9
2
0
等級4
115
0
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/rochor-thai-msg-free-authentic-thai-bistro-at-joo-chiatFollow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and FacebookTaking pride in their food preparation, dishes at Rochor Thai are 100% abstained from MSG. Talk about having a healthier choice, perhaps this is the place for you!Here are my orders:Green Curry - With its bold and well-balanced flavour, it is comparable to what's offered at Nakhon Kitchen. At the same time, its spiciness wasn't that strong of a punch, s
更多
Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/rochor-thai-msg-free-authentic-thai-bistro-at-joo-chiat
Follow Lepak With Yaops on Instagram and Facebook
Taking pride in their food preparation, dishes at Rochor Thai are 100% abstained from MSG. Talk about having a healthier choice, perhaps this is the place for you!
Here are my orders:
Green Curry - With its bold and well-balanced flavour, it is comparable to what's offered at Nakhon Kitchen. At the same time, its spiciness wasn't that strong of a punch, so double thumbs up!
Pork Collar - Nicely grilled and mildly charred, tender and mouth-watering! It's a pity that the picture turned out other wise due to inappropriate lighting.
Salted Egg Squid - Pure DISAPPOINTMENT. Far cry from any salted egg dishes that I've ever tried, however, the waiter claimed that this is their rendition of it.
Phad Thai - Swee la! Love the 'chewy' texture of the rice noodle and the mildly sweetened flavour. A little too pricey though.
Till date, Nakhon Kitchen is still my favourite Thai eatery in the aspects of taste and price. Nevertheless, Rochor Thai is another fine Thai eatery to venture if you've got a generous budget.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
2014-08-08 63 瀏覽
For full review, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/08/sg-rochor-thai-rare-gem-found-on-joo.htmlThe casual dining scene in Singapore is almost as vibrant as the cafes with cuisines ranging from Thai to Korean. When diners like you and me are overwhelmed by the abundance of restaurants out there, it is honestly not easy to spot a rare gem anymore as most places succumb to shortcuts and compromise on serving the most authentic meal.With much scepticism, we made our way do
更多
For full review, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/08/sg-rochor-thai-rare-gem-found-on-joo.html

The casual dining scene in Singapore is almost as vibrant as the cafes with cuisines ranging from Thai to Korean. When diners like you and me are overwhelmed by the abundance of restaurants out there, it is honestly not easy to spot a rare gem anymore as most places succumb to shortcuts and compromise on serving the most authentic meal.

With much scepticism, we made our way down to this Thai bistro located on Joo Chiat Road. With no lack of famous eateries lined along Joo Chiat Road and the nearby East Coast Road, can this modest looking place serve a Thai cuisine that would make our calories worthy?
24 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
A classic appetiser, this papaya salad had the usual green papaya, carrots, long beans, garlic, chillies, dried shrimps and peanuts freshly pounded and blended with their in-house special tamarind sauce. What made it a touch more special was the sliced salted duck egg which added another dimension to the dish. In terms of flavours, it helped to provide the salinity balance to the tartness of the green papaya and the spice of the chillies before coming to a harmony with the sweetness and acidity from the tamarind sauce.
12 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
Available in two sizes, the larger portion is available at S$15.80, however this was more than enough to warm the stomachs of us three. With mild sweetness to tease our palate upon the first taste, the acidity grew with the sourness before the heat from the fiery red chillies took over. The portion was satisfying with succulent prawns, flower-cut squids and generous slices of fish fillet in the broth.
24 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
A huge fan of grilled pork collar, I have struggled to find a place where I can go to in Singapore for this comfort food. My best experience with this delicate piece of protein was at nahm in Bangkok where cooking was executed to perfection.

Grilled upon order, the pork collar retained moisture and tasted succulent as you bite into the juiciness of the melted fats. I loved the nice coating layer of crispness which was beautifully complemented by the heat from the chilli flakes, sourness from the tamarind, savouriness from the fish sauce, shallots and little palm sugar to enhance the flavours of the grill.
Pad Kee mao Goong, Drunkard's Prawns | S$16.80/++
32 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
One of the signature dishes at Rochor Thai, it had an interesting story where a drunkard actually ate this flavourful dish that and woke up! What titillated my palate for this was the fragrance from the hot basil leaves and the red chillies. The portion size was surely generous but for most diners who would be more used to the crunch of your prawns, expect the texture to be tender soft. This might be due to it being slightly overcooked but on the positives, the prawns were thoughtfully deveined and deshelling was certainly made easy for diners.
Hoay Pad Prik Pao, White Clams Flambe with Chef's Stock and Thai Chilli Jam | S$14.80/++
34 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
Of the three types of basil, the chefs cleverly introduced a second type of basil, Thai sweet basil in this dish. Drawing resemblance from the usual tzechar stir-fry of the clams, the beautiful fragrance from the Thai sweet basil whetted my appetite. Be sure to scoop some of the lovely stock to go with the carefully cleaned clams as it adds a balanced flavour of savouriness and sweetness with a subtle hint of heat.
Pla Nin Pao, Salt-baked Whole Tilapia with Seafood Dipping Sauce | S$22.80/++
53 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
This had to be the dish of the evening with the chefs' brilliant use of technique to elevate the freshness of the fish. Quite frankly, I was surprised that a Thai bistro would implement the salt-baked technique which helped lock in the moisture to the flesh, resulting in a melt-in-your-mouth tenderness. Personally, I also find that fish should be cooked on-the-bone to derive the best flavours so this dish was really the star of the evening.

A generous amount of lemongrass was also stuffed into the fish supposedly to help enhance the fragrance but I thought it failed to shine through. Nonetheless, the dipping sauce helped to add some salinity to the already tasty protein.
Pak Boong Gai Daeng, Wok Fried Morning Glory | S$7.80/++
32 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
More commonly know as kangkong, this stir-fry introduced some greens to complete a hearty meal. With fermented bean paste and chillies, the dish had sufficient wok-hei yet allowing the stems to retain their crunch.
Khao Niew Ma Muang, Mango sticky rice | S$7.80/++
16 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
There was a strong coconut fragrance in the sticky rice and served warm, it was truly some sweet calories to sum up a sumptuous Thai meal. The mung beans atop the thoughtfully designed heart-shaped sticky rice added a layer of texture with a nice crunch. The sweet Thai mango was also spot-on, overall a simple dish done well.
23 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Offering a casual dining ambience, Rochor Thai offers honest cooking at very affordable prices. What really impressed me was dedication and quality of food served at this modest looking restaurant. If you know your Thai food, expect to enjoy a satisfying dish. That being said, we did not go for the usual street food such as Pad Thai or green curry but who needs those when you can enjoy perfectly grilled pork collar and salt-baked fish?

It was simply amazing to watch Joel in action as the chef took efforts to step out from the busy kitchen to speak to his customers and obtain their feedback. The serving crew on the floor were also fetching feedbacks and checking with the customers on their meals from time to time. While most would regard such dedicated customer service as a given, how often was your last meal at a bistro or restaurant that you received such attention?
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Pla Nin Pao, Salt-baked Whole Tilapia with Seafood Dipping Sauce | S$22.80/++
  • Pla Nin Pao Salt-baked Whole Tilapia with Seafood Dipping Sauce | S$22.80/++
等級3
98
26
2013-12-17 30 瀏覽
Nestled along the bustling streets of Joo Chiat, Rochor Thai delivers authentic cuisine from the Land of Smiles to our local food scene. Helmed by a passionate food enthusiast, Joel, the exciting menu consists of traditional flavours crafted with modern Thai elements, such as their speciality green curry and pad thai talay. Hence, it was indeed a pleasure when Openrice.com invited yours truly to Rochor Thai for another food tasting session recently.So what's on the food tasting menu?Before dinne
更多
Nestled along the bustling streets of Joo Chiat, Rochor Thai delivers authentic cuisine from the Land of Smiles to our local food scene. Helmed by a passionate food enthusiast, Joel, the exciting menu consists of traditional flavours crafted with modern Thai elements, such as their speciality green curry and pad thai talay. Hence, it was indeed a pleasure when Openrice.com invited yours truly to Rochor Thai for another food tasting session recently.

So what's on the food tasting menu?

Before dinner, an amuse-bouche ("mouth-amuser" in French) was served. Unlike appetisers, this single bite-sized creations are usually free and can be served out of the menu, according to the chef's selection alone. Joel's amuse-bouche was brilliantly crafted - cold noodles topped with pork floss, infused with the star flavours of Thai cuisine in a bite-size, namely sour, spicy and bitter.
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Som Tum – Green Papaya Salad Central Thailand Style ($6.80) was served as an appetiser. It didn't pack much of an "oomph", but it did make a good preparation for the palate.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Gaeng Kaew Wan Gai - Chef's Special Green Curry with Chicken Thigh and Thai Eggplant (S - $11.80, L - $18.80) was my favourite dish of the dinner. The unique blend of green curry and coconut milk was made from scratch, and for those who do not take spicy food, this is a great option to go with.
25 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Tom Yum Talay/Po Taek – Hot & Spicy Seafood Soup with Thai Herbs/Clear Spicy Sour Soup with Holy Basil and Kaffir Lime Leaves (S - $8.80, L - $15.80) were pretty standardized with the average flavours and ingredients. Just a warning not to be fooled by the clear colour of the latter, as it packs quite a deadly degree of spiciness.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pad Kee Mao Goong - Stir Fried Thai "Drunken" Style Prawns (S - $16.80, L - $24.80) alongside with Gaeng Phet Pla Krapong Daeng - Dry Red Curry with Red Snapper Fillets (S - $16.80, L - $24.80) served as good side dishes for the dinner. Snapper fillets were Girlfriend's favourite, but it just seemed too average for myself. Oh, and the prawns weren't that "drunk" anyway.
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pla Nin Pao – Salt Baked Whole Tilapia served with Spicy Coriander Sauce ($22.80) was succulent and juicy. Personally, I didn't adore the flavour of the coriander sauce, however the fresh sweetness of the tilapia makes it good enough to eat it on its own.
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Hoay Lai Pad Prik Pao - Clams Flambe in Chilli Jam and Chef's Stock (S - $14.80, L - $22.80) was the chef's attempt to deviant away from the boring preparation methods of clams. I'd say it was a good enough attempt, as traces of overcooked clams were present.
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kor Moo Yang – Seared Pork Collar served with Aromatic Dried Chilli Sauce ($12.80) was excellent. The meat was seared just nicely to lock the juices in, which presents no less than a satisfying dish. Great to eat it without the sauce as well.

26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pad Thai Talay (S - $7.80, L - $14.80) - Everyone's favourite street food from Thailand. I have never had pad thai before, prior to this, but "impressed" might be just the fitting word to describe Rochor Thai's rendition.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Khao Niew Ma Muang - Mango Sticky Rice ($7.80) and Tab Tim Grob - Thai Red Ruby ($4.80) are served right after the meal. The former has an added nutty crunch to its sticky rice, while the latter was an awesome version of the common red ruby. According to them, the red coloring comes from the natural pigmentation of beetroot itself.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
In a nutshell, Rochor Thai serves authentic Thai dishes, infused with both modern and traditional elements, in a much cosy environment. In my opinion, the food whipped out here is much better than those mainstream restaurants.

Once again, I give my thanks to Openrice and Rochor Thai for their hospitality and food tasting session.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
Traditional décor from what can be seen outside, yet it infused with modern Thai culinary elements. Rochor Thai was one of the famous Thai eateries in the town. Outstanding standard of food, it delivered strictly MSG-free dishes and all their ingredients were naturally taste. Service staffs were friendly and responsive, always take good care their customers.Browsing throughout the Menu, I spotted tempting soup and I gave up other choices. Exactly tongue-numbing level spiciness, it was fire-burni
更多
Traditional décor from what can be seen outside, yet it infused with modern Thai culinary elements. Rochor Thai was one of the famous Thai eateries in the town. Outstanding standard of food, it delivered strictly MSG-free dishes and all their ingredients were naturally taste. Service staffs were friendly and responsive, always take good care their customers.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Browsing throughout the Menu, I spotted tempting soup and I gave up other choices. Exactly tongue-numbing level spiciness, it was fire-burning for my liking without any regret. Prawns were fatly fresh, springy texture when eating. Originally $8.80 for the Tom Yum Soup, I paid additional $2.00 for thinly grass noodles. Definitely experienced a superb dinning of Thai, we enjoyed the dining time.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-08
人均消費
$10 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Tom Yum Soup
等級1
1
0
4 of us were there on Sunday after hearing them on radio. We drove down all the way from Bt Timah and had high expectations. 3 of us frequent Thailand and we have been searching high and low all around Singapore for the real thai food. Reached there, realised it was the old yummy claypot. We ordered the clear tom yum, jellyfish, grilled pork, papaya salad, salted tilapia and pineapple fried rice. The jellyfish was something new. Perhaps a twist to Thai food because we have never seen jellyfish s
更多
4 of us were there on Sunday after hearing them on radio. We drove down all the way from Bt Timah and had high expectations.

3 of us frequent Thailand and we have been searching high and low all around Singapore for the real thai food. Reached there, realised it was the old yummy claypot.

We ordered the clear tom yum, jellyfish, grilled pork, papaya salad, salted tilapia and pineapple fried rice. The jellyfish was something new. Perhaps a twist to Thai food because we have never seen jellyfish served in thailand before. It was crunchy, fragrant, tasty. Pretty unique to us.

I have been looking at reviews around hungrygowhere for many years now and decided to make this my virgin review because they deserved it. And also to let people know that it might be too authentic to local Singaporeans who dont really search around for food in thailand. going to places only where the tourists go.

The papaya salad. It was not the ones that are overly sweet everywhere in Singapore. The entire presentation, taste brought me back to thailand. I had sticky rice with it. Oh, this is one of the few thai restaurants in singapore that serve sticky rice to go with your food, just like in thailand! Most places just serve white rice. Trust me, sticky rice with papaya salad, grilled pork, and saled tilapia. The perfect combination. The grilled pork was juicy, tender, and not dry! One thing that is a little different from thailand, that is most thai grilled pork are dry. The tilapia as well. Although it lacks the charcoal fragrance, the moisture of the meat made up for it. The pineapple rice is atually very good. Maybe its because we get better grade thai jasmine rice exported over than those being sold in thailand.

My other 2 friends and myself actually enjoyed it very much. One of us unfortunately, found the food "unauthentic". But he has never been to thailand in his life though. Perhaps he has been spoiled by the "authentic" thai food in singapore, and the over emphasis on north eastern thai cuisine in golden mile.

Fantastic real authentic thai cuisine in singapore. They are new and I do hope that they can last long in the competitive dining scene in Singapore. I'm guessing a big bulk of their customers would find the food "unauthentic". For those looking for real thai food, this is IT.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-15
人均消費
$23 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Papaya Salad
  • Salted Tilapia
  • Grilled Pork
等級4
Previously located at Rochor Centre, Rochor Thai has since moved to Joo Chiat, sitting right in the midst of bustling crowds, cafes, and restaurants. No, you got it right, they aren’t changing to their name to Joo Chiat Thai anytime soon.Being strictly MSG-free is as symbolic to Rochor Thai as elephants are to Thailand. They pride themselves as the only restaurant that delivers such prepared dishes. They are also a bistro that makes their own pastes and sauces, setting each of their dishes apart
更多
Previously located at Rochor Centre, Rochor Thai has since moved to Joo Chiat, sitting right in the midst of bustling crowds, cafes, and restaurants. No, you got it right, they aren’t changing to their name to Joo Chiat Thai anytime soon.

Being strictly MSG-free is as symbolic to Rochor Thai as elephants are to Thailand. They pride themselves as the only restaurant that delivers such prepared dishes. They are also a bistro that makes their own pastes and sauces, setting each of their dishes apart from the rest.

Something that was frowned upon almost throughout the entire dinner was the heavy use of salt. I think it is very much like a zi-char stall, where salty dishes are prepared to complement the plain rice. I am no fan of that, and thus no fan of zi-char in general. I thought to prep you, and ask for less salt, depending on your tolerance.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Thai Iced Tea ($3): Well-balanced sweetness and flavors of tea. It also does not have the astringent (siap siap) taste. Meets the mark.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Green Papaya Salad ($7): While I don’t mind the rawness of vegetables, the overly crunchiness of it all did not quite suit my palate, especially that of the yardlong beans. I thought it would have been better with everything shredded to accompany the shredded unripe papaya.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Hot & Spicy Seafood Soup / Clear Spicy Sour Soup ($8.80 / $14.80): I was quite impressed with the spiciness of the soup. I mean, I take spicy food, but this had me perspiring a little. However, the prawn wasn’t the freshest – it was also overcooked without any bounciness.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Green Curry with Chicken Thigh & Thai Eggplant ($11.80): While the meat was succulent and in sizable chunks, the green curry was slightly too sweet for me.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salt-baked Whole Tilapia ($22.80): Force-fed with lemongrass (as evident in the photos, well, it’s for the flavors when cooking, no animal abuse involved) and salt-crusted, you might think that it would be too salty. Surprisingly, it doesn’t. Instead, it moderately counterpoise the blandness of fish meat. The dish is served with spicy coriander sauce, but really, it is perfect the way it is. Fresh, soft and smooth meat.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dry Red Curry with Red Snapper Fillets ($16.80 / $24.80): With words like ‘red’ and ‘curry’ filling the name of the dish, I didn’t expect it to turn out more sweet than spicy. The meat was fine, but the crust covered any hint of fishiness I would like to have with a bite as a whole.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Seared Pork Collar ($12.80): I’m biased. I love the part of meat on pigs’ neck. There is no arguing that it is the saltiest piece of meat you’ll have, but it is still quite enjoyable when paired with plain rice and dried chili sauce. I love the bite of pork collar bite, and with it priced at only this, it’s worth the moolah.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Stir-fried Thai ‘Drunken’ Style Prawns ($16.80 / $24.80): Similar to its Snapper Fillets, I’m not quite a fan of its style of cooking. It was rather ordinary, and the prawns were not done springy enough. And no, it is not alcoholic, don’t bother if you intend to ‘drown your sorrows’ with this.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Clams Flambe in Chili Jam & Chef’s Stock ($14.80 / $22.80): After witnessing the (momentary) fire that broke out in the kitchen, we were all hyped and stoked. It looks simple, but I thought it was well-executed. I could taste both the jam and clams very distinctively. Worth an order.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Thai Red Ruby ($4.80) tasted really like strawberry milk. I swear.
The Mango Sticky Rice ($7.80) was a half hit, half miss. I like the mango, sweet and soft. The sticky rice was okay, but spoiled with an overdose of sesame seed. I prefer my sticky rice to remain sticky firm yet nua nua instead of the frequent crunches in between. Flavors wise, they still aren’t strong enough when compared to the ones you get in Thailand. I verily believe it’s the coconut that has been doing the trick for the Thais all these while.

Though more misses than hits, I think Rochor Thai bears some potential. Having only just settled down in their new playground about two months ago, I’m sure the humble and passionate people behind Rochor Thai will strive for the better. Give them some time.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$25 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Salt-baked Whole Tilapia
等級4
I got to try new flavours of Thai foods with the creation of the young chef. Rochor Thai is located along the streets of Joo Chiat/ Katong/ Siglap. We were served with Nam Tak Krai Kab Bai Toey - Pandanus Lemongrass Welcome Drink. It’s a refreshing sweet and cool drink. The pandan aroma flavour accompanies the refreshing lemongrass. So it covers the strong taste of the lemongrass.First appertizer was served. Kanon Jeen Sao Nam- J’s Cold Sald of Kanom Jeen Noodles. The cold noodles was served wit
更多
I got to try new flavours of Thai foods with the creation of the young chef. Rochor Thai is located along the streets of Joo Chiat/ Katong/ Siglap.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We were served with Nam Tak Krai Kab Bai Toey - Pandanus Lemongrass Welcome Drink. It’s a refreshing sweet and cool drink. The pandan aroma flavour accompanies the refreshing lemongrass. So it covers the strong taste of the lemongrass.

First appertizer was served. Kanon Jeen Sao Nam- J’s Cold Sald of Kanom Jeen Noodles.
The cold noodles was served with sprinkled grated coconut and dried shrimp and mixed sauces to bring out the sweetness, spiciness and sourness. Something interesting to me as the starter was quite appertizing with the compliment of the refreshing vermicelli. Not too heavy to start off with for a dinner.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Som Tum - Green Papaya Salad Central Thailand Style (S$6.80). I felt the taste is ok only. The salads was served ‘wet’. The long beans tasted slightly raw but that’s how Thai people prepared their food. The nuts was topped into the dish to bring out the crunchiness of the dish.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tom Yum Talay - Hot and Spicy Seafood Soup with Thai Herbs (S- S$8.80 , L- S$15.80). Surprisingly not that superb spicy I thought. The soup wasn’t too oily and it is a good kick off to start the meal. You can taste the sweetness of the soup as the seafoods are blend into the soup.

Po Taek - Clear Spicy Sour Soup with Holy Basil and Kaffir Lime Leaves (S- S$8.80 , L-S$15.80). Superb spicy soup! The soup broth was prepared with oly basil and kaffir lime leaves and even I feel the spiciness covered over the seafoods.

Pla Nin Pao - Salt Baked Whole Tilapia served with Spicy Coriander Sauce (S$22.80). Salt-baked tilapia was well-prepared. The moisture and the tenderness of the fish meat was very smooth. I can’t taste the muddy taste from tilapia though. If you dipped with the spicy coriander sauce, it will gives you another taste of it.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Kor Moo Yang - Seared Pork Collar served with Aromatic Dried Chilli Sauce (S$12.80). Some find it salty but I think it is a great combination if you are having plain rice. The pork collar are sliced into thinner slices and dipped with the aromatic dried chilli sauce.It certainly goes very well.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Gaeng Kaew Wan Gai - Chef's Special Green Curry with Chicken Thigh and Thai Eggplant (S- S$11.80 , L-S$18.80). Strong thick taste of the soup base was served on table. The chicken meat was cut into smaller slices and the eggplants was not overcooked made us easier to consume.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Gaeng Phet Pla Krapong Daeng - Dry Red Curry with Red Snapper Fillets (S- S$16.80 , L-S$24.80). This is my favourite dish. The sweet and savoury of the red curry and the smooth and tender snapper fillets totally make the dish outstanding.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pad Kee Mao Goong – Stir Fried Thai “Drunken” Style Prawns (S- S$16.80 , L- S$24.80). The prawn was served fresh and meaty too.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Hoay Lai Pad Prik Pao - Clams Flambe in Chilli Jam and Chef's Stock (S-S$14.80, L-S$22.80). The clams are fresh and it went well with the chef’s stock.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pad Thai Talay (S- S$7.80, L-S$14.80).
The texture of the pad thai was just nice for my liking. The dish wasn’t too dry at all. You can taste slight sweetness and spicy when you mix the ingredients together to eat.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Khao Niew Ma Muang - Mango Sticky Rice (S$7.80)
Presentation was lovely. The usual sticky rice was served with the coconut milk sauce but for Rochor Thai, they have it with toasted sesame seeds. I can smell the fragrance of the toasted sesame seeds and the sticky rice was so soft that you will not feel that it is too dry to go with the mango.
2 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tab Tim Grob - Thai Red Ruby (S$4.80). Desserts for people who loves sweet taste bud. The vibrant red colour of the ruby with the creamy taste is all over my mouth when I had them.

The restaurant commitment is to not using MSG and no service charge and GST. It is quite affordable and you might want to give it a try.

For full review and more photos, please visit http://hazeldiary.com/?p=2179
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-23
用餐時段
晚餐
推介美食
  • Dry Red Curry with red snapper fillet
  • Salt Baked Whole Tilapia served with Spicy Coriander Sauce
等級4
116
0
2013-09-05 10 瀏覽
The restaurant is dominated in orange hues and i was told by the restaurant manager that orange colour has this effect that makes people hungry. It was not difficult to find this place as it is located near I12 Katong Shopping Centre. This is a lemongrass drink. It is made by themselves. It taste sweet but its bearable. I didnt finish the drink though but its worth a try. There is no strong taste of lemongrass in it as most restaurants have the overbearing taste.I love the cha yen here. Not dilu
更多

The restaurant is dominated in orange hues and i was told by the restaurant manager that orange colour has this effect that makes people hungry. It was not difficult to find this place as it is located near I12 Katong Shopping Centre.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is a lemongrass drink. It is made by themselves. It taste sweet but its bearable. I didnt finish the drink though but its worth a try. There is no strong taste of lemongrass in it as most restaurants have the overbearing taste.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I love the cha yen here. Not diluted and not overdosed with sugar. Was told that they have made the drink to suit the asian's taste. Appreciate the little details!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I got to try the amuse bouche. Amuse bouche is also known as the chef's creation which is more common at western places. Rochor thai is interesting as i havent seen any thai places whose chef prepares amuse bouche. Its made up of 4 different flavours - spicy, sour, bitter and sweet. There was supposed to be a little bit of bitterness, but i couldnt taste any, which is a good thing, yes? Also, they change their creation every 3 weeks. One cup is definitely not enough

Next is the Pad Thai Talay. We ordered the non spicy version and it still taste good! I can see the chef's effort cooking this as the original ones are normally dry and very spicy but i dont think it suits the local taste buds. As usual, i polish 3/4 of the plate and i was still feeling hungry.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Lastly, I had the red ruby. Again, the taste is different from the one serving at other thai places. The chestnut is not hard and its chewy. I heard that they uses beetroot instead of colouring as well? But the 'jelly' outside the chestnut certainly taste different!
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Will definitely visit the place again.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$35 (晚餐)
等級3
31
0
2013-08-26 7 瀏覽
The OpenRice Team together with a group of OpenRicers came down to Rochor Thai @ Joo Chiat Road for a Food Tasting session on 23rd Aug 2013. Based on feedback from our fellow OpenRicers, here are some of the highly recommended dishes!Tom Yum Talay – Hot & Spicy Seafood Soup with Thai HerbsPad Kee Mao Goong - Stir Fried Thai "Drunken" Style PrawnsGaeng Kaew Wan Gai - Chef's Special Green Curry with Chicken Thigh and Thai EggplantPad Thai TalayPad Kee Mao Goong - Stir Fried Thai "Drunken" Style Pr
更多
The OpenRice Team together with a group of OpenRicers came down to Rochor Thai @ Joo Chiat Road for a Food Tasting session on 23rd Aug 2013. Based on feedback from our fellow OpenRicers, here are some of the highly recommended dishes!

Tom Yum Talay – Hot & Spicy Seafood Soup with Thai Herbs

Pad Kee Mao Goong - Stir Fried Thai "Drunken" Style Prawns

Gaeng Kaew Wan Gai - Chef's Special Green Curry with Chicken Thigh and Thai Eggplant

Pad Thai Talay

Pad Kee Mao Goong - Stir Fried Thai "Drunken" Style Prawns

Gaeng Phet Pla Krapong Daeng - Dry Red Curry with Red Snapper Fillets

Hoay Lai Pad Prik Pao - Clams Flambe in Chilli Jam and Chef's Stock

Khao Niew Ma Muang - Mango Sticky Rice

Tab Tim Grob - Thai Red Ruby
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-23
推介美食
  • Tom Yum Talay
  • Pad Kee Mao Goong
  • Gaeng Kaew Wan Gai
  • Pad Thai Talay
  • Gaeng Phet Pla Krapong Daeng
  • Hoay Lai Pad Prik Pao
  • Khao Niew Ma Muang
  • Tab Tim Grob
等級4
2013-08-26 15 瀏覽
Rochor Thai is the only Thai restaurant located along the bustling Joo Chiat Road dining enclave, and serves up pretty good authentic Thai food with a modern twist.On my first visit there on a Friday night, I got the chance to try their Amuse Bouche specially prepared by the chef just for us. This dish is a combination of salty, sweet, spicy and sour making it a delightfully refreshing starter.We also ordered a plate of Pad Thai Talay ($14.80 for the large portion) to share. Although the restaur
更多
Rochor Thai is the only Thai restaurant located along the bustling Joo Chiat Road dining enclave, and serves up pretty good authentic Thai food with a modern twist.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
On my first visit there on a Friday night, I got the chance to try their Amuse Bouche specially prepared by the chef just for us. This dish is a combination of salty, sweet, spicy and sour making it a delightfully refreshing starter.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We also ordered a plate of Pad Thai Talay ($14.80 for the large portion) to share. Although the restaurant does not use any MSG in their food, the pad thai was very flavourful. Plus the prawns used were very fresh as well. Overall, great food combined with a relaxed environment and friendly staff make this a restaurant you definitely should try! =D
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-08-23
推介美食
  • Som Tum
等級2
5
0
2013-06-11 9 瀏覽
The restaurant was very empty as it was very new. The ambiance was very pleasing and the tables were neatly and well set when we arrived at the table. The waiter, who was very friendly, introduced us to the different Thai food that the restaurant served and recommended us many dishes! She also helped us tell the chef to make the food non-spicy, as I told her I didn't have a liking towards spicy food.The food arrived on time and it made my mouth start to water a lot. The Moo Pad Krapow, or stir
更多
The restaurant was very empty as it was very new. The ambiance was very pleasing and the tables were neatly and well set when we arrived at the table.
The waiter, who was very friendly, introduced us to the different Thai food that the restaurant served and recommended us many dishes! She also helped us tell the chef to make the food non-spicy, as I told her I didn't have a liking towards spicy food.

The food arrived on time and it made my mouth start to water a lot. The Moo Pad Krapow, or stir fried minced pork with garlic and fragrant holy thai basil was the first to arrive. The sight of it made me just feel like wolfing down the whole thing! It tasted great and was simply delicious.

I also ordered a plate of pad thai as I never bothered to try pad thai before. I did not regret my choice. The pad thai was very well cooked and the taste of it was just delighting! Their pad thai is a must try indeed!

Lastly, I decided not to leave the place without trying a dessert from them. I decided to try their Mango with Sticky Rice. It was one dish that looked very good! Their mango was so fresh and it tasted was so sweet! The sticky rice was also very sweet. It was a pretty unique dessert!


Overall, the food and service of the restaurant was excellent. They also do not charge service charge and GST! I will definitely visit them again and I hope you do too!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-06-07
人均消費
$11 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Pad Thai
  • Moo Pad Krapow
等級1
1
0
2013-05-11 4 瀏覽
All the dishes were tasty and generous. No MSG and no lard used. Pleasant ambience to eat. Service is a little slow, but the excellent food made up for it.The Cha Yen is very good, but if you don't like it too sweet, you can request for a less sweet version. The Thai Fish Cakes is excellent. The Grilled Pork Neck is so tender and juicy, it melts in your mouth. The Pad Thai is also very good, not oily and the noodles were well cooked. The Green Mango Salad and the Papaya Salad are abit too spicy
更多
All the dishes were tasty and generous. No MSG and no lard used. Pleasant ambience to eat. Service is a little slow, but the excellent food made up for it.

The Cha Yen is very good, but if you don't like it too sweet, you can request for a less sweet version. The Thai Fish Cakes is excellent. The Grilled Pork Neck is so tender and juicy, it melts in your mouth. The Pad Thai is also very good, not oily and the noodles were well cooked. The Green Mango Salad and the Papaya Salad are abit too spicy for me, but if you like it spicy, you will like them. The Pineapple Rice is a very generous portion and very fragrant, but I would have liked it abit richer.

Must try are their desserts. The Red Ruby is excellent, with big pieces of waterchesnut and the tapioca flour was not overwhelming. The Durian Spring Rolls are so good that we ordered another serving. You should also try their Mango with Sticky Rice - instead of just pouring coconut milk over the rice, they actually steam the rice together with the coconut milk, giving the sticky rice a fresh new texture. It's like eating sticky rice nasi lemak, and the imported Thai mangoes are so sweet.

I like the food so much, that I have been back 3 times in the last 2 months and will continue to bring friends there.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
0 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
1 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
2 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-05-11
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Pad Thai
  • Thai Fish Cake
  • Grilled Pork Neck
  • Red Ruby
  • Durian Spring Rolls