OpenRice Index
  
Titania
This is Titania .
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review138 Review(s)
編輯推介數目12 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity1339 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos321 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant13 My Restaurant(s)
Follow16 Following
粉絲122 Follower(s)
Titania  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 138 Reviews in Singapore
Gyoza in the City OK Mar 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 
This new Gyoza restaurant at the basement of the new Robinson mall serves up some really delicious Gyoza! Their menu is rather limited but just go for the Gyoza. I only tried the pan-fried version (they have boiled version as well) and I much prefer the pork gyoza over the veggie gyoza. The skin is thin, crispy and filled generously with good juicy meat. Dip it generously in vinegar to counter the slightly oily filling. 

 
The Jya Jya Ramen is like a Japanese version of our Zha Jiang Mien. It's noodles topped with spring onions, cucumbers and miso paste for flavour. The recommened method to eat it is to mix them together and eat till you are left a little left (about 20%), then crack an egg (they give you one soft boiled egg) over the remainder and stir. Then ask for ramen water to pour over and mix, then eat it as a soupy version. For me, once they added the ramen water, it became so diluted and flavourless. I would much rather just eat it as it orginally was all the way without adding the water. If you are going to ask for the water, make sure they only pour A LITTLE BIT and not fill half the bowl. It's water, not broth so it doesn't add any flavour. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pan Fried Pork Gyoza
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 07, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The steak was a let down OK Jan 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Bars/Lounges | Steaks and Grills

 
This is the Striploin with potatoes and salad. I think because of the thinness of the steak, even though it's cooked medium rare, I still felt it was pretty tough. It's not juicy or tender and there was quite a bit of fatty parts which I had to cut out. The steak was seasoned well but it was a pity that it was quite dry and tough. The potatoes had barely any seasoning and could definitely use a pinch of salt. The salad dressing, on the other hand, was very nice! It tasted like some Thai inspired Tom Yum dressing and it was bright, tangy and flavourful. I wish the potatoes had the same dressing.

 
This is their Chocolate torte (I think that's the spelling) dessert. This dessert is quite interesting and I like it. It had a myriad of textures and flavours that kept it from being a boring chocolate dessert. The chocolate portion is like some harden mousse and is quite dark and bitter which is really nice with the crunchy bits. There's earl grey cream, chili biscuits and sticky bits of nougat like chunks in there.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chocolate torte
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Come back for the coffee Smile Jan 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bakery

I was very surprised that TB Bakery interior had a nice cafe cum coffee shop feel to it. I kept thinking it's a Bakery like Breadtalk. The tables are small and seats are very limited so do expect to wait a bit for seats.

 
This is one of their popular items - Kouign-amann. It is very sweet and buttery. I think it's quite delicious but definitely sharing portion because it's going to be quite "gelat" to eat it all by yourself. It's a pastry that's rolled into a snail shape and has layers of sugar and butter. Arteries clogging!! Order this to share.

 
We also had the Quince Lorraine which is like a cheese and ham pie. I like it! But you must eat it quickly after they heat it up for you otherwise once it's cold, the cheese doesn't taste appealing. The crust is crumbly and butter and again, is quite a filling dish.

 
Their coffees are a must try. I read that they get their coffee from the cafe Common Man Coffee Roasters which serves good coffee so I was quite impressed. I tried their Flat White and their Latte, both of which I think is really good. You can really taste the aroma of the coffee beans and there is a nice mellow aftertaste. Not too sweet and a good balance of coffee and milk. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kouign-amann, Flat White
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointing Bento Cry Jan 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi


This is my second try at Koh Grill and thankfully, there wasn't much of a crowd when I went for early lunch.

 
This is the second generation of the Shiok Maki which is the salmon plus prawns combination. The first generation is the salmon and unagi combination. I'm sad that the cheese wasn't really hot when it came to our table and I don't see why it couldn't be as there wasn't many people there yet anyway. It's not bad but could've been better.

 
I had the Set F bento which consist of soft shell crab, unagi and salmon sashimi. The unagi was super disappointing. The picture on the menu show a generous slice of the deep red/brown unagi that we are all familiar with but the one that came was small and black. I know pictures are for illustration purposes only but that's quite a big difference. It tasted charred which overwhelms the taste of the eel. The soft shell crab was okay, nothing special to crow about. The highlight of the bento were the salmon sashimi which were thick and very fresh.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

HotPot It OK Jan 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

Danro is a Japanese hotpot buffet restaurant opened by MOF and is located at Serangoon NEX mall. Basically you get to take as much food as you want at the buffet table which consists of a mix of raw food items (meats, seafood & veggies), cooked food, sauces (they have a row of different sauce which you can mix and match to create your own 'customized' sauce) and other ingredients to add to your meal like rice, noodles and eggs. Do note that I saw a sign that says they will charge if you have too much food wastage so only take what you can finish.

 
The beef and pork comes in these black bento boxes shown in this photo. But frankly I prefer the pork to the beef as I felt the beef was a bit tough (even though I cooked it till it was barely done). Other items like chicken are pretty normal stuff that you find at most buffet lines.

 
They have several broth for you to choose and the pot can hold 2 types of broth. I think the miso broth is not bad for cooking. It's quite salty but adds nice flavour to the meats when you cook them in it. I do not like the spicy broth...it tastes kinda muddy and wasn't very pleasant.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Hot pot
 
Date of Visit: Jan 06, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend