21
2
0
等級4
112
0
2013-12-28 363 瀏覽
Lorong Ah Soo Lor Mee (正宗)羅弄阿苏卤面 is starchy, rich and saltier in the gravy. Xin Mei Xiang Zheng Zong Lor Mee 新美香正宗卤面has much milder taste and light seasoning with the gravy. What is your preference for your lor mee? If you are looking for well balance gravy in between the two extremes, 178 Lor mee could be a good choice.The soul of the lor mee very much relies heavily in the gravy; 178 gravy was not overly thick or too starchy and not as bland or diluted, perhaps this is one of the best balance
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Lorong Ah Soo Lor Mee (正宗)羅弄阿苏卤面 is starchy, rich and saltier in the gravy. Xin Mei Xiang Zheng Zong Lor Mee 新美香正宗卤面has much milder taste and light seasoning with the gravy. What is your preference for your lor mee? If you are looking for well balance gravy in between the two extremes, 178 Lor mee could be a good choice.
The soul of the lor mee very much relies heavily in the gravy; 178 gravy was not overly thick or too starchy and not as bland or diluted, perhaps this is one of the best balance lor mee gravy we have tried so far that able to achieve a more balance taste. The gravy was flavourful and overall one of the best we have tried.

Read more: http://ieatandeat.com/lorong-ah-soo/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • lor mee
等級3
90
1
Headed to Tiong Bahru Market for lunch and had queued up at Tiong Bahru Lor Mee Stall (#02-80) for at least 10 minutes but was told their Lor Mee had sold out by the time it was my turn to order. And it was only 1.30pm! Damn, if only the person in front of me could order one bowl short! Anyway, I decided to try out the other popular stall, Lor Mee 178 (#02-23) which had an even longer queue. Lol, a battle of the Lor Mees!Though the queue was long, it moved considerably quick. I waited for probab
更多
Headed to Tiong Bahru Market for lunch and had queued up at Tiong Bahru Lor Mee Stall (#02-80) for at least 10 minutes but was told their Lor Mee had sold out by the time it was my turn to order. And it was only 1.30pm! Damn, if only the person in front of me could order one bowl short! Anyway, I decided to try out the other popular stall, Lor Mee 178 (#02-23) which had an even longer queue. Lol, a battle of the Lor Mees!

Though the queue was long, it moved considerably quick. I waited for probably 20 minutes which wasn’t too bad if you have time to spare. This stall had received various national accolades and was featured in a number of local food programmes as well as various print media.
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
And here’s what I had ordered. A bowl of thick, flat yellow noodles in a starchy gravy topped with generous portions of ingredients like sliced fish cakes, braised pork and crispy fried shark nuggets. The delightful shark nugget is clearly the winning ingredient of this Lor Mee. It is fried to perfection. The batter is extremely crispy. I left the nuggets till the end to slowly savour them and they still taste crunchy despite being soaked in the gravy for a while. Shark meat itself is rather bland and doesn’t have much flavour too so the essence really lies in the crispiness of the nuggets. It’s like dunking hot, crispy dough fritters in porridge!

The gravy is also very tasty. Plus you can add a drizzle of Chin Kiang black vinegar (I’m so happy they use good old Chin Kiang!), minced garlic and a dollop of sambal chilli for that fiery kick. Mix everything up, you’ll get a mouthwatering bowl of noodles! Normally I try not to finish the gravy (for other lor mees) because it tends to be overly starchy but Lor Mee 178′s is of the perfect consistency and I actually slurped up every bit without feeling sick of it.

For full review and pictures, please visit http://springtomorrow.com/2013/11/06/lor-mee-178/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Lor Mee
等級3
72
20
2013-12-02 132 瀏覽
It was a beautiful and sunny Saturday and me and my friends planned to go for a day of foodie trip (To some places normally we will not go) and our first stop is Tiong Bahru for Shark meat Lor Mee which one of my friend had never eaten before and both my girlfriend and I wish to intro her to it and in the same time have our lunch there as we did not eat at this place for quite a while.The lor mee stall is located at level 2 of the Tiong Bahru old market (Level 1 is wet market) and this place is
更多
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It was a beautiful and sunny Saturday and me and my friends planned to go for a day of foodie trip (To some places normally we will not go) and our first stop is Tiong Bahru for Shark meat Lor Mee which one of my friend had never eaten before and both my girlfriend and I wish to intro her to it and in the same time have our lunch there as we did not eat at this place for quite a while.

The lor mee stall is located at level 2 of the Tiong Bahru old market (Level 1 is wet market) and this place is famous for it good food (A few popular stall located here). As usual, when we reached the place, there are quite a lot of people having their meals here and there is already a queue at the Shark Meat Lor Mee stall.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
You will be able to see there is always a queue at this stall for their Lor Mee (There are other stall selling lor mee too) and the staff inside are seen to be always deep frying Shark meat Nuggets and some other side dishes of the Lor Mee.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The stall design is quite simple with clear details of the pricing of their lor mee. This is also one of the very few stall who let customer self service on some of the ingredients like Black vinegar, garlic, red chillies and etc.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The gravy of the Lor Mee is nice with my own version of more black vinegar and garlic which I feels it enhanced the overall taste of this lor mee. The noodles is nice while the crispy deep fried flour really makes the meal tasted better. The nuggets are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside but do remember to eat it fast else it will be very soft due to the mixture of the gravy.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-02-23
人均消費
$3 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Shark Meat Lor Mee
等級4
484
3
2013-11-20 100 瀏覽
One of my favourite hawker food is Lor Mee and having heard rave reviews of the sharkmeat nuggets lor mee at tiong bahru food market, it immediately went into my must-go food list A usual bowl of lor mee consist of ngo hiang, fish cake, fish, meat dumplings (chicken/pork) and half a boiled egg. The other items added in will depend on the individual stalls. For example, this stall's specialty is their sharkmeat fritters! The sharkmeat nugget is meaty and tasty! What I love most about lor mee is
更多
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
One of my favourite hawker food is Lor Mee and having heard rave reviews of the sharkmeat nuggets lor mee at tiong bahru food market, it immediately went into my must-go food list
A usual bowl of lor mee consist of ngo hiang, fish cake, fish, meat dumplings (chicken/pork) and half a boiled egg. The other items added in will depend on the individual stalls. For example, this stall's specialty is their sharkmeat fritters!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The sharkmeat nugget is meaty and tasty! What I love most about lor mee is the thick and starchy gravy sauce mixed together with the thick flat yellow noodles! Some people love to add a lot of vinegar and garlic but for me, just a little is enough. The sauce in this bowl was so sticky and gooey, just perfect for my tastebuds! I also love the fried fish bits they sprinkle all over. However, do note that this bowl of lor mee do not have the usual braised egg and ngor hiang. Instead, they give you fish cake, meat fritters and braised meat on top of the nuggets.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-05
人均消費
$4 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Sharkmeat Nuggets Lor Mee
等級4
329
0
2013-05-09 88 瀏覽
Whenever my colleagues know that i will be around Tiong Bahru estate, most of them will asked me to help them 'ta-bao' back the lor mee at Tiong Bahru Market. I was curious of how it taste so one day I decided to order myself a bowl too to see if it is really that good. I like how the 'lor-zhap' is for 178 lor mee - not too thick. It was actually quite thin yet flavorful. The vinegar and chili added an extra punch to it. I ordered the $3 bowl which comes with what it says - shark fish meat. The
更多
Whenever my colleagues know that i will be around Tiong Bahru estate, most of them will asked me to help them 'ta-bao' back the lor mee at Tiong Bahru Market. I was curious of how it taste so one day I decided to order myself a bowl too to see if it is really that good. I like how the 'lor-zhap' is for 178 lor mee - not too thick. It was actually quite thin yet flavorful. The vinegar and chili added an extra punch to it. I ordered the $3 bowl which comes with what it says - shark fish meat. The fish meat is juicy even though it has been fried and it tasted really fresh. Now I know why there is a long queue when it comes to lunch time!
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-04-12 16 瀏覽
Visit http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/04/tiong-bahru-market-food-centre-food.html for full review and photosThis dish was part of the food hunt at Tiong Bahru.When a hawker stall has a long queue, join in. Even if it does not turned out to be super delicious, it won't be too bad either. Fortunately, the Lor Mee($2.50) falls into the first category. Perhaps what draws regular crowd is the Shark Meat Fritters (add 50cents) and the braised gravy. Mix all the chilli sauce, grated ginger, vinegar
更多
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Visit http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/04/tiong-bahru-market-food-centre-food.html for full review and photos
This dish was part of the food hunt at Tiong Bahru.
When a hawker stall has a long queue, join in. Even if it does not turned out to be super delicious, it won't be too bad either. Fortunately, the Lor Mee($2.50) falls into the first category. Perhaps what draws regular crowd is the Shark Meat Fritters (add 50cents) and the braised gravy.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mix all the chilli sauce, grated ginger, vinegar, gravy, some crunchy stuff together with the noodles and you'll get a simple, slurpy bowl of Lor Mee minus the braised egg and ngor hiong.
The Shark Meat tasted nothing special so i guess it might be recommended to go without them. But for first-timers, it is still good to try them all!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$3 (晚餐)
等級3
78
0
2013-03-20 13 瀏覽
Was quite surprised that the stall is still open during dinner hours (last time it used to open only in the morning till late afternoon) so I decided to settle my dinner with a bowl of pipping hot lor mee. I used to not like lor mee at all cos there's this weird taste and smell but ever since I first try 178 lor mee years ago, I start to change my view of this dish. The difference between 178 lor mee and other lor mee outside is that their gravy is not as thick. It is smooth and light instead. a
更多
Was quite surprised that the stall is still open during dinner hours (last time it used to open only in the morning till late afternoon) so I decided to settle my dinner with a bowl of pipping hot lor mee. I used to not like lor mee at all cos there's this weird taste and smell but ever since I first try 178 lor mee years ago, I start to change my view of this dish.

The difference between 178 lor mee and other lor mee outside is that their gravy is not as thick. It is smooth and light instead. a bowl of $3 lor mee comes with a few slices of meat and also their signature fried shark meat. serving wise was big and filling.

For me i love to add a lot of dark vinegar and chili to spice up the this dish.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
98
26
2013-02-28 10 瀏覽
Lor Mee 178 (178 probably means "prospering in wealth together" in Mandarin) differentiates itself from the rest by adapting shark meat nuggets into their Lor Mee. Besides the usual ingredients, they also serve it with a handful of fried fritters, which most Lor Mee stalls have long gone subtracted it away, and that is a plus point to 178. Although it turns soggy (or rather, less crunchy) when drenched in the gravy for too long, the fried nuggests still retained its soft flossiness texture, and
更多
Lor Mee 178 (178 probably means "prospering in wealth together" in Mandarin) differentiates itself from the rest by adapting shark meat nuggets into their Lor Mee. Besides the usual ingredients, they also serve it with a handful of fried fritters, which most Lor Mee stalls have long gone subtracted it away, and that is a plus point to 178. Although it turns soggy (or rather, less crunchy) when drenched in the gravy for too long, the fried nuggests still retained its soft flossiness texture, and the coating of gravy actually enhances its flavour.

The price sets at S$2.00 for a regular-size, and S$3.00 with added shark meat nuggets.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
359
0
2013-02-09 14 瀏覽
My family and I often patronize this lor mee store everytime we visit tiong bahru! We willingly brave the long lunch time queue to indulge in the delicious noodles! The sauce is extremely flavourful and tasty, and the best part is the unique toppings that come with the noodles! The stall serves deep fried shark nuggets to go along with their noodles! Delicious!
更多
My family and I often patronize this lor mee store everytime we visit tiong bahru! We willingly brave the long lunch time queue to indulge in the delicious noodles! The sauce is extremely flavourful and tasty, and the best part is the unique toppings that come with the noodles! The stall serves deep fried shark nuggets to go along with their noodles! Delicious!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-12-05
等級2
24
0
2012-11-07 16 瀏覽
Feeling hungry and craving for good food, I decided to make a tour to Tiong Bahru Market to see if there is anything nice to eat. I happened to come across this lor mee stall with a name that sounded weird to me. I feel that anyone who runs the stall included the numbers "178" in the stall name probably because they feel that it will make their business prosper. The numbers "178" sound to me like "yi qu fa", which means "prosper once given" in Mandarin. I went there and saw a lot of good reviews
更多
Feeling hungry and craving for good food, I decided to make a tour to Tiong Bahru Market to see if there is anything nice to eat. I happened to come across this lor mee stall with a name that sounded weird to me. I feel that anyone who runs the stall included the numbers "178" in the stall name probably because they feel that it will make their business prosper. The numbers "178" sound to me like "yi qu fa", which means "prosper once given" in Mandarin. I went there and saw a lot of good reviews about the stall. I bet they are all about the lor mee with shark nuggets which they sell. Hence, I decided to try out the dish to find out what is so good about it.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The yellow noodles are drenched in dark gravy before topping up with shark nuggets, dough fritters and sliced pork. I have put the chopped garlic, chili sauce and then the chopped coriander roughly at the centre of the dish to make the dish look more appealing. The noodles are broad, thick and springy. The dark gravy is sticky, looks like gel and tastes savoury. The nuggets look big and are crispy but becomes soft when dipped in the gravy. The shark meat within the nugget is soft and flossy. The small dough fritters are soft and chewy but are a bit crispy and crunchy. The pieces of pork are bite-sized, bouncy and tender. The chopped garlic and chili sauce make the whole bowl of noodles taste hot and spicy.


Wow, I have never had such a bowl of lor mee before. It is so delicious. I can come there for a bowl of noodles the next time.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-11-06
等級4
2012-06-14 9 瀏覽
If you are a fan of Lor mee then you must have heard or tried this very famous Lor Mee at Tiong Bahru Market. This is one of the few lor mee stalls that added in the fried sharkfish nuggets as part of the ingredients. The fried sharkfish nuggets replaced the ngor hiang and braised egg. Other ingredients are fishcake and braised meat. I always add in a lot of minced garlic as i love my lor mee to taste garlicky. You are expected to queue if you come during lunch.
更多
If you are a fan of Lor mee then you must have heard or tried this very famous Lor Mee at Tiong Bahru Market. This is one of the few lor mee stalls that added in the fried sharkfish nuggets as part of the ingredients. The fried sharkfish nuggets replaced the ngor hiang and braised egg. Other ingredients are fishcake and braised meat. I always add in a lot of minced garlic as i love my lor mee to taste garlicky. You are expected to queue if you come during lunch.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
(非會員)
0
0
2012-06-08 9 瀏覽
have been craving it for days.. finally persuaded my colleagues to cab down to tiong bahru market for lunch. was there before 12pm so there was no queue... i seldom eat lor mee cos i don't really like the ingredients but i only love 178 lor mee... the ingredients are different from the lor mee from other places.. love the shark fritters! and the gravy is nice not that salty... the lady infront of me even ordered an extra bowl of shark fritters for $2 i think.
更多
have been craving it for days.. finally persuaded my colleagues to cab down to tiong bahru market for lunch. was there before 12pm so there was no queue... i seldom eat lor mee cos i don't really like the ingredients but i only love 178 lor mee... the ingredients are different from the lor mee from other places.. love the shark fritters! and the gravy is nice not that salty... the lady infront of me even ordered an extra bowl of shark fritters for $2 i think.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-06-07
等級4
2012-05-06 14 瀏覽
My girlfriend and I drove to toing bahru market to look for those hidden good food. we discovered this lor mee stall, the queue was pretty long but just by looking at the price, it was simply reasonable. We ordered a bowl to share. The lor mee gravy was very thick and tasty. No time to add vinegar and pepper and the flavour was there already. They used those thick flat yellow noodles. The noodles were cooked perfectly, it was rather chewy and most importantly did not stick to the teeth. They wer
更多
My girlfriend and I drove to toing bahru market to look for those hidden good food. we discovered this lor mee stall, the queue was pretty long but just by looking at the price, it was simply reasonable. We ordered a bowl to share. The lor mee gravy was very thick and tasty. No time to add vinegar and pepper and the flavour was there already. They used those thick flat yellow noodles. The noodles were cooked perfectly, it was rather chewy and most importantly did not stick to the teeth. They were very generous with their ingredients like fish cakes, sliced meat and they even had this shark fish nugget. Something you don’t normally find in lor mee. The shark fish nugget was deep fried till very crispy, when well with the tasty gravy. as a whole we were both really satisfied with the food, and great price too.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
424
4
2012-04-24 16 瀏覽
My colleagues went all the way to get me lor mee from this stall claiming it's good. Yes I must agreed as even it was packed away and also despite the long queue, when I took a bite on the noodles, it was not soggy and the gravy tasted well stewed. The ingredients were good and the portion was not too bad.
更多
My colleagues went all the way to get me lor mee from this stall claiming it's good. Yes I must agreed as even it was packed away and also despite the long queue, when I took a bite on the noodles, it was not soggy and the gravy tasted well stewed. The ingredients were good and the portion was not too bad.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-03-06
等級3
61
4
2012-04-21 13 瀏覽
Lunch @ Tiong Bahru Market's Lor Mee 178 - took a cab from office @ Alexandra Road to Tiong Bahru, wanting to try this so called Very Famous and Highly Recommended Lor Mee..Am a LOR MEE lover... whenever i go out for lunch at any place, if they sell lor mee i will try...Lor Mee for $2.50 only (I don't like the fried ingredient, taste very soggy, and the sauce wasn't great thought. so overall was pretty disappointed despite this store was so highly recommended by so many friends, and even by the
更多
Lunch @ Tiong Bahru Market's Lor Mee 178 - took a cab from office @ Alexandra Road to Tiong Bahru, wanting to try this so called Very Famous and Highly Recommended Lor Mee..

Am a LOR MEE lover... whenever i go out for lunch at any place, if they sell lor mee i will try...

Lor Mee for $2.50 only (I don't like the fried ingredient, taste very soggy, and the sauce wasn't great thought. so overall was pretty disappointed despite this store was so highly recommended by so many friends, and even by the media (TV shows and Newspaper) but i just find it normal... but if you want to find cheap food to just fill up ur stomach.. this is a right choice.

totally not worth of queuing too...
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
2 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-02-02
人均消費
$2.5 (午餐)