OpenRice Index
  
minischnauzer
This is minischnauzer living in Tampines. I am a Professional bummer Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Coffeeshop and Buffet .
Member 36 First(s)
No. of Review106 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity1012 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos326 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲73 Follower(s)
minischnauzer  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 106 Reviews in Singapore
Supper at OldTown Smile Feb 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian

front

front

 
front

front

 
Went to OldTown white coffee to meet some friends over dinner, as usual the they will not be on time. It ended as supper.
set menu

set menu

 
While we were busy marking out our orders something caught my eyes. There's a brochure showing CNY 2013 reunion set. The set consists of 8 treasures bowl set and a float cost $9.80. We decided to order this since it's CNY afterall. But were told we needed to wait for 20 minutes since they needed time to prepare.
starters

starters

 
rootbeermochachoc

rootbeermochachoc

 
We ordered a set of Kaya and butter toast with Mocha white chocolate to fill our hungry stomach.The drinks and toasts came first.
8Tresures

8Tresures

 
8treasures

8treasures

 
The 8 treasures came in a cover bowl. When we opened up sure we were surprised of the contents inside. It consists of char siew, shredded eggs, mince meat,ham, sausage, corn, peas and fresh mushroom cooked together with coconut rice. When we removed the cover we could smell the fragrance of the rice with all the ingredients. The 8 treasures bowl set in my opinion is best eat when all the ingredients are mixed together instead of eating separate. If eaten individually the mince meat will tastes too salthy, all the other ingredients will taste too plain.
Order

Order

 
Orders from the cashier.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

和平宴 Smile Aug 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Dim Sum | Seafood

 
The staffs here were very friendly and helpful. When we were there the captain immediately recognized us. We had been to this restaurant only 2 times. lol

We were looking through the menu and could not decide what we wanted to eat, so had to ask the captain for recommendations. This was recommended:

chopstick 上汤炸鱼皮 (Fish skin with pork bone broth) - S$13.00

 
Broth for dipping

Broth for dipping

 
Crispy fish skin

Crispy fish skin

 
We were supposed to dip the fried fish skin into the superior broth to enhance the taste. I was curious how would the skin tasted without dipping. I had a sip of the broth; it tasted very rich in flavor. I was surprised even without dipping it tasted fresh and crispy, most importantly no fishy taste. When the fried skin was dipped into the broth you can even hear the cracking and sizzling sound. lol

chopstick蒜香排骨 (Garlic Pork rib) - S$18.00

 
The pork tasted very tender and well fried very crispy. The taste of the garlic very strong, those who do not like garlic may be put off by the taste. But overall it still tasted nice. lol

chopstick苋菜三色蛋浸 (Spinach with 3 types of eggs) - S$16.00

 
The dish was served with 3 different eggs (salted, century and normal egg). The vegetables tasted fresh and crunchy, it's blanched just right now overly cooked. The clear gravy tasted light, just right. Highly recommended for those who wants to have something light and simple.

chopstick黄金虾球 (Salted eggs Prawn) - S$28.00

 
The prawns were coated with salted egg. The prawns tasted fresh, crunchy on bite and the slated egg does not over power the freshness of the prawn.

chopstick海鲜粒炒面线 (Fried Seafood Mee Sua) - S$18.00

 
The portion for this dish a little too big for both of us as we were already 3/4 filled with the other dishes. The noodle did not taste soggy, it was just right. They are very generous with the portion of cut seafood. This dish will be good for the main meal rather served as the last dish.

chopstick雷沙汤丸 (Peanut coated glutinous sesame ball) - S$4.80

 

 
Finally the dessert. The glutinous balls tasted very 'QQ', one bite feels very soft.

 
Total bill.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  上汤炸鱼皮 (Fish skin with pork bone broth)
 
Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Chee Chong Fun YTF Smile Aug 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 

 

 
We had been craving for their Chee Chong Fun Yong Tau Fu the whole week. We made it there early thinking the queue will be shorter the the previous times we were there. The queue starts early, since this stall will open early in the morning. I did not crave for anything in particular thus picking up the pieces on sight which took my fancy. When you are really hungry everything looks good even uncooked.

Pick the pieces you fancy give it to the stall holder, tell them your choice of Chee Chong Fun, Bee Hoon, Yellow Noodle or Rice. Dry, Soup or Laksa. Then join the queue which had formed.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chee Chong Fun
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best YTF  Smile May 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

 

 
I had tried yong tau foo in many places in Singapore and nothing beats this stall. For me the "liao" taste more or less the same. But what stands out for this stall is the sauces both the red sweet and chilli sauce. Taste completely different. One unique additional difference is they also have chee chong fun added instead of the usual bee hoon, noodle or rice. They are also very generous with the kang kong and tau gay too, other place you got to ask for more instead.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  chee chong fun YTF
 
Date of Visit: Mar 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dinner at Ming Chung OK May 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Zi Char

 

 
Have not been to this restaurant for a long time. Since both myself and partner were in Jalan Bersar area might as well try the dishes.

 
Since it's a weekend we expected the queue to be snaking long and in for a long wait. But to our surprised the waiting time was much shorter. We were lead to our seat which was whatever available seat. We may share the table with complete strangers or at the same table may have another 2 couples or another family having dinner together.

 

 
We ordered our favourite the lor mee and fried bee hoon. Well I should say that the standard had slide quite a bit. The starchy feel lor mee was not there. Feels very watery instead. The fried bee hoon was just too salty. But overall the service standard remains.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lor Mee and Fried Bee Hoon
 
Date of Visit: Apr 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0