14
1
0
等級3
35
0
2013-08-21 1501 瀏覽
It is located right opposite Tiong Bahru Market. It is an old school Chinese restaurant that has been in operation since 1996(if I am not mistaken as you can see the title putted as 1996). If you google online, you can find many review, those who commented disappointingly mainly said the standard dropped a lot. For me as a 1st timer, I feel it is consider quite a good experience, i just have to avoid ordering certain food for my next visit. We spent $164.20 for 9 of us.Signature Homemade Toufu($
更多
It is located right opposite Tiong Bahru Market. It is an old school Chinese restaurant that has been in operation since 1996(if I am not mistaken as you can see the title putted as 1996). If you google online, you can find many review, those who commented disappointingly mainly said the standard dropped a lot. For me as a 1st timer, I feel it is consider quite a good experience, i just have to avoid ordering certain food for my next visit. We spent $164.20 for 9 of us.

Signature Homemade Toufu($20++), when I heard about the signature toufu, my impression was a big slice of fried toufu with the fried mince meat on top. I was wrong when it was served like below. The toufu tasted silky smooth yet firm and the gravy is nice. They used some mixed vegetables and I even saw sea cucumber in the dish, so kind of worry will it be very expensive? The sea cucumber tasted totally not nice, soft and there was a weird taste when I ate it.
125 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Seafood Roll($16++), something like fried prawn paste, not much taste seafood. I don't like it
110 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yam Basket($24++), I love yam so I love anything that made with yam. The yam basket here is good, it is fried well so tasted cripsy and yet inside is soft. It was filled with fried chicken, prawn and mixed vegetables.
121 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The champagne pork ribs($27++), available as a short rib (from $18, main picture) or long rib ($8 per piece) variation is a house specialty here. The fork-tender meat coated in a thick, caramelized dark brown sauce tasted with very nice smokey flavour which I like it a lot.
110 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Butter Cereal Prawn($33++) which is highly recommended by the staff, said that it is the best and signature of the restaurant. I generally like the butter prawn very much because I like the egg floss with butter and smell is just so fragrant. Por Kee version tasted good(not the best), but I did not really taste any cereal, so it is more towards butter prawn version.
86 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
http://rainfooddiary.blogspot.sg/2013/07/por-kee-eating-house.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-06
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • champagne pork ribs
等級4
2013-04-02 994 瀏覽
FoodOne of the best Cze char in the distreet. This is an old school chinese restuarant which let one reminisce the past - at least for someone during my era. I have this as a birthday treat from one of my old friend.Ordered the bamboo clams as suggested by the waitress. The sauce is sweet with garlic and we use it as gravy over our white rice. tasty and good.The baby kailan is just like any other cze char stall. nothing to shout about.Homemade beancurd is one of their signature dish. Love their
更多
Food
One of the best Cze char in the distreet. This is an old school chinese restuarant which let one reminisce the past - at least for someone during my era.

I have this as a birthday treat from one of my old friend.

Ordered the bamboo clams as suggested by the waitress. The sauce is sweet with garlic and we use it as gravy over our white rice. tasty and good.
82 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The baby kailan is just like any other cze char stall. nothing to shout about.
73 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Homemade beancurd is one of their signature dish. Love their beancurd very much together with the seafood that comes along with it.
59 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What I like about the seafood is that the prawns are live prawns taken out from the fish tanks. Sauce of the steamed prawns are rather salty but you can mix with your rice too. Prawns are good and fresh! Yammy! Also they provide a bowl of water with lime to cleanse your fingers after "de-shell" the prawns.
54 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
100g for $3. Needless to say the fish are live from the tank. I have chosen the cooking style which is HK Style. Fresh tenderness of fish meat over the aromatic black soya sauce and the chinese parsley (yan siu), meat are thick and good, especially the cheek portion.
70 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Service
Reservations are needed although it is a Monday night. most of the time it is pack with people. Service was excellent, staff are polite and thoughtful - they offer to change our plates even we didnt ask for it. Time to time they will come over to my table to top up my tea.

Ambience
The ambience seems very homely with its curtain. Crowds are usually the old folks - most probably their long term supporters.

Price
About $140 for 2 person. All dishes are in small portion. Since we have ordered prawns and fish, I will say the quality of food and portion do match it pricing and definitely no regrets on it!

Recommendation / Tips
It is recommended to make reservation before going down to avoid disappointment.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-01
人均消費
$70 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Signature Homemade Toufu
等級4
Feel free to check out my review here: http://thedessertprince.com/por-kee-eating-house-whats-their-signature-dish/In my younger days, dining at the next cze char stall is a weekend family thing. No one’s allow to skip and say “I’m not going” without risk being grumble and nag by your elders the next time you meet them. Trust me, weekend dinners are very important in my family. Back in those days, food was the last thing on my mind. All I had in my kiddish mind was to rush through my meals and k
更多
Feel free to check out my review here: http://thedessertprince.com/por-kee-eating-house-whats-their-signature-dish/
70 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
In my younger days, dining at the next cze char stall is a weekend family thing. No one’s allow to skip and say “I’m not going” without risk being grumble and nag by your elders the next time you meet them. Trust me, weekend dinners are very important in my family. Back in those days, food was the last thing on my mind. All I had in my kiddish mind was to rush through my meals and kick-start a night’s long of playing with my cousins.

Those were the days when fun was running around the open space playing catching.

Gosh, I missed those good old memories…
71 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Goodness, I’m always digressing about my childhood days and I hope you wouldn’t mind. SO ANYWAY, after a few years of trying out so many stalls, I realised that most of them are selling the same or somewhat similar dishes. So the difference between the popular cze char stall from the typical mainstream ones are really something for the diners to introduce to other diners and possibly return for more. Something like a signature dish or two to boost about.

Situated amidst the foodie’s paradise of Tiong Barhu is Por Kee Eating House (波记海鲜酒楼), an old school Chinese restaurant that has been in operation for almost 17 years since its inception in 1996. Prices are slightly marked up compared to those at hawker centers and coffee shops but eating in the comfort of an air-conditioned room makes a whole lot of difference especially if your lunch partners are in dresses and heels.
67 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Try their buttery Cereal Prawns 麦片虾 or their Crispy Skin Chicken 脆皮鸡 if you aren’t sure what to get. I think the dishes are great but nothing really special since I tried better ones before. I heard from my lunch partners that their hei zous were fantastic on their previous visit but sadly it wasn’t available when I came with them on their second visit.

I’m guessing the head chef has his own mood of what to serve ehh?
74 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Believe it or not, the best cuts of any meat are those that has a good fatty to lean meat ratio. I totally agree that it’s downright unhealthy to have fatty portions anywhere near those lips. But why resist?! I know it’s a bit hard to apprehend such a complicated process but once you tried Por Kee’s Champagne Pork Ribs, you will bound to understand why.

Don’t even get me started about the faint champagne before and after taste after having one after another. Addictive takes a new meaning I guess…

Signature Tofu as stated in the name of dish is also one of their popular dishes. But after knowing the secrets of making really good ones, I think it’s not so signature already but still highly recommended if you seek silky yet crispy toufu.
67 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Overall, if you’re seeking a nice cze char restaurant to hosting a table or two for friends and family alike, try Por Kee and you will not be disappointed by their signature dishes. Maybe service was a bit rowdy from one of the staff.

Might have to give them a bit feedback so that they don’t get too cocky just because they have a fix regular customers that just return for their food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐時段
午餐
等級4
127
1
2012-07-28 502 瀏覽
Por kee is one of those places that i visit pretty often. Maybe not because the food is extremely fantastic but because it brings back a certain nostalgia. Or maybe just being in Tiong Bharu residential estate gives you that kind of homely feely. Anyway this place is not cheap, they serves pretty expensive dishes for a tze char restaurant. There is outdoor and indoor sitting. You need to make advance reservation if you want to be seated indoors. The restaurant is also separated into 2 sites, jus
更多
Por kee is one of those places that i visit pretty often. Maybe not because the food is extremely fantastic but because it brings back a certain nostalgia. Or maybe just being in Tiong Bharu residential estate gives you that kind of homely feely. Anyway this place is not cheap, they serves pretty expensive dishes for a tze char restaurant. There is outdoor and indoor sitting. You need to make advance reservation if you want to be seated indoors. The restaurant is also separated into 2 sites, just adjacent from each other.

This is one of the popular dishes, champagne pork ribs. I felt it was much better the last time we ate. Maybe it was the wrong pork that we ordered? I remember the last time each one of us were given a fork and knief for this dish, and all of us were serve one slab of pork ribs. Hmm not this time though
51 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pretty ordinary chicken
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love sweet potato leaves, so well, i certainly love this dish
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salted egg crayfish was very good! A very distinctive salted egg taste, very crispy some so crispy that you could even eat part of the shell. The meat was firm and juicy.
71 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sotong was so so
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tom yum steamfish was delicious, they used to be able to provide free top up of the tom yum soup but not anymore
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is the seafood treasures with lots of sea cucumber, toufu and scallops. Yum!
54 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
182
8
2012-07-18 368 瀏覽
Full house on festive seasons! Be sure to book a place before heading down. We had a few dishes and the waiting time is pretty fast. Of course you will have to wait for a longer period if it's on a festive day with full house! The starter there is really nice and innovative. We had a ball of unknown. Upon first bite, i tasted minced meat and salted egg yolk. The texture is delicious. Outside is crispy and hot, the inside is soft and tasty!
更多
Full house on festive seasons! Be sure to book a place before heading down. We had a few dishes and the waiting time is pretty fast. Of course you will have to wait for a longer period if it's on a festive day with full house! The starter there is really nice and innovative. We had a ball of unknown. Upon first bite, i tasted minced meat and salted egg yolk. The texture is delicious. Outside is crispy and hot, the inside is soft and tasty!
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
127
1
2012-07-17 86 瀏覽
Had a good meal with wonderful company at Porkee - Tiong Bharu. My favourite vegetable, sweet potato leaves!Yam basketVery yummy toufu fish!This is the steam fish in thai sauce. Very obliging staff who changed the fire 2 times cos we were slow in devouring the fish and we wanted to keep the fish warm. In addition, we asked for 3 more helping of the thai fish 'soup'. Love the taste of the lemon grass and the wolfberries in the sauce. Had a good meal with wonderful company at Porkee - Tiong Bharu.
更多
Had a good meal with wonderful company at Porkee - Tiong Bharu.
My favourite vegetable, sweet potato leaves!
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yam basket
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Very yummy toufu fish!
38 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
This is the steam fish in thai sauce. Very obliging staff who changed the fire 2 times cos we were slow in devouring the fish and we wanted to keep the fish warm. In addition, we asked for 3 more helping of the thai fish 'soup'. Love the taste of the lemon grass and the wolfberries in the sauce.
40 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Had a good meal with wonderful company at Porkee - Tiong Bharu.
This is my favourite dish! Taste very much like well marinated piece of char siew! Really love it! =) In fact I am craving for it now this very moment! SHIOK!
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-01
等級4
2012-07-03 60 瀏覽
Came here for dinner on Grandma's birthday. We had green vegetables with abalone. Was pretty disappointed as the abalone was pretty stiff and unchewable. It's hard to chew and swallow. Definitely not a dish for the old and young. It was pretty expensive as well. The service was rather slow as the place is pretty packed even on a normal day. Hmmm.. Will consider twice heading there again.
更多
Came here for dinner on Grandma's birthday. We had green vegetables with abalone. Was pretty disappointed as the abalone was pretty stiff and unchewable. It's hard to chew and swallow. Definitely not a dish for the old and young. It was pretty expensive as well. The service was rather slow as the place is pretty packed even on a normal day. Hmmm.. Will consider twice heading there again.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
186
0
2012-05-18 56 瀏覽
This restaurant offers you a range of chinese food, similar to zhi char, but here you will be eating in an aircon place. Look through the menu and place your order. Of course, their prices can be higher than the ones you find at a coffee shop, but the price you paid for is definitely worth it. Food were served hot, tasty and quite a large serving. But it can be quite noisy if the place is fully packed.
更多
This restaurant offers you a range of chinese food, similar to zhi char, but here you will be eating in an aircon place. Look through the menu and place your order. Of course, their prices can be higher than the ones you find at a coffee shop, but the price you paid for is definitely worth it. Food were served hot, tasty and quite a large serving. But it can be quite noisy if the place is fully packed.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-05-03 47 瀏覽
I love Porkee and the steamed promphet over there! ANd also the chicken, taste SOOO good, so cripsy.. and the tofu is really unique, the sauce that they use is like no other restaurant! We celebrate one of our relatives' or family's birthdays over here every year, this is a die-die-must-try restaurant!!! SERIOUS!However, due to the fact that they close the other half of restaurant during weekdays (only weekends is opened so there are more seats to sit), we once had to sit beside the carpark, rig
更多
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love Porkee and the steamed promphet over there! ANd also the chicken, taste SOOO good, so cripsy.. and the tofu is really unique, the sauce that they use is like no other restaurant! We celebrate one of our relatives' or family's birthdays over here every year, this is a die-die-must-try restaurant!!! SERIOUS!

However, due to the fact that they close the other half of restaurant during weekdays (only weekends is opened so there are more seats to sit), we once had to sit beside the carpark, right behind where cars park their car. And my mother said that we didn't want to sit there, and the waitress blatantly replied (quite rudely) that all the places that she can offer us would still have cars parking in mandarin. We pointed out an area where cars are unlikely to park (you'd know if you get there) and she grumpily allowed us to sit there.

this one more affordable than the restaurant across.. the.. golden spoon, if you know what i mean
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$40
慶祝紀念
紀念日
等級4
2011-12-09 50 瀏覽
cereal prawnawesome tofuPor Kee is probably a higher end Cze Char place. There's aircon if you sit inside the restaurant but reservations have to be made in advance. The servers recommended us their cereal prawns, homemade special beancurd. Both tasted well. Generally, the food was not too bad. We were told to try out their signature dishes But since there were only 3 of us, we decided to return to try out both their signature dishes the next round.
更多
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
cereal prawn
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
awesome tofu

Por Kee is probably a higher end Cze Char place. There's aircon if you sit inside the restaurant but reservations have to be made in advance. The servers recommended us their cereal prawns, homemade special beancurd. Both tasted well. Generally, the food was not too bad. We were told to try out their signature dishes But since there were only 3 of us, we decided to return to try out both their signature dishes the next round.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
425
3
2011-11-30 20 瀏覽
Was there with a group of friends during our gathering dinner. It was my first time there, whereas most of my friends have been there quite a few times already. Was told by my friend must try out a few of their signature dishes. So we have ordered a thai style steam fish, champagne pork ribs and butter prawns. Personally, i felt that the fish was quite average, the thai flavour was not strong enough, its not spicy and sour enough. And the champagne pork ribs was quite average too, the meat was
更多
Was there with a group of friends during our gathering dinner. It was my first time there, whereas most of my friends have been there quite a few times already. Was told by my friend must try out a few of their signature dishes. So we have ordered a thai style steam fish, champagne pork ribs and butter prawns.

Personally, i felt that the fish was quite average, the thai flavour was not strong enough, its not spicy and sour enough. And the champagne pork ribs was quite average too, the meat was a bit tough. Didnt really like it. But love the butter prawns! Was the best dish that I liked the most. The prawn was fresh and springy in texture. The butter taste was great!

29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-10-08
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • butter prawns
等級4
2011-10-02 34 瀏覽
Por Kee Eating House for tze char! Love their cereal prawn! It is so nicely fried and there is alot of cereal on it. Very nice to just eat it with plain rice. Their pork ribs was good too! Nicely marinated and the sauce just gave it that extra bit to make up for a great dish! Fanstatic!
更多
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Por Kee Eating House for tze char! Love their cereal prawn! It is so nicely fried and there is alot of cereal on it. Very nice to just eat it with plain rice. Their pork ribs was good too! Nicely marinated and the sauce just gave it that extra bit to make up for a great dish! Fanstatic!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$14
等級4
238
3
2011-09-13 29 瀏覽
Was brought here by good friends and wanted to share yummy food with family. So I ordered: 1) Cold Dish $60 - for some strange reason, my dad loves the assorted food on the cold dish platter. Theirs is ok, not bad but also nothing to shout about lah. 2) Champaign Pork Ribs $32 - well marinated as before and very popular with my family. They left me none!! 3) Thai Style Steamed fish $44 - they serve this fish with spicy tangy broth over a hot plate and the spicy tangy broth is so awesome that we
更多
Was brought here by good friends and wanted to share yummy food with family. So I ordered:
1) Cold Dish $60 - for some strange reason, my dad loves the assorted food on the cold dish platter. Theirs is ok, not bad but also nothing to shout about lah.


2) Champaign Pork Ribs $32 - well marinated as before and very popular with my family. They left me none!!

3) Thai Style Steamed fish $44 - they serve this fish with spicy tangy broth over a hot plate and the spicy tangy broth is so awesome that we 'drained' the dish.

4) Beancurd $24 - their homemade beancurd is super soft and smooth. Together with the sauce, it was very very yummy.

5) Cereal Prawn $40 - fairly large prawns deep-fried beautifully with the cereal bits. My daughter couldn't stop eating the cereal bits with her rice!

6) Prawn-paste Chicken $24 - they have the deep-frying method perfected so even this dish is better than average

7) Garlic Kailan $20 - my necessary greens of my meal. Average good.

8) Ee Fu Noodle $12 - daughter loves this! So do I! One of the better ones sold.

They may not boost of the ambience of high-class restaurant but their cuisine puts many expensive establishments to shame. Wonderful meal!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-09-03
人均消費
$25 (晚餐)
等級4
238
3
2011-09-06 29 瀏覽
It was a coincidence that good friends and I suggested this makan place when deciding where to eat. I've been meaning to try and my friends had dinner once there and liked it. So a table was reserved and on the actual day, we were late and good friends ordered the house specials: 1) Champagne Pork Ribs - it's not coffee ribs as it doesn't have the strong coffee taste but still tasty juicy ribs. Don't think any champagne were used in cooking but taste damn good. 2) Bean curd - it's their own styl
更多
It was a coincidence that good friends and I suggested this makan place when deciding where to eat. I've been meaning to try and my friends had dinner once there and liked it.

So a table was reserved and on the actual day, we were late and good friends ordered the house specials:

1) Champagne Pork Ribs - it's not coffee ribs as it doesn't have the strong coffee taste but still tasty juicy ribs. Don't think any champagne were used in cooking but taste damn good.

2) Bean curd - it's their own style bean curd and cooked with simply with vegetables. But the bean curd is soft and nicely fried on the outside.

3) Thai Style Fish - this was my absolutely favourite dish!! The fish was pre-steamed and placed on a hotplate. Then they would pour this spicy tom yam-ish clear soup base onto the fish to continue cooking the fish over flames. Awesome dish!

4) Cereal Prawn - nice, average good.

5) Sambal kangkong - also average good.

Will definitely return, just for the Thai style fish!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-07-02
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Champagne Pork Ribs
  • Thai Style Fish
  • Bean Curd
等級3
62
14
2011-07-27 46 瀏覽
The last time when I was there I didn't have the chance to try their signature dishes. So this time we had Steam Fish in Thai Style, Champagne Pork Ribs, Crispy Butter Prawns and Fried Prawn Omelet with "Shang Mee". The fish was really fresh and they had tom yam sauce to go with the fish. But the sauce would be even better if it was a little bit more sour and spicier. The pork ribs were great. They offered 2 options, the bigger ribs or smaller ones to share. We opted for the smaller ones so that
更多
The last time when I was there I didn't have the chance to try their signature dishes. So this time we had Steam Fish in Thai Style, Champagne Pork Ribs, Crispy Butter Prawns and Fried Prawn Omelet with "Shang Mee".

The fish was really fresh and they had tom yam sauce to go with the fish. But the sauce would be even better if it was a little bit more sour and spicier. The pork ribs were great. They offered 2 options, the bigger ribs or smaller ones to share. We opted for the smaller ones so that it was easier to share amongst all of us.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The butter prawns were rather crispy on the outside. Quite acceptable. The "Shang Mee"'s small portion was quite generous. Good enough for at least 3-4 people to share. This dish is a commonly seen in all Tze Char places so it is not easy to go wrong. A good alternative to those who don't like rice.
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$35 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • steam fish
  • champagne pork ribs