15
1
0
等級4
2017-12-26 171 瀏覽
Booked the place for Christmas eve dinner and the restaurant was having Sunday Roast Dinner. There was 3 different dining slots for dinner. I selected the earliest which was 5.30pm and the 2 of us were given the kitchen counter seats where we had a great view of happening in the busy place. Sitting next to us was the head chef's mother who shared with us who was visiting Singapore. Watching the kitchen, I realized the roasted turkey was faster than one usually expected.We started the meal with P
更多
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
46 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Booked the place for Christmas eve dinner and the restaurant was having Sunday Roast Dinner. There was 3 different dining slots for dinner.

26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

I selected the earliest which was 5.30pm and the 2 of us were given the kitchen counter seats where we had a great view of happening in the busy place. Sitting next to us was the head chef's mother who shared with us who was visiting Singapore. Watching the kitchen, I realized the roasted turkey was faster than one usually expected.

We started the meal with
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pork Terrine (S$15++)
Served with homemade pickles and clementine jam
The light crispy toaste, spread with the chunky terrine, and topped with some pickles such as onion, and beetroot, quite peaked up the appetite.
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Beetroot & Gin Cured Salmon (S$15++)
Served with cucumber potato salad and herb mayonnaise
The salmon tasted just like sashimi that one would not felt that it was cured version.

The meal was followed by huge serving of main courses.
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast Beef  (S$25++)
Served with sides of red cabbage, buttered green beans, duck fat fried potato, and bread sauce
While the meat looked rather raw, it sliced easily and tasted delicious. The sides were good too, except for the bread sauce which one felt it was too starchy.

25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast Turkey ( S$25++)
Served with sides of red cabbage, buttered green beans, mashed potatoes , and gravy
One would thought that the meat would be rather tough and dry, but the version here was kind of juicy and went quite well with the light but flavourful gravy. Topped up with the well braised slightly sweet cabbage, it tasted even better.

Accompanied with 
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Christmas stuffing (S$3++)
Pork mince, pine nuts and thyme.
I was not a fan of christmas stuffing as I always felt it was rather strong in herbs taste. The version was more like meat loaf with a bit of nutty texture.

22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Ended the meal with a couple of Christmas cookies topped with cream cheese topping, complimentary from the chef.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2017-12-24
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2017-08-15 73 瀏覽
Visited the place for dinner. Comparing to brunch, the place was relatively quiet and gave off a cosy feel. Besides the usual menu, there was also today's special for its starter, catch of the day, main, juice of the day and cocktail special - South Side ($17++).Juice of the Day ($8++)Carrot, celery, green apple, kale and limeServed in a glass, it was in shades of dirty orange, but tasted refreshing and naturally sweet.Starter of the Day ($18.50++)Burrata with pickled white peach and mintThe bur
更多
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Visited the place for dinner. Comparing to brunch, the place was relatively quiet and gave off a cosy feel. Besides the usual menu, there was also today's special for its starter, catch of the day, main, juice of the day and cocktail special - South Side ($17++).
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Juice of the Day ($8++)
Carrot, celery, green apple, kale and lime
Served in a glass, it was in shades of dirty orange, but tasted refreshing and naturally sweet.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Starter of the Day ($18.50++)
Burrata with pickled white peach and mint
The burrata was rich and creamy, served with the sweet and juicy peach. What a combination.
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pork Chop ($28++)
Apples, green beans, kale and walnut salad
I was surprised by the huge serving, especially the large huge amount of greens on the plate. It was about half of the plate. The pork chop was sliced into strips which made it easy to handle for chewing. The pork chop was juicy and without any porky taste. The salad was lightly dressed and quite tasty but the serving was a bit too much for one.

Great service from the staff who often came around to check.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2017-08-10
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2016-05-15 155 瀏覽
You may be mistaken by the German word "Lokal" thinking that it serves more on German Cuisine but in fact the Lokal is an Australia Style Cafe than offers more than just German flavours. Taking the business name, it kind of already suggest that its more on the Local, more like internationally influenced style. They are located at a corner of the intersection of Bukit Pasoh and Neil Road where you can find Goethe Institue nearby. It's quite easy to get here as they are within minutes walk from Ou
更多
You may be mistaken by the German word "Lokal" thinking that it serves more on German Cuisine but in fact the Lokal is an Australia Style Cafe than offers more than just German flavours. Taking the business name, it kind of already suggest that its more on the Local, more like internationally influenced style. They are located at a corner of the intersection of Bukit Pasoh and Neil Road where you can find Goethe Institue nearby. It's quite easy to get here as they are within minutes walk from Outram MRT Station.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It's causal and welcoming atmosphere had kind of remind me of a cafe in Edinburgh Bus Interchange. Interior was rustic with a hipster interior that keep up with the cafe trends in Singapore.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We requested the coffee based dessert to be served first. This looks really cool with a scoop of vanilla ice cream topped with shot of espresso.
Affogato
$6.5
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
While waiting for the food, I had a glass of chai latte. Chai fragrance was average and all was down in my stomach even before the food was served.
Chai
$6.5
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Starters was good with 3 ways Cauliflower served on a traditional Chinese metal plate. Cauliflower comes in 3 different forms and beautifully presented. With puree as its base, stacked by leafy greens and cabbages with tumeric infused cauliflowers, fried cauliflowers, as well as Ricotta & almond makes it special. Recommended.
Cauliflower 3 ways
$13
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another starter we had was great and perhaps suitable for those who want a lighter meal instead. Roasted beet roots was juicy and mix with quinoa, green beans, blue cheese & honey walnuts. I'm not really a fan of blue cheese, fortunately, the taste of the blue cheese was not that strong as I would have thought.
Roasted Beetroot Salad
$13
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Torn between the Braised beef cheek and Cape Grim Sirloin Tagliata, I end up with the latter as per recommended by the server for its popularity. Served on a wooden board with scrumptious beef cubes cover by watercress with Asiago cheese and cheery tomatoes pairing.
Cape Grim Sirloin Tagliata
$28
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The beef were cut into cubes form cooked to the default perfection by the cafe. Simply love its charred exterior and the juicy tender mild bloody meat.
20 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Ending the session of the night with sticky date pudding as dessert on a good note. The warm pudding was velvety coupled with a generous scoop of vanilla ice cream and yummy caramel sauce. The best part of the dessert was that with the sticky date and sauce, the entire dessert was not too cloying and one won't feel the excess richness and sweetness in them.
Sticky Date Pudding
$10
31 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
As a whole, service was friendly with a good atmosphere around. Even though they have limited items on the menu, fred not as they have daily specials, so do check out what's on their black board.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐時段
晚餐
推介美食
Roasted Beetroot Salad
$ 13
Cape Grim Sirloin Tagliata
$ 28
同步刊載
等級2
26
3
2015-12-24 84 瀏覽
For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-lokal-revisit.htmlThe Lokal is a Melbourne-inspired cafe that does good coffee and serves quality food too. Located near Outram Park MRT (Exit G), it is a recommended place for a hearty brunch or catch up with friends.Toasted Banana Bread ($12++): I've heard so much about this banana bread that I decided to get it, despite me not being a fan of bananas. While I wasn't 100% convinced of its hy
更多
For the full review and more photos, head over to http://toroamtheworld.blogspot.com/2015/12/food-review-lokal-revisit.html

The Lokal is a Melbourne-inspired cafe that does good coffee and serves quality food too. Located near Outram Park MRT (Exit G), it is a recommended place for a hearty brunch or catch up with friends.
Toasted Banana Bread
$12
34 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Toasted Banana Bread ($12++): I've heard so much about this banana bread that I decided to get it, despite me not being a fan of bananas. While I wasn't 100% convinced of its hype, it's still a good slice of banana bread, with it being moist and quite rich in flavour. What I love most is the yogurt! It's all made in house and it's got a little tinge of sourness. The caramelised bananas were quite nice too. And as usual, something crunchy to add to the whole dish is the toasted macademia nuts. Great combination overall and I swept the plate clean (especially of the yogurt)!
Lokal Lobster Roll
$22
46 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Lokal Lobster Roll ($22++): My friend tried this Lobster Roll which is made up of slipper lobster tails, gherkin (pickled cucumber), coleslaw, lemon mayonnaise and served with twister fries. The lobster meat was fresh, but a bit overpowered by the coleslaw and mayo. That said, I think they should adjust the ratio of lobster meat to other ingredients, because it feels like you're eating much more salad than the meat itself. But it's priced reasonably so maybe that's why...?

If I come again I may try their sandwiches, which I heard are not bad too! They have a separate menu for dinner and weekend brunch.
題外話/補充資料: Good place for brunch
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-06-17
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$18 (午餐)
推介美食
Toasted Banana Bread
$ 12
等級4
2015-11-12 55 瀏覽
The restaurant is a casual eatery that uses homemade ingredients. The restaurant is packed during lunch time on Sunday in its small narrow outlet and there is a waitlist for a table. We are lucky not to have to wait long for a table. However we are showed to a narrow table where both of us have to sit side by side over looking the main dining room. The main dining room kind of becomes a show for us. There is hardly any space for us to put our bags. Its either the table or floor.Warm mackerel sal
更多
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The restaurant is a casual eatery that uses homemade ingredients. The restaurant is packed during lunch time on Sunday in its small narrow outlet and there is a waitlist for a table. We are lucky not to have to wait long for a table. However we are showed to a narrow table where both of us have to sit side by side over looking the main dining room. The main dining room kind of becomes a show for us. There is hardly any space for us to put our bags. Its either the table or floor.
Warm mackerel salad
$18
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Warm mackerel salad ($18)
watercress, apple, pine nuts, pickled onion & herb dressing
Interesting salad. I am not a fan of watercress as I feel that the vegetable has a bitter taste. But in this dish it comes out alright.
Roast chicken ciabatta
$19
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast chicken ciabatta ($19)
avocado, romaine lettuce, tomato, bacon & aioli
The sandwich is served cold and quite messy to handle.
THE LOKEL baked eggs
$20
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
THE LOKEL baked eggs ($20)
Spicy beef or pork, mushrooms, onion, beans, potato, bacon & 2 eggs
This dish is served hot and is surprisely spicy in taste. Heavily flavoured, although I would prefer it to served with some toasts.
Toasted banana bread
$14
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Toasted banana bread ($14)
homemade vanilla yogurt & toasted macadamia nuts
It is one of most well known in the restaurant, yet I feel disappointed in having it. The banana taste is barely there. It is lucky to have the yogurt which makes it moist and creamy to eat.

Overall the food is not bad. Although we order 4 main dishes, we are only allows 1 1-for-1 in the Enterainer mobile app by the staff. The staff replies that we need to be at least 4 persons in order to use 2 of the promotion coupons, which is quite a disappointing experience for me. No matter what I said she still stands still. The place is quite loud and noisy. Another thing which I am annoyed with is the narrow table which we are dining on. There is barely space enough for the food and drinks, with everything been served including the dessert. We kind of feeling the need to rush through our meal in order to make space. The staff should have take note of the limited space and serves the food batch by batch. It is also difficult to get the attention of the staffs.
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-11-08
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$67.1 (午餐)
等級2
23
2
2015-05-07 96 瀏覽
Opened by the same people behind Sarnies and located along the busy streets of Neil Road, The Lokal is a fairly new cafe which serves good food at an affordable price. It's focused on using the best raw ingredients to make the kind of food that everyone loves - a wholesome hearty fare that will not break the bank (As adapted from their FB page). Address:136 Neil RoadNearest MRT Stationutram Park MRT StationWhat they are famous for:Customizable breakfasts, sandwichesOpening hours:Monday - Friday:
更多

Opened by the same people behind Sarnies and located along the busy streets of Neil Road, The Lokal is a fairly new cafe which serves good food at an affordable price. It's focused on using the best raw ingredients to make the kind of food that everyone loves - a wholesome hearty fare that will not break the bank (As adapted from their FB page).
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Address:

136 Neil Road

Nearest MRT Station:

Outram Park MRT Station

What they are famous for:

Customizable breakfasts, sandwiches

Opening hours:

Monday - Friday: 8am - 6pm

Saturday - Sunday: 9am - 4pm

Atmosphere: 7/10

Price: 7/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 8/10
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Interior
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Open Kitchen Concept
55 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Food Menu
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Drinks Menu

We had:
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pimp my breakfast - $15.50

(Scrambled eggs, Smoked salmon, Toasted sourdough)

Here at The Lokal, customers are given the choice to pimp their own breakfast with the different sides available on the menu. I had the scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and toasted sourdough. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the smoked salmon, because unlike other cafes, this did not come in thin slices but in a thick piece, just like a normal salmon fillet. And yes, it was smoked perfectly with the right texture! The eggs were decent too and I must say that they were pretty good. I was also rather pleased w my sourdough as they were still fluffy and crispy by the time we ate it .
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pimp my breakfast - $15.50

(Scrambled eggs, Grilled sausage, Toasted sourdough)

Almost the same like my breakfast, just that we subbed the smoked salmon for a grilled sausage.... Which was quite a disappointment for me. The sausage had a foul smell to it so personally, I wouldn't order this again. Not for $6 and definitely not in a million years.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast chicken panini with crispy panchetta, tomato, avocado, cos and aioi - $15

Ahh I loved this! The chicken spread reminded me like that of chicken mayo and the other ingredients used were delicious!
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Toasted banana bread, home-made vanilla yogurt, toasted macadamias, caramelized banana - $12

One of their signature dishes! The banana bread was moist, and toasted well. The vanilla yoghurt wasn't too sweet or tart, and was the perfect topping to the bread. The caramelized banana and macadamias sealed the deal. Would definitely order this again!
23 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Service:

Double thumbs up for the service! It was prompt, and the staff were really friendly. They even gave us free butter and sugar (it's chargeable, btw) just because they didn't have enough change for us. Hahaha

Atmosphere:

Definitely loved the old-school concept with a spacious interior. It was also well-furbished with comfy sofa chairs, beautifully decorated bookshelves and wooden tables..


------------------------------

Met up with the Cafe hoppers weeks back after Alex came back from his Summer trip and a rewarding brunch before school started. School has been good to me so far, and I'm starting to pace myself better in terms of school work so that I don't have to squeeze everything right till the very end. I only have two final exams this semester (YESSSSSSS) but that also means that I've more CA projects & papers to submit. But I'd rather have that than go through the dreadful preparations for Finals again.
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Will update this space soon with a proper post


Toodles!

題外話/補充資料: Opened by the same people behind Sarnies and located along the busy streets of Neil Road, The Lokal is a fairly new cafe which serves good food at an affordable price. It's focused on using the best raw ingredients to make the kind of food that everyone loves - a wholesome hearty fare that will not break the bank (As adapted from their FB page).
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-09-11
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$20 (午餐)
等級4
115
0
Strong Aussie vibes with a touch of Peranakan style, The Lokal (which also means "bar or dining place" in German) is nestled at the corner of Neil Road. Led by Chef Darren Farr, The Lokal is all about Western comfort food and gourmet coffee which beans are from Sarnies.Despite of the crowd, service by the waitresses are well delivered with courtesy and hospitality.I ordered a burger dish, but forgotten its name. Served with squid ink (or was it charcoal) buns, bacon, sunny side up with a thick s
更多
Strong Aussie vibes with a touch of Peranakan style, The Lokal (which also means "bar or dining place" in German) is nestled at the corner of Neil Road. Led by Chef Darren Farr, The Lokal is all about Western comfort food and gourmet coffee which beans are from Sarnies.
Despite of the crowd, service by the waitresses are well delivered with courtesy and hospitality.
I ordered a burger dish, but forgotten its name. Served with squid ink (or was it charcoal) buns, bacon, sunny side up with a thick slab of perfectly done salmon. Not only was it tasty, but definitely Instagram worthy!
Lu orderd Roasted Chicken Panini which did live up to expectations.
As mentioned earlier, beans are from Sarnies as this cafe is co-owned by the folks of Sarnies. Besides Latte ($5.5), German wheat beer Paulaner is also on tap.
Lastly, although both of us were filled, but we couldn't resist the temptation of Sticky Date Pudding. Blame it on the good sales speech by the waitress.
Served with a heap of vanilla ice cream, piping hot pudding and adorned with a thick layer of caramelized sugar, it was diabetic (but shiok)!
Opened till 1030pm, The Lokal is probably one of the spots for dinner and wind down after a long day of work.

Full review at http://lepakwithyaops.com/the-lokal-aussie-inspired-hipster-cafe-at-neil-road
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
15 分鐘 (堂食)
等級4
2014-12-26 41 瀏覽
Cafe Latte, served with a sweet biscuit with hints of caramel (if my memory did not fail me).Not sure why but their cafe latte was served in a piccolo latte sized glass. Check out that beautiful foamy surface and latte art! Taste wise, their cafe latte was slightly bland and too milky for my liking. I thought that since it was served in such a small cup, the coffee taste would be stronger but I was wrong. While I felt that the coffee was average, CC loved its acidity and didn't felt that the caf
更多
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Cafe Latte, served with a sweet biscuit with hints of caramel (if my memory did not fail me).

Not sure why but their cafe latte was served in a piccolo latte sized glass. Check out that beautiful foamy surface and latte art! Taste wise, their cafe latte was slightly bland and too milky for my liking. I thought that since it was served in such a small cup, the coffee taste would be stronger but I was wrong. While I felt that the coffee was average, CC loved its acidity and didn't felt that the caffeine kick was weak.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Burger with turkey bacon and egg. I wouldn't pay full price for this as I didn't felt it was worth it. Nothing impressive either. Egg yolk wasn't completely running but burger was fluffy and ingredients were fresh.
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Roast chicken ciabatta: Chicken was tender and moist but I would appreciate if portion of chicken was more (listed price was $18 I think). The avocado was slightly sweet, evenly mashed, and had a wonderfully refreshing taste.

Friendly service, hippy ambience, nice deco.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-12-22 47 瀏覽
This (peanut butter & banana) smoothie ($9) has almond, peanut butter, milk, and banana in it. There were some larger chunks of banana in it which were not blended in well but overall it still tasted good. it was slightly sour and wasn't overly sweet. The almond taste was very faint though but the peanut butter flavour wasn't overwhelming.Saffron Seafood stew $25: Stew was very good and wasn't too salty.etc. The seafood was fresh but some clams had the grainy texture when bit into it. Prawns wer
更多
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This (peanut butter & banana) smoothie ($9) has almond, peanut butter, milk, and banana in it. There were some larger chunks of banana in it which were not blended in well but overall it still tasted good. it was slightly sour and wasn't overly sweet. The almond taste was very faint though but the peanut butter flavour wasn't overwhelming.
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Saffron Seafood stew $25: Stew was very good and wasn't too salty.etc. The seafood was fresh but some clams had the grainy texture when bit into it. Prawns were a little soft, perhaps undercooked, but fresh. The bread was slightly crisp and went well with the stew too. The snapper fish was tender and soft. Overall, it's worth a try.
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Beef goulash (either $21 or $23): Thick chunks of beef, very well flavoured and tender. The spaetzle was yummy but as every bit was filled with the flavour of the goulash, the richness of the taste made it a tad cloying so it's better to share.

Prices are on the high side but they do serve some comfort food.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級3
61
12
2014-12-18 40 瀏覽
Full review on http://herpenandfork.blogspot.sg/2014/12/the-lokal-review.html The LoKal, located on Neil Road, is one cafe that I really looked forward and wanted to visit as it has a few differentiating points from other local cafes. The place is opened by the same folks behind Sarnies (said to be another great joint) and the cooks hand-make quite a fair bit of the ingredients used in the cafe's dishes, such as the smoked salmon and the sausage. A visit to the cafe also seems to be a good repli
更多
Full review on http://herpenandfork.blogspot.sg/2014/12/the-lokal-review.html 

The LoKal, located on Neil Road, is one cafe that I really looked forward and wanted to visit as it has a few differentiating points from other local cafes. The place is opened by the same folks behind Sarnies (said to be another great joint) and the cooks hand-make quite a fair bit of the ingredients used in the cafe's dishes, such as the smoked salmon and the sausage. A visit to the cafe also seems to be a good replica of the Aussie cafe experience as the concept specifically emulates a Melbournian cafe.

In the interior, the rustic brown of the furnishings and its spaciousness gave the cafe a nice laidback vibe that is perfect for catchup. It was relatively uncrowded when we got there, but the place filled up after 11.30am. The brunch menu serves up atypical dishes, which left me spoilt for choices.

Apart from the dishes, the mocha was fantastic - good enough to be at the top of my list of best mochas, sharing the spot with La Ristretto.

Roast Chicken Ciabatta
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast Chicken Ciabatta ($18) with creamy avocado, aioli and bacon.

Although it threw me off at first as it was served cold, the creaminess of the avocado with the flavour from the chicken and aioli came together very well. The bread was chewy inside, while there was an occasional crispness from the bacon. It may look simple, but every mouthful was delicious. Order it.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
French Toast
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
French Toast with Sauteed Apples, bacon and maple cream ($15)

While the bread was a thick slice, the dish was only average at best. All of us agreed that the bacon had a funny taste to it (sign of rancidity) and only the maple cream saved it. There are much better french toasts for the same price point. Skip,

Toasted Banana Bread
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Toasted banana bread with caramelised bananas and macadamias ($12)

This was listed as highly recommended by a lot of reviews and no wonder why. It is a unique brunch item. The bread was a nice dense texture and moist inside. The light banana sweetness was made even better when combined with the yogurt, which was soaked up by the bread. Though the portion was just about a fist size, for one person, it is just right as too much could get cloying towards the end, especially so for people with less of a sweet tooth.

Grilled Sausage
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Grilled Sausages with sauerkraut, fried egg, potatoes and added-on sundried tomatoes.

The sausages are homemade, but it was on the dry side though the taste was alright. One of my friends commented that they seemed to be less generous with the accompanying sides, compared to her previous visit. For the price, this wasn't worth it.

Smoked Mackerel and Salmon
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Smoked Mackerel

We added on the sides of smoked mackerel and smoked salmon. These are smoked in-house by the chefs. The smoked mackerel was a tad salty on its own, but would go well with a piece of plain toast. As for the smoked salmon, it wasn't too salty and had a nice flaky texture. The subdued smoky flavour was nice and we preferred it to the mackerel.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Lokal is one cafe that can potentially offer the wholesome authentic cafe experience, from its perfect-for-a-laidback-afternoon setting to a distinctive menu and great coffee. Standards may not be as it has been when it first opened, but it is still worth a visit for some dishes and let's hope it can pick itself up back to when it first started.

17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
  • Mocha
  • Roasted Chicken Ciabatta
  • Toasted Banana Bread with Yogurt
等級3
56
4
The Lokal is finally serving up dinner. We have for some time, heard rumours of this, but nothing has happened. Thankfully, all has been sorted and this popular Aussie inspired brunch cafe will start serving dinner from 11.11.2014. Although priced slightly higher than the average cafes during brunch, Lokal's dinner menu is more aligned to the normal restaurants around the area. Seeing how passionate Darren and his team go about preparing their dishes, as well as, adding that personal touch to ge
更多
The Lokal is finally serving up dinner. We have for some time, heard rumours of this, but nothing has happened. Thankfully, all has been sorted and this popular Aussie inspired brunch cafe will start serving dinner from 11.11.2014.
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Although priced slightly higher than the average cafes during brunch, Lokal's dinner menu is more aligned to the normal restaurants around the area. Seeing how passionate Darren and his team go about preparing their dishes, as well as, adding that personal touch to get feedback from us ordinary customers, I decided that I would want to share with ya'll their new menu.

Well, we almost got all da dishes

The starters:

Parfait of chicken liver 
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Seared Wagyu beef carpaccio 
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Beetroot cured Norwegian salmon 
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
wait, where's the drinks?
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Mains:

Wagyu beef goulash 
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
1/2 Kampong chicken 
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Slow Roasted lamb shoulder 
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Lokal sausage platter 
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
overall review: Definitely worth the try. Starters should range from $17 to $20 while mains would range from $25 to $30. Drinks are a tad pricely but that is the price for having great food with a warm evening setting. Portions are huge though so be prepared to be fed.

Full reiew on my blogpost : http://shauneeie.blogspot.sg/2014/11/the-lokal-now-serving-aussie-inspired.html
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • lamb shoulder
  • Norwegian salmon
  • kampong chicken
等級4
171
2
2014-08-20 222 瀏覽
Not a truly spacious cafe, but the decor does make this narrow little "alley" a little more classy.We were there at around 1430 hours, and guessed what? The crowd didn't cease then, and we had to share a table with another patron. This only show how popular and the amount of exposure The Lokal is getting, at this near-forsaken place during the weekends.Ordered a cup of coffee to kick start the brunch! Cappuccino ($5.50), with a jar of brown sugar if you like to further sweeten it.Grilled Sausage
更多
Not a truly spacious cafe, but the decor does make this narrow little "alley" a little more classy.

We were there at around 1430 hours, and guessed what? The crowd didn't cease then, and we had to share a table with another patron. This only show how popular and the amount of exposure The Lokal is getting, at this near-forsaken place during the weekends.

Ordered a cup of coffee to kick start the brunch! Cappuccino ($5.50), with a jar of brown sugar if you like to further sweeten it.

21 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言

Grilled Sausages with homemade sauerkraut, sauteed potatoes, fried egg and onion jam ($23). I have never tried sauerkraut, which also means sour cabbage. I only had a little sample out of the "mountain" served to me, and decided to ignore that for the rest of my meal. But disregarding the cabbage, and exchanging fried egg for scrambled egg, the whole dish is pretty satisfying! Definitely a must-try for their grilled sausages!

22 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言

If you want your food to be specially made for you, in some sense, you might want to go for Pimp my breakfast. Choosing from a list of breakfast sides, the first "pimped" breakfast came with toasted sourdough, grilled sausage, sauteed mushroom, and poached eggs ($20.50). The poached eggs seem to be nicely done, with wobbling yolk waiting to be let out. Another "pimped" breakfast has fried eggs, smoked salmon, and sauteed mushroom ($15.00).

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2014/08/the-lokal.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-08-16
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-08-08 208 瀏覽
Please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/07/sg-lokal-good-food-with-great-service.html for full review.With raving reviews of Sarnies and having their head barista over at the still-pretty-new Lokal, we thought we had to give it a shot. Typically with disappointing food at cafes, this promised otherwise with one of their partners who was the founding chef of Tetsuya's in Sydney.Despite being the new kid on the block, the people behind it have gotten themselves pretty popular
更多
Please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/07/sg-lokal-good-food-with-great-service.html for full review.

With raving reviews of Sarnies and having their head barista over at the still-pretty-new Lokal, we thought we had to give it a shot. Typically with disappointing food at cafes, this promised otherwise with one of their partners who was the founding chef of Tetsuya's in Sydney.
Flat White ($5.50)
14 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Despite being the new kid on the block, the people behind it have gotten themselves pretty popular with the snaking queues even as we reached at close to 2pm. I was personally impressed that despite the crowd, service hadn't been compromised and the dishes came up pretty quick.
Granola with Fruit Salad (S$14)
35 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
A cheery start to any breakfast, we chose the fruits salad over poached pear for the variety in it. We loved the toasted granola that came with a solid crunch, perfectly paired with light yoghurt drizzled over and the mix of fruits for that slightly sweet touch.

Chunky Chips ($8)
(photo at the background)
While I'm a super fries fan, this was quite a disappointing one for me. I found it a tad too bland, and the accompanying dip didn't quite go with it.
Toastie-of-the-day ($14) Mushroom Parmesan Egg
23 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
This was a simple one done right. Perfectly toasted sandwiches with a good combination of smooth scrambled egg and light parmesan, with distinct mushroom taste that didn't overpower. Each ingredient played a good complement, simple comfort food great to go with any meal!
Roast Beef on Rye (S$19) with caramelized onions, watercress & grain mustard creme fraiche
24 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
Well-marinated for a tender touch, it was a combination with caramelised onions for that pairing of savoury and sweet in one mouthful. The rye bread slice was a tad too dense that it got slightly messy trying to cut it up.
Roast Chicken on Sourdough ($15) with crispy pancetta, tomato, avocado, cos & aioli
17 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
This was supposed to be served on panini but they'd ran out of it hence served on sourdough for ours. Refreshing with its lighter flavours and tender soft chicken shreds, a simple sandwich paired with the right crunchiness of the pancetta and sweet juicy tomatoes. We loved how it was simple looking, yet packed on textures and well-marinated. Great if you're looking for a light refreshing sandwich!
Breakfast Burger (S$23) with pork belly, broken omelette, spinach and chilli jam
10 瀏覽
7 讚好
0 留言
This was a winner with tender pork belly and evenly distributed omelette for that strong egg-y taste throughout. There was just a very subtle hint of chilli jam but overall taste was a hit with well-balanced flavours.
Plate of Smoked Mackerel & Salmon (S$22) with pickles and pita bread
15 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
A pretty ordinary dish in my opinion, it was presented as what was described. Nothing spectacular but all nicely done, it was a simple dish for smoked fish lovers.
Banana Cake with Hokey Pokey Ice Cream (S$12)
17 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Desserts are the favourite course of our meal, and this was a promising one served with hokey pokey ice cream - vanilla ice cream with honeycomb toffee bits. I was expecting crunchy bits within for that added level of texture, though it turned out to be sticky bits. The ice cream was well-balanced in its sweetness, paired perfectly with the caramelized banana slices on top and a soft moist cake. It would have been even better if the cake was served slightly warmer for that contrast and softness.
Sticky Date Pudding (S$12)
34 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
This was a clear winner and we almost couldn't get enough of it! Okay, this isn't meant for sharing. Light and fluffy warm pudding with generous sauce drizzled on top, it was sheer indulgence yet balanced in sweetness so that you don't feel jelat (or overwhelmed). Paired with the good old vanilla ice cream, this was classic at its very best!
Flat White ($5.50)
14 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
Coffee has always been a subjective one and this was a hit with me. I like how it was smooth and velvety with a robust flavour. There's also a choice of beans while you place orders and my friend, a serious coffee drinker liked the medium roast that was slightly heavier.
19 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
You know how some cafes simply do self-service or are lacking severely in service given how packed and understaffed they are? I was impressed by how they were still a full service cafe given the crowd, without any part of it being compromised. We had our tables cleaned up prior to our desserts served, and having their staff checking in on us from time to time on how we found the food. It made us feel that they actually do care about their customers' feedback despite how busy/popular they were, and added a nice touch to a satisfying meal.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Sticky Date Pudding (S$12)
等級3
76
3
2014-07-23 163 瀏覽
For full review and more photos, please visit http://thumbsforfood.blogspot.sg/2014/07/the-lokal-thumbsforfood.htmlThe Lokal is a newly opened cafe in June, located on Neil Road. When you step into the Lokal, the whole vibe, music and feeling of the cafe makes one feel like you're in Australia. Even the staff's greeting was "How's it going?" instead of the usual "Hello".We were there on a weekend afternoon, after brunch hours when they were on their first few weeks of opening. Hence, it wasn't v
更多
For full review and more photos, please visit http://thumbsforfood.blogspot.sg/2014/07/the-lokal-thumbsforfood.html
The Lokal is a newly opened cafe in June, located on Neil Road. When you step into the Lokal, the whole vibe, music and feeling of the cafe makes one feel like you're in Australia. Even the staff's greeting was "How's it going?" instead of the usual "Hello".
We were there on a weekend afternoon, after brunch hours when they were on their first few weeks of opening. Hence, it wasn't very packed. The kitchen was kind of open concept, where patrons can see the chefs cooking up dishes in the kitchen. There is also a bar top in front of the kitchen where patrons can sit and chat with the friendly chefs at work.
As we were there that day for only drinks and desserts, we did not try their much raved about brunch menu.
Some of my friends chose their bottled drinks, ginger ale and lemmy lemonade ($4 each). They were quite refreshing and suitable for a hot day.
We actually ordered the Banana Bread and Berries Crumble but, was given the Sticky Date Pudding on the house as they took quite sometime to prepare the desserts. Well, it was worth the wait!
The desserts were served hot and we could smell them from our seats as they came out of the oven. First up was sticky date pudding, served with caramel and some ice-cream. I really like hot desserts actually because they warm the tummy and goes really well with ice-cream. Wonder how they do up the sticky date pudding so well!
The Apple and Berries Crumble really had generous serving of berries. It was really quite sour actually and we felt it will be better with more crumble to balance off the sourness of the berries.
Overall, we really enjoyed the desserts there. We would love to come back here again to try out their brunch menus and burgers!
26 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Drinks
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sicky Date Pudding
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Berries Crumble
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Sicky Date Pudding
Berries Crumble
等級4
2014-07-15 133 瀏覽
After hearing some good reviews on The Lokal Cafe, I decided to give it a shot one day when a colleague suggested having lunch together.  The Lokal Cafe , an Australian cafe, is a fairly new kid on the block, often packed with coffee lovers in its comfortable setting - one may choose to sit at the tables near the sleek white coffee counter, or prop one's foot up on the plushy couches in the more laid-back area at the back.I settled for the Roast Chicken Panini (SGD$15.00) with crispy pancetta, t
更多
After hearing some good reviews on The Lokal Cafe, I decided to give it a shot one day when a colleague suggested having lunch together.  The Lokal Cafe , an Australian cafe, is a fairly new kid on the block, often packed with coffee lovers in its comfortable setting - one may choose to sit at the tables near the sleek white coffee counter, or prop one's foot up on the plushy couches in the more laid-back area at the back.

I settled for the Roast Chicken Panini (SGD$15.00) with crispy pancetta, tomato, avocado, cos and aloli. The chicken was tender and the combination with crispy pancetta and avocado was an intense play on the palate. The juicy and sour-sweet tomato slices, paired with chewy panini bread made the sandwich an exotic blend of textures and in short, the colleague and I enjoyed this creation

The colleague had the Roast Beef on Rye (SGD$17.00) with caramelised onions, watercress and grained mustard creme fraiche. The roast beef was rather tender, and the sweetness was further enhanced by the raw, fresh sweetness of the watercress. This sandwich was a rather juicy treat.

For more detailed information and photos, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/07/lunch-at-lokal-cafe.html

Roast Chicken Panini
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast beef on Rye
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$22 (午餐)
推介美食
Roast Chicken Panini
Roast beef on Rye