is a hint of spiciness in this as well but that makes it even better! The Stir-Fried Kailan with Straw Mushrooms turned out to be a good decision as it allowed our palates to take a break between the intense flavours of these dishes.

Aroy Dee is very comfortable for long conversations, their service staff are always friendly, efficient and prompt with orders, and there's always Just for Laughs: Gags playing on TV to ensure that the little ones don't ever get bored.

For more food reviews: www.amiehu.com
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Seafood

 
Folks who are always on the lookout for new restaurants to have family dinners, celebrations, tzechar meals, steamboat, seafood feasts with friends... look no further - Jing Long Seafood Restaurant 金隆海鲜楼 will pretty much satisfy everything that you want with their thoughtful chefs knowing exactly what customers would love to eat. With the freshest seafood on the stretch of Punggol Settlement restaurants, they promise the most value-for-money and a good mix of classics and creative dishes on the menu. For a limited time period only...

30% off your bill on weekdays (Mon - Fri) for lunch and dinner.

For more information on Jing Long's best dishes, prices and all that you need to know:

 

 

 
Both the alfresco area and indoor area (read: air-con!) of Jing Long are bustling with regulars and new customers, most of them opting for steamboat, and some are enjoying the tze char seafood and classic Cantonese dishes as well. The flexibility means you can literally decide only when you're here, depending on your mood.It should be quite an ideal location for birthdays as well with the accommodating staff that helped with cakes and keeping surprises. You know most Chinese restaurants I've gone to really don't understand the concept of a birthday surprise, but Jing Long is more than experienced to handle all your celebrations.As for seafood, they are freshly caught and cooked, you will be assured that you will be enjoying premium dishes at an affordable price tag.

 
We started the dinner with Cantonese traditions, Chilled Pork Slices (SGD15) which were surprisingly enjoyable even on its own, every bit melty and delicious. It retained much of its original flavour, and preps my appetite for the meal ahead. You can also pair it with the soy sauce on the side, but it is good enough on its own.

 
One of my personal favourites was the Crispy Seafood and Duck Delight with Crepe (SGD15) which would imaginably be a crowd-pleaser as well because of its light crispy batter wrapped around the multi-layered and deep flavoured fillings of both seafood tastes and roasted duck.

 

 
While Jing Long has a range of beverages, juices, coconuts, and alcohols, their in-house unique concoction - the Green Apple Juice with Sour Plum (SGD5.50) is an absolute must-try, with sour plums specially sourced to achieve a refreshing and interesting blend. While the green apple and sour plums may seem strange, but they actually complement each other very well. I love this one.Note: There is a cover charge per person of SGD1.50++ which includes Pu-er tea, and water and wet towels. This is common practice in all traditional Chinese restaurants.

 
The Prawn, Scallop & Banana with Bagua Rolls (SGD6/each, minimum 3) are curiously delicious, with the amalgamation of all things awesome in the same place. Well, well, isn't that a dream come true? Savour this slowly to appreciate the nuances of this delightful creation, just meant to pamper you silly,

 
The Red Garoupa is steamed to perfection with deep-fried crispy salted turnip bits (SGD10.80/100g), lightly drenched in subtly-flavoured stock, helping to retain the original fresh flavours of the fish itself. I really liked that traditional focus on the fish itself rather than dousing it with too much flavouring. It would surely be suitable for family dinners as everyone always love digging in together to this. The crispy salted turnip bits were a hit with fellow diners as well for its savoury kick.

 
Dragon Vegetables (SGD12) is the most understated dish of vegetables, ever. I mean, I looked at it and thought how special or delicious can vegetables be? Especially when I am not a fan of vegetables at all.. I absolutely fell for this, and it was so crunchy and delicious, it instantly sits at the top of the list as my favourite plate of vegetables ever. The reason why it is so good - it is farmed on the chilly hills of Cameron Highlands, with no pesticides used at all. Healthy and delicious - finally we see it truly manifesting in this plate of Dragon Vegetables.

 
Lobster Porridge (Seasonal pricing) is easily the most lavish porridge there can be, with sweet and pure lobster essence flowing from freshly caught lobsters into the superior broth, stewed for hours to achieve this ultimate umami taste. Indulge away, and it doesn't end here yet, you get to slurp and feast on the generous and fat portions of lobster meat that left me starry-eyed.

 
As tantalising as it soothes my OCD-ness, these delicious creamy milk-coated Spicy Prawn Balls (SGD22) are really the most sinful of all, no prawn shells so you can simply sink your teeth into the juicy, succulent and chewy prawn. Can this be a mainstay of every tzechar I go to? I wish, but this is not easily found in Chinese restaurants, but this is so good!

 
For those who came here precisely to enjoy crabs, one of Singapore's many favourite national past times, Jing Long presents the Black Pepper Crab (Seasonal pricing), pulling no punches when it comes to ensuring the crab is fully sauteed with a strong savoury black pepper taste. Shiok is the word! Plunge into the messy world of yummy crab meat, there's plenty of juicy meat to feast on. It is the rare times that I actually didn't have to fight with the crab to actually eat, the meat slips out quite easily. I have to emphasize again how fresh it is, the sweetness of the crab is unrivalled. Note: As usual, the cost of the black pepper crab is dependent on weight. Jing Long holds themselves to a high standard of integrity when it comes to weight vs price, and they are transparent about it, so do not hesitate to confirm with the service staff before ordering.

 
I understand that steamboats are equally enticing, so if you want to, by all means go for it. I haven't personally tried the steamboat, but if the quality is upheld the same as the tzechar dishes, it would be really good too. Here is the menu for you to consider the steamboat option (Jing Long Seafood Restaurant - Punggol Settlement)

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Coffeeshop | Noodles


You can laksa in many ways, but this is the charcoal-powered way.

 
Power lah. Laksa is a very specific local food: spicy, lemak-coconut rich, piquant, fiery delicious slurping soup with smooth noodles. It's not an everyday thing to develop a craving for, until you catch a whiff of charcoal-powered laksa. It is everywhere in the atmosphere around Sungei Road Laksa, and practically an aroma appetizer - if there is ever such a thing. This is my one of the stops with Roy on our noodle trail and the awesome fragrance in the air just perks us up immediately.

 
Am I late to the game for trying out Sungei Road Laksa only after twenty-two years of existence on this island? I can only say that this definitely goes into the list of food that I hold dear to my heart (and my brain will occasionally conjure it up in the depths of the night).

 
Rather than a city that never sleeps, Singapore is a city that never stops eating. Really, there are people eating everywhere regardless of the time of the day. That's probably why even at two in the afternoon, the folks at Sungei Road Laksa are still super busy with their duties at the stall - replenishing the charcoal, scooping out delicious laksa into their iconic pink bowls. Sharp eyes or regulars would notice they've upped their pricing from $2 to $3 a bowl.

 
No chopsticks, just spoons. Like 368 Katong Laksa's, they've chopped up the noodles to make it easier to eat... which is really a smart way to do it because I definitely cannot resist slowing down on this one! This bowl from Sungei Road Laksa has got a creamy coconut base, chock full of cockles, shrimps, and fishcake, making it really lavish with the taste of the oceans. Mouthwatering just to think about it... the spiciness level is not overpowering but remains apparent, very manageable and enjoyable. It is a good representative of what laksa should be.

For more food reviews: www.amiehu.com

 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0