10
2
0
等級3
90
0
2017-08-06 350 瀏覽
This weekend was back to Novena but this time visited this restaurant which located at 2nd level. The RED colour stucture design cannot be miss. The furniture is quite traditionally designed. Started to order curry ramen and Karamiso spicy ramen. The wait was not long and every table also have free eggs to starter to pass time. What a surprise with the ramen serving with a funnel like shape on TOP of Claypot. 😬😬😬Refer to photo. After waited for another 1 mins, both ramen is ready and dame HOT. T
更多
This weekend was back to Novena but this time visited this restaurant which located at 2nd level. The RED colour stucture design cannot be miss. The furniture is quite traditionally designed. Started to order curry ramen and Karamiso spicy ramen.

The wait was not long and every table also have free eggs to starter to pass time. What a surprise with the ramen serving with a funnel like shape on TOP of Claypot. 😬😬😬Refer to photo.

After waited for another 1 mins, both ramen is ready and dame HOT. The toppling came with a lot of vegetables, 2 slide of Chao Siew and sprouts. The Chao Siew is very thick compared to other restaurant which I estimated about 200%. LOL.

The soup is very fresh and thick texture. The spiciness would have been more spicer possibly will be perfect for me too.
Add on 2 more side dish, Gyoza. The meat well cooked with skin is thin and crispy too. Not so special for this one.

Overall is good experience and will come back in future.
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
57 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2017-08-06
等候時間
2 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$18 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Curry  ramen
  • karamiso  ramen
等級2
23
2
2014-12-26 226 瀏覽
So on a Sunday, I was back at Velocity @ Novena Square for my 2nd facial appointment and T accompanied me down so we can have dinner here at Velocity/Novena Square/Square 2/United Square! And look what T has found!One of my favourite food, Ramen! And this is the Tonkkotsu Kazan Ramen located at Square 2. It was pretty crowded when we got there at about 8 plus, and the small ramen-ya remained pretty packed up until we left at almost 9pm. Pretty popular huh! You'll find out why. And this is how sm
更多
So on a Sunday, I was back at Velocity @ Novena Square for my 2nd facial appointment and T accompanied me down so we can have dinner here at Velocity/Novena Square/Square 2/United Square!

And look what T has found!
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
One of my favourite food, Ramen!

And this is the Tonkkotsu Kazan Ramen located at Square 2. It was pretty crowded when we got there at about 8 plus, and the small ramen-ya remained pretty packed up until we left at almost 9pm. Pretty popular huh! You'll find out why.
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
And this is how small the entire place is. Erm, sorry uncle, I didn't mean to snap a picture of you slurping the hot ramen...
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
So T chose a pretty 'usual' Karamiso Kazan while I decided to try something new and went for their Hinomaru Tomato Kazan. And then we were first served these jugs of soup....
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Then this intimidating "volcano" ramen is served, dry in the super hot stone pot. The server will then pour in about half of the soup in the jug and close the red lid back on. Then you wait for 1 minute (there's a cute little timer on your table), until you see smoke rising from the top opening of the lid and, and remove the lid, pour the rest of the soup in and viola, you get your kazan ramen done!

I'll definitely advise that you get the staff to help with removing the lid for it'll be VERY hot.
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tadaa~ My Hinomaru Tomato Kazan Ramen,

I think this ramen will be the best choice for ladies, filled to the brim with a huge tomato, tons of cabbage shreds, beansprouts and red capsicums. The pork bone based broth is further 'spiced up' with a tangy flavour from the tomatoes, giving it a lighter and refreshing taste to the usual heavily flavourful ramen tonkotsu broth.

Seriously, I think that all the cabbage and beansprouts combined is twice as much as the noodles inside. Having a ton of beansprouts seemed to be how they do their ramen, so if you dislike beansprouts, please make a special order request to not add them in! It'll be a painfully infinite process if you have to pick them out one by one.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
T's Karamiso Kazan Ramen.

The broth was strongly flavourful, yet not spicy at all. So we're both a little disappointed. The charsiu, however, was heavenly! So thoroughly braised, and has the right amount of fattiness to make it tender and soft. I took a bite and it literally like melt apart in my mouth.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Their flavoured egg was pretty disappointing too.

Yes, the yolk was almost perfect with the outside moist and just cooked through while the innermost is glistening gooey, but... where's the braised flavour?! It was pure white throughout on the insides and the surface was only so ever slightly tanned that on first look I thought it was just a soft boiled egg. Taste wise, same thing.

This is just a soft boiled egg sold as a flavoured egg. Period.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yaki Gyoza.

My first impression when I saw these burnt gyoza was also another mental thumbs-down. But hey, I was surprised when I took a bite! The slightly charred flavour actually added more taste to the gyoza, while the meat filling remains tender and moist.

Failed on the presentation, but passed with flying colours on the actual taste.


repost from: http://molly-mia.blogspot.sg/2014/12/mias-review-tonkotsu-kazan-ramen.html

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-11-30
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Hinomaru Tomato Kazan
  • gyoza
等級4
2014-08-25 163 瀏覽
Wanting something soupy for dinner that night, The Beau and I headed for ramen, since the "volcano ramen" concept seemed interesting, and this was one of the restaurants at Novena Square 2 that was not crowded on a Saturday evening.It was a small and non-discreet little Japanese restaurant with rather friendly and jovial service crew. The setting was simple but richly infused with authentic Japanese decor.For mains, I had the Chashyu Karamiso Ramen (SGD$15.00) with kimchi and flavored egg. It wa
更多
Wanting something soupy for dinner that night, The Beau and I headed for ramen, since the "volcano ramen" concept seemed interesting, and this was one of the restaurants at Novena Square 2 that was not crowded on a Saturday evening.

It was a small and non-discreet little Japanese restaurant with rather friendly and jovial service crew. The setting was simple but richly infused with authentic Japanese decor.

For mains, I had the Chashyu Karamiso Ramen (SGD$15.00) with kimchi and flavored egg. It was supposed to be spicy, but it wasn't, though the soup was tasty. I don't get why we were given three halves of the flavored egg, but anyway eaten with the spicy kimchi, it was good. The pork slices were tender, firm and thick - very lovely to chew. The noodles looked springy / hard but were actually rather soft - I would prefer the doneness a little more taut.

The Beau had the Hot Stone Curry Fried Rice (SGD$7.00) - which he had to constantly stir so the rice would not stick to the pot. The rice was rather crispy, and the curry was good - the taste was distinctive without being overly spicy. The pork slices on top of the fried rice were rather tender as well. The portion was just nice, making it a rather fulfilling meal.

For more detailed information and photos, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/08/dinner-at-tonkotsu-kazan-ramen.html

20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Chashyu Karamiso Ramen
23 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Hot Stone Curry Fried Rice
28 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-08-23
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
Chashyu Karamiso Ramen
Hot Stone Curry Fried Rice
等級3
41
0
2014-01-26 161 瀏覽
Karamiso Ramen + Gyoza Set cost $16.I love the gyoza nicely fried. Ramen was eaten by my grandma which she say it was fabulous too!! StepsKazan kaisen-shio cost $18.beforeafterThe amount of ramen was enough and ingredient was good. However, i think ramen was too overly cooked.Addition egg cost $1.Dessert time: Only 2 desserts to choose from so had choose the Kinako-mochi ball in coconuts with fruits sauce that cost $5 because it was special compare to the ice cream.The seats between was too smal
更多
Karamiso Ramen + Gyoza Set cost $16.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love the gyoza nicely fried. Ramen was eaten by my grandma which she say it was fabulous too!!

Steps
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kazan kaisen-shio cost $18.
before
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
after
26 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The amount of ramen was enough and ingredient was good. However, i think ramen was too overly cooked.

Addition egg cost $1.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dessert time: Only 2 desserts to choose from so had choose the Kinako-mochi ball in coconuts with fruits sauce that cost $5 because it was special compare to the ice cream.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The seats between was too small and the waiter / waitress keep banging my mum when she is eating.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Karamiso Ramen + Gyoza Set
等級4
2013-12-31 90 瀏覽
Attention to Ramen lover, Tonkotsu Kazan which originated from Osaka Japan was now proudly located at Singapore. It probably not news, but I just came to know. Anyway, it served the freshest and funniest tossed up Ramen in town. Burning as if Volcano, patrons may enjoy the entertaining moment for such cool creation. Instead of the high-profile happening version, I picked the most decent one. Natural and original Tankotsu broth enhanced the special blended salted paste, noodle was spongy and chew
更多
Attention to Ramen lover, Tonkotsu Kazan which originated from Osaka Japan was now proudly located at Singapore. It probably not news, but I just came to know. Anyway, it served the freshest and funniest tossed up Ramen in town. Burning as if Volcano, patrons may enjoy the entertaining moment for such cool creation.
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Instead of the high-profile happening version, I picked the most decent one. Natural and original Tankotsu broth enhanced the special blended salted paste, noodle was spongy and chewy. I found their decent recipe soup was finely boiled, the most typical at the moment. The soup was fragrant and exclusively filling, only price at $12.00.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-31
人均消費
$12 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Shio Ramen
等級2
18
0
For more photos and in-depth review, feel free to visit:http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen-claypot-noodle-the-japan-ramen-version/Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen originates from Osaka Japan and they specialise in Hot Stone Ramen and Rice. Hot stone rice typical range from S$10.00 to S$12.00 and a hot stone ramen cost S$15.00 for a small and S$18.00 for a big size.A small Kazan Kara Miso Ramen cost me S$15.00++ and i think this is good enough for two people (if you are not the
更多
For more photos and in-depth review, feel free to visit:
http://chinchaijiak.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen-claypot-noodle-the-japan-ramen-version/

Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen originates from Osaka Japan and they specialise in Hot Stone Ramen and Rice. Hot stone rice typical range from S$10.00 to S$12.00 and a hot stone ramen cost S$15.00 for a small and S$18.00 for a big size.

A small Kazan Kara Miso Ramen cost me S$15.00++ and i think this is good enough for two people (if you are not the super big eater kind) as apart from the noodle, it also comes with a bowl of rice. What i love about this ramen is – The broth and noodle remains piping hot for the whole time due to the hot stone bowl!

The heat from the piping hot stone bowl made every bite of the ramen and ever
y mouthful of the Tonkotsu broth really enjoyable, especially during this cold, rainy monsoon season.
13 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-07
推介美食
  • Kazan Kara Miso Ramen
等級3
87
1
2013-12-08 13 瀏覽
For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/04/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen-square-2/Having passed by Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen a lot of times, I finally have the chance to visit this place for dinner. Originated from Osaka, Japan, this place is famous for their kazan (volcanic) ramens, where their famed tonkotsu broth is poured onto the ramen on a stone bowl and cooked until the steam comes out (which according to them is volcanic eruption!). They have also opened their se
更多
For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/04/tonkotsu-kazan-ramen-square-2/

Having passed by Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen a lot of times, I finally have the chance to visit this place for dinner. Originated from Osaka, Japan, this place is famous for their kazan (volcanic) ramens, where their famed tonkotsu broth is poured onto the ramen on a stone bowl and cooked until the steam comes out (which according to them is volcanic eruption!). They have also opened their second outlet at Liang Court 3 months ago!

The Kazan Curry is one of the variants of kazan ramen with the specially blended curry paste being added to the tonkotsu broth. The portion is rather huge so it can be shared by 2 people (or even 1 if you have a huge appetite). The curry is fragrant and rich in flavour. The noodles are rather chewy and springy (althoughly slightly soggy as well). Probably the only downside is the portion of the noodle is rather little, as compared to a whole lot of vegetables inside (especially beansprouts).
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Yaki Gyoza is rather soft (as opposed to most places having it crispy) and full of fillings, but taste rather normal and missable.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Although this is a small restaurant, this place is a great place to have ramen if you are within the Novena area.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-15
等級3
95
0
2013-08-22 11 瀏覽
I love negi ( spring onion ) and tamago .These are the two must have in my ramen...I wasn't expecting to have 1.5 eggs in my ramen ! This is shoyu kazen ramen.( $15) Broth is light and not as salty ..can add as much garlic as you like coz there is a container of garlic and the garlic crusher on the table provided for us. ..and they also have chilli paste and flakes too. It is a small diner , prob can see about 30..expect a que for lunch
更多
I love negi ( spring onion ) and tamago .These are the two must have in my ramen...
I wasn't expecting to have 1.5 eggs in my ramen ! This is shoyu kazen ramen.( $15) Broth is light and not as salty ..can add as much garlic as you like coz there is a container of garlic and the garlic crusher on the table provided for us. ..and they also have chilli paste and flakes too. It is a small diner , prob can see about 30..expect a que for lunch
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-19
人均消費
$15 (午餐)
等級2
24
0
2013-08-09 12 瀏覽
I was wondering around Square 2 to look for a place to have lunch with family, and this shop really caught my attention. Cosy & nice interior layout, like a small corner Japanese traditional ramen stall with a modern twist to it I ordered the shoyu ramen + gyoza set which cost about $16 dollars, very filling & really make me a happier girl after the meal Pricing a little high for me personally, but it really worth spending to eat such great ramen once a while. Comparing to other ramen stores i
更多
I was wondering around Square 2 to look for a place to have lunch with family, and this shop really caught my attention. Cosy & nice interior layout, like a small corner Japanese traditional ramen stall with a modern twist to it
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I ordered the shoyu ramen + gyoza set which cost about $16 dollars, very filling & really make me a happier girl after the meal
Pricing a little high for me personally, but it really worth spending to eat such great ramen once a while. Comparing to other ramen stores i tired before, I guess this is one of the few that really has the tasty and want more kind of feeling
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-08
人均消費
$16 (午餐)
等級4
The word "Kazan" is known as volcano in Japanese. The numerous newpaper printouts had actually caught my attention as I walked past Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen. Initially I thought that Kazan is actually referring to its level of spiciness - as hot as volcano but as when I took a close look, I realised the "fun" in the meal and decided to give it a try."Irrashaimase" - a very loud and warm welcome greeted us upon stepping into the restaurant and gave a very good first impression. Secondly, the server c
更多
The word "Kazan" is known as volcano in Japanese. The numerous newpaper printouts had actually caught my attention as I walked past Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen. Initially I thought that Kazan is actually referring to its level of spiciness - as hot as volcano but as when I took a close look, I realised the "fun" in the meal and decided to give it a try.

"Irrashaimase" - a very loud and warm welcome greeted us upon stepping into the restaurant and gave a very good first impression. Secondly, the server came welcoming us with its menu. Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen was well decorated with the classic feel of a Japanese Ramen Stall similar to what I had visited in Japan. Not only was the utensils and cookery stuffs placed neatly, the ambience was well lited and rather quiet which served as a perfect place to dine over the weekends to keep away from the bustle of the city.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Do help yourself with the freeflow of seasonings on the table ranging from vinegar to shoyu and they even provide garlic with the garlic press for their customers to enhance the taste of their dish.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Proper instructions were pasted on the table to guide and share with customers how to cook a delicious kazan ramen. It had also advised customers customer to stay away from the hot stone bowl.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered the classic Shoyu Ramen to have a taste of its original Tonkotsu broth as it was mentioned on the menu that the broth was enhanced with a special blended soy sauce paste. Each strand of smooth and springy ramen is delectably coated with a flavourful broth. This aromatic broth somehow reminds me of a famous Ramen Stall located in Tanjong Pagar area! Yums!
Cost: S$12.00
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I had ordered one of its signature dish, Curry Kazan and the long awaited volcanic eruption performance is about to commenced. The dish was initially served in a hot stone pot and the server had pour half a pot of curry into it, covered it up with the hood and about one minute later, he poured the remaining curry into the stone pot again. Timing was all measured by the little hour glass device on the table as seen in the picture).
Cost: S$18.00
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The hood was then remove and "ta-da", take a look the end product and enjoy the sizzling sound in the video.


Not only we have to be caution on the pipping hot stone pot, we have to be additional careful and keep a distance from the curry as they may follow the "sizzling" sound and stain our clothing. Do also note that my meal comes with additional bowl of rice to goes along with the remaining curry as the portion is enormous for me, I suggest that the meal can be shared by 2 instead!

Last but not least, if you are thinking of having green tea in this Japanese restaurant, you can find alternatives as green tea is not available in its menu.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The total bill for the night including 10% of Service Charge and 7% GST is well spent for the night as I really enjoyed every bit of the meal.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-28
人均消費
$18 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Kazan Curry
等級4
2013-04-27 20 瀏覽
I saw this shop with long queue and decided to give this place a try. Ramen with the spicy miso taste and the typical ingredients; half an egg, seaweed, charsiew, bamboo shoots and spring onions. The pork broth is so flavorful that i finish the whole bowl of soup. It was not very hot, even though i added a lot of extra chili in. I saw a lot of people ordering the volcano ramen, but i wasnt courageous to try a all new to me item, i shall try it out next time.
更多
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I saw this shop with long queue and decided to give this place a try.

Ramen with the spicy miso taste and the typical ingredients; half an egg, seaweed, charsiew, bamboo shoots and spring onions. The pork broth is so flavorful that i finish the whole bowl of soup. It was not very hot, even though i added a lot of extra chili in.

I saw a lot of people ordering the volcano ramen, but i wasnt courageous to try a all new to me item, i shall try it out next time.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
271
2
2013-03-11 15 瀏覽
I had one of the more interesting ramen experience here at TKR. The deco of the stall was the first that attracted my attention, typical small jap ramen stall concept with small tables and chairs. The ceiling is also decorated with old school japanese poster and the noodle bar top is covered with zinc sheets. I was forced to share table with another couple but i soon found that i was getting in the way of many people (i'm a gentle giant). Fortunately there was another seat available just behind
更多
I had one of the more interesting ramen experience here at TKR. The deco of the stall was the first that attracted my attention, typical small jap ramen stall concept with small tables and chairs. The ceiling is also decorated with old school japanese poster and the noodle bar top is covered with zinc sheets. I was forced to share table with another couple but i soon found that i was getting in the way of many people (i'm a gentle giant). Fortunately there was another seat available just behind the noodle bar counter and that made everybody happy
.

Seeing that its quite a big bowlful, i ordered the kazan kaisen-shio ramen with rice $18. Its made with original tonkotsu broth enhanced withe special blended salt paste with seafood. The ramen is served dry, then the server will pour in the broth, cover it with a red funnel lookalike and then they will turn over the hourglass sandtimer. They will remove the funnel one the time is up. To be frank it did not feel like a typical japanese ramen with that kind of broth, it actually feels a little Chinese but i must say i'm convinced with the sweet tasting soup that its a nice eat. It was so good that me and my partner forgot the rice that came along with it. But when we wanted to start with the rice, we realized our soup is almost gone by now. We tried our luck and ask for more soup and were surprised that they actually cook up another small portion (it took 3min to prepare) for us. So we had the rice just with the soup and i must say there was nothing left in the end as it was very appetizing with the hot soup and rice combination.

Another dish worth mentioning is the Nagoya Tebasaki chicken wings $6, which is coated with honey and sesame to enhance its freshly grilled taste. Didn't quite like the female server though as i requested for a spoon but she insisted that my soup ladle acts similarly like the spoon. Also overheard talking about how one customer want to hold his order fro a friend that is coming and she whine about why dun he order later then, customer service there is still room for improvement. The other guy that usually handles the cashier is very nice on the other hand.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-08
人均消費
$15 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Tebasaki; Kazan Ramen