5
2
0
等級4
A couple of us dropped by Fat Cow for lunch one weekday afternoon after hearing so much about their signature wagyu donburi. The Place Located at a corner of Camden Medical Centre, Fatcow took quite a bit of finding as there didn't seem to be any clear signs as to where exactly the place was from the carpark. But we finally found the place and were led into a "private" room for the 8 of us; "private" because it was really just part of the main bar area with a paper thin partition that afforded
更多
A couple of us dropped by Fat Cow for lunch one weekday afternoon after hearing so much about their signature wagyu donburi.

14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Place

Located at a corner of Camden Medical Centre, Fatcow took quite a bit of finding as there didn't seem to be any clear signs as to where exactly the place was from the carpark. But we finally found the place and were led into a "private" room for the 8 of us; "private" because it was really just part of the main bar area with a paper thin partition that afforded some visual privacy (no respite from the noise though).

11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salad, Miso Soup & Chawanmushi

A side of fresh salad, miso soup and chawanmushi came as a side to our set lunch. I personally liked the chawanmushi; smooth and light without coming across as too eggy and served with a slice of scallop, mushroom and prawn.

12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Fat Cow Donburi

And the sole reason why we were here; the namesake Fat Cow Donburi. I ordered my wagyu medium rare but it seemed a touch undercooked even though the flavours were good; salty with a robust beefiness but a little lacking in the juiciness. The wobbly onsen egg imbued the dish with a creamy texture. A good dish but lacked the wow factor in my humble opinion.

17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ice Cream

A tiny scoop of smooth and creamy caramel ice cream (probably the size of 2 quail eggs) capped off our meal. Inadequate but appreciated nonetheless.

13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bill

The 8 of us racked up a bill of ~$480 and though good, doesn't quite justify the quality and quantity of food honestly. We left the restaurant feeling a little unsatisfied to be honest. Service overall was decent but tea refills need to be more forthcoming, especially at $5++/pax. Will I be back? I highly doubt so, unless someone is picking up the check.

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 6.5/10 (For the "private room")

Service: 6.5/10

Food: 7/10

Value for money: 6/10

Overall: 6.5/10

Address: #01-01 Camden Medical Centre

Contact: 6735 0308

Opening Hours:

Lunch

Monday to Sunday: 12PM to 3PM (Last order at 2.30PM)

Dinner

Monday to Sunday: 6PM to 11PM (Last order at 10.30PM)

Website: http://www.fat-cow.com.sg/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
同步刊載
等級3
46
0
2014-10-27 89 瀏覽
Decided to check out Fat Cow to celebrate the homz's birthday and as well as using the entertainer app for 1 for 1 mains. Fat Cow offers high quality cuts of well marbled beef from Australia, Japan and USA.I made a reservation at 2pm for lunch, last order is 230pm. I went for lunch instead cuz I wanted to try the highly raved 'The Fat Cow Donburi' ($39) from the lunch menu set. It's charcoal-grilled wagyu beef with onsen egg and shiro negi. Note that each set includes salad, chawanmushi, miso so
更多
Decided to check out Fat Cow to celebrate the homz's birthday and as well as using the entertainer app for 1 for 1 mains. Fat Cow offers high quality cuts of well marbled beef from Australia, Japan and USA.I made a reservation at 2pm for lunch, last order is 230pm. I went for lunch instead cuz I wanted to try the highly raved 'The Fat Cow Donburi' ($39) from the lunch menu set. It's charcoal-grilled wagyu beef with onsen egg and shiro negi. Note that each set includes salad, chawanmushi, miso soup and dessert. I finally know why everyone says this is a must eat from the lunch menu. The shiro negi enhance the whole bowl which makes every bite so delicious.
The Fat Cow Donburi
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We had Grade A3 Sirloin (100g) in Sukiyaki style ($78) and Blackmore Ranch 220g ($85) as well. Both were heavenly, more in review.
Two weeks before while making my reservations online, I causally put a special note which says, 'celebrating a friend's birthday'. After that, I totally forgotten about it. But to my surprise, we were served with a happy birthday platter with a scoop of ice cream after our meals. Ah best service ever.


Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/10/fat-cow-camden-medical-centre-singapore.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-13
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$80 (午餐)
慶祝紀念
生日
推介美食
The Fat Cow Donburi
等級2
19
1
Please visit http://bit.ly/1ryxUau for full review and photos.Fat-tastic. Because the food was fantastic, and the restaurant is named Fat Cow, get it? OK, I suck at coming up with puns, so let's talk about the food instead.Visited Fat Cow for their set lunch - Wagyu Donburi (Beef Bowl) set at $39 and the Fat Foa Gura Don (Beef and Foie Gras) set at $43. Each set comes with salad, miso soup, chawanmushi and ice cream / dessert.Food's pretty darn good for the price. Of course can't expect A5 kobe
更多
Please visit http://bit.ly/1ryxUau for full review and photos.
Fat-tastic. Because the food was fantastic, and the restaurant is named Fat Cow, get it? OK, I suck at coming up with puns, so let's talk about the food instead.
Visited Fat Cow for their set lunch - Wagyu Donburi (Beef Bowl) set at $39 and the Fat Foa Gura Don (Beef and Foie Gras) set at $43. Each set comes with salad, miso soup, chawanmushi and ice cream / dessert.
Appetizers
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Food's pretty darn good for the price. Of course can't expect A5 kobe or matsusaka at this price range lah.
Wagyu Donburi
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Minor niggles: A bit too much rice, and the drinks are expensive (green tea $5 per person). But overall definitely highly recommended.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-23
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$50 (午餐)
推介美食
Appetizers
Wagyu Donburi
等級3
76
3
Beef lovers have probably heard about Fat Cow, especially for their famed set lunches which include the popular Beef Donburi. Having heard much about it, we decided that we have to make our way down to try it out for ourselves! The plus point about the set lunches are that they are also available on weekends.Set lunches are served with Salad, Miso Soup and Chawanmushi, as you can see from the photos below. We felt the salad and miso soup was nothing out of the ordinary. The Chawanmushi was actua
更多
Beef lovers have probably heard about Fat Cow, especially for their famed set lunches which include the popular Beef Donburi. Having heard much about it, we decided that we have to make our way down to try it out for ourselves! The plus point about the set lunches are that they are also available on weekends.

Set lunches are served with Salad, Miso Soup and Chawanmushi, as you can see from the photos below. We felt the salad and miso soup was nothing out of the ordinary. The Chawanmushi was actually quite good.
We tried 3 different items on their set lunch menu. The first is the famed Fat Cow Donburi. It consists of char-grilled wagyu beef with onsen egg and thinly grated japanese leek. Everyone agreed that it lives up to its name. The onset egg was really one of the best onsen egg I've tasted because it is so perfectly cooked. The wagyu was almost melt-in-the-mouth with a tinge of charcoal fragrance.

If you love foie gras, you've got to try the Fat foa-gura don. It is glazed foie gras with grilled wagyu beef. They added some pickle to it for a balance of flavours.
For those non-beef lovers, there are also other choices such as Chirashi Don (Mixed sashimi don), Tonkatsu Don as well as Gindara Miso Yaki seen below. The Gindara Miso Yaki is miso marinated cod filet. It is quite fresh and done quite well, preserving the natural fish oils in it. Personally, I feel that the highlight is still their wagyu dons.

Overall, we felt that food was the Fat Cow Donburi was the winning point with service on the slow side as it was pretty crowded on a weekend. The ambience was not bad as tables were partitioned for some privacy. Do get your tables reserved beforehand to avoid disappointments on weekends!

For full reviews and more photos, please visit http://thumbsforfood.blogspot.sg/2014/06/fat-cow-thumbsforfood.html
Fat Cow Donburi
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Foa-gura Don
30 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Cod Fish
23 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Fat Cow Donburi
Foa-gura Don
等級2
9
1
2014-03-04 41 瀏覽
Located in Camden Medical Centre, this Japanese steakhouse is every beef eater’s paradise. Wagyu takes main stage here but other non-beef options are available as well if your dining partner doesn’t take beef. Every set lunch starts with a salad, miso soup and chawanmushi, and ice cream to round up the meal.Fat Cow Donburi ($38): Medium rare wagyu beef with a lovely char-grilled taste, paired with a soft runny yolk set on a bed of rice and finished with a touch of truffle oil. Perfection in a bo
更多
Located in Camden Medical Centre, this Japanese steakhouse is every beef eater’s paradise. Wagyu takes main stage here but other non-beef options are available as well if your dining partner doesn’t take beef. Every set lunch starts with a salad, miso soup and chawanmushi, and ice cream to round up the meal.
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fat Cow Donburi ($38): Medium rare wagyu beef with a lovely char-grilled taste, paired with a soft runny yolk set on a bed of rice and finished with a touch of truffle oil. Perfection in a bowl.
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fat Foa-Gura Don ($42): Cubes of grilled beef and buttery foie gras covered in a sweet and savoury sauce on rice. The sauce isn’t sickly sweet but unfortunately, it overpowered the taste of the grilled wagyu.

Overall, this place is recommended for beef lovers and service is attentive as well. Definitely worth a visit to try the food at the restaurant.

For full review, head over to http://asperchee.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/the-fat-cow/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$50 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Fat Cow Donburi
等級3
45
0
To celebrate their first anniversary, fans of Fat Cow will be pleased to know that they have added new items to their menu to keep you coming back for more.Begin your dining experience with new beef items imported from the reputable wagyu farms from all over the world. Whether you prefer it shabu shabu, sukiyaki, or charcoal-grilled, these are the items you can choose from.For their beef items, they have the Zabuton Steak ($89, 225g) which is seasoned to the core with their special house blended
更多
To celebrate their first anniversary, fans of Fat Cow will be pleased to know that they have added new items to their menu to keep you coming back for more.

Begin your dining experience with new beef items imported from the reputable wagyu farms from all over the world. Whether you prefer it shabu shabu, sukiyaki, or charcoal-grilled, these are the items you can choose from.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For their beef items, they have the Zabuton Steak ($89, 225g) which is seasoned to the core with their special house blended 12-year Yamazaki miso wet rub. Aside from the way this is marbled, the seasoning gives it a more intense flavour which you won’t forget after your first bite.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another upcoming favourite is the Wagyu Claypot Donburi ($105) which is claypot rice topped with onsen egg and ribeye steak.

To read the full review, go here: http://bit.ly/RwA5Lm
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-10-31
等級4
Let me set this straight. Fat Cow is an expensive restaurant. Lunch or dinner per pax there wouldn't fall below $100. But to their credit, they will really give you a dining experience unlike any other restaurant.Firstly the ambience. Since this is Japanese you can expect that the interior is very minimalist. Wood seem to dominate its decorations. As for the service, they have a number of waiters to serve guests inside. Since they only have a small seating capacity in their restaurant, you would
更多
Let me set this straight. Fat Cow is an expensive restaurant. Lunch or dinner per pax there wouldn't fall below $100. But to their credit, they will really give you a dining experience unlike any other restaurant.

Firstly the ambience. Since this is Japanese you can expect that the interior is very minimalist. Wood seem to dominate its decorations. As for the service, they have a number of waiters to serve guests inside. Since they only have a small seating capacity in their restaurant, you wouldn't have to wait for someone to cater to your needs. One major plus is that they have a resident wine sommelier. So, if you feel like educating yourself with the different wines and the dishes best paired with it... Fat Cow is the place to be.

As for the food, expect to shell out a couple of bucks for each dish. I had the Zucchini Blossom for starters and it was definitely unique. It was coated in something crispy, yet the zucchini remained light to eat. It's served with honey. Make sure you dip it for it adds another level of taste to this one.

As for the main course, of course I ordered the Steak. They've got different types of beef which you can ask the chef, who by the way, is just in front of you. You can choose the cooking method, if it's rare, medium rare, etc. NO matter how cooked or raw it is, you're assured of its high quality.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-01-06
人均消費
$100 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Zucchini Blossom
  • Steak