6
3
1
等級4
411
0
2013-10-30 95 瀏覽
known for their sugee cakes, i was all ready to devour these babies. usually served with marzipan or a layer of icing on top, we opted out from that just so that we could have the cake plain and simple.i think it's pretty obvious from the texture that this was definitely not fine. semolina and coarsely ground almonds. this was something new to me. i have eaten sugee cakes before but perhaps changed to suit our palate. it's like an almond butter cake. the butter fragrance was strong and it was ri
更多
known for their sugee cakes, i was all ready to devour these babies.

usually served with marzipan or a layer of icing on top, we opted out from that just so that we could have the cake plain and simple.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
i think it's pretty obvious from the texture that this was definitely not fine. semolina and coarsely ground almonds. this was something new to me. i have eaten sugee cakes before but perhaps changed to suit our palate. it's like an almond butter cake. the butter fragrance was strong and it was right on the spot for sweetness.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
the gula melaka sago was TOO sweet. or perhaps the shot glass was just too small. can u see half a cup of gula melaka? even with the sago and a bit of coconut milk, it was just too overwhelming. gosh. we had feedback that it was TERRIBLE.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$6 (其他)
等級3
65
18
2012-05-18 32 瀏覽
Went to Quentin's for a simple Mother's Day dinner celebration last week. I wasn't too sure it would be a good idea at first, especially with all the negative reviews I've read all over the internet. People mentioned bad service and food that didn't meet their expectations.I guess it was a blessing in disguise. My expectations were so low that I ended up being rather pleased with the dining experience.The food was wonderful, but indeed, the service needs some improvement.We ordered the Chicken D
更多
Went to Quentin's for a simple Mother's Day dinner celebration last week.
I wasn't too sure it would be a good idea at first, especially with all the negative reviews I've read all over the internet. People mentioned bad service and food that didn't meet their expectations.

I guess it was a blessing in disguise. My expectations were so low that I ended up being rather pleased with the dining experience.

The food was wonderful, but indeed, the service needs some improvement.

We ordered the Chicken Devil's Curry (their much-raved about dish), which was yummy! I'm Peranakan, so the level of spiciness was okay for me. I would have loved it to be a little spicier though


We also ordered the beef steak, as recommended by the waiter. I actually enjoyed it a lot, even though I'm not very much into beef.

Then, we also had chap chye and squid ink calamari. Both were good, but nothing worth the two thumbs up.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-13
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
母親節
推介美食
  • Devil's Curry
  • Beef Steak
等級4
172
0
2012-04-25 24 瀏覽
this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal. a good place to gather and chat though. cost about $10 per set for lunch. pretty reasonable/ affordable.
更多
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal. a good place to gather and chat though. cost about $10 per set for lunch. pretty reasonable/ affordable.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
406
1
2012-03-30 17 瀏覽
What’s good is its price – it’s not something to complain about at all. But the reason why, I would most probably not return is because there are more food items in the menu that don’t taste as good, than those that actually satisfies.Everything aside, if you’ve decided to give it a go (which I wouldn’t object), and like it, they have a free membership that you can apply for. You can get the card immediately, and a loyalty card. In any case, if you’re looking for something different, here.
更多
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
What’s good is its price – it’s not something to complain about at all. But the reason why, I would most probably not return is because there are more food items in the menu that don’t taste as good, than those that actually satisfies.

Everything aside, if you’ve decided to give it a go (which I wouldn’t object), and like it, they have a free membership that you can apply for. You can get the card immediately, and a loyalty card. In any case, if you’re looking for something different, here.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
134
2
2012-03-29 16 瀏覽
Taste is not too bad but the spread of salad bar and dessert is disappointing. Only 1 dessert, 1 porridge and a salad bar that comprise of mostly empty plates. i'll probably not visit again. a good place to gather and chat though. cost about $10 per set for lunch. pretty reasonable/ affordable.
更多
Taste is not too bad but the spread of salad bar and dessert is disappointing. Only 1 dessert, 1 porridge and a salad bar that comprise of mostly empty plates. i'll probably not visit again. a good place to gather and chat though. cost about $10 per set for lunch. pretty reasonable/ affordable.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$10
等級4
126
1
2012-03-27 18 瀏覽
this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal.
更多
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
685
8
2012-03-07 15 瀏覽
The freied rice is just normal,nothing special.But i like the light lemon taste,so must squeeze the lemon on the rice.It is not oily too.I like the rice mix with the ingredients.This prawn biscuit is crispy.Can hear the crack sound when bite on it.But it is a bit oily.So my hand feel oily after holding it.
更多
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The freied rice is just normal,nothing special.
But i like the light lemon taste,so must squeeze the lemon on the rice.
It is not oily too.
I like the rice mix with the ingredients.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This prawn biscuit is crispy.Can hear the crack sound when bite on it.
But it is a bit oily.
So my hand feel oily after holding it.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-03-05 9 瀏覽
Oh yes, before we go into the main courses – this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal.
更多
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Oh yes, before we go into the main courses – this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
Who doesn’t love a hidden find I know I do, no matter whether it disappoints or not, something new and fresh to breathe in is a must-try anyways. Quentin’s Eurasian Restaurant is located within the Eurasian Community House along Dunman Road. It may look just a tad’ bit run down from the outside while walking in, but the restaurant sure looks fine.With it being situated in a not-so-accessible location, coupled with it not being too crowded whilst there, the setting was perfect for the afternoon l
更多
Who doesn’t love a hidden find I know I do, no matter whether it disappoints or not, something new and fresh to breathe in is a must-try anyways. Quentin’s Eurasian Restaurant is located within the Eurasian Community House along Dunman Road. It may look just a tad’ bit run down from the outside while walking in, but the restaurant sure looks fine.

With it being situated in a not-so-accessible location, coupled with it not being too crowded whilst there, the setting was perfect for the afternoon lunch. Red tablecloth, glass wares and the set, gives the feeling of a mismatch between the price of the food items and the ambience – a rare occasion.

With us being hungry like carnivores, we decided to order some sides / desserts-before-mains even before the rest of the friends arrived.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fried Devilled Wings ($12.80++) :: By the name of it, it sounds promising. Unfortunately, it wasn’t so when it was served. It was neither salty enough, nor spicy enough. On top of that, the inside of the wings was burnt. Maybe it was thawed in the right manner, but yes, you can skip this dish if you’re looking for sides.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chocolate Molten Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream ($5++) :: To be frank, when I hear ‘Molten Cake’, my heart will say yes no matter what my sense of taste may have an opinion on. I must say, if you don’t think about it too much, it won’t be as discounted as I did to it, as I had some high expectations on it (or Molten Cakes in general) even before it came. Although so, the Vanilla Ice Cream is for sure some supermarket house brand standard.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
So when all friends have marked their attendance, they served the complimentary plate of crackers, accompanied by a dish of sambal chilli. And let me get this out – the sambal chilli is oh-so-orgasmic! Who would have thought crackers go well with chilli. A good experience on this (although I still prefer Mexican’s nachos as starters!).

Oh yes, before we go into the main courses – this restaurant serves dishes like it’s a coffeeshop eatery serving home-style dishes cooked to your order (zi char). So a plate of rice each was served to us (I love their rice, ones where you can easily separate each grain of rice, relatively dry), and of which you can asked to be topped up as and when you like throughout the meal.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Since we’re talking about ‘zi char’, let’s ‘char’ all these dishes’ reviews together. Of the two beefs that we ordered, I thought the Roast Beef was more flavorful and easier down the throat. The Pepper Steak, even though it’s supposed to be my favorite (because Pepper is my life), did not quite meet the expectation. It was quite bland I thought. We had Chicken Stew, AND Beef Stew. The former has a sweeter taste to its stew, while the latter a saltier one. If you ask me to choose one, I’d choose Chicken Stew for its tender meat (really awesome), but Beef Stew for its stew. For the Dory Fillet, I see tumeric, I see lemongrass, I go drooling. Even though it did turn out to be good, it didn’t quite match what I envisioned it to be.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sugee Cake ($5++) :: I’ve heard so much raving reviews on its Sugee Cake, so I decided to give it a try. I really, really haven’t any idea what it should taste like. To put it simply, it’s hard, it’s dry, it’s grainy, it’s bland on the base and sweet on the top (icing). If that’s what it’s supposed to taste like, then yes. But otherwise, it isn’t to my liking. It doesn’t have any awful taste, but for the first time, I neither hate / love a dessert. That doesn’t happen much, does it

What I have to compliment them on is their service. Well, I don’t know, but you just can’t get good service across the board, can you Every individual is different. In this restaurant, I’ve no idea what kind of waitpersons they hire, seeing that it’s a Community House, but they’re generally alright, although not as attentive / know what to do. But the lady boss (or at least she looks like she is) was outstandingly friendly and approachable. She makes me feel at home.

What’s good is its price – it’s not something to complain about at all. But the reason why, I would most probably not return is because there are more food items in the menu that don’t taste as good, than those that actually satisfies.

Everything aside, if you’ve decided to give it a go (which I wouldn’t object), and like it, they have a free membership that you can apply for. You can get the card immediately, and a loyalty card. In any case, if you’re looking for something different, here.

—> Note #1: Note the time that you’re heading there, because they’re only open from 1130 – 1430 (last order 1400) for lunch and 1830 – 2230 (last order 2200) for dinner. And closed on Monday. This applies to this outlet in context.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-11-27
人均消費
$20 (午餐)
等級4
153
5
2011-05-01 12 瀏覽
For photos and more reviews, visit http://littlemomentsofmylife.wordpress.com (:this is the first time i tried eurasian food. i never even knew such a cuisine existed haha! the good thing about Quentin's sunday lunch buffet is its price: $18++. however, the selection provided left much to be desired :/ i guess for that price, one shouldn't expect too much eh? some of the dishes were pretty nice. the brinjal was soft with a nice sauce. i liked the two carbohydrates - the fried rice and dry mee si
更多
For photos and more reviews, visit http://littlemomentsofmylife.wordpress.com (:
this is the first time i tried eurasian food. i never even knew such a cuisine existed haha! the good thing about Quentin's sunday lunch buffet is its price: $18++. however, the selection provided left much to be desired :/
i guess for that price, one shouldn't expect too much eh? some of the dishes were pretty nice. the brinjal was soft with a nice sauce. i liked the two carbohydrates - the fried rice and dry mee siam. the meat dishes were quite decent as well. there was this thing called Devil's Curry, which was the reason for us coming to this restaurant in the first place. hmm i guess it was not bad? but nothing special. a problem was that many of the dishes were COLD!
which is really not good. the buffet trays were not heated until we reached the restaurant, and there was insufficient time for the food to be heated before we started eating >.<
other dishes in the buffet are shown in the picture above. and that's the entire buffet spread. sad?
i liked the minestrone and pulot hitam dessert! (: and the sweet, sour & spicy salad dressing was one of the best i've tasted!
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食