12
2
0
等級3
75
0
2014-02-19 228 瀏覽
No complaint about this French restaurant. The set lunch is reasonably priced at $30++ for a 4 course set lunch. All the items I tried are delicious especially their desserts. The bread is warm and sort, the soufflé is very fluffy and delicious. The goner and lemongrass ice cream is unique and the apple crumble is a must try dessert No regret going to this restaurant. I will be back to try other items however I wanted to try the sirloin steak and it is already out of stock even thou we are t
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
No complaint about this French restaurant. The set lunch is reasonably priced at $30++ for a 4 course set lunch. All the items I tried are delicious especially their desserts. The bread is warm and sort, the soufflé is very fluffy and delicious. The goner and lemongrass ice cream is unique and the apple crumble is a must try dessert No regret going to this restaurant. I will be back to try other items
however I wanted to try the sirloin steak and it is already out of stock even thou we are there very early for the lunch. I hope the restaurant can cater more sets of Sirloin for lunch.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-10
推介美食
  • Desserts
等級4
2014-01-11 164 瀏覽
Les Amis Group is known for its uppity restaurants. One of the restaurants under the group is Bistro du Vin which has 2 outlets, one in Zion Road and another in Shaw Centre. Recently there is a 1-for-1 lunch set promotion by MayBank credit card, so I decide to have lunch at the Shaw Centre outlet with Rachel. The restaurant is located on the ground floor opposite HSBC bank, between Les Amis Group's other restaurants. Although Les Amis is known to be expensive, Bistro du Vin offers reasonable pri
更多
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Les Amis Group is known for its uppity restaurants. One of the restaurants under the group is Bistro du Vin which has 2 outlets, one in Zion Road and another in Shaw Centre. Recently there is a 1-for-1 lunch set promotion by MayBank credit card, so I decide to have lunch at the Shaw Centre outlet with Rachel. The restaurant is located on the ground floor opposite HSBC bank, between Les Amis Group's other restaurants. Although Les Amis is known to be expensive, Bistro du Vin offers reasonable priced 3 course lunch set at $30++.
61 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The restaurant is decorated in deep red and white colours, transporting one to a French like brassiere environment.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The wall is filled with lots of pictures.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A glass of red wine comes with the promotion lunch set, which tastes quite smooth.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We are served some soft and fluffy bread and butter to start the meal with.

For ENTREE, there is 7 choices available.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Foie gras ravioli with toasted hazelnut & Port wine sauce
Rachel selects this which looks rather plain with only a single ravioli when served. The pasta skin of the ravioli is quite tender and filled with soft and smooth foie gras. Tastes quite sinful.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Homemade rabbit with nuts, raisins & spices terrine, salad with hazelnut oil
I select this which is a terrine made of rabbit meat and pork. It tastes like pork with nutty texture. None of the gamey taste which I fear of.

For PLAT PRINCIPAL, there is 7 choices available too.
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Duck leg confit with stewed haricot beans & lamb sausage
Rachel has this as she is in love with the duck confit after having it in our last meal here. The skin is quite dry and crispy, while the meat is quite tender. While it still tastes good, but not as good as what she used to have.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Grilled lamb ribs glazed with honey mustard & Provençale herbs, Du-Puy lentils
I am surprised by the extreme tenderness of the lamb meat. The texture reminds me of lamb stew and does not taste gamey. The lentils is cooked till very soft and flavourful.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We add on Truffled fries ($6++), which has barely any tastes of truffle oil, and Sautéed mushroom ($4++) which is quite juicy and garlicky.

Lastly for DESSERT et FROMAGE, there is 6 choices available.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Caramelized apple & raisin Crumbles, roasted apple ice cream & whipped cream
The ice cream is deep inside the pile. Dig the spoon right all the way in, you will the taste all the different texture in your mouth : soft, hard, crispy. Quite a combination.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Baked pear tart on puff pastry with salty caramel
It is beautifully presented with the layers of pear slices, topped with caramel ice cream. The puff pastry is a bit disappointing as it is not crispy enough.

We ended the meal with a cup of coffee each. Overall it is a very filling and tasty meal. The restaurant is quite packed and get quite noisy. Service is great too, as the staff takes time to explain about the promotion and menu.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-28
人均消費
$47 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Caramelized apple & raisin Crumbles
  • roasted apple ice cream & whipped cream
等級4
333
3
2013-11-19 80 瀏覽
our dining quartet decided to take advantage of maybank 1 for 1 set lunch promotion & dined at bistro du vin on 18.11.2013. the usual price for a 3-course set lunch including coffee was S$30pax. the menu had quite wide choices. there were couple items like pan-seared foie gras & 200day grain fed ribeye that required supplement – quite reasonable unlike some places where 1 in 2 items required supplement, however the supplement were separately billed & not entitled to the 50% discount. i love lee
更多
our dining quartet decided to take advantage of maybank 1 for 1 set lunch promotion & dined at bistro du vin on 18.11.2013. the usual price for a 3-course set lunch including coffee was S$30pax. the menu had quite wide choices. there were couple items like pan-seared foie gras & 200day grain fed ribeye that required supplement – quite reasonable unlike some places where 1 in 2 items required supplement, however the supplement were separately billed & not entitled to the 50% discount.

i love leek & potato soup (& especially this one came with 2 kaki furai – japanese breaded oysters). however i was distracted by the rabbit terrine & ordered that. it was good, tasty, competent. i was happy with it.


1 friend ordered the leek soup which was good as expected though it looked just slightly thin & not so creamy & did not have foam (we were paying S$15pax for a S$30pax set lunch, so that was more than good enough i guess.. haha).

1 friend ordered the foie gras ravioli (the pink sauce didn’t look great or very appetizing to me like the beautiful pumpkin ravioli at al borgo did, but i think it tasted fine). the other ordered the baked camembert with sour dough. it looked ok but my friend said it was not as good as the other bistro du vin outlet at great world city.

for the main course, i ordered the beef ribs stewed in beer. again it was competent & the mash too, though in comparison my own spanish beef ribs was better because i had a very sweet & tasty vegetable ratatouille to match/balance the fork tender beef ribs whereas this one was very beefy & robust.

1 friend had the duck confit. he thought the black sheep cafe’s was better. 1 had the seafood bouillabaise with fish, clams, mussels, prawns. she said the fish was not great. anyway, bouillabaise & duck confit not my favourite. the smartest among us ordered the 200g 200-day australian grain-fed char-grilled ribeye – a S$10 supplement with no discount.it was ok really for the quality meat. i could smell the steak when it was served, & i had a small piece & it was excellent.


for dessert, i & another friend had the caramelised apple & raisin crumble with roasted apple ice cream. it was good, though it would please the eye better served on a dessert plate or long dessert dish. 1 friend had creme brulee which was recommended by the waiter & which she obviously enjoyed. the other had chocolate madaleine. the madaleine texture looked dense. i was about to say the ones at esso station looked better but my friend beat me to it. so this dessert was not good. i had cuppaccino & my other friends had coffee.

overall, at normal S$30pax for 3-course set lunch including coffee, the food was competent enough & i didn’t consider it expensive. with maybank 1 for 1 discounts, the lunch was S$15pax (excluding the supplement) with 2 free wine for 4pax, well you could not get that at a hawker centre or coffee shop. so it was very cheap & great value.

c/w au jardin which served a S$45pax 3-course set lunch include coffee (there was also a S$65pax menu), which was also having the maybank 1 for 1 promotion including wine, i would return to au jardin (which i was to happy to pay full price at other time) rather than bistro du vin. the latter was competent & average whereas au jardin was fine dining in both food & presentation (& of course quite different ambience). eg my lamb saddle was exquisite, even better than many good lamb racks i had before.

on the service, bsitro du vin was ok. the young male server was quite knowledgeable & responsive & answered my several questions on menu items & selection. 1 of my dining companion had poor opinion of the service though because he did not offer the wine to us automatically but only when asked & he replied that most people did not take wine during lunch. the attitude i think was ok, but maybe the training on managing customers was lacking here. but overall, the service again was competent & in my opinion rather better than many similar places.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-18
人均消費
$18 (午餐)
推介美食
  • leek & potato soup with deep-fried oysters
等級4
2013-09-02 73 瀏覽
Bistro Du Vin is touted as one of the places which serves good, authentic french food in a cosy environment. When I first step into the place, I immediately got a sense of warmth from the cherry red walls to the eclectic decoration of photos, wooden furniture and dim lights. The lighting is not fantastic for photos (not instagram-able) but it's very relaxing for dining. The service is very good! The moment we step in, they helped us hang our bangs on mini table hooks so that we can sit comfortab
更多
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bistro Du Vin is touted as one of the places which serves good, authentic french food in a cosy environment. When I first step into the place, I immediately got a sense of warmth from the cherry red walls to the eclectic decoration of photos, wooden furniture and dim lights. The lighting is not fantastic for photos (not instagram-able) but it's very relaxing for dining. The service is very good! The moment we step in, they helped us hang our bangs on mini table hooks so that we can sit comfortably and serve us water and bread rather quickly.
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I had the Duck Leg Confit served with leek-pommery mash ($28). The duck leg skin was crispy, salty and delicious! It packs a punch of flavours (and fats but let's ignore that) and holds a bit of the grease so it really helps the meat. The meat was just a wee bit dry and it could use more of the sauce but the meat was tender and falling off the bone. I enjoy eating each bite with some of that crackling skin to get the full taste of the confit. The mash potato was divine! Creamy, smooth and seasoned really well and I polished that off despite being super full.
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My friend had the Slow-cooked lamb shank with white onion, cherry tomatoes confit & crushed potatoes ($33). I am on the fence with this dish. On one hand, the lamb shank didn't have that much flavour. I felt it could use more salt but it was quite tender. The broth is really nice though. Mainly tomato based, you should smash the garlic gloves and mix it around to elevate the taste. That said, I don't think the this dish is worth the price as I had better lamb shank at other places and didn't require that much help from broth to boost up the taste.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Fondant au chocolat with vanilla ice cream ($10) is simply heaven on a plate. I'm a sucker for chocolate lava cake type of desserts and I'm happy to say this was one of the better standard fondant cake I've had! Look at that lava of flowing chocolate oozing out of that perfectly round cake. It was dense, very rich and the perfect ratio of cake to melted chocolate. This photo is slightly blurry because we were in such a hurry to dig in! Lol!

Verdict: I like the dessert and the duck leg confit but for the price I'm paying here, I was expecting a little more. Probably would come back for the lunch set as it looks to be more worth the price. Otherwise, it's off to look for other alternatives for French Food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-23
人均消費
$45 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Fondant au chocolat with vanilla ice cream
等級4
2013-07-15 58 瀏覽
Popped by Bistro Du Vin's original outlet one sunny weekday afternoon for lunch with a couple of my colleagues. Promising to serve up honest to goodness classical French food, the restaurant is one of the many brand names under the Les Amis umbrella.Located on the 2nd floor of Shaw Centre, Bistro Du Vin plays neighbour to a Vietnamese Restaurant and of course it's upmarket sibling, Les Amis. The interior is reminiscent of a typical French brasserie, from the red walls right down to the tiled flo
更多
Popped by Bistro Du Vin's original outlet one sunny weekday afternoon for lunch with a couple of my colleagues. Promising to serve up honest to goodness classical French food, the restaurant is one of the many brand names under the Les Amis umbrella.

Located on the 2nd floor of Shaw Centre, Bistro Du Vin plays neighbour to a Vietnamese Restaurant and of course it's upmarket sibling, Les Amis. The interior is reminiscent of a typical French brasserie, from the red walls right down to the tiled floor. However, tables are spaced a little too close for comfort which makes normal conversations a tad difficult. Proper sound proofing is also lacking and the entire place sounds like a market when running at full capacity.

Complimentary Bread - The bread was a simple and simple crusty baguette served with orange butter. Pretty nice and a great way to stave off the hunger pangs.

White Asparagus Velouté - I honestly didn't quite take to the white asparagus veloute, which was a little too runny for my liking. There was also a bitter aftertaste to it - something which I certainly didn't appreciate.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Char Grilled Australian Angus Ribeye - This required a top up of $10++ to the price of the set lunch but it was well worth it in my humble opinion. Done up medium as per my request, the meat was flavourful and juicy with hints of smokiness from the char grilling. The accompanying truffle mash (+ $3++) was smooth and fragrant as well and the truffle honestly helped elevate what would have been a boring, bland side of mash.

However, in a subsequent visit, I had the exact same thing and it was still good, just that the salt content was a little too high for my liking.

Walnut Tart - And for desserts I had a pretty good walnut tart - solid tart base with walnuts set amidst rich chocolate and caramel filling. Between this and the Pink Tiramisu which I had on my subsequent visit, I honestly preferred this (though the pink tiramisu was something different). Served up with a scoop of real vanilla bean ice cream.

The standard lunch set is a reasonable $30++ but it is the top ups that really "upsize" the bill. Still, food quality is pretty decent and I especially like their steaks. Service is rather clinical and lacks warmth though - an area that the restaurant might want to look into.

See my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2013/07/bistro-du-vin.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-05-29 27 瀏覽
For review in full and pictures, please visit http://makeyourcaloriescount.blogspot.sg/2012/10/sg-bistro-du-vin.htmlTucked in a small corner of Shaw Centre, this was a great find that was surprisingly packed on a weekday evening. In a rather hidden place near the carpark, it's easy to miss it in the alley. Stepping in was as though going into a different world. A transition from the busy hustle bustle outside with cars and impatient taxis honking away, to a dimly-lit cosy restaurant playing soft
更多
For review in full and pictures, please visit http://makeyourcaloriescount.blogspot.sg/2012/10/sg-bistro-du-vin.html

Tucked in a small corner of Shaw Centre, this was a great find that was surprisingly packed on a weekday evening. In a rather hidden place near the carpark, it's easy to miss it in the alley. Stepping in was as though going into a different world. A transition from the busy hustle bustle outside with cars and impatient taxis honking away, to a dimly-lit cosy restaurant playing soft instrumental music at the background.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My friend remembers Bistro Du Vin for this, showing how dedicated they are, perfecting even the complimentary starter dish. It was served at room temperature initially and it just felt like normal baguette with good skin. A dissatisfied customer, who brought me here as she was thinking of the bread, my friend brought it up to their service staff and immediately, they apologised for it and whisked it away. Asking us to wait for a few minutes, it didn't fail to live up to expectations. Served warm from the oven, the skin was just crisp and had warm fluffy insides. I like it 'cos it had a slightly thicker skin that gave it an extra chewiness.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A pot of goodness contained in it, this would be my version of the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Extremely soft and tenderly braised meat, it really melts in your mouth. Too tender that you actually have to spend some effort cutting it, in order to prevent a mess with its softness. The flavour of this dish is abit strong initially, but its definitely great for beef fans! Once your taste buds have settled down from the heightened senses, it was just great from then.

The gravy was just awesome. Rich and perhaps there was a little red wine in it to lift the flavour of the dish. It's the kind of gravy where you can just dip anything into it and it'll make the dish significantly better. Needless to say, we've tried dipping our subsequent dishes into this 'universal gravy'!
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This was a complementing dish with the beef cheeks but we topped up to change the mash to truffle mash. It was undoubtedly the best choice ever! Being a potato and truffle lover, it was just heavenly for me. Every mouthful was filled with the rich flavour of truffle, yet it wasn't overpowering that it got jelat after awhile. In fact, every mouthful just got us more and more addicted. A must-order for all truffle fans!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This reminded me of the Yorkshire Pork that was just so heavenly at Colwyn Bay in UK. It was of acceptable standards comparing to that, but I guess the whole travelling experience just made the one at UK much better. To be very fair, I found this dish done pretty well. The portion of meat chosen was extremely tender and you can see that it wasn't laden with fats. Yet every bite was springy and tender, and never once did I have to chew very hard. The caramelied onions served on top gave a very good complement as it added on to the sweetness of the meat, with a slight natural salted taste from the pork. It was a little dry though, and would have been great if there was gravy served at the side. Of course, we loved it with the beef cheeks gravy.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This was the only disappointing dish out of all that we've ordered. Perhaps having high expectations after our heavenly experience with the truffle mash, this totally paled in comparison. There wasn't much truffle taste in it and it just tasted like normal fries. Would have been better if it were shoestring fries to better encapsulate the truffle taste and of course, have more truffle in it!
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Braised Beef Cheek
  • Truffle Mash
等級4
Check out more food reviews on my blog: www.jerjerjer.comLocated within my office building at Shaw Centre, Bistro du Vin is one of those restaurants that appear to be on the pricier end of the spoon. But looking at the menu, I realised that their set lunch is actually rather reasonably priced if you don’t opt for the premium steak cuts, that is. Being part of the renowned Les Amis group, you can expect to indulge in good quality food at this classical French Bistro.Bistro du Vin’s set lunch come
更多
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Check out more food reviews on my blog: www.jerjerjer.com

Located within my office building at Shaw Centre, Bistro du Vin is one of those restaurants that appear to be on the pricier end of the spoon. But looking at the menu, I realised that their set lunch is actually rather reasonably priced if you don’t opt for the premium steak cuts, that is. Being part of the renowned Les Amis group, you can expect to indulge in good quality food at this classical French Bistro.

Bistro du Vin’s set lunch comes with 3 courses and costs $30++.

You can choose between 6 different Entrees to start off your meal with. I decided to go for the Ratatouille with deep-fried brandade since I’m not really a big fan of Foie Gras.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ratatouille (as you would have known from the movie), is basically a dish of stewed vegetables in a tomato-based sauce. The sourness of the tomato complemented by the sweet vegetables come together in a rather refreshing medley of flavours. And the brandade is actually made from salted cod covered in batter and deep-fried to a crisp. Being rather tasteless on its own, the brandade went really well with the ratatouille.

You will also get a basket of freshly baked bread while you wait for your orders to arrive. Mmm.. the smell of fresh bread can be really hypnotizing at times.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For the mains (or Plat Principal), you also get to choose between 6 different items and can also opt for their premium steak cuts at an additional cost.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
When I saw Oven-Baked Spring Chicken with sautéed button mushrooms and bacon on the menu, I was actually expecting it to come with those crispy bacon strips you get with eggs benedict.. haha, but to my delight the “bacon” actually came as a thick cube of meat..
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Just look at that thick, glorious piece of bacon! Okay, I’m overreacting a little. But come on, it’s BACON. Everybody loves bacon, right? =P Well, unfortunately the chicken meat was a little bit on the dry side and there wasn’t much gravy or sauce from the sauteed mushrooms to complement the chicken. For big-eaters, you can also add-on more starch such as Truffled Fries or Mashed Potatoes even.

Now for the favourite part of my every meal – the dessert! If I had known that their Tiramisu wasn’t actually a traditional Italian-style Tiramisu, I would have probably opted for their Walnut Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream. But I was fooled by its novel name!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
That’s what they call a Pink Tiramisu. I did expect it to involve strawberries (usually anything “pink” would always have strawberries) but did not think that they would totally discard the cream cheese. There was a lot of cream but it’s not the kind of rich, thick mascarpone cheese you would find in traditional Italian Tiramisu. The only ‘tiramisu’ thing about it were the Savoiardi cookies dipped in liqeur. And at the base of the cup is a layer of strawberry sorbet.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Overall, it was a rather good meal and the restaurant had quite a cozy atmosphere to it too. Plus the waiters were really attentive and kept adding water to my glass whenever I emptied it. They also have a wine cellar in a corner of the restaurant, with huge chunks of cured meat hanging from the ceiling. The best thing about Bistro du Vin is the toilet (or so I heard) which is decorated in a classical French style with retro posters.

Bon Appetit!


(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-26
人均消費
$45 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Ratatouille with deep-fried brandade
等級4
271
2
2013-04-29 29 瀏覽
can't help but to mention that in my review title. It was my first visit to BDV, knowing that it is slightly upmarket in price, only came here because it was farewell for a colleague. 1st impression of this supposedly Michelin star restaurant (suppose so seeing the Michelin mascot at the cashier) was the place was decorated to be small and cosy but not necessary comfortable with the small chairs and table. Lots of wine bottles seen around the place exemplifies the love of wine by the french. The
更多
can't help but to mention that in my review title. It was my first visit to BDV, knowing that it is slightly upmarket in price, only came here because it was farewell for a colleague. 1st impression of this supposedly Michelin star restaurant (suppose so seeing the Michelin mascot at the cashier) was the place was decorated to be small and cosy but not necessary comfortable with the small chairs and table. Lots of wine bottles seen around the place exemplifies the love of wine by the french. The tables are mainly good for 4 pax maximum so not recommended for big group gathering. I ordered the set lunch with foie gras mushroom as appetizer, ribeye as lunch and pot au chocolate as dessert. Can't quite remember the ingredients but the appetizer comprises of foie gras served together with mushroom and pistachio nuts, quite appetizing i must say. My rib came lonely with no garnish except for some Béarnaise which is a sauce made of clarified butter emulsified in egg yolks, white wine vinegar and flavored with herbs. I extremely like how well prepared the steak it was, lightly charred on the outside yet retaining the succulent juices in the inside with good degree of pink. Also like this portion of ribeye which has good bits of fats in between. Dessert was normal though and nothing much to shout about. We also ordered some mussels marinier but were quite disappointed with the mussels small in size and tasting a little too soft for liking, kind of unusual for mussels actually. But the sauce is actually quite nice.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The toilet by the way is nicely decorated with wallpaper and wine bottles, not to be missed during a visit here. our bill came up to $188 for 4 pax
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-26
等級1
3
0
Bistro du Vin is our favorite French bistro. Make a point to come for lunch whenever we visit Singapore. Their lunch set menu is affordable and offers good variety of dishes. Food at Bistro du Vin is always beautifully prepared. Our favorite dishes: Entree-Foie Gras, Assiette Pate Tray, Cheese Souffle. Main-Beef Cheeks in Red Wine with Mashed Potatoes, Roast Chicken & Duck Confit. Dessert: Creme Brulee & Banana Tartin with Ginger Ice-Cream. The waiters are helpful, friendly, ever ready to please
更多
Bistro du Vin is our favorite French bistro. Make a point to come for lunch whenever we visit Singapore. Their lunch set menu is affordable and offers good variety of dishes. Food at Bistro du Vin is always beautifully prepared. Our favorite dishes: Entree-Foie Gras, Assiette Pate Tray, Cheese Souffle. Main-Beef Cheeks in Red Wine with Mashed Potatoes, Roast Chicken & Duck Confit. Dessert: Creme Brulee & Banana Tartin with Ginger Ice-Cream. The waiters are helpful, friendly, ever ready to please. Not stuck-up like other French restaurants.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-04
等級4
116
0
2012-11-30 9 瀏覽
As you can see from the title, i am a dessert person.Creme brulee was ok. Not much to rave about.Difficult to find decent Soufflé in Singapore, and this is not bad, with the Grand Marnier at the bottom, its good! Dont have any chance to try any french apple tart before, one of my friends dont like it as she finds the crust artificial, but, personally, i like the thin apple slices, the vanilla ice cream, however, its too strong.I dont have a picture of the sorbets, we had lemon, coconut and appl
更多
As you can see from the title, i am a dessert person.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Creme brulee was ok. Not much to rave about.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Difficult to find decent Soufflé in Singapore, and this is not bad, with the Grand Marnier at the bottom, its good!

18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dont have any chance to try any french apple tart before, one of my friends dont like it as she finds the crust artificial, but, personally, i like the thin apple slices, the vanilla ice cream, however, its too strong.

I dont have a picture of the sorbets, we had lemon, coconut and apple. If you like sour, go for the lemon sorbet, coconut sorbet tasted like the coconut milk & the apple sorbet is the best!

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-11-29
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Apple sorbet
  • Soufflé au Grand Marnier with vanilla ice cream
  • Suckling pig confit
  • choucroute & bacon (belly)
等級4
153
5
2012-07-10 10 瀏覽
Come here for lunch! $30 SGD for a lunch set that includes appetizer, main course, dessert, coffee/tea.The waitress was very attentive, though she might have slipped up near the end thinking we already had out tea when we had not.When we were seated, the bread was promptly served. I don't recall them doing that last time and it makes sense for bread to be served after ordering but the bread warm and refillable. The butter that they provided wasn't the normal salted butter you'd expect; it was fr
更多
Come here for lunch! $30 SGD for a lunch set that includes appetizer, main course, dessert, coffee/tea.

The waitress was very attentive, though she might have slipped up near the end thinking we already had out tea when we had not.
When we were seated, the bread was promptly served. I don't recall them doing that last time and it makes sense for bread to be served after ordering but the bread warm and refillable. The butter that they provided wasn't the normal salted butter you'd expect; it was fresh, light, and had a fruity taste and aroma to it.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We added a few dollars to get the Escargot, Foie Gras, and Lamb Shank dishes.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Escargot served with Asparagus in Hollandaise Sauce.
The escargots were thick and big and very garlicky. The asparagus was also cooked just right.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The foie gras was actual large pieces and rather thick. Great if you're sharing as one piece is enough to satisfy an average foie gras lover's craving, I feel. Pairs very nicely with the refillable bread on the table, but don't fill your tummy up just yet!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Spring Chicken was fresh and the mushrooms were done very well. Could have been a little more juicy but it could be considered the 'healthier' option in terms of main course
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Lamb Shank was served in a brightly colored pot sauteed with tomatoes and onions. The shank is a very generous portion and the gravy is just mind-blowing. I believe if I had a lamb shank craving, this is where I'd go. The tomatoes also exploded in your mouth. Very good lamb experience.

Lastly, there was dessert.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Raspberry Sorbet with lychees over Almond Pudding. Very light, refreshing, and perfect for Singapore's warm weather.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Topped up a bit to get the Bleu Cheese Platter with Honeycomb.
The Oak crackers were very nice but they could have given an extra biscuit.
The honeycomb was very sweet and sticky and it almost tasted like we were eating candy. For a second, I could imagine myself as Pooh Bear sticking his hand into his hunnypot. The blue cheese and Honeycomb combination was a mix of different flavors at the same time but paired decently well.

Would love to go back again if I would like to dish a bit more for lunch and I have the weekday off for lunch. Do be prepared to be there for around 1-2 hours so you can slowly enjoy and savor each bite.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-06
等級4
2011-11-22 8 瀏覽
I went to bistro din vu with my girlfriend for some light meal. I partically love their french onion soup, I ordered their pan-sear fish with shrimp. It tasted so good. the fish was so fresh and sweet. the shrimps were coated with this tasty gravy. The entire dish is simply so delicious, a rather refreshing dish actually. I like the food at this restaurant, the only served us the best food.
更多
I went to bistro din vu with my girlfriend for some light meal. I partically love their french onion soup, I ordered their pan-sear fish with shrimp. It tasted so good. the fish was so fresh and sweet. the shrimps were coated with this tasty gravy. The entire dish is simply so delicious, a rather refreshing dish actually. I like the food at this restaurant, the only served us the best food.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
424
4
2011-08-08 20 瀏覽
For $28++ for a set lunch at Bistro Du Vin is really worth every penny. Been there a couple of times and each time I am pleased with their meals. I have tried some of these from my few visits were the appettizers,Pan Fried Fois Gras(love this! No gamey taste)( add additional $6) and the Tuna salad.For the main course will be the Duck confit( a little dry), Chicken braised in red wine, Lamb shank with penne(the meat not gamey and the pasta is al den-te0 and Beef Straganoff(creamy).The dessert w
更多
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For $28++ for a set lunch at Bistro Du Vin is really worth every penny. Been there a couple of times and each time I am pleased with their meals. I have tried some of these from my few visits were the appettizers,
Pan Fried Fois Gras(love this! No gamey taste)( add additional $6) and the Tuna salad.
For the main course will be the Duck confit( a little dry), Chicken braised in red wine, Lamb shank with penne(the meat not gamey and the pasta is al den-te0 and Beef Straganoff(creamy).
The dessert was Creme Brulee(love it!) and the Lemon tart( every bite was as thugh I am biting on a fresh lemon, if you are like anything really sour as dessert just go for the tart)

My friends had the Beef Cheeks(served in a Le Cruset pot) and the Angus Beef and they were just as good. Oh one thing which is their bread(can ask for seconds) is serve hot and eaten with french butter....yum!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐時段
午餐
等級4
If not for the Christmas lunch treat from my department head, perhaps I wouldn't even know this restaurant existed hehe. Before I had lunch here, my impression of French food is the servings are usually small & belong to the "fine-dining" category, so I've never craved for French food.The restaurant is not very big, probably can sit about 50-75 guests only. It has quite a tasteful European decor which makes one feel at home. The set lunch menu is $28+++, and depending on the appetizer, main cou
更多
If not for the Christmas lunch treat from my department head, perhaps I wouldn't even know this restaurant existed hehe. Before I had lunch here, my impression of French food is the servings are usually small & belong to the "fine-dining" category, so I've never craved for French food.

The restaurant is not very big, probably can sit about 50-75 guests only. It has quite a tasteful European decor which makes one feel at home.
The set lunch menu is $28+++, and depending on the appetizer, main course or dessert you choose, you may have to add $3++ for more exquisite orders. Anyway, here's my thoughts about what I had:

I have to mention the free flow of bread served before the food came. They were warm & nicely toasted. I love them, though the downside is it breaks into crumbs easily.


Appetizer: Cream Pumpkin Soup with Cheese Croutons

I think this is the first time I've tasted such creamy yet nice pumpkin soup. The creaminess of the soup doesn't make one feel too much but it gives a very smooth texture. It's my first time eating cheese croutons too and it's really good!

Main Course: Pan fried Salmon with Fennel and Fries

The salmon looks quite "tiny" on the big plate, just like what I had imagined French food to be (small servings). Haha. However it was actually just the right portion for me after I finished the very freshly pan fried salmon. It didn't feel too oily in the mouth and was delicious too.
The fries were served in a big plate for all to share, as most of us had this main course, so I guess the restaurant decided to give us 1 big plate instead of putting some fries on each plate haha. They were quite crisply fried, and not too salty.


Dessert: Warm Pear Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream

According to our department head, this is authentic French cuisine so it's a must-try. Anyway I like the presentation of this dessert. The scoop of vanilla ice cream placed on top of the pear tart didn't look like the normal ice cream scoop but it was shaped like a mini tornado.
The pear tart was nicely baked and the vanilla ice cream very smooth & yummy.


Lastly, I selected tea after my dessert. it's not the normal lipton tea and after adding only milk, I thought it was fragrant enough & not bitter, although I did not add sugar.


In general, I have no complaints about this restaurant for its service and quality of food, except perhaps the long waiting time for food to be served. From the time of order to the time our appetizers came, it took about 45 minutes! Then we had to wait another 15-20 minutes for the main course. So you need to have a lot of patience if you want to enjoy quality French cuisine hehe. Maybe French favours slow cooking so as to bring out the best flavours of the food they cook?
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2010-12-23
人均消費
$36 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Cream Pumpkin Soup with Cheese Croutons
  • Pan fried Salmon with Fennel and Fries
  • Warm Pear Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream