35
10
2
等級2
10
0
2019-08-18 114 瀏覽
I have been in F&B, and I definitely know the quality of buffet food will be inferior.  So here, it looks like there are plenty of choices, but actually not:- sushi and sashimi - only 3-4 choice??- fresh cold seafood - maybe the most attractive in the whole restaurant - and one rare selling point is they have fresh oyster- american - only pizza and grill pork, not steak.   - tempura - 3-4 choices- japanese grill - mainly selling salmon head - no wing no other meat- satay - yes, typical beef and
更多
I have been in F&B, and I definitely know the quality of buffet food will be inferior.  
So here, it looks like there are plenty of choices, but actually not:
- sushi and sashimi - only 3-4 choice??
- fresh cold seafood - maybe the most attractive in the whole restaurant - and one rare selling point is they have fresh oyster
- american - only pizza and grill pork, not steak.   
- tempura - 3-4 choices
- japanese grill - mainly selling salmon head - no wing no other meat
- satay - yes, typical beef and chicken
- wok fried - too many veggie but lack of meat
- long boil soup is good
- chicken rice and laska.....no nasi lemak?
- desserts - kacang, icecream, waffle etc.

I can say this is definitely for quantity, not quality.  

Not worth trying again.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2019-08-04
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$45 (午餐)
等級3
37
0
2014-11-28 3570 瀏覽
Like the japanese section of Buffet town best. Lots of variety of sushi. The sushi filling are all very fresh. Rice is not too soggy.  I like the sweet and savory combination of the egg sushi. The prawn sushi is well made whih which brings out the taste of the prawn. Presentation was also good and appealing.The peranakan section of the buffet. is also good. It has curry, chap chai etc. the curry chicken is delicious, though the curry sauce is not thick or rich enough. They could have added more
更多
Like the japanese section of Buffet town best. Lots of variety of sushi. The sushi filling are all very fresh. Rice is not too soggy.  I like the sweet and savory combination of the egg sushi. The prawn sushi is well made whih which brings out the taste of the prawn. Presentation was also good and appealing.

The peranakan section of the buffet. is also good. It has curry, chap chai etc. the curry chicken is delicious, though the curry sauce is not thick or rich enough. They could have added more potatoes to the curry too. Though the dishes are not very authentic peranakan, it is good enough as a sampler.

The staff clears the table very fast. Staff also takes initiative to help us clarify with the chef when we notice the satay we took from the chicken corner appears to be like beef. Good place for family gatherings, esp for those with children.
66 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-20
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
等級3
42
0
2014-11-21 2582 瀏覽
It's been a year since I last went to buffet town. To my surprise, the dishes are still exactly the same. For desserts (cakes), I thought the quality has went down a bit, or maybe the desserts which I like are not there. Ice-cream flavours are also not as nice that day.The satay is a great hit as usual, though I was the first 5 pax to enter, the satay had already ran out! I like the fried stuff best -- keropo, fried sweet potato (very sweet and crunchy), fried prawns. fried bananas (sweet and cr
更多
It's been a year since I last went to buffet town. To my surprise, the dishes are still exactly the same. For desserts (cakes), I thought the quality has went down a bit, or maybe the desserts which I like are not there. Ice-cream flavours are also not as nice that day.

The satay is a great hit as usual, though I was the first 5 pax to enter, the satay had already ran out! 

I like the fried stuff best -- keropo, fried sweet potato (very sweet and crunchy), fried prawns. fried bananas (sweet and crunchy) - this dish also runs out fast, so do grab soon. The fried prawn is a bit plain and close to tasteless though. Would recommend the fresh prawns to go with the yummy laksa. 

Children would love the playground, so those with children, do remember to reserve a seat near the playground, can eat while watching your children play and run.

53 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-11-20
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
等級2
6
0
2013-12-27 3414 瀏覽
When I went to dine at this restaurant, there was a crab promotion. There was a whole row of crab derived dishes. These included crab fried rice, vermicille, soup, and chilli crab! (among other dishes)The sauce for the chilli crab was awesome. It complimented the sweet crispy on the outside, soft on the inside mantous. Though I am a Singaporean, I have to admit that that was the first time I tried chilli crab! Buffet Town has given Chilli crab a good name ;)Besides this, the sashimi salmon, tuna
更多
When I went to dine at this restaurant, there was a crab promotion. There was a whole row of crab derived dishes. These included crab fried rice, vermicille, soup, and chilli crab! (among other dishes)

The sauce for the chilli crab was awesome. It complimented the sweet crispy on the outside, soft on the inside mantous. Though I am a Singaporean, I have to admit that that was the first time I tried chilli crab! Buffet Town has given Chilli crab a good name ;)

Besides this, the sashimi salmon, tuna and octopus were so fresh. I just kept queueing up for more! The sushi with crabstick stood out as well, as the meat was sweet and different from those bought from any other economical sushi shops. The fresh oyster and steamed cold prawns were fantastic. It was a pity I tried them only after I had tried other food. I was too full to eat more of them!

Will be back to try the nonya dishes like ayam buakeluak, which I had missed out this time due to a too full tummy!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-24
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Fresh oyster
  • prawns
  • sashimi
等級4
229
0
2013-12-19 2874 瀏覽
My colleagues' suggestion is to go to Buffet Town located at Raffles City Shopping Centre to try out the buffet. The restaurant serve wide variety of choices for buffet such as oysters, scallops, sushi, crabs, mantou, cooked items, prawns and as well as desserts such as cakes etc. We liked the seafood e.g prawns was big , fresh and juicy and oysters are fresh and big. The cooked section with crabs cooked with chilli gravy taste fresh and spicy with fried mantou to dip in the sauce. They serve d
更多
282 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My colleagues' suggestion is to go to Buffet Town located at Raffles City Shopping Centre to try out the buffet. The restaurant serve wide variety of choices for buffet such as oysters, scallops, sushi, crabs, mantou, cooked items, prawns and as well as desserts such as cakes etc.

We liked the seafood e.g prawns was big , fresh and juicy and oysters are fresh and big. The cooked section with crabs cooked with chilli gravy taste fresh and spicy with fried mantou to dip in the sauce. They serve different kinds of soups etc mushroom soup where you taste creamy and bits of mushroom in soup.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-01
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • prawns
  • oysters
等級3
90
1
2013-12-10 2301 瀏覽
It was 8 o’clock in the evening and the husband and I were roaming everywhere in Raffles City, undecided on where to have our dinner till we chanced upon Buffet Town that was bustling with life (and noise) inside. A peep into the restaurant through the glass window, I saw piles of chilled crayfish, oysters and scallops on display that were beckoning to me.Most of the time, chilled seafood at buffets are either briny or are simply tasteless so I wasn’t harbouring much expectations that I’d get go
更多
It was 8 o’clock in the evening and the husband and I were roaming everywhere in Raffles City, undecided on where to have our dinner till we chanced upon Buffet Town that was bustling with life (and noise) inside. A peep into the restaurant through the glass window, I saw piles of chilled crayfish, oysters and scallops on display that were beckoning to me.

Most of the time, chilled seafood at buffets are either briny or are simply tasteless so I wasn’t harbouring much expectations that I’d get good quality seafood or sashimi at this restaurant. We were just tired of trying to find a place (without a long queue) to sit down and eat so decided to settle for this.

The dinner buffet was supposed to end at 10pm but the buffet line at the hot food section already seemed pretty vacant and miserable at 8.15pm. Oh man, I wasn’t even tempted to go around to capture pictures because most of the chafing dishes and trays were quite vacant.
282 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
At $35.80++ per person for the weekday dinner buffet, the available selections of cold seafood, appetisers, sushi and sashimi seemed pretty impressive. While I did try a bit of everything, nothing was really worth a second helping except for the sashimi that were fresh and generously sliced.

I could almost compare Buffet Town with Todai @ MBS in terms of food variety that ranged from Asian/Local delights, Japanese to an International spread.
229 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I enjoyed the laksa with a rich, flavoursome broth and crunchy, fresh prawns. I also appreciated the availability of grated pineapple that could be added to the satay sauce to enhance its flavour the traditional way. The sauce for the Chilli Crayfish wasn’t too bad too. It was a pity the crayfish tasted like leftovers (from the chilled seafood section) as the chef had run out of crabs.

We didn’t get to try the Yakitori section as well as many other hot dishes as they weren’t replenished at all throughout our time there.

For full review and pictures, please visit http://springtomorrow.com/2013/10/28/buffet-town-raffles-city/

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
118
0
2013-11-24 1541 瀏覽
Spent more than 40 dollar each for buffet dinner.. V expensive as the quality of food soso la.. service was excellent,helpful and friendly... Overall not recommended!Sushi n cold seafood... the prawn is quite big n fresh but personally i dont like cold seafood.. n there don't have any paper steamboat that can throw the seafood in to make it hot..Old cucumber soup was quite nice.. best item for the night. Fried item crispy and taste not bad!The waffles with ice cream looks cute and yummy... I lik
更多
188 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Spent more than 40 dollar each for buffet dinner.. V expensive as the quality of food soso la.. service was excellent,helpful and friendly... Overall not recommended!

Sushi n cold seafood... the prawn is quite big n fresh but personally i dont like cold seafood.. n there don't have any paper steamboat that can throw the seafood in to make it hot..

Old cucumber soup was quite nice.. best item for the night. Fried item crispy and taste not bad!
190 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The waffles with ice cream looks cute and yummy... I like it!
180 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
213 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
chicken rice is soso.. I think some chicken rice found at hawker centre is much better than this.... hmm... the chicken is quite dry. Hmm...
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級2
8
0
2013-10-08 1121 瀏覽
早上book晚上的buffet town。It is necessary to make a reservation in advance, otherwise, you need to queen for a long long time.生蚝挺好吃的,可能不算特别新鲜,但是是现开的,味道还是可以的。。。。就是在city hall 出来到raffles city里面找了半天才找到。。在一个角落里面。。。人还是挺多,说实在话东西不算特别多,烤串要等很久,每次出来就给前面两个人全部拿掉。。。。还有生蚝要排队排很久。。。不过现开的也没办法,可以多弄几个人来开生蚝。。。其他的想不起有特别的地方,去的时候刚刚有螃蟹,吃了chili crab,凑合还行。。。总的来说,只能说中规中矩的buffet,35.8++per pax有点小贵。。。没去过的可以稍微尝试一下。。不要抱有太大的期望,除了生蚝,没啥特别的,salmon虽然切得比较厚,但是不是鱼腩部分。。。desserts还可以,薄脆比较好吃。。好处之一,也是bug,pay first,然后会给你手臂盖一个紫外灯才能看到的印章,中途你上厕所回来要照
更多
早上book晚上的buffet town。It is necessary to make a reservation in advance, otherwise, you need to queen for a long long time.

生蚝挺好吃的,可能不算特别新鲜,但是是现开的,味道还是可以的。。。。就是在city hall 出来到raffles city里面找了半天才找到。。在一个角落里面。。。人还是挺多,说实在话东西不算特别多,烤串要等很久,每次出来就给前面两个人全部拿掉。。。。还有生蚝要排队排很久。。。不过现开的也没办法,可以多弄几个人来开生蚝。。。其他的想不起有特别的地方,去的时候刚刚有螃蟹,吃了chili crab,凑合还行。。。

总的来说,只能说中规中矩的buffet,35.8++per pax有点小贵。。。没去过的可以稍微尝试一下。。不要抱有太大的期望,除了生蚝,没啥特别的,salmon虽然切得比较厚,但是不是鱼腩部分。。。desserts还可以,薄脆比较好吃。。

好处之一,也是bug,pay first,然后会给你手臂盖一个紫外灯才能看到的印章,中途你上厕所回来要照一下才能进去。。你要是吃多了,可以放包包在椅子上,然后出去逛街半小时回来,继续吃。。。
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-01
人均消費
$42 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • fresh oyster
等級4
159
3
2013-08-11 1000 瀏覽
After seeing the super wide range of food on the website, plus hearing good feedback from my friends, we decided to give Buffet Town a go! Alas, it’s too popular because it’s really affordable if you eat a lot of those expensive seafood items. My friend called up on Tuesday but the reservations were full! And there’s only places for 30 walk-in customers. So my friend went to start queueing at 5.30pm and managed to be the 14th person. Walk-ins start at 6.15pm, reservations at 6pm. I can’t remembe
更多
After seeing the super wide range of food on the website, plus hearing good feedback from my friends, we decided to give Buffet Town a go! Alas, it’s too popular because it’s really affordable if you eat a lot of those expensive seafood items. My friend called up on Tuesday but the reservations were full! And there’s only places for 30 walk-in customers. So my friend went to start queueing at 5.30pm and managed to be the 14th person. Walk-ins start at 6.15pm, reservations at 6pm.

I can’t remember what this station was called, but you pick the amount of meat you want (fish, pork, chicken) and ask the person to stir fry it. IT’S SUPER DUPER NICE. Especially the dory. Succulent! Similarly for the vegetables, you choose how much you want and they will stir fry it for you. I didn’t know they will stir fry with garlic, I’m not a huge fan of garlic, but I still ate it because it’s so good! LOVE THIS STATION THE MOST. Wanted to go for a second round but my stomach was really full and there’s still a lot I haven’t tried.
119 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
106 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
110 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We attacked the crab after that. I was a little disappointed that the portion was rather small, because they were serving the leg part of the crab only, not the full crab. They have chilli crab and black pepper crab. The chilli crab was too spicy for me (my tolerance is not very high) but the black pepper one was great! We also ate probably 14 prawns or more. The prawns were fresh, so it was really nice. And it was really thoughtful of buffet town to have placed the lemon water on our table before we even sat down so we can dip our hands into it after deshelling the crab and prawns.

We went to walk around after that, trying to take in the amount of food they have as well as checking out the varieties. I was zooming in on laksa whereas my friend was aiming for the curry chicken which we took very long to find. We thought it’s at some station and we have to go ask for it, but turns out it’s with all the cooked dishes at the thai section, that’s just right next to where we were sitting.
111 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another section of the buffet worth commenting about is the coffee section! I feel so happy to see this section! It looks just like a real coffee shop! And I had a hard time choosing which one I wanted because I wanted to try all. In the end we ordered a kopi c! As there were only hot drinks here, we took a cup with ice and poured the hot coffee over the ice. Another item to try is the soya beancurd (really smooth and silky, it rolls down your throat) and the soya bean drink (as recommended by my friend but I didn’t try).
117 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
115 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I did not try the dessert section as I was really full and couldn't take in any more food in my stomach. I saw one dessert which looks quite nice, something like oreo flavoured cake. My friend who went to have desserts said there wasn't any more of that at around 9.20pm.
114 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Some of the other food I tried as well;
119 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
103 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
111 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
137 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
123 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Overall, I think the buffet is really value for money, especially if you like sashimi a lot, you can just keep going to the station to take. They have different types of cuisine; Thai, western, Chinese and Japanese etc. There's really too much food to write about but the ones I've written are those that are worth giving it a try. One tip is that, it is not possible to finish trying all the food, so just zoom in on the more worth it, more expensive food and the ones that you think is really nice. And also, if you really want to go for the buffet and don't mind waiting, you can try waiting until 7plus-8plus because that's when some people already start to leave.

Verdict: Good variety of food, value for money, efficient staff (they cleared our plates extremely fast to the extent some people were quite annoyed!), quality of food is quite good! I can't find any fault for this buffet at all.

PS: Sorry if I didn't provide pictures for some of the food I mentioned, limited to 12 photos for this review only!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
51
0
2013-07-28 710 瀏覽
Daddy treating me back to an advance birthday treat. He and chooses the buffet town this time as it has international choice and I love especially the sushi and seafood. It suits all our taste. All the food are yummy , fresh and special except the scallop was abit too hard although it nicely presented. I love the laksa although there was no clam and it just in a small bowl size. Some of it would have the chef to cook for you and some are already cook and ready for you. The environment is nice an
更多
Daddy treating me back to an advance birthday treat. He and chooses the buffet town this time as it has international choice and I love especially the sushi and seafood. It suits all our taste. All the food are yummy , fresh and special except the scallop was abit too hard although it nicely presented. I love the laksa although there was no clam and it just in a small bowl size. Some of it would have the chef to cook for you and some are already cook and ready for you. The environment is nice and a playground to the children while adult can enjoy their food too. The service is nice as they clean and clear your plate fast on the table so that you can get other stuff. However, it maybe a bit too fast that you may have not finish everything yet and clean it for you. The price is reasonable for adult and children abt $30 each and you get yourself really full.overll, it clean and recommendable especially for special occasion and having group of different preferences and international friend around.
51 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
93 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-07-07
人均消費
$30 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Laksa
  • sushi
  • dessert
等級2
7
0
2013-07-01 583 瀏覽
Not the 1st time here at Buffet Town. It's highly recommended to make a reservations before u go and this is the reason why The buffet start at 1130 and this was the queue at 1115. This shows how popular buffet town is. Left side of the queue is for people who made reservations while right is for walk-ins. They will start letting people who made reservations in at 1130 while 11.45 for walk-ins. The service is fast and efficient. The whole process is quite fast surprisingly. We got a seat at
更多
Not the 1st time here at Buffet Town. It's highly recommended to make a reservations before u go and this is the reason why
103 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The buffet start at 1130 and this was the queue at 1115.
This shows how popular buffet town is.
Left side of the queue is for people who made reservations while right is for walk-ins. They will start letting people who made reservations in at 1130 while 11.45 for walk-ins. The service is fast and efficient. The whole process is quite fast surprisingly.

We got a seat at a corner of the restaurant and because it's somewhere beside the kitchen, the surrounding there is quite warm and we request to change a seat but got rejected. >< Not a very good start of our buffet D:
84 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is the 1st time I ate Slipper Lobsters. It tastes a bit flour-ish and the flesh break apart quite easily >< Taste like un-fresh prawn if you know what I mean. I'm not sure if it's suppose to be like this or not, but I don't really like it.
127 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dessert! The first ( and will always be always ) food I attacked! Thy don't really have much choices for dessert compared to other buffet restaurants. All the muffins available tasted the same and and only differs in the colour of the cream only @.@ ) But their waffles and crepes will make up for it!
71 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Their waffles and crepes is a MUST TRY! Especially the crepes. Tastes so nice! It's crispy and the sweetness is just nice. It taste great just the way it is, so you don't really have to add syrup or toppings for it.
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
They have staffs to make coffee and tea for you too! Don't really see this at other restaurants.
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Satay is a HOT item here. It will be gone before you know it and you will always see people queuing for it.
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Strawberry ice-cream and green tea ice-cream is nice. Do try the green tea ice cream! I'm sure you will fall in love with it !! Vanilla ice-cream is too sweet. :x

33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Something I was very pleased and happy about their service is that they even send a sms a day after to thank us for visiting them. Isn't that sweet ~


Overall experience there is good. The food varieties is a bit lesser compared to last time but the standard and quality of is still (Y) ~ Will go back and eat again for sure !!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-06-30
人均消費
$37 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Waffles
  • Crepes
等級4
152
0
2013-06-08 284 瀏覽
Tried Buffet Town and the buffet here is really good! There are japanese, italian, singaporean food available here so you will be wrapped with many kinds of food available. Sashimi and seafood here are quite fresh too. Also, the ambience here is quite good since the place is not very noisy. The service is also good as the staff are quite friendly. Overall I had a good impression and will come back again soon!
更多
57 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Tried Buffet Town and the buffet here is really good! There are japanese, italian, singaporean food available here so you will be wrapped with many kinds of food available. Sashimi and seafood here are quite fresh too. Also, the ambience here is quite good since the place is not very noisy. The service is also good as the staff are quite friendly. Overall I had a good impression and will come back again soon!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-06-05
人均消費
$30 (午餐)
等級1
4
0
2013-05-12 195 瀏覽
First impression of dinning in Buffet Town was, "wow" it is so crowded on a Monday night. The place is a little complicated and you really need to search high and low for the cuisine you are looking for. Yes, I mean search. I spend quite a great deal of time looking for my favourite Chili Crab and also the Italian Pasta is hidden in a corner. But the Chili Crab served is definitely better than some served at other Buffet restaurant.For the price we are paying for, I must really agree that it is
更多
First impression of dinning in Buffet Town was, "wow" it is so crowded on a Monday night. The place is a little complicated and you really need to search high and low for the cuisine you are looking for. Yes, I mean search. I spend quite a great deal of time looking for my favourite Chili Crab and also the Italian Pasta is hidden in a corner.
But the Chili Crab served is definitely better than some served at other Buffet restaurant.

For the price we are paying for, I must really agree that it is a great deal. Imagine the "snow mountain" at the entrance, fill with Slipper Lobsters, Oysters, White Clams, etc.. (even though the rojak next to it looks a bit funny).


For prawns lover, if you don't like Chilled Prawn, they do serve prawns in other style like Steam with Chinese Herbs, Nonya Style, Tomato Sauce, etc..

For parents, child below 6 years old will be FOC
also, there is a playground with cartoon series for the children to enjoy themselves while the parents are enjoying their food.
(Very family oriented)
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-01
人均消費
$42 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Slipper Lobster
  • Scallop
  • Oysters
  • Grills meat station special
等級2
11
0
2013-05-11 69 瀏覽
For full review, please visit > http://ahat247.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/buffet-town-raffles-city/Mum and I were out on a Sunday evening to visit Buffet Town, upon recommendation by her friend. Honestly I wasn’t feeling too excited about it because I didn’t enjoy my previous visit to Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar, the restaurant occupying the same spot in Raffles City before transforming to Buffet Town, managed by Shokudo Concepts. On my first visit to Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar, quite a num
更多
For full review, please visit > http://ahat247.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/buffet-town-raffles-city/

Mum and I were out on a Sunday evening to visit Buffet Town, upon recommendation by her friend. Honestly I wasn’t feeling too excited about it because I didn’t enjoy my previous visit to Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar, the restaurant occupying the same spot in Raffles City before transforming to Buffet Town, managed by Shokudo Concepts. On my first visit to Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar, quite a number of food items were sold out by early evening and they’re using ready-to-cook sauces for their dishes which I reckon I can cook it at home if I buy the same sauces from the supermarket. Visiting Buffet Town will be an eventful one as I will get to try out some of the food items which will also be available at Kiseki Japanese Buffet Restaurant and Heng Heng Curry Cafe, all under the same restaurant group.

We arrived around five plus in the evening to queue since we didn’t make any reservations and there were two queues forming outside the restaurant. According to the signboard at the entrance of the restaurant, those who made reservations can start making payment at 6pm and enter the restaurant for their meal and those who didn’t make reservations will have to wait till 6:15pm. That’s fine, I’m prepared to wait. By 6pm, the cashiers opened and that’s when the chaos began. There are two cashiers on duty with two other supervisors who will inform the wait staff about the table number to escort the customers to their table upon settlement of their bill. Apparently they were very slow and had issues handling the long queue of customers waiting to enter the restaurant. After taking a long time to settle payment at the cashier, the customers have to wait for the supervisor to allocate the table so groups of people are standing at the entrance of the restaurant. You can imagine the noise level of the crowd. What makes me frustrated is not the waiting part but having to see two sad (or should I say grumpy) looking cashiers, one poker faced supervisor and her angry looking colleague servicing the customers at the entrance. When its our time to settle the bill, we get to see the sad looking cashier. Though she sounds polite but she doesn’t smile at all. As for the supervisor that allocate table, she merely stamp on our hands and doesn’t greet us at all. When we exit the restaurant, the staff at the entrance bid us goodbye but they still look so sad and tired.

Thankfully the staff in the restaurant look happier. The waitress who escorted us to our table greeted us with a smile which cheers me up. I really needed that smile from her because I’ve been feeling quite pissed for the past 30 minutes since we started queueing.

The food counters are scattered over the restaurant so customers have to walk around the restaurant to hunt for the food that they want to try. Seafood counter is located near the entrance which is a good thing as this is the only food counter that you should focus on if you decide to visit Buffet Town. The seafood are fresh and the selection of prawns, crayfish, oysters, crab should be able to satisfy the seafood lovers. Another food counter located near the entrance is the Japanese food section. Honestly I wasn’t too impressed with the variety of Japanese food. The sushi doesn’t look very appetising except for the crab sushi which I tried.

Decided to skip the pasta section whereby customers get their own ingredients such as bacon, prawns, sliced mushrooms to go with their selected pasta and sauce (tomato, cream or aglio olio). Walked past the roast section and the roast for the night is wagyu beef but I have to give it a miss since I can’t eat too much red meat. There are some side dishes to go with the roast such as snake beans and roasted potatoes. So I went to the next food counter which is the western food section and got a bit of everything on my plate.

Oven baked fish – The fish is not overcooked and the flavors aren’t that outstanding. There were only two slices left when I visit the food section. The dish was only replenished after 15 minutes.
Roasted Cajun chicken – The chicken is nicely roasted and remain juicy. It is well flavored and I enjoy it very much.
Pork wieners – It taste all right, nothing much to comment on it.
BBQ pork chop – This is replenished rather quickly. Nicely done, the pork chop remains juicy but I don’t quite like the BBQ sauce, I find it a tad too tangy.
Chips – Only a bit left but was replenished promptly. Not soggy. Can’t really fault those factory made chips. I have a bag of it in my freezer.
I’m rather disappointed after stuffing down these mediocre tasting food, time to proceed to the next food section – Weekend Nasi Lemak. Not too sure if it is only available during the weekends but it sure captured my attention.

Nasi Lemak
Sambal Telur – Didn’t get the chilli egg, it is uncovered and left in the open for quite some time. My stomach is weak and I don’t want to upset my stomach.
Achar – Didn’t look appetizing so I didn’t take.
Nyonya prawns and pineapple curry – Didn’t try it too, I can’t eat too much seafood. Looks appetizing though.
Sayur Lodeh – When I lifted the lid, there aren’t much be vegetables left! Only chunks of cabbage and some snake beans. It’s 6:45pm and the dish wasn’t replenished! The chefs manning the food section were happily chatting. Didn’t see them replenishing the food for quite some time. It is slightly salty and the gravy is very watery. The fragrance of the curry paste and coconut milk is very light.
Chicken curry – Same situation as vegetable curry. This were only three pieces of chicken and some potato left. I only took one bite size chicken to try. This curry is salty.
Nasi lemak – I’m pretty sure more coconut milk and pandan leaves can be added to the rice. No fragrance from the pandan leaves and coconut milk and the rice are very hard and dry while being kept warm in the rice cooker.
Sambal chilli – This seemed to be prepared by an amateur chef, it is neither spicy nor fragrant and it is quite salty.
Ikan bilis – The fried anchovies are crispy and fragrant. This is the only side dish that I like in this food section.

I decided to explore the drink section. Located at the back of the restaurant, there are drinks dispenser for the usual selection of soft drink, plain water, soy milk, grape drink and lemonade. Also, there is a drink section that serves local hot beverages such as the different types of kopi (coffee) and teh (tea). After getting a glass of lemonade to tantalise my taste buds, I proceed on to the other side of the restaurant to explore the remaining food counters. First food section that I saw on the other side is the tempura food section. There is the popular tempura and a selection of fried vegetables in tempura batter. Sad to see that only the tempura prawns have an adequate supply while the vegetables tempura only have a few pieces left. Didn’t grab any of those tempura as they look as if they’ve been left there for quite some time.

I went back to my seat and mum got us a plate of the chilli crab and fried Chinese buns (mantou).

The chilli crab tasted okay, nothing really fantastic about the sauce and I was hoping to get the burst of flavors from the sauce.

Rojak - Yet again, this rojak is a letdown. The prawn paste used in the salad dressing is a tad too much so the taste is overpowering. The chef failed to get a right balance of flavors for the dressing and the fried dough (you tiao) is soggy. The chopped peanuts should be roasted for a longer duration so that the fragrance of the peanuts can be released. Sad to say Buffet Town’s version of rojak failed my criteria of a tasty rojak.

Chicken soup - This double boiled chicken soup is rather bland, there is a piece of chicken and white fungus. Very light tasting soup and I reckon the white fungus can be sliced into a smaller piece (bite size) because it makes it more convenient for the customers to eat, especially the children and the senior citizens.

Hainanese Chicken Rice - Finally a dish that I like! The rice is moist and I can taste the wonderful flavors of the chicken broth and pandan leaves. Maybe the chef who prepares the nasi lemak needs a crash course with the chef who prepared this delicious chicken rice. The steamed chicken is juicy and tender, just the perfect chicken to go with the rice. I enjoyed this dish very much!

More local delight!

Fried carrot cake – Hmmm… the carrot cake doesn’t taste awful but it is definitely not tasty at all. How should I describe this dish, it taste like carrot cake and omelette.
Stir-fried choy sum – It taste like vegetables with some Chinese style sticky sauce. I can’t really fault vegetables, I love it!
Fried rice – Thank god! This is the third rice dish that I had for the night and it taste good. I like how the chef has chopped up the salted duck egg yolk and adding it into the fried rice. It creates a wonderful mix of flavors and enhance the dimension of the fragrance to the flavors of the egg. The fried rice is a nice dish to end my tasting of savory dishes for the night.
Time to proceed to the dessert section!

There are a wide variety of desserts ranging from jellies, ice-cream, waffles, cakes, waffles and Chinese sweet soup.

Coffee cream cake – The cake is very soft and not too sweet, it reminds me of the cream cakes that mum bought for me when I was a boy. Nostalgic.
Strawberry cake – The strawberry cream is very tangy and I don’t really like it. But this is one cake suitable for those who don’t like eating sweet stuff.
Chocolate brownie – I am a chocoholic and I enjoyed it very much.
Goreng pisang (fried banana fritter) – It has become a little soggy so the texture is similar to that of a cream puff.
Apple jelly – It taste like apple flavored JELL-O.
Grass jelly – I enjoyed it as it helps to clean my palate.

Cheng tng (refreshing soup) is Mum’s favorite Chinese dessert but both of us don’t like Buffet Town’s version at all! It is a tad too sweet for us.

There is quantity in the selection of food but there is no quality in the taste of the food! One big issue for Buffet Town is that the speed at which the food is being replenished was incredibly slow and some dishes are not replenished at all during the two hours that I was dining there. There are also no plates at some of the food sections.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-10-26
人均消費
$40 (晚餐)
等級3
83
0
2013-03-14 50 瀏覽
The FoodFood variety was huge at Buffet Town. This is one of the many plates I had.. The photograph does not do justice to the food as the food was quite nice surprisingly. The PriceQuite okay for the price of a buffet. The prices vary depending on the time and day you visit this place though. There is always a long queue so please make a reservation before heading down!!
更多
The Food
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Food variety was huge at Buffet Town. This is one of the many plates I had.. The photograph does not do justice to the food as the food was quite nice surprisingly.

The Price
Quite okay for the price of a buffet. The prices vary depending on the time and day you visit this place though. There is always a long queue so please make a reservation before heading down!!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食