38
7
1
等級4
2014-11-26 176 瀏覽
I had a suddenly craving for thai food and I decided to stop by Ah Loy Thai for lunch with my colleague. As I had quite a filling breakfast, I decided to order just their thai papaya salad as my lunch. The waiting time was quite long on a weekday lunch, from waiting for table up to the point where our dishes arrived, it was around 30minutes.The thai papaya salad is quite fiery hot, even though I told them that I want my salad to be less spicy. Nonetheless, it is very flavourful – the fish sauce
更多
I had a suddenly craving for thai food and I decided to stop by Ah Loy Thai for lunch with my colleague. As I had quite a filling breakfast, I decided to order just their thai papaya salad as my lunch. The waiting time was quite long on a weekday lunch, from waiting for table up to the point where our dishes arrived, it was around 30minutes.
The thai papaya salad is quite fiery hot, even though I told them that I want my salad to be less spicy. Nonetheless, it is very flavourful – the fish sauce is just adequate and the dish did not taste too salty. The addition of the peanuts also added more flavor and dimension to the dish. There are also French long beans added to the salad which are raw, so do take note if you dislike the idea of having long beans eaten raw. The salad costs $7.90 which is slightly pricy but the good thing is that prices are nett.
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$10
等級4
136
0
2014-11-17 98 瀏覽
Because their food is cheap and delicious, it wasn't a surprise that their restaurant was full house with a queue on a weekday night. Even after getting a table, we still had to wait around 45 minutes for our food! Luckily we weren't too hungry and the cheap yummy food made up for it in the end.A simple unassuming dish of Kangkong. I ordered the non-spicy version and was expecting something bland, but that wasn't the case! I'm not sure what they added (I'm guessing there's oyster sauce) but some
更多
Because their food is cheap and delicious, it wasn't a surprise that their restaurant was full house with a queue on a weekday night. Even after getting a table, we still had to wait around 45 minutes for our food! Luckily we weren't too hungry and the cheap yummy food made up for it in the end.


23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

A simple unassuming dish of Kangkong. I ordered the non-spicy version and was expecting something bland, but that wasn't the case! I'm not sure what they added (I'm guessing there's oyster sauce) but somehow it was simple yet really yummy.

17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言

Stir-fried chicken with basil, this was really yummy too!

33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

The tomyam soup was a little creamy, not sure if they added any milk or cream but it was quite nice. Very fragrant too, just too bad that it had loads of mushroom and two prawns even though it was supposed to be tomyam seafood soup.

On the whole it was a very good meal, will definitely be returning for more cheap yummy Thai food!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
Ah Loy Thai had been on my to-go list since the first time I went Tom's Palette, but somehow I've only managed to visit it now. I procrastinate a lot, yes.The Pandan Chicken was recommended by the service staff and I enjoyed it very much despite the burnt sides. The chicken wrapped in the pandan leaves was very fragrant, thoroughly marinated and tender. The chilli sauce on the side was quite normal.Their Pad Thai was very Chinese-style, cooked in the most homely manner with lots of ingredients l
更多
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ah Loy Thai had been on my to-go list since the first time I went Tom's Palette, but somehow I've only managed to visit it now. I procrastinate a lot, yes.
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
46 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Pandan Chicken was recommended by the service staff and I enjoyed it very much despite the burnt sides. The chicken wrapped in the pandan leaves was very fragrant, thoroughly marinated and tender. The chilli sauce on the side was quite normal.
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Their Pad Thai was very Chinese-style, cooked in the most homely manner with lots of ingredients like bean sprouts, prawns, spring onions and peanut flakes. The kway teow were springy and had a good texture, though it will be better if it is less oily and with a bit more chilli or lime.
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Despite not eating too much dishes before, I was pretty full quickly. The Mango Sticky Rice would have been quite enjoyable, but it was too jelat. The signature Thai dessert with warm glutinous rice, sweet rainbow mango and divinely coconut milk drizzled over felt more like a main course. It would be wonderful if you are just coming to have desserts or mains, but not together - unless you have a huge appetite!
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Of course, if you are here, do not miss out on their Iced Milk Tea. I couldn't have enough of it - it's so rich and concentrated. I love it and would come back for this!

For more food reviews: http://www.amiehu.com/2014/06/ah-loy-thai-shaw-towers.html#more
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-06-25
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
2014-02-09 163 瀏覽
Ah Loy Thai is a casual Thai dining concept located at Shaw Tower, serving tasty and authentic Thai food at very reasonable prices. I agree with many that the service leaves much to be desired, but the food is very good admittedly.Having been here several times, I still highly recommend a few dishes that have become signature favorites over the years - such as the Phad Thai, Stir Fried Chicken with Red Basil Leaves, Pandan Chicken and Kamquet drinks. For a more detailed review and photos, do vis
更多
Ah Loy Thai is a casual Thai dining concept located at Shaw Tower, serving tasty and authentic Thai food at very reasonable prices. I agree with many that the service leaves much to be desired, but the food is very good admittedly.

Having been here several times, I still highly recommend a few dishes that have become signature favorites over the years - such as the Phad Thai, Stir Fried Chicken with Red Basil Leaves, Pandan Chicken and Kamquet drinks.

For a more detailed review and photos, do visit here:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2013/11/weekend-dinner-at-ah-loy-thai-restaurant.html
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$19 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Phad thai
  • stir fried chicken with red basil leaves
等級3
57
0
I must say that the Ah Loy Thai serves up rather decent dishes. Especially their Buttered Calamari, Thai Crispy Mango Chicken and Tom Yum Soup. The Buttered Calamari is deep fried and drizzled with butter, good as starters (the one pictured is a wrong order served). The Tom Yum has a balance of sweet, sour and spicy. Their Thai Milk Red Tea is also very refreshing. Unfortunately, their service is poor. While queuing, an old man will lead you to your tables and you are unable to choose your seat
更多
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I must say that the Ah Loy Thai serves up rather decent dishes. Especially their Buttered Calamari, Thai Crispy Mango Chicken and Tom Yum Soup. The Buttered Calamari is deep fried and drizzled with butter, good as starters (the one pictured is a wrong order served). The Tom Yum has a balance of sweet, sour and spicy. Their Thai Milk Red Tea is also very refreshing.

Unfortunately, their service is poor.
While queuing, an old man will lead you to your tables and you are unable to choose your seats. Then you place your orders on a piece of paper and proceed to the cashier. The cashier will just mumble: “30 to 40 minutes.” Can you imagine, lunch break is only an hour and you have to wait for nearly 2/3 of the time? Sometime they even miss out your orders… … huffy. Suggest dropping by Ah Loy Thai during non-peak period.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級2
5
0
2013-11-01 63 瀏覽
Came on a weekday night with my friends but it is still very crowded!!!Their dishes smell very good, and tastes even better I ordered this dish called fried vermicelli and it tastes really delicious. Fried to the correct "wetness". However it is slightly salty. Another must try is their lemon tea! Big cup and can quench your thirst on a hot weather.Will definitely come back again soon!
更多
Came on a weekday night with my friends but it is still very crowded!!!

Their dishes smell very good, and tastes even better


I ordered this dish called fried vermicelli and it tastes really delicious. Fried to the correct "wetness". However it is slightly salty. Another must try is their lemon tea! Big cup and can quench your thirst on a hot weather.

Will definitely come back again soon!

25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-02
人均消費
$12 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • fried vermicelli
  • ice lemon tea
  • green curry
等級2
8
0
Tried a few of their dishes, ended up ordering too much for just the 5 of us. Their pandan chicken, green curry and Phad Thai was fantastic! Definitely must try!However the fish we order (Sweet & Sour Fish) tastes a bit weird and unfresh.Be prepared to wait for around 30min + during peak dining time =)
更多
Tried a few of their dishes, ended up ordering too much for just the 5 of us.

Their pandan chicken, green curry and Phad Thai was fantastic! Definitely must try!

However the fish we order (Sweet & Sour Fish) tastes a bit weird and unfresh.

Be prepared to wait for around 30min + during peak dining time =)
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Phad Thai
  • Green Curry
  • Pandan Chicken
等級3
50
0
2013-10-21 54 瀏覽
"Loy Thai is probably a place known to many already, and it's no wonder because their food is seriously good. A group of friends and I made our ways down one day after hearing all the raves about this place. It's a 10minute walk from Bugis mrt.We ordered the typical Thai dishes and the ones we particularly love is the green curry and the lemon chicken. The green curry was thick and tasted like the perfect green curry (just the right tinge of sourness and spiciness).However, while I found the foo
更多
"Loy Thai is probably a place known to many already, and it's no wonder because their food is seriously good. A group of friends and I made our ways down one day after hearing all the raves about this place. It's a 10minute walk from Bugis mrt.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered the typical Thai dishes and the ones we particularly love is the green curry and the lemon chicken. The green curry was thick and tasted like the perfect green curry (just the right tinge of sourness and spiciness).

However, while I found the food to be good, it was pretty forgettable. Still, it is a good place to go to for some tasty Thai food if you're in the vicinity.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-05
等級3
79
0
2013-09-06 38 瀏覽
Been here the second time with girlfriend for our lunch meet up . quite a crowd at lunch hours. Uncle is friendly and helpful in getting seats for us asap.We ordered the Tom Yam Seafood and Green curry chicken. Note that the rice is sold separately. Green Curry chicken is with nice texture gravy. But a bit too little meat. Tom yam seafood has quite generous portion of ingredients but I find the soup too oily. whole layer of chilli oil on top.... Taste is good though, sour and spicyNice!
更多
Been here the second time with girlfriend for our lunch meet up . quite a crowd at lunch hours. Uncle is friendly and helpful in getting seats for us asap.

We ordered the Tom Yam Seafood and Green curry chicken. Note that the rice is sold separately. Green Curry chicken is with nice texture gravy. But a bit too little meat. Tom yam seafood has quite generous portion of ingredients but I find the soup too oily. whole layer of chilli oil on top.... Taste is good though, sour and spicy

Nice!
35 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-06
人均消費
$8 (午餐)
推介美食
  • green curry chicken
等級3
48
0
2013-08-19 36 瀏覽
This little thai eatery at bugis is always packed, with a queue, especially during lunch hours on weekdays.The tom yum soup is very spicy and definitely not for those who can't take spicy food well. However, it is good (shiok) and comes with different seafood inside. The portion is not too stingy as well. Good for sharing.Stir fried fan shu ye. The taste is ok, however, i find it a little too oily. Definitely don't need so much oil for such a small plate of vegetable. They can improve on the por
更多

This little thai eatery at bugis is always packed, with a queue, especially during lunch hours on weekdays.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The tom yum soup is very spicy and definitely not for those who can't take spicy food well. However, it is good (shiok) and comes with different seafood inside. The portion is not too stingy as well. Good for sharing.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stir fried fan shu ye. The taste is ok, however, i find it a little too oily. Definitely don't need so much oil for such a small plate of vegetable. They can improve on the portion as well.

Service wasn't too good.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-18
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Tom Yum Soup
等級2
6
0
2013-08-18 28 瀏覽
Ah Loy Thai has always been my number 1 Thai food place! Each time I crave for Thai food, I would craves for Ah Loy's! What's thai food without Tom yum soup right? Their tom yum seafood soup packs quite a punch with the right dose of fiery goodness and sourness! (I personally hates tom yum soup what is either only hot or sour) The soup is full of seafood goodness: fish , sotong and prawns with great freshness. A must order. I love their mango crispy chicken, the chicken was marinated to perfecti
更多
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ah Loy Thai has always been my number 1 Thai food place! Each time I crave for Thai food, I would craves for Ah Loy's!

What's thai food without Tom yum soup right? Their tom yum seafood soup packs quite a punch with the right dose of fiery goodness and sourness! (I personally hates tom yum soup what is either only hot or sour) The soup is full of seafood goodness: fish , sotong and prawns with great freshness. A must order.

I love their mango crispy chicken, the chicken was marinated to perfection and it was fried and served with sour mango that removes the greasiness of fried food and yet adds a unique blend to the chicken itself!

Their calamari is famous! I was fried nicely on the outside and inside with a strong buttery taste. however many times I go, it was sold out, perhaps Ah Loy can have more quantity for that? If not it would leave many disappointed on their visit.

Only bad thing is it closes early, so if u want to make it in time for dinner, do go early!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • tom yum seafood soup
  • mango cripsy chicken
等級4
814
2
2013-07-31 31 瀏覽
While at Shaw Towers, friend wants to blanjah me Thai Food so we went to Ah Loy as I have good impressions of it from the other branch I dined in.We ordered Thai Sweet Chilli Chicken, Tom Yum Soup, Butter Calamari , Fried riceThe Butter Calamari , one of their signature dishes is well fried and it’s chewy texture is just right unlike the undercooked ones which never seems to be possible to chew through. Coated with butter and spicy chilli kickstarts the appetite ready for more!Thai Sweet Chilli
更多
While at Shaw Towers, friend wants to blanjah me Thai Food so we went to Ah Loy as I have good impressions of it from the other branch I dined in.

We ordered Thai Sweet Chilli Chicken, Tom Yum Soup, Butter Calamari , Fried rice
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Butter Calamari , one of their signature dishes is well fried and it’s chewy texture is just right unlike the undercooked ones which never seems to be possible to chew through. Coated with butter and spicy chilli kickstarts the appetite ready for more!
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Thai Sweet Chilli Chicken has a layer of crispy batter , crunches into the tender meat which is very juicy and soaked with a dipping of mild sweet thai chili at the bottom.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tangy tom yum soup with fresh seafood was vibrant orange with the colour contrast of green garnishings made the visual appeal grade and did not disappoint in the spicy appetizing taste as well.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried rice was alright, but I didn’t like how the prawns sizing were inconsistent and could have been more well balanced and if the meat/eggs and raisins were well mixed into it. Has potential, but this one got careless.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$16
等級4
739
2
2013-07-31 37 瀏覽
As a fan of ah loy thai I have tried a lot of ala carte dishes; the must-try being their butter calamari. This time, I was in a hurry and opted for something simple and quick - the phad thai, which costs around $5.50. It was served quickly although there were quite a lot of people during dinner time. The phad thai was not fantastic though. The noodles were mixed unevenly and some parts were quite tasteless. Other than that it's rather average, wouldnt recommend it.
更多
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As a fan of ah loy thai I have tried a lot of ala carte dishes; the must-try being their butter calamari. This time, I was in a hurry and opted for something simple and quick - the phad thai, which costs around $5.50. It was served quickly although there were quite a lot of people during dinner time. The phad thai was not fantastic though. The noodles were mixed unevenly and some parts were quite tasteless. Other than that it's rather average, wouldnt recommend it.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-07-17 19 瀏覽
As my church hold its youth services in Shaw Towers every alternate Saturday, we usually would conveniently go to Ah Loy Thai to eat their food there, and I believe Ah Loy Thai's popularity has increased ever since because its' always packed crowded, and my dining partner and I were squeezed into a really small table. Apparently we had to move the tables around to help whoever that was sitting inside to come out. I felt that the Pad Thai's standard has dropped compared to the other restaurants,
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As my church hold its youth services in Shaw Towers every alternate Saturday, we usually would conveniently go to Ah Loy Thai to eat their food there, and I believe Ah Loy Thai's popularity has increased ever since because its' always packed crowded, and my dining partner and I were squeezed into a really small table. Apparently we had to move the tables around to help whoever that was sitting inside to come out. I felt that the Pad Thai's standard has dropped compared to the other restaurants, to my dismay.
Still, the Thai Iced Red Tea was still delicious. The Pad Thai was $5.50, and the iced tea was about $2.20 if I remembered correctly
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (午餐)
等級4
2013-06-12 41 瀏覽
We first noticed this Thai restaurant when we intended a visit to Tom's Palette, for 'Ah Loy' was located opposite, along a corridor at Shaw Leisure Gallery (within Shaw Tower). We were drawn particularly to the long queue of diners waiting patiently for their tables.Making a point to try it before we leave Singapore for UK, we rang up 'Ah Loy' at approximately 6pm to make a reservation, only to be told that they were no longer accepting any but walk-in customers would be welcomed. Thankfully th
更多
We first noticed this Thai restaurant when we intended a visit to Tom's Palette, for 'Ah Loy' was located opposite, along a corridor at Shaw Leisure Gallery (within Shaw Tower). We were drawn particularly to the long queue of diners waiting patiently for their tables.

Making a point to try it before we leave Singapore for UK, we rang up 'Ah Loy' at approximately 6pm to make a reservation, only to be told that they were no longer accepting any but walk-in customers would be welcomed.

Thankfully the restaurant was only half-filled when we arrived at about 6.40pm. After being shown to our table, we were handed a 'tear-off menu' for us to tick off our orders. We were then supposed to make our way to the counter to make payment before food gets prepared and sent to us. Personally I always preferred self-service more than having a waitress hovering around our table, giving us that 'pressured' feel. The prices listed were what you pay for, no hidden costs nor service charge were levied.

There were 2 parts to the restaurant, separated by a partition in the middle, effectively taking up 2 shop lots. The interior decoration was simple and pleasing to the eyes but nothing too fanciful to shout at.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
While waiting for the food to come, we were served our drinks. The pink guava drink was too sweet for my liking and what repelled me most was the 'artificial' taste and colouring to the drink. I was expecting some fresh guava juice (or at least similar to Marigold's quality) only to be severely disappointed.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What it failed to deliver for the beverages was more than made up by the first dish served, Tom Yum soup. It would be a crime probably to visit a Thai restaurant and not try the Tom Yum soup, considering that it is ranked No. 4 last year on CNN GO - 'World's 50 Most Delicious Food'. The balance in flavours was certainly worth flattering, not to mention the generosity in ingredients, namely prawns, squid and abundance of herbs and spices to give the soup a solid punch of sour tinge and lingering spicy aftertaste. It was so good that I could not help but emptied the entire bowl! What was worth commenting too was that it was not MSG loaded, i.e. would not leave you sorely thirsty after the meal.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another praise-worthy dish was the butter calamari rings. It was not overly cooked so the young calamari retained the firmness and chewiness. Texture was smooth and good, complimented by the crispy layer of batter. The best part was definitely the savoury flavoursome sauce that enhanced the fragrance of this dish. Coupled with some fresh coriander and the spice-rich marinade, this would certainly be a must try.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next up was the mango crispy chicken. The accompanying sauce underlying the crispy fried chicken certainly made the meal very appetizing, tasting mildly sweet and sour at the same time. The sliced green mangoes were firm and offered a varied mouth feel to the very crispy chicken pieces. However, it seemed slightly overcooked for the meat was too 'stiff' and tasted dry. Otherwise it would have been perfect.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sadly the starchy portions to our Thai meal were not as flattering as we had hoped it to be. The Pad Thai noodles were slightly too 'soft' (i.e. overcooked) for my liking, for personally I preferred a slightly firmer texture to my noodles. Despite the generosity with ingredients, especially with the prawns, the inherited flavours from tamarind and lime failed to deliver. It was not spicy at all and I would have preferred it better if the serving of crushed peanuts were more to offer that good crunch to complement the noodles.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Pineapple Fried Rice was not what I had expected, i.e. the traditional way of serving it in a carved out pineapple. This was a simple dish of fried rice, rich with ingredients but sorely lacking the taste and fragrance expected that of a traditional Thai-style pineapple fried rice. The 'wok-fire' of the rice was good though, which went well with the dishes, sufficing perhaps a good plate of fried rice.

As we were seated close to the front of the restaurant, we got pressured by the amounting queue of hungry diners to finish our meal fast. Nonetheless, it was a very pleasant Thai dining experience. Some hits and misses, but it was certainly value for money for the quantity and quality of food served. We would certainly revisit when we next return to Singapore, for the allure of tom yum and butter calamari rings beckons.

For more pictures, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2012/03/sg-ah-loy-thai-at-shaw-towers.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Butter Calamari
  • Tom Yum Soup