7
5
5
等級4
2015-11-11 72 瀏覽
For more food reviews, visit www.umakemehungry.comMissing some Bangkok Street Food? It's time to curb your craving now without flying all the way into Thailand. With the new and revamped menu that was launched lately by Nara Thai Cuisine, it will definitely change your Thai Cuisine Experience here.Having said that, my last experience in Nara Thai ION Orchard was about 1.5 years back and this now, the place was still well kept in its elegance decor. Kai Jiew Cha Om - Cha Om Omelette contains a he
更多
For more food reviews, visit www.umakemehungry.com

Missing some Bangkok Street Food? It's time to curb your craving now without flying all the way into Thailand. With the new and revamped menu that was launched lately by Nara Thai Cuisine, it will definitely change your Thai Cuisine Experience here.

Having said that, my last experience in Nara Thai ION Orchard was about 1.5 years back and this now, the place was still well kept in its elegance decor.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kai Jiew Cha Om - Cha Om Omelette contains a herb (Acacia) like vegetables with a very strong and unpleasant smell when it is cooked. Having this plate of omelette was really a good kick off as it made us feel so at home with such mummy style cooking dish. Surprisingly, even the herbs smell may be smelly for some or even close the smell of Petai, there was slightly any trace of pungent in it.Instead these herbs give the egg a crunchy bite and it goes well with the chilli dipping sauce.
Kai Jiew Cha Om - $12.90
$12.9
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If you notice Gai Tord Gra Tiem (Crispy Fried Chicken with Garlic) uses small Thai garlic chopped into finer pieces together with its skin. Plate of tender and crispy fried chicken was given additional fragrance with this. For additional flavours, dip them into the Chilli Dipping sauce.
Gai Tord Gra Tiem
$10.9
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The star of the night is none other than this appetiser. Moo Yang Jim Jaew are barbecued pork neck . Containing 50% of fat and 50% tendon, these slices were lightly seasoned and grilled into its smokey condition. They were wonderful bites without being too greasy and made a fantastic marriage with the Tamarind Dip. On a side note, the dip was made with Thai Ingredients and herbs too. If you notice, the sauce was topped with some chilli-like powder. In fact they were made from sticky rice and larb, grinded into powder form. You can find this ingredients in most Thai dishes like their salad too.
Moo Yang Jim Jaew
$13.9
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Blue is my favourite color and how awesome to have a plate of Kao An Chan (Blue Jasmine Rice) right in front of my eyes. How do we get the blue coloring? Blue was obtained naturally from Butterfly Pea plant, also it has health benefits like high in antioxident, good for eyesight and of course for those who want to stay young, eat more Kao (Rice)!
Kao An Chan
$2
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Ruam Mit Talay Yang is a platter filled with seafood goodies featuring Bangkok Street food, bringing out the flavours of Bangkok street food, perhaps the only difference here is without the dust from the streets. Though the platter is expensive, it is good for group sharing. Individual Food Items can also be bought separately from the menu too.
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$88.9
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ensuring the freshness, the Seabass was chosen by their own chef at Jurong Fishery Port during the wee hours when we were all deep in sleep. This Street Style Grilled whole sea Bass with Thai Herbs was stuffed with lemongrass, kaffir lime and galangal, and slowed grilled to its flaky skin
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$88.9
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Other assortments of seafood were fresh too. Enjoy them to the fullest by dabbing them with the given Thai condiments.
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$88.9
22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Scrumptious meal ended well with Ma Muang Khara Mel, Caramelised Mango with Coconut Ice Cream and Basil Sauce. This comtemporary creation was amazing and managed to get some nods from the table. Apart from that, the Thai Mango was sweet and the fusion of Basil Sauce gave a perfect finished to the dessert!
Ma Muang Khara Mel
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Nara Thai may be a tad expensive in its Cuisine as compared to the usual restaurant chains but I would say their food are of quality and worth the try. If you want to try Thai Street food in an air conditioned environment and comfortable settings with service from staff, you will find Nara Thai's New Menu as an good introduction on Thai Food / Culture to Singapore.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐時段
晚餐
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Kai Jiew Cha Om - $12.90
$ 12.9
Gai Tord Gra Tiem
$ 10.9
Moo Yang Jim Jaew
$ 13.9
Kao An Chan
$ 2
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$ 88.9
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$ 88.9
Ma Muang Khara Mel
等級4
2015-05-28 126 瀏覽
Nara Thai is a well known chain of thai cuisine restaurants in Bangkok. Its first outlet is opened in Erawan, Bangkok in 2006 by Yuki Srikarnchana, bringing Thai street food into air-conditioned restaurant. In September 2013, it expands to Singapore with an outlet in ION Orchard and follows by another outlet in Westgate mall, and also an authentic Thai catering arm, Nara Thai Fine Banquets.Recently the restaurant has launched a new and refreshed menu with additional dishes inspired by Bangkok’s
更多
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Nara Thai is a well known chain of thai cuisine restaurants in Bangkok. Its first outlet is opened in Erawan, Bangkok in 2006 by Yuki Srikarnchana, bringing Thai street food into air-conditioned restaurant. In September 2013, it expands to Singapore with an outlet in ION Orchard and follows by another outlet in Westgate mall, and also an authentic Thai catering arm, Nara Thai Fine Banquets.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Recently the restaurant has launched a new and refreshed menu with additional dishes inspired by Bangkok’s famed grilled street food. There is 15 new dishes in the new menu for to try out. Tonight I am lucky to get to try out some of these new dishes.
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
$88.9
13 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
Ruam Mit Talay Yang
($88.90++)
Assorted Grilled Seafood Platter, serves 2-3 paxs
It consists of

Pla Kra Pong Yang ($32.90++)
Street-Style Grilled Whole Sea Bass with Thai Herbs
The sea bass is stuffed with lemongrass stick, kaffir lime and glangal, then slow-cooked on the grill. The result is a tender, aromatic flesh with a crispy smoky skin.

Kung Yang ($28.90++)
Barbecued Black Pepper Tiger Prawns
The butterflied tiger prawns are place on the grill with a generous coat of crushed black peppercorns and minced garlic.

Pla Muk Yang Jim Sauce ($16.90++)
Street-Style Grilled Squid with Chili Lime Sauce

, skewered scallops, and mussels with chilli lime sauce, served with Nam Jim Seafood Sauce (a tangy blend of Thai-sourced ingredients - coriander, lemongrass, fish sauce, galangal, kaffir lime and Thai palm sugar).
Huge serving which is great for sharing. The seafood is fresh and juicy, just have simply have it with the spicy and tangy dips.
Gai Tord Gra Tiem
$10.9
15 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Gai Tord Gra Tiem
($10.90++)
Crispy Fried Chicken with Garlic
The skin of the chicken is crispy while inside the meat is tender. Topped with the crispy minced garlic, it is a hit with everyone. Served with sweet chilli sauce.
Neam Moo
$13.9
19 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Neam Moo
($13.90++)
Barbecued Fermented Sour Pork Sausage
The sausage is stuffed in-house, grilled, and served with ginger slices, coriander and bird’s eye chilli.
It looks similar to the Taiwan sausage but with a hint of sour taste which not everyone take to it.
Moo Yang Jim Jaew
$13.9
14 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Moo Yang Jim Jaew
($13.90++)
Barbecued Pork Neck with Tamarind Dip
Pork neck is used here as it is a favoured cut of Thais - slices of pork with a perfect balance of fat, muscle and tender flesh.
Although the strips of meat looks fatty, it does not taste jelat and goes quite well with the spicy and sour dip. Interestingly the dip is topped with finely minced rice.
Kai Jiew Cha Om
$12.9
17 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Kai Jiew Cha Om
($12.90++)
Cha Om Omelette
Cha Om ชะอม is a shrub, also known as Climbing wattle and is common is south east asia. It tastes quite nice with the chilli sauce served with it. It is eating crunchy greens in omelette form.
Kao An Chan
$2
18 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Kao An Chan
($2++)
Blue Jasmine Rice
It is interesting have plain rice that have been dyed with blue jasmine. Kind of unusual.
Ma Muang Khara Mel
$7.9
11 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Ma Muang Khara Mel
($7.90++)
Caramelised Mango with Coconut Ice Cream and Basil Sauce
The mango is juicy and sweet, while the coconut ice cream is smooth and refreshing. The refreshing basil sauce provides a balance to the sweetness but not overwhelming. Interesting usage of basil here especially when one tends to associate it with savoury food.

Overall it is interesting to know that Thai cuisine is not just only spicy and sour food such as Tom Yam Kung. There is a lot of choices available for those who do not take spicy food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-05-27
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
等級3
61
12
2014-11-20 151 瀏覽
Nara Thai is located at basement 3 of Ion Orchard. It has gained a reputation in Thailand for bringing Thai street food to a restaurant setting. Here, the flavours are more suitable for the international palate, with healthier versions of the Thai street food we know. The restaurant caters to the middle-upper class in Thailand and the menu is extensive, offering a wide range.The restaurant has a casual Thai dining feel, but prices are far from that. For one thing, the drinks are overpriced (Thai
更多
Nara Thai is located at basement 3 of Ion Orchard. It has gained a reputation in Thailand for bringing Thai street food to a restaurant setting. Here, the flavours are more suitable for the international palate, with healthier versions of the Thai street food we know. The restaurant caters to the middle-upper class in Thailand and the menu is extensive, offering a wide range.

The restaurant has a casual Thai dining feel, but prices are far from that. For one thing, the drinks are overpriced (Thai Iced Milk Tea at $5.90), so it is definitely not worth it to order, even more so since it is nothing impressive. I could get the same elsewhere and better for cheaper. Stick to the plain water served.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pad Thai with Prawns ($15.90)

A must-try for me at any Thai restaurant would be Pad Thai, as it is a dish that you can judge culinary standards by, since it is so iconic and common an offering. The accompanying prawns here were succulent and fresh. However, I found the Pad Thai a little too sweet and mild in flavour for my liking, neither was there any lingering fragrance after eating. Easily forgettable. Portion-wise, the restaurant was most generous with this dish.
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Fried Soft Shell Crab with Sweet Tamarind Sauce ($16.90)

It was surprising to see this on the menu, as I associate soft shell crab with Japanese menus. This dish turned out to be one of the best of the night. The soft shell crab was fried to the right level of crispness, not losing the moisture inside. The sweet tamarind sauce also complemented it, and the combination was not overwhelmingly sweet when eaten with rice.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried Squid in salted egg yolk sauce ($13.90)

The squid was cooked really well, retaining its springiness and not tough at all, as squids will be when overcooked. However, there was more salted egg than squid for this dish, and the portion size was small. The salted egg also came in sizable chunks, and it was hard to distinguish the egg from the squid. I bit on this entire salted egg chunk and nearly gagged from the saltiness of it.
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Green Curry Chicken ($13.90)

The green curry was good, but again, the portion size was very small. The curry hit the right thickness and flavor, but the chicken meat inside was unimpressive as it was all chicken breast meat, which made it slightly tough to chew and dry.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried Taro and Bean Curd ($8.90)

Don't be fooled by the humbleness of this. The fried taro is exceptional. It is very very crisp and light, and biting into it was delightful- the crispiness coupled with the taro flavour. My favourite of the night.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Red rubies in coconut milk ($6.90)

We rounded off the meal with the dessert, Tub Tim Grob (Red Rubies in Coconut milk). As with all Thai desserts, this came very sweet, and again, nothing overwhelming,

Amazingly (or shockingly), our bill for the night came to $115 for 4 people, which is exorbitant considering the portion sizes. The rice ('Jasmine Fragrant Rice') is priced at $2.50 per bowl, which is very very expensive. I would go back for the select few dishes that impressed, but definitely, I will be skipping out on the milk tea. Better value and food of equal if not better quality can be found at the likes of Aloy Thai and Zenso.

For the full review, go to herpenandfork.blogspot.sg
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-10-21 145 瀏覽
For original review, please refer to http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/05/sg-nara-thai-dismal-attempt-at-thai.htmlPost-hype period of Nara Thai, we were quite surprised to find ourselves getting comfy seats right upon reaching. It was only about 60% occupied when we reached at about 8.30pm.While we've heard good reviews, we decided not to set our expectations high especially with an average visit to their BKK flagship store.To prevent customers like me asking for recommendations all the
更多
For original review, please refer to http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/05/sg-nara-thai-dismal-attempt-at-thai.html

Post-hype period of Nara Thai, we were quite surprised to find ourselves getting comfy seats right upon reaching. It was only about 60% occupied when we reached at about 8.30pm.
While we've heard good reviews, we decided not to set our expectations high especially with an average visit to their BKK flagship store.
To prevent customers like me asking for recommendations all the time, they've placed all their chef's recommended dishes onto the first page and this caught our eye for a refreshing appetiser.

Pomelo Salad (S$13.90)
Pomelo Salad ($13.90)
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

This was an explosion of sour, savoury and sweetness combined. We didn't quite like the combination of fried onions coating the pomelo. The cashew nuts helped add a dimension of texture to it, though all these, tasted better while separated.

Thai Herbs Fried Rice ($10.90)
Thai Herbs Fried Rice ($10.90)
28 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
While captivated by its unique colour making it photogenic, its taste was a huge letdown. Lacking the herbs infusion, it seemed like just coloured steam plain rice we were having.

Green Curry Chicken ($13.90)
Green Curry Chicken ($13.90)
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Finally a decent one, this was flavourful enough with tender soft chicken cubes. I would have personally preferred it to be less milky, though it's a good one for those who's unable to take very spicy food.

Pad Thai with Soft Shell Crab ($15.90)
Pad Thai with Soft Shell Crab ($15.90)
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A classic for any thai meal, this was quite a disappointing one. Lacking the spice and flavours, and with the noodles too wet, we ended up asking for chilli flakes and mixing it in ourselves to adjust to the right taste.
Overall taste was quite a disappointment, making us crave for Ah Loy Thai instead for some cheaper and better alternative. Service was lacking as well, with several blind spots with its enclosed seating area, and while they'd forgotten our order of Tom Yum Soup, we'd decided to give it a miss given our dining experience.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
推介美食
Green Curry Chicken ($13.90)
等級4
230
4
2014-09-25 159 瀏覽
Had pleasant dining experience at Nara Restaurants in Bangkok and Singapore but this visit made me decided to boycott this Nara outlet for good. The restaurant was busy when we visited at lunch but it was certainly not understaffed. So there was no excuse for the lack of hospitable service usually extended to customers at Thai restaurants. We had to ask twice before we were served iced water and when we asked for chilli sauce and sliced chilli padi the  waiter brought the condiments without prov
更多
16 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
21 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Had pleasant dining experience at Nara Restaurants in Bangkok and Singapore but this visit made me decided to boycott this Nara outlet for good. The restaurant was busy when we visited at lunch but it was certainly not understaffed. So there was no excuse for the lack of hospitable service usually extended to customers at Thai restaurants. We had to ask twice before we were served iced water and when we asked for chilli sauce and sliced chilli padi the  waiter brought the condiments without providing any saucers. Always ready to put up with crappy service if the food is good, we remained in good spirits but we're let down huge time.

The set lunch remains at $13.90++ but now does not come with soup or salad and a choice of beverage. A scoop of mango salad or pomelo salad for $3.90++ and a scoop of ice cream for the same add on price. Here is their signature Nara Thai Boat Noodles (see self explanatory photo) which was served with a deep fried chicken wing hacked into four pieces. If Nara Ion had a change of chef or the recipe for the dish that made the restaurant famous had recently been tweaked, it was a change for the worse. The soup was clear and tasteless. The pork balls were replaced by frozen fish balls that had a faint fishy smell. The minced pork had not been marinated, was overcooked and appeared as unappetizing clumps. Even fishball bak cho mee from a hawker stall or cooked by China staff at a food court looks and tastes better than what I was served at Nara Ion. I will leave it to my makan kaki to review his set lunch of Thai fried rice and his side order of pomelo salad. The side dishes are not worth the trouble, neither was the so called Boat Noodles that I was served that weekday.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-23
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
等級4
2014-06-23 304 瀏覽
The Thai Restaurant is well-known in Thailand for its boat noodles and authentic Thai dishes. My first time experiencing Thai afternoon tea set and apparently Nara Thai has just launched Erawan Afternoon tea set not long ago. Erawan Afternoon Tea Set S$12.99 ++ per pax inclusive of a cup of tea or coffee available from 2.30pm t0 5.30pm daily. It’s my first time hearing about Thai high tea set.Top Level:Fruits Skewer l Mango with Sticky Rice l Thong Muan (Coconut Wafer Rolls)Middle Level:Kanom Bu
更多
The Thai Restaurant is well-known in Thailand for its boat noodles and authentic Thai dishes. My first time experiencing Thai afternoon tea set and apparently Nara Thai has just launched Erawan Afternoon tea set not long ago. Erawan Afternoon Tea Set S$12.99 ++ per pax inclusive of a cup of tea or coffee available from 2.30pm t0 5.30pm daily. It’s my first time hearing about Thai high tea set.
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Erawan High Tea Set
46 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Erawan High Tea Set
41 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Erawan High Tea Set
33 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Top Level:
Fruits Skewer l Mango with Sticky Rice l Thong Muan (Coconut Wafer Rolls)
Middle Level:
Kanom Bueng (Thai Crispy Pancakes) l Look Choop (Sweet Bean Paste in Fruit Shapes) l Tha Koh ( Thai Coconut Pudding l Woon Ma Praow (Agar and Coconut Jelly)
Bottom Level:
Sakoo (Tapioca dumpling with Chicken Filling) l Chicken Satay l Ma Hor (minced Pork and l Peanuts on Fresh Pineapple) l Toong Tong (Thai Golden Bag)
With the price offered here, the selection is quite generous as you are able to try many different types of Thai foods at one time. I personally love the mango sweetness with sticky rice and the crispy pancakes. The coconut pudding and agar are very flavour and firm. Loving the mini size portion of the servings as I can get to try every single one without feeling guilty of over-eat. If you are craving for Thai cuisine and greedy having varieties lay on the table, I would recommend you to give a try on their high tea set here.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-06-11
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
用餐時段
下午茶
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Erawan High Tea Set
等級4
2014-02-20 268 瀏覽
I would hardly say no to Thai Food, my friends around me also display no hesitation in eating such irresistible indulgence. Nara Thai came Singapore, brought the great Thai Street Cuisine into a cozy restaurant for diners to enjoy in air-conditioned ease. Popularity proven its favourable image, location was currently situated at hidden corner of Ion Orchard. Menu was basically separated by Food and Beverages, available in Ala-carte or set. We decided to order several dishes and shared among us,
更多
I would hardly say no to Thai Food, my friends around me also display no hesitation in eating such irresistible indulgence. Nara Thai came Singapore, brought the great Thai Street Cuisine into a cozy restaurant for diners to enjoy in air-conditioned ease. Popularity proven its favourable image, location was currently situated at hidden corner of Ion Orchard. Menu was basically separated by Food and Beverages, available in Ala-carte or set. We decided to order several dishes and shared among us, better way to try out more variety.
40 瀏覽
0 讚好
1 留言
Appetizer was crispy well-marinated chicken with thinly lemongrass and dried chilli, simple golden brown presentation. Deep-fried boneless chicken was a crunchy bite, each piece was lightly battered. Too bad, portion was small for $12.90.
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Green Curry was the must-try dish, price at $13.90. Savoury broth was full of spices, chicken was tender juicy. Delectable dish of flavourful pairing, it was best eaten with warm jasmine white rice.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Platter included Pandan Chicken, Satay, Fish Cake and little Pomelo Salad, the taste was above average. But if you ask me, this dish did not justify the steep price at $17.90.
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stir-fried Phad Thai was the other signature dish, I opted for flat transparent noodles for extra chewiness. Nothing too special, the taste was all right and salty for my liking. The price was 14.90, acceptable and not too expensive. Talking about the atmosphere, the décor was in elegant royal purple with modern Thai-style furniture. We enjoyed our time having dinner at there, absolute middle-upper class of environment and service.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-12
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Gai Khua Ta Krai
  • Kaeng Kiew Wan
  • Phad Kee Mao Kung
等級4
484
3
2014-01-29 175 瀏覽
Thai Iced tea is a must order whenever I dine in at a Thai restaurant! I like that the one here is really authentic with just the right amount of milk, sugar and thai tea leaves As this is our first time here, we decided to follow the Chef's recommendation on the menu and ordered their Kuay Tiew Rua served in soup with beef. There is also an option to have it dry and pork instead of beef. I like the soft slippery boat noodles and tender beef slices! The soup is full of flavour as well Another
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Thai Iced tea is a must order whenever I dine in at a Thai restaurant! I like that the one here is really authentic with just the right amount of milk, sugar and thai tea leaves
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As this is our first time here, we decided to follow the Chef's recommendation on the menu and ordered their Kuay Tiew Rua served in soup with beef. There is also an option to have it dry and pork instead of beef. I like the soft slippery boat noodles and tender beef slices! The soup is full of flavour as well
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another recommended item is the Hors d'oeuvre Nara, which is a platter mixture of Pandan Chicken, Fish Cakes, Bbq Chicken and Pomelo Prawn salad! All the ingredients were good especially the pandan chicken!
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ending off our dinner with dessert, we ordered the I-Thim Nara, which is essentially Coconut icecream served with various condiments. I was stunned to see the staff carrying a huge tray to our table! I had a fun time designing my own coconut icecream and they were really generous with the amount of toppings!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-01-22
推介美食
  • Thai Iced Tea
  • Kuay Tiew Rua
  • Hors d'oeuvre Nara
  • Coconut Icecream
等級4
2013-12-17 126 瀏覽
Thai cuisine is so popular in Singapore that recently many popular restaurants from Thailand has opened overseas outlets here. Nara Thai Cuisine was voted as Thailand's best restaurants from 2007 till 2013. There were many features on Nara Thai too. Not too long ago, I had seen a magazine write-up on the 50 must-eat food in Singapore (whut), one of which was Nara Thai's yellow curry soft shell crab. As an avid lover of Thai food and after reading that article, I decided to waste no more time to
更多
Thai cuisine is so popular in Singapore that recently many popular restaurants from Thailand has opened overseas outlets here.

Nara Thai Cuisine was voted as Thailand's best restaurants from 2007 till 2013. There were many features on Nara Thai too. Not too long ago, I had seen a magazine write-up on the 50 must-eat food in Singapore (whut), one of which was Nara Thai's yellow curry soft shell crab. As an avid lover of Thai food and after reading that article, I decided to waste no more time to try out Nara Thai.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
At first glance, this looks like a posh restaurant relative to the other restaurants on that level. However, we were seated near the kitchen area where there was a section dedicated to collector cart trolleys which was not very sightly and did not quite fit in with the classy look that the restaurant was going for.

The food that Nara Thai has to offer is not very extensive, but enough to capture the focus of authentic Thai cuisine.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Thai Iced Tea $5+?
This was really good! Most thai iced tea that I have tried are quite sweet but the level of sweetness for this was just right for me. It was also distinctly Thai in taste, making me want to have more with every sip.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Deep fried chicken in traditional thai shrimp paste $9.90
They could have done a better job at cleaning the plate before serving this to us. There were only a few small pieces of chicken that barely filled up half of the plate. The taste of the chicken was good though. They were well marinated in the thai shrimp paste and chicken was quite tender. The powdery condiment (not sure what it was) served separately at the side did not go well with the chicken and had a really weird taste.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stir-fried Soft Shell Crab with Yellow Curry $18.90
Here's the dish that we were looking forward to because it was (claimed) to be the top 50 food items you must try in Singapore as mentioned above. The yellow curry was barely warm and it was not very nice to eat after it turned cold halfway through our meal. There was nothing fanciful about the soft shell crab but I am guessing that the yellow curry would have tasted really good if it was served hot. The taste of the curry was rich and sweet and could easily go well with white rice ($2).
18 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Tom Yum Kung $19.90
There were only 2 big prawns and 1 mushroom in it. I don't think I will be willing to pay for a small pot of tom yum soup with only 2 king prawns and a small mushroom for such a price. The spiciness was there but there was nothing fantastic about the taste. It was too milky for my liking. The best part of the soup was that the prawns were really big and fresh and the superb freshness of the prawns lingered in the soup. They certainly can do better by offering more (at least 2 mushrooms hah) at such a price.

Overall, the portions were too stingy and the taste of the food did not quite justify for the hefty price. I understand that they are located in a prime location like Ion and they certainly have to mark up the prices to cover for rental costs and other expenses. I am willing to pay a premium for good food but I don't think Nara Thai is worth the money.

Visit http://rachelays.blogspot.com for more food reviews
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
45
0
Good international restaurants are meant to be shared. One such place is Thailand’s Nara Thai, which was founded by Yuki Srikarnchana back in 2006. With a simple goal of sharing authentic Thai street food in a more comfortable setting, the concept was quickly picked up by foodies and later on grew to become a popular chain in Bangkok. It has also consistently appeared in Thailand Tatler’s Best Restaurants List since 2007. Having established itself as one of the best Thai restaurants, it was only
更多
Good international restaurants are meant to be shared. One such place is Thailand’s Nara Thai, which was founded by Yuki Srikarnchana back in 2006. With a simple goal of sharing authentic Thai street food in a more comfortable setting, the concept was quickly picked up by foodies and later on grew to become a popular chain in Bangkok. It has also consistently appeared in Thailand Tatler’s Best Restaurants List since 2007.

Having established itself as one of the best Thai restaurants, it was only natural for Nara Thai to expand overseas. Backed up by managing partners John Wangwanitkul, Christopher Tan, Director Alex Ye, and other local investors, the restaurant has finally made it to Singapore with the first outlet opening on 12 September 2013. Occupying a nook at ION Orchard's B3 level, Nara Thai evokes the same look and feel as all its other restaurants in Bangkok.

Nara Thai brings to Singapore authentic dishes which has made it so popular in its country. For appetisers, you can’t go wrong with the Hors d’oeuvre Nara, which consists of Tord Mun Pla (Thai fish cakes) topped with peanuts, Gai Hor Bai Toei (Pandan Chicken), Satay Gai (Barbequed Chicken in Turmeric and Coconut Milk Marinade), and Yum Som O (Pomelo Salad). With just one order, there’s already a bit of everything for sampling: a spicy but refreshing salad, nutty satay; and sweet and juicy chicken. Have these with other nibbles such as the Kao Tang Na Tang(Rice Crackers) and the Pla Kung (hot and spicy salad with Thai herbs).

For more items, check out the full article:
http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/article/detail.htm?article_id=738
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-11-12 67 瀏覽
I was chosen as the winner of the Grand Prize in their recent Facebook contest conducted to celebrate their Grand Opening in September 2013. This Grand Prize is a meal for 4 pax. I wanted to make a reservation on a Saturday to claim it but i was told reservation is only allowed from Monday to Thursday. I was encouraged to walk-in during weekends. I went early with my friends on that day. I presented my letter and it was then shown to the Duty Manager before we were ushered to our table. The rest
更多
I was chosen as the winner of the Grand Prize in their recent Facebook contest conducted to celebrate their Grand Opening in September 2013. This Grand Prize is a meal for 4 pax. I wanted to make a reservation on a Saturday to claim it but i was told reservation is only allowed from Monday to Thursday. I was encouraged to walk-in during weekends.

I went early with my friends on that day. I presented my letter and it was then shown to the Duty Manager before we were ushered to our table. The restaurant has got a classy and cosy ambiance. We were presented with menus quickly. The menu offers an extensive selection of different types of Thai Cuisines. And, the best way to make decision on what to order might be to follow the illustration given and referred to the attached picture to each dish.

We were told to order 4 drinks, 4 appetizers, 4 main courses and 4 desserts. For a start, we decided to order 3 glasses of Lemon Glass Juice ($6.50 each) and a glass of Thai Iced Tea ($5.90). Then, we selected Pandan Chicken ($12.90), Fried Squid ($13.90), Barbequed Chicken in Thai Style Marinade ($9.90) and Deep-fried Minced Prawns in Spring Roll Sheet ($10.90). We decided to have Stir-fried Soft Shell in Yellow Curry ($18.90), Fried Prawns with Sweet Tamarind Sauce ($28.90), Green Curry with Beef ($13.90) and Grilled Duck with Crispy Hot Basil ($18.90). We wanted 2 servings of Coconut Ice-cream with Assorted Thai Sweet Condiments ($8.80 each), Mango Sticky Rice with Coconut Milk ($6.80) and Red Ruby in Coconut Milk & Crushed Ice ($6.80) as desserts.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Lemon Glass Juice ($6.50) and Thai Iced Tea ($5.90). The refreshing Lemon Glass Juice is simply irresistible. Friend commented it was one of the better ones that she ever tasted. The taste of Lemon Grass was not overpowering but rather soothing.

The Thai Iced Tea is definitely another good choice. I overheard the Service Staff telling the customers seated at the next table. He said, their Thai Iced Tea is very authentic and it is a definite must try. I took a sip quickly when it was served. It was nicely sweetened with a comforting fragrance.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pandan Chicken ($12.90). This was the appetizer that we enjoyed the most. The marinated chicken pieces were wrapped in pandan leaf then deep-fried to give it the nice pandan flavor. The chunky pieces of meat tasted good with or without the sauce.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried Squid ($13.90). We felt this is the not so likeable appetizer of all. It was slightly greasy and rather soggy with an extreme chewiness that we did not quite appreciate. Apparently, the dipping sauce did not play a apart to enhance its flavor further.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Deep-fried Minced Prawns in Spring Roll Sheet ($10.90) Its taste was pretty close to fish paste. Though it was supposed to be wrapped in Spring Roll Sheet but the actual texture was slightly closer to the beancurd skin. It tasted delectable when dipped into the sweet tasting dipping sauce.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Barbequed Chicken in Thai Style Marinade ($9.90) It is grilled marinated chicken on skewers. It did not taste particularly spicy nor salty but rather light. The best way to enjoy it is to dip it into the sauce that served along.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried Prawns with Sweet Tamarind Sauce ($28.90) The prawns were nicely deep fried to give it the desirable crispiness then served with the sweet tamarind sauce. The prawns have got a noticeable freshness and its taste was nicely enhanced by the sauce. It still tasted crispy even after left it for a bit.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stir-fried Soft Shell in Yellow Curry ($18.90) The fresh tasting soft shell crabs were deep fried first before stir-fried it in Yellow Curry. The crispiness was not quite compromised when it served. The aromatic curry was rich, fragrant and not too spicy.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Green Curry with Beef ($13.90) This was probably the not so appetizing amongst the mains. The texture of thinly sliced beef was slightly chewy and a little tough. The taste of green curry was creamy and rich though.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Grilled Duck with crispy hot basil leaves. ($18.90) Slices of tasty roasted duck was served with a deep fried Hot Basil. It was done well to give the handful of basil leaves a delightful crispiness that complemented the taste of roasted duck perfectly.

7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Coconut Ice-cream with Assorted Thai Sweet Condiments ($8.80 each). It was a lovely choice. The assorted Thai sweet condiments served in 8 different glasses consisting red rubies, slices of jackfruit, sticky rice, atap seeds, sweet corns, peanuts, cendol and nata de coco. The sweet condiments complemented the rich and creamy Coconut Ice-cream nicely.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mango Sticky Rice with Coconut Milk ($6.80) and Red Ruby in Coconut Milk & Crushed Ice ($6.80) were pretty good choices for dessert too.

Though their prices are slightly higher than most Thai restaurants but the ambiance and quality of the foods are a worthy experience.

Myself and my guests truly enjoyed the foods and the experience. Thank you, Nara Thai Cuisine.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-26
等級4
308
0
2013-11-06 43 瀏覽
Everyone been talking about this new Thai restaurant in town so i went to check it out with my friend. One of our main purpose was to enter this contest ( with $80 spending ) so we try to hit the target. Haha! And so we ordered Tom Yum Soup, Steamed Seabass, Phad Thai and Coconut Ice Cream.Tom Yum Soup - I love the ingredients in the soup especially the prawns! Very fresh! But soup wise, i still prefer clear ones.Steamed Seabass - Fish is fresh and i like the sauce but i will prefer it they serv
更多
Everyone been talking about this new Thai restaurant in town so i went to check it out with my friend. 

One of our main purpose was to enter this contest ( with $80 spending ) so we try to hit the target. Haha! And so we ordered Tom Yum Soup, Steamed Seabass, Phad Thai and Coconut Ice Cream.

Tom Yum Soup - I love the ingredients in the soup especially the prawns! Very fresh! But soup wise, i still prefer clear ones.

Steamed Seabass - Fish is fresh and i like the sauce but i will prefer it they served it with a warmer to keep it hot.

Phad Thai - this was quite well done and i like the overall taste when i squeezed the lime in!

Coconut Ice Cream - This turns out to be pretty good as well. I'm usually not a huge fan but i managed to finish it!

Final bill was about $100 which i will rather spend it elsewhere. Food is alright only and i'm not sure if i be back again.
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2013-11-04 35 瀏覽
Nara Thai was voted as Thailand's Best Restaurant Since 2006. Finally opened its door to Singapore, taking over the unit from Burger King outlet in Ion Orchard, Nara Thai cuisine had a team of Thais workers which somehow assure the authenticity of its cuisine to the patrons.Interior finishing was modern and elegant with purple theme. Cellings were painted black giving a mysterious feel together with its wooden cravings from the outside of the restaurant which would more or less draw attentions
更多
Nara Thai was voted as Thailand's Best Restaurant Since 2006. Finally opened its door to Singapore, taking over the unit from Burger King outlet in Ion Orchard, Nara Thai cuisine had a team of Thais workers which somehow assure the authenticity of its cuisine to the patrons.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Interior finishing was modern and elegant with purple theme. Cellings were painted black giving a mysterious feel together with its wooden cravings from the outside of the restaurant which would more or less draw attentions from the shoppers who walked past.Environment has chic design and looks sophiscated.Utensils were neatly arranged in front of us after taking our orders by their attentive servers. Service was up to par especially when everyone of them was communicating through the handsfree that was plugged into one of their ears.Lime with Grass Jelly was literally the combination of Lime and Grass Jelly, the level of sourness was rather strong, nevertheless the drink tasted unique on its own. I would prefer the Lychee blend towards the former as it tastes sweet and full of lychee flavour. However, it would be better if there was just more than 1 lychee on the glass.
Cost: Thai Lime with Grass Jelly ($7.90) & Blended Lychee Juice ($6.50)Assorted Nara’s Hors d’oeuvre aka the first course before main courses were served. An interesting combination of Pandan Chicken, Satay, Fish Cakes and Pomelo Salad. Probably a good choice for those who want to try out lots of tasty items in one dish. Thai Fishcake was tasty which taste comes in between Otah and fiskcake, chewy too. The pulps from the pomelo salad was fat and juicy, most importantly sweet. Though the Pandan Chicken was wrapped and well marinated, the infusion of the fragrance and the chicken was not that strong as I would have thought. Satay on the other hand was a good one too, especially its thick peanuty gravy which packed the aroma of coconut. Phad Thai with chicken was indeed addictive. The dish was sweet and tasty, non chilli eaters, this dish might suit you. Mixed the springy noodles together with the peanuts and raw beansprouts and squeeze the lime over after stirring and I bet you will enjoy as much as I do.As I sink my teeth into the Crab Meat Omlette, I realized the pillow soft layer of omlette and could smell the existence of crab meat. The dish stands alone well even without having any rice to paired with. Crispy Fried Whole Grouper with Crunchy Lemongrass was prepared to suits the diners who fear the troubles of de-fillet the fish. Instead, the chunks of meat were already prepared and fried to its crispy batter. The body and its body were fried to perfect crispiness in such a way that one can actually eat them up. Doused the meat chunks into the sweet, sour spicy sauce and enjoy the meal. Do becareful as there might be bones within the meat.I would say Nara Thai's food was above average but definitely not the best I had tried so far. On top of that I find that it was pricy as compared to its competitor. With the above dishes, its about $110 after the taxes for just 2 person. But one good thing is that we dont have to hop onto the plane to enjoy such authentic Thai Food.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2013/11/nara-thai.html
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-01
人均消費
$55 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Hors d’oeuvre Nara
  • Phad Thai
等級1
1
0
2013-10-31 34 瀏覽
We tried booking lunch there a couple of weeks back and were told that it was full. Walked by the restaurant after eating next door and saw the place so empty. Finally got to have lunch there today. What a major disappointment! We totally cannot understand how they could claim to be Thailand's best restaurant since 2006. To start off, the waitresses there were aloof. Body language was a bug turn off to begin with. When a wrong order was brought, one of them looked at my friend like as if i
更多
We tried booking lunch there a couple of weeks back and were told that it was full. Walked by the restaurant after eating next door and saw the place so empty.

Finally got to have lunch there today. What a major disappointment! We totally cannot understand how they could claim to be Thailand's best restaurant since 2006.

To start off, the waitresses there were aloof. Body language was a bug turn off to begin with. When a wrong order was brought, one of them looked at my friend like as if it was her fault instead.

When the right order was brought, it was different from the picture. We asked and was told that the actual dish is different. The picture shows what is served in Thailand only. What?!?! Misrepresentation without any apology.

Portions were too tiny and taste was below mediocre. We tried Phad Thai, Tom Yum noodles, Sukhothai noodles, Lad Na, green curry and red curry.

Lad Na or "Braised" noodle is actually deep fried kway teow served with a side of gravy with a few tiny pieces of tough chicken meat in another plate. Way too oily and tasteless.

Average price is $14.90 for the noodles. A plate of white rice to go with the curries cost $2.50!! This is the first and last time we will eat here.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-31
人均消費
$18 (午餐)
等級4
2013-10-31 24 瀏覽
Supposedly Bangkok's Best Restaurant from 2006 - 2013 (by Tatler Magazine), Nara Thai has finally opened its doors on the shores of Singapore. Considering how many people love going to Thailand year after year, I'm sure this restaurant will be quite a big hit amongst Singaporeans.Decorated in lavish tones of royal purple and hints of gold, the restaurant exudes a mystical elegance that catches your eye when you walk past. The restaurant can get pretty packed during lunchtime, but the good thing
更多
Supposedly Bangkok's Best Restaurant from 2006 - 2013 (by Tatler Magazine), Nara Thai has finally opened its doors on the shores of Singapore. Considering how many people love going to Thailand year after year, I'm sure this restaurant will be quite a big hit amongst Singaporeans.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Decorated in lavish tones of royal purple and hints of gold, the restaurant exudes a mystical elegance that catches your eye when you walk past. The restaurant can get pretty packed during lunchtime, but the good thing is that they accept reservations so be sure to make one if you want to guarantee a table.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For starters, it's always a delight to have some Thai Iced Tea ($6) if you're looking for something extremely sweet and creamy. The unique thing about Thai Ice Tea is that they usually add in some herbs such as tamarind and star anise to give it a kick.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We also shared a plate of Pandan Chicken ($12.90) which consists of succulent chicken meat wrapped in fragrant pandan leaves and barbequed. It comes in 6 pieces and is accompanied by a soy-sesame sauce if you need added salt, though I found the chicken well-marinated enough and very tender.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pineapple Fried Rice is another one of my childhood favourites and I would always look forward to it when I visit any Thai restaurant. The Pineapple Fried Rice ($13.80) at Nara Thai is quite disappointing as it did not contain many ingredients and was rather bland too.

Overall, I probably wouldn't rate it as the best Thai restaurant I've tried before, even though I'm not much of a fan of Thai food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-24
人均消費
$25 (午餐)