8
1
0
等級2
20
0
2016-05-19 90 瀏覽
Read my full review with more pictureshttp://www.eatdreamlove.com/catalunya/A spanish restaurant which offers a waterfront Spanish dining experience and a breathtaking city view. Located near Raffles Place MRT. The dishes are delicious! The Weekend Brunch is an interesting experience too. We have tried the following:- Weekend Brunch (S$98 each pax)- Cappuccino (S$8 each)
更多
Read my full review with more pictures
http://www.eatdreamlove.com/catalunya/
A spanish restaurant which offers a waterfront Spanish dining experience and a breathtaking city view. Located near Raffles Place MRT. The dishes are delicious! The Weekend Brunch is an interesting experience too. We have tried the following:
- Weekend Brunch (S$98 each pax)
- Cappuccino (S$8 each)
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
45 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
48 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
43 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
慶祝紀念
生日
推介美食
  • suckling pig
等級4
Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2015/06/sunday-brunch-at-catalunyaits-party-time.htmlThe 3rd birthday celebration of the month, was a formal celebration with friends who mattered. The birthday girl decides where she desires to dine, and my choice for this year is Catalunya. A Spanish fine dining establishment located at the Fullerton bay waterfront, along the Marina bay area, overlooking the iconic MBS.We had advanced reservation and was allocated a cozy booth seat. Booth seats are ide
更多
Full review - http://midas400.blogspot.sg/2015/06/sunday-brunch-at-catalunyaits-party-time.html

The 3rd birthday celebration of the month, was a formal celebration with friends who mattered. The birthday girl decides where she desires to dine, and my choice for this year is Catalunya. A Spanish fine dining establishment located at the Fullerton bay waterfront, along the Marina bay area, overlooking the iconic MBS.
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
62 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We had advanced reservation and was allocated a cozy booth seat. Booth seats are ideal if you don't have to get out very often to go get food, for Sunday brunches it's better to request for regular table seats.
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Assorted breads were served at every table, they were good but we refrained from having too much of these so we could fully enjoy the extensive Appetizers spread.
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Let's take a tour around the impressive Appetizer/Starters station. The stations are divided into several sections, showcasing authentic northeastern Spanish specialties. They are Charcuterie, Cheeses, Salads, Bakery, Stews, Fish & Fresh Juices stations.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
And that's not all, we got several single portions of eggs and sandwiches served directly to our table. What?!
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Deconstructed Spanish omelette, onion confit topped w/ layers of egg yolk sabayon & potato foam
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Scramble egg w/ potato & chorizo
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pa amb tomàquet (a.k.a Tomato toast) &
Bikini sandwich w/ Iberian ham, cheese & truffle

The eggs and sandwiches were rather tasty, so were the myriads of appetizers. We deliberately consume only sample-sized portions of everything as we knew there will be a SHOW coming, when the main courses are served (the 2nd part of the brunch experience).
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The SHOW! began with a loud blast of lively carnival music and servers streaming out of the kitchen with pipping hot dishes on their hands. We were caught by surprise even though we knew it was coming, I wasn't quick enough to capture it on my camera as we're seated very close to the starting point. Anyways, we got to take pics of the two Spanish signature dishes that kicked started the main courses service.

The Seafood Paella, is the most heavenly Spanish rice I've ever eaten, ever! It has a divine smokey aroma, much like our Chinese fried rice wok hei, and was loaded with generous portions of shrimps, clams, squid and pork ribs. No other paella ever comes close after I've eaten this! We gladly accepted a second serving when they asked.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The next dish, Salt Crusted Whole Fish, was served camera worthy with flames burning on the rock salt. However, this dish did not wow us as much as its looks, it tasted kinda bland with just a simple drizzle of olive oil over it.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Brace yourself as the most important of all Spanish main courses is about to be served. Presented with a bang, of vibrant music and dancing staffs, the roast Suckling Pig 'Segovian' Style (a.k.a Cochinillo Asado).
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The suckling pig was then cut swiftly using a plate, before smashing it onto the floor. Spanish tradition of smashing the plate onto the floor after cutting a suckling pig, is a sign of good service! They even timed the smashing to coincide with the music...cool!
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As the suckling pig is an expensive dish, we were only served one portion for every 2-3 diners to share. The meat was so soft and tender that it literally dissolved inside our mouth, plus the skin was ultra crispy, thumbs up!
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The final part (of the 3 parts) of the brunch experience, was the Sweet Ending. This time I managed to capture the crowd carrying the SHOW signs. They've gotten a few kids diners to participate in it.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The desserts of the day were paraded twice in front of us before being placed at the dessert corner. We helped ourselves to the enticing looking sweet treats.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Despite their looks, these desserts were all overly sweet and cloying for our SG palates. Couldn't help but felt a tinge of disappointment for these lovely looking desserts. We still found a favorite item though, the Lemon Meringue Tart was good, the sourness of the citrus fruit kept the sweetness at bay.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sunday Brunch with Passion at Catalunya, has live up to its hype of being the best brunch experience in town! We enjoyed our brunch experience immensely. It gave us not just good food and great service, but also a completely exceptional experience, very unlike the usual fine dining places we've been to! This is definitely worth every penny we paid, and I can foresee that we'll be back again once our pockets are deep enough to finance another visit!

Brunch price - $98++ (include free flow juices)
add $48++ for free flow alcoholic drinks & coffee/tea

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-04-19
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
Tonight's catching up dinner with *Cheyene was arranged at Catalunya again. I was glad for the chance to reminisce and be refreshed again on the good service, splendid settings and vivacious views outside the glass windows. Catalunya is a contemporary Spanish restaurant situated along Fullerton heritage, with an exotic, exquisite interior and the iconic orange-canopied lounge area.We started the meal with tapas - appetisers, basically. The first one was Estrellados Con Chorizo (SGD$18.00) - scra
更多
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tonight's catching up dinner with *Cheyene was arranged at Catalunya again. I was glad for the chance to reminisce and be refreshed again on the good service, splendid settings and vivacious views outside the glass windows. Catalunya is a contemporary Spanish restaurant situated along Fullerton heritage, with an exotic, exquisite interior and the iconic orange-canopied lounge area.
Estrellados Con Chorizo
$18
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We started the meal with tapas - appetisers, basically. The first one was Estrellados Con Chorizo (SGD$18.00) - scrambled eggs on a bed of potatoes and chorizo (cured pork sausages) slices. The sausage was very salty, but balanced beautifully with the soft potato cubes and scrambled eggs. This feels very much like a breakfast / brunch item to me.
Cod Fritters
$20
51 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next, we had the Cod Fritters (SGD$20.00) , 4 bite-sized pieces of this favorite Calatan bites. Sadly, it wasn't crispy as expected, and the interior was kind of mushy instead of the sweet, loose texture of cod fish.
Suckling Pig Tapa
$22
57 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The final tapas was has was the Suckling Pig Tapa (SGD$22.00) - the 2-bites version of Catalunya's famous suckling pig. The skin crackled deliciously beneath our teeth and the meat was light, succulent. It was undeniably delicious.
Lobster Rice
$80
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I ordered the Lobster Rice (SGD$80.00) again, luxuriating it its flavorsome simplicity. It was simply just that - paella rice cooked with grilled lobster. The chewy rice itself was infused richly with lobster broth, and the grilled lobster was saccharine in its freshness. Best of all, there was plenty of the tender, smooth lobster roe which enhanced the meal another level altogether.

For full review and more detailed information, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2015/05/dinner-at-catalunya-spanish-restaurant.html

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$100 (晚餐)
推介美食
Suckling Pig Tapa
$ 22
Lobster Rice
$ 80
  • Estrellados Con Chorizo
  • Cod Fritters
  • Beef Ribeye
等級4
2014-02-23 17 瀏覽
I heard about Catalunya, an exquisite, authentic Spanish restaurant on a floating pavilion offering 360 degree panoramic view of the city serving as a backdrop in this glass-encased dome, serving avant-garde food dating back to medieval times. So when it was time to celebrate our anniversary, I thought, what better place than here?t did not take long for us to place our orders, since we roughly had an idea of what we wanted. The service was superb, as was the music in the restaurant, the hauntin
更多
I heard about Catalunya, an exquisite, authentic Spanish restaurant on a floating pavilion offering 360 degree panoramic view of the city serving as a backdrop in this glass-encased dome, serving avant-garde food dating back to medieval times. So when it was time to celebrate our anniversary, I thought, what better place than here?

t did not take long for us to place our orders, since we roughly had an idea of what we wanted. The service was superb, as was the music in the restaurant, the hauntingly-beautific ambience and the gorgeous darkening views outside the windows.

We started with a Foie Gras and Eel "Escalibada" Tapas, a delicious bedding of grilled vegetables, very succulent foie gras and tender, sweet eel complementing each other in textures, smoothness and tastiness with smokey hints.

This Lobster Rice is actually a "wetter" version of the usual pan-served, dry Paella many Spanish restaurants serve. Besides the ultra-scrumptious broth, fresh bouncy lobster meat and chewy rice which I love, I do not know how else I should describe this perfect dish.

For more detailed information and photos, do drop by:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/01/dinner-at-catalunya.html
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$100 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Foie gras and eel tapas
  • Lobster rice
等級3
95
35
For full review and photos: http://gninethree.com/2013/10/03/catalunya-singapore/Dubbed the best Spanish restaurant in Singapore at the moment, Catalunya Singapore has been a strong force to be reckoned with in our fine-dining scene since the day it opened a year ago. Helmed by a stellar crew with both head chef Alain Devahive Tolosa and restaurant manager Pol Perelló having affiliations with elBulli and the restaurant itself run by the Ku Te Da Group, it comes as no surprise that this contempor
更多
For full review and photos: http://gninethree.com/2013/10/03/catalunya-singapore/

Dubbed the best Spanish restaurant in Singapore at the moment, Catalunya Singapore has been a strong force to be reckoned with in our fine-dining scene since the day it opened a year ago. Helmed by a stellar crew with both head chef Alain Devahive Tolosa and restaurant manager Pol Perelló having affiliations with elBulli and the restaurant itself run by the Ku Te Da Group, it comes as no surprise that this contemporary restaurant has been the talk of the town and a media darling.

Encased in a glass dome floating on the waters of the Marina Bay, the intimate 120 seater charms with a stunning view of the Marina Bay, CBD area and all its glory which can be enjoyed from any seat in the restaurant because of its unique architecture. Both day and night brings an entirely different multi-sensory experience that is best paired with the gastronomical delights that Catalunya has to offer.
53 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The menu here is predominantly classic Spanish and Tapas- centric, though the larger plates of Traditional Suckling Pig Segovian Style, Roasted Veal Shank and Paella are made for sharing. Do note that the latter is only available for weekend lunch.
51 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Avocado Battered Roll $22

One for the ladies, this seafood delight was an exquisite presentation of colours with chunky lobster meat wrapped delicately in thinly sliced avocado. Finished with a pop of richness from the caviar and roe, this was light and clean.
55 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Suckling Pig Tapa $22

Perhaps the most raved about dish here at Catalunya, the Traditional Suckling Pig Segovian Style with its 12 hour roasting process certainly knows how to make an entrance with its full body, head still intact when it reaches your table. Celebrate your birthday here and you will be cutting a suckling pig instead of a cake. It is an experience, worth the novelty.

If a whole suckling pig is too much or the head of a pig might be too gruesome for your dinner, order the Tapa version instead. You will still get the same thinly crisp skin with melt-in-your-mouth tender meat. The most riveting part has to be the lemon puree that cuts through the fat and cleans your palate in between bites.
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Other Spanish Tortilla $16

Served in a martini glass, it was only too easy to mistake this for a cocktail especially when the bar is just steps away. Not concocted by their award-winning mixologist however, this one was in fact constructed in the kitchen, inspired by the molecular culinary techniques of elBulli. Behold the deconstructed potato omelette topped with a fluffy potato foam. Mind blowingly ingenious and delicious. But do not be too quick to gulp this down. Complete satisfaction is only attained by eating this bottom up, with a spoon.
53 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chocolate in Different Textures $16

Heavily accented with passionfruit and saffron, the dark chocolate ganache brownie with milk chocolate ice-cream and white chocolate mousse surprised with a dimensional twist of flavour and texture. Chocolate fans might remain divided on this one, with the purists finding it a tad too revolutionary.
52 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
'Torrija' with Smoked Milk Ice-Cream $14

Encapsulating the perfect balance of sweet and savoury in a dessert, the Torrija- essentially a milk soaked buttery bun fried to a crisp, was matched with the smoky essence infused ice-cream which turned out strangely intriguing and somewhat insidious. A must-try nonetheless.
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dining at Catalunya Singapore is indeed a gastronomical experience- complete with a panoramic view of the best sights Singapore has to offer and an arresting menu of classic Spanish food done with a twist. Chef Alain and his team certainly brings something unique to the table with every dish and we look forward to the Sunday Brunch which we hear, is currently in the works.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-26
等級2
16
0
Managed by former world's number 1 restaurant elBulli? check.Food made from scratch with fresh ingredients? check.Stunning view of Marina bay and excellent ambience? check.Award winning bartender with one-of-a-kind cocktails? check.Authentic Spanish service hospitality? check.You MUST TRY the Suckling Pig tapa ($22), and the Spherical Olives ($3/each).This is going to be quite an expensive meal, ranging $150-$180 a person if you want to be full.http://sethlui.com/food-review-catalunya-singapore/
更多
Managed by former world's number 1 restaurant elBulli? check.
Food made from scratch with fresh ingredients? check.
Stunning view of Marina bay and excellent ambience? check.
Award winning bartender with one-of-a-kind cocktails? check.
Authentic Spanish service hospitality? check.

You MUST TRY the Suckling Pig tapa ($22), and the Spherical Olives ($3/each).

This is going to be quite an expensive meal, ranging $150-$180 a person if you want to be full.

http://sethlui.com/food-review-catalunya-singapore/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-19
人均消費
$160 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Suckling Pig Tapas
等級2
11
0
I've been to Catalunya twice and found its food rather mediocre. The ambience, on the other hand, is gorgeous and their floor to ceiling windows offer a breathtaking panoramic view of the Marina. I'd definitely recommend checking it out for the atmosphere alone, but only if you're willing to fork over quite a fortune for mediocre food. The first time I went with my husband, the dinner cost us a whopping $500, and the second time I went with my parents it cost around $400. The tapas alone are ave
更多
I've been to Catalunya twice and found its food rather mediocre. The ambience, on the other hand, is gorgeous and their floor to ceiling windows offer a breathtaking panoramic view of the Marina. I'd definitely recommend checking it out for the atmosphere alone, but only if you're willing to fork over quite a fortune for mediocre food. The first time I went with my husband, the dinner cost us a whopping $500, and the second time I went with my parents it cost around $400. The tapas alone are average priced, but the mains and drinks are what really gets to you!

If you end up going, I'd recommend getting the Marinara mussels and Lemon Pie.
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Chorizo y estrellados was pretty good as well, while everything else was pretty average.
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Do try to stay away from their take on paella tapas style, as it ended up being more like rice krispies in a seafood broth!

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.treatsandmeats.com/blog/catalunya
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$200 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Marinara mussels
  • lemon pie
等級3
35
17
For a complete coverage, please visit: http://www.epinosh.com/catalunya-singapore/A luminous capsule designed by AvroKO is set afloat the waters of Marina Bay, bestowed panoramic cityscape, so very impressive. The backdrops during the day and night time are so arresting, better yet, you could climb to the observation deck – opened to public access – for more incredible 360 degree views. This, Catalunya is proud to call it home!This much-anticipated Spanish restaurant & tapas bar has enlisted a c
更多
For a complete coverage, please visit: http://www.epinosh.com/catalunya-singapore/
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A luminous capsule designed by AvroKO is set afloat the waters of Marina Bay, bestowed panoramic cityscape, so very impressive. The backdrops during the day and night time are so arresting, better yet, you could climb to the observation deck – opened to public access – for more incredible 360 degree views. This, Catalunya is proud to call it home!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This much-anticipated Spanish restaurant & tapas bar has enlisted a class of graduates from the now-defunct El Bulli; from Home Economics stream – chef Alain Devahive Tolosa, Hospitality faculty - restaurant manager Pol Perello and other talented ones include Ruben Carmona, Mauricio and Sergi Villacampa. As well as award winner of Bacardi Superior Rum Legacy Cocktail Competition 2011, mixologist Dario Nocentini to work on your cocktails. With such a high quality culinary/service team, I should set them on micro appraisal and yes, together with the dishes offered.

A major part of the Restaurant menu seems to offer homey Catalonia (North-East region in Spain) cooking with a modernistic few to reminisce the passé of El Bulli. The former inarguably interests me more and straight away signalled the wait staff to summon 3 tapas, 1 paella, a dessert and not forgetting one that claimed the best all-around mojito – Gaudi’s Mojito.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not all Cuban high-ball taste the same, quite dependent on the skills of the mixologist. Gaudi’s surely has an extra zing to it, the reason that the original concoction now has added orange, a touch of chocolate (mozart), cava (Catalonia sparkling wine) and Anejo 7 years (aged Cuban rum). I wouldn’t considered that a prime mixer but positively potent and refreshing. Good try for a $22!
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The small-size oblong croquettes showed up on our table within a quick 15 minutes. A pack of 4, stacked haphazardly in a mini “deep-fryer” tray looks tantalising. These few tasted better than those we have tried in other bars, the ultra creamy potato texture though a bit harsh with the béchamel sauce that caused it runny, still this is the key element that captured my vote. The exterior, wrapped in golden breadcrumbs was notably crunchy while the Jamón ibérico ham bits simply revitalised the earthy flavour in the creamed mash. Worthy try for another $15 (the price has increased when compared with the current menu on its website).
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Next presented was the Chorizo Y Estrellados. The word “Estrellados” simply means fried egg in Spanish. Here, I am seeing a pool of smashed fried eggs sitting atop some diced potato with slices of deep red chorizo draping the eggs. Very traditional and unpretentious, one that has a down-to-earth flavour. I like the way the paprika in the chorizo smudged the potato to a red hue as it goes along and giving it a tiny bit of smokey peppery kick aftertaste with an added saltiness in it. I wish I had emptied everything but I realised I had too much carbs in my meals. Slightly on the high side for $18.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
While everyone chose to have a whole suckling pig, I am less ambitious to stomach. Instead, I went for a tapas serving just like any gals gathering dinner. Excessively crisp skinned, this cube of roasted swine has a pronounced deep flavour, slightly gamey but acceptable. Be sure to dabble some lemon puree in each bite, it helps to mask the strong taste in the meat. Less fibrous, the meat was moist and the texture resembled some pulled pork. Not extremely remarkable but I did love the crispiness in the skin and its nice roasted scent. Perhaps I will invite a larger group of people the next round for a whole swine, and skip the tapas that cost $22.
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The most wonderful main dish – Lobster Rice has arrived. I have swap this for my initial crispy paella which is a tapas and my attempt has proven right. Slightly wet and more fanciful than the conventional version especially when it comes with a grilled half-Lobster. Intensely flavourful, the short grains were cooked slightly al dente and each looking plump after soaking up all the good extract from the peppers and squid bits (“U won”, he said – my guess was right upon checking with those guys – the morsels were squids) in the fish broth. The lobster meat was very fresh and succulent. The charred flavour coating the lobster was unforgettable. One of the highly sought after in the menu although the smaller quantity with a tag of $80 sounds unbelievable.
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Spaniard talked me into having the Torrija which I obediently say YES. The highlight of my meal! Less charming at first sight, but it has a very seductive taste!! The caramelised exterior, somewhat torched and superficially scorched with a curdy middle. Slightly honeyed in the milk composite that soaked the thick toast but was too addictive to share out. Together with the smokey drizzles on the ice cream that serves alongside, I don’t know what can be better. To price it at $14, I am more than happy to ask for 2 servings! I guess I am an avid sweet-toothed.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$130 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Torrija
  • Croquettes
  • Lobster Rice
等級4
2012-12-04 4 瀏覽
Dropped by Catalunya one weekday evening for dinner with a couple of my colleagues. The restaurant's head chef, Alain Devahive Tolosa and manager, Pol Perello, have both spent many years at the famed El Bulli and the media has apparently been hyping up on this association, especially since El Bulli has since shut its doors to become a research think tank. The address reads Fullerton Pavilion, which is a floating dome structure sandwiched between One Fullerton and Clifford Pier and plays host to
更多
Dropped by Catalunya one weekday evening for dinner with a couple of my colleagues. The restaurant's head chef, Alain Devahive Tolosa and manager, Pol Perello, have both spent many years at the famed El Bulli and the media has apparently been hyping up on this association, especially since El Bulli has since shut its doors to become a research think tank.

The address reads Fullerton Pavilion, which is a floating dome structure sandwiched between One Fullerton and Clifford Pier and plays host to a solitary eatery/bar - Catalunya. Pretty impressive design if I may say. The doorway leads up into the bar area where you are seated whilst your table is being prepped. Walking down a short flight of stairs brings you to the dining area proper, with its arced floor to ceiling windows and breathtaking ground level views of the surrounding Marina Bay area.

Tomato Tartar Confit - I didn't think that this dish was anything great. Lightly tart tomato confit served with almost tasteless foam and thin slices of crisp toast. And $18 for such a tiny portion? You have gotta be kidding me.

"Patatas Bravas" with "All I Oli" - I liked the simplicity of this dish - Plump potatoes in alioli (garlic and oil) sauce with a mild hint of spiciness. Tasty carbohydrate laden comfort food.

Tortilla Omelette "Deconstruccion" - This omelette deconstruction was rather interesting and really tasted like the real thing, sans the texture. Thick layer of egg white foam atop a concoction of caramalised onions and tortilla bits. I did find it a little too salty though.

Ham, Cheese and Truffle "Bikini" - To be honest, this was really something different. It looked like sandwiches but the texture was rather gelatin like (kueh like) and I could make out the truffle oil taste. Pretty nice in my humble opinion.

Traditional Suckling Pig "Segovian Style" - This was billed as one of the must tries. The pig was served whole and intact table side and the waiter proceeded to cut it up with a plate to showcase the tenderness of the meat. The first thing that hit me when I tried a piece was the indelible, overwhelming porky taste which caused me to almost regurgitate it out. But as with most things, I got used to it after a few more bites and it definitely helped that the skin was extremely crisp and the meat, tender. Do note that this dish is very oily and the accompanying sauce doesn't seem to do much for it so please share or nausea will kick in very fast. Just for the record, it states that this dish is for 2 pax but 4 of us couldn't finish it. And it wasn't due to the size of the pig but the amount of oil.

Lobster Rice - Apparently another must try dish, the lobster rice fared much better than the suckling pig though I did find it a wee bit too fishy for my liking (probably due to the al dente short grain rice being simmered in fish broth and what seemed like bits of scallop). I appreciated the fresh and crunchy, albeit small, serving of lobster though.

"Torrija" with Milk Ice Cream - And on to the desserts. The torrija (fried milk bread) was excellent - mildly sweet and seemingly coated with a layer of crisp caramel, juxtaposing the smoky but sugarless milk ice cream.

Chocolate in Different Textures with Passion Fruit - Besides the twist of the chocolate coloured mousse being made from passion fruit, this dessert didn't wow any of us. Do watch out for the extremely sour passionfruit droplets by the side!

Fresh Cheese Flan with "Berries" and Crumble - I wasn't too taken by the cheese flan, which had a panna cotta like texture - quivery and a little creamy with a cheesy undertone. I did like the crumble though, which tasted like "love letters", just a little more moist.

The 4 of us chalked up about $376 for a filling but unsatisfying meal.The dish that really killed us was the suckling pig and though service was great, the food wasn't. Coupled with a less than serene environment (music blasting from the bar area), it's definitely not the place for a quiet or romantic date. Would I be back? Probably not.

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2012/11/catalunya.html
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食