12
0
0
等級3
61
12
2016-04-07 769 瀏覽
Full review on herpenandfork.blogspot.sgIf you have ever passed Orchid Hotel during lunchtime, you would not miss the queues. Apart from the queue for the ramen, there's also the other queue - for Teppei Syokudo. It is known for its Chirashi Kaisen Don, $17.80 during lunch. There's no GST charge, making it one of the lower-end priced sashimi bowls in town. For those who can't trudge to Tanjong Pagar or don't want to brave the lunch time queue, they have takeaway outlets available at Takashimaya
更多
Full review on herpenandfork.blogspot.sg

If you have ever passed Orchid Hotel during lunchtime, you would not miss the queues. Apart from the queue for the ramen, there's also the other queue - for Teppei Syokudo.

It is known for its Chirashi Kaisen Don, $17.80 during lunch. There's no GST charge, making it one of the lower-end priced sashimi bowls in town. For those who can't trudge to Tanjong Pagar or don't want to brave the lunch time queue, they have takeaway outlets available at Takashimaya and Raffles City basement. Some say that it is better (fresher fish, not overly-marinated etc) to have it here on the spot, prepared by the chef in action himself. I have never tried, but I think you can hardly go wrong coming to the actual place where it first started.

In the small space at Orchid Hotel, diners sit by the bar, and you can get a pretty good view of the chefs and the kitchen action because of the open-concept kitchen. The perk of eating in Teppei is that you get to see chef in action: cutting, marinating and portioning the chunks of raw sashimi fish into each bowl. Once you sit down, you are given a menu and asked for your order. They also have other lunch sets (comes with hot/cold green tea and miso soup) ranging from $16.80-$19.90. The Gyu (wagyu beef) Don nearly tempted me with the delicious grilled smells. Nearly. I had to try the Kaisendon.

It was indeed as heard, generous with the sashimi. There is chunks, and I mean REALLY chunky and meaty, pieces of tuna, salmon, white fish, plump scallops and of course, the little orange balls of ikura (salmon roe) that go 'pop' in the mouth.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is not a don for people who want the pure unadulterated taste of sashimi. For those who like a little flavour along with the freshness of fish in their bowl, this is good. In fact, it is by far my favourite in town, perhaps because the previous bowls I have tried are not/little marinated. The Teppei Special Sauce marinate gives it the flavour needed that doesn't make one tire of the sashimi so easily. I would have liked the rice more sour with vinegar though. For those who are lucky without restriction of lunch hours, come early (11.55am) or at the later end (2pm) to steer clear of the queues. This is one of those places that definitely lives up to raves.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
  • Chirashi Kaisen Don
同步刊載
等級4
2016-02-26 572 瀏覽
The Japanese restaurant is located in the middle of a row of restaurants, at the ground floor of the hotel. It looks rather dull looking, comparing to its neighbouring restaurants. But its $80++ omakase (multi course) dinner is so highly in demand that one has to book about 3 months before in order to dine in there. The restaurant sits about 22 people around its counter table. The seats are quite close to each other. One could only leave bags under the stools or with the cashier. For dinner ther
更多
The Japanese restaurant is located in the middle of a row of restaurants, at the ground floor of the hotel. It looks rather dull looking, comparing to its neighbouring restaurants. But its $80++ omakase (multi course) dinner is so highly in demand that one has to book about 3 months before in order to dine in there. The restaurant sits about 22 people around its counter table. The seats are quite close to each other. One could only leave bags under the stools or with the cashier. For dinner there is 2 time slots : 6.30pm and 8.30pm.

Each person is served iced tea in a beer mug.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Assorted Appetiser Platter
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The edamame bean was nutty. The deep fried fish skin was quite crunchy.
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The lotus root salad was crunchy.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The in house made bean curd was light and smooth.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The spinach was light and crunchy.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The fishcake was crunchy.
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The unagi maki was a bit too plain.
5 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Assorted Sashimi
There was salmon, tuna, snapper, scallop, and seaweed, served with fresh wasabi. Felt the tuna was not as fatty and melt in the mouth as before.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chawamushi
Quite smooth in texture.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mini minced raw tuna roll
Since I'm a female, I got the mini size version. Guys will get the big size version. There was crispy tempura crumbles in the roll which made the roll quite crunchy.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mini Taro
Served on a stick.
It looked like a nut but really tasted like taro.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Monk Fish Liver
Served on spoon.
Wrapped with crispy beancurd skin, it tasted quite rich and creamy.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised Snapper
As I was served the tail part, the meat was juicy but a bit quite boney.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Raw Tuna, Salmon Roe, Uni on Sushi Rice
Served on a spoon.
Simply melt in the mouth.
5 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Fish Cake Mochi
Served on a spoon.
It looked so cute like a flower. It was served with a bit of sweet savoury brown sauce on it, it had a chewy mochi like texture with a fish cake like taste.
7 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Pickle
Served on a stick.
It was served to act as a palate cleanser.
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Foie Gras on Salmon Sashimi
Served on a spoon.
The pan fried foie gras was quite melt in the mouth. Quite a combination for the cooked and raw food together.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Roasted Monk Fish Skin
Its chewy texture kind of reminded one of dried cuttlefish.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Crab Leg
Served with a light sauce on top.
The meat was sweet and juicy
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Raw Monk Fish's lip
It had quite crunchy in texture.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Saga Beef
The beef looked a bit bloody but tasted quite smooth.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For this course, if one did not take beef, it was replace with braised pork. The pork looked dry but had a melt in the mouth texture.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pork bone soup with Mochi
The mochi looked like kway chap but was quite chewy in texture. The soup was quite porky.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Tai (Snapper) 's Belly on Cream Cheese
Served on spoon.
Interesting experience of having sashimi with cream cheese. It kind of balance the rich taste of the cream cheese.
Main Course : Sashimi Rice Don, 4 Kinds of Sushi, Uni Fried Rice, Wagyu Beef Fried Rice, Fish Ocha Zuke, Hiyajiru
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mom tried Ocha Zuke which reminded one of teochew fish porridge. It was actually rice in hot soup with snapper sashimi, shredded ginger and fresh wasabi on top.
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
If one was having birthday, you could change the main course to sashimi cake. Remember to inform the staff in advance. The staffs around will also sing birthday song to the birthday guy in lighted eye-wears, with the lights off. The sashimi cake was actually cubed sashimi and crunchy pops served on top of seasoned sushi rice, with a candle lighted on.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dessert was a scoop of ice cream with choice of flavour : Calpis, Durian, Green Tea, Sesame, Salted Caramel, Yuzu.
The black sesame one was rich and creamy. The green tea one was not bad too. But my favourite was the calpis version.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Overall the food was a lot for a $80++ meal. I could see a number of guys having problems finishing their main courses. The staffs were quite funny. We got to be spoon fed by the staffs for certain course served spoon. As I had the 6.30pm dining slots, at around 8pm the cashier already started going around with the bill. 15 minutes before the end, one could see the staffs preparing food the next time slot diners.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2016-02-06
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$188.32 (晚餐)
等級2
16
0
2016-01-08 353 瀏覽
A small restuarant at Orchird Hotel with only about 20 pax seating. Had a great fun during the dining! It was really an interesting experience. The chefs are very entertaining and we have our fair share of fun. They serve us mainly different kinds of sashimi and beef dishes. The sashimi was really fresh with no fishy smell. They have interesting food such as cod fish's sperm and sesame toufu! The taste of cod fish's sperm was not as bad as what i think initially! Sesame toufu was interesting as
更多
A small restuarant at Orchird Hotel with only about 20 pax seating. Had a great fun during the dining! It was really an interesting experience. The chefs are very entertaining and we have our fair share of fun. They serve us mainly different kinds of sashimi and beef dishes. The sashimi was really fresh with no fishy smell. They have interesting food such as cod fish's sperm and sesame toufu! The taste of cod fish's sperm was not as bad as what i think initially! Sesame toufu was interesting as the sesame taste was quite strong and i like it!

Just another reminder, they have this special sashimi cake which can be order in advanced for birthday celebration. Another reminder, please have early lunch or light lunch before going to Teppei!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-12-31
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$80 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
生日
推介美食
  • Sashimi rice
等級4
2014-12-10 620 瀏覽
Located in the middle of the row of eateries, is this small Japanese restaurant. It is well known for its barachirashi. Although it opens at 11.45am for lunch, the queue already stretchs to the next shop when I reach the place at 11.30am. By the time it opens for business, the queue has become double in length. But lucky I am still able to make it into the first seating with 6 more people behind me.At each seat, table setting is arranged properly with a mug of iced tea on the counter table. The
更多
70 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Located in the middle of the row of eateries, is this small Japanese restaurant. It is well known for its barachirashi. Although it opens at 11.45am for lunch, the queue already stretchs to the next shop when I reach the place at 11.30am. By the time it opens for business, the queue has become double in length. But lucky I am still able to make it into the first seating with 6 more people behind me.
Iced Tea
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
At each seat, table setting is arranged properly with a mug of iced tea on the counter table. The tea is refillable with a staff going around to refill. The stools are all placed quite near to each other.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As all the customers are sitting at the counter, we have a nice view of watching the staffs making the dishes on the spot.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A staff would go around taking orders. Although most people order barachirashi for lunch, I decide to go for today's special which is Sansyoku Don. After placing order, a tag showing your order will be placed in front of you, so that the staffs in the cooking area know your order.

Sansyoku Don
$17.6
190 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Sansyoku Don
($17.60)
It consists of 3 mini dons, which are Ikura Mini Don, Barachirashi Mini Don & Hamachi Mini Don.
Ikura Mini Don
36 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
I like the Ikura Mini Don the best as it has the natural sweetness of both minced fatty tuna belly and Ikura (Salmon roe). It is topped with shredded sea weeds, crunchy tempura crumbs and a bit of wasabi. I like that the wasabi used here is the fresh type, not the powder mixed with water type that is commonly found in most sushi chain places.
Hamachi Mini Don
36 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Hamachi Mini Don has thick slices of marinated Yellowtail on sushi rice, topped with spring onion, sea weed and wasabi. Although well marinated, it does not taste salty.
Barachirashi Mini Don
49 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Lastly is the hot favourite Barachirashi Mini Don, which is packed with generous chunks of assorted sashimi fish that have been marinated on rice in a small bowl. It is topped with sea weed and dou miao. Similar to the Hamachi Mini Don, the marinated fish does not taste too salty.

All the 3 mini dons taste very delicious. The only I dislike is that the bowls which they served are very tiny and it is quite difficult to mix the dishes in the bowls.
Miso Soup
46 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The dish is served with miso soup. It tastes light and flavourful, with mushrooms in it.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For those who feels the need for seasoning, the counter is filled with assorted condiments.
Fish Head Stew
24 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Marinated Bean Sprouts
29 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Pickled Veggies
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Side dishes
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Besides these, there is also side dishes to help yourself to, while waiting for the order to be served. Today there is 3 side dishes which are fish head stew, marinated bean sprouts and pickled veggies. The fish head stew is very nice with tender fish meat and chuck of tender bamboo shoots in it. The bean sprouts tastes a bit bland. The pickled veggies is a bit too salty.

Overall the food is delicious and is served quite fast too. Although the queue is long, the turnover is quite fast too. A couple of guys sitting next to me, finish off at 12.15pm. Besides dining in, there is also huge number of orders for takeaway too. Can't wait to come again to try other dishes on the menu.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-12-08
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$17.60 (午餐)
推介美食
Sansyoku Don
$ 17.6
Ikura Mini Don
Hamachi Mini Don
Barachirashi Mini Don
Fish Head Stew
Side dishes
等級3
50
0
2014-12-02 596 瀏覽
This restaurant is quite small thus you need to queue several months ahead to get seats!Our friend queue up 3 months ahead to secure seats for his birthday celebration. We were glad to be invited to his dinner.This is probably one of the cheapest Omakase dining (chef decides the menu for the day & whips up food which he feels like serving). Chef is very cute & homorous. He will mingle & even drink with customers on & off while preparing the food.Do let the chef/staffs know if you do not take bee
更多
75 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
sashimi birthday cake
463 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
grasshopper
97 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
tuna wrap
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This restaurant is quite small thus you need to queue several months ahead to get seats!
Our friend queue up 3 months ahead to secure seats for his birthday celebration. We were glad to be invited to his dinner.
This is probably one of the cheapest Omakase dining (chef decides the menu for the day & whips up food which he feels like serving). Chef is very cute & homorous. He will mingle & even drink with customers on & off while preparing the food.
Do let the chef/staffs know if you do not take beef etc so that they can substitute with other food items. They have 2 sessions for dinner, thus they serve their food very fast (20+ items in total in small individual portions). But, don't worry, the quality of food is not compromised.


We really enjoyed their fresh & thickly sliced assorted sashimi, we wished it was buffet style so that we can eat the sashimi to our heart content! Their wagyu beef is super tender & juicy. Their tuna seaweed roll is really awesome, very generous heaps of raw minced tuna with minimal rice wrap inside seaweed. The guys got their tuna roll in extra length compared to ladies which means even more tuna added!


This is the first time i saw restaurant serving grasshopper! I dared not eat it & gave it to my partner. He loves it saying that it is very delicious & crunchy
As it was our friend's birthday celebration, the chef made a sashimi cake for him. Very generous heaps of sashimi again! Yum yum


Overall, we were very satisfied with the dinning experience. Awesome food, friendly & efficient staffs, superb services provided! Highly recommended!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-12-01
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
sashimi birthday cake
tuna wrap
等級4
174
1
2014-11-19 390 瀏覽
I've heard ravings about barachirashi at Teppei, and finally got an opportunity to try this out with a friend!We were not working on a weekday noon, so we went there at about 11.30am ( lunch starts at 12pm), thinking that early bird will get the worm. *Palm face* There was already a long queue, and we thought we were being kiasu to be there half an hour earlier? Dubz... Why the office staff can spend time queuing when lunch is supposed to be just an hour? I also want to go work in their company.
更多
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I've heard ravings about barachirashi at Teppei, and finally got an opportunity to try this out with a friend!

We were not working on a weekday noon, so we went there at about 11.30am ( lunch starts at 12pm), thinking that early bird will get the worm. *Palm face* There was already a long queue, and we thought we were being kiasu to be there half an hour earlier? Dubz... Why the office staff can spend time queuing when lunch is supposed to be just an hour? I also want to go work in their company. =_="

Thank goodness, we managed to get in for the first seating. In fact, we were the last 2 to go in. Really heng lor.. The place is very small, with just counter seats around the chefs' working area. I did a mental calculation, the restaurant probably can only accommodate 20 odds patrons at one time? Good luck if you intend to come in big group.

We were given free flow of side dishes while the chef prepared our chirashi. I particularly liked the stewed meat + radish which was good enough to be a dish on its own. The ingredients totally soaked up the sweet sauce so well, give me a bowl of rice!! Hee hee

Finally, our little bowl of seafood goodness came. The bowl was smaller than other places but com'on it was only $17.60!!! Where to find so cheap chirashi? If you think they cut corners and serve you substandard seafood, no lor... salmon, tuna, scallop, roe were all so fresh and sweet.

Click on http://fun-hideout.blogspot.sg/2014/09/teppei-japanese-restaurant.html to read more! ♥ ♥ ♥

22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$20
推介美食
  • barachirashi
等級3
56
4
2014-11-08 260 瀏覽
Teppi has been taking Singapore by storm recently and after months of waiting (the queue i last heard was 4 months & also thanks to rachel for booking the place) finally got the chance to savor Japanese omakase at such an affordable price. Omakase dining simply means letting the chef decide your menu for the day, whipping up food which he feels like serving. The appetizers Salad greens, grilled peas and that very yummy fried salmon skin. 1 piece really ain't enough but that was what we got. The
更多

Teppi has been taking Singapore by storm recently and after months of waiting (the queue i last heard was 4 months & also thanks to rachel for booking the place) finally got the chance to savor Japanese omakase at such an affordable price. Omakase dining simply means letting the chef decide your menu for the day, whipping up food which he feels like serving.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The appetizers
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Salad greens, grilled peas and that very yummy fried salmon skin. 1 piece really ain't enough but that was what we got.

The Starters
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Japanese poporn on the stalk! Photo worthy and really crunchy too. The plate of fresh sashimi was as good as it gets. Great quality fishes - the tuna was not tiny bit tough as you might expect from elsewhere. You bite down and it melts in your mouth. As you can expect, the salmon was really good too. The only item which i felt wasn't to my liking was the yuzu clam soup. Still not a fan of yuzu.

Those cooked fishes
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It was to my surprise that we had more fish dishes than I orginally thought. Those who know me well knows that I am not a fan of cooked fish - and I guess this is the part which I really didn't enjoy. However, the seared codfish was excellent. Tasted more like pork than fish to me where the distinct codfish odour was almost non existent. Can't really say much about the yuzu salmon soup, soy braised fish & tempura fishhh because they had that overwhelming fishy taste which I dislike. Nonetheless, all wasn't wasted as there were many peeps to eat them up for me.

Almost there!
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yes, more food on the way. A maki roll with fresh choppped sashimi. That Japanese tomato which was sweet and juicy - unlike those sold in Singapore, was really awestuck by this seemingly unpretentious item. The grilled chest nut tasted meh but the foie gras, puffer fish skin, beef and salmon aburi were mouthwatering.

The Game.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Mashed green peas and eggs served on a spoon. The catch - outta of 20 spoons, 10 were infused with lots of fresh WASABI. So, will you be the lucky or unlucky one. Thankfully, I was the lucky few to make it out from the challenge without tearing. However, greedy me decided to volunteer to have another go at the last spoon because there was short of one person that night. All i can say, i almost choked and teared uncontrollably for that one minute. Thank you for the experience Mr Teppei

Almost at the end - The Mains
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yes, for mains, we could choose from a selection and out came kimchi fried rice and spoonfuls of aburi. In my honest opinion, go for the spoonfuls of aburis - from monkfish, salmon, raw prawn and some slimy part of the fish, these items will leave a mark on your palate instead of that ordinary looking kimchi fried rice.

Desserts
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Very average ice creams - seaseme, yuzu, calpis, but it was fine because we were so full from the other items.

overall review: read my full review @ http://shauneeie.blogspot.sg/2014/11/teppei-tanjong-pagar.html

8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$100
推介美食
  • sashimi
  • cricket
  • foie gras
等級4
Teppei Japanese Restaurant is probably the restaurant that I waited for more than six months for a seating. Tucked away inconspicuously at Orchid Hotel, it is a short two minutes walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT and many would probably overlook it, well at least I did! Having visited their sister outlet, Hanare couple of months back and leaving on a positive note, we were waiting in anticipation for our turn at tasting their famous omakase.Omakase is a Japanese phrase that translates to "I'll le
更多
Teppei Japanese Restaurant is probably the restaurant that I waited for more than six months for a seating. Tucked away inconspicuously at Orchid Hotel, it is a short two minutes walk away from Tanjong Pagar MRT and many would probably overlook it, well at least I did! Having visited their sister outlet, Hanare couple of months back and leaving on a positive note, we were waiting in anticipation for our turn at tasting their famous omakase.
Omakase is a Japanese phrase that translates to "I'll leave it to you" and is often used at sushi restaurants where diners leave the selection to the chef. As such, it can be quite a challenge to the chef to present a series of plates which typically begins with the lightest fare and concludes with the heaviest and richest dishes. It is also common for the chef to demonstrate as many cooking techniques as possible within the multiple courses to be served which may range from sashimi to grills and stir-fries.

Famous for their affordable omakase, there were only three options to choose from, S$50/++, S$60/++ or S$80/++ and at such rates, it is no wonder that there is a minimum six months queue. 
So...a few months had passed and we finally got to try Teppei, is it worth the wait though?
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As we entered the rather cramped restaurant, the chefs were already busy at work, preparing the dishes! As we settled down, somewhat uncomfortably at our elevated wooden stools, a lady would go around the table to take orders from the diners and we settled for the S$60/++ offering. There was a very homely vibe about the place and how the ladies went around to individually take our orders. Do note that everyone within the group has to order the same offering (i.e. S$50, S$60 or S$80) so make sure you arrange to go with the right makan khakis!
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Every pair of diners will have a set of condiments to share.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The first course was indeed the lightest fare with a vinegar-based salad to whet our appetite. The greens were fresh and finely sliced with good consistency.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The plate of assorted sashimi was decent with salmon, fatty tuna belly, scallop and swordfish. While the sashimi served were fresh, they were sliced in various forms which resulted in a rather disorganised and inconsistent assembly on the platter.
Quite frankly, I was rather disappointed with the quality of the sashimi given that I had a much better fare at Hanare. Somehow, I felt that the quality was rather pedestrian and failed to impress.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
It was quite interesting to see a box of these mini live crabs in a plastic box placed in front of us and while we were busy digging in to our food, we were served a skewer of these freshly grilled crabs! The texture was simply sublime with a beautiful crunch though there were some sharp edges which might cut one's lips or tongue.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This tuna hand roll was one of the highlights among the twenty or so dishes served. A fatty cut was chosen so it was almost melt in your mouth and there were some crispy bits of fried tempura batter added to give that extra crunch. The seaweed wrapping the roll was spot-on with a beautiful crisp that gave a resounding crust with each bite, simply brilliant!
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The grilled cod portion was also cooked to perfection with a nice crust that had a thin layer of caramelisation while retaining the tenderness of the fish. Once again, there was the issue of inconsistency as my dining companion was served a portion that had at least three large bones while mine was completely deboned.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
One of the more interesting bites during the meal was this snack and you would probably not guess what it is. Well, it is in fact the crown of a chicken! We were only told what it was after we placed it in our mouths and swallowed and while we were somewhat disgusted by the thought of it, it was surprisingly delicious with an unique texture. It was soft, chewy and slightly elastic with a nice caramelisation that left a mildly saccharine after-taste.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We were served this clam soup for us to cleanse our palate halfway through dinner and while the clams were fresh and plush, there was sand in my portion and that somewhat put me off a little. The broth had a punch of salinity only to be balanced by an appropriate level of acidity.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The wagyu beef chunks were slightly overcooked and personally I would have preferred it to be prepared medium rare though this was compensated by the savoury sweet marinade that coated the red meat.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
As we were about 60% through our dinner, we were asked to choose our mains and desserts and this varies according to the menu you had opted for at the start of the meal. While we were almost full by now, we were presented with this broth which had tender pork chunks that were succulent and almost melt-in-your-mouth tender. Despite having a rather high tolerance for salinity, I still found this to be a little salty for my palate.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Choosing the sashimi rice main, I thoroughly enjoyed the thick chunks of salmon slices but I found the sea urchin to be rather stale and after a nibble, I had to leave this out in order not to leave an unpleasant bearing on my palate.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My dining companion chose the fried rice with sunny side egg and that seemed like a much safer option. The other options were soba and udon, where diners have the option of enjoying it hot or cold. I liked that the fried rice were individually greased and there was just the right amount of wok hei in the stir-fry to impart greater flavours to the dish.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For desserts, it was only ice cream and we were given a choice of green tea, calpis, sesame and yuzu. It felt only right that we went for the traditional flavours of green tea and yuzu. While the flavours were inherently rich, it tasted very mass-market and probably not something that was made in-house. Nonetheless, it concluded our meal on a sweet note.
With counter seating that houses about 16 guests, Teppei takes in two rounds of seating every evening starting from 6.30pm and you would be expected to finish your meal by 8.30pm. While there were hits and misses with the food, it would be hard to find another restaurant offering a better value for your money. What turned me off largely was that before the desserts were served, we were already served the bill as it was about time to handover for the second seating. You could not help but notice another group of dutiful followers joining the queue outside ready for their omakase.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Teppei also offered one of these rice rolls with deep fried chicken for takeaway at S$8. The rice packed in lots of flavours from the chicken marinade and also locked in the essence of the sauces. By the time we had the karaage few hours later for supper, the chicken lost its crispiness which was expected.
Overall, we felt that it was quite a value-for-money meal but I would beg to differ to conclude that this is the best omakase in town, simply due to the ambience and service which were lacklustre. While there were a few hits and surprises in the chef's offerings, the sashimi was a letdown and most of the dishes were pedestrian. Would I join the queue for another six months wait? Probably not, though it is worth a try for those who want an insight to the omakase experience.

For original review, please refer to http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/07/sg-teppei-will-you-queue-6-months-for.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$70 (晚餐)
等級1
4
0
This is our 1st time at teppei. Its reservation timeline tells everything. It is indeed better than a Chinese 8 course dining and feels like fine dining we ordered the $80 set meal and after the almost 2 hours meal that started fr 840pm, ended at 1130pm. We were full to the brim.Will definitely back again and it is a must go but u do not need to be too dress up as the shop air-con is not working well.
更多
This is our 1st time at teppei. Its reservation timeline tells everything. It is indeed better than a Chinese 8 course dining and feels like fine dining we ordered the $80 set meal and after the almost 2 hours meal that started fr 840pm, ended at 1130pm. We were full to the brim.
Will definitely back again and it is a must go but u do not need to be too dress up as the shop air-con is not working well.
32 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-11
用餐時段
晚餐
推介美食
  • Set meal
等級2
11
1
2013-10-01 229 瀏覽
This visit was planned ahead of time, even before the last random visit. No different from the last, there were ready queues to go in before the stipulated 630pm (why am I not surprised) but what was surprising was the number of people eating ala carte that night. I presumptuously thought that everyone was there for omakase.I get placed next to some dude celebrating the birthday of his babe and the whole meal, he was inching into my territory of comfort much to the chagrin of the companion. Talk
更多
This visit was planned ahead of time, even before the last random visit. No different from the last, there were ready queues to go in before the stipulated 630pm (why am I not surprised) but what was surprising was the number of people eating ala carte that night. I presumptuously thought that everyone was there for omakase.

I get placed next to some dude celebrating the birthday of his babe and the whole meal, he was inching into my territory of comfort much to the chagrin of the companion. Talked loud, emptied half a bottle sake, indulged in the $80 sets and the bill came up to a beautiful tune of 400 odd.

Impressive or not, I leave that judgement to you.

The prices remained the same since the last visit but they seemed to have changed the selection a fairbit. $60 options no longer come with wagyu, instead that gets placed in the $80 bracket. Also in the $80 set is sushi instead of sashimi rice.

A strange revelation about this meal - I was hardly as stuffed as before and the companion even had space for a takeaway for chirashi don ($15). They may have shrunk their portions alongside with the value and if returns are necessary, it will be for ala carte and takeaway.

Chirashi don was a killer - fresh cubes of tuna, salmon and roe made it oooh-lala delicious. No wonder people return specially for alacarte. I am sure the Japanese get bigger portions but the value of Teppei is finally found once again.

Second visit completed, no more visits planned for 2013. Maybe 2014?'

Pictures and complete review up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/10/teppei-restaurant-revisited-orchid-hotel.html
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-19
人均消費
$80 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • sashimi rice
  • oyster
  • sashimi platter
等級3
68
0
2013-09-19 146 瀏覽
Teppei and its Japanese Omakase experience is taking Singapore by storm. If you think that the rumored 2-4 weeks wait for a table is long, you would be in for a shock because they are actually full for the rest of the year. That was when i called in... May? Well... the trick to getting a table is to just put your name on the wait list first, and call them a couple of days before to check if people have canceled their reservation. Well, at least that's how i managed to sample the 13-15 course mea
更多
Teppei and its Japanese Omakase experience is taking Singapore by storm. If you think that the rumored 2-4 weeks wait for a table is long, you would be in for a shock because they are actually full for the rest of the year. That was when i called in... May? Well... the trick to getting a table is to just put your name on the wait list first, and call them a couple of days before to check if people have canceled their reservation. Well, at least that's how i managed to sample the 13-15 course meal for a steal at 60 bucks! There is also a $50 omakase option that excludes the Wagyu beef and Toro. Needless to say we chose the more expensive option.

Love the coziness of the bar setting at Teppei. I love watching my food being prepared. It's great entertainment and there's always this anticipation of the next dish.

Some highlights-
Rice roll with a minced fish paste that was mixed with tempura batter to give it that light crunch. I'm not sure what paste this is (probably minced tuna belly) but it sure was yummy, especially with the light spicy spring onions. We noticed that people came in to take away some awesome don made with similar ingredients, which i suspect to be the Negitoro Kaisen Don ($14.95). Now that looked really mouthwatering with the generous chunks of marinated sashimi, minced tuna belly, salmon roe and tempura batter. ZOMG. Definitely coming back for this.

If a fish is good enough for me to pick off all the meat from the bone, it is good enough for anyone. Hur. The charred soy bits on the exterior of the Hamachi slice was so good with the fatty collagen from the cheek! I'm dreaming of fish tonight..

The sashimi was fresh, sweet and buttery. What more can i ask for! Absolutely worth my 60 bucks.

Barnacles. I've seen plenty of them during my dives and they always look really gross. But after Teppei, i'm seeing them in a different light. It tasted like any other crustacean but i think it's most similar to the tail part of the crab claw (which i love). It's soft, briny and has a slightly roe-ish texture.

I've never had unagi tempura before and i guess there is a reason for that. The moisture in the unagi softens the batter quickly so it kinda spoiled the crunch. But if you love unagi, this 10x4cm parcel is gonna make you very happy. The tempura course changes so you may not get this.

A rather substantial portion of stir-fried Wagyu cubes which i found to be on the powdery side. Hmm..

For the main course, you should only order 1 thing, and that is the Sashimi rice. Trust me you won't regret it. Fresh seafood was paired with Japanese Koshihikaru sushi rice from Toyama. The uni was to die for.

Wait no longer. Ok actually you have to wait a long long time. But make a booking and I swear you wouldn't be disappointed.

For full review and more photos, please visit www.ms-skinnyfat.com
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級3
73
3
Last Sat I was fed with the finest Japanese cuisine that it sent me straight up to cloud nine + tears streaming down from my eyes...it is too delicious that words cannot best describe my feelings except i tempt you with all the food pictures i took last Sat. Muahahaha.Their Omakase is priced from 50 up to 85 bucks per set. Trust me, it is really worth every single cent. and Yes, it is a counter only restaurant that can sit up to 20 pax at one time only so there is a waiting Q that you need to jo
更多
Last Sat I was fed with the finest Japanese cuisine that it sent me straight up to cloud nine + tears streaming down from my eyes...it is too delicious that words cannot best describe my feelings except i tempt you with all the food pictures i took last Sat. Muahahaha.

Their Omakase is priced from 50 up to 85 bucks per set. Trust me, it is really worth every single cent. and Yes, it is a counter only restaurant that can sit up to 20 pax at one time only so there is a waiting Q that you need to join. for your info, the reservation list is fully taken up until end of this yr and you will need to book for next yr slot already! since we are there, we opt for the most expensive one la..

Overall,
Food : **** ( out of 5)
Price : *** ( comparing to the type of food we ate that night, it is super value for money!)
Customer Experience : *****
Will i come again ? : i love it sooo much that i put myself on waiting list everyday! one call and i will rush my way there muahahahaha

these are some of the food we had. There is a total of 20 over dishes!

Appetizer. the vege is so fresh and the salad sauce is sooo good. first dish already set me up on preparing to take off mode haha.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sashimi...that send me up to Cloud 9 already..the sashimi is super fresh! i just eat it without wasabi.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
butter clam soup...clam is super fresh!
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sea urchin with scallop....i am already floating in the air..lol
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The beef that sends me up to heaven and dont feel like coming bk hahahaha
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
there are many more dishes and I would say that I feel very fortunate to be able to go for their omakase that night as i am surrounded by very good food with the price of 85 bucks. if you want to try their omakase, i would suggest to go for their 85 bucks set, it is really worth and the food is soo good!

For full review and more photos, please visit http://princessmic80.blogspot.sg/2013/09/of-to-heaven-and-back-last-sat-omakase.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-07
人均消費
$85 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • omakase