17
3
1
等級4
Full The Cathay Restaurant review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/01/the-cathay-restaurant-tasting-session.htmlOperating under the Cathay Organisation, The Cathay Restaurant has a long historical legacy, reaching the height of its popularity in 1951 with its Chinese Zi Char, Cantonese, and Shanghainese dishes. Despite closing in the 70s, The Cathay Restaurant reopened in 2007, and has now come full circle, serving up solid, delicious, and authentic Chinese dishes in an elegant o
更多
Full The Cathay Restaurant review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/01/the-cathay-restaurant-tasting-session.html

Operating under the Cathay Organisation, The Cathay Restaurant has a long historical legacy, reaching the height of its popularity in 1951 with its Chinese Zi Char, Cantonese, and Shanghainese dishes. Despite closing in the 70s, The Cathay Restaurant reopened in 2007, and has now come full circle, serving up solid, delicious, and authentic Chinese dishes in an elegant oriental setting.

Ambience at The Cathay Restaurant exudes an elegant oriental sophistication. Colours of red, black, and white within the brightly lit, spacious 190-seater interior lend a sense of luxury and space. Traditional Chinese lanterns hang overhead, while aluminium-screened private function rooms feature Chinese movie posters in a nod to its cinema links. Portraits of 1960s Chinese movie actresses adorn the walls, while pillars bear Chinese motifs. Tables are suitably large for communal dining, and the modern cushioned chairs are comfortable.
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Service at The Cathay Restaurant is attentive, yet unobstrusive. Staff are quick to offer a change of plates after a few courses, and clearing is done efficiently. Topping up of tea is also performed proactively, without asking. I also like that staff are professional, and rather knowledgable, able to describe the ingredients in each dish with general terms.

Food at The Cathay Restaurant features fine dining Chinese Zi Char, with a predominant Cantonese and Shanghainese style to dishes. We sampled the ala-carte dinner buffet, which features an extensive menu of 62 different items. Dishes are generally well executed with good wok hei (breath of the wok), well balanced and tasty, with good quality, fresh ingredients. Costing about SGD $50 per person, the ala-carte dinner buffet is good value for money. The only catch: It has to be communal dining, the minimum number of diners is 4 people.
Deep-Fried Soon Hock / Marble Goby
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Marinated Sea Whelk has a nice, pliant texture with a slight chew. But the best thing about this dish is the marinade, a spicy, slightly sour, Thai inspired chili sauce, which is a burst of bright citrus flavour and some heat.
Marinated Sea Whelk
23 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The signature Cathay Roasted Crispy Chicken was easily the best dish of the evening. The chicken meat is moist, succulent, fragrant, and tender, coming off the bone easily. But the best part is the crispy skin, with a good salty, savoury flavour that isn't overpowering. Dip it in the slightly spicy, sour dipping sauce for maximum enjoyment. So good we couldn't stop eating it! Definitely a must-try dish here!
Cathay Roasted Crispy Chicken
10 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The visually pleasing Chilled Coconut Jelly is unique with its sweet coconut water syrup, scent of coconut, and coconut infused jelly. This modern dessert is both refreshing and palate cleansing, and the sprig of mint lends a burst of colour.
Chilled Coconut Jelly
24 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Overall, The Cathay Restaurant maintains the same high standards they've always been known for. With efficient, polite service in an elegant setting, it's no surprise that The Cathay Restaurant has maintained such a long, and delicious, legacy. And with 2015 being the celebrations for SG50, The Cathay Restaurant is a perfect place to celebrate whilst embracing a slice of Singapore's history.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-01-12
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
推介美食
Marinated Sea Whelk
Cathay Roasted Crispy Chicken
Chilled Coconut Jelly
Deep-Fried Soon Hock / Marble Goby
等級4
2015-01-13 46 瀏覽
Serving authentic Cantonese and Shanghaiese fare, Cathay now boosts an unstated elegance in its modernistic yet tastefully vintage Oriental settings, complete with black-and-white framed photos as well as olden days' Chinese songs playing softly in the background.We had the Marinated Sea Whelk, something unique and exotic. The mysterious sauce tasted akin to Thai sauce, and the texture was interesting. It was smooth and chewy, similiar to squid but a lot more tender. It was so delicious I could
更多
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Serving authentic Cantonese and Shanghaiese fare, Cathay now boosts an unstated elegance in its modernistic yet tastefully vintage Oriental settings, complete with black-and-white framed photos as well as olden days' Chinese songs playing softly in the background.
Marinated Sea Whelk
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
We had the Marinated Sea Whelk, something unique and exotic. The mysterious sauce tasted akin to Thai sauce, and the texture was interesting. It was smooth and chewy, similiar to squid but a lot more tender. It was so delicious I could easily eat a few pieces at a go.
Drunken Chicken Roll
16 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
It is not hard to see why everyone adored the Drunken Chicken Roll here. The chicken meat was ultra tender and juicy, infused generously with alcohol to give it the in-your-face good taste yet not overpowering the natural sweetness of the chicken.
Black Pepper Crayfish
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Now, time for the Fried Crayfish with Black Pepper - a combination of two of my favorite things. Bouncy, saccharine flesh that is complemented by the spiciness of black pepper, heightening the overall taste.
Cathay Roast Chicken
11 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The other palate pleaser would be the Cathay Roasted Crispy Chicken, crackling skin that flanked delicately soft flesh within it - yes, unbelievably tender meat that one never expects of a roast chicken dish. Flavor was adequate, especially when eaten with the crumbs of garlic (and something else indiscernible) that are sprinkled over the chicken.
Crispy Chinese Pancake
11 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Time for desserts next. We began with the Crispy Chinese Pancake - it was not greasy at all, and the crusts were crispy, cracker-like in lieu of the softer, oily-er ones that we get conventionally. We were told the filling was lotus but we definitely detected hints of a tropical fruit that the lotus was concocted with. Nonetheless, the pancake was tasty and we were glad we ordered it despite everyone being full already.

For full review and more photographs, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2015/01/media-invite-dinner-at-cathay-chinese.html

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-01-12
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Marinated Sea Whelk
Drunken Chicken Roll
Black Pepper Crayfish
Cathay Roast Chicken
Crispy Chinese Pancake
  • Beancurd with Conpoy
  • Deep Fried Soon Hock
  • Prawn with Wasabi Cream
  • Pan-fried Tenderloin
等級1
2
0
2014-11-12 51 瀏覽
I went for lunch with colleagues, but was curious why we had to wait for a table when restaurant was not even half full. By the way trying not ordering drinks at your own risk. You actually had to order, even if it is just water (30 cents) or else they will stand beside you and ask repeatedly. When we order tea, they don't even come and check the pots for refill, we had to ask them for a refill every time.The food was average, I think the reviews are too kind, for the price I rather go imperial
更多
I went for lunch with colleagues, but was curious why we had to wait for a table when restaurant was not even half full. By the way trying not ordering drinks at your own risk. You actually had to order, even if it is just water (30 cents) or else they will stand beside you and ask repeatedly. When we order tea, they don't even come and check the pots for refill, we had to ask them for a refill every time.

The food was average, I think the reviews are too kind, for the price I rather go imperial or Wah Lok (at least service is much better).

Here you can observe, desserts came first and main came later (reason was because the food has already been cooked, staff said next time order the dessert last).

Looks more like a Chinese fast food restaurant, they precooked many items, thus the quality is not good. They clear plates very fast, so as to accommodate the 'next group of people' even though restaurant is not full.

Overall I did not enjoy, so so only. This is my last visit.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-11-12
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
等級4
2014-03-15 92 瀏覽
I have been invited to this restaurant to have a fine lunch feast from my business partner.  The restaurant is quite spacious and cooling and the decoration here modern and simple.  The restaurant manager and staffs are friendly and prompt in service.  Have tasted some of their signature dishes which these 3 dishese are my favourite.  Braised noodles are very fragrant not too salty.   Is not too soft and appetizing.  The steamed cod fish is very fresh and soft, lightly seasoned without any sting
更多
I have been invited to this restaurant to have a fine lunch feast from my business partner.  The restaurant is quite spacious and cooling and the decoration here modern and simple.  The restaurant manager and staffs are friendly and prompt in service.  
Have tasted some of their signature dishes which these 3 dishese are my favourite.  Braised noodles are very fragrant not too salty.   Is not too soft and appetizing.  The steamed cod fish is very fresh and soft, lightly seasoned without any stingy smell.  Stir fry asparagus with spicy prawns taste yummy and as the asparagus is very crunchy and also not too hard.  Is full woth the prawns fragrant and chilli is spicy and appetizing.  
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
174
1
Corn & Crab Meat Soup - $7Scallop & Crab Meat Soup - $8I wanted to order this melon soup in the menu, but it was only available for pre-orders =_=Well, that was NOT gonna deprived me of having soups! So we ended up ordering individual soups... ya lah, the price is meant for 1 bowl of soup for 1 pax. Kinda expensive since the bowl was not really big for sharing. The corn soup was much sweeter, while the latter was simple & light. Both were okay, and came with chunks of crab meats. But I guess, yo
更多
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Corn & Crab Meat Soup - $7
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Scallop & Crab Meat Soup - $8

I wanted to order this melon soup in the menu, but it was only available for pre-orders =_=

Well, that was NOT gonna deprived me of having soups! So we ended up ordering individual soups... ya lah, the price is meant for 1 bowl of soup for 1 pax. Kinda expensive since the bowl was not really big for sharing. The corn soup was much sweeter, while the latter was simple & light. Both were okay, and came with chunks of crab meats. But I guess, you may want to give the soups a pass, as they were just okay and the price seemed to be over-rated.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Vegetable - $22

I forgot to take the name of the dishes in the menu. But dun worry! You can find this picture in the menu if you are keen to try.

It was a simple dish made up of simple ingredients such as xiao bai cai, fish maw & wolfberry. The sauce was in a weird yellowish orange colour, because it was carrot sauce, as told by the waiter. Very interesting indeed, and definitely a healtier choice!
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Fish Fillet - $28

OooooO...This was my favourite dish in this meal! The fish was sweetened with red dates, which was indeed delightful. Same with the "hidden" mushrooms beneath the fish fillets. Not to forget, the fish fillets was very soft and melted easily in the mouth.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Peking Duck (1/2) - $32

My bf's favourite dish.. ya, we love to order peking duck - A must-order dish when we go to any chinese resturant. Keke

It was not too bad, at least it came with egg crepe skin. Then again, what you see in the picture was what we got for $32. Probably only 10 miserable slices...

To read more and visit photo, visit http://fun-hideout.blogspot.sg/2010/06/cathay-resturant.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • Fish Fillet with Red Dates
  • Peking Duck
等級4
105
2
The Cathay Restaurant, located at level 2 of The Cathay, serves authentic Cantonese cuisines. The Cathay Restaurant has quite a rich and interesting history. It originally used to serve European cuisines and it was only a few years later when it started to serve Chinese food, specifically Cantonese and Shanghainese cuisines. During the pre-independence years from 1951 to 1964, it was one of the finest Chinese restaurants in Singapore before it closed in 1964. Presently, it focuses on providing c
更多
The Cathay Restaurant, located at level 2 of The Cathay, serves authentic Cantonese cuisines. The Cathay Restaurant has quite a rich and interesting history. It originally used to serve European cuisines and it was only a few years later when it started to serve Chinese food, specifically Cantonese and Shanghainese cuisines. During the pre-independence years from 1951 to 1964, it was one of the finest Chinese restaurants in Singapore before it closed in 1964. Presently, it focuses on providing customers with its traditional Cantonese dishes, with one of its specialty being the Cathay Crispy Roasted Chicken which is a feature in most of its set menus.

My dining companion and I were here for lunch on Wednesday. It was surprisingly packed even though it was 1pm when we reached the restaurant. We had to wait quite a bit for our seats and the service staff was very apologetic about it when we mentioned casually that we are quite rushed for time, even though it wasn't something she could control. She even offered to take our orders first so that we could be served with our food once seated which we appreciate a lot. In addition, once we are seated, she immediately asked if we needed any beverages and throughout the meal, the wait staff are very attentive in attending to our extra orders and topping up of tea.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Once into the restaurant, we find that the ambience is quite unlike the normal Chinese restaurants. The furnishings are modern with cushioned seats and it helps that the restaurant has glass windows which allowed natural light in, making the restaurant seem very spacious, airy and comfortable. The restaurant also has a retro vibe to it from the drawings of singers on the walls.

Before I get into the dishes, I will just like to highlight the pickles that we are served as it is very special. Normally I would expect a saucer of salted peanuts but imagine my surprise when I saw this. I don't know the name for it, but it is a mixture of spicy and savoury. The shredded ingredients like duck meat, cucumber, salted vegetables and black fungus are tossed with a special sauce which makes them very tasty and appetising. It definitely helps in awakening my tastebuds for the upcoming dishes.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered all from the dim sum menu since we are quite rushed for time and we thought dim sum would be a better choice over the main chinese dishes. The first dish to arrive was the Steamed Shanghainese Xiao Long Bao ($3.90++ for 3pcs). The xiao long bao was quite large in size and it was steaming hot when it arrived at our table. However, it was lacklustre. The xiao long bao skin was far too thick, especially at the top where the folds of the skin meet. It seemed to be rather inconsistent as well. As I had two of the xiao long baos, one of the xiao long bao that I had had very little soup while the other had a lot of soup. This dish is a disappointment.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The next dish was the Baked Mini Egg Tart ($3.90++ for 3pcs). The egg tart was not warm when I ate it, but that did not affect the pastry tart shell as it was still flaky and cripsy when I bite into it. It is not greasy either. the egg custard was also superb, wobbly sweet and smooth, and the proportion of egg custard to the pastry shell was just right as well. I had to resist the urge to order another plate. The mini size makes it very suitable for children as well.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We also had the Steamed Prawn Dumpling ($5.60++ for 4pcs). I was actually quite surprised that the steamed prawn dumpling costs so much more than its other dim sum items, so I was eagerly anticipating this dish. Indeed, it did not disappoint. The translucent thin skin envelops tightly around the crunchy and fresh prawn and it is very firm when I picked one of the prawn dumpling up with the chopsticks. Although the prawn dumplings are a little tiny in size, the taste packs a bomb. The prawn filling is savoury and juicy and the skin has just the right texture to it without being overly chewy.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We could not miss out on ordering the Steamed Yolk Cream Bun ($4.20++ for 3pcs) or better known as Liu Sha Bao. Depending on personal preference, this may be or may not be to your liking. The consistency of the yolk custard filling here is in between flowy and paste-like, it does not gush out when you pry the bun open, but it will flow out if you tip it upside down. Personally I like this version as well because it means that all the lovely savoury sweetyolk custard filling ends up in my stomach instead of the plate. If there is one thing that is not so perfect, it would be the bun itself. I find the bun to be rather hard instead of soft so that is quite a pity.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
They had a new item on the menu which we tried, the Steamed Mushroom Dumpling ($3.90++ for 3pcs). This is surprisingly good. I must say I am not a fan of mushrooms and I find myself savouring every bite of this dumpling which speaks volume about its taste. I think 2-3 types of mushrooms are diced and cooked and thickened to form the filling. The dumpling skin is green in colour and it is definitely more chewy than the skin used for the prawn dumpling. That said, the chewiness went quite well with the mushroom filling as it was moist and hence there is a contrast of textures. Mushroom lovers will definitely love this!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The last dim sum item that we had was the Steamed Scallop Dumpling ($4.80++ for 3pcs). The bits of scallop sits on top of plump and fresh prawns enclosed by a wrapper. It is quite exquisitely done as there is also some fish roe and coriander placed on top of the scallop. Just on the visual, it had scored a lot fo points. While the taste was great, it would have been better if the scallop was more generous. I felt that the scallop got overpowered by the prawn such that if I had not known this was scallop dumpling, I would have mistakened it as another prawn dumpling.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
To end off our meal, we ordered desserts, the Chinese Herbal Jelly ($5.80++) and Yam Ice cream with Pumpkin puree ($4.80++). The herbal jelly was rather authentic as it had a strong medicinal taste to it. There is honey provided so we are able to control the amount that we want added to the jelly. To fully reap the benefits, I had very minimal honey added. The yam ice cream with pumpkin puree was a dessert which we had not seen before. The yam ice cream is topped with almond flakes which gives it some crunch. The pumpkin puree was the highlight as the restaurant had infused some lemongrass to the puree which gives another dimension to the taste. I was originally afraid that the dessert will be too heavy since yam and pumpkin are starchy vegetables but because of the lemongrass, it did not feel too cloying. The unusual pairing of lemongrass, pumpkin and yam came together surprisingly well and it was a very nicely executed dessert.

Overall, I had a very favourable experience dining in The Cathay Restaurant as the service was attentive and prompt and the food is generally above average. I can't wait to be back to try their signature dishes from the ala carte menu.

Tips:
- There is a 20% discount on all dim sum items from Mondays to Fridays [11.30am – 3pm] which is a very good deal
- Do make a reservation as the restaurant can get quite packed during lunch hours
- For dim sums, the must trys are the Steamed Prawn Dumpling, Baked Mini Egg Tarts and the Steamed Mushroom Dumpling
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$25
推介美食
  • Steamed Prawn Dumpling
  • Baked Mini Egg Tarts
  • Steamed Mushroom Dumpling
等級4
These mooncakes have been specially bought to my aunty as a gift. I have bought the snow skin flavour which is her favourite. She was really nice to cut the mooncakes to share with me when I 0asses to her. The white snowskin was really soft and not too sweet. The white lotus paste was very smooth in texture and goes really well with the crunchy fresh macadamia nuts inside. Really love tye traditional red packaging of the gift box and also the paper bag as well. Glad she has enjoyed tastin
更多
These mooncakes have been specially bought to my aunty as a gift. I have bought the snow skin flavour which is her favourite. She was really nice to cut the mooncakes to share with me when I 0asses to her.

The white snowskin was really soft and not too sweet. The white lotus paste was very smooth in texture and goes really well with the crunchy fresh macadamia nuts inside. Really love tye traditional red packaging of the gift box and also the paper bag as well. Glad she has enjoyed tasting it .
At the price of $44 per box of four pieces, is priced reasonable and simply delicious!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-01-09
等級4
2013-08-10 19 瀏覽
The Cathay Restaurant, as the name speaks for itself, is under the wings of the Cathay Organization. I don’t usually dwell on the history of a restaurant, as it tends to bore readers out. But I thought this restaurant has a relatively more interesting story to tell.Believe it or not, The Cathay Restaurant used to specialize in European fare instead of its current offerings. Well that was some 70 years back in 1940. After the World War II, in 1951, the eatery renovated itself not only on the exte
更多
The Cathay Restaurant, as the name speaks for itself, is under the wings of the Cathay Organization. I don’t usually dwell on the history of a restaurant, as it tends to bore readers out. But I thought this restaurant has a relatively more interesting story to tell.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Believe it or not, The Cathay Restaurant used to specialize in European fare instead of its current offerings. Well that was some 70 years back in 1940. After the World War II, in 1951, the eatery renovated itself not only on the exterior but interior the same. It was turned into an exquisite Chinese restaurant serving Shanghainese and Cantonese cuisine. It was as popular as All-Day Breakfast restaurants you get today, one after one sprouting into the scene. 3 years later, the restaurant closed due to the high competition.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Today, it smartly mixes up its authenticity with the modern demands, tackling what the diners are looking for. Approximately a month ago, the restaurant kicked start having Dim Sum in their Dinner Menu. That is still up and coming today, as evident from a surprised face from my friend when she learned about the dinner being a dim sum oriented one. Sometimes you just have that craving for dim sum when the sun sets.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Yolk Cream Bun ($4.20++) :: Item is only served for lunch menu, and in replacement for this in the dinner menu is its counterpart, Deep-Fried Yolk Cream Bun. Undoubtedly, the yolk cream is flowy and as fluid as it can get. This Liu Sha Bao is one of the best I’ve had, very much because of its substantial egg yolk flavor. Though liquid in nature, the yolk cream is still thick and rich. A must-have dish here, for sure.
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Siew Mai with Crab Roe ($6.20++) :: Another of my more well-liked dim sum dishes by the restaurant. Very freshly made, and distinct flavors just burst outward on the first bite into the hot favorite.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Dinner Menu also includes Steamed BBQ Pork Bun, Steamed Fresh Prawn Dumpling and Pan-fried Carrot Cake to name a few. In my opinion, the dim sum items offered can surely satisfy your cravings for them, though I wouldn’t say that they are WOW-good. I mean, I am still in search of a Dim Sum Restaurant that serves top-class dim sum dishes all around. Meeting the ‘okay, this doesn’t fail’ is the norm nowadays. You just have to order the few best items. That will settle it.

The Cathay Restaurant has a selection of ten over steamed and fried dim sum dishes. Each of those averages at $4.50 per basket. They also offer quite an array of appetizers, vegetables, rice and noodles to go along. These, go at an average price of $9.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$20 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Steamed Yolk Cream Bun
等級3
84
0
2013-03-28 13 瀏覽
My brother had vouchers so my family went to The Cathay Restaurant to have dim sum brunch.The usual har gao, siew mai, liu sha bao and chee cheong fun is not bad. Being a fan of egg tarts, I was a little disappointed with their egg tarts. It would have been perfect if it was slightly sweeter. We tried out this special dish which is a mixture of layer of pumpkin and yam fried and cut into rectangular shape. My brother and I didn't really liked it cause it had this starchy taste but my mother real
更多
My brother had vouchers so my family went to The Cathay Restaurant to have dim sum brunch.

The usual har gao, siew mai, liu sha bao and chee cheong fun is not bad. Being a fan of egg tarts, I was a little disappointed with their egg tarts. It would have been perfect if it was slightly sweeter.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We tried out this special dish which is a mixture of layer of pumpkin and yam fried and cut into rectangular shape. My brother and I didn't really liked it cause it had this starchy taste but my mother really liked it. Different generation taste maybe? XD
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Last thing to note was that the service there was really good, we were really happy with the service there.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Siew mai
  • liu sha bao
  • chee cheong fun
等級4
2012-07-16 27 瀏覽
The braised chicken feets here is one of my must order dish when i happen to visit this chinese restaurant. The chicken feets have been braised for several hours before it has come really soft, tender in texture. The nice flavour from the dark soya sauce has also been absorbed in the chicken feet which make every mouthful of it so delicious. Great to dip in their sweet chilli sauce too.
更多
The braised chicken feets here is one of my must order dish when i happen to visit this chinese restaurant. The chicken feets have been braised for several hours before it has come really soft, tender in texture. The nice flavour from the dark soya sauce has also been absorbed in the chicken feet which make every mouthful of it so delicious. Great to dip in their sweet chilli sauce too.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-01
等級4
2012-07-14 17 瀏覽
This restaurant not only has very friendly service staffs and a very cosy dining environment, they also served many different types of deliciuos chinese cruisines which will certainly impress your taste bud. One of my favourite dish is their fish fillet with wasabi sauce. The fish meat is very soft and light, which is also very fresh too. The secret weapon will be their signature wasabi sauce which once coated to the fish fillet, you will be surprise on how good the taste is. Not really that
更多
This restaurant not only has very friendly service staffs and a very cosy dining environment, they also served many different types of deliciuos chinese cruisines which will certainly impress your taste bud. One of my favourite dish is their fish fillet with wasabi sauce. The fish meat is very soft and light, which is also very fresh too. The secret weapon will be their signature wasabi sauce which once coated to the fish fillet, you will be surprise on how good the taste is. Not really that spicy and also very fragrant too.
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-05
等級4
2012-07-10 7 瀏覽
This chinese restaurant is really good at producing all kinds of quality chinese dishes and dim sums to delight me. One of my favourite dim sums will be their egg tarts. The crust of the egg tarts have been baked till really nice golden brown and is very crispy and not too oily. The custard egg filling is very smooth, light and not too sweet. One piece of it is never enough for me.
更多
This chinese restaurant is really good at producing all kinds of quality chinese dishes and dim sums to delight me. One of my favourite dim sums will be their egg tarts. The crust of the egg tarts have been baked till really nice golden brown and is very crispy and not too oily. The custard egg filling is very smooth, light and not too sweet. One piece of it is never enough for me.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-07-08
等級4
183
8
Wah this restaurant receives 4.5/5 for me! Everythng works for me here.. good quality chinese food, nice and elegant environment, great service staff.. and good for the occasion to bring parents..yummm...and value for money!Came with my family to celebrate mother's day in advance and becoz theres a promotion with UOB dine 4 pay 3, it really is very worth it.. the dinner alar-carte is a 45++ per person, or else theres another promotion running that is 78++ for 2.. OK the food was really innovativ
更多
Wah this restaurant receives 4.5/5 for me! Everythng works for me here.. good quality chinese food, nice and elegant environment, great service staff.. and good for the occasion to bring parents..yummm...and value for money!

Came with my family to celebrate mother's day in advance and becoz theres a promotion with UOB dine 4 pay 3, it really is very worth it.. the dinner alar-carte is a 45++ per person, or else theres another promotion running that is 78++ for 2..

OK the food was really innovative and good quality (sorry no photos becoz too many dishes and dunwan to look stupid in front of my parents snapping away).. the ones i can remember

1. eggplant with pork floss-almost like a snack that u cant stop!
2. spinach with 3 eggs (healthy eat with century egg and beaten egg poured over a bed of spinach, looks healthier than crystal jade's version)
3. fresh prawns (very fresh!)
4. fried soon hock
5. cathay roast chicken( this is a MUST TRY my dear followers! The skin is really good kung fu.. almost taste like suckling pig skin.. and theres this batter thing outside which we found out was fried breadcrumbs.. i think this is their signature dish.)
6. sharksfin was the only disappointment. They only allow one serving per person.. but i felt there were more broth than fin.. =(
7. sea asparagus with scallop and celery (the sea asparagus was done in a rather interesting way, tasty dish but a tad oily.
8. wasabi prawn- my family left one for me because they came earlier n this was wonderfully done with the right amount of wasabi..
9. desserts-panfried red bean cake.. this version they have here was abit different from the usually ones with ragards to the pastry skin. but still not too bad.. the puddings look like those they bought from supermarkets with the shape of containers so i say save your stomach for others.. I tried the red bean paste with lotus seed.. was not too sweet but not too memorable)

I will definitely recommend this for family its really good value.. and im dreaming of the food while im writing this.. lol.. I heard their dimsum buffet are very good too. Will definitely come again!

Oh an a word for their service..the waitresses were very attentive and kept changing out used plates.. brownie points for that!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-05-10
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
母親節
等級4
The Cathay Restaurant is always packed, the past 3 times we went we had to reservations!The xiao long bao is so-so, i'd prefer Ding Tai Fung, but it is still acceptable!My mom loves zhu jiao, and this isn't as appealing as i thought it would be but still tastes fresh!The Chee Cheong Fun is really really good! The sauce is good mix of saltishness and sweetness . It is a MUST-TRY!Quite oily but the stickiness is just nice!This custard cream bun is for people who love overwhelmingly sweetness
更多
The Cathay Restaurant is always packed, the past 3 times we went we had to reservations!
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The xiao long bao is so-so, i'd prefer Ding Tai Fung, but it is still acceptable!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My mom loves zhu jiao, and this isn't as appealing as i thought it would be but still tastes fresh!
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Chee Cheong Fun is really really good! The sauce is good mix of saltishness and sweetness . It is a MUST-TRY!
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Quite oily but the stickiness is just nice!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This custard cream bun is for people who love overwhelmingly sweetness
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-04-06 5 瀏覽
I was glad that I get to taste the Chinese cruisines at The Cathay Restaurant during a lunch treat from our business partner. All dishes were served hot and smell really good! I am impressed by their cereal prawns which are crispy and juicy. Even the normal stir fried vegetable is crunchy and fresh as well. The different types of dim sums served here are also equally nice as well. Staffs here are quite attentive and friendly. Would definitely want to come back again to try their other Chin
更多
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I was glad that I get to taste the Chinese cruisines at The Cathay Restaurant during a lunch treat from our business partner. All dishes were served hot and smell really good! I am impressed by their cereal prawns which are crispy and juicy. Even the normal stir fried vegetable is crunchy and fresh as well. The different types of dim sums served here are also equally nice as well. Staffs here are quite attentive and friendly. Would definitely want to come back again to try their other Chinese cruisines with my love ones when I am free. It is sure a fine dining experience for me.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-03-28
人均消費
$30 (午餐)