2
1
0
等級4
333
3
i came tim palace few weeks back with my sis & b-i-l on 24.11.2015.some RI friends wanted to try after reading that post. happens that a close RI friend was visiting from cupertino USA (same friend so was at my house yesterday for a homecooked pasta + steak lunch & we had a cuppa at ducth colony pasarbella afterwards).so he arranged a 10pax lunch at tim palace today on 16.12.2015. ^^salmon sashimi was bad, wrong colour & almost “sweating”. cold flower crab looked a bit better maybe it was ok thi
更多


i came tim palace few weeks back with my sis & b-i-l on 24.11.2015.
some RI friends wanted to try after reading that post. happens that a close RI friend was visiting from cupertino USA (same friend so was at my house yesterday for a homecooked pasta + steak lunch & we had a cuppa at ducth colony pasarbella afterwards).
so he arranged a 10pax lunch at tim palace today on 16.12.2015. ^^
salmon sashimi was bad, wrong colour & almost “sweating”. cold flower crab looked a bit better maybe it was ok this time. didn't try.prawn & sotong salad & the pickledd scallops tips were still ok. poached prawn was good too.
roast station though was quite ridiculous –
we had 10pax. we got a plate good for 2pax!! yes 2pax!! you just have to look at my photos last visit to see what we got for 3pax! so being not so silent & compliant type singaporeans, we told the manager & was served another 2 plates (top photo).
sharks fin was ok.mainly because the stock was tasty & so the dish overall was pretty good.
drunken prawns was good.prawns were very fresh, bouncy, good. herbal soup was good too.
abalone & broccoli dish was very competent. there were 9 abalones for 10pax. we told the server & manager, & got 1 more abalone, no worries la!
they served us 2 deep-fried flower garoupa., pretty ok dish.
steamed seabass with sambal sauce was good, very nice sauce & dish done well. ^^
the sea cucumber with yam was ok.
there was a last order (i think 2pm). i ordered the prawns since the other 2 prawn dishes were good.the
xo scallop dish was competent.small scallops, quite nicely done.
& we ordered the lala.lala was fresh but it was overdone. this dish below par.
one friend said my manila clams was so much better.
the cereal crayfish this time was quite fresh so pretty ok
honey ribs non-descript.not badly done, just very ordinary zi char standard.
spicy steamed chicken feet was ok but not the good dimsum restaurant standard, both the sauce & the texture of the deep-fried chicken feet.
2-egg spinach was competent.not the standard of uncle leong though.
sambal kang kong was good if ordinary.
i had both the sea coconut & the lotus seed red beans, quite ok both.
we had a great time, lot of laughter & fun.
food was pretty good re the price = it was S$20.90pax after S$5 SC (senior citizen 55yrs) discounts. there is an additional S$2 for the tea+peanuts (you get charged anyway whethe you take or not).
here is what i meant by service being pleasant if untrained.
we asked for 2 pots of different tea. they said cannot & they will charge. we told them we had 10pax so 5pax take 1 tea & 5pax take another tea, why cannot leh?
after talking to manager we got 2 pots – pu er & jamine..of course they can actually refuse, but they let us have 2 pots. in my opinion the best trained service is one where you know something does not really matter, & the customers are not asking something unreasonable, and you can be flexible & give it to them to promote goodwill.
abalones with broccoli
33 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
cereal crayfish
42 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
deep-fried flower garoupa
40 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
drunken prawns
42 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
lotus seeds red beans
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
roast duck, roast pork, char siew, salt baked chicken
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
steamed seabass in sambal sauce
29 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
sea cucumber with yam
36 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
sharksfin
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
lala
28 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
spicy prawns
16 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
xo scallops with celery
19 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-12-16
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$27
等級4
333
3
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/11/27/great-value-alacarte-semi-buffet-beyond-expectations-tim-palace-safra-toa-payoh-on-24nov2015/went with my sis & b-i-l to tim palace @ SAFRA toa payoh to try out their ala carte semi-buffet on 24.11.2015.buffet is S$25.80pax. the added attraction is S$5 discounts for SC aka senior citizens! ^^there’s a S$2pax for water, tea & peanuts (S$2.50pax or more if other drinks). so it was S$22.80pax for 3 of us, S$27nett each.roast duck was
更多
See my full reviews & photos at = http://chefquak.com/2015/11/27/great-value-alacarte-semi-buffet-beyond-expectations-tim-palace-safra-toa-payoh-on-24nov2015/

went with my sis & b-i-l to tim palace @ SAFRA toa payoh to try out their ala carte semi-buffet on 24.11.2015.
buffet is S$25.80pax. the added attraction is S$5 discounts for SC aka senior citizens! ^^
there’s a S$2pax for water, tea & peanuts (S$2.50pax or more if other drinks). so it was S$22.80pax for 3 of us, S$27nett each.
roast duck was really, really good! very flavourful.
so was the char siu!. i think this one of the best char siu i had. as good as the excellent chargrilled pork neck at imperial treasure nanbei or (better in fact than) any other good char siu places.
had a second helping of roast duck. ^^
nothing much to say about the cold station. prawns was large, plump, fresh & sweet.
scallops & mussels all the frozen type, nothing worth taking.
the scallop tips (front) were quite nice. the prawn & squid salad were ok. sos so la!
the flower crabs were soft, mushy “nua nua”, the frozen type, not worth taking also. all these i took very little just to try.
salmon sashimi was ok. quite sweet. colour didn’t look that great.
i skipped the sushi.
i ordered most of the dishes that they allowed only one order.
small abalone with broccoli was good restaurant standard. no complaints.
sharksfin soup was better than most cheaper sharksfin soup, not very gluey & stock quite tasty.
sea cucumber with yam was decent competent dish.
the scallops & celery in xo sauce was pretty good.
crayfish was poor! meat has no taste. this dish (thumbs down)!
anyway no big deal, so we took it. the char siu pao were good!
i read that the deep-fried flower garoupa not so good, so we ordered the steamed seabass with sambal sauce.
seabass not such a great fish. but this preparation quite ok…so again a competent dish. maybe i will try the garoupa next time. don’t mind coming back again. the honey ribs were ordinary. as good as any zi char stall i suppose. not my favourite.cannot really criticise thsi dish, but the char siu was many times better than this.
surprisingly also the drunken prawns was very good. must be a very good quality shaoxing wine绍兴酒.
the braised lamb pot was competent dish, but no more.
lamb still retain the gamey taste, and not specially flavourful.
i would say it’s a robust dish like a beef stew, so unless the herbs & preparation is special (like say at majestic), it’s not a dish i am particularly fond of.
dessert station the usual fare, with fruits, custard puffs & red bean pan cake etc.i took the sea coconut…quite refreshing.
and a bit of the lotus seed red beans dessert. pretty ok.
the food quality & cooking were pretty ok, not that much different from (i would say better actually) say peach garden miramar’s ala carte buffet, and certainly better than the ala carte buffet at ban heng orchard central.
the outstanding dishes for me here were the roast duck, char siu(tops), drunken prawns, abalone.
the sea cucumber & scallops were pretty good.
braised lamb pot
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
abalone with broccoli
6 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
cold flower crab (bad)
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
crayfish cereal (bad)
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
drunken prawns
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
roast duck, roast pork, char siu
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
scallops & celery xo sauce
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
sea coconut & longans
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
sea cucumber with yam
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
sharksfin
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
steamed seabass sambal sauce
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-11-26
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$27
等級1
1
0
2013-12-28 1018 瀏覽
I ordered the following dimsum dishes: chicken feet, Carrot cake, Congee, Siew Mai and lastly Har Gao. Chicken feet is very soft and tender. Very unique taste. Carrot cake was very good well fried and real tasty. A good appetizer to start with. Congee was also delicious especially when the century egg taste doesn't make the whole congee galad! Siew Mai and Har Gao are my favorite two dishes and chicken feet! They use very nice and crunchy prawn. The three dishes that you must try here are chicke
更多
I ordered the following dimsum dishes: chicken feet, Carrot cake, Congee, Siew Mai and lastly Har Gao. Chicken feet is very soft and tender. Very unique taste. Carrot cake was very good well fried and real tasty. A good appetizer to start with. Congee was also delicious especially when the century egg taste doesn't make the whole congee galad! Siew Mai and Har Gao are my favorite two dishes and chicken feet! They use very nice and crunchy prawn. The three dishes that you must try here are chicken feet, har gao and siew mai.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • chicken feet
  • Carrot cake
  • Congee
  • Siew Mai and Har Gao
等級4
192
9
Was around the newly refurbished SAFRA Toa Payoh for a team bonding session and noticed the interesting ala carte buffet lunch menu offered by Tim Palace. The husband and I decided to give it a try as we found the price to be fairly reasonable ($24.80++ for weekdays and $26.80++ for weekends). For the reader’s info, SAFRA members are entitled to an additional 10% off the total bill The variety of dishes served is impressive - a total of 50 dishes ranging from appetizer, soup, mains and desser
更多
Was around the newly refurbished SAFRA Toa Payoh for a team bonding session and noticed the interesting ala carte buffet lunch menu offered by Tim Palace. The husband and I decided to give it a try as we found the price to be fairly reasonable ($24.80++ for weekdays and $26.80++ for weekends). For the reader’s info, SAFRA members are entitled to an additional 10% off the total bill
458 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


The variety of dishes served is impressive - a total of 50 dishes ranging from appetizer, soup, mains and desserts! However, do note that some dishes (the more high value ones) are limited to one serving only. Overall, the food quality is not bad considering the price and the portions are relatively small, giving you more tummy space to try out other dishes. Service wise, we feel that there are still rooms for improvement. Severs were not attentive (we had to gesture almost 3-4 times before they refill our pot of tea) and food was served out quite slowly (we even wanted to cancel our last order as they took almost 30 mins to serve our last dish which was Sambal Clams).

Must tries

1) Steamed Sea Base with Plum Sauce
The sea base is fresh and cooked to perfection, a hallmark of every good Chinese restaurant.
283 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


2) Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Crab Meat
Although it tasted pretty much like the typical Shark’s Fin Soup served in other restaurants, this is one, if not, the most high value item in the menu that everyone should order. The restaurant definitely did not cut corners on this as evident by the amount of ingredients used.
225 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3) Lamb Stew in Pot
The lamb stew was soft and tender without the usual gamey flavours of lamb meat. Simple dish of lamb meat, carrots and radish well prepared!
220 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
4) Pork Loin Orange Sauce
Similar in taste to Hainanese Pork Chop, this dish is appetizing and refreshing. T he pork is crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.
238 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Disappointments

1) Drunken Prawn in Herbal Soup
Was quite disappointed in the soup as I found it to have added too much MSG and lacking the natural sweetness of the prawns. However, the prawns are fresh and succulent. Just order this purely for the high value item - live prawns.
212 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

2) Braised Baby Abalone with Broccoli in Oyster Sauce
The abalone was really small and overcooked, resulting in a rather tough texture that was hard to swallow. Again, order this purely for the seemingly high value item – Abalone.
189 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
3) Beef Steak with Brown Sauce
We found to beef to be too salty for our liking and was tough and dry. And as the previous two dishes, order this purely because it is limited to one serving.
209 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
In all, this was a fairly decent meal that’s worth the money less the waiting time for food to be served.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-04-05
人均消費
$27 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Braised Shark’s Fin Soup with Crab Meat
  • Lamb Stew in Pot
  • Pork Loin Orange Sauce
  • Steamed Sea Base with Plum Sauce