8
2
1
等級4
2015-05-15 288 瀏覽
It was restaurant week again and we decided to do Chinese for once. Since neither of us had ever been to Summer Palace, we decided to give their lunch a shot.Located on the third floor of Regent Singapore, just a level above Basilico (http://www.timelessfacade.com/2008/09/basilico.html), Summer Palace houses a rather traditional Chinese interior complete with wooden chairs, golden pillars and a floor of red trim carpeting. We were lucky to be seated by the window (3 such tables available) but th
更多
It was restaurant week again and we decided to do Chinese for once. Since neither of us had ever been to Summer Palace, we decided to give their lunch a shot.
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Located on the third floor of Regent Singapore, just a level above Basilico (http://www.timelessfacade.com/2008/09/basilico.html), Summer Palace houses a rather traditional Chinese interior complete with wooden chairs, golden pillars and a floor of red trim carpeting. We were lucky to be seated by the window (3 such tables available) but there was honestly no view to speak of except for the pool below and the hotel guests sunbathing by it. Still, I appreciated the serenity of the whole place.
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chef's Dim Sum Selection - Deep Fried Prawn Roll with Mango - I liked the crisp, deep fried rice noodles that encapsulated bits of crunchy prawn but unfortunately, the taste of mango was almost non existent. What was interesting was that the mayonnaise that came served alongside actually had hints of mango in it. Or was I imagining things?

Barbecued Pork Bun with Pine Nuts - Boasting a crusty, not too sweet top and a generous filling of sweet, mildly gooey BBQ pork, the bun was actually pretty respectable. However, unlike my personal favourite from Lung King Heen (http://www.timelessfacade.com/2014/06/lung-king-heen-part-iii-hong-kong.html), the sweetness from the BBQ pork actually overwhelmed the nutty taste of the pine nuts and the bun itself wasn't as soft or chewy.

Steamed Prawn Dumpling with Bird's Nest -This was your typical 虾角 with a mere aesthetic upgrade aka tasteless shreds of birds nest. Throw in a relatively limp dumpling skin and you have an average prawn dumpling.

Double Boiled Ginseng with Fish Maw, Conpoy and Bamboo Piths - Although I'm personally not a fan of ginseng, this soup was quite good in my humble opinion. Tasty yet light with the mild taste of ginseng helping to keep the nausea at bay and the spongy fish maw coming across as crunchy.

Stir Fried Fish Cubes with Asparagus in Teriyaki Sauce - Flaky and smooth flesh coupled with a light sweetness from the teriyaki sauce and a mild savouriness from the stir fried garlic and ginger. Pretty good. Only issue I had was that the sweetness of the teriyaki dominated the natural sweetness of the cod fish, which I personally am quite a fan of.

Fried Glass Vermicelli with Crabmeat and Black Pepper - A tad chewy with an abundance of wok hei, crab meat shreds and black pepper for that mildly peppery kick, the glass vermicelli was pretty decent. And the beansprouts added a nice crunchiness to it.

Combination of Desserts - Osmanthus Jelly with Wolfberries - Nice and sweet with the wolfberries tasting very similar to raisins.

Mango Sago - Chilled and a tad runny but thankfully, not too sweet. Not as refreshing as I expected and could probably do with a little tartness and a little more time in the fridge.

Lemongrass Jelly - I absolutely dislike lemongrass but this turned out surprisingly acceptable. The lemongrass taste was rather faint and it tasted like your regular ice jelly dessert with crunchy bits of aloe vera. Very decent.

And so concluded our lunch, with two restaurant week lunch sets and a pot of 龙井 hitting the century mark. Pretty satisfactory lunch but I personally don't deem it wow enough for a return visit, not when the normal ala carte prices seem a tad steep for the quality of food. Service was excellent though; warm yet unintrusive.

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2015/05/summer-palace-restaurant-week-lunch.html
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級2
16
0
2013-11-12 167 瀏覽
The Regent hotel has retained much of its original heritage styling, but has through the years done modifications and minor refurbishing to keep with the times. Simply classic.Summer palace is as old as the hotel itself, and retains much authenticity of Chinese semi-fine dining. Having only 2 of us, we sampled the 5 course Power Lunch Set Menu ($52/person, minimum 2 person).The dishes are all deeply-rooted in Chinese cuisine, with minor modifications to keep it more interesting and premium. The
更多
The Regent hotel has retained much of its original heritage styling, but has through the years done modifications and minor refurbishing to keep with the times. Simply classic.

Summer palace is as old as the hotel itself, and retains much authenticity of Chinese semi-fine dining.
Having only 2 of us, we sampled the 5 course Power Lunch Set Menu ($52/person, minimum 2 person).

The dishes are all deeply-rooted in Chinese cuisine, with minor modifications to keep it more interesting and premium. The dumpling skin for example comes infused with Spinach in the skin.
17 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
1st course: Chef's dim sum selection - excellent dim sum, but don't eat the presentation garnish vegetables, it spoils the taste.

2nd course: Double Boiled Seafood Soup served in Golden Pumpkin - my favourite dish. Clear soup double boiled to really get the flavour essence concentrated, it paired lovely with the stronger sweet, soft flesh of the pumpkin bowl that could be easily scooped with a spoon. The crab meat, prawns and scallops inside were also soft and tender, meticulously cooked separately due to varying ingredient cooking times.

3rd course: Pan Fried Wagyu Beef with Soya Sauce - Being a Canton restaurant though, this is a distinctively Chinese dish with a premium touch to it. The beef was definitely tender and thankfully the soya sauce was not overpowering enough to mask the beef flavour completely.

4th course: Fried rice with seafood - Topped with dehydrated deep fried rice grains, the fried rice had a crunchy bite that brings an element of surprise to this common dish. A simple dish that can't go wrong.

5th course: Combination of Desserts which were Osmanthus Jelly, Mango Pudding with Pomelo, Sago Dessert. Another Chef's special, the first 2 are time-honoured Hong Kong desserts that anyone who trained in Hong Kong needs to know. Special highlight to the Chef's own creation of a Sago dessert, containing lemongrass jelly, aloe vera and lime juice with bits of fruit. A very refreshing jelly that clears your palate after the meal.

Food blog at http://sethlui.com
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-29
人均消費
$60 (午餐)
等級4
2013-11-06 157 瀏覽
I have attended a wedding lunch in this hotel ballroom which the food is cooked and prepared by this chinese restaurant. Total 8 courses have been served to us bit among these dishes, there are two dishes which have made an impression to me.ee fu noodles cooked with golden mushroom, which the noodles are very chewy and has stir fry till really fragrant. Generous amount of golden mushrooms and spring onions can be found in this dish which make it very fragrant. However the dessert which is the
更多
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I have attended a wedding lunch in this hotel ballroom which the food is cooked and prepared by this chinese restaurant. Total 8 courses have been served to us bit among these dishes, there are two dishes which have made an impression to me.ee fu noodles cooked with golden mushroom, which the noodles are very chewy and has stir fry till really fragrant. Generous amount of golden mushrooms and spring onions can be found in this dish which make it very fragrant.

However the dessert which is the mango puree with sago and pomelo was a disaster. Very diluted and it was too sweet and not cold. Mango was sour in this dessert. Service here was slow and inefficient. Ballroom was nice and cosy.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-06-10
推介美食
  • ee fu noodles
等級2
11
0
2013-10-11 81 瀏覽
Would recommend to try once for good quality and refined taste but small portions for restaurant week and regular prices look expensive too.......... One plate of beef cubes usually is $68!!But good service and ambiance overall. Parents and grandparents will enjoy especially for special occasionssome of the dishes tried includes Braised Fish Maw Soup with Seafood and Egg White, Suckling Pig, Stuffed with Minced Shrimp and Almond Flakes, Chilled Birds’ Nest with Black Fungus and Vegetables and S
更多
Would recommend to try once for good quality and refined taste but small portions for restaurant week and regular prices look expensive too.......... One plate of beef cubes usually is $68!!

But good service and ambiance overall. Parents and grandparents will enjoy especially for special occasions

some of the dishes tried includes Braised Fish Maw Soup with Seafood and Egg White, Suckling Pig, Stuffed with Minced Shrimp and Almond Flakes, Chilled Birds’ Nest with Black Fungus and Vegetables and Steamed Scallops with Garlic and Glass Vermicelli

More photos and details at http://www.eatprayflying.com/summer-palace-regent-restaurant-week/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-08
人均消費
$68
等級4
333
3
2013-10-08 85 瀏覽
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2013/10/07/restaurant-week-6pax-lunch-summer-palace-regent-hotel-on-7oct2013/ 6 of us decided to go for the S$40++pax restaurant week lunch at summer palace at regent hotel on 7.10.2013. i don’t do restaurant week lunch these days as the offers are not great at dining city ‘star’ restaurants (often worse than credit card like UOB offers & more restrictive in menu than cheaper set lunches). also many ‘star’ restaurants do not provide menu so
更多
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2013/10/07/restaurant-week-6pax-lunch-summer-palace-regent-hotel-on-7oct2013/
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
37 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 of us decided to go for the S$40++pax restaurant week lunch at summer palace at regent hotel on 7.10.2013.

i don’t do restaurant week lunch these days as the offers are not great at dining city ‘star’ restaurants (often worse than credit card like UOB offers & more restrictive in menu than cheaper set lunches). also many ‘star’ restaurants do not provide menu so it is a “trust me” deal, when there are so many other good deals to pick & choose from?

anyhow summer palace provided the menu which looked fine. & we checked at the restaurant the usual lunch menu started at S$68++pax & the restaurant week menu looked better by comparison.

we had trio of dimsum. the mango puff was ok, har gao with birds nest was good consistent with good dimsum restaurant but bird nest was too small a helping to be relevant. the puffy char siew pao was good too sweet like a char siew soh (the reason i don’t take char siew soh) whereas HK Timhowan’s version was a crispy not puffy dough & less sweet & much better.

the sliced fish century egg tan chai soup was quite strange as 1 of my friends observed. it was quite tasty (though no better than a good lie tong), a bit heavy & confusing in taste & kind of poor in presentation for fine dining.

the 1/2 baby lobster in superior sauce (those small 300g ones), which ought to be the centre-piece attraction, was kind of disappointing to me taste-wise. the meat texture was also not bouncy like usual live lobsters & the superior sauce not flavourful enough.

the 烧肉面线 - mian sian was ok not as tasty as chui huay lim. the roast pork however was a disaster. hard & tasteless. i thought it was a poor dish for such a classy restaurant.

the trio of dessert was very average. the osmanthus jelly was ok but harder jelly not as soft & tasty as HK Timhowan’s or the ones they served at the Lantau Big Buddha vegetarian kitchen. the aloe vera & mango were just ok, average.

water & cashew nuts were free. they charged S$2.50pax for chinese tea, quite fair. 4 of us took the poh lei tea. ambience was great, service professional, but the food standard was kind of below par c/w majestic or even tunglok! there was a 1/2lobster but overall taste wise this specially discounted S$40++pax menu gave less satisfaction than a similar priced 6-course lunch set at majestic. of the menu dishes, actually the dimsum were better items (except for dessert) so maybe dimsum here but it sure would be ex.

one last thing, because it was restaurant week, they gave only 1 complimentary parking coupon for 6pax. there were 3 of us who parked at the hotel & my friends kindly let me have the coupon & i noticed on leaving the carpark that the charge was S$10.75 or something! goodness!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-07
等級3
95
35
For the month of July, Chef Leung Kwok Sing- a man known for his creative passion, has specially created new dim sum delights cleverly inspired by everyday food and dishes that he has enjoyed. These new creations place a heavy emphasis on both presentation and freshness of ingredients with the intricate details of every individual item reflecting Chef Liu's culinary pedigree and skill of precision.Available during lunch in the a-la-carte menu, these delicacies will suitably impress business exec
更多
For the month of July, Chef Leung Kwok Sing- a man known for his creative passion, has specially created new dim sum delights cleverly inspired by everyday food and dishes that he has enjoyed. These new creations place a heavy emphasis on both presentation and freshness of ingredients with the intricate details of every individual item reflecting Chef Liu's culinary pedigree and skill of precision.

Available during lunch in the a-la-carte menu, these delicacies will suitably impress business executives here for a corporate lunch, the family celebrating a special occasion and even a group of friends who want an authentic Cantonese culinary experience.

We began with these delicate pouches of Steamed Lobster Dumplings sitting daintily in individual bamboo holders. Wrapped snugly with a spinach skin and topped with a single goji berry and caviar, the kaleidoscope of colors displayed through these dumplings were nothing short of a pretty picture. I particularly enjoyed the full-bodied flavor which had just the right juiciness and sweetness to it. Truly exquisite.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Desserts were undeniably the most globalized and internationally-influenced. The Glutinous Rice Roll with Mango is actually an attempt by Chef Leung to recreate popular Thai dessert- Mango with sticky rice and I have to commend his successful attempt at innovating a delectably charming one-of-a-kind dessert. Granted that it did not taste exactly like the Thai classic, it had the right sticky consistency and a creamy sweet mango centre.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Summer Palace will also be celebrating our nation's 48th birthday with an exclusive National Day Set Lunch available for only a limited period (1-14 August 2013) for $48++.

Enjoy well-loved local favorites with the National Day Dim Sum Combination Platter which features a Steamed Chilli Crab Pau, Satay Pork Dumpling and Sticky Glutinous Chicken Rice as well as outstanding Summer Palace signatures of Hot and Sour Soup with Lobster and Assorted Seafood, Deep-fried Ribs in Coffee Sauce with Broccoli, and a simple yet flavorful Stir-fried Rice Vermicelli with Shredded Duck and Seafood.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Oh yes, and that Steamed Chilli Crab bun flows too! You heard me right, chilli crab! With the sweet, savory and spicy sauce and silvers of real crab meat all encased in a soft steamed bun. Delish!
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Do note that Chef Leung's new dim sum creations are only available from 1st-31st July 2013 and the National Day Set Lunch will be launched from 1st-14th August 2013 so make your reservations fast!

For full review and photos: http://gninethree.com/2013/07/16/dim-sum-delights-summer-palace-chinese-restaurant-regent-singapore
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-03
等級4
2012-10-17 29 瀏覽
Summer Palace at The Regent Hotel might be quite a high end dining place for some people, but they serve quality food for sure. Before the meal, we were served an entree prepared by chef. The slice of century egg is served in a rich dark soy sauce gravy, with fresh spring onion sprinkled on it. Very refreshing as it's cold, leaving a rich after taste in your mouth. We ordered their signature dish - Crispy frog leg ($28). The frog leg is coated in flavourful flour and deep-fried ti very crispy. T
更多
Summer Palace at The Regent Hotel might be quite a high end dining place for some people, but they serve quality food for sure.

Before the meal, we were served an entree prepared by chef. The slice of century egg is served in a rich dark soy sauce gravy, with fresh spring onion sprinkled on it. Very refreshing as it's cold, leaving a rich after taste in your mouth.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered their signature dish - Crispy frog leg ($28). The frog leg is coated in flavourful flour and deep-fried ti very crispy. The frog meat is tender, better taste than chicken. It's definitely a very tasty snack (not main course).
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Bean curd with spinach ($28) contains heaps of fresh crab meat, value for money. However, the flavour is a bit too mild, not salty enough I reckon. The beancurd is quite silky, and lie on top of a bedding of cooked Chinese spinach. Again, the spinach is quite tasteless.
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Sauteed soon hock ($63) is the most expensive dish we ordered on the night, but I like the dish. The chef uses cooking wine to stir fry the fish slices, enhancing the flavour by much. The fresh is very fresh too, good texture!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-08-02
等級4
585
5
2012-04-12 19 瀏覽
I heard a lot about this place and personally tried it myself, it is indeed very good.Most dim sum baskets cost $5-6, by no means expensive for a restaurant of this standing. Yan Ting at the St Regis down the road costs far more (despite what an infamous reviewer may think) and is arguably not as good. What’s more, several of the dim sum items here are different from what one finds in most restaurants, I was so excited that Chef Liu Ching Hai is the mastermind behind Summer Palace.I like their e
更多


I heard a lot about this place and personally tried it myself, it is indeed very good.
Most dim sum baskets cost $5-6, by no means expensive for a restaurant of this standing. Yan Ting at the St Regis down the road costs far more (despite what an infamous reviewer may think) and is arguably not as good. What’s more, several of the dim sum items here are different from what one finds in most restaurants, I was so excited that Chef Liu Ching Hai is the mastermind behind Summer Palace.

I like their egg tart, crispy and soft
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-04-07
人均消費
$40
推介美食
  • egg tart
等級4
2012-02-24 22 瀏覽
But after reading raving reviews about this establishment, I wanted to try some of their signature dishes. Well, take it as a pampering treat for my mum and me!There were not many people when I went there, perhaps reason being it was a weekday. We were shown to our seats, which were by the window where we could see the pool. Usually I would prefer to eat the dishes with rice, so we left some portions for later consumption and waited. But it turned out that we actually need not wait at all, since
更多
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
But after reading raving reviews about this establishment, I wanted to try some of their signature dishes. Well, take it as a pampering treat for my mum and me!

There were not many people when I went there, perhaps reason being it was a weekday. We were shown to our seats, which were by the window where we could see the pool.

Usually I would prefer to eat the dishes with rice, so we left some portions for later consumption and waited. But it turned out that we actually need not wait at all, since the rice could be eaten on its own.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
685
8
2012-02-05 21 瀏覽
Food: spinach, curry meat, oatmeal prawn, braised duckThe seats were comfortable, with a pillow for my back. Although we were suggested by the staff to order tea, it seems that at such a classy Chinese restaurant, ordering tea is sort of a must, so we ordered chrysanthemum tea. Prices are on the high end but I guess you are paying for good value.
更多
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Food: spinach, curry meat, oatmeal prawn, braised duck

The seats were comfortable, with a pillow for my back.
Although we were suggested by the staff to order tea,
it seems that at such a classy Chinese restaurant,
ordering tea is sort of a must, so we ordered chrysanthemum tea.
Prices are on the high end but I guess you are paying for good value.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
86
18
2010-12-31 21 瀏覽
I had a voucher to dine here and was deciding to just order fried rice and dessert. But after reading raving reviews about this establishment, I wanted to try some of their signature dishes. Well, take it as a pampering treat for my mum and me!There were not many people when I went there, perhaps reason being it was a weekday. We were shown to our seats, which were by the window where we could see the pool. The seats were comfortable, with a pillow for my back. Although we were suggested by the
更多
I had a voucher to dine here and was deciding to just order fried rice and dessert. But after reading raving reviews about this establishment, I wanted to try some of their signature dishes. Well, take it as a pampering treat for my mum and me!

There were not many people when I went there, perhaps reason being it was a weekday. We were shown to our seats, which were by the window where we could see the pool. The seats were comfortable, with a pillow for my back. Although we were suggested by the staff to order tea, it seems that at such a classy Chinese restaurant, ordering tea is sort of a must, so we ordered chrysanthemum tea. You could request the level of sweetness for the tea or choose to put the sugar yourself. The tea was crystal clear and it was such a relaxing sight to watch the shiny teaspoon stirring the sugar in the tea.

First up, free appetizer! Carrot with lotus root. The carrot is sweet, tasted raw. Lotus root is bland though.

We ordered 3 main dishes. The Braised Homemade Beancurd with Spinach and Crabmeat ($24) looked like a snow island masterpiece due to the chunks of crab meat flooding the entire dish. There's actually spinach underneath the beancurd. The beancurd was smooth, there's solid crab meat pieces and top all this with savoury sauce! Mmmmm...


Wok Fried Crocodile Meat and Celery with Spicy Sauce ($42): Though I was reluctant to order this dish due to its cost, eventually I ordered it as I wanted to try their crocodile meat. And I didn't regret it one bit! The crocodile meat was sliced thinly, thus I was popping slice after slice into my mouth! There were few mushrooms as well, so it was akin to treasure hunting, finding for the mushrooms and popping them into my mouth with the crocodile meat to excite my taste buds! I even ate lots of celery pieces!

Usually I would prefer to eat the dishes with rice, so we left some portions for later consumption and waited. But it turned out that we actually need not wait at all, since the rice could be eaten on its own. The Eight Treasure Fried Rice ($28) comprises of white and brown rice mixed together, and cooked in a claypot with beancurd, spring onion and meat which I presumed was barbequed pork but the staff claimed it wasn't. Anyway, I couldn't make out what items were in this dish that the staff mentioned, but it doesn't matter, so long as it tastes superb!

For desserts, we had the Chilled Fresh Mango Puree with Sago ($8) and the Chilled Yam Pudding ($7). Mango puree was never a disappointment. There were yam cubes in the pudding, which had a stronger yam taste than the pudding itself. Atop of the pudding were 3 pieces of dragon fruit balls and mint leaf.

I was delighted when the staff gave us 2 red bean pastries and said that it was on the house! The pastry was crisp, red bean paste was sweet and the sesame seeds were fragrant. Lovely petite pastries!

Prices are on the high end but I guess you are paying for good value.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Braised Homemade Beancurd with Spinach and Crabmeat
  • Wok Fried Crocodile Meat and Celery with Spicy Sauce
  • Eight Treasure Fried Rice