2
0
0
等級4
332
3
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/28/very-expensive-kaiseki-way-below-expectations-goto-on-23oct2014/we had good recent experience of GOTO’s S$168 omakase lunch on 1.10.2014.we ordered the S$280pax omakase dinner on 23.10.2014.food was good of course, but relative to the exorbitant price, it was really far below expectations, compared with keyaki, kuriya, hachi & of course mikuni. :-(the #1 sakizuke – a selection of small appetizers 先附 was of very good standard, with
更多
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/28/very-expensive-kaiseki-way-below-expectations-goto-on-23oct2014/
we had good recent experience of GOTO’s S$168 omakase lunch on 1.10.2014.
we ordered the S$280pax omakase dinner on 23.10.2014.
food was good of course, but relative to the exorbitant price, it was really far below expectations, compared with keyaki, kuriya, hachi & of course mikuni. :-(
the #1 sakizuke – a selection of small appetizers 先附 was of very good standard, with a very nice pickled sanma (秋刀鱼) pacific dory which i liked, duck, a periwinkle?, prawn, cured squid, ikura, pickled shimeji mushrooms & spinach.
#2 dobinmushi was a very good soup, very clear, tasty soup, with pieces of fish fillet, mushrooms etc.
the #3 sashimi moriawase was a very large serving than the usual served in a kaiseki or course meal. there were 2 chutoro, 1 botan ebi, 2 hotate, several thick cut tako, 2 kampachi, hirame & tai, & uni. it was good standard but no better, in fact the toro was distinctly poorer c/w the S$45 chirashi don (after 50% feed at raffles discounts) at mikuni.
the #4 braised kinki (expensive japanese fish) was a good tasty fish but to me it tasted like angkoli (red snapper), so i didn’t really understand why it was expensive. this was a nitsuke or simmered dish.
the #5 minced prawn in lily bulb paste was an interesting, unique dish. the lily bulb + mountain yam paste had the slightly sticky yam texture, and the dish was very tasty overall. :-as with the S$68 lunch, they served a dry miso tempura. it was very nice. :-)
#7 kagoshima wagyu was very good, but the better marbled much tastier kagoshima wagyu ishiyaki at mikuni only cost S$37.50 alacarte after 50% discounts.
the #8 gohan – chicken shimeji mushroom rice had good mushroom flavours but otherwise no comparison with any kamameshi at sun with moon wheelock or aunagi chahan at zen japanese.
they offered very good dessert – very good japanese melon + grapes. yuzu ice cream, orange jelly & strawberry mousse.
& i always enjoyed macha.
the kaiseki dinner was very good standard, but for me price was far too exorbitant relative to other good kaiseki restaurants & it was not at all value-for-money. one could get a very good omakase dinner at hachi for S$118pax. and at this price i would want to try kumo anytime.
#6 miso ebi tempura
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#1 sakizuki – a selection of small appetizers
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#5 minced prawn in lily bulb + yam paste
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#7 kagoshima wagyu
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#9 dessert tray
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
#3 uni – sashimi moriawase
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#8 gohan – chicken shimeji mushroom rice
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#4 braised kinki (expensive japanese fish)
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#3 sashimi moriawase
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
#2 dobinmushi
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-23
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$308 (晚餐)
推介美食
#1 sakizuki – a selection of small appetizers
#5 minced prawn in lily bulb + yam paste
#9 dessert tray
#4 braised kinki (expensive japanese fish)
#3 sashimi moriawase
#2 dobinmushi
等級4
332
3
2014-10-02 60 瀏覽
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/02/fabulous-omakase-lunch-goto-on-1oct2014/GOTO is closing for renovations on 26.10.2014 & reopening on 11.11.2014.a friend suggested recently & 5 of us decided to go for the S$68pax omakase lunch on 1.10.2014. there was no GST so it was just S$75nett! :-)GOTO at 14 ang siang hill is currently a kaiseki only restaurant. lunch is 6-course at S$68pax & dinner S$180pax & S$280pax. the chef owner GOTO HISAO, was previously the personal ch
更多
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2014/10/02/fabulous-omakase-lunch-goto-on-1oct2014/
GOTO is closing for renovations on 26.10.2014 & reopening on 11.11.2014.
a friend suggested recently & 5 of us decided to go for the S$68pax omakase lunch on 1.10.2014. there was no GST so it was just S$75nett! :-)
GOTO at 14 ang siang hill is currently a kaiseki only restaurant. lunch is 6-course at S$68pax & dinner S$180pax & S$280pax. the chef owner GOTO HISAO, was previously the personal chef to the japanese ambassador to singapore. after the renovation it will be remodelled to a casual restaurants. according to the server lunch sets would be like S$40 onwards. :-)
we had the first course sakizuki – a selection of small appetizers. it had a delicious pickled sanma (秋刀鱼), a equally delicious tofu, pickled ika (squid), some vege, and ikura on enoki in small bowl. really good! we were saying if every dish could be like this. they were, quite! maybe minus the rice.
the sashimi moriawase = maguro, hirame, hamachi, hotate, anago was just incredible! they told us its maguro, but it was so sweet its like akamai (lean toro). hotate was just 1/2 a piece but very sweet. same for hirame (flat fish) & hamachi (yellow tail). the anago (conger eel) was an expensive item too but actually that was my least preferred among the quality sashimi.
the tempura moriawase was served differently w/o the dip & radish & wasabi. there was a lemon & a dish with what looked like green tea powder but actually salt. the server missed out explanation at our table for this dish, so we were guessing the lemon should go on the salt (lemon juice with salt is a very good dip for yakiniku), anyway a few of us including myself was too quick & just squeezed the lemon on the tempura. there was shisamo (pregnant fish), asparagus, 2 like fish cakes etc. very good dish. 
we have a simmered duck dish. i liked it very much. 1 friend felt the duck had too gamey taste. the rest didn’t. a few thought the duck was tough. 1 said the sauce a bit sweet (japanese like to add sugar to their dishes).
for me though it was quite perfect – duck, yam etc. 
a friend said that the mushroom smell was really good. & indeed it was. however i & a few of us did not think this good was great. it did not really had the wok hae of a good chinese fried rice, nor the flavours of a good japanese unagi chahan (fried rice) like say in zen or its sister restaurant en japanese dining. nor is it flavourful c/w the very nice kamameshi at sun with moon.
of course we were just picking bones. haha!
dessert was good too. kochi i liked, good quality fruits & a great black sesame ice cream.
i think this a very good lunch for S$75. i consider this perhaps more refine & better than the S$68 omakse lunch at hachi & about same as (or sometimes better than depending on menu) the S$68 monthly lunch special at kuriya dining. anyway i have booked to go back next week.
sakizuki appertiser item = ikura on enoki mushrooms
26 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
dessert platter
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
chicken & mushroom gohan set
21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
simmered kamo (duck) dish
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
sakizuki - platter of small appetisers
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
sashimi moriawase
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-10-01
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$75 (午餐)
推介美食
sakizuki appertiser item = ikura on enoki mushrooms
dessert platter
simmered kamo (duck) dish
sakizuki - platter of small appetisers
sashimi moriawase
等級3
60
9
2010-07-25 88 瀏覽
Goto Japanese Restaurant is a kaiseki restaurant set in the heart of Singapore. This small restaurant was set up by Goto Hisao, the owner and chef who was formerly the chef to previous Japanese ambassador in Singapore. I had read about the exquisite quality of their food served here at Goto from the other blogs and so despite the steep price, I decided to at least give it a chance for lunch.All in all, this was well worth the money for a traditional and exquisite kaiseki lunch. You can definitel
更多
Goto Japanese Restaurant is a kaiseki restaurant set in the heart of Singapore. This small restaurant was set up by Goto Hisao, the owner and chef who was formerly the chef to previous Japanese ambassador in Singapore. I had read about the exquisite quality of their food served here at Goto from the other blogs and so despite the steep price, I decided to at least give it a chance for lunch.

All in all, this was well worth the money for a traditional and exquisite kaiseki lunch. You can definitely feel the attention given for the preparation of the food and how the chef managed to coax the natural flavours out from the seasonal ingredients through light cooking methods. I am now actually tempted to return for the dinner kaiseki set!

Please visit for more pictures: http://dirtystall.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/goto/
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$80