11
7
2
等級1
1
0
2021-01-25 140 瀏覽
I’ve definitely seen the better days of laobeijing and it has definitely declined drastically over the last year.Conclusion: rude staff, lousy service, mediocre food We waited for an hour for our food to be served and the staff did not care one bit while all the other tables have finished their meal, we finally got our small portion food served. The big disappointment was the duck where they just slice the duck from the kitchen and threw the carcass out (without informing you where the rest of t
更多
I’ve definitely seen the better days of laobeijing and it has definitely declined drastically over the last year.

Conclusion: rude staff, lousy service, mediocre food

We waited for an hour for our food to be served and the staff did not care one bit while all the other tables have finished their meal, we finally got our small portion food served. The big disappointment was the duck where they just slice the duck from the kitchen and threw the carcass out (without informing you where the rest of the duck you paid is going to the bin) where as other restaurants will serve the carcass as standard.

Staff were very unhelpful, turns a blind eye and deaf ear to anything you ask for, and definitely did not do anything to help.

Juts utterly disappointed by the service and the quality and quantity of food, will not recommend anyone to visit this restaurant to avoid disappointment

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級3
90
1
2014-03-20 794 瀏覽
One of the perks of not having to work on a weekday is to be able to enjoy a peaceful afternoon high tea, away from the bustling weekend crowd. I had been to Lao Beijing for their weekend hi-tea buffet 3-4 years back and though the spread wasn’t spectacular, it was good enough for me as it had everything that I wanted. I decided to revisit the restaurant to check out its weekday buffet menu.Its weekday hi-tea buffet is priced at $13.80++ per adult with more than 20 items to feast on. While appet
更多
One of the perks of not having to work on a weekday is to be able to enjoy a peaceful afternoon high tea, away from the bustling weekend crowd. I had been to Lao Beijing for their weekend hi-tea buffet 3-4 years back and though the spread wasn’t spectacular, it was good enough for me as it had everything that I wanted. I decided to revisit the restaurant to check out its weekday buffet menu.
72 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Its weekday hi-tea buffet is priced at $13.80++ per adult with more than 20 items to feast on. While appetisers, soup, dim sum and desserts were laid out on an unappealing buffet set up for self service, the xiao long bao (steamed meat buns), noodles and dumplings would have to be ordered separately which was good so the latter would be made upon order and served fresh and hot.
Hot and Sour Soup
65 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This actually tasted more soury than spicy with a strong vinegary flavour but I quite liked it because it could ignite my senses. The textures of the crunchy bamboo shoots and tender shiitake mushrooms made great accompaniments but it would be better if the soup was made less starchy.
61 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Beijing-style Appetising Cucumber was just standard pickled cucumbers. The Stewed Peanuts were tender and flavourful but still not the best I had. The Sliced Beancurd Skin looked like beef tripe at first glance but I liked its firm and slightly chewy texture which was like eating cuttlefish. The Fried Noodles was average, nothing to rave about.
65 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The sliced pork with garlic sauce was my favourite among all appetisers. Thinly sliced tender pork belly blanched and marinated in a rich, garlicky sauce that wasn’t too overwhelming. Not greasy at all and in fact, the layers of fat on the pork belly tasted crunchy.
52 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Beijing-style ‘Shao Mai’ was more meaty as compared to the Cantonese ones with more crunch from whole prawns, hence each morsel was quite heavy and dense and I got sick of it just after 1 or 2 pieces. The Special Fried Pancake was a little hard and dry on the outside but the inside was juicy with meat and chives. The rest of the fried items were just greasy and boring so skip them if you can.
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
One of my long-time favourites because these are cooked in boiling water and are non-greasy. These Beijing-style dumplings had thicker skin as compared to our local wantons or sui kows but I loved the combination of the pork and cabbage filling which was well marinated. I would dip each jiao zi into black vinegar and eat with shredded ginger. Heavenly.
51 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Their Xiao Long Bao were made to order so you’d have to wait for this to be served. But it was worth it because these buns were steaming hot when they arrived on my table and it was just a joy to see how much meat juice each parcel contained. It would ooze liquid with each bite. Delicious.

For full review and pictures, please visit http://www.springtomorrow.com/2014/03/11/weekday-hi-tea-buffet-lao-beijing-novena-square/
題外話/補充資料: While the high tea buffet wasn’t spectacular, it was still a decent meal for the price paid. It’s just affordably cheap. The LBJ outlet at Orchard Central offers lunch and dinner buffets too so that might be something new to check out next time.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$16 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Sliced Pork with Garlic Sauce
  • Pork and Cabbage Jiaozi
  • Zha Jiang Mian
等級4
2013-09-28 370 瀏覽
Have bought their signature Beijing stir fried noodles and spicy pork to share with my sister. The stir fried noodles was really generous in portion and good to serve two people. The noodles are very chewy and tasty, with lots of fried eggs, prawns and beansprout added in it. The noodles are very chewy and not too soggy too. The spicy pork meat, which the marination of the meat is really fragrant and is also quite spicy. Meat is tender and juicy. Restaurant layout was very spaciouis and wi
更多
Have bought their signature Beijing stir fried noodles and spicy pork to share with my sister. The stir fried noodles was really generous in portion and good to serve two people. The noodles are very chewy and tasty, with lots of fried eggs, prawns and beansprout added in it. The noodles are very chewy and not too soggy too. The spicy pork meat, which the marination of the meat is really fragrant and is also quite spicy. Meat is tender and juicy. Restaurant layout was very spaciouis and with many traditional furnishing here. Staffs are friendly and helpful too.
57 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-09-18 227 瀏覽
I knew not much about Lao Beijing Restaurant, but I heard its reputation was not bad in food chain. It was able to grab customer’s attraction with their several secret recipe dishes.What caught my eye was their signature Chinese Ramen. It called ‘’Dan Dan Mian’’ as well, famous street food in Sichuan. Pretty, tidy and the richness of the gravy was so hearty. Although a bit oily, a bit sinful, yet I enjoyed the noodles especially soaked up with delicious sauces. There was heaps of minced pork spr
更多
I knew not much about Lao Beijing Restaurant, but I heard its reputation was not bad in food chain. It was able to grab customer’s attraction with their several secret recipe dishes.
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What caught my eye was their signature Chinese Ramen. It called ‘’Dan Dan Mian’’ as well, famous street food in Sichuan. Pretty, tidy and the richness of the gravy was so hearty. Although a bit oily, a bit sinful, yet I enjoyed the noodles especially soaked up with delicious sauces. There was heaps of minced pork sprinkled all over and the gravy looked thick and dark red. Slightly spicy along with sesame where the noodles were tough. It declared in Menu that it was handmade. Taste wise I must say it was all in all good.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-15
人均消費
$13 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Beijing style Special Zhajiang Noodles
等級2
5
0
2013-08-21 226 瀏覽
Serving authentic Northern Chinese fare, noodles and juicy dumplings, Lao Beijing is my favourite venue for family dining and cosy gatherings.Their all-time favourites are Traditional Roast Peking Duck, Beijing-style Sweet and Sour Fish, Xiao Long Bao, Shrimp, Pork and Chive Guo Tie, Dan Dan Noodles and many more delectable dishes.The simple dishes I ordered on my special day is as good as always. I was presented with a special birthday cake as well. No wonder It has bagged numerous awards and r
更多
Serving authentic Northern Chinese fare, noodles and juicy dumplings, Lao Beijing is my favourite venue for family dining and cosy gatherings.

Their all-time favourites are Traditional Roast Peking Duck, Beijing-style Sweet and Sour Fish, Xiao Long Bao, Shrimp, Pork and Chive Guo Tie, Dan Dan Noodles and many more delectable dishes.

The simple dishes I ordered on my special day is as good as always. I was presented with a special birthday cake as well.

No wonder It has bagged numerous awards and retains its position as one of Singapore's top restaurants in Singapore Tatler's 'Best Restaurants' guide.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-18
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
等級4
260
5
2013-08-14 194 瀏覽
One of the "must have" dish for each of our visit to any Lao Beijing outlets.Priced at S$12.00 for a portion of six pieces of soft, clear and silky deep fried beancurd cubes. Complemented with mashed generous serving of spinach spread over the entire top of each cube. The fragrant delicious shimeiji mushrooms goes well with the dish.The just right thickness of the starchy oyster sauce gravy topping is a good overall combination for this braised spinach beancurd dish.Indeed very palatable. Thumb
更多
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


One of the "must have" dish for each of our visit to any Lao Beijing outlets.

Priced at S$12.00 for a portion of six pieces of soft, clear and silky deep fried beancurd cubes. Complemented with mashed generous serving of spinach spread over the entire top of each cube. The fragrant delicious shimeiji mushrooms goes well with the dish.

The just right thickness of the starchy oyster sauce gravy topping is a good overall combination for this braised spinach beancurd dish.

Indeed very palatable. Thumbs Up.
26 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言


This half portion of the smoked duck are sliced to a reasonable thickness.

The perfect duck skin and fresh medium rare meat is not salty like some frozen smoked duck meat.
About a dozen pieces of the plain light pancakes ( popiah skin) are served with this dish. It would be even better if egg popiah skin are served with the smoked duck slices.

Similar to Peking Duck, the sliced duck meat are wrapped with the popiah skin topped with thinly sliced leeks and cucumber.

A plate of Hoisin sauce goes well with these pancakes.

A DIY dish to test your skill in rolling popiah skin.

Priced at S$24.00.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-05-18
人均消費
$30
推介美食
  • Braised Spinach Beancurd
  • Smoked Duck Pancake
等級4
260
5
2013-08-12 39 瀏覽
Lao Beijng Eight Treasure Tea is a delightful beverage with a special blend of eight ingredients.A great thirst quencher which has medicinal properties that will help to decrease body heat, promote digestion especially after an oily meal, believe to induce appetite and relieve fatigue.The ingredients are a combination of Chrysanthemum, Wolberry, Honeysuckle bud, Liquorice root, Chinese red dates, Tangerine rind, Jujubee berry and Cassia seed.This tea is refreshing and slightly bland. A good tea
更多
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Lao Beijng Eight Treasure Tea is a delightful beverage with a special blend of eight ingredients.

A great thirst quencher which has medicinal properties that will help to decrease body heat, promote digestion especially after an oily meal, believe to induce appetite and relieve fatigue.

The ingredients are a combination of Chrysanthemum, Wolberry, Honeysuckle bud, Liquorice root, Chinese red dates, Tangerine rind, Jujubee berry and Cassia seed.

This tea is refreshing and slightly bland. A good tea should not be sweet otherwise it will spoil the flavour of all the medicinal herbs in the drink.

A must have tea for our meals at Lao Beijing.

Priced: S$3.00 per person and refillable.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-14
等級3
39
0
2013-07-11 46 瀏覽
I probably mention this way too much but one of my favourite dishes has to be beef noodle soup. While I usually prefer my beef roasted the western-style, I love slurping down the tasty beef broth that always accompanies the dish. To me, the noodles and slices of beef are simply fillers. Which is why when I went for lunch at Lao Beijing, I tried the Braised beef noodles to see if they were any good. Unfortunately, they fell short of my expectations because the soup tasted more like water rather t
更多
I probably mention this way too much but one of my favourite dishes has to be beef noodle soup. While I usually prefer my beef roasted the western-style, I love slurping down the tasty beef broth that always accompanies the dish. To me, the noodles and slices of beef are simply fillers.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Which is why when I went for lunch at Lao Beijing, I tried the Braised beef noodles to see if they were any good. Unfortunately, they fell short of my expectations because the soup tasted more like water rather than anything. I guess the highlight of this dish is intended to be the braised beef pieces and the la mian but to me, if the soup is no good, the rest is negligible. It is also not cheap considering the price of $10~ so given the choice, I would go for my trusty hawker centre beef kway teow soup anyday.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-07
人均消費
$10
等級4
329
0
2013-05-09 38 瀏覽
Lunch was at Lao Beijing @ Velocity Novena as I was craving for some Chinese food. I love the environment of Lao Beijing - very nice interior decorations with the feel of olden Chinese restaurant feel. I ordered a La Mian and some dumplings to go with. The La Mian tasted okay, not the best I have had. The dumplings however tasted good and one bite you will know they made the dumpling fresh from the skin. The skin is not too thick nor thin, just nice in my opinion. There's quite a lot of selectio
更多
Lunch was at Lao Beijing @ Velocity Novena as I was craving for some Chinese food. I love the environment of Lao Beijing - very nice interior decorations with the feel of olden Chinese restaurant feel. I ordered a La Mian and some dumplings to go with. The La Mian tasted okay, not the best I have had. The dumplings however tasted good and one bite you will know they made the dumpling fresh from the skin. The skin is not too thick nor thin, just nice in my opinion. There's quite a lot of selection for the dumpling so you can order them according to your preference.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-07-30 32 瀏覽
If you like jiao zi and dumplings, then I recommend the high tea buffet from lao Beijing. Their buffet is pretty unique. You tick the paper to order your dumplings then they will only serve you the plain dumpling and jiao zi. All the sauces and condiments are placed at the display counter. There is really a lot of sauces like mala, hot and sour and tomato and egg to name a few. I think the mala is really good, quite spicy but made the dumpling taste really good. but the sauce is kind of oily too
更多
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If you like jiao zi and dumplings, then I recommend the high tea buffet from lao Beijing. Their buffet is pretty unique. You tick the paper to order your dumplings then they will only serve you the plain dumpling and jiao zi. All the sauces and condiments are placed at the display counter. There is really a lot of sauces like mala, hot and sour and tomato and egg to name a few. I think the mala is really good, quite spicy but made the dumpling taste really good. but the sauce is kind of oily too. nevertheless, it is a dumpling paradise.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
203
0
2012-07-16 39 瀏覽
i went to lao Beijing with my hubby for the hi tea dim sum buffet. the variety there was pretty good, there were also food. You can go there without eating lunch and be really full as there were a couple of main course like fried kway teow and zha jiang mian. The siew mai there was not too bad, it was pretty juicy. there were also those fried section too. it was nice of them to provide mayo to you with the fried food.
更多
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
i went to lao Beijing with my hubby for the hi tea dim sum buffet. the variety there was pretty good, there were also food. You can go there without eating lunch and be really full as there were a couple of main course like fried kway teow and zha jiang mian. The siew mai there was not too bad, it was pretty juicy. there were also those fried section too. it was nice of them to provide mayo to you with the fried food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
270
0
For more reviews with photos, please see http://thehungrybunnie.blogspot.com/2010/12/lao-beijing-novena-square.htmlThis place is perpetually packed, so be sure to go early or make reservations. But, at least the turnover's high and service is fast and efficient.We had:1) Braised Spinach Beancurd ($12) - Even with the starchy oyster-based gravy, this still felt light and healthy. The beancurd was soft and silky2) Double-Boiled Royal Nourishing Soup of the Day ($10) aka Chicken Soup with Fish Maw
更多
For more reviews with photos, please see http://thehungrybunnie.blogspot.com/2010/12/lao-beijing-novena-square.html

This place is perpetually packed, so be sure to go early or make reservations. But, at least the turnover's high and service is fast and efficient.

We had:

1) Braised Spinach Beancurd ($12) - Even with the starchy oyster-based gravy, this still felt light and healthy. The beancurd was soft and silky

2) Double-Boiled Royal Nourishing Soup of the Day ($10) aka Chicken Soup with Fish Maw - delicate, but with great depth of flavour
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
i headed to lao Beijing with a couple of friends for their buffet. The price was very reasonable, probably because we went on a weekday afternoon. We had their high tea buffet. There was a variety of dumpling, jiao zi to order. When we placed our orders for the dumplings, the lady who took our order told us that we can get all the soup and sauces at the buffet line. We were rather puzzled with what she said until they served the empty steamed dumpling. So we headed to the buffet line to get vari
更多
i headed to lao Beijing with a couple of friends for their buffet. The price was very reasonable, probably because we went on a weekday afternoon. We had their high tea buffet. There was a variety of dumpling, jiao zi to order. When we placed our orders for the dumplings, the lady who took our order told us that we can get all the soup and sauces at the buffet line. We were rather puzzled with what she said until they served the empty steamed dumpling. So we headed to the buffet line to get various sauces for the dumplings. There was mala sauce, hot and sour soup, premium soup, egg tomato sauce. I like the mala one, it really brought out the flavor of the dumpling. It is not too spicy yet goes so well with the dumpling. The hot and sour sauce was not too bad but I found it a little not sour enough so I added some vinegar and it tasted really good.

There were other dim sum and appetizers at the buffet line. My favourite appetizer was the marinated jelly fish. I took a large portion for myself. The jelly fish was very chewy and crunchy. The marinate was really good, sweetish sourish. It really whets your appetite. The dumplings were pretty good, the skin was not too thick. The meat inside was very juice. You can just simply dip it into vinegar and eat it, it is as good. There was siew mai for the dim sum, the siew mai was so so only. It was not really large in size. They use pretty fresh meat and the siew mai was rather tasty. They was also fried spring roll, they were nice enough to place mayo for you to eat together with your fried spring roll. The spring roll was very crispy on the outside. It is pretty addictive, I ate about 5 spring rolls at one shot.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
338
0
2012-03-30 29 瀏覽
my friends and i had dessert at lao beijing since it was a hot day..we had the mango rice roll... the rice roll was very soft.. and surround with coconut what we loved best was the 2 cold dessert.. one was the ice jelly with lemon grass waterit was mild and refreshing.. as for the mango sago.. it was good too.. not too sweet or watery..overall ingredients was perfect.. and more than what we ate at other places
更多
my friends and i had dessert at lao beijing since it was a hot day..

we had the mango rice roll... the rice roll was very soft.. and surround with coconut

what we loved best was the 2 cold dessert.. one was the ice jelly with lemon grass water

it was mild and refreshing.. as for the mango sago.. it was good too.. not too sweet or watery..

overall ingredients was perfect.. and more than what we ate at other places
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
99
1
2011-11-28 26 瀏覽
I was looking a place to have a late lunch with my family and suddenly we found this big advertisement board with buffet sign in front of a restaurant. So we decided to have a try since all of us did not have breakfast in the morning.The amount of food and the variety of the food is great. So much food can be chosen from.The place also has the good environment that brings up our appetite. The service lady in charge is very friendly with us and even spoke in dialect with my grand mother.Look forw
更多
I was looking a place to have a late lunch with my family and suddenly we found this big advertisement board with buffet sign in front of a restaurant. So we decided to have a try since all of us did not have breakfast in the morning.

The amount of food and the variety of the food is great. So much food can be chosen from.
The place also has the good environment that brings up our appetite. The service lady in charge is very friendly with us and even spoke in dialect with my grand mother.

Look forward to the next visit very soon. (:
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-11-25