6
2
0
等級3
38
0
2014-01-23 152 瀏覽
I paid my visit on new year eve of 2013. I called for booking but was informed there will be no booking reserved after 8pm so I booked 7.30pm. When I reached the restaurant, there was quite empty and we were arranged to the seat at level 2.The food were quite good with the priced offered. Recommended the beef don and sushi platter. The small hotpot is not recommended though. Despite that, the service was slow even there's not much customers. The food was served slow.
更多
I paid my visit on new year eve of 2013. I called for booking but was informed there will be no booking reserved after 8pm so I booked 7.30pm. When I reached the restaurant, there was quite empty and we were arranged to the seat at level 2.

The food were quite good with the priced offered. Recommended the beef don and sushi platter. The small hotpot is not recommended though. 

Despite that, the service was slow even there's not much customers. The food was served slow.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Beef Rice
等級4
167
0
2013-11-30 54 瀏覽
For full review and pictures, pls visit:http://madamechewy.com/2013/06/15/watami-at-star-vista/#more-4425Had a gathering with Uni friends who moved to Singapore. R just finished a test so this dinner was also a celebration for him. We went to Star Vista mall, because it was close to R and J’s workplace…and landed up in Watami. I was rather skeptical about dining in Watami, because of the not-so-great reviews on the net. Glad to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food by th
更多
For full review and pictures, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/06/15/watami-at-star-vista/#more-4425

Had a gathering with Uni friends who moved to Singapore. R just finished a test so this dinner was also a celebration for him. We went to Star Vista mall, because it was close to R and J’s workplace…and landed up in Watami. I was rather skeptical about dining in Watami, because of the not-so-great reviews on the net. Glad to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food by this casual dining joint.

The set meal for 4 ($129++) looked like a feast, so we ordered with glee. Some of the dishes on the menu are fixed while we can choose from a list of options for the other items. The portions were generous and all of us were stuffed.

Watami @ Star vista really needs to improve on the service standards though. We sat the back of the restaurant and it was terribly difficult of us to catch the attention of any staff because they were all looking towards the front.

Anyways, back to the food. The fixed dishes were:

Fresh Caesars Salad
Irodori chirashi sushi- Assorted sashimi sushi rice bowl
Sashimi Mori-Assorted Sashimi
Wafu Touban Steak- Self grilled short ribs.
Tempura Moriwase- Deep fried prawns and assorted vegetables

The items whereby we had options were:

We chose Konbu dashi sumo nabe (Konbu sumo wrestler hot pot); the light broth lets the palate taste the freshness of the ingredients.

Other hotpot options were Sukiyaki Nabe (Beef Sukiyami) or Doenjang Chige (Spicy Korean pot with pork)

We chose Udon over rice, as we felt it would complement the hotpot dish better.

The first side dish we had was chicken katsu tamago toji (chicken cutlet with scrambled egg sauce). This is really good fried chicken, and the scrambled egg with stock is super yummy. It was the sizzling favorite of the night.

The next side dish was mentai potato pizza. The roe tastes savory, slightly fishy and slightly spicy. The bacon and mayonnaise overpowered the roe though.

Desserts were nothing to shout about. The milk pudding had a very soft, silky texture but the flavor lacked a punch. These were not part of set meal, but if you order the set meal, there is a discount of up to 50% for desserts.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Fresh Caesars Salad
  • Irodori chirashi Sushi
  • Sashimi Mori
  • Wafu Touban Steak
  • Tempura Moriwase
等級4
2013-07-07 49 瀏覽
The Chicken Katsu toji at Watami cost only $6.90++ for students on weekday, and its valid till 6pm! It is a super good deal. It is served on a hotplate, which isn't hot at all, but the chicken itself is! The outer layer is deep fried and crispy, with goes perfect with the egg sauce. One minus side is the flour looks thicker than the chicken meat itself. The service is not fantastic as well. Even though there was only another occupied table in the restaurant (ie, the waitress are very free), they
更多
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Chicken Katsu toji at Watami cost only $6.90++ for students on weekday, and its valid till 6pm! It is a super good deal. It is served on a hotplate, which isn't hot at all, but the chicken itself is! The outer layer is deep fried and crispy, with goes perfect with the egg sauce. One minus side is the flour looks thicker than the chicken meat itself. The service is not fantastic as well. Even though there was only another occupied table in the restaurant (ie, the waitress are very free), they are not attentive and it is hard to catch their attention. The speed at which the food is served is fast though. For such a cheap price in a restaurant, it is well worth another visit.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-04
人均消費
$8
等級4
230
4
2013-06-08 33 瀏覽
The Watami Restaurant at Star Vista, located just behind Brotzeit, is the Japanese family restaurant's largest outlet, with a warm, welciming environment and ample seating.We ordered the Watami Salad ($6.90++ for half portion, $10.90++ for regular/full portion), the Fishcake with Octopus ($6.90++), the Wafu Pizza ($10.90++) for sharing between two persons.The Watami salad comprises romaine and frissee leaves served with shredded chicken, shredded seaweed, shredded crispy sprung roll skin and the
更多
The Watami Restaurant at Star Vista, located just behind Brotzeit, is the Japanese family restaurant's largest outlet, with a warm, welciming environment and ample seating.

We ordered the Watami Salad ($6.90++ for half portion, $10.90++ for regular/full portion), the Fishcake with Octopus ($6.90++), the Wafu Pizza ($10.90++) for sharing between two persons.

The Watami salad comprises romaine and frissee leaves served with shredded chicken, shredded seaweed, shredded crispy sprung roll skin and their house dressing which tastes like a blend of 1000 island and caesar dressings, with two shelled shrimps and halved cherry tomatoes for garnishing. A colourful salad that tasted as good as it looked.

The octopus fishcake $6.90++ looked big in the photo on the menu but turned out to be a tiny slab cut into six thin slices. It was pleasantly chewy and full of minced octopus but we felt it was rather pricey.

The Wafu Pizza has an ultra thin cracker crisp crust like the pizzas served at Waraku. It is drizzled sparingly with cheese, teriyaki sauce and topped with diced chicken chunks. We quartered the pizza yielding two slices each - tasty but not very filling.

Overall, we had a nice lunch, with prompt and pleasant service from the mainly Filipino staff.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
l
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-06-07
等級4
263
4
For our girls' night out, we decided on Star Vista as we all work pretty close by. Plus, it's really convenient to access since it's just right next to Buona Vista mrt. My friend who's here for the first time, suggested Watami as she passed by it on her way from the station to meet us. (Good location for your restaurant, Watami!)When we first entered, we were surprised to see no staff waiting to seat us. But fret not! That's because they have an automated queuing system where u press a button i
更多
For our girls' night out, we decided on Star Vista as we all work pretty close by. Plus, it's really convenient to access since it's just right next to Buona Vista mrt. My friend who's here for the first time, suggested Watami as she passed by it on her way from the station to meet us. (Good location for your restaurant, Watami!)

When we first entered, we were surprised to see no staff waiting to seat us. But fret not! That's because they have an automated queuing system where u press a button indicating the estimated number of guests, and your queue number pops out. Hey, they even show on their screen the current number so u can know how many are ahead of u. Kudos! I like this system
I did not even realize that the place is so huge, they even have second storey seating. The fact dawned on me only when I saw people coming down from a staircase in a corner to the right of the entrance. We had only one group of people in front of us so we waited for 10 minutes before our number was called out and we were brought to our table by a staff.
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- The screen showing the queue numbers at the entrance of the restaurant

Since we are four smart, petite young ladies
, we promptly decided on ordering the special set for 2 ($59++) to share among the 4 of us. My friend had prior experience with ordering the set and declared that it will definitely be more than enough for sharing.
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- A little snapshot of the special set menu

With the special set, you get many choices (choosing one each for A-E). You can go to their website to see the special set choices if you are the kind who likes to plan in advance what to eat haha. In total, you get to have 8 items and 2 drinks!
The hot yuzu tea is highly recommended. It's really fragrant with the addition of yuzu - you can even taste bits of yuzu inside the tea.

The side dish was first to arrive. The hotate butter yaki had seven pieces of nicely grilled fresh scallops which tasted really delicious with the butter and squeezed lemon juice atop. The chopped garlic and shimeiji mushrooms further enhanced the taste. Oishii!
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Hotate butter yaki

For our main dish, we had the salmon and flying fish roe with rice in stone pot. The pot is really hot so please quickly stir all the ingredients before the rice gets burnt at the bottom (unless that's your intention). Due to the heat, the salmon & egg gets cooked almost immediately and you can start dishing out the rice. This dish is rather tasty and is a rather huge portion.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Salmon and flying fish roe with rice in stone pot

For the hot pot, we tried their new addition, the Korean-style army hot pot. Once again, portion was generous with plenty of vegetables and finely sliced pork. As the additional item, we choose udon which we dunked into the hot pot as well. The soup was slightly spicy and had a bit of kimchi taste to it - not bad.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Korean-style army hot pot

The French Fries seemed a bit out-of-place as an item in a Japanese restaurant. Nevertheless, they were pretty good. The fries were crispy and came in a little metal pot along with 2 dips. The ketchup was normal, the other fruit-based sauce is slightly sweet & zesty, a very nice accompaniment to the fries as well.
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- French fries with 2 dipping sauces
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Close-up of the french fries

The half Caesars Salad given was a really large portion. Wah, I wonder who can finish the actual full Caesars Salad bowl?
I loved the nicely poached egg provided which went really well with the Caesars Salad dressing. The lettuce were very fresh and plenty of croutons and bacon (tasted a bit like bak kua though, not like regular bacon) were given. I'm pretty sure even if you are not a fan of vegetables, this will be one that you will be tempted to try.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Caesars Salad (half) with hot spring egg

To sashimi lovers out there, I apologize for cooking my salmon sashimi pieces in the hot pot. We wanted the set but it came with sashimi, which only 1 out of the 4 diners here eat. That's one of the reasons why we went for just the special set and not the slightly more expensive deluxe set, as it had a larger platter of sashimi. The sole friend who ate her salmon sashimi properly loved the thick, fresh slices.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Salmon sashimi

We were very full at the end of the meal. But as usual...there's always room for dessert ya? We thus ordered a warm chocolate brownie and a green tea matcha parfait. The desserts were only ok though, not as nice as I hoped. We expected the brownie to be warm, but there was only warmed-up chocolate sauce, the brownie itself was at room temperature. It was also not very rich, just tasted like regular chocolate cake. Presentation wise, they could have used a different colored plate to serve up the brownie. Else, black on black just doesn't make the dish stand out.

As for the green tea matcha parfait, it looked good. However, I found the parfait itself to be not cold enough. In fact, I was asking my friends whether there was any ice cream within. I seemed to have just tasted cream. Just an ok dessert as well, nothing fantastic.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Chocolate brownie
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- Green tea matcha parfait

So....if you make some good choices for your set meal and share it with your dining companions, this is a really affordable place! I thought it was really worth it for only $20 per pax for such an extensive variety of food and even including dessert. By the way, we requested for 2 cups of warm water, which was free. A truly satisfying meal!


(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-21
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Special Set
等級3
98
26
2013-02-20 35 瀏覽
Bromance buddies and fellow girlfriends had another dinner meet-up recently at The Star Vista, this time round being my second trip to this newly-opened mall at Buona Vista. The shops are pretty much opened for business, so if you have not stepped foot in here, why not plan a dinner outing and chill out with your family or friends? Eateries are in abundance in The Star Vista and they even boast about "The Star Performance Arts Centre" which includes a 5,000 seat auditorium equipped with the stat
更多
Bromance buddies and fellow girlfriends had another dinner meet-up recently at The Star Vista, this time round being my second trip to this newly-opened mall at Buona Vista. The shops are pretty much opened for business, so if you have not stepped foot in here, why not plan a dinner outing and chill out with your family or friends? Eateries are in abundance in The Star Vista and they even boast about "The Star Performance Arts Centre" which includes a 5,000 seat auditorium equipped with the state of art technology, outdoor amphitheatre and even a private rooftop garden.

After an hour long queue at approximately 8.20pm, only then we were seated into the restaurant. I understand that it was a Friday night and that queues would be more or less unavoidable, but the management could have been better and it is clear that they were shorthanded - seats were empty with used dishes and cutleries from the previous diners piling up on the table.

Kushi Moriawase (S$13.80) - assorted array of finely grilled skewers which consist of chicken thigh meat, two sticks of nankotsu (chicken cartilage) with chicken breast, bacon-wrapped mushroom and spring onions. My favourite amongst all is the nankotsu. Bite into the lightly marinated breast meat and soft crunch of the bone - Yummy! The other various skewers fared normally, as I would prefer them to be slightly more glazed and robust in flavours, such as Shin Kushiya's.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I recommend the Tonpeiyaki (S$8.80), pork belly and cabbage wrapped in omelette-style drizzled with cheese, mayonaise and sweet sauce. The complex combination of so many flavours and textures was just simply mouth-watering and delectable. Anyway, this dish reminded me of tako balls (maybe because of the similar garnishes).
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Watami has this deluxe set meal for 4 (S$129.00), which includes a variety of food items, such as appetizers, salads, sashimis and side dishes. For more information, please click here.

Sashimi Mori 3 - three kinds of assorted sashmi consisting of shrimp, salmon and scallop. The shrimp meat brings along a sweet distinctive taste with a soft chewy crunch, however the salmon and scallop was not fresh with a slightly slimy texture.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Irodori Chirashi Sushi - warm Japanese rice topped up with freshly diced assorted sashimi, seaweed, refreshing cucumber strips and crunchy roes. Personally I do not like the idea of having ginger and wasabi in my sashimi-don, so I took them out. Beautiful combination of colours, flavours and textures.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chicken Katsu Tamago Toji - chicken cutlet with scrambled egg sauce is delicious as well. The batter was nicely crisped, while the interior remained succulent and juicy with the right amount of fat to meat ratio. Dip into the sweet egg sauce to enjoy a bite of heaven.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tempura Moriawase - deep fried prawns and assorted vegetables were nicely fried, unlike Itacho's.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sukiyaki Nabe fared normally, with nothing much to rave about.
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Wafu Touban Steak was my favourite amongst the food items. The lightly-seasoned beef was tender with a nice thin layer of fat. I love it when you can DIY the steak and cook it to your preferred doneness. It also comes with two types of sauces - sweet and soy sauce, but one could definitely eat them wholely by itself.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Generally a nice place to have your weekly makan sessions with your family or friends.

Just a friendly tip - arrive early and skip the dinner crowds, you surely do not want to spend an hour queueing up. But if you happened to stuck in the queue, why not get some Taiwanese desserts from next door first?
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Tonpeiyaki
  • Wafu Touban Steak
等級4
2013-02-04 39 瀏覽
BEWARE all you petite fellow Singaporeans and tourists seeking for Japanese food! Watami offers giant portions thus if you're a small eater like me, sharing is caring (and saving money)Apparently, they offer a 150g portion of chicken katsu. I have no idea why they put the grams over there, it's not like as if we have a weighing machine to check if it's really 150g! AND GUESS WHAT? It costs $11.80! There is no rice provided, so you have to order an additional bowl of rice for $1.40.So yes, it's p
更多
BEWARE all you petite fellow Singaporeans and tourists seeking for Japanese food! Watami offers giant portions thus if you're a small eater like me, sharing is caring (and saving money)
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Apparently, they offer a 150g portion of chicken katsu. I have no idea why they put the grams over there, it's not like as if we have a weighing machine to check if it's really 150g! AND GUESS WHAT? It costs $11.80! There is no rice provided, so you have to order an additional bowl of rice for $1.40.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
So yes, it's put in a hot claypot with lots of eggs and sauce.. delicious stuff which melts in your mouth!
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
An overview of how the chicken looks like, anyway my two friends shared among themselves and it was sufficient (for the rest of us to try tasting it as well).
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
There's also a "watami ramen" branded by their very own restaurant signature, costing $12.80. A clear soup base with flavours that I cannot make up of, and it was also a very huge portion of noodles.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I ordered a plate of Beef Pepper rice and thought it was really delicious! My friends said that it's similar to Pepper Lunch but I beg to differ, because the rice are so much more Japanese-like, and the beef is so much more fresher.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The beef pepper rice costs $9.80, and although in comparison to pepper lunch it's slightly more expensive (without the drinks and all), but at least we don't reek of beefy smell after leaving the restaurant!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Please don't try the Matcha tiramisu if you don't like cheese, i'm quite surprised that they'd put in cheese rather than coffee.. and apparently green tea and cheese don't really go well together, we got quite sick of it. It's only $4.80, quite affordable!
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We also ordered a Matcha Parfait, topped with all sorts of fruits like longan and stuff, this is really a must-try dessert because there are layers of cream, chocolate, green tea and almost everything I could find. It costs $6.80 and you can share it among 4 people!

I also like to particularly point out a very good waiter named Sunny, He's very warm in taking our orders and my friends and I saw him going down on one knee at the customer's level just to take their orders. He's always cheerful and smiling and is willing to go the extra mile to serve his customers. He also helps to clear plates and all, whereas his colleague, a lady with long curly hair, always stood at the counter pretending to check orders... there will be a feedback form in the end for you to voluntarily fill up!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級2
15
0
2012-12-18 35 瀏覽
This was my first time again My friend came from Malaysia, she like to eat Watami's beef. So, she bring me to this restaurant. Thanks to my friend treat the meal.We ordered a delux set for 2 pax. It is around $65.Plus service charge and tax = around $76The set include:-salad which egg on top- beef and vege steamboat-Mee which eat with the steamboat soup-sashimi such as scallop, fresh prawns, salmon.-fried prawns-beef rice with egg on top-small musselsOverall, I like the food but unfortunately,
更多
This was my first time again


My friend came from Malaysia, she like to eat Watami's beef.
So, she bring me to this restaurant.
Thanks to my friend treat the meal.

We ordered a delux set for 2 pax.
It is around $65.
Plus service charge and tax = around $76

The set include:

-salad which egg on top
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
- beef and vege steamboat
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
-Mee which eat with the steamboat soup
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
-sashimi such as scallop, fresh prawns, salmon.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
-fried prawns
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
-beef rice with egg on top
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
-small mussels
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Overall, I like the food but unfortunately, we couldn't finish the food as it was too much for 2 of us.

Well, if for girls who are not really a big stomach, I could suggest that you go 3 person for this (2 pax delux set)


Food comment:
1. For those who not really like the taste of egg yolk, when you eat this salad and beef rice, remember to tell them not to serve the egg or you could take off the egg yolk before you mix the egg white together.


2. The beef on with the beef rice is sweet taste.
I prefer it would be salty instead of sweet taste


3. The sashimi prawns and scallop are quite fresh and the small mussels is fresh too. I like it so much


How to get to star vista:

Nearest mrt : Buona Vista (green line)

SBS Bus: 74,91,92,95,191,196,198,200

Follow the sign written star vista. It is just beside the mrt track.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-10-30
人均消費
$38 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • beef steamboat
  • sashimi
  • small mussels