10
4
3
等級4
2017-02-16 197 瀏覽
We were in the vicinity of Tanjong Pagar one weekend and decided to pop by Drury Lane (one of the numerous hipster cafes that have been sprouting up like mushrooms in the past few years). Getting a table took a while and it seemed filled with youngsters in their teens to mid twenties. The Place Seating is rather limited on the ground floor where the ordering counter and kitchen is. The second level offers more seats but comes across as cramp with tables small and packed rather tightly together.
更多
We were in the vicinity of Tanjong Pagar one weekend and decided to pop by Drury Lane (one of the numerous hipster cafes that have been sprouting up like mushrooms in the past few years). Getting a table took a while and it seemed filled with youngsters in their teens to mid twenties.

21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Place

Seating is rather limited on the ground floor where the ordering counter and kitchen is. The second level offers more seats but comes across as cramp with tables small and packed rather tightly together. One major gripe I have is the lack of air-conditioning. We had a table at one of the corners and believe me, it was warm and a little stuffy. To be fair, fans were placed at certain locations but it only benefited those who were seated directly in front. Water is self service from one of the counters located near the stairwell.

21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Half Sized Cheese Toasties

To start we had the mozzarella and turkey bacon cheese toasties (half sized). Nicely grilled on the outside but sadly, the gooey cheese and turkey bacon didn't quite feature in the taste department. Nowhere close to Toastface Grillah's but decent for the price ($4).

24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Monterey Chicken with Avocado and Sriracha Butter

The chicken came across as nicely grilled but a touch too salty whilst the whole grain bread was just dry. I liked the gooey cheese but not much of a fan of Sriracha. Average overall.

21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Creamy Salted Egg Yolk Eggs Benedict with Grilled Prawns

This was a rather interesting - Runny egg yolk atop a lightly sweet but mildly dry mantou and drenched with a rather diluted salted egg yolk custard that could use a little more robustness/richness. Packed with three decent sized, crunchy and relatively sweet prawns to justify the comparatively expensive (as opposed to other items on the menu) $17 price tag. Pretty decent dish.

34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bill

Drury Lane serves up relatively inexpensive food in general (prices are nett) but quality hovers around the average mark. In short, just another run off the mill (but reasonably priced) cafe. No idea about the coffee though!

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 6/10 (a little cramp and warm)

Service:NA

Food: 6/10

Price: 7/10

Overall: 6.33/10

Address: 94 Tanjong Pagar Rd

Contact: 06222 6698

Opening Hours:

MON - TUES / 8AM - 6PM

WED - FRI / 8AM - 9PM

SAT - SUN / 9AM - 6PM

Website: www.drurylane.sg
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
同步刊載
等級4
2014-12-04 162 瀏覽
I normally judge a cafe based on their poached eggs and drury lanes'' poached eggs are awesome.. I had the salmon with mushroom sandwich as well and the mushrooms were everywhere!! Couldn't see one empty spot of bread!   I loved their smoked salmon too.. Way fresher than what I had at November 8.. I am convinced that I need to head back to drury lane for some more smoked salmon with mushroom sandwich at only $8!! it is soo worth it!!   Their smores tart was also a good treat big enough to shar
更多
35 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
33 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I normally judge a cafe based on their poached eggs and drury lanes'' poached eggs are awesome.. I had the salmon with mushroom sandwich as well and the mushrooms were everywhere!! Couldn't see one empty spot of bread!  
I loved their smoked salmon too.. Way fresher than what I had at November 8.. I am convinced that I need to head back to drury lane for some more smoked salmon with mushroom sandwich at only $8!! it is soo worth it!!
 

Their smores tart was also a good treat
big enough to share and the best par. About drury lane .. It's air coned! Walking from tanjong pagar MRT isn't a far walk but on a saturday afternoon I was melting.. It is a 2 storey buildig/cafe... And because of that.. They leave jars of water on the second floor for you to serve yourself rather than climb up and down to get the water.. You also get a buzzer after ordering so you know when to climb downstairs to get the food

Don't forget to bring additional stomach space for desserts on top of their mains, things like bacon topped pancakes sounds like what I would order next, when I get back to drury lane
Value for money nett priced food at tanjong pagar
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-13
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$14
推介美食
  • Smoked salmon and mushroom croissant
等級2
8
1
2014-12-02 117 瀏覽
Originally posted on: http://www.thegirlnextshore.com/2014/11/drury-lane-cafe-singapore-where-lunch.htmlMy friend Fran suggested lunch at Drury Lane on Tanjong Pagar Road in Chinatown, which I found quite serendipitous, as my office in London is very near a street called Drury Lane.The cafe is set on two floors; downstairs has a rather quick-eat feel for those on the go whilst upstairs is laid for those who have a bit more time for bigger meals.We opted for the daily specials. Fran chose the smo
更多
Originally posted on: http://www.thegirlnextshore.com/2014/11/drury-lane-cafe-singapore-where-lunch.html

My friend Fran suggested lunch at Drury Lane on Tanjong Pagar Road in Chinatown, which I found quite serendipitous, as my office in London is very near a street called Drury Lane.
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The cafe is set on two floors; downstairs has a rather quick-eat feel for those on the go whilst upstairs is laid for those who have a bit more time for bigger meals.
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We opted for the daily specials. Fran chose the smoked salmon pasta with portabello mushrooms and aglio olio. It looked as picturesque as it sounded although I personally thought the serving was going to be a bit more generous. Nonetheless, I reckon she enjoyed it.
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I got a smoked portobello mushroom sandwich with avocado (SG$11) and asked for extra steak (SG$4). This was under the "pasta dishes" so I was surprised to get a sandwich. I was too happy with my date to whine, though. Yay to the power of nice people talaga!
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It's like a glorified cheesesteak except slightly healthier. I love the combination of avocado and mushroom but it left half of the bread soggy and the other half hard. The steak pieces, cooked medium well were actually quite tender and seasoned well. It's a decent sandwich, but I downed my last bite wishing I ordered the prawn pasta instead.Drury Lane looks like a decent cafe and I'd come back to try their coffee and cakes next time... but if I'm being honest, the highlight of this visit wasn't particularly the food, but my lunch date. 
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-30
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$20
推介美食
  • Coffee
等級2
6
0
2014-09-13 74 瀏覽
It was a quick catch up with my old collegemate who came down to Singapore for a week of training. It has been years since after our graduation. So, it was great to catch up with him. He wanted to go to a small cafe and have a great brunch.I randomly googled and came to know this cafe, Drury Lane Cafe. It was a bit hard to find as I am not familiar with the place. Eventually, we found it and we ordered our brunch at the counter and moved to upper storey to sit down. While I googled for this cafe
更多
It was a quick catch up with my old collegemate who came down to Singapore for a week of training. It has been years since after our graduation. So, it was great to catch up with him. He wanted to go to a small cafe and have a great brunch.
I randomly googled and came to know this cafe, Drury Lane Cafe. It was a bit hard to find as I am not familiar with the place. Eventually, we found it and we ordered our brunch at the counter and moved to upper storey to sit down. 
While I googled for this cafe, I came to know a lot of people recommended this Smoked Salmon Sandwich and I wanted to give a try and give my review. Indeed, it was great as per described by other bloggers or patrons.
Everything was perfect for me except that the toasted breads were a bit too hard for me. It was nicely done, tasted good and looked pretty healthy. And, do not look down at its portion, as it was very filling after that. 
I ordered the Hot Chocolate to warm my heart. It was nicely crafted. The environment of the cafe at upper level is quiet and enabled us to slowly talk through the day. Even when, there's more people coming, we did not feel crowded.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-07-26
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
2014-08-02 85 瀏覽
About a year ago, this cafe popped up along Tanjong Pagar with the cafe development on Duxton Hill. Drury Lane is one of the streets in London near Covent Garden (not that foreign to me anymore now that I've walked those streets), and also this cafe that I'm featuring in this review. Needless to say, this humble cafe with little flashy gimmicks to make it outstanding has been swamped under the torrential waves of coffee movements.Drury Lane is a two-storey establishment, and the first thing that
更多
26 瀏覽
7 讚好
0 留言
About a year ago, this cafe popped up along Tanjong Pagar with the cafe development on Duxton Hill. Drury Lane is one of the streets in London near Covent Garden (not that foreign to me anymore now that I've walked those streets), and also this cafe that I'm featuring in this review. Needless to say, this humble cafe with little flashy gimmicks to make it outstanding has been swamped under the torrential waves of coffee movements.
36 瀏覽
7 讚好
0 留言
Drury Lane is a two-storey establishment, and the first thing that sets this cafe apart is its practicality and comfortable setting: tables are large and spread out respectfully from each other. The team at Drury Lane is youthful, energetic and laidback, which makes the cafe experience more delightful and enjoyable.
24 瀏覽
18 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
20 讚好
0 留言
Eggs benedict for dinner, why not? All day breakfast, that's what it means. Drury Lane's version reflects its attitude towards the whole cafe business, no frills, just comfortingly straightforward. Generous dosage of hollandaise sauce, perfect poached eggs, bacon and fresh veggies. Not fancy, but enough. A possibly fantastic place to hang out at if you want to be assured of privacy, space and a laidback atmosphere - a rarity when it comes to cafes today. Plenty of other places just want your money and get you out a-s-a-p, but not Drury Lane.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-07-12
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
2014-07-19 28 瀏覽
Located along a row of shophouses at Tanjong Pagar, this red-doored gem was a lovely discovery. Looking kind of tacky and casual on the outside, the interior with its neat, warmly-hued sleekness was a delightful contrast - tiled floors, smooth wooden tables, the whole picture of a hipster cafe.Then the friendly crew informed me that there were more seats upstairs, so I ascended this flight of polished, sturdy wooden steps up to check it out. Needless to say, I liked what I saw very much - a vast
更多
Located along a row of shophouses at Tanjong Pagar, this red-doored gem was a lovely discovery. Looking kind of tacky and casual on the outside, the interior with its neat, warmly-hued sleekness was a delightful contrast - tiled floors, smooth wooden tables, the whole picture of a hipster cafe.

Then the friendly crew informed me that there were more seats upstairs, so I ascended this flight of polished, sturdy wooden steps up to check it out. Needless to say, I liked what I saw very much - a vast space filled with well-spaced tables and interesting crated seats.

We were first served our Salted Caramel Tart (SGD4.00). While the puff pastry shell was a rim of delicious fluffy crispiness - the gooey, watery centre that was the salted caramel was almost too liquid. We had expected the ganache to be hardened or creamy, but it flowed out too luxuriantly once the fork pierced into it.

*Katherine had the Bacon Baked Eggs (SGD$12.00) for her main - honey cured turkey bacon, mushrooms, homemade baked beans and cheese all tossed into a pot with eggs to bake and served with toast. While the flavor was rich and this made for a homely, nutritious dish, it was like casserole to me, something that we could easily made at home (but probably wouldnt taste as nice).

My Cloud 9 (SGD$10.00) - consisted of fluffy turkey bacon infused pancakes served with honey and butter. I appreciated that my choice was a fabulous one - because the lightly sweet pancakes were baked to a golden crispiness, and the strips of bacon atop were crispy exactly the way I love them.

For more detailed information and photos, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/07/brunch-at-drury-lane-cafe-tanjong-pagar.html

9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salted Caramel Tart
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bacon Baked Eggs
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bacon Infused Pancakes
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$22 (午餐)
推介美食
Salted Caramel Tart
Bacon Baked Eggs
Bacon Infused Pancakes
  • mocha
  • latte
等級3
68
0
Do not be deceived by the crowded 1st level, i was deterred once but decided head on back to check them out. The cafe spans 2 storeys so head on upstairs to escape the oily food smells as cooking and brewing are all done in that little space. Oh but do note that you gotta come down to place your orders still.It was a terribly hot day and we headed up to level 2 as W had already gotten us a reservation. I was hoping for a cool reprieve from the crazy heat but there was none. The AC was super weak
更多
Do not be deceived by the crowded 1st level, i was deterred once but decided head on back to check them out. The cafe spans 2 storeys so head on upstairs to escape the oily food smells as cooking and brewing are all done in that little space. Oh but do note that you gotta come down to place your orders still.

It was a terribly hot day and we headed up to level 2 as W had already gotten us a reservation. I was hoping for a cool reprieve from the crazy heat but there was none. The AC was super weak and hardly cooled the heated 2nd storey of the shophouse. It was obvious that they have issues with the power rating as well because we had 2 blackouts in the short span of an hour. It was also impossible to hear each other because the acoustics were terrible. Throw in 20 other people and it's just deafening. Not a good place for a date certainly.

So i had the Iced Mocha because it was simply too hot to have a hot drink. The drink was pretty good imo with melted chocolate instead of bottled syrup and it didn't overpower the mellow coffee.

We had one of the specials which is the Garlic toast with sausage patties, sauteed mushrooms, spinach and truffle scrambled eggs ($18). This was the best savory dish out of the lot due to the garlic spread i guess. Scrambled eggs were too runny in my opinion and that sausage patty was just a joke with its bland flavor and dry nature. Eeks. For $18, it's not quite worth it. I've just had the pulled duck with apricot croissant at Symmetry and it was way better than this at the same price.
DO NOT EAT the Sausage Baked Eggs ($12) with spinach, homemade baked beans and cheese. We saw that familiar cardboardish sausage patty. Well this pot of food is terribly bland and pedestrian. I'm sure i make better stuff than this. I thought the baked beans were more canned than homemade though.

Well, would I go back to Drury Lane? Not for the food certainly. But the desserts were quite divine. Not to sure about the 'Pay as you wish' muffins but the Banana Bread with Espresso Butter ($2.50) had W and i takeaway a portion each.

The moist bread with chunks of banana was naturally sweetened and i'm glad they didn't add more sugar. The espresso butter wasn't that good because it was oily (not the good kinda butter way) and lacked espresso flavor.

The Carrot cake was also one of the best I've had as well. It's of medium density but very well flavored with spice. We liked that there wasn't too much cream cheese because they didn't ice the sides but those between the layers were just sufficient for the added flavors and moisture.

Verdict of Drury Lane- I may drop by again for the sweets and a quick drink but certainly not for the food.

For more reviews, visit www.ms-skinnyfat.com
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-04-20 85 瀏覽
Joining the ranks of Hipster cafes is Drury Lane Cafe, named after the street in London where the Muffin Man (in the popular nursury rhyme) lives. Not surprisingly then, Drury Lane Cafe offers a variety of promising home baked muffins and pastries, ranging from classics to quirky twists. Drury Lane Cafe is also popular for its all day breakfast / brunch, and artisan coffee.Ambience at Drury Lane Cafe differs depending on which level you dine in. The first floor is brightly lit by natural sunligh
更多
Joining the ranks of Hipster cafes is Drury Lane Cafe, named after the street in London where the Muffin Man (in the popular nursury rhyme) lives. Not surprisingly then, Drury Lane Cafe offers a variety of promising home baked muffins and pastries, ranging from classics to quirky twists. Drury Lane Cafe is also popular for its all day breakfast / brunch, and artisan coffee.
Ambience at Drury Lane Cafe differs depending on which level you dine in. The first floor is brightly lit by natural sunlight due to the glass panelled entrance, and the decor of coffee bags and wooden crates lend an air of ecological friendliness. But the smell of cooking in the poorly ventilated first floor means you'll walk away with smells on your clothing.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
In contrast, the second floor of Drury Lane Cafe is spacious and well ventilated, perfect for cozy, intimate dining. However, the second floor is also dimly lit, almost dark in some areas, save for seats near the windows. Also, some parts are unclean and poorly maintained.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Service at Drury Lane Cafe is decent. Order at the cashier, but food will be served to you, especially if you're at the second floor. Staff are young, mostly students working part time, but friendly, chirpy, polite and helpful.
Food at Drury Lane Cafe revolves around London / Melbourne inspired all day breakfast / brunch, mostly western style items. Classics like the Big Breakfast or Baked Eggs make an appearance, but often with creative names (Cloud 9.4, Big 94, 94 Goes Green) derived from the Drury Lane Cafe address, 94 Tanjong Pagar Road.
Drury Lane Cafe has a small 'specials' menu, which feature 3 or 4 house breakfast creations. The specials menu is changed weekly, and seems to be a platform for the chef to experiment with different combination of breakfast ingredients.
The Mocha (SGD $4.50) and Latte (SGD $4.50) here are pretty good, above average in terms of taste. Well balanced strength, with a fragrant aroma, and a slightly thin body. But the Latte art is beautiful and well executed, though their range seems a bit limited.
Mocha
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kaya Toast Eggs Benedict?! Why not? Singaporeans already eat runny soft boiled eggs with kaya toast, so why not pair runny poached eggs with kaya toast instead? The combination is so simple and common sense once you see it, it makes me wonder why no one else has ever tried it before!
The Kaya Toast Eggs Benedict (SGD $11) are a weekly special on the menu, and is not always available. The poached egg complements the sweetness of the kaya, and the crisp toast is perfect for soaking up the runny yolk.
Kaya Toast Eggs Benedict
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Candy Bar Pie (SGD $5) is a decadent dessert pastry filled with peanut butter nougat and salted caramel on a graham cracker biscuit crumb crust and topped with chocolate glaze and a salted pretzel. Intensely sweet and nearly impossible to finish by oneself, this is better off shared.
Candy Bar Pie
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Full Drury Lane Cafe review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2014/04/drury-lane-cafe.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-04-20
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$20 (午餐)
推介美食
Mocha
Kaya Toast Eggs Benedict
Candy Bar Pie
等級2
9
1
Located on busy Tanjong Pagar Road, this cafe can be easily identified by its red door frame. Bar seats are available on the ground floor but I prefer the window seats on the second floor.Big 94 ($14): Hearty serve of sausage, honey cured bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, toast and eggs of your choice. This is one big breakfast that will hit all the right spot, plus it’s good value for $14.Bacon baked eggs ($12): This comes with mushrooms, tomato and homemade baked beans, finished with melted chees
更多
Located on busy Tanjong Pagar Road, this cafe can be easily identified by its red door frame. Bar seats are available on the ground floor but I prefer the window seats on the second floor.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Big 94 ($14): Hearty serve of sausage, honey cured bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, toast and eggs of your choice. This is one big breakfast that will hit all the right spot, plus it’s good value for $14.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bacon baked eggs ($12): This comes with mushrooms, tomato and homemade baked beans, finished with melted cheese. Love the cheesy half cooked egg yolk which broke gloriously.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chicken and avocado sandwich ($8): Tender pieces of chicken marinated in spices with chunks of creamy avocado, served between two warm and thick crusty bread. Love the contrast of warm bread against the cool yogurt mint sauce.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Latte ($4.50): The coffee was strong and smooth with no lingering bitterness, complete with a velvety milk foam.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Full review up on: http://asperchee.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/drury-lane-cafe/

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$15 (早餐)
推介美食
  • Big 94
等級4
2014-01-19 19 瀏覽
Drury Lane has been on my to-go list and I finally had the opportunity to go there last Saturday. It was a happy brunch and I left the place with a satisfied tummy.Drury Lane is a 2-storey cafe with a cosy ambience. My only gripe is that the cafe seems to be ventilated by only ceiling fans and not air-conditioners so it might get a little hot and stuffy especially if you've travelled by foot under the scorching hot weather to reach the cafe. Iced Chocolate $4.50It did not have a rich flavour but
更多
Drury Lane has been on my to-go list and I finally had the opportunity to go there last Saturday. It was a happy brunch and I left the place with a satisfied tummy.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Drury Lane is a 2-storey cafe with a cosy ambience. My only gripe is that the cafe seems to be ventilated by only ceiling fans and not air-conditioners so it might get a little hot and stuffy especially if you've travelled by foot under the scorching hot weather to reach the cafe.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Iced Chocolate $4.50
It did not have a rich flavour but the texture was smooth and creamy. It may seem like a small cup but it sure is more than enough especially if you want to leave more room for desserts.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Flat White $4.50
Espresso with milk - Quite possibly one of the worst, if not the worst Flat White I had ever drank. The taste of the milk overpowered the coffee's taste. It was bland and tasted diluted. Props to the lovely coffee art though.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Eggs Americano $16
This was one of the daily specials so we ordered it. The streak of lean turkey bacon was sweet and not at all salty. The hollandaise sauce had a smoky flavour, complementing the bbq baked beans and mushrooms. The beef patties were average-tasting. Delightfully runny egg yolk was revealed when the poached egg was poked with a fork.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salmon Baked Eggs $12
This tomato based dish had a rich tomato flavour yet not overly intense. The smoked salmon was not salty and was a surprisingly good combination with the baked beans and cheese. The baked eggs in it were runny too and everything mixed well together.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
By the time we were done with our main courses, we were too full for desserts so we did not get to try them.

Overall, it was a satisfying brunch even though the coffee was really disappointing. On the other hand, their food is well-portioned and reasonably priced. If you are looking for cafes to explore around the vicinity, you can check out Drury Lane.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Salmon Baked Eggs
等級4
484
3
2013-12-21 30 瀏覽
The entrance of the cafe! When we first arrive, the cafe was pretty empty but we proceed to the second floor to check out the place. The cafe is quite spacious and their decor is nice! However, it was quite dim at the second floor, probably because there weren't many guest yet. The three of us ordered the flat white, which has a pretty nice coffee art but taste-wise, it is not as good as I expected it to be. We all felt that the coffee is not strong enough. I ordered the Salmon Baked Eggs whi
更多
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The entrance of the cafe!
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
When we first arrive, the cafe was pretty empty but we proceed to the second floor to check out the place. The cafe is quite spacious and their decor is nice! However, it was quite dim at the second floor, probably because there weren't many guest yet.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The three of us ordered the flat white, which has a pretty nice coffee art but taste-wise, it is not as good as I expected it to be. We all felt that the coffee is not strong enough.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I ordered the Salmon Baked Eggs while one of them had the Sausage Baked Eggs. Our baked eggs consist of tomatoes and beans baked with an egg on top, and served with Sourdough toast. I heard that they specialize in their baked eggs but my friend and I felt that it was too bland for our taste-buds.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another of my friend who had the eggs benedict felt that it was just so-so. Overall, I like the hippy looking decor of this cafe but not so much their food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-13
等級4
My friend is migrating to Australia in January. And before she leaves Singapore, she invited us all to have a late brunch/lunch/snack t Drury Lane. She picked this place because it's near her yoga studio, ambiance is said to be quite cool, plus the "pay as you wish" muffin is also an attractive marketing strategy.So we went to this hipster cafe at around 3pm. We reserved in advance, so we didn't have to worry about having to wait for a table. When we entered the cafe, the waitress gave us the me
更多

My friend is migrating to Australia in January. And before she leaves Singapore, she invited us all to have a late brunch/lunch/snack t Drury Lane. She picked this place because it's near her yoga studio, ambiance is said to be quite cool, plus the "pay as you wish" muffin is also an attractive marketing strategy.
Sandwich
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
So we went to this hipster cafe at around 3pm. We reserved in advance, so we didn't have to worry about having to wait for a table. When we entered the cafe, the waitress gave us the menu and showed us to our seats upstairs. As soon as we sat down, we checked the menu and saw how limited the options were. I'm not too sure if it's because of our timing (3pm) but I didnt see any pasta or whatnot on the menu. So, I settled on the Chicken Avocado Sandwich ($8) and the Brown Coffee ($5.50). Oh, I also had the banana walnut muffin.

So the sandwich came and at first, I was impressed because it looked quite big. And then, I saw what's inside and I was extremely disappointed. There were only a few pieces of chicken (which for me, seemed tandoori flavoured) and avocado. The bread was tough, too. Even though I was hungry, I still didnt manage to finish it. The coffee was not bad. The best of them all was the muffin - soft and moist.

I don't know if the cafe was just having a bad day that time, but seriously... they could do better. They already got the ambience most cafe lovers are looking for... they just need to improve the food.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-15
推介美食
Sandwich
等級4
Apart from the Tiong Bahru café enclave, Tanjong Pagar has been another one lately with so many cafés around! Just down the lane opposite Cake Spade, Drury Lane is yet another of those hipster places in a shophouse.We were just full from our high tea snacks over at SPR.MKT, but decided to pop by after checking out their Facebook and got tempted by their candy bar pie.Candy Bar Pie ($5)Looking at this and think of peanut butter nougat, salted caramel and chocolate tart base, how can anyone with a
更多
Apart from the Tiong Bahru café enclave, Tanjong Pagar has been another one lately with so many cafés around! Just down the lane opposite Cake Spade, Drury Lane is yet another of those hipster places in a shophouse.

We were just full from our high tea snacks over at SPR.MKT, but decided to pop by after checking out their Facebook and got tempted by their candy bar pie.

Candy Bar Pie ($5)
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Looking at this and think of peanut butter nougat, salted caramel and chocolate tart base, how can anyone with a sweet tooth resist this sinful indulgence? Rich with a strong taste of peanut butter, it was a sticky chewy sweetness with caramel, paired with a moist chocolate crust, perfect for the sweet tooth cravings.

Do be prepared with a glass of water by the side though, as a few mouthfuls can get you jelat easily, with the overwhelming rich flavours involved. It would have been perfect if the saltish part of the salted caramel came through stronger to strike a balance, as it got a tad toooo sweet for us after a while. Great for the peanut butter lover, a richer rendition of the snickers bar for that quick sugar rush over coffee session!

Banana Bread with Espresso Butter ($2.50)
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A look at the dark crusts and a whiff of the espresso was half a battle won. Moist and soft slice of banana bread, it went perfectly well with the espresso butter. We loved the strong yet not overpowering espresso taste in it, and just a subtle banana flavour in the bread. Have a taste of the crust that’s slightly charred, perfecto! A good combination, don’t expect a strong banana taste in the bread (though I would personally prefer that), and it would have been better if the bread was warmer for serving!
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Distinctive red door to recognise!
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pretty no-fuss menu
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Selection of desserts
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sandwiches and pay-as-you-wish-muffins
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
First floor seating area
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Second floor seating area
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We almost missed out on these bottles of water, so remember to help yourselves before getting seated, especially if you're getting desserts!

Few of those cafes that got us thinking that we’ll be back, we’re already missing the banana bread and would want a shot at their baked eggs that sounds like the perfect start to any day! Oh, and for those looking to find a quiet space to work/study, they've got free wifi for you to tap on! More reasons to visit them I guess!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Banana Bread with Espresso Butter
等級2
19
2
2013-11-18 19 瀏覽
What I saw It’s difficult to miss the shop since it stands out like a giant bright red phone booth along Tanjong Pagar Road. And of course, what’s more befitting than having its name decked street-sign-style? Look in and you’ll notice limited seating inside: A quaint corner with wooden crates for seats and some bar seats beside the counter. But what greets you at the door besides the day’s specials is a fortunate “More Seats Upstairs”. Phew.It’s true. At Drury Lane, you pay as much or as you lik
更多
What I saw

It’s difficult to miss the shop since it stands out like a giant bright red phone booth along Tanjong Pagar Road. And of course, what’s more befitting than having its name decked street-sign-style? Look in and you’ll notice limited seating inside: A quaint corner with wooden crates for seats and some bar seats beside the counter. But what greets you at the door besides the day’s specials is a fortunate “More Seats Upstairs”. Phew.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
It’s true. At Drury Lane, you pay as much or as you like for those muffins. While this does give them great feedback against other muffin competitors out there, I believe we should be gracious and pay a decent amount, unless of course they were that bad.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
While I unfortunately did not get good shots upstairs, it was definitely the more popular level of the two with its cosy attic-like feel. But it was just a fair bit too noisy for my friend and I, so we headed down instead. The downside though? You’ll start to smell like the day’s orders because of their open kitchen concept.

What I ate
4 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
I must say that neither the coffee nor my eggs benedict satisfied my raging tastebuds. The coffee ran a little thin for my liking and held an acidity that departed from comfort. For the eggs benedict, something just wasn’t right with the hollandaise sauce with its consistency more runny than thick. The three streaks of honey-cured turkey bacon you see? Not my thing because it was just so hard to bite into. If I’m being totally honest, they tasted like the local delicacy – ba kwa. My friend didn’t enjoy her order of baked eggs with tomatoes either. “They tasted like canned tomatoes.” (They probably were. And she’s more of an eat-fresh girl.)

On the whole

It wasn't the most pleasant brunch experience and I had to head elsewhere after that to settle my caffeine craving. But to be fair, my visit was some time in August and perhaps, just perhaps, the other items on their menu aren’t too shabby. And maybe they got better. A little bird told me their pancakes were ones to try, so I might return to give them a second chance. Probably just with caution.

For more of my reviews, head to: http://www.aquaintsense.wordpress.com
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-14
人均消費
$15 (午餐)
等級3
30
5
Drury Lane is a cafe that is easy to fall in love with. It seems to have it right - an interesting and easy to remember name, shophouse in Tanjong Pagar, all day breakfast. And there's no way you can miss this red engine cafe along Tanjong Pagar Road.Upon entering the cafe, I immediately fell in love with the cosy ambience. There are two storeys. The lower storey is where the kitchen is and also where the brewing of coffee is. There are some bar tables as well as some seats that were constructed
更多
Drury Lane is a cafe that is easy to fall in love with. It seems to have it right - an interesting and easy to remember name, shophouse in Tanjong Pagar, all day breakfast. And there's no way you can miss this red engine cafe along Tanjong Pagar Road.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Upon entering the cafe, I immediately fell in love with the cosy ambience. There are two storeys. The lower storey is where the kitchen is and also where the brewing of coffee is. There are some bar tables as well as some seats that were constructed from wooden crates.

If you don't want to smell like your breakfast later, I recommend you head upstairs.

Loved the upstairs which felt spacious, unlike other cafes which made me feel like I am constantly touching my neighbor's elbow. Ok I exaggerate. The rustic and simple decor offers a respite from the stressful week. Time seems to slows down and you get some thinking sorted out. Nice place to hangout with your friends and loved ones too.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The menu is a simple one page comprising of breakfast favorites such as big breakfast, eggs, french toast and pancakes. I can't help being curious about some of the names of the dishes, such as Big 94, Cloud 9, Cloud 9.4. I guess it should be something to do with their address 94 Drury Lane. They also served espressos, daily brews and teas. You place and pay your orders at the counter on the first floor and you are given a table number (in the form of a paper cup).

I got the daily specialty brew of Bokasso Ethiopia ($5, below) which had a good balance of bitterness and acidity. This small cup gave the perk needed for the morning.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For tea lovers, kick start your day with English breakfast tea ($6, below), which came in a pot. Tea was from The 1872 Clipper Tea Company and it was full-bodied and robust.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The 1935 Toast ($8, below), a French toast with peanut butter jam and two bananas. While the banana were sweet, it was well complemented by the saltiness of the peanut butter in the toast. Nice comfort food on a lazy weekend morning.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Cloud 9.4 ($12, below) might look like ordinary pancakes but a surprise awaited as I bit into it. There were pieces of ham embedded in the pancakes, making the pancakes a little salty. And the pancakes were very fluffy. If there was a Fluffy Index from 1 to 10, I would give it a level of 10 and McDonald's pancakes a 2. If you love your pancakes to be fluffy and soft, this is the one. However, I find it a bit too oily for me and by the time I finished my first pancake, I was too overwhelmed to start the second one. Perhaps you can request them to make it less oily. Also, the turkey bacon was too hard for me.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The cafe has free wifi and the password is stated on the receipt. Service was attentive and rather fast. Did I also mention that there was no service charge and GST? Given that there were many other popular cafés in the vicinity, I felt Drury Lane is worthy a try too. I don't usually frequent cafes because of their overpriced food. I mean, $20 for a eggs, sausage (and GST and service charge on top of that) which I could whip up myself? So I'm glad that Drury Lane's breakfast menu looks affordable (food prices range from $8 to $12), and it makes a good laid-back place with a chill vibe to hang out on a weekend. I don't mind going back to try their other food soon.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食