7
3
0
等級4
Full Brussels Sprouts review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/03/brussels-sprouts.htmlCelebrity chef Emmanuel Stroobant first opened Brussels Sprouts in December 2006, a casual, relaxing, and chic bistro bar serving the cuisine of Belgium. With an extensive menu of Belgian classic dishes, and over 180 different Belgian beers, Brussels Sprouts has grown in popularity over the last 9 years, expanding to 3 outlets across Singapore.Ambience at Brussels Sprouts differs depending on lo
更多
Full Brussels Sprouts review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/03/brussels-sprouts.html

Celebrity chef Emmanuel Stroobant first opened Brussels Sprouts in December 2006, a casual, relaxing, and chic bistro bar serving the cuisine of Belgium. With an extensive menu of Belgian classic dishes, and over 180 different Belgian beers, Brussels Sprouts has grown in popularity over the last 9 years, expanding to 3 outlets across Singapore.

Ambience at Brussels Sprouts differs depending on location. The Robertson location offers a chill, relaxing vibe admist the nightlife, the Big Splash location is the most family friendly with views of the beach, while the Quayside Isle location has scenic views of the tranquil marina. I personally prefer the Quayside Isle outlet for its scenic views. Prevalent colours themes of black and yellow abound, with warm diffused lightings in all locations. Furniture ranges from the standard sit-down dinner sort, to the high bar benches, functional but not too comfortable for lingering meals.

Service at Brussels Sprouts is polite, efficient, but somewhat cold. Staff are quick to seat you and take orders, and are knowledgable enough to make recommendations, especially for selection of drinks from their extensive menu. Orders are also served quickly during peak periods, usually within 15 minutes. Staff are also quick at turning over empty / dirty tables, however, sauces are self-service. I think the service lacks the personal, friendly touches, the feel is rather hurried and mechanical in nature, with little engagement.

Food at Brussels Sprouts is largely Belgian cuisine, with a focus on seafood. The majority of dishes are directly inspired by dishes you'll commonly find in Belgium, which is heavily influenced by French, German, and Dutch cuisine. Generally, I find their seafood to be fresh, and I like the large portions it's served in, most dishes are suitable for sharing. Prices are slightly high, as befits fresh seafood and imported craft beers, budget about SGD $42 per person for a 2 course meal with drinks here.

Mussels steamed with onions and celery, and served with fries, is considered to be the national dish of Belgium. The Mussels Moules Vin Blanc (SGD $20) here features small but meaty mussels, in a clear sauce of onions, parsley, celery, leeks, white wine, and butter. Love how light and fragrant the sauce is, allowing the natural taste of the mussels to shine.
Mussels Moules Vin Blanc
$20
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Clams steamed with ham and mushrooms is a dish derived from Spain. The Clams Palourdes Jambon-Champignon (SGD $20) here features small but meaty clams, in a reddish-brown sauce of air-dried ham, fresh button mushrooms, parsley, veal stock, and butter. Love the salty, savoury taste of the sauce, which is nicely balanced, and imparts a smoky, meaty aroma to the clams.
Clams Palourdes Jambon-Champignon
$20
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Croquettes are a classic Belgian side dish / appetizer, but rather than the potato filled varieties in other countries, croquettes in Belgium are stuffed with either cheese, or grey shrimp. The version of Croquettes Au Parmesan (SGD $12) here are an appetizer with crisp outer shells filled with parmesan cheese, breaded, then fried and served on a tangy tomato coulis with fresh garden salad. The result is croquettes with semi-large pastry shell air pockets, but a gooey, creamy, stringy cheese center.
Croquettes Au Parmesan
$12
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-03-24
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$42 (晚餐)
推介美食
Mussels Moules Vin Blanc
$ 20
Clams Palourdes Jambon-Champignon
$ 20
Croquettes Au Parmesan
$ 12
等級4
2014-03-01 65 瀏覽
I headed to the outlet at Big Splash @ East Coast Parkway for some sea breezes and a more senerade environment,. Brussels Sprouts boosts of a very chilled environment complete with simple decor and colorful lights and easy-listening music so that diners could kick back their heels and just relax over good food and drinks.I always start with a good drink, no matter what - and this time my Rose Wine, sweet, light and cooling. It makes it easier to wait for the food and people watch.The Salade Au F
更多
I headed to the outlet at Big Splash @ East Coast Parkway for some sea breezes and a more senerade environment,. Brussels Sprouts boosts of a very chilled environment complete with simple decor and colorful lights and easy-listening music so that diners could kick back their heels and just relax over good food and drinks.

I always start with a good drink, no matter what - and this time my Rose Wine, sweet, light and cooling. It makes it easier to wait for the food and people watch.

The Salade Au Fromage Belge - mesclun salad, passendale cheese, hazel-walnut dressing, dried apricots and red grapes - a healthy starter under the "Garden Eat" selection of the menu - was served first. I loved the blend of cheese's savoury flavor and the sweetness of the dressing and fruits; the crisp of the vegetables and the juiciness of the fruits. This was an appetizing teaser of a starter for sure.

Next, how could I not try the famous Moules Frites (mussels and fries) combination here? I had the Brussels Sprouts special - clear broth of onion, parsley, butter, celery and black pepper. The broth was very delicious, so the mussels having been infused with this rich flavor, was a palatable burst of delicacy. The fries were thick and filled with goodness of real potato flesh.

Overall, it was rather satisfying , the entire gastronomical encore. We spent around SGD$30.00 per person on this chillout session cum dinner.

For more detailed information and photos, please visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/01/dinner-at-brussels-sprouts.html
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$30
推介美食
  • Mussels and fries
  • Salade Au Fromage Belge
等級4
238
3
2013-12-22 44 瀏覽
NBrussels SproutsI've always wanted to try Brussels Sprout as the reviews have been good for their mussels. Till today, I crave for the beautiful mussels I had in Normandy and nothing I've eaten locally comes close. So for my best friend's birthday, we got a HUGE table with too many children and ordered like crazy! I'll shared what I know:1) Brussel Sprouts Special - birthday girl had this and she said it's too much peppercorn thus too spicy in not that good a way. The broth was just too overpow
更多
Mussels
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
N
Brussels Sprouts

I've always wanted to try Brussels Sprout as the reviews have been good for their mussels. Till today, I crave for the beautiful mussels I had in Normandy and nothing I've eaten locally comes close. So for my best friend's birthday, we got a HUGE table with too many children and ordered like crazy! I'll shared what I know:

1) Brussel Sprouts Special - birthday girl had this and she said it's too much peppercorn thus too spicy in not that good a way. The broth was just too overpowered by the peppercorns. 

2) 4 Cheese Cream Sauce - hub ordered this and he said it's ok. Not bad. 

3) Ostendaise Sauce - I had this as it's really a fancy name for lobster bisque as sauce. I ordered this personally and found the sauce slightly salty but perhaps it was needed to boost the taste of the mussels. The mussels themselves were also very juicy so good job with the control of cooking time. Only gripe is that I still find the French ones sweeter and tastier. *sigh*

4) Pink Sauce Pasta (Kids Meal) - my girls had that and couldn't finish so mummy dearest happily ate the leftovers. I thought the sauce was very nice and though there was no ingredients in the pasta, it's tasty enough to eat it on its own. 

They have a children's corner at the side of the restaurant but very few toys to play with. So the kids didn't find the corner engaging at all. But on weekends, they get a balloon guy to go from table to table to create something your kid desires from scratch! He is amazing just to watch! He blows the skinny balloons up by his breath alone - no pump! OMG!!! What lungs!?! 

Anyway, it's a good place at night but lunch was a little too hot with the glass panels as roof, they have cloth banners that try to offer some shade but Singapore sun is not funny so late afternoons and nights are recommended. Plus the kids can go onto the paths of East Coast tracks to amuse themselves while the adults chat over food. 

The kids eat for free on weekends so total cost wasn't too bad. 
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$50 (午餐)
推介美食
Mussels
等級2
5
0
I read several other (positive) reviews of their mussels and got had my expectations a little high so when I tasted it for myself tonight (was there between 5-7pm for the mussel madness promo of $30 for 2 starter pots), I got a little disappointed because:1) I expected them to be meatier i.e. the flesh was so small. Then again, I don't eat mussels often! So if you're like me, expecting the tougher chewier kind of mussels.. they're not those.2) I found the broth/sauce rather "watered down"..? Yes
更多
I read several other (positive) reviews of their mussels and got had my expectations a little high so when I tasted it for myself tonight (was there between 5-7pm for the mussel madness promo of $30 for 2 starter pots), I got a little disappointed because:
1) I expected them to be meatier i.e. the flesh was so small. Then again, I don't eat mussels often! So if you're like me, expecting the tougher chewier kind of mussels.. they're not those.
2) I found the broth/sauce rather "watered down"..? Yes I could taste white wine in Mariniere and the tomato in the meridionale, but the texture of the broth.. I would have preferred it to be slightly thickened.

Other than the above, I'd say the service was good. The crew really try to attend to your needs fast and with a smile. I loved their fries - thick, fat and crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. It came with complimentary mayonnaise. Would have gotten a refill (it's free flow) if not for the fact that the initial portion given was quite substantial already.

Juice wasn't too bad but I thought it was pricey ($7.50) for a lime juice.

I think their other mains would have fared slightly better? But I didn't try them so don't take my word for it.

Nice location where you can look out to sea, and enjoy nice breeze.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-29
人均消費
$24 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Fries
等級3
35
17
For a full story coverage and picture, please join me at the dining table: http://www.epinosh.com/brussels-sprouts-singapore/Not that teeny edible buds that everyone’s knowing, but possibly associate with the capital of Belgium when one talks about Brussels – its largest city. I remember seeing that naked boy peeing into the fountain’s basin, if you can guess who I was referring to. Of course, one has to walked quite a fair bit from the Grand Place (side lane from Brussels Town Hall) to meet thi
更多
For a full story coverage and picture, please join me at the dining table: http://www.epinosh.com/brussels-sprouts-singapore/
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not that teeny edible buds that everyone’s knowing, but possibly associate with the capital of Belgium when one talks about Brussels – its largest city. I remember seeing that naked boy peeing into the fountain’s basin, if you can guess who I was referring to. Of course, one has to walked quite a fair bit from the Grand Place (side lane from Brussels Town Hall) to meet this famous bronze statue, wasn’t tall, about your 24″ LCD monitor, measured diagonally. Yes, it’s the famous Brussels landmark of today - Manneken Pis. During my trip to Brussels, I couldn’t recall eating these miniature cabbages which are seemingly popular and may have originated here since early 13th Century. I have no chance to validate if naming this eatery “Brussels Sprouts” has anything to do with its origin since it offers Belgian cuisine, unless Emmanuel Stroobant stands before me.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If you are familiar with cable channels, then this “Chef in Black” is no stranger to you. This blond-haired punker who is obsessed with bikes has a long list of achievements under his belt. Started off as a humble dishwasher at 16, this young man worked his way through to his first restaurant - Le Bal in Liege where he lives. He was barely 23. Then he came to the Asia Pacific and won himself several respectable titles/awards and founded Saint Pierre (2000) – his first restaurant in Singapore. A few other awards followed through; Most Innovative Menu 2002, 2004 and 2007, the World Gourmet Summit – Award of Excellence. Today, this ambitious 44-year old manages and provide consultancy to 7 restaurants under The Emmanuel Stroobant Group (with his no. 8th – Brussels Sprouts 3rd outlet coming up at Sentosa Cove); took time starring in the latest AFC Original Production - 36 Ways to Live; and kept himself busy with cookbooks writing. The avid yogi and a believer in eating Organic produces has turned vegetarianism for some health reasons. I don’t know, but I think it’s painful for a chef to abstain from meat eating. Again, with superior culinary skills, a chef will circumvent any restriction in ingredients. Besides, all the 7 restaurants cook with living organisms, each serving its niche cuisines.

Brussels Sprouts at Big Splash is the 2nd outlet following its first at The Pier@ Robertson. It was a distance away from my usual arrival point – the defunct East Coast Park McDonald’s. I missed the area so much that I decided to stroll my way to the Big Splash. It was not effortless. I could feel that blow torch blistering my scalp after that 5 minutes’ walk but I continued.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The blazing heat was unbearable! The sun was beaming right into the restaurant - a greenhouse I am entering. Packed with families and couples, dining at Brussels Sprouts on a Sunday afternoon was full of elation. Didn’t want to sprout like a mung bean, I begged for high-table seats next to the bar. It was so much cooler without that see-through glass roofing and well-ventilated with sliding glass doors being pull apart. I would definitely appreciate its architecture during the night, not on a sunny day. It took a while before I no longer feel the heat. With more than 120 varieties of Belgian beer available, it is a common sight to see everyone gulping down a glass of icy cold Hoegaarden – mostly foreigners, while I am with my bubbling cola.

Without delaying, I gave my orders to one of the wait staff who looks so peppy. Not knowing what to do and didn’t want to toy with my phone, I turn to watch the kids running around with their colorful balloons. I enjoyed the causal atmosphere it brings with laughter and cutlery orchestrating in the background. What a lighthearted moment.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The food arrives. I had one of the Belgian classics - Moules Frites. The portion was larger than I expected, given a starter at 350 gram (S$20.00). The pot was filled with wedge-shaped, blackish shells, half-drowning in the broth. Each valves split opened fully, revealing its meat body soaking in that savory veal stock made peppery with paprika. The mussels taste fresh, a light ocean scent. Smaller breed, they are slightly chewy but easy to swallow. Perfect. It goes well with the diced chorizo in the broth. Overall, the pot of moules was good, though I find something lacking in the broth – more briny and requires a balanced flavour. Maybe I should just opt for the classic Brussels Sprouts version.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What is Moules-Frites when mussels comes without fries? That basket of chunky cut fries is so dominating! Crisp on the exterior, meaty and soft in the middle – my weakness ever. To make it more evil, it was made refillable! Argh… put them to jail, stat!! It reminds me of that tantalizing scent wafting from those thick & fluffy chips served in paper cone, which I happily eating away on the street of Amsterdam!
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Fish & Chips (Vis En Frites) going for S$24.00 was monstrous, just as they named it – “Big Eat”. Who hasn’t eaten Fish & Chips in their life!!? I have a few tries in London which I find one that I didn’t quite enjoyed, with skin on. Then some in Europe and then in the United States, mediocre at best. But, this one I find it hard to resist though not at their prime. The batter covering the white fish was deep fried to golden crisp and I wonder if beer has been added to do the trick. When you forked into the nice crisp crust, what you get is a layer of soft, moist and fresh piece of fish meat. Not overly greasy is what I am attracted to. Don’t neglect the lemon wedge, give it a hard squeeze – it makes a different. A handful of hot fluffy chips were laid underneath the big slab of fried fish – dancing with gusto! Dip into any 3 condiment that comes along – hunter sauce, curry tomato, garlic saffron mayonnaise, each steak turned even more globby. A hearty late-night supper treat & you can forget about your next day’s breakfast!
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
To complete the Belgian fare, I thought the Belgian Waffle is not to be missed. I am especially looking for a crispy outside and a creamier interior. I swear this is the first I had. Unlike other ice-cream parlor that serves the American style, this Gauffre evolves between a Brussels and Liège version. Lightly crisp on its top crust, the cake is eggy than anywhere I have tried. It tastes sweeter, has a moist and dense structure. If you were to ask what it resembles, I have to say, very close to a muffin but less rich in taste. Even though the dough is sweet, it complements well with the accompanying vanilla ice-cream which is surprisingly less sugary. If you enjoy sweet and soft masses, then this S$12.00 high grid cake may be your best pick.

If you are keen for a weekend breakfast at the same time watching the coast, Brussels Sprouts at Big Splash serves Sunday Breakfast menu. Only at this outlet, you get to choose between sandwiches, tartines, sausage platter or simply just go with a Brussels Sprouts Breakfast to save your agony in decision making. What a way to sit back and appreciate that short Sunday moment.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-11-08
人均消費
$40 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Fish & Chips
  • Belgian waffle
等級4
167
0
2012-07-23 9 瀏覽
For pictures and review, pls visit:http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/brussel-sprouts/At East Coast to check out Brussel Sprouts, a Belgium Bar and Bistro set up by celebrity chef Emmanuel Strootbant. Brussel Sprouts is a great place for chilling out and for booze lovers; the bar serves more than a hundred types of beers.It was a hot afternoon and Brussel Sprouts does not have air-conditioning, it was very warm, I felt like I was in an oven. Sitting near the fans was not an option for m
更多
For pictures and review, pls visit:

http://madamechewy.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/brussel-sprouts/

At East Coast to check out Brussel Sprouts, a Belgium Bar and Bistro set up by celebrity chef Emmanuel Strootbant. Brussel Sprouts is a great place for chilling out and for booze lovers; the bar serves more than a hundred types of beers.

It was a hot afternoon and Brussel Sprouts does not have air-conditioning, it was very warm, I felt like I was in an oven. Sitting near the fans was not an option for me because my hair would be blown all over the place making it impossible to eat. I enjoyed the mussels and would return for more, but in the evening to avoid the heat.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-07-22 13 瀏覽
This is one of my favourite dishes from this outlet. The fish cutlets are very crispy and are deep fried till very nice golden brown colour, which looks smell good and taste equally delicious as well. The thick slices of french fries are also very crispy and also not too salty too. The portion is quite generous and good to serve one to two adults at one time. Dip both the items in the mayonnise sauce taste even better too.
更多
This is one of my favourite dishes from this outlet. The fish cutlets are very crispy and are deep fried till very nice golden brown colour, which looks smell good and taste equally delicious as well. The thick slices of french fries are also very crispy and also not too salty too. The portion is quite generous and good to serve one to two adults at one time. Dip both the items in the mayonnise sauce taste even better too.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-11
等級4
2012-07-22 8 瀏覽
This restaurant serves quite many dishes that are very delicious which also makes me revisit this restaurant quite oftenly. One of my favourite dishes is their grilled mushroom and herb butter. The Mushroom is very smooth and chewy which has absorbed the fragrant and goodness from the different types of herbs and butter used in cooking it. Even though the price is quite high, but because of its good taste, I will still come back quite oftenly.
更多
This restaurant serves quite many dishes that are very delicious which also makes me revisit this restaurant quite oftenly. One of my favourite dishes is their grilled mushroom and herb butter. The Mushroom is very smooth and chewy which has absorbed the fragrant and goodness from the different types of herbs and butter used in cooking it. Even though the price is quite high, but because of its good taste, I will still come back quite oftenly.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-08
等級4
585
5
2012-06-22 7 瀏覽
Went there on a Tuesday night last week so it was relatively not crowded. Arrived there at 7.30 pm & waited for 2 other friends to come. The waiter at my section was nice & didn't pressure us to order any starter, but turns out that we did as our stomachs were calling. Had the button mushroom with escargot as our starter. It was really good, rich flavour - garlic just nice to drown out any 'weird' sensation of eating a snail. Don't get me wrong, I love escargot. Also ordered a Blonde (Beer) & Gi
更多
Went there on a Tuesday night last week so it was relatively not crowded. Arrived there at 7.30 pm & waited for 2 other friends to come. The waiter at my section was nice & didn't pressure us to order any starter, but turns out that we did as our stomachs were calling.

Had the button mushroom with escargot as our starter. It was really good, rich flavour - garlic just nice to drown out any 'weird' sensation of eating a snail. Don't get me wrong, I love escargot. Also ordered a Blonde (Beer) & Ginger Ale. The Blonde was an easy drink, less malty & had a slightly fruity taste.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-06-19
等級2
16
0
2012-04-12 15 瀏覽
Mussels in a pot. Its delicious and addictive to eat non-stop. The fries are very good as well. As it is refillable, we had a few portion before deciding to stop before we burst from our seams. The escargot was done nicely with the sauce as well. A very good match, you don't feel like stopping either. The mushroom soup is good too. The atmosphere here was relaxing. We had a beer and only ordered 2 kinds of mussels(one for one deal), mushroom soup and escargot. We wanted to order more but the wa
更多
Mussels in a pot. Its delicious and addictive to eat non-stop. The fries are very good as well. As it is refillable, we had a few portion before deciding to stop before we burst from our seams. The escargot was done nicely with the sauce as well. A very good match, you don't feel like stopping either. The mushroom soup is good too. The atmosphere here was relaxing. We had a beer and only ordered 2 kinds of mussels(one for one deal), mushroom soup and escargot. We wanted to order more but the waiter advised that it may be too much for two of us to handle which is quite true as we need to walk by the beach after the meal before we are able to stuff ourselves into the car for our trip home. Beware of mosquitoes.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Mussels
等級3
2011-09-07 5 瀏覽
I went there with a couple of friends..the beer was cheap. We ordered a tower of Hoegarden @ only $58. The service was really good. The waiter there was very helpful & nice. They will come over our table & pass us their name card & inform us that we could call in & make reservation in future. They also gave out lighter with their company logo for free. I would definitely patron them again.
更多
I went there with a couple of friends..the beer was cheap. We ordered a tower of Hoegarden @ only $58. The service was really good. The waiter there was very helpful
& nice. They will come over our table & pass us their name card & inform us that we could
call in & make reservation in future. They also gave out lighter with their company logo for free. I would definitely patron them again.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食