4
3
0
等級4
2013-07-01 1753 瀏覽
My evil sistas were celebrating my birthday with me and I chose to dine here. Many has compared this place with the Royal China @Raffles Hotel just across the road. I had my last year's birthday celebration there and the food and service was impeccable. So how do they compare? We made an advanced booking and were led to the dining room upstairs. The staircase is very nicely decorated with a Victorian feel: walls were lined with portraits; the ceiling, a modern chandelier.There is a spacious wait
更多
My evil sistas were celebrating my birthday with me and I chose to dine here. Many has compared this place with the Royal China @Raffles Hotel just across the road. I had my last year's birthday celebration there and the food and service was impeccable. So how do they compare?

We made an advanced booking and were led to the dining room upstairs. The staircase is very nicely decorated with a Victorian feel: walls were lined with portraits; the ceiling, a modern chandelier.
75 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


There is a spacious waiting room at the second floor. On the right, a long corridor leading to many private and non-private dining rooms. All the rooms on this level can be partitioned into private dining room of different sizes. Our table is at Room No.1, where there are about 8 tables set up in this dining area. Nicely painted wallpaper adorned both ends of the room.

90 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered a whole Peking Roast Duck - $62.00++ to share as well as multiple dim sum dishes.
103 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The duck skin was cut into thin slices and served wrapped nicely with a crepe skin. The duck skin was crispy but extremely oily even when eaten with the crepe and cucumber. My mouth was full of grease after eating this.

The balance duck meat was brought back to the kitchen to be shredded and cooked with Ee Fu Noodles and served later. There is a hefty charge of $25++ for this dish. Noodle was well-fried, has lot of wok hei aroma and generous ingredients added too - yum yum!

79 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Prawn dumpling - $5.20++
This is super delicious! Fresh and crunchy prawns wrapped in thin and translucent skin...its was so good we ordered this thrice!

48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pan-Fried Carrot Cake - $4.80++
This dish was the top dish of the day... Best I've ever tasted in the year! Lots of premium Chinese sausage bits inside, making it super fragrant and addictive to eat. We ordered another one... and another!

81 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Prawn Rice Rolls - $5.20++
This is good! Had generous amount of prawns and chives inside a slightly thick but smooth rice skin...the sauce was delicious.

53 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised Beancurd with Peanuts - $6.00++
The beancurd was well braised and flavorful. However the peanuts were a little dry. An expensive dish though.

46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Japanese Style Chicken Mid Wings - $8.00++
This impressive looking dish was super salty! Thumbs down for this dish.

31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stew Chicken Feet in Abalone Sauce - $7.80++
The abalone sauce was nice, both chicken feet and peanuts were fully infused with the fragrance of the abalone sauce. Great dish!

47 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Shanghai Xiao Long Bao - $5.20++
This is good too. The skin of the Xiao Long Bao is thin and has tasty meat juice.

49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Custard Buns - $4.40++
Bun was soft and slightly sweet, custard cream was runny enough...not bad.

52 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Overall, the food served here was very delicious and of comparable standard with Royal China, except for the oily Roast Duck and the salty Japanese Style Chicken Mid Wings.

However, the same cannot be said for the service standards here. The staffs weren't very attentive and basic service such as refilling of tea and ice water needed to be prompted repeatedly. We had to wave very vigorously multiple times and call out loudly to get their attention for additional orders.

Last but not least, do note that this place charges a 'cover charge' of $2.50 per pax (children counted too) that will make dining here more expensive than it should be. Definitely not value for money.

For full review and more pictures, visit http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2013/04/birthday-lunch-at-lei-garden-chijmes.html.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-07
人均消費
$52 (午餐)
推介美食
  • dim sum
等級4
144
0
2013-06-09 1076 瀏覽
its apr babies bday celebration today.. and we are going to Lei Garden at Chijmes for lunch.. food is not too bad.. some of the items are nice but one bad thing abt lei garden is their service.. their service is slow and not responsive enough.. overall we have a great lunch there...the pickles on the right side is nice.. think its XO sauce with pickled lettuce..The har gao is nice. The prawn is fresh and the skin is soft and not thick.The prawn chee cheong fun, the skin is smooth and it tastes v
更多
its apr babies bday celebration today.. and we are going to Lei Garden at Chijmes for lunch.. food is not too bad.. some of the items are nice but one bad thing abt lei garden is their service.. their service is slow and not responsive enough.. overall we have a great lunch there...
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
the pickles on the right side is nice.. think its XO sauce with pickled lettuce..
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The har gao is nice. The prawn is fresh and the skin is soft and not thick.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The prawn chee cheong fun, the skin is smooth and it tastes very nice with the soya sauce.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
we ordered a peking duck.. skin is too oily.. not very fantastic..
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We all love the carrot cake here. The lup cheong (Chinese sausage) make this carrot cake especially yummy and they fry this nice with a nice and crispy skin.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
this beancurd prawn is also nice, the skin is crispy.

For more pics: http://blurblurqin.blogspot.sg/2013/04/7th-april-203-sam-bday-at-lei-garden.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-07
等級4
295
1
2013-05-16 656 瀏覽
We were here for a birthday celebration cos the birthday girl requested for Chinese food. One of our girlfriend recommends Lei Garden as she feel the dim sum here is good. The moment we were seated, we placed order for 1 whole Peking Duck as we're afraid that it might ran out soon, and we proceed to order some dim sums. Food here was pretty good, but service was not as fantastic as expected. Servers were not attentive and a lot of times, you need to remind them twice when you ask for things, etc
更多
We were here for a birthday celebration cos the birthday girl requested for Chinese food. One of our girlfriend recommends Lei Garden as she feel the dim sum here is good.

The moment we were seated, we placed order for 1 whole Peking Duck as we're afraid that it might ran out soon, and we proceed to order some dim sums.

Food here was pretty good, but service was not as fantastic as expected. Servers were not attentive and a lot of times, you need to remind them twice when you ask for things, etc. iced water.. We even have to self-serve to the side plates when we cut the cake.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Peking Duck $62.Skin of the Peking Duck is very crispy, but a little oily. Thus causing the crepe to be a little oil too
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
流沙包 ($4.30). One of the better one I've had, but I prefer those with plain buns.

For pictures of other dim sums that we ordered, please visit:
http://milkfrost.blogspot.sg/2013/04/midass-birthday-lei-garden.html

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-07
人均消費
$50 (午餐)
等級4
2012-05-08 443 瀏覽
This chinese restaurant has a very nice traditional chinese decoration and the environment here is really cosy, comfortable and spacious. My favourite dish here is their steamed pomfret fish. The pomfret fish used in quite big in size and very fresh, which the fish meat is really soft and juicy with stingy taste in it. The sauce in it are really sweet and abit sour which is the caused from the sweet sauce and lots of crunchy preserved slice cabbage in it. Beside, the thinly sliced gingers to
更多
This chinese restaurant has a very nice traditional chinese decoration and the environment here is really cosy, comfortable and spacious. My favourite dish here is their steamed pomfret fish. The pomfret fish used in quite big in size and very fresh, which the fish meat is really soft and juicy with stingy taste in it. The sauce in it are really sweet and abit sour which is the caused from the sweet sauce and lots of crunchy preserved slice cabbage in it. Beside, the thinly sliced gingers topped on the dish really added that extra taste to this dish which added in that slight spicyness to it too.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-05
人均消費
$35 (午餐)
等級3
2011-09-17 426 瀏覽
A treat from my bossWe booked the private room,the room was very nice The food just so so lafish soft &tender,shark fin soup with load of shark fin meat but abit watery & small potionThe service not very good,waitress abit rude & ask for extra plate need to repeat n repeat again ...overall i rate 5/10
更多
A treat from my boss
We booked the private room,the room was very nice
The food just so so la
fish soft &tender,shark fin soup with load of shark fin meat
but abit watery & small potion
The service not very good,waitress abit rude & ask for extra plate need to
repeat n repeat again ...
overall i rate 5/10
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2011-06-29 82 瀏覽
This dinner was organised by our head office in UK, they didn’t inform us beforehand of the venue. Probably they got the information about this restaurant over the web. Anyway, we have a high expectation before we have the meal, as we have been this restaurant for a few occasions.We greeted when we stepped in along the entrance, it gave you the grand welcome feel. We occupied 3 tables in a roll, very spacious seating. Serving crews were polite and well trained, they could communicate in Engl
更多
This dinner was organised by our head office in UK, they didn’t inform us beforehand of the venue. Probably they got the information about this restaurant over the web. Anyway, we have a high expectation before we have the meal, as we have been this restaurant for a few occasions.

We greeted when we stepped in along the entrance, it gave you the grand welcome feel. We occupied 3 tables in a roll, very spacious seating. Serving crews were polite and well trained, they could communicate in English, they could tell us of what we were eating. Change individual serving plate as soon as we finished our food. I would say their services was fantastic, nothing to complain.

Food wise, as it was ordered by our UK colleagues, we guess they have booked the set menu. Our co-colleague comprised Australian, British, Indian, Korean, Chinese and Singaporean. Few of our Indian colleagues were vegetarian, vegetarian dishes have ordered for them but it seemed they didn’t get used to Chinese vegetarian food, they didn’t eat much though. As for us, we liked the Peking duck so much, this was the dish of the day, sadly they didn’t serve with leek, instead they served cucumber and sweet sauce only. The second dish was their daily boiled soup, it was Cantonese style with long hours and slow boiled, it was milky rich in flavour, really good if you liked this type of soup. At first glance of the prawn dish, we thought the usual cereal prawn but cereal shouldn’t be so big pieces, they used crumble soya bean skin, in terms of taste, it was lighten than cereal, texture wise, I would prefer cereal. The rest of the dishes were OK.

If you would like to have a grand place with fantastic services in a Chinese meal, this is the place. I would prefer order al a carte than set menu.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-06-28
等級3
91
6
It's pretty hard to catch their opening time, there's twice where we wanted to come here for yumcha but it's closing....Anyway the food & service are both good (at the standard we expect for the price paid for). No dishes are particularly better than other places, but generally everything's satisfactory. I like the bright & clean environment with high ceiling. We like to sit by the window when we went in big enough group to occupy a private corner so we can LOL without disturbing others ;)
更多
It's pretty hard to catch their opening time, there's twice where we wanted to come here for yumcha but it's closing....

Anyway the food & service are both good (at the standard we expect for the price paid for). No dishes are particularly better than other places, but generally everything's satisfactory.

I like the bright & clean environment with high ceiling. We like to sit by the window when we went in big enough group to occupy a private corner so we can LOL without disturbing others ;)
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食