9
1
0
等級4
2015-08-08 138 瀏覽
For more reviews, visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2015/04/the-royal-mail.htmlThe Royal Mail is housed in the former Asia Insurance Building (now Ascott Raffles Place) and was once the tallest building in South East Asia. This building has been gazetted under URA (Urban Redevelopment Authority) for conversation. We headed to the Royal Mail via the curved stairways from its ground level for their Lunch Special 3 Course Set under Restaurant Week for $25++.TRM (The Royal Mail) is accessible by th
更多
For more reviews, visit http://www.umakemehungry.com/2015/04/the-royal-mail.html

The Royal Mail is housed in the former Asia Insurance Building (now Ascott Raffles Place) and was once the tallest building in South East Asia. This building has been gazetted under URA (Urban Redevelopment Authority) for conversation.
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
We headed to the Royal Mail via the curved stairways from its ground level for their Lunch Special 3 Course Set under Restaurant Week for $25++.
Stairways to the Royal Mail
16 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
TRM (The Royal Mail) is accessible by the lifts from the ground level too.
Lift Lobby
13 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Ambiance was calm and cool with many diners heading for their Restaurant Week menu.
Dining Area
13 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Acqua Panna were served and was charged separately.
Natural Mineral Water - $14 (2 pax)
$14
11 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Appetizers were served. These buns have a charred crispy exterior and a pillow soft interior filled with air pockets. It's good to have them together with the margarine spread while waiting for the courses to be served.
Starters
8 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
There were 3 starters to choose from and we had their Caesar Salad which comprised of fresh baby romaine lettuce, herbs, coutons, cured bacon, 6 minute egg, home made cesar dressing and Parmesan Chips. The exterior of egg looked abit like the style of poached egg but the yolk was not runny. However, such starters were refreshing way to kick start the 3 Course Meal.
The Royal Mail Caesar Salad
11 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Vegetarians are all taken care of by TRM as they never forget to include meals catered to them, just like this watermelon stack. I find such starter very creative as these water melon were cooked and came with roasted pistachio, tomato Tapenade, Grana Padano, Arugula and Aged Balsamic Reduction.
Watermelon Stack (Vegetarian)
23 瀏覽
4 讚好
0 留言
One of the Mains ordered was Sakura Ebi Capellini. Capellini was topped with shredded seaweed, bird-eye chilli, bonito flakes and kobu sauce.
Sakura Ebi Capellini
22 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Out of the 4 main courses to choose from, the Sakura Ebi Capellini and the creamy tomato risotto were the basic and did not require additional topped up on top of the $25++. As compared to the former main course, I would prefer this Risotto as I find the dish more tangy. It came with green asparagus, semi-dried tomato, tomato cream sauce and aged Parmesan.
Creamy Tomato Risotto (Vegetarian)
14 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
If you have a sweet tooth, you will love the Matcha Parfait. The sweet combination of the parfait with the Azuki Red Bean Stew and Mochi were perfect!
Matcha Parfait
25 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Warm Ginger Pudding was lavsihed with Toffe sauce and a scoop of vanilla Ice Cream by the side. The Dining partner was very pleased such a happy ending for the 3 Course meal but out of the 2 desserts order, I will give my vote to the Matcha as I'm not a Ginger fan when it comes to desserts like this.
Warm Ginger Pudding
16 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
The toilet was spacious and luxurious with a special arrangement for the cubicles.

Service from the staff were professional, polite and friendly even though waiting time in between the courses were beyond expectations. To finish the 3 course lunch meal, it took us about 1.5 hrs.

Overall, the dining experience was definitely pleasant.
11 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$25 (午餐)
用餐優惠
其他
推介美食
Stairways to the Royal Mail
Lift Lobby
Dining Area
Natural Mineral Water - $14 (2 pax)
$ 14
The Royal Mail Caesar Salad
Watermelon Stack (Vegetarian)
Sakura Ebi Capellini
Creamy Tomato Risotto (Vegetarian)
Matcha Parfait
等級3
61
0
2015-05-04 57 瀏覽
Full review: http://nkikichua.blogspot.sg/2015/05/the-royal-mail-ascott-raffles-place.htmlThe Royal Mail Restaurant & Bar is home to contemporary British cuisines and they has been driven by an aspiration to deliver delicate dishes that exemplify quality and creativity. Usually for fine dining settings during dinner, they will start by serving you bread and butter for a light start. And I have to admit I my mind was blown with this Gruyere Cheese Bread, it's like an aromatherapy to my soul, this
更多
Full review: http://nkikichua.blogspot.sg/2015/05/the-royal-mail-ascott-raffles-place.html

The Royal Mail Restaurant & Bar is home to contemporary British cuisines and they has been driven by an aspiration to deliver delicate dishes that exemplify quality and creativity. Usually for fine dining settings during dinner, they will start by serving you bread and butter for a light start. And I have to admit I my mind was blown with this Gruyere Cheese Bread, it's like an aromatherapy to my soul, this photo simply do not do justice to how good this is! Soft and moist centered, filled with cheese and black pepper, giving you the hint of peppery spice.

Seafood Bouillabaisse [$28] is a starter worth trying, The tangy broth is filled with the seafood goodness therefore it will leave you with a strong aftertaste, best paired with a glass of wine to clear the palate. Thumbs up to the fresh and succulent langoustine (a type of large prawn), taste alike to lobster too.
Seafood Bouillabaisse
$28
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Honey Glazed Kurobuta Pork [$56] is one of my favourite main! This ain't your normal pork chop haa! The apple butter sauce drizzle over the fatty pork is like the best combination, if it gets a little too fatty, the apple infused in white wine helps to cleanse the palate.
Honey Glazed Kurobuta Pork
$56
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Amongst all, the classic earl grey tea takes a dessert variation in the invigorating Enhanced Bergamot Earl Grey Jelly [$15] - enlivening this dessert is frozen yoghurt, passionfruit coulis and macerated berries. I could not get enough of this! Sweet and sour, it is like a party on my palate


(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
Honey Glazed Kurobuta Pork
$ 56
等級4
2015-01-03 46 瀏覽
For full review and pics, visit www.dairycream.blogspot.comCame here to try the Christmas set menu earlier, of which some items are also on the regular menu. Highlights for the starters include the Bay Scallops Salad with Walnut Mustard Dressing. Expertly cooked till the surface were lightly browned, the scallops were sweet and tender, complemented by red radish and mesclun at the side.To most people, chestnuts means turkey stuffing or Mont Blanc. But here, chestnuts mean soup, a luxuriously cre
更多
18 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
24 瀏覽
6 讚好
0 留言
18 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
7 讚好
0 留言
For full review and pics, visit www.dairycream.blogspot.com
Came here to try the Christmas set menu earlier, of which some items are also on the regular menu. Highlights for the starters include the Bay Scallops Salad with Walnut Mustard Dressing. Expertly cooked till the surface were lightly browned, the scallops were sweet and tender, complemented by red radish and mesclun at the side.To most people, chestnuts means turkey stuffing or Mont Blanc. But here, chestnuts mean soup, a luxuriously creamy dish with bold splashes of subtly sweet balsamic vinegar reduction, giving it a great a multi-dimensional sweetness. Bread is not missed here for the crunchy grissini breadstick works even better with the soup. Or one may consider soaking some of the amuse bouche of an aromatic, albeit deflated, Gruyere Cheese Choux puff into the soup!

19 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$88 (晚餐)
等級3
46
0
We were here during the restaurant week. Overall the food and dessert here were decent, nothing to rave about. Service was good from the reception staff but not the server staff. If you just want to find a slightly better restaurant with adequate food at Raffles Place area, you can consider this place.So far I only enjoyed this starter the most: Pan-Seared ScallopsLove their scallops so much - Succulent and Crisp at the top!Pan-Seared Foie Gras - We thought the size of the foie gras will be some
更多
We were here during the restaurant week. Overall the food and dessert here were decent, nothing to rave about. Service was good from the reception staff but not the server staff. If you just want to find a slightly better restaurant with adequate food at Raffles Place area, you can consider this place.
Pan-Seared Scallops
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
So far I only enjoyed this starter the most: Pan-Seared Scallops
Love their scallops so much - Succulent and Crisp at the top!
Pan-Seared Foie Gras
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pan-Seared Foie Gras - We thought the size of the foie gras will be something like the scallops above. So we were really amazed by the generous portion of foie gras given. Probably it's a little too much and too rich, so we gotta share the portion with each other.. Overall it was mediocre.
Pan Seared Salmon
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pan Seared Salmon - The salmon was cooked to perfection, very tender and the skin was crisp enough!
Roasted Chicken Breast
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roasted Chicken Breast -  Was expecting the meat to be tough but surprisingly it was quite tender. But the taste was quite bland, somehow this dish was unremarkable.

For full review and photos, please visit:
http://summerlovestoeat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/restaurant-week-lunch-at-royal-mail.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-11-02
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
Pan-Seared Scallops
Pan Seared Salmon
等級4
2014-10-13 46 瀏覽
The Royal Mail had been around for about 2 years but it was never on our to dine at list for one reason or another. We finally decided to give it a shot one Friday evening before the wife took off for an extended work trip to Korea. InteriorOccupying a spot in Ascott Raffles Place, the restaurant's name is inspired by its location, where a former British post office once stood. And it serves up "modern British cuisine" of course. The restaurant is situated on the second floor, up a flight of sta
更多

The Royal Mail had been around for about 2 years but it was never on our to dine at list for one reason or another. We finally decided to give it a shot one Friday evening before the wife took off for an extended work trip to Korea.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Interior

Occupying a spot in Ascott Raffles Place, the restaurant's name is inspired by its location, where a former British post office once stood. And it serves up "modern British cuisine" of course.

The restaurant is situated on the second floor, up a flight of stairs that open up right into the oddly shaped dining area whilst the bar takes up a small corner on the first floor. If you value your privacy, it might be a good idea to request for seats further in and not along the stairway, especially on a busy night.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Complimentary Bread

Puff pastry with brie cheese - Now that's something you don't get very often. Soft and moist with a nice cheesy nuance. I did find it a wee bit too oily though.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Amuse Bouche

The amuse bouche was a classic duck rillette on toast; nice but not creamy enough with a mildly spicy kick. Still a good start nonetheless!
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Royal Mail Caesar Salad

Our quintessential greens for the evening, the humble Caesar salad. Spiced up with bacon strips, a nicely poached egg, strips of cheese and toasted bread. Nothing too fancy but it kept the positive momentum going.
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sous-Vide Half Maine Lobster

That's a pretty small lobster if you ask me but it was good. Crunchy meat cooked to a perfect consistency and served with a shard of crisp ibérico ham and a slice of mildly sweet Japanese pumpkin, sitting in a pool of rich emulsified butter sauce.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roasted Whole Chicken

The roasted chicken needed quite a fair bit of work, coming across as bland and uninspiring. The accompanying chermoula sauce was just plan oily and we had a hard time finishing the chicken, small as it was.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast Prime Rib

A signature of the restaurant, we had the classic cut (280g), which came served with delicious sauteed Brussels sprouts topped with pine nuts and blue cheese, a roasted whole garlic and Yorkshire pudding. Done up medium well instead of medium as per my request, the prime rib was quite good; Thickly cut, succulent and tasty. I didn't quite fancy the Yorkshire pudding though, which was neither crisp nor hot.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Truffle Risotto

The side of truffle risotto was al dente and beautifully creamy and fragrant with chunks of mushroom in it. Delicious!
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Chocolate Fondant

Nicely moist fondant with a molten chocolate center and served with a scoop of lacklustre vanilla bean ice cream and deliciously crunchy chocolate soil with freeze dried raspberries atop. I personally loved the texture and tartness that the chocolate soil, dried raspberries combination brought to this dessert.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Banoffee Tart

A pretty decent rendition of one of my favourite western desserts (I have many by the way), the banoffee tart sported a crisp tart shell with a filling of banana, crumble and toffee, topped with a dollop of cream and dusted with cocoa powder. The salted caramel sauce could have featured a little more prominently and the bananas could have been a little more moist whilst the tart would have been better with a little more baking in my humble opinion.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Bill

With a 50% discount, the bill for the both of us came up to a mere $105, which is a rather good deal considering the very decent quality and quantity of food (with the exception of the chicken). Service was excellent; Personal without coming across as overbearing. At such a price point and quality, I'll be hard pressed to find an excuse not to revisit.

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 7/10

Service: 8/10

Food: 7/10 (6/10 for the chicken)

Value for money: 7/10 (with the 50% discount)

Overall: 7.25/10
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
The Royal Mail Restaurant & Bar established in year 2012 has revamped their menu recently.The bar area is situated on the ground floor and the restaurant itself is on the second level. The bar area is comfortable and cosy which makes a perfect chill place after work hours.This new facelift introduces new specialty cocktails and British-inspired tapas on its menu.We had a great night sampling all the new cocktails on the menu, which was launched after a three months of hard work by the kitchen an
更多
The Royal Mail Restaurant & Bar established in year 2012 has revamped their menu recently.The bar area is situated on the ground floor and the restaurant itself is on the second level. The bar area is comfortable and cosy which makes a perfect chill place after work hours.
This new facelift introduces new specialty cocktails and British-inspired tapas on its menu.
We had a great night sampling all the new cocktails on the menu, which was launched after a three months of hard work by the kitchen and bar team. Customers can expect an appetizing range of speciality cocktails, a well-curated range of whiskeys and spirits, as well as bar grub that boast modern British sensibilities.
Snapshots of the drinks that we tried that night!
Drinks
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Drinks
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Agent 006 - Muddled Lime Juice, Sugar and Mint leaves, with Rum and Lychee Juice with a burning stream of Bacardi 151. Loving the taste of it!My favourite too!
Plum Job-Sour Plum Powder shaken with Vodka and Sprite, garnished with a Sour Plum for a lingering taste. It is quite addictive too.
Complementing the drinks, bar grab menu are available for serving as well.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Old Fashioned Spice, a perennial favourite which was given a slightly sweetened aftertaste with the deft infusion of honey and clove. Definitely one of my favourite!
8 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The Beef Steak is an irresistible choice especially when indulged with the accompaniment of Spicy Crab-Tomato and Béarnaise sauces.
BBQ Sweet & Spicy Meat Balls and Shrimp Paste Chicken Drumlets.
Sauteed Chorizo Sausages & Toasted Bread
Sweet Potato Chips served with Onion and Shallot Salsa.
Beer Battered Calamari Rings with Wasabi Alioli sauce.
Garlic Bread which is served in unique way. I felt it was over toasted and dry to my liking.
Straight Cut Fries with Truffled Mayo.

For more information, check out my blog post http://hazeldiary.com/the-royal-mail-restaurant-bar/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-08-22
等候時間
20 分鐘 (堂食)
用餐時段
其他
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
  • Agent 006
  • Old Fashioned Spice
  • Straight Cut Fries with Truffles Mayo
等級4
2014-08-25 27 瀏覽
Full review and pics on http://dairycream.blogspot.jp/2014/08/the-royal-mail-bar-british-inspired.htmlThe Royal Mail Bar, part of The Royal Mail Restaurant, refreshes its bar menu with new curated cocktails and bar grubs that reflect modern British sensibilities. Despite being a non-alcoholic drinker, I enjoyed the "Apple of my Eye" ($18), made with an entire crushed apple mixed with vodka, frangelico, an egg white for a frothy finish. This light and sweet martini with lovely cinnamon perfumes d
更多
Full review and pics on http://dairycream.blogspot.jp/2014/08/the-royal-mail-bar-british-inspired.html

The Royal Mail Bar, part of The Royal Mail Restaurant, refreshes its bar menu with new curated cocktails and bar grubs that reflect modern British sensibilities. Despite being a non-alcoholic drinker, I enjoyed the "Apple of my Eye" ($18), made with an entire crushed apple mixed with vodka, frangelico, an egg white for a frothy finish. This light and sweet martini with lovely cinnamon perfumes definitely met my eye that night
For those who prefer more intense drinks, the Old-fashioned Spice ($18) that is mischievously implanted with a burning stick of cinnamon, should fit the bill. The combination of Bourbon with honey, cloves gave it an even sweeter aftertaste than the green apple martini. As a light drinker, I was glad not being knocked out by this smoky booze.
Cubed Beef: Prime Roast 140g ($28)
Mention British fare and one can't miss out the Roast Prime Rib. This signature dish of the Royal Mail Restaurant is transformed into dainty cubes bites served medium rare. Though many were lavishing praises at this dish, I thought it was slightly overdone. The beef seems awkward with the two kinds of dip-spicy crab tomato and béarnaise sauce, which could mask the natural sweetness of the meat. Perhaps a simple dash of salt on the meat would enhance the taste. But I do love the spicy crab tomato sauce--so delish it can stand on its own.
Beer battered Calamari Rings with Wasabi Alioli and Lemon Wedges ($16)
I thought I would only see the Razor Clams & Squid ($20) in Chinese seafood restaurants but here it's the British way with tangy tomato salsa. Appetizing.
Other meat bites include the Sautéed Chorizo Sausages ($16) and BBQ Sweet & Spicy Meat Balls with raspberry jam ($14) but both were not very captivating. The sausages with tomato concasse, saffron, chilli flakes were neither sour nor spicy. Probably could do with more gravy since they were meant to be eaten with the toasted baguette. Similarly, the beef patties were dry and the spice of the chilli flakes did not come to the fore.
The Shrimp paste Chicken drumlets ($14) could easily be mistaken as Thai-style chicken since they were served with the classic sweet-spicy dip and did not have that umami taste found in Hap Cheong Kai of zichar stall. That said, they were crunchier than those greasy Karaage (deep fried chicken) served in ramen-ya or izakayas.
Standout starters range from the garlic bread ($8) and sweet potato chips served with shallots and onion salsa ($8). They might not be the first thing that comes to your mind when you come to a bar but they unbelievably moreish--once started, can't stop.
Hardcore fans of truffled fries would not be disappointed by the Straight Cut Fries with Truffled Mayo, which seemed to surpass the former with formidable fries. They are like creamy mash potato encased in a crispy shell.
Housed at the first floor of the restaurant, the bar also offers burgers, pastas and even pizzas or desserts for the famished appetites. But just to chill out and unwind from a hectic day, some of these light nibbles and cocktails would do the trick.
 
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
推介美食
  • Garlic Bread
等級3
46
0
I had the privillage to attend a media tasting at Royal mail to indulge in some of the best cocktails and bar grub. Guests can expect an appetizing range of specialty cocktails, a well-curated range of whiskeys and spirits, as well as bar grub that boast modern British sensibilities. The best moment is spending time w your friends, colleagues and loved ones, and settle down at The Royal mail during Happy Hour.Favorite drink was 'apple of my eye' martini and prime beef as a bite. Prime rib must t
更多
I had the privillage to attend a media tasting at Royal mail to indulge in some of the best cocktails and bar grub. Guests can expect an appetizing range of specialty cocktails, a well-curated range of whiskeys and spirits, as well as bar grub that boast modern British sensibilities. The best moment is spending time w your friends, colleagues and loved ones, and settle down at The Royal mail during Happy Hour.

Favorite drink was 'apple of my eye' martini and prime beef as a bite. Prime rib must try! It offers a wide variety of bites such as fries with truffle mayo, meat balls and more. This showcase the chefs’ finesse and flair in pairing food and drinks. Most of them goes perfectly well together.The Happy Hour deals changes daily with a wide selection of drinks to pick from. The Royal Mail focuses on working the taste-buds of guests and prices are easy on your wallet. This is probably my first review on a bar and never knew complementing cocktails and prime rib (Best Prime Rib in SG as suggested by @ladyironchef) goes perfectly well. I'd definitely be back.

Full review of cocktails/martinis/bar grubs: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/08/the-royal-mail-restaurant-bar-review.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐優惠
試食活動
等級4
2014-07-09 20 瀏覽
An elegant restaurant cum bar that serves modern European cuisine focusing more on British flavors, the concept here was actually inspired by a vintage brass mail chute located in full view at the lift lobby of The Ascott. A concept exuding Old World charm dating back to the days of Doris Day's letter writing era, Grace Chang and policemen in shorts (and possibly, handsome postmen on bicycles).My main course was served first - the Pan Seared Duck Breast (SGD$32.00) - served with Celeriac puree,
更多
An elegant restaurant cum bar that serves modern European cuisine focusing more on British flavors, the concept here was actually inspired by a vintage brass mail chute located in full view at the lift lobby of The Ascott. A concept exuding Old World charm dating back to the days of Doris Day's letter writing era, Grace Chang and policemen in shorts (and possibly, handsome postmen on bicycles).

My main course was served first - the Pan Seared Duck Breast (SGD$32.00) - served with Celeriac puree, vegetables, cranberry sauce and groittines. Taste-wise, I thought it was rather good - the sweet-sour, smooth puree lending credance to the stronger flavor of duck meat. However, the texture was rather hard, and it was bloody, I had to admit that throughout the meal I had really thought I was eating medium-rare steak (no joke!). As a steak, it would be really tasty - it was only when we looked the bill then I remembered I was actually eating duck.

*Natalie had the Lamb Fore Shank (SGD$32.00) - braised in rich tomato gravy, with rosemary, daikon and carrots. The lamb was startlingly tender, and there was no hints of the distinct "musty lamb" odor at all. The savoury gravy was tinged with refreshing sour-ness of tomato, infusing the lamb in its richness, a marriage of superbly combined flavors.

Finally, the Cod Fillet (SGD$38.00) that *Chantal ordered was being served - with grilled fennel, onion confit, pea and tomato mash, saffron beurre blanc and razor clams. The latter got her attention first - and it was so chewy and springy in our mouths that we thought it a good choice. The cod itself was another scrumptious pick as well - sweet in its freshness, buttery soft and the light flavor being uplifted by the ingredients that topped it off beautifully.

For more photos and detailed information, please feel free to visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/07/dinner-at-royal-mail-restaurant-and-bar.html

pan seared duck breast
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
lamb fore shank
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
cod fillet with razer clams
9 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
推介美食
pan seared duck breast
lamb fore shank
cod fillet with razer clams
  • cheese gougere
  • lobster linguine
等級2
9
1
2014-04-19 22 瀏覽
{Visit lazyfoodies.com for a full review with photos}Though Singapore was once British ruled, we have hardly heard or speak of British cuisine here. The Royal Mail is one of the rare restaurants that serves up unique modern British cuisine with an emphasis on roasts and prime rib. Housed within Ascott in the busiest business district, an after-work dinner there was surprisingly a relaxed one.
更多
{Visit lazyfoodies.com for a full review with photos}

Though Singapore was once British ruled, we have hardly heard or speak of British cuisine here. The Royal Mail is one of the rare restaurants that serves up unique modern British cuisine with an emphasis on roasts and prime rib. Housed within Ascott in the busiest business district, an after-work dinner there was surprisingly a relaxed one.
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-03-28
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$70 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Roast Prime Rib
等級4
2014-03-30 28 瀏覽
This poshy restaurant was my favourite venue for a romantic dinner with my loves one. This time I have brought my good friend here to celebrate her birthday.Restaurant is quiet and cosy, and the service here is quite tip-top, as they are super helpful and prompt in service.  Have ordered their 3 courses set dinner, which includes the New Zealand mussel chowder, that the texture is super thick and creamy with generous amount of fresh chewy mussel inside.  Garlic toast is crunchy and fragrant as w
更多
This poshy restaurant was my favourite venue for a romantic dinner with my loves one. This time I have brought my good friend here to celebrate her birthday.

Restaurant is quiet and cosy, and the service here is quite tip-top, as they are super helpful and prompt in service. 

Have ordered their 3 courses set dinner, which includes the New Zealand mussel chowder, that the texture is super thick and creamy with generous amount of fresh chewy mussel inside.  Garlic toast is crunchy and fragrant as well.

As for the roast prime rib, the beef meat is thick and juicy, and glad it is not hard to chew at all.  Comes with a very thick slice which really shows how generous this restaurant is to satisfy the customers.

When comes to dessert, I have the Cherries Jubilee, that has generous amount of sweet fresh cherries that has been warmed and topped with fresh cooling vanila ice cream that make it more appearing and flavourful.   $35 per set is really worth the money.
Restaurant outside
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
New Zealand Mussel Chowder
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roast Prime Rib
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Cherries Jubilee
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
推介美食
New Zealand Mussel Chowder
Roast Prime Rib
等級4
171
2
In fact, I was surprised having to work in CBD for the past couple of years, and didn't knew the existence of The Royal Mail. Do not be fooled though. Nothing to do with postage and such.. Rather, its focused on satisfying your stomach in a cozy and a little classy type of ambiance!They had two seatings available, and while we reserved for the second seating, they still allow us to have our slot pushed forward since we were there early Candlelight dinner?Menus ranging from ala-carte to set menus
更多
In fact, I was surprised having to work in CBD for the past couple of years, and didn't knew the existence of The Royal Mail. Do not be fooled though. Nothing to do with postage and such.. Rather, its focused on satisfying your stomach in a cozy and a little classy type of ambiance!

They had two seatings available, and while we reserved for the second seating, they still allow us to have our slot pushed forward since we were there early


Candlelight dinner?

Menus ranging from ala-carte to set menus are available in their website. 5-course Valentine's Day dinner costs $85++ per pax.

We were served this piping hot and soft bread lies somewhat like mashed potato within. Pretty appealing in terms of smell and taste. So much so that we asked for a second serving


Amuse Bouche is a term used to describe a single, bite-sized item to excite the tongue of diners!

So what we have here is a chef's creation. Wasn't really sure of this, but it tasted quite ok in my mouth..

First course on menu, Chilled Tomato Consomme, consisting of cherry tomato concasse, tomato caviar, asparagus, brussels sprout leaves and basil. Clear soup was held separately for your own self-serving.

I didn't quite like this soup because of the cold clear soup, and strong taste of tomato!

Starter is the Trio of Fresh Oysters. We were actually quite skeptical in taking in the oysters. Imagine eating the oyster omelette, and we always target the omelette only? Yeah.. but we took the plunge......

Out of the trio, being Pomegrante Gelee, Lemongrass & Chili Gelee, and Lemon & Tabasco, I prefer the third type! Oysters taste all the same, but because the lemon and tabasco are able to cover and lessen the raw fishy taste of oyster, thus this become more enjoyable!

To our mains, we had Seared Duck Breast, with beetroot mash, grapes, mandarin orange segments, and bitter chocolate orange sauce. While I did not had this, the presentation looks simple, yet taste is fairly good.

My main is the Roast Prime Rib, which is an additional $20 cost to the set, with yorkshire pudding, garlic potato mash, buttered peas and creamed corn. I requested for my steak to be cooked rare, and the server was like "are you sure" kind of expression! Well, I tried before, and I quite like it, but apparently most restaurants only serve medium-rare and above.

I love it! This is how steak should taste like
For the pudding wise, all you can expect is a dried up pudding type, perhaps? More like a thin piece of bread...

Moving on to the pre-dessert, they have the Pink Romance, which is lychee and rose mousseline, macaroon and raspberries. I have to say, we both nodded in agreement that their macaroon is delicious! Thick and sweet!

Dessert comes next! Passion In Love, which is made of white chocolate and passion fruit pompons, milk chocolate crunchies and passion fruit sauce.

One of the best dessert I ever had! For a start, I am a fan of passionfruit drinks, desserts, and maybe its fruit perhaps. So when I pop one spoon of it into my mouth, I totally love how chocolate collapse upon the crush of my teeth, and revealing the tad sourness of the passionfruit!

Ending with a selection of Coffee/Tea, served with Petit Fours.

Love the ambiance and friendly crew in The Royal Mail. It's not a big-scale type of restaurant, but that makes the crew more focused and attentive to diners who are in need of their service!

Food, not to mentioned, are generally awesome. My favorites are bet on Roast Prime Rib and Passion In Love
The whole course does not come with an inexpensive price, of course. But I feel that it is worth spending on! Definitely would like to come again!

For more details, please visit http://foodesteem.blogspot.sg/2014/02/the-royal-mail-valentine-day-2014.html

12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-02-14
推介美食
  • Chilled Tomato Consomme
  • Pomegrante Gelee
  • Seared Duck Breast
  • Roast Prime Rib
  • Passion In Love
等級3
98
0
2013-09-15 12 瀏覽
Went to The Royal Mail for a birthday celebration. We ordered the Blue Swimmer Crab & Avocado for starters. It came in quite a small serving, but was really yummy! The use of ingredients was good, I like the mixture of the crab meat with the roe, which burst in the mouth. Could taste that the crab was very fresh. I ordered a Roast Prime Rib Classic Cut medium rare, it was cooked to a great perfection. The steak was soft and tender, and I like the sauce on the steak. There were some side dishes w
更多
Went to The Royal Mail for a birthday celebration. We ordered the Blue Swimmer Crab & Avocado for starters. It came in quite a small serving, but was really yummy! The use of ingredients was good, I like the mixture of the crab meat with the roe, which burst in the mouth. Could taste that the crab was very fresh. I ordered a Roast Prime Rib Classic Cut medium rare, it was cooked to a great perfection. The steak was soft and tender, and I like the sauce on the steak. There were some side dishes which came with the steak, I like the mashed potato which has a unique sauce and goes pretty well with it. Will really recommend the steak here!c


For the price we paid, it was really worth it as the service was top notch, ambience was perfect, and the steaks ain't really expensive for the quality.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$90 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
生日
推介美食
  • Roast prime ribs (classic cut)
  • blue swimmer crab & avocado
等級4
2013-03-25 14 瀏覽
We starts the meal with pipping hot buns.Crispy Soft Shell Crab With Avocado Guacamole-Scented Horseradish & Coriander and Mango & Tomato Salsa Crispy but oily and abit too salty soft shell crab.Caesar SaladOh the yolk of the the 6-minute egg flows out like lava. Nice.Pan Seared Norwegian SalmonCrispy on the outside, juicy inside.Braised Lamb ShankVery big amount and tender.Sticky Date PuddingVery hot dessert. Be careful when eat it.
更多
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We starts the meal with pipping hot buns.
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
With Avocado Guacamole-Scented Horseradish & Coriander and Mango & Tomato Salsa
Crispy but oily and abit too salty soft shell crab.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Caesar Salad
Oh the yolk of the the 6-minute egg flows out like lava. Nice.
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Pan Seared Norwegian Salmon
Crispy on the outside, juicy inside.
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised Lamb Shank
Very big amount and tender.
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Sticky Date Pudding
Very hot dessert. Be careful when eat it.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-03-23
人均消費
$45 (晚餐)