6
4
0
等級4
A Noodle Story 超好面 located in Amoy Street Food Centre has differentiated itself by being the first and only Singapore-style ramen. This is the brain child of two Shatec trained friends who decided to create ultimate noodles dish through a combination of modern European techniques and Asian flavours providing gourmet quality noodles at hawker prices. A Noodle Story has announced on Jan this year that due to increase in operating cost (rental and cost of raw ingredients), their prices have increas
更多
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A Noodle Story 超好面 located in Amoy Street Food Centre has differentiated itself by being the first and only Singapore-style ramen. This is the brain child of two Shatec trained friends who decided to create ultimate noodles dish through a combination of modern European techniques and Asian flavours providing gourmet quality noodles at hawker prices.
74 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
A Noodle Story has announced on Jan this year that due to increase in operating cost (rental and cost of raw ingredients), their prices have increased by 50 cents. Hence, please note to increase the prices by 50 cents for all the prices stated in this blog post.
42 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Singapore Style Ramen $6

The Singapore Style Ramen $6 consisted of Noodles, Hot Spring Egg, Cha Su, Potato Wrapped Prawn, and HK Style Wanton topped with scallions. The soup was served separately in a small bowl. The noodles were very springy and were similar to mee kia.
50 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Singapore Style Ramen $6
48 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Potato Wrapped Prawn
39 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Cha Su
30 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Hot Spring Egg

The noodles were cluttered together in a lump making it hard to eat. The chilli added at the side lacked spiciness and fragrance and was too dry. The ingredients such as the Potato Wrapped Prawn, Cha Su and Hot Spring Egg were quite good whereas the HK Style Wanton was ordinary with nothing much to shout about.

As a whole, the presentation and concept of this Singapore Style Ramen was unique. It looked real good. But taste wise, it was not mind blowing. Nevertheless, I still must say that I admire the spirit of these two young men for their innovation in creating such a dish. Moreover, the effort taken to arrange the ingredients in the bowl although this was not a restaurant.

http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/2014/01/a-noodle-story-amoy-street-food-centre.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級2
5
1
A Noodle Story is a hipster hawker stall that sells traditional wanton noodle with a modern Japanese interpretation coined as Singapore style Ramen .The stall is manned by two young enterprising guys . The waiting time was a little longer than your usual hawker fare but you could see the effort the guys put in to prepare your bowl of noodles . The presentation of the bowl of noodles was very good . Served with an oversized woonden spoon, the bowl had a myriad of colours making it look rather app
更多

A Noodle Story is a hipster hawker stall that sells traditional wanton noodle with a modern Japanese interpretation coined as Singapore style Ramen .The stall is manned by two young enterprising guys . The waiting time was a little longer than your usual hawker fare but you could see the effort the guys put in to prepare your bowl of noodles . The presentation of the bowl of noodles was very good . Served with an oversized woonden spoon, the bowl had a myriad of colours making it look rather appetising. Kudos to them for paying attention to detail .
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The singapore style ramen was served dry , similar to wanton noodles , accompanied with a small bowl of soup . The bowl of noodles had a lot going for just $5.50 . The toppings consisted of wontons, char su, onsen egg, and a potato wrapped prawn fritter. Additional toppings can purchased separately. 
Singapore Style Ramen
$5.5
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The noodles were like mee kia but with a more springy texture . The thin noodles was tossed in a special dry sauce which packed a savoury punch . Umami ! The wontons were big and had chunks of juicy prawns in it . The Char Su was well executed making it very juicy , pity it lacked more flavour compared to char su you get at ramen joints . I suspect they left out mirin, a type of japanese rice wine essential in Japanese cooking to keep the cost low. The onsen egg or hot spring egg was perfectly done . Hard on the outside and a runny yolk in the inside . The potato prawn fritter was unique , my first time having such a prawn fritter .
Singapore Style Ramen
$5.5
32 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Overall, the noodles was rather good. The unique bowl of noodles shed a different light on the evergreen wanton noodle. The combination of the springy textures of the noodles with the various toppings made it a rather satisfying meal.

For more please visit :
https://gluttonthatshoots.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/a-noodle-story-amoy-food-centre-singapore-ramen/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-03-23
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$5.50 (晚餐)
推介美食
Singapore Style Ramen
$ 5.5
Singapore Style Ramen
$ 5.5
  • Singapore style ramen
等級4
430
0
2014-12-25 184 瀏覽
When I heard that Amoy Food Centre was going under renovation for the next 3 months, I quickly went to have a try of "A Noodle Story" before it closes.I reached there after Lunch time and I thought it was closed as there was no queue. Luckily the stall holder said they ran out of Char Siew but still able to make me a bowl of noodles. I ordered the normal "Singapore-style Ramen" at $5.50. This pricing was not cheap consider other noodle stalls in the vinicity.When the dish came, I was very surpis
更多
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
When I heard that Amoy Food Centre was going under renovation for the next 3 months, I quickly went to have a try of "A Noodle Story" before it closes.

I reached there after Lunch time and I thought it was closed as there was no queue. Luckily the stall holder said they ran out of Char Siew but still able to make me a bowl of noodles. 

I ordered the normal "Singapore-style Ramen" at $5.50. This pricing was not cheap consider other noodle stalls in the vinicity.

When the dish came, I was very surpised by the generous portion of ingredients in the bowl. There was a fried prawn, 4 big wantons and an braised egg. The ganishing also looked appetizing and Japanese.

What surpised me most was the braised egg, it had a melting yolk and tasted very good, so much better than those from Japanese Ramen stalls. The wantons were meaty and the fried prawns really had a big prawn inside, I thought it was of more flour. 

However, I found that the noodles were disappointing. The noodles used were local Mee Kia. The Mee Kia tasted soggy and the akaline tasted was a bit on the high side. The sauce and Chilli for the noodles was slightly too salty, I prefered a lighter taste. 

Overall, the "Singapore-style Ramen" can be better if they use more springy egg noodle .

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$5.50 (午餐)
等級2
8
0
2014-03-22 164 瀏覽
Located at the Amoy Street Food Centre, A Noodle Story (超好面) is opened by former Waku Ghin chef de partie Gwern Khoo and his business partner Ben Tham and together they have created a Singapore-style ramen.The noodle servings are available in three sizes – $5.50, $6.50 and $7.50.Crispy Potato-Wrapped Prawn, HK-Style Wonton, Tender Cha-su and Hot Spring Egg are also available as additional side orders.The noodles to me seemed more like our local mee kia rather than Japanese ramen and the chilli u
更多
Located at the Amoy Street Food Centre, A Noodle Story (超好面) is opened by former Waku Ghin chef de partie Gwern Khoo and his business partner Ben Tham and together they have created a Singapore-style ramen.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The noodle servings are available in three sizes – $5.50, $6.50 and $7.50.
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Crispy Potato-Wrapped Prawn, HK-Style Wonton, Tender Cha-su and Hot Spring Egg are also available as additional side orders.
The noodles to me seemed more like our local mee kia rather than Japanese ramen and the chilli used is actually hae bee hiam (sambal udang kering), a spicy dried fried shrimp sambal.
Singapore-style Ramen
25 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
This is served with several slices of tender Japanese-style chashu, two pieces of wonton filled with fresh springy prawns and had a hint of ginger in it, one piece of fried prawn wrapped with potato shreds which was crispy, fragrant and really tasty, as well as half a Japanese style onsen egg that was cooked perfectly (just the way I like it). Each ingredient gave a different dimension to the dish as they brought different textures and flavours to your tastebuds. The noodles are typically garnished with freshly sliced scallions and red pepper but I don’t like scallions so I asked them not to put any garnishing in my bowl.

Overall I would classify this as fusion food, so I’m not really sure if it is popular with the local crowd, as I noticed the queue at this stall is not as long as the some of the other stalls at the food centre. I did enjoy the noodles, which were a change from the usual ones being sold at most hawker centres and my favourite ingredient was the crispy potato-wrapped prawn. Yums!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-01-07
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$5.50 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Crispy Potato-Wrapped Prawn
等級3
75
0
2014-03-11 114 瀏覽
Read a lot about this stall at Amoy Street Food Centre and decided to give it at try in the evening hen there is. No queue .. Head that during lunch time the queue is very long. The noodle presentation is like Japanese Ramen. Very nice presentation. The noodle have a piece of big bruise pork which s very tender and taste like those chat Siew in Japanese Ramen. Also there are 2 big wanton and a piece of fried potato prawn. Like Japanese ramen it has a half boiled onsen egg. Overall the noodle l
更多
18 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Read a lot about this stall at Amoy Street Food Centre and decided to give it at try in the evening hen there is. No queue .. Head that during lunch time the queue is very long. The noodle presentation is like Japanese Ramen. Very nice presentation. The noodle have a piece of big bruise pork which s very tender and taste like those chat Siew in Japanese Ramen. Also there are 2 big wanton and a piece of fried potato prawn. Like Japanese ramen it has a half boiled onsen egg. Overall the noodle look and Tate very good. And it is not expensive too. Worth to try. Cost about $6 per bowl
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-18
人均消費
$6
推介美食
  • Noodles
等級3
92
3
It was indeed unconventional to find this unique Singapore-styled ramen which definitely stands out amidst all the normal hawker food fare. And it was really quite awesome.The smallest bowl priced at $5.50 but the portion was already big enough to fill my stomach The noodles was springy and had a delectable taste of shrimps paste. The egg was cooked sous-vide like the Japanese Tamago one usually finds in Ramen. There were a few slices of char siew which had a tender chewiness. But I don't fancy
更多
It was indeed unconventional to find this unique Singapore-styled ramen which definitely stands out amidst all the normal hawker food fare. And it was really quite awesome.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The smallest bowl priced at $5.50 but the portion was already big enough to fill my stomach


The noodles was springy and had a delectable taste of shrimps paste. The egg was cooked sous-vide like the Japanese Tamago one usually finds in Ramen. There were a few slices of char siew which had a tender chewiness. But I don't fancy the meat as they contained slightly too much fats along with the meat while my friend enjoyed it very much


Besides that, there were two huge chunky wantons which were simply awesomely bouncy. And last but not least, there was a deep-fried potato-prawn fritter as well. It was a good combination and great as one of the noodle toppings but it was not as crunchy or crispy as I have anticipated.
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Overall, unique and good quality food and reasonably-priced of course since it is at hawker center. So expect to sweat while slurping down the hot bowl of noodles hehe
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (午餐)
推介美食
  • The Ramen
等級4
484
3
2013-11-20 27 瀏覽
I love reading a few local food blogs and I came across this review raving about this stall! A Noodle Story is a stall located at a hawker selling the first local-style Singaporean ramen! I knew I had to try this after reading the reviews and the mouth watering pictures of the ramen online ;)On their menu, the noodle is priced at $5, $6 or $7. As it was my first time, I went for the $5 bowl. I absolutely love the presentation of the whole dish, they do not serve the normal spoon but a wooden la
更多
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言


I love reading a few local food blogs and I came across this review raving about this stall! A Noodle Story is a stall located at a hawker selling the first local-style Singaporean ramen! I knew I had to try this after reading the reviews and the mouth watering pictures of the ramen online ;)

On their menu, the noodle is priced at $5, $6 or $7. As it was my first time, I went for the $5 bowl. I absolutely love the presentation of the whole dish, they do not serve the normal spoon but a wooden ladle instead! The ingredients included a piece of potato wrapped prawn, two huge pieces of chashu, two pieces of wantons and an onsen egg. The chashu had just the right amount of fat, lean meat and tenderness. The prawn was wrapped in strips of potato which was so crispy! I love the noodles as well, so springy and eggy. The special sauce they use is so aromatic and full of flavour, I practically devoured the whole bowl
It also came with a bowl of soup, which was so flavourful! They also sell side dishes, which are the crispy potato wrapped prawn, the chashu, the wantons or the onsen egg. Overall I was extremely satisfied and I will most definitely come back for more!!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-12
人均消費
$5 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Ramen
等級2
5
0
2013-08-22 29 瀏覽
Got the noodles as takeaway for lunch. Love the presentation! For $7, u get 4 slices of char siew, 1 egg, 4 wantons, 1 potato wrapped prawn and of coz a big serving of the noodles with their special sauce. The char siew resembled the Japanese ramen and its really tasty with almost melt in your mouth fats.The braised egg has a nice runny consistency like any reputable ramenya should have.The wantons are similar to Hong Kong style as its bigger n u can taste the crunchy prawns inside. However I f
更多
Got the noodles as takeaway for lunch. Love the presentation! For $7, u get 4 slices of char siew, 1 egg, 4 wantons, 1 potato wrapped prawn and of coz a big serving of the noodles with their special sauce.


The char siew resembled the Japanese ramen and its really tasty with almost melt in your mouth fats.
The braised egg has a nice runny consistency like any reputable ramenya should have.
The wantons are similar to Hong Kong style as its bigger n u can taste the crunchy prawns inside. However I find the taste of it pretty normal perhaps lacking in seasoning.
The potato wrapped prawn wasn't as crispy as I've expected it to be probably because I didn't eat it there on the spot so it turned slightly soggy.
The noodles n sauce really do taste like a bowl of wanton noodles except that they included some konbu n pounded hae bi to it which gives a bite to it. Personally not a big fan of these little shrimp bits so taste wise it didn't really work for me.

Love the char siew n egg but probably wouldn't go out of the way just to get this bowl of noodles since there are still so many ramenya I've yet to try
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-20
人均消費
$7 (午餐)
等級4
2013-05-10 26 瀏覽
Today come here to try the famous Singapore Style Ramen. A stall manned by 2 young guys, at the first level of Amoy Market. Here is self service style, which means you queue, order, pay and wait for your food at the stall.First and only Singapore-style ramen ($5.00) in town!It is very nicely decorated. There is also $6 and $7 version. I am surprise that the noodle used is just the type usually used in wanton mee. So should not have called ramen isn't it. And it is not the best type I have eaten.
更多
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Today come here to try the famous Singapore Style Ramen. A stall manned by 2 young guys, at the first level of Amoy Market. Here is self service style, which means you queue, order, pay and wait for your food at the stall.
15 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
First and only Singapore-style ramen ($5.00) in town!
It is very nicely decorated. There is also $6 and $7 version. I am surprise that the noodle used is just the type usually used in wanton mee. So should not have called ramen isn't it. And it is not the best type I have eaten. Base on the taste, there seems to be an overused of black pepper. Too much pepper in the wanton, which covers the freshness of the prawn. Too much pepper in the soup.
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Crispy potato-wrapped prawn
Looks a bit too dark, like over deep fried. It tastes very crispy and the prawn inside is meaty and fresh.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The char siew looks Japanese style. I feel it is not tender enough as it do not has the melt in the mouth feeling.

Overall it is a very nice effort by 2 young guys. But I feel that the dish is more like XO sauce wanton mee. And the $5 dish is not filling. I am still feel not full. Aiyah! Maybe I have come with too high expectation.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-05-09
人均消費
$5 (晚餐)
等級4
2013-05-05 22 瀏覽
A noodle story started in February 2013.This noodle story is about 2 passionate young men met as classmate in SHATEC and came together to share their dream in wanting to serve warm and delicious foods to happy customers at an affordable price. Both of them have worked for some top restaurants like Waku Ghin and Iggy's before they started this stall at Amoy Street Food Centre as their first step to realise their dream. They are hoping to make up the disappointment that many of us encountered by
更多
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A noodle story started in February 2013.

This noodle story is about 2 passionate young men met as classmate in SHATEC and came together to share their dream in wanting to serve warm and delicious foods to happy customers at an affordable price. Both of them have worked for some top restaurants like Waku Ghin and Iggy's before they started this stall at Amoy Street Food Centre as their first step to realise their dream. They are hoping to make up the disappointment that many of us encountered by a not so perfect bowl of noodle.
5 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Here, they are looking into serving simplest dish using the modern techniques to make it possible. Every bowl of noodle is passionately served whole heartedly to give the best to make our every cent worth.

I read about them from some blogs and gotten all curious about it. I decided to come by on a gloomy morning to try it myself. I was there at about 11 pm. Their signboard was not lighted up yet. The 2 chefs were spotted making wantons outside their stall. I approached them to ask whether are they ready for business. They answered they were about to be ready and asked me to take a seat first and will served the noodles to my table when it is ready.

It was served to my table by one of the friendly chefs though self-service is expected. I paid up and thanks him for such initiative and attentiveness.
6 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言


I was impressed by the presentation. First that caught my eye was the crispy potato wrapped prawn rested on a wooden ladle. Next, was the onsen egg with a pretty looking orangy egg yolk. Then, the 2 pieces of chashu with just the right balance of fat and lean meat. Also, the 2 pieces of pump wantons there. It was the $5 portion of the egg noodle served with a lot of ingredients.

It is supposed to be the Singapore style ramen though the noodle did not quite resemble the typical Japanese style ramen but more like the mee kia that most of us are familiar.
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The noodle served dry. After tossed it well in the lemon grass and ginger infused oil, it was a bowl of delicious noodle awaits. It was garnished by kelp and prawn dust that made of blended dehydrated prawns to give it an extensive flavor. It was served with chilli aside. I felt the taste of chilli did not enhance the flavor any further. The type of chilli used is like sambal chilli but with minimum spiciness. To complete it, it was topped with sliced scallions, strands of red pepper and kombu seaweed.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If you want more of the crispy potato wrapped prawn, the chashu, the wantons or the onsen egg, you can order them as side dishes for $3 per serving.

My first mouthful was quite an experience. It was delightfully tasty. The Hong Kong style wantons has got a good mixture of prawn and minced meat. The potato wrapped prawn was freshly fried to give it the crispiness. The prawn together with paste was wrapped by strips of potato. The chashu and onsen egg give the noodle a hint of Japanese touch. The pieces of chashu were of the right thickness and derived at nice tenderness, the ultimate result of sous vide. The onsen egg has got a running egg yolk that was pretty enjoyable.

And, not forgetting the bowl of soup that came along with the noodle. It has got a slight taste of dried shrimps.

The noodle is the only item on their menu for $5, $6 or $7.

Other than the 4 type of ingredients, i can taste the amount of passion in this bowl of noodle. I truly enjoyed it, very much.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-23
推介美食
  • Singapore style Ramen.