11
6
0
等級3
55
22
2015-07-15 152 瀏覽
A very small place, nice staff with decent coffee. The spiced carrot cake (S$5.90) was too creamy and sweet for my liking. Hummingbird cake (S$5.90) is one of the hot seller, it's moist and unique flavour of bananas, pineapples, coconut and a perfume of cloying sweetness. Sweet tooth lover, you'll him with delight in every bite! The red velvet cheesecake was sold out so we op for the cupcake (S$3.80). The crimson-hued treat is dense and not-too-sweet. Strawberry tofu cheesecake (S$5.90) adorned
更多
A very small place, nice staff with decent coffee.

The spiced carrot cake (S$5.90) was too creamy and sweet for my liking.

Hummingbird cake (S$5.90) is one of the hot seller, it's moist and unique flavour of bananas, pineapples, coconut and a perfume of cloying sweetness. Sweet tooth lover, you'll him with delight in every bite!

The red velvet cheesecake was sold out so we op for the cupcake (S$3.80). The crimson-hued treat is dense and not-too-sweet.

Strawberry tofu cheesecake (S$5.90) adorned with fresh strawberries encased in jelly was the perfect choice for me. Not too sweet, lighter texture and luscious.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-07-11
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
推介美食
  • strawberry Tofu Cheesecake
等級2
23
2
2014-12-26 140 瀏覽
For full reivew: http://molly-mia.blogspot.sg/2014/11/mias-review-cake-spade.htmlI first stumbled onto Cake Spade after a google search of "cake cafes near tanjong pagar" due to a pretty sudden cake craving while waiting for T at the mrt station. And subsequently, I returned with A recently for a quick cake fix. Located around Orchid Hotel, I have to be honest to say that Cake Spade is a cafe so small and humble looking, with just 6 seatings in the interior and a couple more humbly plain looking
更多
For full reivew: http://molly-mia.blogspot.sg/2014/11/mias-review-cake-spade.html

I first stumbled onto Cake Spade after a google search of "cake cafes near tanjong pagar" due to a pretty sudden cake craving while waiting for T at the mrt station. And subsequently, I returned with A recently for a quick cake fix. Located around Orchid Hotel, I have to be honest to say that Cake Spade is a cafe so small and humble looking, with just 6 seatings in the interior and a couple more humbly plain looking tables and chairs laid out on the outside, that you probably will just walk right past it without a second look or the slightly recognition that that's a friggin awesome cake cafe right there.
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Chinese Apple Pomegranate Green Tea

I first saw this selling at Cedele and instantly got attracted to the pretty bottles! But due to the price (it was about $4.50 or so), I didn't want to buy it then for I tend to spend less on a pick-and-go as compared to a cafe-hopping trip. So yup, tried it at Cake Spade instead.


But frankly speaking, judging from the fact that you probably will not be keeping the bottle after consuming the beverage, the price tag does not justify the purchase at all.
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Nutella Fudge Crumble - $4.50

A layer of fudge and nutella sandwiched between a buttery short crust pastry and a layer of crumbs! Sounds yummy, eh?
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
And to show how runny the fudge-nutella layer is.

First bite, heavenly! The bottom crust tasted like an exceptionally short (buttery and crumbly) shortbread and the top layer of crumbs added just the right amount of crunchiness oomph up the overall texture of this decadent treat!

But as you slowly polish the entire bar off the plate, things might get a little difficult as the taste is way too rich, both the chocolate-nutty richness of the filling and the buttery fragrance of the bottom and top layers just made it too jerlat (strong, overpowering) for me.

Best to visit with a friend (or two) and share a few other choices of goodies together so as to not experience a sweet-richness overkill.
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Oreo Cookie Brownie - $3.20

Come on, oreo cookies, brownie, and a huge scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. What more can you ask for?

The brownie was rich, chocolatey and very dense. I remembered it was a little too dry and dense for my liking and the oreo cookie were somehow, too soft and soggy. Would have been a perfect match made in heaven, but oh well, it somehow fell short of my expectation, which I have to admit that I might have unknowingly set them a little too high?
21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Red Velvet Cake - $5.90

Of course, with T around how can we not have red velvet cake? Look at the moist layer of red sponge cake and pretty swirls of cream cheese icing on top!

But I didn't really try out the taste, for I'm really not a fan of red velvet (mostly due to the cream cheese icing).
21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
And on my 2nd visit with A, I got myself a cup of Iced Latte due to the hot weather.

The coffee was just so-so, and quickly got washed down when the ice started to melt.
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Chocolate Blackout Cake - $5.90

A classic chocolate cake with moist chocolate sponge cake and iced with rich and smooth chocolate ganache.

This cake is truly decadent and is a must try for all chocolate-addicts out there. The sponge layer is (obviously) moist and soft, and the ganache velvety smooth and rich. But once again, the taste can be pretty jerlat even for a chocolate-lover like me, so sharing with fellow chocoholic friends is highly recommended.
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Lastly, Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake - $5.90

Yeah of course, how can we miss out their signature cake?

And with just one bite, both A and I nodded our heads and said, "Yummy!" Worthy of the signature tag indeed! The cheesecake was truly of an almost tofu-like consistency, super smooth and finely textured, which literally melts away in your mouth. Topped with quite a generous chunk of fresh strawberries encased in sweetened jelly, this is a remarkably light and refreshing cheesecake. A pleasant surprise indeed, for I've always feel that cheesecakes are the most jerlat cake of all.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-11-03
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$9 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • strawberry tofu cheesecake
  • nutella fudge crumble
等級3
2014-12-12 116 瀏覽
I've seen a lot of photos from Kate Spade and I so happened to chance upon this dessert shop so I went to try their recommended and highly raved strawberry tofu cheese cake ($5.90). The tofu cheesecake was incredibly soft and smooth, just like tofu and the cheese flavour was light. If you do not really fancy cheesecakes with strong cheese flavours, perhaps you can try this out. The strawberries on top were a tad sour but were neutralized by the lightly sweetened jelly. The softness of the cake a
更多
I've seen a lot of photos from Kate Spade and I so happened to chance upon this dessert shop so I went to try their recommended and highly raved strawberry tofu cheese cake ($5.90). The tofu cheesecake was incredibly soft and smooth, just like tofu and the cheese flavour was light. If you do not really fancy cheesecakes with strong cheese flavours, perhaps you can try this out. The strawberries on top were a tad sour but were neutralized by the lightly sweetened jelly. The softness of the cake also complemented the crumbly base well. Overall, I find it overrated. Once a try is enough for me.

21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-09-09 123 瀏覽
Visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2014/06/cake-spade.htmlEveryone knows about the brand of the handbag "Kate Spade" and there is one cake shop located in Tanjong Pagar with a similar pronunciation that goes Cake Spade. With such a close name to the branded handbag, I thought it was really up to the trend.The shop space is rather small with not more than 5 tables in its air conditioned environment and has a squeezy walkway. However those who wish to enjoy the cake on the spot may get to choose t
更多
Visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2014/06/cake-spade.html

Everyone knows about the brand of the handbag "Kate Spade" and there is one cake shop located in Tanjong Pagar with a similar pronunciation that goes Cake Spade. With such a close name to the branded handbag, I thought it was really up to the trend.

The shop space is rather small with not more than 5 tables in its air conditioned environment and has a squeezy walkway. However those who wish to enjoy the cake on the spot may get to choose the tables just located in front of the shop.
Cake Spade
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not only the name that is in trend, they have fortune cats toy on display over at the cashier counter.
Fortune Cats
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I had chosen to take away as it was real crowded with no table available. My cakes was packed into the box by the friendly staff on duty. The box quality was good and durable.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We were caught in a dilemma of those cake varieties available and decided we would just have 2 as we were rather full after our dinner.

The chocolate blackout was rather a classic looking one whereby it was baked with 3 layers of moist dark chocolate sponge and iced ice with rich velvety chocolate ganache. Both stick and sticky, a perfect choice for those who need some chocolate dosage!
Chocolate blackout - $5.90
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What an interesting name it had. I like it best when such combination of tropical fruits comes in between layer of cream cheese. Banana, coconut and pineapple were included, simple a perfect treat for the summer.

If you ask me which do I prefer, I will vote for the hummingbird.
Humming Bird - $5.90
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Here's the front view of the cake. Have it got hold of your stomach?
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Front View of the hummingbird

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
外賣自取
人均消費
$6 (宵夜)
推介美食
Humming Bird - $5.90
等級4
2014-07-13 73 瀏覽
Full Cake Spade review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2014/07/cake-spade.htmlFounded in April 2013 by owner-baker Zenn Eng, Cake Spade is named after the cake serving tool, but is also a clever pun on the American fashion brand Kate Spade. With an impressive resume from At Sunrice Culinary Academy, Shangri-La, Island Creamery, as well as home baking, the sassy, easy-on-the-eye Zenn Eng decided to start Cake Spade, selling her unique, carefully constructed cake creations that have dr
更多
Full Cake Spade review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2014/07/cake-spade.html

Founded in April 2013 by owner-baker Zenn Eng, Cake Spade is named after the cake serving tool, but is also a clever pun on the American fashion brand Kate Spade. With an impressive resume from At Sunrice Culinary Academy, Shangri-La, Island Creamery, as well as home baking, the sassy, easy-on-the-eye Zenn Eng decided to start Cake Spade, selling her unique, carefully constructed cake creations that have drawn rave reviews for being extremely tasty.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ambience at Cake Spade is modern and stylish, taking inspiration for American style cafes. Grey walls and wood panelling adorn the place, with a large display for all their cakes. But seating at Cake Spade is very limited, only a handful of small tables and chairs. This means Cake Spade tends to get crowded easily, and a lot of people buy takeaway instead.
Service at Cake Spade is friendly and fast. Staff are able to make recommendations, and generally clear empty tables quite quickly as well. Zenn is often serving at the counter too, alongside her staff. Otherwise, Cake Spade is very much a self-service place, where you order, collect, and make payment on your own.
Cake Spade specialises in dessert cakes, brownies, tarts and crumbles, with a sort list of beverages to accompany. Only fresh ingredients are used, without any additives or enhancers. Each cake is carefully constructed, with a combination of complmentary tastes and textures, and baked from scratch in true rustic style.
Prices at Cake Spade are rather reasonable for the high quality of cakes you get. Expect a slice of cake to cost an average of SGD $5 - $7, with crumbles and tarts averaging about SGD $5 or so. Portions are large for 1 person, and sharing is recommended! Still, the desserts at Cake Spade aren't overly sweet or heavy, meaning you can always squeeze in dessert here after a meal!
The Hummingbird Cake (SGD $5.90) slice is supposedly a healthier option here, as it's made with fruits. A fragrant, coarse banana cake packed with fresh pineapple chunks, topped with toasted dessicated coconut and a rich cream cheese frosting, all 3 layers of fruits are distinct enough to taste, yet still blend together in a sweet mouthful perfectly. Said to be among the best cakes in Singapore, the Hummingbird Cake has a bright, refreshing, summery feel, and is surprisingly good!
Hummingbird Cake
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Brownie Bottom Cheesecake (SGD $6.50) slice comprises a rich yet smooth textured cheesecake, sitting on a base of dense chocolate brownie. A 2-in-1 combo! Topped with chocolate shavings, chocolate powder, and whipped cream, the cheesecake is flavourful with the taste of cream cheese. The brownie base isn't an afterthought either, it holds up well eaten on its own, with a crumbly texture and a dense chocolate flavour. The magic happens when both are combined in 1 mouthful! Nice twist on 2 classic cakes!
Brownie Bottom Cheesecake
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-07-12
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$7 (其他)
推介美食
Hummingbird Cake
Brownie Bottom Cheesecake
等級4
2014-04-24 58 瀏覽
Cake Spade caught my attention because of its unique name, close to a certain branded name for fashion. So when I heard positive reviews from a friend, I decided I had to try it soon. Located at 1 Tras Link #01-06, Orchid Hotel, Singapore 078867, the number for this rustic little bakery cafe is 6444 4868.I went with their recommended Strawberry Tofu Cheese Cake (SGD$5.90)- at first bite, this delicate beauty was flavorful and simply tantalizing. The strawberries were rich in its natural flavor,
更多
Cake Spade caught my attention because of its unique name, close to a certain branded name for fashion. So when I heard positive reviews from a friend, I decided I had to try it soon. Located at 1 Tras Link #01-06, Orchid Hotel, Singapore 078867, the number for this rustic little bakery cafe is 6444 4868.
I went with their recommended Strawberry Tofu Cheese Cake (SGD$5.90)- at first bite, this delicate beauty was flavorful and simply tantalizing. The strawberries were rich in its natural flavor, and the cool layer of sweet jelly supporting it was a lovely combination; the tofu cheese cake was soft and light in texture as well as taste. At the bottom, the digestive-biscuit base was rather crumbly though its crunchy, gentle sweetness complemented the cake rather well. Not bad indeed, this beauty.
My other indulgence was the utterly pretty and irresistable Chocolate Blackout Cake (SGD$5.90). The first bite was brought two words to mind - "too rich". The chocolatey taste was sweet, thick and sticky. It tasted more like mudpie than a fluffy slice of sponge cake - maybe it was the moistness of the ganache?
For more detailed information and photographs, do visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/04/tea-time-at-cake-spade-orchid-hotel.html
Chocolate Blackout Cake
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake
18 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-04-22
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$15 (下午茶)
推介美食
Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake
等級4
136
0
2014-03-04 34 瀏覽
My sister was in the vicinity so she bought back some cakes for us from Cake Spade! I'm a fan of cheesecakes so I chose this slice for myself.Cake Spade's take on cheesecake is slightly different from the normal cheesecakes. Instead of a biscuit base made of digestive biscuits, this base was made from brownie instead. It was nice and interesting but personally I still prefer the normal digestive biscuit base.The cheesecake itself was really rich, cheesy and creamy. It was really really good and
更多

My sister was in the vicinity so she bought back some cakes for us from Cake Spade!
I'm a fan of cheesecakes so I chose this slice for myself.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Cake Spade's take on cheesecake is slightly different from the normal cheesecakes. Instead of a biscuit base made of digestive biscuits, this base was made from brownie instead. It was nice and interesting but personally I still prefer the normal digestive biscuit base.

The cheesecake itself was really rich, cheesy and creamy. It was really really good and if you like your cheesecakes to be really rich and cheesy, this is the one for you

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (宵夜)
等級4
151
0
2014-03-01 29 瀏覽
i order hummingbird cake (ingredients include banana, coconut and pineapple), the cake itself is full of ingredients, love the taste so much of many ingredients in a cake although a bit too sweet, the cream a bit sour,5.90bucks each, i love their cakes but my hubby complain about the sour cream, it is worth a try.
更多
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
i order hummingbird cake (ingredients include banana, coconut and pineapple), the cake itself is full of ingredients, love the taste so much of many ingredients in a cake although a bit too sweet, the cream a bit sour,5.90bucks each, i love their cakes but my hubby complain about the sour cream, it is worth a try.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-01-04
人均消費
$6 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Hummingbird cake
等級4
136
0
2014-02-24 33 瀏覽
My colleague was in the Tanjong Pagar and she bought back a slice of cake for me! This is their Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake. I expected it to be soft, smooth and creamy like normal cheesecakes, but this was more like a gelatinous mousse/pudding, with sliced strawberry and jelly at the top and biscuit crumb as the base. Even though this wasn't what I expected, but it still tasted pretty good! Overall the cake was quite light and refreshing and the sweetness level just right. Not bad at all!
更多
My colleague was in the Tanjong Pagar and she bought back a slice of cake for me! This is their Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake. I expected it to be soft, smooth and creamy like normal cheesecakes, but this was more like a gelatinous mousse/pudding, with sliced strawberry and jelly at the top and biscuit crumb as the base. Even though this wasn't what I expected, but it still tasted pretty good! Overall the cake was quite light and refreshing and the sweetness level just right. Not bad at all!
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-21
人均消費
$6 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake
等級3
53
0
The cakes here aren't just beautiful looking, but they taste awesome too! A great high tea place in the CBD area. My favourite is the red velvet cake! Personally, I love red velvet cakes a lot and Cake Spade's RV wins hands down. Cream cheese to cake proportion is just right. The slice is huge for the price too! Must try!
更多
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The cakes here aren't just beautiful looking, but they taste awesome too! A great high tea place in the CBD area. My favourite is the red velvet cake! Personally, I love red velvet cakes a lot and Cake Spade's RV wins hands down. Cream cheese to cake proportion is just right. The slice is huge for the price too! Must try!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Red Velvet
等級4
Believe it or not, Cake Spade is actually not a spin-off from the luxury brand, Kate Spade. Cake Spade actually refers to the tool you use to slice and pick the cake up. Located along Tanjong Pagar Road at the back of Orchid Hotel, this relatively new dessert boutique joins the well-patronized precinct. Inside and outside, it can only sit up to approximately 20. So really, don't be getting your hopes high on getting seats + staying for long as the seats aren't really that comfortable either. All
更多
15 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Believe it or not, Cake Spade is actually not a spin-off from the luxury brand, Kate Spade. Cake Spade actually refers to the tool you use to slice and pick the cake up. Located along Tanjong Pagar Road at the back of Orchid Hotel, this relatively new dessert boutique joins the well-patronized precinct. Inside and outside, it can only sit up to approximately 20. So really, don't be getting your hopes high on getting seats + staying for long as the seats aren't really that comfortable either.

All those, however, are compensated with their affordable and well-baked cakes. I especially like its Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake, where all parts of the cake just complemented each other perfectly. It's soft, smooth and easy to slice through with a fork. Even though its Salted Caramel Tart can be slightly too salty, I still like it. I mean, if you want to order something that distinctive, you should be prepared for it!

If you can get a seat indoors, take it. The fragrance fills the entire small shop, and I'm sure it'll enhance your dessert-dining experience.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake
等級3
37
0
2013-10-01 28 瀏覽
Cake Spade is just a short walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT & is definitely easy to find! What's not easy to find are seats in this place! It was way smaller than what i had expected it to be. On this warm friday afternoon, i would have loved to be seated inside to get some respite, but that was not to be. This however did not prevent us from getting some heavenly desserts that we have been waiting to try for a long time! First up was the double choc brownie with vanilla ice cream! The brownie w
更多
Cake Spade is just a short walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT & is definitely easy to find! What's not easy to find are seats in this place! It was way smaller than what i had expected it to be. On this warm friday afternoon, i would have loved to be seated inside to get some respite, but that was not to be. This however did not prevent us from getting some heavenly desserts that we have been waiting to try for a long time!

First up was the double choc brownie with vanilla ice cream! The brownie was really thick and gooey which was really to my liking! Coupled with the creamy ice cream, this was a great treat on a warm day.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next up was the strawberry tofu cheesecake which has been so raved about! This was quite different from many other cheesecakes that i've had previously! The tofu was really silky and creamy but my friend didn't really like it! I had some issues with the biscuit base though! Didn't really find it very tasty:/
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
On the whole, everything was still good, and there are still many many other goodies there to fit everyone's tastes(:

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-23
等級4
2013-09-14 21 瀏覽
This shop conveniently located near Tanjong Pagar MRT (and my office) has been supplying my cake cravings over the months. I witnessed how the business grew over time, with crowds even during non-peak hours.The Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake $5.90 is the signature item as they have come up with 2 other flavours (peach/mango). Though it was not as tangy as I would like, the cheese layer was refreshingly light and the digestive crust base did not succumb to moisture. It's like a Jello cheesecake and n
更多
This shop conveniently located near Tanjong Pagar MRT (and my office) has been supplying my cake cravings over the months. I witnessed how the business grew over time, with crowds even during non-peak hours.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Strawberry Tofu Cheesecake $5.90 is the signature item as they have come up with 2 other flavours (peach/mango). Though it was not as tangy as I would like, the cheese layer was refreshingly light and the digestive crust base did not succumb to moisture. It's like a Jello cheesecake and no tofu used in case you are thinking that this is a healthier option.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Nutella Crumble $3.80 was not as crumbly as it sounds but had a decent biscuit base. I reheated it in the microwave as recommended but surprisingly it did not melt under heat. Better share this with others as it was very sweet, without the need for any ice cream.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I tend to shy away from stacked cream cakes as far as possible but I'm glad I tried the Hummingbird cake $5.90. A complicated cake layer made with pineapple, coconut, banana, sandwiched with decent amount of cream cheese. It was SO GOOD--very moist with a unique sticky texture (probably due to mashed bananas). Never mind that it leaked oil at the base of the box.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Instead of going for a red velvet slice, I opted for their cupcake version $3.80. Consumed at room temperature, it was moist and with hints of cocoa instead of the buttermilk tang. Finally, this is one of the best places in Singapore for red velvet cakes.

The concept of cakes here may be conventional home-bakes. But it works really well. I can’t pick an ace card from the pile, because there are two winners—the hummingbird and the red velvet.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/09/cake-spade-daily-cake-store.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$10 (早餐)
推介美食
  • hummingbird cake
等級4
For full review, please visit http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2013/09/sg-cake-spade-sweet-respite-from.htmlWhile on our recent hunt for good cheesecakes around in Singapore, we came across online reviews of Cake Spade (careful, you might want to slow down on the pronounciation), speaking of their tofu cheesecakes. Single-handedly opened by Zenn with her hobby in baking which grew to a store front, it was a cosy space conveniently located at Orchid Hotel, a few doors down from Two Blur Guys.
更多
For full review, please visit http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2013/09/sg-cake-spade-sweet-respite-from.html

While on our recent hunt for good cheesecakes around in Singapore, we came across online reviews of Cake Spade (careful, you might want to slow down on the pronounciation), speaking of their tofu cheesecakes. Single-handedly opened by Zenn with her hobby in baking which grew to a store front, it was a cosy space conveniently located at Orchid Hotel, a few doors down from Two Blur Guys. For first-timers like us, not to worry, simply ask for recommendations and you'll be greeted with an enthusiastic owner proudly recommending her craft for our pre-dinner cake cravings.

On her list of recommendations were of course the tofu cheesecake, with no real tofu but silken soft cheese likened to the texture of tofu, the Hummingbird Cake, Chocolate Blackout Cake, Chocolate Banana Cake, its daily special of Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcake and Salted Caramel Tart.Peach Tofu Cheesecake ($5.50)

Settling down with a Peach Tofu Cheesecake, we were pretty fascinated by how the cake bounces and clearly shown in the jelly portion. Similar to that of jelly hearts which some might be familiar with baking yourself, this indeed came with silken smooth cheese in the middle and a crumbly biscuit base rich in butter fragrance. The jelly portion came with very q jelly that made it slightly hard for cutting with that 'doiing doiing' touch to it.

We loved the base but would have preferred the cake with a stronger taste of cheese. It was overshadowed by the strong peach flavour and sweetness from the peach cubes that it tasted more like a peach cake than cheesecake. Ideal for those who tend to shy away from the strong taste of cheese!Hummingbird Cake ($5.90)

We were caught in a dilemma with the variety of indulgent choices on display. Deciding to get this for its interesting tropical combination of banana cake with coconut and pineapple, it got us curious for a second bite dissecting the tastes within. There was a nice fragrance of coconut, matched with a tinge of pineapple which reminded me somewhat of the taste you find in those kinda fruit cakes you buy off-the-shelf. We couldn't really find the banana in it, until we were nearing the end and eating it on its own without the cream cheese.

It seemed to me like a hybrid between carrot cake and fruit cake, though it was surprisingly moist as we'd typically expect such cakes to be on the dryer side. It was a tad too rough, and you could feel the cake bits lingering after every mouthful. Well, not sure if it's to give an added texture, I would have preferred a softer and smoother cake to go along. A nice attempt combining these tropical flavours nonetheless!Articles featuring the young entrepreneur and her love for cakesA simple display of the cakes available, what you see, is what you get
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Menu and their price tagsA small, cosy space that you might easily miss if you're not on the lookout!

A good place to chill especially if you're working around the area, a pity that my office has shifted, else I'd probably visit more often to try out other flavours they have! It may not have the cakes to impress, but it's a good place to have some downtime while digging into some decent sweet treats.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
95
35
For full review and photos: http://gninethree.com/2013/08/13/cake-spade-1-tras-link-orchid-hotel/Say 'Cake Spade' too quickly and people might assume you were referring to British fashion label 'Kate Spade' instead. But this misunderstanding is set to change in the near future as the cake shop's name- Cake Spade eventually catches on with its signature cakes winning the hearts of many.Opened by an enterprising young lady, online baker turned cake shop owner- Zenn Eng turned her hobby of baking i
更多
For full review and photos: http://gninethree.com/2013/08/13/cake-spade-1-tras-link-orchid-hotel/

Say 'Cake Spade' too quickly and people might assume you were referring to British fashion label 'Kate Spade' instead. But this misunderstanding is set to change in the near future as the cake shop's name- Cake Spade eventually catches on with its signature cakes winning the hearts of many.

Opened by an enterprising young lady, online baker turned cake shop owner- Zenn Eng turned her hobby of baking into a business with this 300 ft small quaint space at level 1 of Orchid Hotel. We stumbled across this place one afternoon as we were on a search for a good dessert place along Tanjong Pagar and we were certainly in for a sweet treat.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Zenn's specialty is actually in her Tofu Cheesecakes which she sells whole, slices ($5.90) and in 3 different flavors- Strawberry, Mango and Peach. Alas, because of our lack of prior research, we missed out on ordering those cakes during our rather spontaneous visit.

Cake Spade also sells Brownie Bottom Cheesecake $6.20, Red Velvet Cake $5.90 and Dark Chocolate Banana Cake $5.90 amongst many other flavors. Cupcakes and Brownies are also on the menu for those looking for smaller bites. This homegrown 'Daily Cake Store' definitely takes cake seriously and I will be back for more cake but of course to also try Zenn's signature Tofu Cheesecakes.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-05