OpenRice Index
  
spherepiece
This is spherepiece living in Jurong West. I am a UndergraduateI like to hang out in Arab Street, Chinatown, City Hall. Vietnamese, Singaporean, Malaysian, Hong Kong/ Cantonese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café, Rare gems and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Pannacotta, Vietnamese Beef Pho.
Member 71 First(s)
No. of Review422 Review(s)
編輯推介數目25 Editor's Choice
Recommended22 Recommended
Popularity4059 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos2460 Photo(s)
Upload Videos5 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews7 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant239 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1016 Following
粉絲1297 Follower(s)
spherepiece  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 422 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery


Returning to the roots of delicious and nutritious eating.

 
What do you eat everyday? You might find it a hassle to take note of every meal to ensure you've got all the proteins, carbohydrates and fibre covered. I know that feeling, especially when the stomach starts growling, I pretty much settle for whatever that's most convenient. Health problems resulting from unrestrained eating will only surface only when your body is protesting aka. too late! La-di-da. Aren't I such a nag?!

The Bento People @ The Snack Culture makes it easier - they'll take care of the nutrition and focus on making it tasty... you just have to eat. They provide an international menu of 15 selections, from which you choose 3 dishes for your customized bento.

Building a community of good eating habits

 
The boss of The Bento People @ The Snack Culture, Tat Hon (or more affectionately known as Doc), is passionate in developing a conscious routine in his customers to choose a healthier lifestyle in terms of what they eat everyday. The beverages right there are all sugar-free, such as the raspberry soda. Other interesting drinks include bitter gourd teas, iced mint lemon green teas and the Virgin Mary (alcohol-free). There is a 'sugar bar' for those who needs to slowly wean off artificially sweetened drinks. I must admit, it is a little hard to accept entirely sugar-free drinks because I am already so reliant on that particular sensory kick! But surely, one step at a time... I'm heartened by the initiative to go against what's popular and how they take care of their customers like their friends.

 

 

 

 
For the food menu, Tat Hon emphasizes, "Eating healthy doesn't mean it has to bland, and can't be delicious," and sure enough, we tried a lot of the selections he offered and they were definitely up to standard. Most of the mouthwatering flavours came from the ingredients itself instead of seasoning.

What impressed me... the world in a bento! My top three picks:

 
The Bento People @ The Snack Culture has such an impressive array of whole grains, proteins, vegetables and fruits to choose from. Their Weekday Lunch Menu involves the Make Your Own Healthy Bento in which you choose three to put in your customized bento. To rescue you from a dilemma on choosing what to eat, let me pick out some dishes that I'd recommend.

 
The most memorable pick has got to be the velvety salmon confit with its texture-rich combination with the clever addition of Mexican pico de gallo - salad made from diced tomatoes and onions. I already love eating salmon, but I know it ain't easy to be on the other end to cook it well. Double thumbs up from me!

 
An unexpected attractive dish was the quinoa salad with mixed nuts, beans, grapes, drizzled over by yuzu balsamic vinegar dressing. I have to say this was a very creative and refreshing blend that is not easily found in the Singapore food scene. This Spanish grain is often misconstrued to be not as tasty as the rice we are accustomed to... but not if you do it right, as I've tried in here! I went in for seconds, and then thirds for this particular dish! To put it in local terms... it feels like a party of Chinese New Year treats.

 
You can also find the nonya chap chye here, which included black fungus (also: cloud ear fungus) which I have a fond liking towards. There were also lily buds and beancurd skin that added a lot of flavour and jest that excite the tastebuds. It might not be the most photogenic dish, but I've gotta say... who cares about that when it's going to disappear straight into my stomach within seconds?! Especially with that belachan mayo... just ingenious. This success of this self-created dish had led it to become one of the signatures.

Ma Sit Sso Yo: Korean cuisine fans, this one's for you.

 

 
The other customers' hot picks include the ones from the Korean range: Jjigae with sous vide chicken breast and tofu and the bulgogi beef with tofu. I don't particularly like Korean food, but I still have to admit that these dishes are well-handled by the team. Both sauces are on the lighter side and less oily than the usual ones out there, a welcomed difference for me. Tofu provides a powerful alternative source of protein as well.

A lot more for the adventurous you!

 

 

 
Popular choices are potentially still too mainstream for the hipster in you! I was very surprised to see something as exotic as the Greek Tzatziki Cucumber Salad to appear on the menu, I have tried something similar before and it is arguably very different from the typical Singaporean palate. This is quite a good initiation point to try something different.

 
The Bento People @ The Snack Culture stay true to cultural roots with in-house cookies - with different flavours like hae bee hiam and laksa, but gotta say... the hae bee hiam ones are really unique and taste like the real deal itself! If you want to grab this interesting present for someone, you know where to go!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Desserts with substance and form Smile Jul 12, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Café | Desserts and Cakes


French patisserie on the most hipster street in Singapore.

 
A homegrown patisserie, Le Kue, is inspired by French culinary techniques. They are dedicated in their dessert creation with a tropical, Asian spin on most of their cakes. Muslim friends will be able to enjoy their creations as well because Le Kue is consciously Halal (more details here). The crowd they garner on a weekday afternoon is almost all tourists, taking a break from the unrelenting heat. Their interior design adopts a sophisticated and elegant theme and reminds me of W Hotel Singapore... in a good way.

 

 

 

 
Admittedly, I am pretty much detached from the local food scene from my months of absence, and Instagram updates from my foodie friends really can't beat the real deal of trying them out myself. One worrying trend is the tendency for desserts and cafes to overcompensate on the Instagrammability of their food and neglecting the taste, so when I was looking at the cakes... they all look gorgeous. Would they be really good too?

For my waistline and wallet, I only tried one cake, the Strawberry Shortcake from their display. It performed quite beautifully... as you can tell after the first shot, I didn't wanted to take any more photos because I couldn't stop savouring it! Underneath its light and fluffy rouge exterior, sweet strawberries fillings was stuffed generously in it. This is what a dessert should be like. I am likely to be back for more.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 02, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dian Xiao Er CNY 2015 Menu Smile Feb 01, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Beijing | Zi Char

 

 
Have you goat any idea where you are going for a sumptuous meal with your family over the Chinese New Year period? Not just for reunion dinners, Dian Xiao Er has three extremely lavish Lunar New Year sets available from 30 January to 5 March 2015. They would definitely agree with all your mass-feasting wishes. They've got all your CNY specials covered. Find out what they are:

 
Dian Xiao Er invited the OpenRice Singapore team and members for this special CNY tasting. This is Reka, our super hyper host for tonight. We were introduced to the three main sets:

(A) 福星高照宴 Everlasting Blissful Set

风生水起(三文鱼鱼生) Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng

展翅高飞 (蟹肉鱼鳔羹) Fish Maw Thick Soup with Crab Meat

满载而归 (当归烤鸭) Duck Roasted with Angelica Herb

嘻哈大笑 (豉油皇干煎虾) Pan-Fried Tiger Prawns with Superior Soy Sauce

团团圆圆 (花生芝麻球) Fried Sesame Ball with Peanut

吉庆有余 (奶黄鱼片) Fish Slices with Salted Egg Sauce

好市发财 (蚝豉发菜东坡肉) Prosperous Dong Po Pork with Fatt Choy

包罗万有 (冬菇海参螺片) Braised Mushroom, Sea Cucumber and Conch

3 pax - $128 (Item 1 to 5)

4 pax - $178 (Item 1 to 7)

5 pax - $228 (Item 1 to 7)

6 pax - $278 (Item 1 to 8)

7 pax - $328 (Item 1 to 8)

8 pax - $378 (Item 1 to 8)

9 pax - $428 (Item 1 to 8)

10 pax - $458 (Item 1 to 8)

---

(B) 繁荣昌盛宴 Abundant Prosperity Set

风生水起(三文鱼鱼生) Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng

展翅高飞 (红烧蟹肉鱼翅) Shark's Fin Broth with Crab Meat & Conpoy

十全十美 (十全烤鸭) Duck Roasted with Ten Wonder Herbs

遍地黄金 (金瓜奶黄焗小龙虾) Sauteed Baby Lobsters with Pumpkin Sauce

招财进宝 (双菇瑶柱扒菠菜) Assorted Mushroom with Conpoy with Poached Spinach

团团圆圆 (花生芝麻球) Fried Sesame Ball with Peanut

横财就手 (蚝豉冬菇焖猪手) Prosperous Braised Trotters

年年有余 (港蒸斗鲳) HongKong Style Chinese Pomfret

3 pax - $168 (Item 1 to 5)

4 pax - $228 (Item 1 to 7)

5 pax - $278 (Item 1 to 7)

6 pax - $388 (Item 1 to 8)

7 pax - $428 (Item 1 to 8)

8 pax - $478 (Item 1 to 8)

9 pax - $518 (Item 1 to 8)

10 pax - $558 (Item 1 to 8)

---

(C) 富贵豪门宴 Abundant Fortune Set

风生水起(三文鱼鱼生) Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng

三喜临门 (红烧干贝花胶鱼翅) Superior Shark's Fin Broth with Fish Maw & Conpoy

富甲一方 (泡参烤鸭) Duck Roasted with Wild Ginseng

嘻哈欢乐 (江南焗大虾) JiangNan Baked King Prawns

富贵荣华 (原粒鲍鱼极品锅) Luxurious Abalone Treasure Pot

雪兆丰年 (红枣炖雪蛤) D-Boiled Hashima (Cold)

横财就手 (蚝豉冬菇焖猪手) Prosperous Braised Trotters

年年有余 (港蒸斗鲳) HongKong Style Chinese Pomfret

3 pax - $228 (Item 1 to 5)

4 pax - $288 (Item 1 to 6)

5 pax - $368 (Item 1 to 7)

6 pax - $498 (Item 1 to 8)

7 pax - $548 (Item 1 to 8)

8 pax - $618 (Item 1 to 8)

9 pax - $678 (Item 1 to 8)

10 pax - $718 (Item 1 to 8)

---

Prices do not include drinks, towels and peanuts.All prices subject to 10% service charge and prevailing GST.Minimum 50% deposit is required to confirm reservation on CNY eve.Set meals are not entitled to further discount.

风生水起(三文鱼鱼生) Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng

 

 

 

 

 
The Prosperity Salmon Yu Sheng lohei is not only super fun to 'lo' literally because it has so much of everything to grab and toss! The Dian Xiao Er lady staff was very knowledgeable and hospitable in addressing all the sauces, ingredients and auspicious sayings while she poured everything together. In this yusheng, Dian Xiao Er use Norwegian smoked salmon, drizzled with rich oil, plum sauce to create tangy, fresh and varied flavours of which I polished off a huge serving and grabbed a lot of 'golden moneybags' in the process. Be sure to delight in this appetizing yusheng and enjoy a whole year of blessings!

展翅高飞 (红烧蟹肉鱼翅) Shark's Fin Broth with Crab Meat & Conpoy

 

 

 
To indulge very lavishly in shark's fin is possibly a very rare opportunity that is only possible during Chinese weddings or Chinese New Year. If you would like to opt for the more sustainable seafood option, you can replace it with fish maw, crab meat and conpoy. I would strongly recommend you to do that especially because I personally feel that fish maw replicates the shark's fin texture perfectly well and is more environmentally-friendly. The velvety rich texture leaves a savoury, fragrant aftertaste that lingers beautifully on the tongue.

富甲一方 (泡参烤鸭) Duck Roasted with Wild Ginseng

 

 

 
Depending on which set you choose, you can have Angelica Herb, Ten Wonder Herbs or Wild Ginseng herbal sauces to complement the premium roasted duck. The Angelica Herb is the least intense, followed by the Ten Wonder Herbs and then the Wild Ginseng being the strongest one. The roasted duck is marinated with 10 herbs, the same ones used in the ten wonder herbs sauce, including wolfberries and danggui. I loved this dish particularly because the roasted duck is very aromatic and supple that is very good even on its own. If you're asking me which sauce I liked best, it'll be the angelica herb sauce because it adds on further variations to the tastes without being overpowering. I would expect the older generations to love the wild ginseng sauce though.

遍地黄金 (金瓜奶黄焗小龙虾) Sauteed Baby Lobsters with Pumpkin Sauce

 
Surprisingly, I enjoyed this one...very much. When I saw 'lobsters' (alongside 'pomfret', 'abalone', 'hashima'...) on the menu, I felt like it resembled an imperial palace menu! The next thing on my mind was: lobsters... isn't that very difficult to eat? The last thing I wanted was to fight against shelled seafood with my sticky fingers. My experience of eating these baby lobsters was that they were so fresh, they easily deshelled with a very gentle tug with my fork. It didn't require much dining skills and I could stuffed a plump, juicy slab of lobster meat into my mouth, slathered with robust coconut, curry leaves, salted egg, pumpkin and a light touch of chilli padi. It might come off as very spicy, so remember to highlight to the chef to go easy on the chilli padi if your family members can't take spiciness! I found it very satisfying though. This is definitely my favourite dish of the night, hands down!

年年有余 (港蒸斗鲳) HongKong Style Chinese Pomfret

 

 
Lightly steamed in ginger, shallots, spring onions, this definitely tastes every inch of reunion and family dinners that I would always miss once in a while. This is Dian Xiao Er's special CNY upgrade from the daily fare of black or white pomfret, presenting a very rare, large breed of pomfret that is specially imported. Nowadays in the wet markets now, it's difficult to find such luxurious huge pomfret but it's easier for restaurants to source for such exclusive good ones.

招财进宝 (双菇瑶柱扒菠菜) Assorted Mushroom with Conpoy with Poached Spinach

 

 

 
The classic braised trotters is a hearty addition to the menu after hours of professional hard work from the chef! Braised trotters is a must for many people during Chinese New Year. With familiar mainstays in Chinese cuisine like broccoli and shitake mushrooms, there is also a more deluxe upgrade of oysters in the mix for a wholesome feast.

富贵荣华 (原粒鲍鱼极品锅) Luxurious Abalone Treasure Pot

 

 

 
Looking at abalones just bring the festive cheer into the room instantly! Each of the abalone is cloaked with a unique special in-house chef's blend with a satisfying bite and intense flavours. These stars of the dish totally overshone the other ingredients like fish maw, sea cucumber and green peas, but well, aren't they enough already?

雪兆丰年 (红枣炖雪蛤) D-Boiled Hashima (Cold)

 
Whenever I hear of hashima, I think of empresses and imperial concubines in the palace preserving their beauty with this extraordinary goodness. It is kept very cold even minutes after it was served, preserving a refreshing, lightly sweet and elegant dessert. Hashima is also believed to boost vital organs like lungs and kidney, as well as improve skin complexion.

 
For more info: www.amiehu.com
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 26, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The Lab SG: We Experiment Smile Jan 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Halal | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
They do things their way, in a stylized hipster fashion that defies everything that has been tried and tested. They experiment with new elements... like being located in one of the smaller streets in Kampong Glam and having a sprawling fifteen feet long personalized grafitti right outside their wall. You probably wouldn't notice it if you were to enter by their main door. Or so I thought was their main door. Customers are guided to enter through a covert side door at the alley, as if they were accepted into an underground subculture. It's pretty cool and unconventional, and I liked the idea. But before that, to earn a spot in their dinner crowd, you have to bear the queue.. while sitting on overturned revamped beer cartons. The whole experience of being at The Lab begins even before you enter.Being one of the up-and-rising halal cafes in town, one-month old The Lab cafe oversees a predominantly Muslim crowd in its 30-seater space. Its popularity is evident by the queue at seven in the evening. We waited for nearly half an hour for a table, but luckily there was entertainment like taking photos with their graffiti wall and the occasional check by the service staff. I'm not sure what happens during rainy days given that the queuing area is non-sheltered. Advice: go early!

 

 

 

 

 
The Lab sports an evident and dedicated theme throughout their space that are true to their name. Amber glass jars, conical flasks, beakers are strategically positioned all over. It felt like a well-decorated haunted house with the theme of mad scientists with soothing popular beats being played in the background.

 
Their desserts rest on their cake displays, including paleo lemon pies with honey meringue and sea salt brownies. Gluten-free and grain-free without refined sugar - they don't forget about keeping it real and different in every part of their cafe. German bretzels are high on their list as entrees with the choice of salted caramel or chocolate dip. If you're feeling more than only peckish, The Lab offers many more entrees and salads for your choosing. The best part? The food there is priced very affordably, with the large serving of their signature must-try Heisenburger:

 

 

 
Burgers often won't be on my plate, unless they are as highly raved as these Heisenburger ones ($12.90). With an excellently made beef patty that is knitted tight yet retains moisture and scatters softly in every bite, I have to say it's one of the most value-for-money burgers, ever. Did I mention that there is an additional firmly-textured, cheese-laced bacon slice stuffed between the perfectly toasted buns? What's more, you get a good serving of sweet potato fries on the side which can rival truffle fries any day.

 

 

 
For more details: http://www.amiehu.com/2015/01/the-lab-sg-we-experiment.html

 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 05, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Froth Cafe Singapore Smile Jan 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Hotel | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills

 

 
Inconspicuously tucked away in the basement of Big Hotel on Middle Road, the Froth Cafe adopts a minimalist composition with a lot of seating area. Of course, if you are into food photography, there are tables that has natural lighting, white backgrounds, wooden tables... you know that's very important, right? One of the enthusiastic service staff also shared with us that they are still in the midst of food experimentation and haven't done much marketing yet so they do not have much traffic yet. But you know in this digital epoch, Instagram is truly the best marketing tool. That's where I found out about Froth!

 
Don't miss out on Froth Cafe's milkshakes when you are here. While we were agonizing over getting the highly raved Nutella milkshake, the service staff recommended getting the Bubblegum milkshake for an unconventional twist from usual orders. Say whaaat? I was worried it'll be too sweet, but then that confident suggestion felt too irresistible to deny. Okay, Bubblegum milkshake it is.

 
When they set the glass jar on the table... I was like - isn't this more purple than pink? In my imagination, it would be Barbie doll pink, but no.. it's in this curious shade of lavender to be exact. Guess what, the first relief was that it isn't too sweet. It gets more enjoyable after a while with its thickness and even ice-cream-like consistency.

 

 
What we ordered was taro waffles with vanilla bean and sea salt caramel ice-cream. What stood out for me was the taro dollops which has this creamy, muted sweetness density which I liked. I wished there was more. The quality of the ice-cream is equally outstanding - though the sea salt caramel was much preferred for its balance across the salty-sweet spectrum. The waffles felt a little different from all the other waffles from many cafes in that it willing relegates itself to be the supporting cast of the dish. It has a decent level of moistness, only slightly fragrant, reminds me a little of bread in a good portion.

For more detailed review and Froth's menu: http://www.amiehu.com/2015/01/froth-cafe-singapore.html

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 31, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0