6
1
0
等級3
40
0
2014-12-18 174 瀏覽
Came here to try the Assam fish head so many raved about but is disappointed. It is not as sour, spicy and fragrant as I have expected. The fish head is not big enough and the dish does not give the wow factor. I recommend that if they serve in a claypot,the dish might taste better - so that the dish can retain the heat and flavors.Dining in air con comfort is nice of course. The service is really good and the ambience is great. We also tried the mushroom with toufu dish. The sauce is good and t
更多
Came here to try the Assam fish head so many raved about but is disappointed. It is not as sour, spicy and fragrant as I have expected. The fish head is not big enough and the dish does not give the wow factor. I recommend that if they serve in a claypot,the dish might taste better - so that the dish can retain the heat and flavors.

Dining in air con comfort is nice of course. The service is really good and the ambience is great. We also tried the mushroom with toufu dish. The sauce is good and toufu is soft. 

Overall, the main dish did not meet our expectation but there may be other Tze Cha dishes to try here if you prefer to dine in a nice ambience. This place is crowded during dinner so it might also be a good idea to make reservations.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-13
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$25
等級2
20
0
2014-01-26 78 瀏覽
For those who are celebrating early - Gu Ma Jia is offering 10% discount until 29 January when you dine in at the restaurant. For those who are still deciding where to have your CNY reunion lunch/dinner on 30 January (Thursday) - Gu Ma Jia has CNY 2014 Set Menu Promotions with four timings to choose from: 12.00 pm – 2.00 pm, 2.15pm – 4.15pm, 6.00 pm – 7.45 pm, and 8.00pm – 9.45 pm. The restaurant will be closed on 31 January (Friday) and 1 February (Saturday) but operations will resume on 2 Febr
更多
For those who are celebrating early - Gu Ma Jia is offering 10% discount until 29 January when you dine in at the restaurant.

For those who are still deciding where to have your CNY reunion lunch/dinner on 30 January (Thursday) - Gu Ma Jia has CNY 2014 Set Menu Promotions with four timings to choose from: 12.00 pm – 2.00 pm, 2.15pm – 4.15pm, 6.00 pm – 7.45 pm, and 8.00pm – 9.45 pm.

The restaurant will be closed on 31 January (Friday) and 1 February (Saturday) but operations will resume on 2 February (Sunday) - a great day to makan before starting work on Monday, if you have to work on Monday.

Gu Ma Jia is famously known for its signature dish - Assam Fish Head ($28). Many bloggers have praised the delicacy and even celebrities have visited the restaurant to have a taste of this delicious dish. YES! I bet you can finish two bowls of rice with just the gravy. The gravy wins hands down by having the balance of 4S. It was sweet, spicy, savory and sour.

The sweetness of the gravy was very "fishy"... in a good way! I later found out that the natural sweetness of the gravy came from the fish! The fish was cooked in the gravy to perfection with its meat still moist and tender. (FYI: Many places steam the fish head and then pour the gravy over it.) *Apologies for the absence of photograph.

Some people travel all the way here just for its Assam Fish Head. But Gu Ma Jia offers many other good delicious dishes.

For full review with photos, please visit:
http://myfrozenreminiscence.blogspot.sg/2014/01/gu-ma-jia.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Assam Fish Head
等級4
167
0
2013-12-08 67 瀏覽
For pictures and full review, pls visit:http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/07/gu-ma-jia/#more-6499Looking for scrumptious and healthy home cooked food? Gu Ma Jia is the place to visit. Opened in 2009, Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) has built a reputation for whipping up palatable, hearty dishes which are full of warmth. This casual Chinese restaurant has even won an award at the Singapore Food Festival 2010!The friendly and bubbly owner is affectionately known as Gu Ma (aunt in Mandarin), as she is the eldest amon
更多
For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2013/12/07/gu-ma-jia/#more-6499

Looking for scrumptious and healthy home cooked food? Gu Ma Jia is the place to visit. Opened in 2009, Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) has built a reputation for whipping up palatable, hearty dishes which are full of warmth. This casual Chinese restaurant has even won an award at the Singapore Food Festival 2010!

The friendly and bubbly owner is affectionately known as Gu Ma (aunt in Mandarin), as she is the eldest among her siblings. Her family and friends love her cooking and persuaded her to open a restaurant to share her appetizing home-cooked goodness. The family-run restaurant is adamant on serving serve fresh food; they visit the wet-market daily to select seafood and ingredients. Dishes have a special touch thanks to Gu Ma’s personal recipes!

Assam Fish Head ($28) is a must try! This is till date, the freshest fish head curry I tried. Most places tend to cook curry dishes using older fish because the strong spices can mask fishy smell. Gu Ma’s Assam gravy is light on the tongue, which highlights the freshness of the fish. She shared that her fish heads are picked daily to guarantee freshness. The spicy, tangy and sour gravy was addictive, how I wish I could have more!

Gu Ma’s culinary team grinds white pepper from Sawarak to produce their own white pepper sauce. In this White Pepper Crab (seasonal price) dish, Sri Lankan crabs are cooked to perfection. The meat separates from the shell readily, so easy to eat! The sweet crab meat and savory sauce was a match made in heaven.

Salted Egg Yolk Crab (seasonal price) is finger-licking good. Lick the creamy salted egg yolk off the shell and dig into the sweet, firm and juicy meat inside.

We were quite excited when this flaming hotplate was served; rose wine was sprayed onto the aluminum foil and lit up. Ah…so this is the popular Kyoto Pork Ribs ($20), drench in sweet tangy sauce. Gu Ma’s pork ribs are served in aluminum foil to retain the juiciness and natural flavor of the meat. The moist and tender meat is well-marinated; I could even taste the flavor right in the middle of each piece.

Ling Zhi Mushroom Bean Curd ($12/24) was healthy, yet enticing. The home-made tofu blocks had a crispy skin, plus a soft and silky texture.

Treasure Vegetables ($12/$18/$24) consists of 8 different vegetables and ingredients: lotus, black fungus, carrot, celery, vegetarian abalone, lingzhi mushroom, cashew nuts and snap peas. Loved the unique taste and crunchy texture!

Prawns with Superior Sauce ($20/$30/$38) was another delight! Who can resist fresh, succulent prawns in tasty superior sauce?

Kang Kong with Garlic ($9/$14/$18) was done just right; we enjoyed the crunch with each bite.

The final dish in our feast was stirred fried Beef with Bean Sauce Bitter Gourd ($16/$24/$30). Soft and tender beef slices were well-marinated while the bean sauce went well with both the beef and the bitter gourd. Bitter gourd is full of nutritious benefits, rich in vitamins, minerals and folic acid. But because of the taste, it’s not an easy vegetable to like. Gu Ma cooks with younger gourds, which are less bitter, plus the bean sauce masks the bitter flavor

We rounded off the meal with sweet beverages and a wholesome dessert. MIL had Ice Lychee Tea ($3) while I chose warm Home-made Barley ($2) as I was having a sore throat. The barley drinks here is prepared fresh daily. Usually a 30 minute simmer is the standard, but Gu Ma simmers her barley for 2 hours. Longer simmering times gives a more viscous liquid which contains soothing properties and vitamins.

Auntie’s Dessert ($3.50/serving) is packed ingredients with health benefits. Gingko aids memory and concentration, lotus seeds detoxify, white fungus strengths the immune system while wolf berries improve eyesight. I love that the dessert is not too sweet, in line with Gu Ma’s pride of serving healthy food.

By the way, Gu Ma Jia’s second floor has a seating capacity of 70 pax and is equipped with an over-head projector, which is ideal for family celebrations, company networking or team-building events. Gu Ma Jia also provides catering services with a wide variety of dishes at affordable prices.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Kyoto Pork Ribs
  • White Pepper Crab
  • Assam Fish Head
等級2
16
0
2013-10-12 52 瀏覽
I’m an absolute addict for Assam fish head curry, this ambiguous ethnic curry that comes with that Assam spicy and sour kick. I was searching online with terms like “best Assam fish head curry”, and many of the food bloggers quote Gu Ma Jia as one of the best. Well, there’s no stopping me from arguably the best assam fish head curry in Singapore now is there?Arriving by car at Tai Thong Crescent near Macpherson, my family very luckily stumbled upon a car park spot right in front of the restauran
更多
37 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
I’m an absolute addict for Assam fish head curry, this ambiguous ethnic curry that comes with that Assam spicy and sour kick. I was searching online with terms like “best Assam fish head curry”, and many of the food bloggers quote Gu Ma Jia as one of the best. Well, there’s no stopping me from arguably the best assam fish head curry in Singapore now is there?

Arriving by car at Tai Thong Crescent near Macpherson, my family very luckily stumbled upon a car park spot right in front of the restaurant. Normally though, I think finding parking might be an issue as the road there is single lane parallel park lots and I parallel park like Mr. Bean. If you can’t handle the stress of people waiting behind while you try to squeeze in, I suggest to just drive further down instead.

I made table reservations prior because of paranoia. Walking in, I gave my name to the counter girl who ironically doesn’t speak Mandarin in a Chinese restaurant. I’m all for foreign labour to fill the manpower shortage, but I guess you should learn the language given that 99% of the clients here are going to be speaking Mandarin, and some of the older generation doesn’t speak English. They don’t seem to have a very good book keeping of the reservations and had to ask me again for how many people, then randomly gave me a table that was available. Ok la, logistics is not Gu Ma Jia‘s strong point, but it’s the fish head curry that matters after all.

We sat down at our round table and THE Gu Ma herself took our orders. I could tell because she looks exactly like the cartoon caricature beside her logo. She really resembles a adorable typical Singaporean Aunty, with the small eyes and permed hair. She’s quite a good salesperson though, trying to push us more dishes and upsell desserts. Very aunty indeed.

So obviously, the dish we ordered first has to be the famed Assam Fish Head Curry ($25). I was actually expecting it to come in a big curry pot, but instead it’s on the typical fish heating plate. Doesn’t hold a lot of curry sadly. The red snapper fish they used was absolutely fresh; like still swimming in the curry fresh. Usually curries can afford to use older fish because the heavy curry spice would cover up the scent. Here however, the curry was a bit lighter which really lets the freshness of the fish shine. It’s also not overly spicy and would probably sit better with the general audience.

Gu Ma Jia Oyster egg

Oyster omelette ($12). I loved the Or-Luah here. It was pretty much all fluffy eggs and fresh, firm oysters without the gooey starch added. I love it without starch and this was right up my alley. More like a classic prawn omelette style but with oysters.

Kyoto Pork ribs ($20). This was very good ribs with a sweet tangy sauce and tender pork ribs. Not too sure why it needed to come in aluminium foil, perhaps it was baked which explains why the ribs were so soft. Apparently they used to drench rose wine in the pork then flame it, but alas that was a show of the past. Gu Ma Jia Spinach soup

Spinach Soup ($12). Gu Ma Jia‘s version of the egg spinach soup is literally, a soup. The usual style has a more starchy, thick soup and more like a sauce broth instead. Still, this was quite cleansing and refreshing to the palate after all the heavy curries and pork sauces. Have to get some vegetables into the stomach after all.

I think Gu Ma Jia has a very good balance of dishes, and the other items besides their signature Assam Curry Fish Head are quite underrated. A casual, homely experience suited for family diners.

It’s a good Assam fish head curry, but to me not the best. There can be, only one. Ocean Curry Fish Head in my opinion has a stronger, more flavourful Assam Curry, but their fish is not as fresh as Gu Ma Jia. Frankly I don’t think Ocean Fish Head curry is the best in Singapore either and my Assam Curry search will continue.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-22
人均消費
$28 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Assam fish head curry
  • oyster omelette
等級2
18
3
2013-01-21 72 瀏覽
For pictures, visit http://melicacy.com/?p=3912Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) is a hidden gem along Tai Thong Crescent, Sennett Estate, serving up homely but outstanding Chinese fare, in a humble and casual setting.The main dining area spreads over the first floor.The second storey caters to events and functions, but will be opened up to diners when the crowd overflows. There is also a private room that will seat 40 comfortably.Crispy Bean-jal ($10)The Crispy Bean-jal is a great way to kick-start a meal. Eggpl
更多
For pictures, visit http://melicacy.com/?p=3912

Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) is a hidden gem along Tai Thong Crescent, Sennett Estate, serving up homely but outstanding Chinese fare, in a humble and casual setting.

The main dining area spreads over the first floor.

The second storey caters to events and functions, but will be opened up to diners when the crowd overflows. There is also a private room that will seat 40 comfortably.

Crispy Bean-jal ($10)

The Crispy Bean-jal is a great way to kick-start a meal. Eggplant (brinjal) is sliced thinly, battered and fried before coating with a sweet adherent sauce –it is highly addictive, and it didn’t even taste like eggplant. French beans add vibrancy and a refreshing balance to the dish. Nicely done, bean-jal.

Special Made Tofu with Lingzhi Mushroom ($12)

Tofu is homemade using egg and soya bean. No shortcuts here. Once deep-fried, crispy skin encases a smooth silky interior that explodes in your mouth.

Thai Style Beancurd ($6 for 6 pieces)

In this Thai-inspired dish, tender squares of beancurd are fried to a golden exterior, doused in an invigorating sweet-spicy sauce, and scattered with strips of onion atop for pungency and texture.

A pity we tasted the Special Made Tofu prior to this; the texture of this store-bought tofu pales in comparison. If only they employed the homemade tofu in this dish.

Prawn Roll ($8 for 8 pieces)

The Prawn Roll (Ngoh Hiang) reminds me deeply of my late grandmother.

Wrapped in a beancurd skin and fried to crispy perfection, the inside is meaty and tender with chestnut bits for crunch. It is not starchy at all –which is evidence that they don’t scrimp on ingredients.

Oyster Omelette ($12)

I love my Or-Luah (Oyster Omelette). I patronise my favourite Fried Oyster stall at Chomp Chomp on a regular basis. I love that starchy egg-y composition, and I tend to order it without oysters just so they would add more of that starch.

The cooking style here differs: there is less starch, more egg, and the stars are the oysters.

Plump juicy and fresh oysters, strewn amid light fluffy beaten egg that boast a crisp complexion.

A hot plate emerges from the kitchen, carrying a foil-wrapped dish set aglow with a dancing flame.

Kyoto Pork Ribs ($20)

As the rose-wine-ignited fire diminishes, the aluminium foil is being unwrapped; it follows by an aroma that wafted up our noses, inducing salivation.

Tender with a meaty bite, well infused with sweet-savoury flavours. Nicely done!

Assam Fish Head ($25)

Their signature dish – Assam fish Head – is highly favoured.

Red snapper fish head is pristinely fresh, handpicked from the market daily.

The fish is deftly executed –it isn’t overcooked, with meat firm but moist, and sufficiently tender.

Comprising more than 13 spices and herbs, you’re bound to be intrigued, and impressed. The cooking process is painstaking, but very much worthwhile.

The spiciness is toned down to cater to a wider audience, but it still possesses enough kick to stimulate your taste buds.

Sambal Seabass on hot plate ($25)

A thick blanket of Sambal (a thick chilli-based sauce) camouflages an immaculately fried fish –crispy skin with a tender flesh.

Don’t be too engrossed in the distractingly vibrant and delicious sauce; do be careful of bones.

I have to commend their Sambal for its wonderful fragrance and complexity in taste; so good I can eat it with plain rice and nothing else.

Cereal Sotong with Curry Flavour ($20)

I tend to avoid squid for its chewy or resilient texture, but this dish completely took me by surprise.

Squid is battered and deep-fried before tossing it with the fragrant cereal for another round of frying. The mollusk is nicely tender but still slightly springy, with enough bite.

The generous heap of cereal is mixed with curry leaves and curry powder, and spiked with chilli padi for a kick. It’s highly addictive! Those who can’t take the heat, beware!

Butter Baked Salted Egg Sir Lanka Crab (Seasonal Price)

Again, Gu Ma Jia has successfully brought enjoyment to the food I didn’t use to appreciate.

Eating crab is a hassle, and most of the time, a mess. What’s most disappointing is when you strenuously break the shell to find an underlying miserable morsel, tiny and limp.

I am mesmerised by the substantial size of meat that lies beneath the rigid hard shell –worth every action of cracking and knocking. Thanks Derrick for helping me with this, for I am still a novice.

The meat is not only ample; it is fresh, sweet and succulent. Great on its own but even better with the salted egg sauce.

Herbal Chicken Soup ($8.80)

For a tummy warmer, the Herbal Chicken Soup is divine; it is flavourful, rich and ample without any bitterness. It comes brimming with clams, chicken and a melange of herbs. Very nourishing.

Black Glutinous with Ice Cream ($4)

Traditionally paired with coconut milk, Gu Ma Jia substitutes the sweetening component with vanilla ice cream –both the young and old will enjoy this dessert.

With over 10 years of experience in the food industry, Gu Ma Jia certainly didn’t disappoint. It makes an ideal spot for family bonding, and I would love to bring my family down for a feast.

There is no GST or service charge. Awesome.

They do delivery too. There is a delivery charge of $3 with a minimum order of $25. Give them a call.

They will also accede to catering requests for parties and buffet receptions. Check out their website for more information.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Assam Fish Head
  • Crispy Bean-jal
  • Cereal Sotong with Curry Flavour
  • Special Made Tofu with Lingzhi Mushroom
等級3
55
22
2012-06-13 22 瀏覽
- The ShopGu Ma Jia in Chinese literally means "Auntie's House" serves Chinese Cuisine and Tze Char. The term "Gu Ma" comes from the Chinese way of nephews or nieces calling their eldest aunt. "Gu Ma" loved to organize family gathering where she would be able to cook for the family, basking in the happiness of being able to eat as a complete, united family.A few years back (August 2009), the family came together and opened a family restaurant named "Gu Ma Jia" and ever since, it has become a pla
更多
- The Shop
Gu Ma Jia in Chinese literally means "Auntie's House" serves Chinese Cuisine and Tze Char. The term "Gu Ma" comes from the Chinese way of nephews or nieces calling their eldest aunt. "Gu Ma" loved to organize family gathering where she would be able to cook for the family, basking in the happiness of being able to eat as a complete, united family.

A few years back (August 2009), the family came together and opened a family restaurant named "Gu Ma Jia" and ever since, it has become a place for families to gather, strengthening family bonds through the joy of eating. Therefore, "Gu Ma Jia" not only provides food that tastes like "home", but also a strong symbol of love and joy.

Their 2nd floor is use to hold function that can comprises 70pax, 1 VIP Room with 4 tables for 40pax. They provide food catering for all kinds of buffet functions and corporate events too.

The restaurant is easily accessible from the Potong Pasir MRT (North East Line), and there is a nearby Bus Stop 60211 right in front of POSB, Macpherson Road (8, 61, 64, 65, 66, 90, 125, 147, 151, 154, 628).

- The Food
Herbal Chicken Soup @ S$8.80
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Nothing can be more comforting than having a bowl of hearty and nutritious homemade soup during mealtime. This soup is full of herbs, chicken and some clams which is a delightful way to start any meal. The herbs are not overpowered and aroma is just right.

Crispy Bean-jal @ S$12, S$18, S$24
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I don’t like brinjal and I have phobia eating it (you don’t want to know why, trust me). However this was the first time, I swear it was really the first time I enjoy eating brinjal because it doesn’t taste like one!

The brinjal are cut into thin slice, deep fried in coated powder and seasoned with special sauce that is extracted from vegetables. The sauce is slightly spicy with a little sweetness. The unique combination to stir fry with french beans create an unique taste to the palette.

Kyoto Pork Ribs @ S$20
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sauteed pork ribs flambeed with Rose Wine was served on a sizzling plate wrap in aluminum foil. The aluminum foil will be drench with rose wine and ignited with fire upon serving. The aroma of rose wine and pork ribs mingle together to exude a distinctive scent. The soury from black vinegar and sweetness of the special sauce brings out the fragrance of the tender pork. I will give up my usual sweet & sour pork for this Kyoto Pork Ribs!

Assam Fish Head @ S$25
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is our favourtie dish tonight, the best of the best!

The fish heads are purchase directly from the market daily, thus ensuring optimal freshness and quality. The assam paste are self made and consist more than 13 spices and herbs. Cooking of the assam require about 4 hours of continue stirring, together with the preparation and blending it will take almost a day to yield great flavour. No wonder the assam is so flavorful & awesome!

Gwen told us that they had reduce the spiciness as customers had feedback that the brutal flavour is too much to handle. The spiciness is just right for my foodie friends.

Sambal Seabass (Hot Plate) @ S$25
Sambal sauce served over seabass on a hot plate. The fish is crispy but the sambal is not spicy enough. I still favour the Assam Fish Head.

Oyster Omelette @ S$12
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The perfect marriage of just-cooked-to-perfection juicy fresh oysters, fluffy eggs, coated with a thin layer of sambal chilli. Delicate flavour with a fragrance of sambal. Oh, the oyster is big in size too!

Butter Baked Salted Egg Sri Lanka Crabs (Seasonal Price)
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The tender succulent sri lanka crab is cooked with creamy salted egg yolks combined with various condiments gives a truly unique flavour. The only complaint, the salted egg yolks sauce is too little, but still definitely finger lickin' crabilicious!

Prawn Roll $8 (8pcs) @ S$16 (16pcs)
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The self made prawn roll filling is meaty and not as salty compare to most. It has a nice crunch from the fried beancurd skin and water chestnuts. I find it tasty and delectable on its own, but if you prefer to have a little zing & sweetness, dripped them in the sweet chilli sauce.

Special Made Tofu with Lingzhi Mushroom @ S$12
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
You can't get this tofu from any where because they made the tofu themselves. Simple as it look but it was simply delish! Most of us are really full by now (expect Melissa, hehe), we still cheerfully chomped our way through the silky soft tofu with the tasty lingzhi mushroom sauce.

Thai Style Beancurd (6pcs) @ S$6
This beancurd are bought from the market. The firm beancurd has crispy coating and intensifies all the flavors in the thai sweet & sour sauce.

Cereal Sotong with Curry Flavour @ S$20, S$30, S$40
Sambal sotong and Calamari are my absolute favorite.

The chewy huge sotong is dredged in flour, sauteed with a savoury combination of cereal, curry powder, curry leaves and chilli padi bites. I love the tasty cereal to the bits.

Black Glutinuos with Ice Cream @ S$4
Absolutely delicious self made secret recipe by "Gu Ma"! The consistency & sweetness of the black glutinous is just right, topped with a scope of vanilla ice cream, make this warm dessert satisfying to the stomach even after a full meal.

- My Opinion
The casual atmosphere and robust flavorful food certainly brought back memory and make me nostalgic. Service was prompt and food are fresh. Besides the highly raved Assam Fish Head, the Special Made Tofu, Salted Egg Crab, Crispy Bean-jal, Kyoto Pork Ribs and Oyster Omelette was a hit too. In fact, I am tore between the choices! I would highly recommend you to visit the restaurant in a big group so that you can order everything and share!!

The crab is fat and juicy, I would like to try the chilli/black pepper crab in my next visit and I am already planning who to bring along so that I can order more dishes!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-17
等級4
2012-06-11 12 瀏覽
After Macpherson hawker centre has been torn down, I have not been back to Sennett Estate. Little did I know that along the stretch of Tai Thong Crescent, there are quite a number of hidden gems. Among them is Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) Restaurant near the entry of Tai Thong Crescent. This gem was nominated in Food Fest 2010 Top 10 Favourite Restaurant. A lot of people do not like to eat brinjal but the Crispy Bean-Jal ($12, $18, $24) will probably change their mind. The brinjal was thinly sliced and fried
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
After Macpherson hawker centre has been torn down, I have not been back to Sennett Estate. Little did I know that along the stretch of Tai Thong Crescent, there are quite a number of hidden gems. Among them is Gu Ma Jia (姑妈家) Restaurant near the entry of Tai Thong Crescent. This gem was nominated in Food Fest 2010 Top 10 Favourite Restaurant.

A lot of people do not like to eat brinjal but the Crispy Bean-Jal ($12, $18, $24) will probably change their mind. The brinjal was thinly sliced and fried to crisp. It was coated with a special made sweet sauce with a tab of spiciness. Even not blind folded, I could tell that I am eating brinjal.

The Kyoto Pork Ribs ($20) was served wrapped in aluminum foil. The aluminum foil was drenched with rose wine and ignited with fire upon servicing allowing the aroma to infuse into the sauteed pork. The mixed of soury and sweetness made the dish very delectable.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The signature Assam Fish Head ($25) definitely packed a punch. According to the owner, the red snapper fish head is hand picked from the market daily. She also told us that they already mild the spiciness after feedback from customers. The perfect balance of flavours of the assam fish head definitely is the best I have eaten and it is a must try.

Serving a deep fried Seabass on a hot plate is a bit weird to me. I would preferred it to be steamed rather than deep fried. Nevertheless, the Hot Plate Sambal Seabass ($25) was lovely with the sambal sauce. If only it was a bit spicer would be nice.

This is the most generous Oyster Omelette ($12) I have ever eaten. The oyster was big and fresh. Interestingly, it came with sambal sauce which married very well with the omelette.

The huge self made Prawn Roll ($8 for 8pc, $16 for 16pc) was crisp on the outside and meaty in the inside with a hint of crunchy texture from the chestnuts.

The Special Made Tofu with Lingzhi Mushroom ($12) is made by the chef using egg and soya bean. The Tofu was silky smooth and with the savoury sauce, the simple tofu dish was simply delish!

Compared to the Special Made Tofu, the Thai Style Beancurd ($6 for 6pc) was firmer and less silky as the beancurd was bought from the market and not self made. Nevertheless, the sweet thai sauce gave the bland beancurd a lovely dimension.

The Cereal Sotong with Curry Flavour ($20, $30, $40) was rather unique. The curry leaves lifted the flavour to another level. However I thought the cereal was a bit bitter not sure whether it was over done. I preferred the cereal to be sweeter with a buttery taste.

The big and succulent Butter Baked Salted Egg Sri Lanka Crabs (seasonal price) was simply finger licking good. I like the dry version of the butter baked salted egg crabs as it was not messy to eat with. The crab meat was also sweet, firm and juicy.

I enjoyed the Herbal Chicken Soup ($8.80) a lot. Although the bowl of soup was packed with herbs, it didn't taste bitter. The soup was light and refreshing.

Wrapping up the beautiful dinner was the Black Glutinuos with Ice Cream ($4) dessert. Black Glutinuos is one of my favourite desserts. Instead of coconut milk, the vanilla ice cream was a good alternative and also act as a sort of sweetner to complete the dish.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食