18
4
0
等級4
171
2
2015-06-14 238 瀏覽
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2015/06/beach-road-prawn-mee-eating-house-prawn.html Beach Road Prawn Mee contrary to popular belief, is not located at Beach Road. It was still pretty crowded when we were there around 1-2 in the afternoon, and parking is definitely on first-come-first-serve basis around the private estates surrounding it. After wasting some time on the parking, next will be locating an empty table for dining. Concept is like a coffeehouse where you got t
更多
For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2015/06/beach-road-prawn-mee-eating-house-prawn.html

Beach Road Prawn Mee contrary to popular belief, is not located at Beach Road. It was still pretty crowded when we were there around 1-2 in the afternoon, and parking is definitely on first-come-first-serve basis around the private estates surrounding it. After wasting some time on the parking, next will be locating an empty table for dining.

Concept is like a coffeehouse where you got to stand around and wait for an available table. Beach Road Prawn Mee Eating House has plenty of seats, occupying 2 shop houses in size. Turnaround can be quite fast with some patience. Queue processing is quite efficient and so is their food preparation.

While they are famous for their Special Big Prawn Mee, they also provide options such as Pork Rib Mee and others. Serving is available in 3 sizes (small/medium/large).

Special Prawn Mee with Bee Hoon ($8.80). Had actually wanted the big prawns but was told it was out-of-stock, and we had to settle for the medium-sized prawns. Ok, better than none. We also had the Prawn with Pork Ribs Mee ($5.80) in small-sized serving. For an average eater, I would recommend a ordering the small-sized serving portion, which is just nice for a meal.

Generally I would prefer the soup base to be stronger in taste. The noodles are kind of soggy when it was served, thus losing a little of the firm texture. But disregarding the noodles and the soup, the prawns are still crunchy and also the pork rib is so soft and can literally lick the meat off the bones clean.

Just right beside the Prawn Mee ordering queue, is another popular stall, Ngoh Hiang, a Chinese delicacy. It was quite ok, but I love their Ngoh Hiang most although it is not that crunchy. It is a little mushy to make it easier for chewing and is so flavorful.

I do envy peeps living near popular food streets, and one of them is definitely East Coast Road. With such array of options to dine at, regardless at which time of the day, seems like a food haven for all!

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2015/06/beach-road-prawn-mee-eating-house-prawn.html
67 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
115
0
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/beach-road-prawn-mee-at-east-coast-road-since-1986Follow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and FacebookWho would have imagined that a humble prawn mee hawker stall about 25 years ago will evolve into a food empire today. With the ability of selling more than 100 bowls per hour during peak hours, this speaks volume of their food and service standards. Apart from sales, Beach Road Prawn Mee has retained the tradition of having NgohHiang kitchen along side. Chec
更多
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/beach-road-prawn-mee-at-east-coast-road-since-1986
Follow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and Facebook
Who would have imagined that a humble prawn mee hawker stall about 25 years ago will evolve into a food empire today. With the ability of selling more than 100 bowls per hour during peak hours, this speaks volume of their food and service standards. Apart from sales, Beach Road Prawn Mee has retained the tradition of having NgohHiang kitchen along side. Check may like to check out Geylang Prawn Noodles too!
So here we are during lunch time, but to our surprise, our orders came within a blink of an eye (10 minutes, but you get my drift). Is that all it takes to sell more than 100 bowls in an hour?
The prawn broth was packed with seafood sweetness and balanced in taste, thumbs up for the umami taste!
We had a couple of selections from the NgohHiang kitchen. The tofu was the kick ass! Soft and silky!
Definitely worth the trip despite of the crowd. The only bane would be the scarcity of parking lots. I guess getting a booking ticket just for this legendary Prawn Mee is justifiable?
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
等級3
60
0
2013-12-10 120 瀏覽
This is the best prawn noodle which I have ate In SG. A monthly must to visit.Although the price is abit pricy and hard to find parking lots.. What attracts me is the prawn soup.Prawn soup- Super yummy as it has boiled many hours had a very strong prawn taste. Jumbo Prawn noodle: Prawn is big and it is not over cook. Normally Jumbo prawn is hard but this stall manage to cook it perfect. Love there are prawn egg also.Ngoh Hiang- A must to order. Why?? Because it is fresh and crispy.
更多
This is the best prawn noodle which I have ate In SG. A monthly must to visit.
Although the price is abit pricy and hard to find parking lots.. What attracts me is the prawn soup.

Prawn soup- Super yummy as it has boiled many hours had a very strong prawn taste. 

Jumbo Prawn noodle: Prawn is big and it is not over cook. Normally Jumbo prawn is hard but this stall manage to cook it perfect. Love there are prawn egg also.

Ngoh Hiang- A must to order. Why?? Because it is fresh and crispy.
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐時段
午餐
等級4
174
1
2013-11-30 71 瀏覽
When I go East Coast park for blading, cycling etc. I will usually past by Beach Road Prawn Mee shop, which appears to be closed all the time. Seriously, are they ever open for business?One fine day on a weekend afternoon, we decided to make a special trip down to the shop. I dun believe it can "escape" from me! I must eat the prawn mee by hook or by crook!We ordered the Prawn Mee with Pork Ribs, medium size, which is priced at $8.80. The soup was GOOD! So tasty that I drank finished the whole b
更多
When I go East Coast park for blading, cycling etc. I will usually past by Beach Road Prawn Mee shop, which appears to be closed all the time. Seriously, are they ever open for business?

One fine day on a weekend afternoon, we decided to make a special trip down to the shop. I dun believe it can "escape" from me! I must eat the prawn mee by hook or by crook!
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered the Prawn Mee with Pork Ribs, medium size, which is priced at $8.80. The soup was GOOD! So tasty that I drank finished the whole bowl. The pork was very soft, and easily fell off from the bones. The main ingredient ~> prawn was succulent and fresh. A pity there were only 2 prawns. Too little for me to feel satisfying! Hahaha
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Big prawns!

I noticed that the prawns served in medium size and small size were different. The prawns in medium size are supposed to be the better ones.

Total cost for the lunch was $20 for 2. It seemed a little bit expensive for hawker type of food, but I think it was worth it! The next time, I will go for all prawns medium size instead.

To read more & view photos, please visit http://fun-hideout.blogspot.sg/2010/12/beach-road-prawn-noodle-house.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
132
0
2013-10-26 93 瀏覽
Love the prawn mee from here and the chilli is really good I will always ask for dry one and when I get the bowl of soup I will just pour it in. Of cos I will taste the soup first before pouring everything in as my friend will nag that my soup will not taste original if I pour in. Oh well the soup is thick and flavourable can taste the sweetness of prawn in the soup and I will always order thick bee hoon unlike the one like katong laksa those big thick bee hoon this is slightly "fatter" than t
更多
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Love the prawn mee from here and the chilli is really good I will always ask for dry one and when I get the bowl of soup I will just pour it in. Of cos I will taste the soup first before pouring everything in as my friend will nag that my soup will not taste original if I pour in.

Oh well the soup is thick and flavourable can taste the sweetness of prawn in the soup and I will always order thick bee hoon unlike the one like katong laksa those big thick bee hoon this is slightly "fatter" than the usual one.

Prawn is halve but is still nice I will always deshelled it before eating everything and Ngoh Hiong is always as a side dish for us to share!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級2
5
0
2013-07-31 36 瀏覽
Afternoon gathering with the lunch khakis having Prawn Noodle at Joo Chiat. Arguably one of Singapore's most famous prawn mee stalls, I would recommend the Special Big Prawn Noodle. The soup is very tasty and the prawn is fresh and juicy. However the price is rather a tad steep for hawker food.
更多
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Afternoon gathering with the lunch khakis having Prawn Noodle at Joo Chiat. Arguably one of Singapore's most famous prawn mee stalls, I would recommend the Special Big Prawn Noodle. The soup is very tasty and the prawn is fresh and juicy. However the price is rather a tad steep for hawker food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-31
人均消費
$8 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Special Big Prawn Noodle
等級4
739
2
2013-06-05 19 瀏覽
The prawn noodles at Beach Road is very famous, but many would also have tried the small ngoh hiang stall located just within the same compound. I am not a fan of wu xiang, but there was a large variety to choose from, and the fried stuff are crispy and flavourful. However, it may be a little costly as choosing a few types could easily cost $5 or more. Despite being more expensive, it is one of the better ngoh hiangs I have tasted.
更多
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The prawn noodles at Beach Road is very famous, but many would also have tried the small ngoh hiang stall located just within the same compound. I am not a fan of wu xiang, but there was a large variety to choose from, and the fried stuff are crispy and flavourful.

However, it may be a little costly as choosing a few types could easily cost $5 or more. Despite being more expensive, it is one of the better ngoh hiangs I have tasted.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-05-20
等級1
1
0
The beautiful flavour of the broth, made from pork ribs and prawns is what me and crowds of others to this East Coast favourite. The price is a little higher than other prawn noodle places but the difference in the quality of the flavour, the size of the ingredients and the noodles is well worth it. Get there early or you'll be disappointed as they are only open for service in the day and closed on Tuesdays.
更多
The beautiful flavour of the broth, made from pork ribs and prawns is what me and crowds of others to this East Coast favourite. The price is a little higher than other prawn noodle places but the difference in the quality of the flavour, the size of the ingredients and the noodles is well worth it. Get there early or you'll be disappointed as they are only open for service in the day and closed on Tuesdays.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-05-04
人均消費
$7 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Pork rib prawn mee soup.
等級4
151
0
2013-04-20 14 瀏覽
This stall is famous for serving one of the best prawn noodles in Singapore.In 2007, it was reported in the news that Mr Lee, the owner, earned up to $139,200 a month selling an average of 116 bowls of noodles per hour, becoming the highest earning hawker in Singapore.Based on the above information, if you have imagined the size of the stall and scale of business to be huge like one of those big fancy restaurants, you would be surprised that this stall operates just from a small little humble sh
更多
This stall is famous for serving one of the best prawn noodles in Singapore.

In 2007, it was reported in the news that Mr Lee, the owner, earned up to $139,200 a month selling an average of 116 bowls of noodles per hour, becoming the highest earning hawker in Singapore.

Based on the above information, if you have imagined the size of the stall and scale of business to be huge like one of those big fancy restaurants, you would be surprised that this stall operates just from a small little humble shophouse-style coffeeshop tucked away in a corner of Siglap.

This of course brings me to the next point - the crowd. The queue is crazy during meal times, and even during off-peak hours, there is still a steady stream of customers. I am not very familiar with the East Coast area since I do not stay near there at all, so it seems to me that this stall is quite inaccessible (to people living/working in other parts of Singapore) by public transport, unless you are willing to change a few buses or walk in the sun for a distance just to tuck into a bowl of their savoury noodles. My friends and I travelled to this stall by car, and as expected, the parking is even crazier than the crowd.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
$5.50 for a small bowl of prawn mee with pork ribs

These are farmed tiger prawns, and are quite small sized. Only 1 prawn (halved, to make 2 slices) and a few pork ribs which are mostly bones.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
$8.80 for jumbo prawn mee

These are tiger prawns from the ocean, and are visibly much larger in size. Only 2 prawns, halved to make 4 slices.

According to the owner, the jumbo prawns are more expensive not only due to its size, but also the obvious difference in taste; it is alot more fragrant than normal prawns.

The soup broth, in my opinion, is the most important determining factor for a good bowl of prawn mee. In this case, it was quite savoury, and there's a little tinge of sweetness of the seafood too. The prawns itself were quite fresh and chewy. I like it that the prawn meat doesn't stick to its shells so it's easy to peel off the whole chunk and crunch on it. The noodles (thick bee hoon) are pretty normal in my opinion, except that it is thinner and slightly harder than those normal kinds of thick bee hoon.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ngor Hiang, $5.60

The prawn noodle stall pretty much dominated the entire coffee shop, except for a small ngor hiang stall which is operated by a relative. It seems that most customers also ordered a serving of ngor hiang to complete their meals.

Although a tad expensive, it was overall a good and satisfying meal.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
739
2
2013-04-02 12 瀏覽
That's the amount of prawns from 2 bowls, if you were wondering. Beach Road prawn noodles always has a long queue, and it may be difficult to find a seat during peak lunch hours, and parking may be difficult as well. The prawn soup is nice, very flavourful and not too salty, and they might even let you refill the soup. Tried the dry prawn noodles, would recommend it over soup one.
更多
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
That's the amount of prawns from 2 bowls, if you were wondering. Beach Road prawn noodles always has a long queue, and it may be difficult to find a seat during peak lunch hours, and parking may be difficult as well. The prawn soup is nice, very flavourful and not too salty, and they might even let you refill the soup. Tried the dry prawn noodles, would recommend it over soup one.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-12
人均消費
$4 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Dry Prawn Noodle
等級3
45
0
2013-02-23 19 瀏覽
I simply love this version of the dry prawns noodles as the noodles are tossed in their special homemade onion oil which adds fragrant to the overall dish. The noodles had absorbs all the goodness of the homemade onion oil and one bite of it will satisfy your hungry belly. The stall holder will also serve a bowl of the prawn broth and I personally think that ordering the dry version of the prawns noodles is more worth it as you get to try both the dry version and the soup version.
更多
I simply love this version of the dry prawns noodles as the noodles are tossed in their special homemade onion oil which adds fragrant to the overall dish. The noodles had absorbs all the goodness of the homemade onion oil and one bite of it will satisfy your hungry belly. The stall holder will also serve a bowl of the prawn broth and I personally think that ordering the dry version of the prawns noodles is more worth it as you get to try both the dry version and the soup version.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-02-22
人均消費
$3
推介美食
  • Prawns Noodles (Dry)
等級4
424
4
2012-07-10 12 瀏覽
Finally came here to eat with my friends and I ordered the set with pork ribs in soup at $5.00 a bowl. The soup base was good, noodles were QQ, the prawns were fresh and easily came off from the prawn shell and the pork were tender and tasty. Not a big portion but enough to fill us up as we also ordered the Ngor Hiang from the next stall and they were really good too. Will try the dried version the next time round.
更多
Finally came here to eat with my friends and I ordered the set with pork ribs in soup at $5.00 a bowl. The soup base was good, noodles were QQ, the prawns were fresh and easily came off from the prawn shell and the pork were tender and tasty. Not a big portion but enough to fill us up as we also ordered the Ngor Hiang from the next stall and they were really good too. Will try the dried version the next time round.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-06-08
等級4
182
3
2012-06-09 14 瀏覽
I have eaten from this shop several times with my hubby. Today, was the first to come here with my friends. It was usually quite packed during lunch time so we decided to come at 11am. It was definitely a good idea, not much queue. I ordered the cheapest, $5.00, prawn beehoon dry and a cup of coffee. I always prefer the dry one to the soup. I didn't know they have a de-shelled prawn version till I saw my friend ordered it. The prawns were smaller but more in quantity. Next time I would surely tr
更多
I have eaten from this shop several times with my hubby. Today, was the first to come here with my friends. It was usually quite packed during lunch time so we decided to come at 11am. It was definitely a good idea, not much queue. I ordered the cheapest, $5.00, prawn beehoon dry and a cup of coffee. I always prefer the dry one to the soup.
I didn't know they have a de-shelled prawn version till I saw my friend ordered it. The prawns were smaller but more in quantity. Next time I would surely try that.

9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-06-08
等級4
2011-12-11 17 瀏覽
Prawn noodle!The soup base here is awesome here.! It has got a great depth and nice prawn aromatic and you could straight away tell that it really brew using solid ingredients! I guess its one of the underrated prawn noodle as I feel the quality they offers are comparable to the more famous one (Such as the one at EastCoast Rd where parking is a big headache!) Noodle is tangy and I love it with their chili flake! If you want some quality prawn noodle, give it a try here.
更多
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Prawn noodle!

The soup base here is awesome here.! It has got a great depth and nice prawn aromatic and you could straight away tell that it really brew using solid ingredients! I guess its one of the underrated prawn noodle as I feel the quality they offers are comparable to the more famous one (Such as the one at EastCoast Rd where parking is a big headache!) Noodle is tangy and I love it with their chili flake! If you want some quality prawn noodle, give it a try here.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
225
5
2011-11-29 16 瀏覽
Pork Ribs & Prawn Noodle ($5.50)I always preferred having a combination of Pork Ribs and Prawn instead of just having prawns with noodles alone. Largely due to the fact that prawns are very troublesome to peel. The prawns served here are fresh and the pork ribs are tender and there are many soft bones! However, the prawn mee is a bit oily.
更多
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pork Ribs & Prawn Noodle ($5.50)
I always preferred having a combination of Pork Ribs and Prawn instead of just having prawns with noodles alone. Largely due to the fact that prawns are very troublesome to peel. The prawns served here are fresh and the pork ribs are tender and there are many soft bones! However, the prawn mee is a bit oily.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-11-26
人均消費
$5.50 (午餐)