2
2
0
等級4
2015-09-04 113 瀏覽
The restaurant is located in the middle along the stretch of various restaurants. The restaurant is quite open but decorated in a rather dark traditional looking way. Although it is quite open, but there is a number of fans around, so it is quite cooling dining in.Broiled Salmon Sashimi Served on Your Table ($12)The sashimi is touched upon on the table. Exciting performance by the staff, although we are more worry for him as he has too many things on his hands. Smooth and buttery in texture.Shir
更多
33 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The restaurant is located in the middle along the stretch of various restaurants. The restaurant is quite open but decorated in a rather dark traditional looking way. Although it is quite open, but there is a number of fans around, so it is quite cooling dining in.

Broiled Salmon Sashimi Served on Your Table
$12
6 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Broiled Salmon Sashimi Served on Your Table
($12)
The sashimi is touched upon on the table. Exciting performance by the staff, although we are more worry for him as he has too many things on his hands. Smooth and buttery in texture.

16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Shirokiya Specialty 'Chiritori Hot Pot
' ($38.80/ 2pax)
Chicken, Pork, Beef and Vegetable Served in Spicy beef stock
The hot pot is said to have originated from Sukiyaki in Osaka. The stainless steel pot looks like a dust pan (Chiritori in Japanese), that's why it is named Chiritori Hot Pot.
16 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Although it is hotpot, we do not have stirred the pot, just let it simmers.
23 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Until it fully cooked. Do takes note of the thin sliced beef. As we let it simmers until the vegetable soft, the beef becomes overcooked and a bit tough and dry in texture. The vegetable soaks up the flavours, soften and gives abit of soup, although I wish there could be more soup.

Overall the meal is not bad. I have a bit of problem in the billing part. Seem that the staff do not know how to process JCB card although it is accepted at the restaurant. One of the staff even asks me for password. Seem that they do not even know which machine is to be used for processing the payment. But all turns out fine when a more senior staff takes over the billing.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-09-03
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$16 (晚餐)
等級2
19
0
2015-04-11 58 瀏覽
The place was almost empty on a weekend afternoon. The staff were not very attentive despite the lack of guests.They are constantly running promotion for their hotpot. We ordered a collagen hotpot for 2 to share. They had 50% off that day. I thought it was pretty average. It wasn't as thick as I hoped, kind of like normal hotpot.They served us tea upon sitting down. Apparently, they have daily set lunches, which come with free flow green tea. Since we did not order set lunches, the tea was charg
更多
The place was almost empty on a weekend afternoon. The staff were not very attentive despite the lack of guests.

They are constantly running promotion for their hotpot. We ordered a collagen hotpot for 2 to share. They had 50% off that day. 

I thought it was pretty average. It wasn't as thick as I hoped, kind of like normal hotpot.

They served us tea upon sitting down. Apparently, they have daily set lunches, which come with free flow green tea. Since we did not order set lunches, the tea was chargeable.
$38.7
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-02-28
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$15 (午餐)
用餐優惠
其他
等級3
83
1
2014-09-21 93 瀏覽
Hola everyone! Apologies for not being acting on OpenRice for the past few months, but fret not, I'm offically back! From now onwards, will be posting reviews of various restaurants across the island every week! Today's review will be on Shirokiya at CHIJMES! Firstly, I've to thank OpenRice as well as Reka and her team for organizing this wonderful Food Tasting Session! We started the night off with the Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing ($8.80)! The cold silk tofu is ve
更多
Hola everyone! Apologies for not being acting on OpenRice for the past few months, but fret not, I'm offically back! From now onwards, will be posting reviews of various restaurants across the island every week! Today's review will be on Shirokiya at CHIJMES! 

Firstly, I've to thank OpenRice as well as Reka and her team for organizing this wonderful Food Tasting Session! 

We started the night off with the Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing ($8.80)! The cold silk tofu is very smooth, accompanied with the salted rice malt which gives the tofu a savoury flavour. (Recommendation Index : 3.7/5)
Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt Dressing
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next up is the Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly ($20.80)! Beside the greens, there's generous servings of salmon and avocados! The Hyaluronic Acid Jelly is something rather special, where we normally will not find in salads. The avocado bites gives the salad a sweet yet bitter flavour. It mixs rather well with the salad greens and hyaluronic acid jelly! (Recommendation Index : 3.9/5)
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The third dish of the night is the Bonito Fish cooked in Hay Straw Marinated with Ponzu Sauce ($14.00). Bonito Fish is actually a kind of fish in the same family as mackerel and tuna. In Shirokiya, they cooked the Bonito Fish with Ponzu Sauce, which is a citrus-based sauce, which removes the stink smell of the fish and gives the fish a sweet and sour flavour. In my honest opinion, the fish wasn't really fresh, and the citrus-based Ponzu Sauce could not really remove the pungent smell of the Bonito Fish, thus I personally would not recommend this dish. (Recommendation Index : 3.0/5)
Bonito Fish Cooked in Hay Straw Marinated with Ponzu Sauce
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next up is the Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce ($18.80). Actually prior to this visit, I did some research about Shirokiya and found that this fried chicken wings was actually one of the better dishes at Shirokiya, but it turns out to be kind of disappointing. Wings were dry (yes, I meant dry), not juicy at all. Sweet sauce does not really blends well with the chicken wings. Luckily, the wings were really crispy and coated with sesame seeds. But due to its dryness, I would definitely not recommend this dish. (Recommendation Index : 2.7/5)
Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The highlight of the night is the Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu served in Collagen Soup! ($38.80 for 2-3 pax). The sliced pork belly served were really fresh! No doubt about that. This dish also boosts the amount of nutrients, with the use of collagen and chicken soup. With the generous amount of sliced pork belly, vegetables and collagen, $38.80 is definitely worth it! (Recommendation Index : 4.3/5)
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
 The sixth dish of the night is the Broiled Pressed Mackerel ($15.80) which is my second favourite dish of the night. Mackerel used was really fresh as well, accompanied with the wasabi dip. Although mackerel seems to be a simple dish, but it really requires alot of effort to make it delicious. Shirokiya serves one of the best Mackerel I ever had. (Recommendation Index : 4.2/5)
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A good meal always ends with a good dessert. We were served with generous portions of Warabi-Machi ($7.80). To those who frequents the night markets, its better known as Muah-Chee. But definitely, warabi-machi is a more high-class version of muah chee, served with brown sugar syrup. We also understand that the soy bean used in the process are taken from Mr Bean (yes, Mr Bean!) daily. For those who has a sweet tooth will like this, but for me, I find that the brown sugar syrup is really sweet, so I would suggest just putting 1/4 of the syrup. The soy bean taste is also veru unique, just like what I've mentioned earlier, its taken from Mr Bean daily to ensure its freshness and tastiness. (Recommendation Index : 3.8/5)All in all, I would rate Shirokiya a 3.7/5 for its quality of food. Ambience wise I would rate a 4.0/5. They have two private rooms, each can accomdate up to 8 pax. Otherwise, they also have quite a number of tables available. Again, I would like to thank OpenRice as well as Reka and her team for this invitation! 

18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-04
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt Dressing
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
  • Warabi Machi with Brown Sugar Syrup
等級1
3
1
2014-09-16 51 瀏覽
Shirokiya is basically an Izakaya style Japanese restaurant hailing from Japan, but the unique twist is that they focus on healthy dining. Japanese food is already comparatively healthier to begin with, but here the definition of healthy dining here extends to wellness too – they have dishes incorporating collagen, hyaluronic acid, capsaicin and lycopene powder for example, which will promote cellular renewal, increase metabolism, support cardiac health and neutralize free radicals in the body.T
更多
Shirokiya is basically an Izakaya style Japanese restaurant hailing from Japan, but the unique twist is that they focus on healthy dining. Japanese food is already comparatively healthier to begin with, but here the definition of healthy dining here extends to wellness too – they have dishes incorporating collagen, hyaluronic acid, capsaicin and lycopene powder for example, which will promote cellular renewal, increase metabolism, support cardiac health and neutralize free radicals in the body.
The other “healthy” aspect they add to their dishes is the the seasoning used – their special Shiokoji, which made from rice koji (rice malt), salt and water. This ingredient is said to be more than just a seasoning. It can make meat tender and draw out the natural sweetness found in raw ingredients. The rice malt is said to contain enzymes and vitamins which are beneficial for the body.
Hearing all these gets me really excited. But first, I got to make sure the food tastes good. It is easy to make healthy food which tastes like crap. What about healthy food that tastes good?
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing – $8.80++
Over the years I’ve acquired the taste for tofu (used to dislike it) and this one was simple but adequate as an appetizer. 
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly – $20.80++
This has to be my favourite item for today. I love sashimi salad and this one was better with hyaluronic acid jelly. I believe in beauty supplements and I take it everyday to keep my skin hydrated. I like how there’s a variety of sashimi here, including ikura (salmon roe) and there’s avocado, for even more omega 3. The dressing provided wasn’t too heavy too and complemented well.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bonito Fish Cooked in Hay Straw Marinated with Ponzu Sauce – $14.00++
The katsuo here wasn’t too fishy and I’m not sure whether the credit goes to the cooking method with hay (like real hay from the farm), but whatever it is, I enjoyed this one. The fish is smoked so technically it isn’t raw. 
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The ponzu sauce was on the saltier side, so you may like to go easy on it.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce – $18.80++
This sort of reminds me of Korean fried chicken because the skin was the crackling sort and there was sweet sauce coated. It was not bad in my opinion and I really wouldn’t mind having it again! The “secret ingredient” here is white pepper which they imported from Japan, and it is said to be different from regular white pepper. Well I am normally not a fan of pepper but it wasn’t overpowering at all, so still good for me.
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup – $38.80++ (for 2-3pax)
I was excited to know that there’s going to be collagen for this. I believe in collagen.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The collagen will go into the chicken soup first, and then the leek. The kurobuta pork slices are to be cook laid flat, and flipped over for even cooking. It isn’t meant to be like the usual steamboat style were you dip it into the soup. 
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The marbling of the pork was good because it’s kurobuta (black pig). 
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The pork was very tender due to good meat quality and because of how thinly it was sliced. It paired well with the leek. It was towards the bland side because the soup was very light to begin with. If you are expecting a thick collagen broth then you may be disappointed. This one is more like normal broth with collagen supplement.
6 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Broiled Pressed Mackerel - $15.80++
This looks like Osaka style hako-zushi (box sushi) to me. The rice is not just plain rice, but seasoned with ginger inside. The fish was cooked somewhat like aburi style. Nothing went wrong with this one.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Warabi-Mochi / Bracken-starched Dumpling with Brown Sugar Syrup - $7.80++

For dessert it was mochi coated with kinako (soy bean power). The kinako is supplied by Mr Bean, which in Singapore is known for quality soy milk.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Brown sugar syrup is used to sweeten the mochi and of course you adjust the sweetness to your level. The mochi was very chewy and I liked it.
My overall impression of this place is good so far. The prices are affordable for a restaurant in CHIJMES, which is known for more premium food. The food standard was overall not bad, better than benchmark Japanese cuisine in Singapore but the major attraction to me is the added health factor in the dishes. I would not say no to trying this restaurant again.

題外話/補充資料: Review is cross posted on my blog: http://hungryinsingapore.wordpress.com/2014/09/04/shirokiya-dinner/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-04
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-09-13 35 瀏覽
Embracing the concept of 美食料理(food that promotes beauty) , Shirokiya serves up standard Japanese dishes like most izakayas, but with a healthy twist. For instance, the Shio Koji (salted rice malt) dressing imparts flavors sufficiently to the Cold Tofu ($8.89), so you doesn't really need to resort to the red miso paste at the side. It is heartening to know that Hydraluronic acid jelly--a key to soft supple skin, is tossed into the citrusy Avocado and Seafood salad ($20.80), but it can do with mor
更多
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Embracing the concept of 美食料理(food that promotes beauty) , Shirokiya serves up standard Japanese dishes like most izakayas, but with a healthy twist. For instance, the Shio Koji (salted rice malt) dressing imparts flavors sufficiently to the Cold Tofu ($8.89), so you doesn't really need to resort to the red miso paste at the side.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It is heartening to know that Hydraluronic acid jelly--a key to soft supple skin, is tossed into the citrusy Avocado and Seafood salad ($20.80), but it can do with more of such good stuff. I liked the crab mayonnaise and scallops but not the raw salmon as it was not very fresh.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Bonito Fish Cooked in Hay Straw ($14), reminded me of the Smoked Tataki dish from Shikoku prefecture, but it lacked the smoky accents from charcoal fire and was not very fresh.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Thankfully, the Boiled Pressed Mackerel ($15.80) did not suffer from fishy-ness but the grains might need a bit more vinegar to bind the flavours.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love crunchy chicken wings but these Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings ($18.80) were overly done such that the meat became sorely dry. A great pity because the sweet marinade pepped up with white pepper deserved a thumbs-up.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Kurobuta Shabu Shabu ($38.80 for 2-3 pax) also boasts some beauty benefits with the addition of collagen into the chicken soup. Though no MSG is claimed to be used in Shirokiya, I found the soup slightly too salty. It might be good to know that the soy ingredients of the desserts such as warabi mocha $7.80 shown here or soy milk pudding, come from our local Mr Bean. Though I was rather disillusioned by the overall experience, perhaps the potential lies in other dishes, given the diversity of the menu which you can check online.

Full post : http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2014/09/shirokiya-at-chijmes.html
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
等級3
61
12
Shirokiya recently opened its 2nd outlet in Singapore, located at CHIJMES. In Japan, this izakaya (Japanese drinking establishment which also serves food) chain has over 30 years of history.The interior is stylish and modern, with sufficient space between tables. However, it may not be the best place for catching up as the environment can get pretty noisy still, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings. Branching out from the flagship at Cuppage, the menu here differs with an additional new se
更多
Shirokiya recently opened its 2nd outlet in Singapore, located at CHIJMES. In Japan, this izakaya (Japanese drinking establishment which also serves food) chain has over 30 years of history.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The interior is stylish and modern, with sufficient space between tables. However, it may not be the best place for catching up as the environment can get pretty noisy still, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Branching out from the flagship at Cuppage, the menu here differs with an additional new series of dishes, some featuring a "healthy" element to it.
11 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Cold Tofu Marinated with Shio-koji or salted rice malt ($8.80)

The cold tofu is light on the palate, with a hint of salty flavour from the shio-koji. Simple but refreshing, this is something different from the usual tofu dishes. For those who find it bland, adding a little of the accompanying miso on the side will be more than enough. This is only served in limited portions each day.
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Bonito Fish Marinated with Ponzu Sauce (7.80)

The garlic helped in masking the slight fishiness present. It would have been a great dish actually, if not for the less-than-fresh fish used. Still, it's rare to see tataki served at this price point in slightly upscale restaurants like this, which makes this value-for-money.
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce ($18.80)

This JFC (Jap Fried Chicken) reminded me of KFC (Korean Fried Chicken) because of the sweet sticky sauce coating it. The exterior was crispy alright - a result of double-frying. But, because of the same reason, the chicken meat was on the dry side. It was the same when I came on an earlier occasion. For the price, it might just be better to get something else on the menu instead.
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu served in Collagen Soup ($38)

The white blob of chicken collagen is added into the soup before all other ingredients. Each of the thin and luscious pork belly slices after shabu-ing is springy and fresh in flavour.
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Coupled with the vegetables and soup stock, this is easily one of the best pork shabu around. The pork slices given is also sufficient for 2-3 people to share. Our favourite of the night.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Broiled Pressed Mackerel ($15.80)

Not your usual sushi, the fish is slightly tart from having undergone the pickling process. Each piece is also just right in thickness.. The rice is chewy with bits of pickles mixed in and the combination of textures is pretty decent.
6 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
This is a good option for a different kind of sushi as it is not often found at other similar Jap establishments.
4 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Warabi Mochi ($7.80)

The round off with dessert. Created with their own recipe from scratch. every blob of the mochi is luscious and wobbly soft. The dark sugar syrup isn't cloyingly sweet and this made for a party in the mouth.
24 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Sprinkled with a generous dusting of sesame powder, this tops my standard for mochi by far. Get this if you are thinking of dessert without moving to other places. Home-made rich Soy Milk Pudding ($4.80)

The hits outnumber the misses. Overall, we had an enjoyable meal at Shirokiya.With a third outlet opening at Clarke Quay in the near future, Shirokiya looks set to stay - and for pretty good reason too. If you are looking to save even more, go for the value set lunches available at $12 nett.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-04
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
  • Kurobuta Shabu Shabu
  • Warabi Mochi
等級1
3
0
This is the first time i visited the place, it is not hard to find and the restaurant is quite cozy. I'm not good with woods so i included lots of pic, a picture say a thousand word so enjoy the picture  This toufu is very silky, the taste is great, if you want something healthy, this is for you.This salad is refreshing and full of stuff good for the skin, yum yumThe fish is super fresh , yum yumThe chicken wing, out of all the dishes, this dish was a bit disappointing becuase i find the meat a
更多
This is the first time i visited the place, it is not hard to find and the restaurant is quite cozy. I'm not good with woods so i included lots of pic, a picture say a thousand word so enjoy the picture 
Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
 This toufu is very silky, the taste is great, if you want something healthy, this is for you.
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This salad is refreshing and full of stuff good for the skin, yum yum
Bonito Fish Cooked in Hay Straw Marinated with Ponzu Sauce
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The fish is super fresh , yum yum
Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The chicken wing, out of all the dishes, this dish was a bit disappointing becuase i find the meat a bit too dry. if it more tender it would be perfect
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Shabu Shabu my favourite item for the night, it's full of collogen and it taste so nice, This item is designed for 2-3 pax but to me i can finish everything on my own
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another fish, this time it's the Mackerel, this fish is also super fresh, you almost taste the sea on it due to it's freshness
Warabi-Mochi / Bracken-starched Dumpling with Brown Sugar Syrup
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Warabi-Mochi / Bracken-starched Dumpling with Brown Sugar Syrup
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The last item is the mochi, the brown sauce is just nice not too sweet, the perfect item to end the dinner
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-04
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
Broiled Pressed Mackerel
Warabi-Mochi / Bracken-starched Dumpling with Brown Sugar Syrup
Warabi-Mochi / Bracken-starched Dumpling with Brown Sugar Syrup