11
7
0
等級1
1
0
I have been coming here for years. From the time I was an undergraduate, to my first job, and my bf and I even had our first date here! (: I've brought my family here numerous times, both local and from overseas. This place holds so many memories for me! Above everything else, the best thing is we can bring Rocco our baby chihuahua to eat with us! (:The food always brings a warmth to my heart. Good portions, beverages always creative, and the menu changes from time to time. They also have weekly
更多
I have been coming here for years. From the time I was an undergraduate, to my first job, and my bf and I even had our first date here! (: I've brought my family here numerous times, both local and from overseas. This place holds so many memories for me! Above everything else, the best thing is we can bring Rocco our baby chihuahua to eat with us! (:

The food always brings a warmth to my heart. Good portions, beverages always creative, and the menu changes from time to time. They also have weekly and daily specials. No two visits are ever the same, which is why I keep coming back!

It's hard for me to describe the taste of the food, except that I love it and sometimes -you can ask my bf- I actually have dreams about the food hahaaa! All I can say is that they have mastered the art of producing home-cooked tasting food, without all the commercialized taste. Even the premises feels like someone's home. That someone being my grandpa. While some of my friends call it "run-down" (rude!!) , I rather say it's "derelict chic".

I had the pleasure of speaking to (I think) one of the owners last weekend and learned they are soon celebrating their 9th anniversary. Wahh, I commend their resilience! The Garden Slug is what I call a first-wave cafe, before all the hipster places sprouted up. And to be able to survive this long - they must be doing something right! Most places close down within a year of opening.

I also love the witty banter on their social media like twitter and facebook. They sometimes run little competitions and giveaways. In the years I've been following, I've actually won two contests!


The Garden Slug constantly evolves and I am not only stoked but also honoured to be able to witness this evolution. Times are a little hard for all retail these days, not just with world market but also haze!!! I just hope my favourite chillax place will continue to stay strong through these trying times.
 
題外話/補充資料: Always satisfied after a meal here (:
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-10-18
等候時間
8 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$26 (晚餐)
用餐優惠
其他
推介美食
  • Marmite Pasta
  • Aglio Olio
  • Cowboy Burger
  • Fresh juices
  • Soup
  • Babyback Ribs
等級3
46
0
2014-06-30 32 瀏覽
The garden slug is highly raved to be a hidden gem in the east by bloggers and online reviews. Out of curiosity, we decided to check them out during the weekend. It may seems inaccessible as it's not walk-able from any MRT, the nearest would probably be Bedok station. The menu is pretty extensive, from pasta, burgers, steaks and even all day breakfast dishes.We had, Wasuga Chicken Wings which was kinda disappointing. TGS Mixed Grill Platter inclusive of ribeye steak strips, lamb loin chops, brat
更多
The garden slug is highly raved to be a hidden gem in the east by bloggers and online reviews. Out of curiosity, we decided to check them out during the weekend. It may seems inaccessible as it's not walk-able from any MRT, the nearest would probably be Bedok station. The menu is pretty extensive, from pasta, burgers, steaks and even all day breakfast dishes.
We had, Wasuga Chicken Wings which was kinda disappointing. TGS Mixed Grill Platter inclusive of ribeye steak strips, lamb loin chops, bratwurst sausage, mash potato and greens was good! We had a few kinds of pasta as well. Desserts was decent, we had tiramisu - nothing to rave about.

Overall, the quality of the food were average - some were good, some weren't worth the cost. If you're looking for a place to satisfy your steak craving without spending a bomb, this would be an ideal place to chill over meat


For full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/06/the-garden-slug-lorong-l-telok-kurau.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級3
37
0
2013-10-13 23 瀏覽
After visiting the pet shop next door, we had to get some dinner, and we thought, this might be a good place to get some grub! Looking back, it was a great decision to get our dinner at this place! the ambience was really great, even though it might have been slightly dark. Besides that, the ribs was really fall-of-the-bone tender and had me licking my fingers and wanting more and more even though i was quite full!!
更多
After visiting the pet shop next door, we had to get some dinner, and we thought, this might be a good place to get some grub! Looking back, it was a great decision to get our dinner at this place! the ambience was really great, even though it might have been slightly dark. Besides that, the ribs was really fall-of-the-bone tender and had me licking my fingers and wanting more and more even though i was quite full!!
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-01
等級3
98
0
2013-09-14 32 瀏覽
Garden Slug is located at quite an inconvenient location, restaurant wasn't too crowded when we reached on a Sunday afternoon. Ordered the recommended All Day Big Breakfast, and yes, it's really big with all the food items. The sauteed mushrooms is really good, very juicy and tasty. I also like the scrambled egg, not too dry and very delicious. Other than that, the other items were quite ordinary like in other brunch restaurants. Didn't really like the bread as it was quite hard. My friend had t
更多
Garden Slug is located at quite an inconvenient location, restaurant wasn't too crowded when we reached on a Sunday afternoon. Ordered the recommended All Day Big Breakfast, and yes, it's really big with all the food items. The sauteed mushrooms is really good, very juicy and tasty. I also like the scrambled egg, not too dry and very delicious. Other than that, the other items were quite ordinary like in other brunch restaurants. Didn't really like the bread as it was quite hard. My friend had the other recommended item, the ugly salmon cakes. It's mainly mashed potato with salmon bits and onion bits inside. My friend didn't enjoy it as she's not a fan of onions and the menu didn't state that there was onions inside. Despite so, the mashed potato tasted good with the salmon bits. All in all, it's an ordinary brunch restaurant.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
等級4
2013-08-03 31 瀏覽
Ugly Salmon Cakes ($14.90): I say they were too hard on themselves. Though molded by hand, these well-seasoned cakes aren’t all that ugly, are they? Packed with a mixture of parsley, black pepper, garlic, onion and smoked salmon, this starter really had the night going, but only when it’s piping hot. Because that is the only time when the ingredients are still alive. The starter is best shared by three persons, thanks to its heavy base and big portion, you might not be able to fully enjoy your m
更多
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ugly Salmon Cakes ($14.90): I say they were too hard on themselves. Though molded by hand, these well-seasoned cakes aren’t all that ugly, are they? Packed with a mixture of parsley, black pepper, garlic, onion and smoked salmon, this starter really had the night going, but only when it’s piping hot. Because that is the only time when the ingredients are still alive. The starter is best shared by three persons, thanks to its heavy base and big portion, you might not be able to fully enjoy your main course otherwise.
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Truffle-some Shrooms Pesto Pasta ($23.50): Who can refuse some linguine heavily infused with truffle? It is for sure not truffle-some, but rather truffle-a-lot, if you take it literally. The hefty $23.50 is well-worth its every single cent. I confirm that it is the first truffle pasta I’ve had that absolutely satisfies my palate. Further to its excellent truffle + mushrooms combination, it is also certified a Vegetarian dish.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ribeye Steak ($23.90): Done medium-rare as per requested, the Ribeye Steak was a direct bull’s eye for me. Not only was it (a) perfectly executed to my preferred doneness, (b) its homemade brown sauce was exactly what I’d like for my steaks – the hint of saltiness to spice the meat up, but not over the top to mask the taste of steak. I also love the fact that (c) there were parts where tendons were involved for me to enjoyably chew on, but most others where it was just easy meat to sink my teeth in and swallow. The steak is so good it’s a crime not to have it whilst there. It’s as if the some at least 250g of steak isn’t filling enough, a huge chunk of mashed potatoes is served as side as well. Maybe the greens are more welcomed here, to counter those carbohydrates.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
DIY Amaretti Cookie Sundae ($10.50): Vanilla bean gelato, warm chocolate syrup and home-baked gluten-free almond-flavored biscuit. You are in for a treat if you love them all. Note that it says DIY. With each ingredient placed separately, you have the liberty to mix and match however you like. I say, since the portions of everything are so huge in The Garden Slug, you are better off sharing this plate with your dining companion.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Village Tiramisu ($6): Though a pretty piece, it fell short for me. I thought their rendition of the Tiramisu had an overly creamy texture, and was quite severely lacking in the amount of cocoa / coffee. I thought since people had order a Tiramisu, they would be prepared for an overpowering flavor. I would have raided my friend’s dessert plate if not that mine was better.

On 18 June 2011, the full strength (20 persons) of The Garden Slug had their restaurant closed on that very day (a busy Saturday, mind you) to attend PinkDot 2011 in person. PinkDot is a local movement for everyone who supports the belief that everyone deserves the freedom to love. And The Garden Slug team has been a loyal supporter of it since the movement started out.

Not only is the dining place a gay-friendly place, it is also a pet-friendly one. And oh, GST & Service Charge-friendly as well (all prices are nett).
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$30 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Truffle-some Shrooms Pesto Pasta
  • Ribeye Steak
等級4
739
2
2013-06-24 33 瀏覽
I was at the garden slug the other day for tea and decided to get coffee and their much raved about ugly salmon cakes. They are basically patties of salmon with mashed potatoes and pan-grilled, topped with lemon and butter sauce. Quite a good combination and the patties are tasty. Salmon bits were also visible. A very large portion, and it's also very filling, so good for 2 to share.
更多
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I was at the garden slug the other day for tea and decided to get coffee and their much raved about ugly salmon cakes. They are basically patties of salmon with mashed potatoes and pan-grilled, topped with lemon and butter sauce. Quite a good combination and the patties are tasty. Salmon bits were also visible. A very large portion, and it's also very filling, so good for 2 to share.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
488
4
2013-04-30 17 瀏覽
The FoodI ordered the ribeye steak which costs $18.90. Evenly grilled to a medium well and lightly topped with savory sauce, the steak is extremely tender, juicy and every bite exudes a flavorful taste and a smoky fragrance. I also ordered the Wasuga chicken wings which were very well-marinated and well-grilled served with the pan-tossed mushrooms & zucchini which were delightful and appetizing making a memorable dining experience.The PriceReasonably priced at $30++ for the whole billOverallThe
更多
The Food
I ordered the ribeye steak which costs $18.90. Evenly grilled to a medium well and lightly topped with savory sauce, the steak is extremely tender, juicy and every bite exudes a flavorful taste and a smoky fragrance. I also ordered the Wasuga chicken wings which were very well-marinated and well-grilled served with the pan-tossed mushrooms & zucchini which were delightful and appetizing making a memorable dining experience.

The Price
Reasonably priced at $30++ for the whole bill

Overall
The Garden Slug is certainly the ideal restaurant for a relaxing meal with family and friends and highly recommended to try!
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-26
等級4
739
2
2013-04-29 24 瀏覽
The Garden Slug is located in a quiet residential estate, and may be a little difficult to find, but one will definitely be attracted to their large and brightly lit signboard. I have long heard of this place, and I passed by one day and decided to try their desserts. I ordered the apple crumble; don't underestimate the size - the portion is HUGE, good for 2 to share. Crumble was warm and nicely done, and they gave a large scoop of ice cream, which was average.
更多
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Garden Slug is located in a quiet residential estate, and may be a little difficult to find, but one will definitely be attracted to their large and brightly lit signboard. I have long heard of this place, and I passed by one day and decided to try their desserts. I ordered the apple crumble; don't underestimate the size - the portion is HUGE, good for 2 to share. Crumble was warm and nicely done, and they gave a large scoop of ice cream, which was average.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-02
人均消費
$5 (下午茶)
等級1
1
0
2013-02-03 13 瀏覽
Not very accessible , along a row of pet shops. Serving of All day breakfast and Smoked salmon was good! Haven seen so much smoked salmon on a all day breakfast plate yet. Mushrooms were juicy. Scrambled eggs were runny!!Sells dessert and main courses!All day breakfast place!!!Small , quaint cafe for one to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.Minus point: Limited manpower.
更多
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Not very accessible , along a row of pet shops. Serving of All day breakfast and Smoked salmon was good! Haven seen so much smoked salmon on a all day breakfast plate yet. Mushrooms were juicy. Scrambled eggs were runny!!
Sells dessert and main courses!

All day breakfast place!!!

Small , quaint cafe for one to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Minus point: Limited manpower.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-02-02
人均消費
$20 (早餐)
推介美食
  • All day breakfast
  • smoked salmon breakfast set
等級4
127
1
2012-07-24 17 瀏覽
It used to be so much better, portion used to be so much more when I first came here. Then again, the first time i was here was with a friend who knows the owner. Ha maybe we had special treatment then. Anyway I had this, some roasted chicken breast with Kaffir Lime leaves and chili. It sounded promising, I love Kaffir Lime Leaves, hence this was a sure-order dish for me. But I was disappointed. It was a little blend, not enough of the Kaffir lime taste and certainly not spicy enough.
更多
It used to be so much better, portion used to be so much more when I first came here. Then again, the first time i was here was with a friend who knows the owner. Ha maybe we had special treatment then.
Anyway I had this, some roasted chicken breast with Kaffir Lime leaves and chili. It sounded promising, I love Kaffir Lime Leaves, hence this was a sure-order dish for me. But I was disappointed.
It was a little blend, not enough of the Kaffir lime taste and certainly not spicy enough.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-06-21 12 瀏覽
After hearing a fair bit about this eatery place, I took the opportunity to visit this place by suggesting to my colleague for her farewell dinner. It is not easy to locate this place as it is not on the main road. After you alight at the bus stop, you need to walk further down and turn into the side road Lorong L Telok Kurau to locate it. Once you see a lot of pet shops, you are at the right place.We ordered the Wasuga Chicken Wing for appetizer. Initially I thought it was some Japanese marinat
更多
After hearing a fair bit about this eatery place, I took the opportunity to visit this place by suggesting to my colleague for her farewell dinner. It is not easy to locate this place as it is not on the main road. After you alight at the bus stop, you need to walk further down and turn into the side road Lorong L Telok Kurau to locate it. Once you see a lot of pet shops, you are at the right place.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We ordered the Wasuga Chicken Wing for appetizer. Initially I thought it was some Japanese marinated chicken wings. I only realized it meant "Wa Su Ga" (in dialect) meaning "I like" Chicken Wing after doing some research on their menu.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
For soup, we had the Old Fashion Chicken Broth in a bowl. It was an interesting, light and refreshing soup boiled with melon, dried scallop and bits of rice.

For the main, we had Bangers & Mash and Meatball Melt to share. The sausage and mashed potatoes were nice. We enjoyed the additional texture of the mashed potatoes served with potato skins.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Meatball Melt was Italian meatball (beef + pork) topped with marinara sauce and melted cheese. It was served in a big bowl and it can be quite messy to eat. One of us don't enjoy the taste of the meatball but I find it ok.

The overall experience was comfortable home cooked food. Don't expect high end restaurant standards here. One suggestion for the restaurant is to reduce the portion of their serving and thus reduce the price further. All of us find that the portion were really too big.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
585
5
2012-05-08 17 瀏覽
When we finally went there for dinner last weekend, I ordered the recommended ribeye steak which costs $18.90. Evenly grilled to a medium doneness and lightly topped with savory sauce, the mouthwatering steak is extremely tender and juicy, every bite exudes a flavorful taste and a smoky fragrance. I must admit that this is one of the most impressive steaks I have eaten in Singapore.We also ordered the Wasuga chicken wings which were well-marinated and well-grilled and the pan-tossed mushrooms &
更多
When we finally went there for dinner last weekend, I ordered the recommended ribeye steak which costs $18.90. Evenly grilled to a medium doneness and lightly topped with savory sauce, the mouthwatering steak is extremely tender and juicy, every bite exudes a flavorful taste and a smoky fragrance. I must admit that this is one of the most impressive steaks I have eaten in Singapore.

We also ordered the Wasuga chicken wings which were well-marinated and well-grilled and the pan-tossed mushrooms & zucchini which were delightful and appetizing.

Apart from the delicious food, the beautiful ambience was soothing and the efficient service was commendable. The Garden Slug is certainly the ideal restaurant for a relaxing meal with family and friends.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2011-06-22
人均消費
$15
等級4
685
8
2012-03-14 22 瀏覽
This is the second time I visit to this restaurant. The food is nice. I like the pasta with roasted pumpkin & juicy prawns. The prawn is tasty,but it is also quite heavy.I like the sweetness of the pumpkin,it is very sweet.I like it very much. But the pumpkin and the prawn matches very well. The pasta also taste unique with the pumpkin and prawn.Another dish that we order is the crab. The crab is fresh and it is quite tasty. It is also very big in size.I not really like it as it is too heavy, bu
更多
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This is the second time I visit to this restaurant. The food is nice. I like the pasta with roasted pumpkin & juicy prawns. The prawn is tasty,but it is also quite heavy.I like the sweetness of the pumpkin,it is very sweet.I like it very much. But the pumpkin and the prawn matches very well. The pasta also taste unique with the pumpkin and prawn.

Another dish that we order is the crab. The crab is fresh and it is quite tasty. It is also very big in size.I not really like it as it is too heavy, but it is still tasty.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2012-03-06 22 瀏覽
A dish of the place, Pasta with roasted eggplant & juicy vege was great during the initial few mouthfuls, after which it started getting a little too heavy, especially with the creaminess. Just think a vegetarian version of the carbonara. the good thing is, it is quite cheap for this meal. The service of the restaurant is also very good. thumbs up.
更多
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A dish of the place, Pasta with roasted eggplant & juicy vege was great during the initial few mouthfuls, after which it started getting a little too heavy, especially with the creaminess.
Just think a vegetarian version of the carbonara. the good thing is, it is quite cheap for this meal. The service of the restaurant is also very good. thumbs up.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
685
8
2012-02-01 23 瀏覽
A dish of the place, Pasta with roasted eggplant & juicy vege was great during the initial few mouthfuls, after which it started getting a little too heavy, especially with the creaminess. Just think a vegetarian version of the carbonara. the good thing is, it is quite cheap for this meal.The service of the restaurant is also very good. thumbs up.
更多
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
A dish of the place, Pasta with roasted eggplant & juicy vege
was great during the initial few mouthfuls,
after which it started getting a little too heavy,
especially with the creaminess.
Just think a vegetarian version of the carbonara.
the good thing is, it is quite cheap for this meal.
The service of the restaurant is also very good. thumbs up.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食