23
9
1
等級4
2017-04-19 676 瀏覽
The queue was pretty short when I dropped by. It was just a 15 minutes wait. Maybe because the regulars knew that the staffs were going for 15-minutes lunch break soon at 2.30pm. I was lucky to be the second last order to be made before the break.Orders that cannot be completed by 2.30pm would be given a queue number.The serving looked a tab small for S$10 and served with a bowl of seaweed soup. I was not full after finishing it and seem to be lacking of the wow factor. The sauce was a tab bland
更多
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The queue was pretty short when I dropped by. It was just a 15 minutes wait. Maybe because the regulars knew that the staffs were going for 15-minutes lunch break soon at 2.30pm. I was lucky to be the second last order to be made before the break.

Orders that cannot be completed by 2.30pm would be given a queue number.
40 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
62 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The serving looked a tab small for S$10 and served with a bowl of seaweed soup. I was not full after finishing it and seem to be lacking of the wow factor. The sauce was a tab bland although not too vinegary. Like that the pig's liver was cooked just right - tender. There's lots of pieces of crispy flat fish in it.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2017-04-11
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$10
等級1
1
0
2016-06-18 350 瀏覽
I walk very far to eat noodle. But the que management is very bad, more than 1.30 hours to wait.More than 20 minutes cooking for 1 person. OMG!
更多
I walk very far to eat noodle. But the que management is very bad, more than 1.30 hours to wait.

More than 20 minutes cooking for 1 person.
OMG!

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
333
3
2014-10-23 304 瀏覽
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/23/tai-hwa-bakchormee-at-blk-466-crawford-lane-on-23oct2014/was at ICA for some errands. decided to walk over to tai hwa bakchormee @ blk 466 crawford lane. this the original stall from hill street 1932.time was about 11.10am. i joined the queue at no.7. no one ordered like 5 bowls or packets, so i got my bakchormee in just over 15mins.a very pleasant surprise. the stall proprietor was very polite & friendly, not the usual nazi chef! 
更多
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/23/tai-hwa-bakchormee-at-blk-466-crawford-lane-on-23oct2014/
was at ICA for some errands. decided to walk over to tai hwa bakchormee @ blk 466 crawford lane. this the original stall from hill street 1932.

time was about 11.10am. i joined the queue at no.7. no one ordered like 5 bowls or packets, so i got my bakchormee in just over 15mins.
a very pleasant surprise. the stall proprietor was very polite & friendly, not the usual nazi chef! 

well, the S$5 tai hwa bakchormee was good. 

noodles were qq (al dente) and tasty mixed in the sauce. ingredients minced pork, pork balls, pig liver, soi kao (fish/meat dumpling) & tipoh were good. i thought this style bakchormee had mushroom sauce, but there was none, just the very nice vinegar, chilli sauce taste. very good.

overall i think i like the bakchormee at ming fa bakchormee upper thomson a bit better. close fight anyway.

but after all these time, i think i now prefer the S$4 jalan tua kong meepok tar at 6th avenue. & don’t think i will wait 1/2 for this tai hwa bakchormee.
S$5 tai hwa bakchormee at blk 466 crawford lane
56 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
tai hwa bakchormee at blk 466 crawford lane
56 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-23
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$5 (下午茶)
推介美食
S$5 tai hwa bakchormee at blk 466 crawford lane
tai hwa bakchormee at blk 466 crawford lane
等級4
344
0
2014-03-10 224 瀏覽
specially came to this lavender hawker to try this very famous ba chor mee. do be prepared to queue if you are coming down. my friends and i queue for about 30minutes at around 630pm. and is it really worth the wait? to me, not really. their noodle is quite average but i gotta say the ba chor, wanton and "zhu gan" is really fresh and nice. however, $5 for a hawker ba chor mee is rather expensive. will not specially go down just for it due to the long queue too.
更多
31 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
specially came to this lavender hawker to try this very famous ba chor mee.

do be prepared to queue if you are coming down. my friends and i queue for about 30minutes at around 630pm.

and is it really worth the wait? to me, not really. their noodle is quite average but i gotta say the ba chor, wanton and "zhu gan" is really fresh and nice. however, $5 for a hawker ba chor mee is rather expensive. will not specially go down just for it due to the long queue too.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
308
0
2014-03-06 172 瀏覽
Any bak chor mee lovers should know about this legendary stall. I used to go often with my family or with one of my aunt who like to bring us here. It's been quite long since my last visit and last month i was quite glad to be able to try it again since i was nearby collecting something.First time ever i had this for DINNER! Queue was reasonable but still had to wait cause everyone was like getting 2 - 4/5 bowls of noodles. But worth the wait for my yummy bowl of noodles! I decided to order the
更多
32 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Any bak chor mee lovers should know about this legendary stall. I used to go often with my family or with one of my aunt who like to bring us here. It's been quite long since my last visit and last month i was quite glad to be able to try it again since i was nearby collecting something.

First time ever i had this for DINNER! Queue was reasonable but still had to wait cause everyone was like getting 2 - 4/5 bowls of noodles. But worth the wait for my yummy bowl of noodles!

I decided to order the smallest serving $5 one. I think i took a pretty good drool worthy picture of my bak chor mee. I requested for extra chilli and vinegar and it's SO SHIOK!! Simply enjoy every mouthful of it. Fresh ingredients really enhanced the enjoyment of my bak chor mee.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Bak Chor Mee
等級4
488
4
2014-01-31 52 瀏覽
I ordered the mushroom minced meat mee pok at $5 with lots of chili and vinegar ! This stall rated No 1 bak chor mee in Singapore and is also my No 1 bak chor mee of all the noodles I have tried ! One unique thing about this stall is that they separately cooked the pig liver from the rest of the ingredients and the liver is cooked till so soft until it literally melts in my mouth ! As for the noodles, is springy and their chili is spicy and shiok, and not to forget the vinegar ! The rest of the
更多
I ordered the mushroom minced meat mee pok at $5 with lots of chili and vinegar ! This stall rated No 1 bak chor mee in Singapore and is also my No 1 bak chor mee of all the noodles I have tried ! One unique thing about this stall is that they separately cooked the pig liver from the rest of the ingredients and the liver is cooked till so soft until it literally melts in my mouth ! As for the noodles, is springy and their chili is spicy and shiok, and not to forget the vinegar ! The rest of the ingredients are fresh and the wanton is also very nice. Lastly the soup is cooked with the goodness of the pork and taste naturally sweet. There is always a long queue and have to wait at least 45mins during peak hours. Overall is a must try for all minced meat noodle lovers !
24 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-01-13
等級3
83
1
2013-12-17 64 瀏覽
This stall has been there for a long time. My mum first introduced me to this stall, which is at Crawford Street, 5 minutes walk from ICA Building/Lavender MRT. This stall serves Pork noodles, which includes pork slices and meatball in each bowl of noodles. Their noodles starts its price from $4 onwards. At first I wasn't really used to it as they put vinegar into the noodles. Thus, there's a little sour. But as it gets along, the taste of the chilli and vinegar goes well together and I start to
更多
This stall has been there for a long time. My mum first introduced me to this stall, which is at Crawford Street, 5 minutes walk from ICA Building/Lavender MRT.

This stall serves Pork noodles, which includes pork slices and meatball in each bowl of noodles. Their noodles starts its price from $4 onwards. At first I wasn't really used to it as they put vinegar into the noodles. Thus, there's a little sour. But as it gets along, the taste of the chilli and vinegar goes well together and I start to love it.

Worth a try for noodle lovers. There's also a dessert store next to the eating house - Naomi Kitchen, where you can go for desserts after your meal. But, do prepare to queue for 20 minutes and above on weekends.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$4 (午餐)
等級2
19
0
I'd known before making my way down to Lavender that Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles was a popular bak chor mee stall, with some food bloggers going so far as to claim that it was the best bak chor mee stall in Singapore. I was all ready to give it the benefit of the doubt, seeing as how it was a family-run stall dating back to 1932. Despite the knowledge of all these facts its snaking queue on a Wednesday evening managed to surprise me anyway, and contributed to the already high expectations t
更多
I'd known before making my way down to Lavender that Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles was a popular bak chor mee stall, with some food bloggers going so far as to claim that it was the best bak chor mee stall in Singapore. I was all ready to give it the benefit of the doubt, seeing as how it was a family-run stall dating back to 1932. Despite the knowledge of all these facts its snaking queue on a Wednesday evening managed to surprise me anyway, and contributed to the already high expectations that I'd had of the noodles here.

Um sadly. Wasn't impressed.

For complete review and pictures, please visit: http://theyummyyak.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/hill-street-tai-hwa-pork-noodles/

I kind of get why Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles has its loyal following. The gravy here has a much higher ratio of vinegar than most bak chor mees do, which I suppose goes down well with those who like their noodles with an acidic kick. The fragrant and crisp pieces of ti por or fried solefish provided a nice crunch that provided a pleasant contrast with the springy mee kia (thin noodles), and the pork used here in all its forms - minced, sliced, livers and balls - is fresh, chewy and of good quality. Oh, the one thing that I liked about the bak chor mee here was the broth that came with it. I could literally see a meat cloud in it, which was a precursor to how intensely meaty and flavorful it tasted.

I'm going to go all out blasphemous and say that I don't get the hype about the bak chor mee here. At all. This was okay bak chor mee, yes - but to call it the best bak chor mee in Singapore when I can't even decide if I prefer it to the ones sold by the hawkers in my neighbourhood? Nahhh, I'll take convenience any day.

Just a note of caution if you're thinking of heading here for bak chor mee: They're supposed to close at 9 pm, but their actual closing time is when they run out of ingredients for the day, which, on the day I visited, was 7.30 pm.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$8 (晚餐)
等級4
430
0
2013-10-09 61 瀏覽
I saw there were many branches of Tai Hwa Pork Noodle stalls across Singapore. But I heard that this branch near to ICA Building was the orginal one and they did not open any branches.I went to this Tai Hwa Pork Noodle stall early in the morning at about 1030am and I was given a number tag. The stall's staff told me they will be opening at 11am.Upon 11am, I started my order and I realised the cheapest bowl on the menu was $5! After payment I collected my order and although the bowl was big, the
更多
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
I saw there were many branches of Tai Hwa Pork Noodle stalls across Singapore. But I heard that this branch near to ICA Building was the orginal one and they did not open any branches.

I went to this Tai Hwa Pork Noodle stall early in the morning at about 1030am and I was given a number tag. The stall's staff told me they will be opening at 11am.

Upon 11am, I started my order and I realised the cheapest bowl on the menu was $5!

After payment I collected my order and although the bowl was big, the serving was quite small.

I could smell the heavy vinegar aroma from the hot noodles. The noodles was very spingy and cooked to perfection.

There was not any special sauce that I could taste, just a lot of vinegar.

There were some mushroom, minced pork and wanton. All goes well with the vinegar sauce noodles.

Overall, the price was really a bit high for a small bowl of noodles at a non air-condition kopitiam. For the taste, I would prefer Bak Chor Mee at Eat!, they have braised mushroom sauce for the noodles instead of just plain vinegar.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$5 (早餐)
等級1
3
0
2013-09-07 40 瀏覽
Arrived at 10+ in the morning and had to deal with the obscenely long queue and big orders. Ended up waiting for almost an hour. Had the added bonus of having the old uncle cooking today.Noodles turned out beautifully. Bear in mind, this is Teochew bak chor mee and traditionally, the noodles are not meant to be springy. So for those of you that minus marks because of that, please get your facts right.Asked for extra pork lard, coupled with the piquant sauce and nicely cooked liver, had a wonderf
更多

Arrived at 10+ in the morning and had to deal with the obscenely long queue and big orders. Ended up waiting for almost an hour. Had the added bonus of having the old uncle cooking today.
Noodles turned out beautifully. Bear in mind, this is Teochew bak chor mee and traditionally, the noodles are not meant to be springy. So for those of you that minus marks because of that, please get your facts right.
Asked for extra pork lard, coupled with the piquant sauce and nicely cooked liver, had a wonderful meal. Yummy!
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-07
人均消費
$5 (午餐)
推介美食
  • dry bak chor mee
  • ingredient soup
等級4
2013-09-04 41 瀏覽
Chanced upon this place as I was working nearby. This coffee shop should be servicing people living or working around this area as it is quite secluded. I chose the standard mee pok Minced Meat Noodles ($5) that I usually eat. I think overall, the mee pok noodles is average and can be better. Perhaps I've gone around to eat too much mee pok Minced Meat Noodles that my palate becomes very picky when it comes to this dish.I think all the components of this rendition of the mee pok Minced Meat Nood
更多
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chanced upon this place as I was working nearby. This coffee shop should be servicing people living or working around this area as it is quite secluded. I chose the standard mee pok Minced Meat Noodles ($5) that I usually eat. I think overall, the mee pok noodles is average and can be better. Perhaps I've gone around to eat too much mee pok Minced Meat Noodles that my palate becomes very picky when it comes to this dish.

I think all the components of this rendition of the mee pok Minced Meat Noodles almost but not-yet hit my imagined perfection of what it should be like. For example, the minced pork is tender but not chewy, not much of a bite to speak of. The meatballs are also a little forgettable, not bouncy at all even though it is tasty. The noodles were only slightly clumpy but still okay in general.

Could be better, but it was passable. Saw quite a few celebrities' pictures around the stall and perhaps that raised my expectations.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-09
等級3
34
0
2013-09-02 35 瀏覽
My wife and I had craving for noodles from this famous stall and purposely came earlier around 11am but the Q was already LONG... but the 45min wait was definitely worth it (although my wife "suffered" from being "attacked" by mozzies) LOLThis stall's food standard never disappoint us. The noodles springy, great sauce with tasty soup. My wife is a small eater and she could finish the whole bowl of regular size noodles, so for guys, I will suggest getting a bigger portion to fill you up Of cours
更多
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My wife and I had craving for noodles from this famous stall and purposely came earlier around 11am but the Q was already LONG... but the 45min wait was definitely worth it (although my wife "suffered" from being "attacked" by mozzies) LOL
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This stall's food standard never disappoint us. The noodles springy, great sauce with tasty soup. My wife is a small eater and she could finish the whole bowl of regular size noodles, so for guys, I will suggest getting a bigger portion to fill you up
Of course, the pic above is the bigger portion for myself. Oh, the vinegar goes so well with the noodles... yum yum satisfied customers.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-17
人均消費
$5 (午餐)
等級4
2013-08-08 40 瀏覽
According to Teochew Ah Pa, the price has gone up with inflation. Now the smallest bowl is $5 and we ordered 3 bowls of dry bar chor mee, 2 Mee Kia and 1 Mee Pok. The queue is of course, very long as always.Alas, the much-awaited BCM came up and yes, it was the same old taste that we've had previously. It does not hold back on vinegar and seasonings, and thus give a satisfying kick which lures you back for more.No pork lard but crispy pieces of flatfish still works for us. My family love our BCM
更多
According to Teochew Ah Pa, the price has gone up with inflation. Now the smallest bowl is $5 and we ordered 3 bowls of dry bar chor mee, 2 Mee Kia and 1 Mee Pok.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The queue is of course, very long as always.
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Alas, the much-awaited BCM came up and yes, it was the same old taste that we've had previously. It does not hold back on vinegar and seasonings, and thus give a satisfying kick which lures you back for more.
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
No pork lard but crispy pieces of flatfish still works for us. My family love our BCM the spicy way but their plain version is equally competent. You can self service to more vinegar if you like.
23 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
That said, we noted a problem this time round. Too much sodium in the wanton dumplings and also noodles. I did not remember the food being so heavily seasoned the last time (or my memory must be failing...) But it could also be this distinctive taste or 重口味 that keeps the business going so well after many years.

Indeed, we got thirsty hours after the meal. But well, once-in-a-blue-moon bowl of comforting and satisfying Bak Chor Mee won't hurt too much.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/08/tai-hwa-bak-chor-mee.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$5 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Mee Pok Dry
等級4
BCM
2013-03-12 37 瀏覽
the lunch queue was super long and service was extremely slow. I spent 40 minutes queuing up for this even though I reached there before the lunch peak hour. In my opinion, I find that it is not worth spending 40 minutes queuing up just for this. No doubt that it tastes better than the average ba chor mee but it does not give me a "whoa this is a die die must try food stall" feeling. I also ordered the meatball soup which I find it average or perhaps slightly above average only.
更多
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
the lunch queue was super long and service was extremely slow. I spent 40 minutes queuing up for this even though I reached there before the lunch peak hour. In my opinion, I find that it is not worth spending 40 minutes queuing up just for this. No doubt that it tastes better than the average ba chor mee but it does not give me a "whoa this is a die die must try food stall" feeling. I also ordered the meatball soup which I find it average or perhaps slightly above average only.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$5 (午餐)
等級4
488
4
2013-01-16 27 瀏覽
The FoodI ordered the minced pork mee kia dry with lots of chilli. The noodle is springy and I like their pig liver and soup!!! The pig liver was very soft as it was cooked with the right temperature & time hence not over-cooked which will become hard. Whenever I ordered, will always request for more chilli and vinegar as the combination make me addicted to the taste !! As for the soup is rich & have the natural pork sweetness and seaweed flavour, also can see the minced pork floating on top hen
更多
The Food
I ordered the minced pork mee kia dry with lots of chilli. The noodle is springy and I like their pig liver and soup!!! The pig liver was very soft as it was cooked with the right temperature & time hence not over-cooked which will become hard. Whenever I ordered, will always request for more chilli and vinegar as the combination make me addicted to the taste !!

As for the soup is rich & have the natural pork sweetness and seaweed flavour, also can see the minced pork floating on top hence can tell has been cooked for few hours.

The Service
As I went on weekends late night, the queue still very long. The friendly uncle who take down orders will remember what I want because I always order the same noodles.

The Ambience
Although the stall is in a coffeeshop, i find that the place was well-ventilated and not stuffy hence still acceptable

The Price
I ordered the $6 and the portion is just nice. They also have price range of $5, $6, $8 and $10 and is worth the money even though a bit over-priced!!

Overall
I will definitely come back again to try the $8 version and highly recommended to try this!
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-01-13
人均消費
$6 (宵夜)