7
4
1
等級4
2014-06-26 41 瀏覽
Decided to try out Maple & Market after seeing all the photos on instagram. Its quite a small area. They literally only have 1 proper table, and the remaining are like bar tables. The whole place is partitioned into 2 sections, 1 is the baking corner where there’s baking class ongoing and another is the cafe corner. They do sell interesting things such as printed mugs with very singaporean slangs, and some old school bottled drinks. They also sell paper products for parties usage or art craft pu
更多
Decided to try out Maple & Market after seeing all the photos on instagram. Its quite a small area. They literally only have 1 proper table, and the remaining are like bar tables. The whole place is partitioned into 2 sections, 1 is the baking corner where there’s baking class ongoing and another is the cafe corner. They do sell interesting things such as printed mugs with very singaporean slangs, and some old school bottled drinks. They also sell paper products for parties usage or art craft purposes.
We ordered the buttermilk waffle with caramelized banana homemade caramel & walnut ($9) and Chocolate peanut cake ($5.50) and the ancient bottled drinks ($6/bottled)! The drinks are from New Zealand by the way. The drinks are quite fizzy. Feels bloated after drinking half the bottle. The buttermilk waffle goes really well with the caramelized bananas and walnut. Sweet caramel, soft bananas, crunchy walnut. the waffles are crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside, best when eaten hot! I find the chocolate peanut cake a bit too grainy and dry for the chocolate cake portion. But overall peanut does goes well with chocolate! However, there’s too many dessert cafes around now, so probably there’s nothing special that will make me go back for the second time. The service isnt too fantastic too
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$6 (下午茶)
等級2
6
0
2014-06-12 16 瀏覽
Visit my website for the full review: http://cherieyeo.blogspot.comMaple and Market gained a fair amount of hype when it opened a year ago. I've been a pretty loyal fan of the place as their prices are reasonable for pretty darn good cakes. Also, their location is perfect; a 5 minute walk away from Old Airport hawker center. This makes it so easy to grab some desert after a hearty meal. A couple months back, the team at Maple and Market revamped their menu and I am so glad that my favourite bake
更多
Visit my website for the full review: http://cherieyeo.blogspot.com

Maple and Market gained a fair amount of hype when it opened a year ago. I've been a pretty loyal fan of the place as their prices are reasonable for pretty darn good cakes. Also, their location is perfect; a 5 minute walk away from Old Airport hawker center. This makes it so easy to grab some desert after a hearty meal. 

A couple months back, the team at Maple and Market revamped their menu and I am so glad that my favourite bakery is now serving waffles!

For now, M&M serves Mixed Fruits and Caramelised Banana Waffles. Both priced at $9 each.

I've been disappointed with the supposedly "fantastic" waffles served at other famous cafes. Often, these cafes overcook their waffles and the result is a hard piece of biscuit. They would try to save the dish by jazzing up the waffles with some eye catching toppings but hey, we all taste with our mouths not our eyes. 

I'm glad to say that M&M did not let me down. They make one of the better (or maybe even best) waffle dishes in the whole cafe scene. I absolutely love how the exterior cracks open to reveal the steamy fluffy cooked waffle within. On the whole, the texture of the waffle is crispy and at the same time chewy. I ordered my waffles with caramelised bananas and walnuts and it's heavenly. The sweet bananas and nutty walnuts gives so much flavour to the plain waffle. Glaze a piece of waffle with the caramel sauce and layer it a banana and walnut. That my friends, is the taste of waffle heaven. The only complain that I have is that the caramel sauce is slightly too sweet.

This waffle dish will not get you 100+ likes on instagram but it will certainly make your stomach very happy. 

Buttermilk waffles topped with caramelised bananas and walnuts
32 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$15 (下午茶)
推介美食
Buttermilk waffles topped with caramelised bananas and walnuts
  • Waffles
等級4
Looking for some sweet treats after dinner at Old Airport Road Food Centre, we decided to pop by this cake shop just a street across, hidden at the bottom of a HDB block.Cafe with a whimsical touch, it was a small cosy space with less than 10 pax seating. Thankfully during our visit on a Friday night, there was just a corner seat left, though I must say it was quite a cramped place in general.Gula Melaka Cake ($5.50)with kaya cream cheese frosting and almondsTheir signature cake that was recomme
更多
Looking for some sweet treats after dinner at Old Airport Road Food Centre, we decided to pop by this cake shop just a street across, hidden at the bottom of a HDB block.
Cafe with a whimsical touch, it was a small cosy space with less than 10 pax seating. Thankfully during our visit on a Friday night, there was just a corner seat left, though I must say it was quite a cramped place in general.

Gula Melaka Cake ($5.50)
with kaya cream cheese frosting and almonds
30 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Gula Melaka Cake with kaya cream cheese frosting and almonds
60 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Their signature cake that was recommended, we like how the combination went perfectly well. Just lightly sweet with the fragrance of the coconut and gula melaka coming through, it was nicely paired, reminding me the lighter flavoured version of the ondeh ondeh cupcakes I've had at the now-defunct Preparazzi.
The flavours went well, though I found the cake too dense for my liking. I would have preferred a finer texture for the sponge, for that sharper contrast with the almond flakes and the gritty sweet bits in the middle.

Blossom ($5.50)
rose cake with raspberry cream cheese and caramelised pistachio
Blossom rose cake with raspberry cream cheese and caramelised pistachio
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Second bestseller, go for this if you're looking for a light flavour. I like how the rose was just subtle that it didn't taste overpoweringly artificial, well complemented with a sharper raspberry. The pistachio bits also added a nice contrasting texture, though there wasn't much of a roasted pistachio taste I was expecting.
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Decent cakes with good combinations, though I personally felt that the sponge bases were too dense for my liking. If you're planning on a visit, do note their closing hours too as they adhere strictly to that, turning off the music and turning away customers. We were also reminded of their closing hours when we placed our orders at about 8.40pm.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
484
3
2013-12-14 12 瀏覽
I had my lunch at Old Airport Road Food Centre and decided to come by this nearby cafe to takeaway some pastries! I really like the lovely yet rustic-chic decor of this cafe! Everything in the shop is so beautifully crafted/decorated and I would be super happy if there is one similar cafe around my HDB area! I tookaway the Maple Bacon cupcake and a slice of their signature cake, 1919. I feel that this cupcake will be pretty average without the bacon. The cupcake itself tasted dry and it is not
更多
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I had my lunch at Old Airport Road Food Centre and decided to come by this nearby cafe to takeaway some pastries! I really like the lovely yet rustic-chic decor of this cafe! Everything in the shop is so beautifully crafted/decorated and I would be super happy if there is one similar cafe around my HDB area! I tookaway the Maple Bacon cupcake and a slice of their signature cake, 1919.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I feel that this cupcake will be pretty average without the bacon. The cupcake itself tasted dry and it is not worth the price at all.
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
I love gula melaka, coconut and kaya cream cheese and the thought of all three flavours combined in the cake is enough to make me salivate!! Surprisingly, it is not too sweet and I find that it had an good balance of the gula melaka sponge cake together with the light kaya cream cheese topped with desiccated coconut. I will definitely be back to try their other cakes and perhaps coffee!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-10
推介美食
  • 1919
等級3
87
1
For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/03/maple-market-block-34-cassia-crescent/Opened along one of the HDB flats at Old Airport, the whitish exterior is sure to arouse people especially drivers (it is facing a T-junction)They even have baking lessons here! Half of the shop space is used for this purpose.The Cappuccino is thick and has the right amount of milk added.The Flat White is rather thick and has the right amount of milk added to it. I would prefer
更多
For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/03/maple-market-block-34-cassia-crescent/

Opened along one of the HDB flats at Old Airport, the whitish exterior is sure to arouse people especially drivers (it is facing a T-junction)
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
They even have baking lessons here! Half of the shop space is used for this purpose.
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Cappuccino is thick and has the right amount of milk added.
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Flat White is rather thick and has the right amount of milk added to it. I would prefer this over the Cappuccino for its milder use of espresso, yet maintaining its thickness of the coffee.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Blossom is a rose cake with raspberry cream cheese and caramelised pistachios, topped with a raspberry. Being one of their best sellers, this will not disappoint. The rose taste was rather mild tasting, although this was covered by the raspberry cream cheese, which tasted sweet and creamy. It is also rather soft.
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If you are around the Old Airport area, this place is a great and quiet alternative to get a cup of coffee.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-10
等級2
19
0
2013-11-12 1 瀏覽
For complete review and pictures, please visit: http://theyummyyak.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/maple-market/There are some places that you really want to like. I'd been an occasional reader of Sarah's Loft for about a year prior to her setting up Maple & Market, and the cakes baked by Sarah always looked so pretty. Her style, like her blog layout, is incredibly minimalistic and very Japanese-influenced. I believe she went on trips to Japan to hone her baking skills as well.Maple & Market isn't loca
更多
For complete review and pictures, please visit: http://theyummyyak.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/maple-market/

There are some places that you really want to like. I'd been an occasional reader of Sarah's Loft for about a year prior to her setting up Maple & Market, and the cakes baked by Sarah always looked so pretty. Her style, like her blog layout, is incredibly minimalistic and very Japanese-influenced. I believe she went on trips to Japan to hone her baking skills as well.

Maple & Market isn't located in an extremely convenient location for me, but the opportunity to visit it arose when we happened to be having lunch at the nearby Old Airport Road hawker centre. Its chic exterior stood out in stark contrast against the surrounding heartland area, and throughout the couple hours we spent at the cafe we saw numerous passers-by eye the cafe curiously.

Let's start with the good: The interior of the cafe, though capable of handling a dine-in crowd of 12 at best, had a clean yet rustic and homely vibe to it. Staff were pleasant and well-informed, and didn't hesitate at all with their answers when we quizzed them on the key components of each cake. It's a perfect setting to fritter the afternoon away. If you can secure a seat, yes.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Popcorn caramel cake, $6.50 per slice - I could barely mask my excitement at seeing the signature popcorn caramel cake on display. What a visually stunning piece of work. This was a vanilla cake covered with caramel cheese frosting, then topped with a drizzle of caramel and of course, caramel popcorn.

We attacked it with our forks and what followed was a period of prolonged silence where all of us tried to think of something polite to say. "I like the frosting!" chirped S, one of the nicest people I know. We nodded in agreement - the frosting was creamy, buttery and really quite delicious.

The cake, on the other hand, was unexpectedly dense. I'd thought it would have the airiness of Japanese cakes - y'know, all chiffony and stuff - but instead found myself eating what resembled a waterlogged, vanilla flavoured huat kueh. In terms of taste it wasn't bad, but texture-wise it was heavy and sticky. Also the popcorn was from Garrett's, and they were lao hong (soggy). I really wanted to like it, but I just couldn't.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Blossom, $5.50 per slice - We also had the Blossom, which was a rose cake frosted with raspberry cream cheese. In between the cake layers there are bits of raspberry and caramelised pistachios.

The rose water lent a wonderfully light floral scent to the cake, and the raspberry cream cheese frosting was excellent. However, the texture of the cake itself suffered from the same flaw as that of the popcorn caramel cake, save that this huat kueh was rose flavoured.

We had flavoured iced teas to go with our cakes, so no reviews on the coffee here. Their brews are from Nylon Coffee Roasters.

As I've said multiple times I really wanted to recommend this place, but in all honesty this was quite a disappointing experience. Other blog reviews on Maple & Market are largely positive though, which makes me hesitant to write off this place as a no-go. I'm such a wuss. Hopefully my next encounter with Maple & Market will be a better one.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
68
0
For more pictures and reviews, visit www.ms-skinnyfat.comM&M is by no means indie. There isn't a need for that. Instead, they are comfortable being simple and homey as evidenced by the bare-bones furnishing; a long wooden table with an assortment of mismatched stools was all to the 'cafe'. To set your expectations right, it's not a place for chilling out for long.M&M offers a variety of cakes and pastries.Their butter croissants looked a little deflated imo but popular enough for aunties
更多
For more pictures and reviews, visit www.ms-skinnyfat.com

M&M is by no means indie. There isn't a need for that. Instead, they are comfortable being simple and homey as evidenced by the bare-bones furnishing; a long wooden table with an assortment of mismatched stools was all to the 'cafe'. To set your expectations right, it's not a place for chilling out for long.

M&M offers a variety of cakes and pastries.

Their butter croissants looked a little deflated imo but popular enough for aunties to come by regularly to grab some for what i presume is breakfast for their kids. For $1.80, i guess this is reasonable quality. Their pastries are also on the lower price point, ranging from $2 to $3.

My $4 latte was strong and decent enough. It was a good complement to the 1919, a Gula Melaka cake with kaya cream cheese frosting and almonds ($5.50). I like cakes that are moist (who doesn't) but i took to this grainy porous one, though i agree that it could be less dry. The kaya cream cheese wasn't overpowering like the traditional coconut jam, instead it was a little more pandan. I would have loved it better if the frosting were creamier and less separated from the sponge. We had the cake a second time for a birthday celebration and that's when i was more aware about how dry the cake was. :/

Baking classes are available and they do teach you how to make pretty things. Not a bad way to keep the ladies in the neighborhood occupied.

Maple & Market makes the cut as a neighborhood cafe. I wouldn't mind popping by if i'm in the area but it's not quite worth the traveling for.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-09-21 2 瀏覽
Lately I had have a liking with having cakes or bread. Bakeries that strictly serve bread, cakes or pastries along with coffee seemed to excite me so much I was just dying to visit them. So when I realised how near Brawn & Brains was to Maple & Market, I decided to check them out on the way as well.The Tofu Cheesecake was pretty rich and creamy with a distinctive cheesecake taste yet being light at it, which made it seemed pretty outstanding from other Tofu Cheesecakes that I had that tasted a t
更多
Lately I had have a liking with having cakes or bread. Bakeries that strictly serve bread, cakes or pastries along with coffee seemed to excite me so much I was just dying to visit them. So when I realised how near Brawn & Brains was to Maple & Market, I decided to check them out on the way as well.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Tofu Cheesecake was pretty rich and creamy with a distinctive cheesecake taste yet being light at it, which made it seemed pretty outstanding from other Tofu Cheesecakes that I had that tasted a tad fake and artificial. I loved the crushed biscuit crust on the bottom which gave it a crunchy bite at the bottom as well. Definitely a viable healthy option compared to the usual cheesecake as it would be less health-damaging.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love bacon so much I cannot resist not having the Maple & Bacon, which is like an egg cake with butter, roasted almond and caramalised bacon sitting on top. The caramalised bacon tasted much like bak kwa, but otherwise it looked like a pretty good breakfast-inspired item, like pancakes with butter and bacon served all together in compact form. Pretty decent!

For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/maple-market-cassia-crescent/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級2
22
0
I’ve read Sarah’s blog in the past and drooled over all her wonderful cakes and pastries from behind my laptop screen. For my birthday last year, I tried getting a cake from her but to no avail (yes, she’s very popular). The good news is, she has opened up her very own bakery shop near me! Just 2 months old, Maple & Market has gained lots of great reviews and shot to fame overnight. The old, monotonous neighbourhood is suddenly injected with youthful vibes and lots of sugar. Indeed, the cafe is
更多
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I’ve read Sarah’s blog in the past and drooled over all her wonderful cakes and pastries from behind my laptop screen. For my birthday last year, I tried getting a cake from her but to no avail (yes, she’s very popular). The good news is, she has opened up her very own bakery shop near me! Just 2 months old, Maple & Market has gained lots of great reviews and shot to fame overnight. The old, monotonous neighbourhood is suddenly injected with youthful vibes and lots of sugar. Indeed, the cafe is everything I wanted of if I ever opened one of my own (but nah, I don’t bake).

Maple & Market offers very affordable pastries and all of them look too good to be missed. Though not all cakes may please my tastebuds, the charm and allure of this little cafe really draws me to come back here again.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://foodiepink.wordpress.com/2013/09/06/maple-market-cassia-crescent/

Enjoy
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-24
人均消費
$10
等級3
48
0
2013-08-24 17 瀏覽
Ordered a cake from maple and market at somewhere in geylang. Weren't too many people at the place when i went. The cake was good, chunky and big enough (good portion to share for couples actually). The glazing was sweet but too overbearing and the sponge part was nice enough. Worth a try and will definitely go back to try other flavours of theirs. The price is acceptable as well.
更多
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ordered a cake from maple and market at somewhere in geylang. Weren't too many people at the place when i went. The cake was good, chunky and big enough (good portion to share for couples actually). The glazing was sweet but too overbearing and the sponge part was nice enough. Worth a try and will definitely go back to try other flavours of theirs. The price is acceptable as well.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-24
人均消費
$8 (其他)
等級4
237
0
2013-07-25 19 瀏覽
Maple and Market is really a very small bakery shop that happens to have two tables for dining in, so don't be too fussy about the lack of seating. The cakes itself however very much takes the cake. Excellent. The 1919, which costs around $5 per slice, is a gula melaka flavoured cake that has coconut shavings and almond brittle between the layers. One bite and you will be in cake heaven as the gula melaka simply melts in the mouth. Excellent.
更多
Maple and Market is really a very small bakery shop that happens to have two tables for dining in, so don't be too fussy about the lack of seating. The cakes itself however very much takes the cake. Excellent. The 1919, which costs around $5 per slice, is a gula melaka flavoured cake that has coconut shavings and almond brittle between the layers. One bite and you will be in cake heaven as the gula melaka simply melts in the mouth. Excellent.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
34
2
2013-05-27 4 瀏覽
Maple & Market is a bakery opened by blogger Sarah. I've seen lots of her bakes around on Instagram and have always wanted to tried it. So I made a trip down to her shop on the second day after her opening.The shop is a small and cosy one, with two communal tables for visitors to hang around. As stated by her, "Maple & Market is not a cafe...you could call it a cake shop or a bakery that has some seating available. However, that's not all that we do... which is why I keep calling it "my shop"."T
更多
Maple & Market is a bakery opened by blogger Sarah. I've seen lots of her bakes around on Instagram and have always wanted to tried it. So I made a trip down to her shop on the second day after her opening.

The shop is a small and cosy one, with two communal tables for visitors to hang around. As stated by her, "Maple & Market is not a cafe...you could call it a cake shop or a bakery that has some seating available. However, that's not all that we do... which is why I keep calling it "my shop"."

The Blueberry and Lemon loaf ($2.80) was delightful. Soft and moist with fresh berries packed inside. It was a little sweet on its own but it goes really well with the Iced Mocha ($5.50) that I ordered. The mocha was lacking in the chocolate taste and tasted more like a latte. But the barista has kindly came over to asked for my opinion and mentioned that they are still in the midst of fine-tuning. Nonetheless, I honestly wasn't expecting much from the coffee here, but it sure surprised me.

On my second visit (yes, I returned two days later
), I tried the 1919 ($5.50). It is a gula melaka cake with kaya cream cheese frosting and almond brittle between the layers and toasted almond slices on the side. There were finely grated coconut shavings on the top as well which made the cake really fragrant. This time round, I ordered a hot latte to go with it and I enjoyed every bit of my tea break. The cake was moist and not too sweet, considering there's gula melaka and kaya inside. I thought it was really special as I've never tried such a cake before. Thumbs up for that!

They have different selection of cakes and savouries on both days I visited so I'm pretty sure there will be something that you'll like. I really love this space for now as most of the customers are those living nearby - very unpretentious.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$10 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • 1919