OpenRice Index
  
Jasminetoh
This is Jasminetoh living in Choa Chu Kang. I work in Bukit Timah. I like to hang out in Sembawang. Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Stall / Kiosk.
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review20 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity371 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos60 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲27 Follower(s)
Jasminetoh  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 20 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Vietnamese | Restaurant | Halal

Saw this new outlet at JEM so decided to try it as the queue was the shortest too. tongue
We were promptly shown a table and order was taken. So, decided to take some photos to show the environment of the restaurant as the decorations are quite nice.

 

 

 

 
Food came very quickly despite the restaurant being packed. Great service! lol

 

 
Sliced Beef, Brisket & Beef Balls Noodle Soup. $9.80++
The first time I ate Vietnamese Beef Noodles was 10 years ago, in San Jose, the owner himself is a Vietnamese who immigrate to San Jose and opened a shop there. Till today, I remembered the taste of it & I dare to say, this sliced beef noodle soup at So Pho has almost the exact same memorable taste!!

Noodle comes with fresh mint leaves, cilantro leaves, basil leaves, bean sprouts, a slice of lime and sliced chilli. Kudos to staffs who took the time to pluck both ends of the beansprouts - end results: clean-looking beansprouts!
The mint leaves & lime gives the dish a refreshing taste, the half-cooked beansprouts gives the dish a crunch & the sliced chilli gives the dish just a tinge of spiciness. It is just superbly delicious & wonderful. Needless to say, I finished every single morsel & drop of soup. I will definitely be back to eat more of it!! :bowchopstickl:lollol

Moreover, given that the price is about $10 per bowl, quality & quantity of this dish is definitely value for money!! lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Sliced Beef,Brisket & Beef Balls Noodle Soup
 
Date of Visit: Jun 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Poached Cheesy Dory Smile Jun 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Seafood | Halal | Kids-Friendly

My colleague & I went to The Star Vista for lunch as we were working nearby. Was thinking what to eat and we saw that Manhattan Fish Market is having a promotion on their limited-time-only menu.
poached cheesy dory

poached cheesy dory

 

Poached Cheesy Dory ($15.95++)
The description on the menu sounds super delicious! "Creamy cheese oozing from the poached dory fillet, drizzled with spicy cream sauce, accompanied by wholesome broccoli and carrots." I was overwhelmed by the fact that this dish has dory fish & cheese! that I didn't realized that it has spicy sauce drizzled over it. I can't take anything spicy. sad
Nevertheless, after scraping the spicy sauce away, the combination was delicious. Will definitely be back to have it again WITHOUT the spicy sauce.
Cala cala

Cala cala

 


Cala Cala ($5.50++)
Customers who ordered from their limited-time-only menu gets to choose any mocktail with a top-up of $4. Once again, the description blew me away "Refreshing combination of calamansi and lemonade for a citrus fizzy sensation.". Calamansi & lemonade are two of my favourites! lol. However, BEWARE! The sourness of this drink is not to be trifle with!

Overall, a very nice lunch! Till next time! chopstick
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cala Cala
 
Date of Visit: Jun 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Salmon & Ikura Cream Udon,  Smile Jun 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

My family & I always order salmon sashimi whenever we go to any Japanese restaurant. Was quite disappointed that they have decided to be stricter on the 3 kinds of sashimi. sad It has to be 3 DIFFERENT kinds now as we used to be able to place order for salmon sashimi only.
Nevertheless, as my dad is the kind that has to have his salmon sashimi, we still ordered.
salmon sashimi

salmon sashimi

 
Salmon Sashimi.
2 servings in 1 bowl. They are nicely chilled thick slices. Only thing is that we need to always remember to ask for more wasabi and saucer.
Seasonal promotion

Seasonal promotion

 
MOF has quite a number of promotions being rolled out throughout the year. This seasonal promotion is one of them. I believe it might end roughly around August as that is when Autumn is coming.
salmon & ikura cream udon

salmon & ikura cream udon

 
Salmon & Ikura Cream Udon with Char Siew Rice. ($14.80++)
From the seasonal promotion, I ordered the salmon & ikura cream udon. I love the combination of udon, cream soup and roe. The roe bursting in my mouth is just simply delightful & the thickness of the udon is just right for the consistency of the cream soup. I just can't get enough of this dish. Hopefully, the will put in on their regular menu!
With the udon, comes with char siew rice. It is quite a ordinary rice don with meat and spring onion on it.
Unagi Salad

Unagi Salad

 
Unagi Salad.
We placed order for another salad but after very long it didn't come, in the end, it was out of stock. We were quite disappointed as we were looking forward to try it. The manager, Albert, was very nice. He offered to replace it with any salad on the menu and even charged us at the price of the salad that we initially ordered. Well done to manager Albert!! lol
Personally, I don't really fancy the taste of unagi. Maybe it is the idea of eating eel.. The image of the 2 sinister-looking eels in The Little Mermaid popped into mind.. Eww.. The chef didn't prepare it well enough as there were bones that looks like fins in the salad.

Overall, it was quite a pleasant dining experience & we will definitely be back. bowllol
 
Date of Visit: Jun 03, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mango Pomelo Sago OK Jun 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

After dinner, we went for dessert. The new outlet at JEM was having a promotion on their best-selling.
The space was relatively small & tables were next to one another with little space for movement. People walking pass nearly bumped into us a few times. sad

One of my favourite dessert:

 
Mango Pomelo Sago (promotion price of $2+)
There were only about 4 cubes of mangoes and bits of pomelo. Sago were relatively more probably cause it is cheaper. :/ The consistency of it was very weak with little mango puree.
I felt that they were not generous enough with the ingredients considering this is one of their best-seller desserts.

There is no service charge as customers has to place order at the counter.
Overall, it was still quite alright as I love mango pomelo sago. However, I just felt that they could have done more.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This is the first time my husband & I went to Ramenplay for dinner at their newest outlet.
The area was quite spacious and there were quite a number of tables available but customers were not sit promptly. Probably cause there wasn't enough staffs & it won't be nice to bite off more than they can chew when they can't attend to customers' requests. smile
While queueing, I took a picture of the store front

 
We were shown to our seats & orders were placed. While waiting, we took more photos of the surrounding & menu.

 

 

 
Food came rather quickily given that there were only about 3 chefs in the open-concept kitchen.

 
Cha Shu Tonkotsu Ramen ($12.80++)
The cha shu isn't very fatty. I don't have to separate the fats from the meat! smile
The soup is light & flavourful just like how tonkotsu broth should be. I specially love how this place provides self-grinded sesame to add into the soup.
Needless to say, I finished every single drop of the soup & scrapped the bottom of any bits left out. This might just be my next favourite place for ramen!

 
Butariki Ishinabe ($13.80++)
As it is prepared in a hot stone bowl, my husband's order took slightly longer to come which is usual of hot stone food.
There is a special sauce that the staffs drizzled over the rice before serving, pan-fried and barbequed pork, spring onion, and seaweed and the best thing is that there is not only 1 but TWO raw eggs!! Such generosity! lol He broke the egg & stirred them into the rice making every grain coated with egg. Yummilicious!! lollol

Overall, a very satisfying dinner. Will be back to try their ladyfinger with cod roe side dish as it looks so interesting.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Butariki Ishinabe
 
Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0