39
18
8
等級4
171
2
2015-03-21 1011 瀏覽
If you are a fan of international cuisine, especially in buffet style, I doubt Todai will sound new to you. I have been to Todai before for lunch, and they serve a variety of food, such as Korean, Chinese, Japanese cuisines and such. Most importantly, if you a die-hard fan of seafood, Todai does not fail you either.This year, Todai is celebrating its 4th year birthday anniversary, and I am glad to be trying out some of the birthday treats gathered from several parts of the globe.We were first se
更多
116 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言

If you are a fan of international cuisine, especially in buffet style, I doubt Todai will sound new to you. I have been to Todai before for lunch, and they serve a variety of food, such as Korean, Chinese, Japanese cuisines and such. Most importantly, if you a die-hard fan of seafood, Todai does not fail you either.

This year, Todai is celebrating its 4th year birthday anniversary, and I am glad to be trying out some of the birthday treats gathered from several parts of the globe.

We were first served with two cold-platters, and mind you, one piece of each seafood is never enough. If you love oysters, Todai is supplying unlimited amount on every weekday dinner and all day weekend!

These are some of the birthday treats served in Todai, prepared specially for Todai's birthday anniversary.

Japchae, is a Korean birthday dish, which is made up of sweet potato noodles stir-fried in sesame oil with vegetables and meat. The noodles taste like Chinese's cellophane noodles. Perhaps with the sesame oil, the noodle is smooth and sweet to slurp into your mouth.

Another Korean birthday dish, Miyeokguk. It is actually a nutritious soup that consists of high iodine and calcium content. While this soup is traditionally meant for women whom have just given birth for recovery, it is now also a birthday dish, signifying the food and nutrition supplied by mothers during the pregnancy period.

One of the popular birthday dish among the Chinese, Shoutao, which in mandarin is written as 寿桃. These buns are shaped like peaches, symbolizing long life and good health.
Yi Mein, also another Chinese dish. Similar to the Korean's Japchae, it is also known as the longevity noodle, calling upon a long and prosperous life. Ever remembering listening to hearsay that you need to slurp in the entire piece of noodle without breaking it?

A birthday dish from Ghana, Africa, Oto. Made of hard-boiled eggs, mashed potato and palm oil. Oto is a dish that is supposed to be used mashed yam instead of mashed potato, but Todai's trial and errors found mashed potato suits Asian's taste more, thus the substitute.
Jollof Rice from Nigeria. The mixture of coconut oil, fresh red chili pepper and aromatic spices, Jollof Rice authentically emit the flavour of African. I love the stickiness of the rice, just like the Chinese rice dumplings, and fresh prawns to go with the already-delicious rice.
I am sure this cake has been known to most foodies, and of course a kid's eye-catching dish. 4-Layer Birthday Cake from Russia. A birthday is not a norm to go without a cake or sort. Vibrant layers of colour that got my fork slicing for more despite the cream.
Todai is not just treating diners with their spread of birthday treats, but also celebrating it more with diners sharing the same birthday month! For the March babies, just get an isntant photo taken at Todai and you will receive a complimentary birthday cake (24 hours advance reservation)! Isn't that wonderful? If its not enough, Todai is also giving away a total of 5 passes which entitles you to enjoy unlimited buffet dining for 30 days consecutively! Of course, a minimum spend of $200 is required before you can take part in this incredible lucky draw.

Fret not if you not one of the March babies or lucky winners. 10% off the bill if you are a UOB or Maybank Card Holder, and a free parking ticket with a minimum spending of $250 with UOB card.

For more details, please visit http://www.foodesteem.com/2015/03/todai-restaurant-singapore.html
126 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
108 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
107 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
96 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
107 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
82 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
87 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
After tasting most all the dishes, I realized that our favourites come from the Korean Section. The grilled pork and beef were cooked to the right degree with well-controlled seasoning. For full review and pics, visit www.dairycream.blogspot.comWhat piqued my interest was this Acorn Jelly,a gelatinous square that tasted like seaweed with the special korean chilli dressing. There is also a delicious variety of bancai (side dishes) to go along with the steamed rice. In case you are not sure where
更多
After tasting most all the dishes, I realized that our favourites come from the Korean Section. The grilled pork and beef were cooked to the right degree with well-controlled seasoning. For full review and pics, visit www.dairycream.blogspot.com

What piqued my interest was this Acorn Jelly,a gelatinous square that tasted like seaweed with the special korean chilli dressing. There is also a delicious variety of bancai (side dishes) to go along with the steamed rice. In case you are not sure where to start from, head to the Korean section if "quality" is the thing you pursue instead of "quantity".

In conjunction with their 4th anniversary in Singapore, Todai presents an array of birthday dishes from mainly China, Korea Russia. I was surprised that Longevity Bun and Yi Mien Noodles are served instead of mian xian (vermicelli) and red eggs because the former are usually eaten to celebrate the birthdays of elderly people. It might be good to bring the pioneer generation here to try the promotion.
70 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
63 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
72 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
90 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-03-11
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$65 (晚餐)
等級4
Full Todai review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/03/todai-4th-anniversary-tasting-session.htmlSince my 1st original visit to Todai in July 2013, I've returned several times to 'The Mother Of All Seafood Buffets' (SGD $68++ per person for their buffet dinner). Love their modern ambience, attentive service, and large variety of food, especially their fresh seafood, tasty Korean dishes, and delicious desserts.In conjunction with the launch of their theme for March 2015, 'Birthday
更多
Full Todai review here: http://ivanteh-runningman.blogspot.sg/2015/03/todai-4th-anniversary-tasting-session.html

Since my 1st original visit to Todai in July 2013, I've returned several times to 'The Mother Of All Seafood Buffets' (SGD $68++ per person for their buffet dinner). Love their modern ambience, attentive service, and large variety of food, especially their fresh seafood, tasty Korean dishes, and delicious desserts.
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
King Crab & Oysters
75 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
Selection Of Sashimi
66 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
In conjunction with the launch of their theme for March 2015, 'Birthday Dishes From Around The World at Todai', they've has put together 7 dishes commonly eaten during a birthday celebration, drawing inspiration from China, Korea, Russia, Nigeria, and Ghana.

The Russian 4-Layer Birthday Cake at Todai is designed to resemble a Rainbow Cake, with the 4 distinct layers coloured a pretty red, green, yellow, and blue. Not too traditional in presentation, as the classic Russian 4-Layer Birthday Cake isn't so brightly coloured. But the cake is light, moist, and fluffy in texture, with a slightly sweet, vanilla flavour. The cream is rather thick, but it's still pretty good as a dessert!
Russian 4-Layer Birthday Cake
61 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Chinese Shoutao / Shou Tao at Todai have that sweet, smooth lotus seed paste within the soft, pliable Longevity Peach Steamed Bun. While they've coloured it to a bright pink hue, the shape of the bun itself only loosely resembles a peach, looking more like a pyramid shape, and could do with a little more moulding. A decent attempt, neither terrible nor outstanding.
Chinese Shoutao / Shou Tao
66 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Nigerian Jollof Rice / Benachin at Todai has that classic deep orange colour, and the long grain rice has soaked up the tomato sauce base well, so each mouthful is a sweet, tangy taste of tomatoes. Almost like a cross between tomato rice, biryani, and paella! Texture of the rice is borders al-dente firm and soft, but at least the grains separate easily. The addition of okra / lady's fingers is an unconventional touch that differs this version from the traditional version.
Nigerian Jollof Rice / Benachin
78 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
The Korean Japchae / Stir Fried Sweet Potato Glass Noodles at Todai is among the best dishes available here. A combination of complimenting textures, the slippery, long noodles, silky mushrooms, crunchy cabbage and carrots, seasoning of fragrant soy sauce, garlic, shredded egg, sugar, and sesame seeds. So good I kept going back for more!
Korean Japchae / Stir Fried Sweet Potato Glass Noodles
58 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
The Ghanaian Oto at Todai differs the greatest from its traditional, classic version. The chefs here have replaced the mashed yam / taro with mashed potatoes instead. Also, as traditional Ghanaian Oto has the least ingredients as compared to the other birthday dishes, it tends to lag behind in taste, so Todai has enhanced the flavour through the use of additional garnishings.
Ghanaian Oto
48 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
While the 7 birthday dishes are largely well executed, I would have also loved to see more such birthday dishes from around the world, such as the Sudananese Karkady, the Indian Doodh Pak, the Australian Fairy Bread, the Norwegian Blotkake, the Dutch Slagroomtaart, the Brazilian Beijinho, or the Argentine Chocotorta... maybe Todai could introduce these for their 5th Anniversary!

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-03-11
等候時間
1 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$70 (晚餐)
推介美食
Russian 4-Layer Birthday Cake
Nigerian Jollof Rice / Benachin
Korean Japchae / Stir Fried Sweet Potato Glass Noodles
King Crab & Oysters
Selection Of Sashimi
等級4
Tonight's visit was focused on the special birthday dishes from around the world, in conjunction to Todai's 4th birthday this March. Let us take a look at the exotic and interesting dishes with meanings herein. Full review available at: http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2015/03/media-invite-dinner-at-todai.htmlXiu Tao (steamed buns shaped like peaches are said to attract long life and good health, hence also known as "longevity peach". Soft buns with an attractive exterior and a sweet lotus paste
更多
Tonight's visit was focused on the special birthday dishes from around the world, in conjunction to Todai's 4th birthday this March. Let us take a look at the exotic and interesting dishes with meanings herein. Full review available at: http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2015/03/media-invite-dinner-at-todai.html
Xiu Tao
39 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Xiu Tao (steamed buns shaped like peaches are said to attract long life and good health, hence also known as "longevity peach". Soft buns with an attractive exterior and a sweet lotus paste interior.
Yi Mein
35 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Yi Mein (also known as "Ee Mian" is consumed on birthdays to call upon a long and prosperous life. Not very distinctive in texture, this dish has a good flavor with the infusion of prawns. 
Japchae
34 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Japchae is a sweet potato noodles stir-fried in sesame oil with vegetables and meat,
created in the 17th century to satisfy the Korean King's palate. The texture and taste of this noodle dish reminds me of the Chinese glass noodles  "dongfen" or "Tanghoon", except sweeter.
Miyeokguk
38 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Miyeokguk is a soup made from wakame (seaweed), traditionally consumed by women after birth; also eaten on birthdays as a reminder of the food and nutrition from mothers, bringing good fortune for the rest of the years. It is a very tasty concoction.
Oto
41 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Oto is a sacred dish made from hard-boiled eggs, mashed yam and palm oil (yam is replaced by potato in this case, for a better flavor) - symbolising purity and fruitfulness. Buttery soft texture well complemented by the crunch of pine nuts.
Jollof Rice
93 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Jollof Rice is a popular dish in many parts of West Africa, mixture of coconut oil, fresh red
chili pepper and aromatic spices. The texture reminds one of paella while the spicy overtures is closer to bryani's, except a lot more saccharine.
4-layered birthday cake
53 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Light and sweet 4-layer birthday cake from Russia next, bearing an uncanny resemblance to rainbow cake in texture and flavor, right down the the clotted cream layered within.
Alaskan King Crab
73 瀏覽
5 讚好
0 留言
Lastly, the juicy and luscious Alaskan King Crab - something that everyone must eat.

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-03-11
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$68 (晚餐)
推介美食
Xiu Tao
Miyeokguk
Oto
Jollof Rice
4-layered birthday cake
Alaskan King Crab
  • 4-layer Birthday Cake
  • Miyeoguk
  • Seafood
  • Sashimi
等級4
462
1
2014-12-28 372 瀏覽
The amount of variety of food ranging from appetizer, seafood, western to desserts is alot! As usual, i always target the seafood first and i went to the seafood section. There were a plate of Oyster and all of them are so fresh and took some small slices of lemon too! The oyster is big, juicy and tasty after eating the lemon juice onto it! It is super good and i like the Western section where they serve Thin and crispy handmade pizza. I like the fact that the pizza crust is thin and the ingredi
更多
The amount of variety of food ranging from appetizer, seafood, western to desserts is alot! As usual, i always target the seafood first and i went to the seafood section. There were a plate of Oyster and all of them are so fresh and took some small slices of lemon too! The oyster is big, juicy and tasty after eating the lemon juice onto it! It is super good and i like the Western section where they serve Thin and crispy handmade pizza. I like the fact that the pizza crust is thin and the ingredidents of the Cheese and Pineapple is generous on the Hawaiian Pizza. However i do not really like the Cheese mussel, it tasted average because its quite dry.
37 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
40 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-12-13
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-07-04 1195 瀏覽
I have always wanted to try Todai as it is well known as the “Mother of all Seafoods”. Finally has the chance to visit the restaurant as we bought a deal S$38.00nett for lunch buffet on weekdays. We made prior reservation before heading to the restaurant to avoid any disappointment. The restaurant is very spacious and huge compared to other buffet restaurants that I visited. Each section has their individual open concept kitchen where the chefs perform their tasks. All chefs are busy preparing f
更多
I have always wanted to try Todai as it is well known as the “Mother of all Seafoods”. Finally has the chance to visit the restaurant as we bought a deal S$38.00nett for lunch buffet on weekdays. We made prior reservation before heading to the restaurant to avoid any disappointment.
The restaurant is very spacious and huge compared to other buffet restaurants that I visited. Each section has their individual open concept kitchen where the chefs perform their tasks. All chefs are busy preparing for the foods and the display are nicely filled with beautiful decorated foods. Basically, chefs are doing their job on individual sections to ensure the turnover of foods servings.
Since it is a lunch buffet, fresh oysters are not served. But snowcrabs are served for lunch though. Salmon sashimi is available as well. There is a chef at the counter slicing the sashimi live to meet the customers’ demand.
I personally enjoyed the salads section.There are quite a various selections for salads and are nicely presented on the display. It is something different from the usual buffets. Different kind of dressings are mixed with the ingredients. This tempts me to try all of it. Unlike most of the restaurants, salads bar does not have choices like these.

Live Italian pasta is available in request. Diners can request for the available choices of pasta of the day for chef to prepare on the spot. Foods are always taste better when it is served hot. Korean section is available with some of the korean specialty foods at the section. Churrasco section has the well- grilled meats that are nicely grilled and juicy taste.Desserts section is not to miss with its variety of desserts available on the counter. Crème brulee and different flavors of mini slices of cakes are available. The portion of the cakes is just perfect for buffet session. This can reduce the food wastage and diners able to taste a bit of everything.
The restaurant has an excellent culinary standard as the chefs delicately prepared the foods and did the art plating as well. Service staffs were prompt with their services. Plates are cleared away after I am back from my next serving. I will definitely visit to try the dinner session next round.
80 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
85 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
86 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
144 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
63 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
68 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
56 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2014-06-19
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$38 (午餐)
用餐優惠
其他
等級1
2
0
2014-04-28 1042 瀏覽
I visited Todai restaurant 2 months ago for my dinner and was very angry with the staff that i called in to check out whether they serve chilli crabs on weekday n they said yes. But when i reached there, they told me another story saying that they only provide on weekend (i visited on Fri). Although they serve snow crab or so call King crab leg which is cold with little meat. The fish was not fresh too, I told myself that i will never visit Todai anymore.
更多

I visited Todai restaurant 2 months ago for my dinner and was very angry with the staff that i called in to check out whether they serve chilli crabs on weekday n they said yes. But when i reached there, they told me another story saying that they only provide on weekend (i visited on Fri). Although they serve snow crab or so call King crab leg which is cold with little meat. The fish was not fresh too, I told myself that i will never visit Todai anymore.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$60 (晚餐)
等級4
2014-03-31 1004 瀏覽
This buffet restaurant is a must have buffet if you happen to pass by this shopping mall.  It has one of the widest buffet spread that sure will be able to impress you, which have already impressed me.The service staffs are mostly friendly and fast in clearing the tables.  Restaurant dining environment is definitely nice and cosy, with very trendy designs that will never go outdated. Even though my friends have all gone crazy with the unlimited snow crabs on the buffet spread, I personally prefe
更多
This buffet restaurant is a must have buffet if you happen to pass by this shopping mall.  It has one of the widest buffet spread that sure will be able to impress you, which have already impressed me.

The service staffs are mostly friendly and fast in clearing the tables.  Restaurant dining environment is definitely nice and cosy, with very trendy designs that will never go outdated.

Even though my friends have all gone crazy with the unlimited snow crabs on the buffet spread, I personally prefer the abalone soup and the assorted cakes more.  Abalone soup as you can see, is really generous as one who big piece of it can be found inside the soup. Is chewy and fresh, and the soup base is really sweet as well.

As for the cakes, I very much like the butter swiss rolls and the dark chocolate mini cakes.  Butter flavour is strong and the cake texture is very soft and not too sweet.  Chocolate is flavourful and with the slight bitterness in it as well.  Yummy!
Restaurant layout
116 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Abalone soup
124 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Assorted cakes and puffs
118 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等候時間
10 分鐘 (堂食)
推介美食
Abalone soup
Assorted cakes and puffs
等級4
2014-03-01 875 瀏覽
ve been meaning to try Todai for two years literally, having heard good reviews about its international seafood buffet spread. Finally, today I managed to go with two close friendsNot called the "Mother of all Seafood Buffets" for nothing - Todai is an upscale 'all you can eat' buffet concept with quality food of different cuisine and freshest quality, plus creative, fusion desserts. It also offers an ambience that is comfortable, relaxing and non-pretentious. The variety is good as well, and I
更多
ve been meaning to try Todai for two years literally, having heard good reviews about its international seafood buffet spread. Finally, today I managed to go with two close friends

Not called the "Mother of all Seafood Buffets" for nothing - Todai is an upscale 'all you can eat' buffet concept with quality food of different cuisine and freshest quality, plus creative, fusion desserts. It also offers an ambience that is comfortable, relaxing and non-pretentious. The variety is good as well, and I like the neatness and how they categorize all different sections clearly, for instance "Seafood", "Pastries", "Italian", "Korean", "Deep Fried", "Chinese" and "Oven Baked" etc.

We did not know where to start, really, as everything looked tempting. The service crew were friendly and efficient - very quick to clear unwanted plates in an unintrusive manner, and also very quick to get us things that we wanted, such as serviettes.

I started with very fresh and tender, slender pieces of Salmon Sashimi and Tuna Sashimi, baby squid (boiled so they were very soft), green mussels and scallops. All the shelled items were finely-textured and cooked to soft perfection with tinges of chewiness.

The next indulgence was Escargots - lots and lots of the chewy, "ashy" escargots cooked with mushrooms in a delicious cream sauce.

In the upper photo, there are also some Shisamos (pregnant fish), grilled to perfection and filled with the bursting, sandy goodness of the roe - though Celine* commented it was somewhat cruel to eat a pregnant fish and hence she abstained from it. It made sense to me too, as tasty as it was - so I probably would not be eating this dish again.

The Korean Pancake (savoury version - with flour and green beans chopped into fine dices) was rather nice - lightly flavored and easy on the tongue.

For more detailed information and photos, do drop by:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/02/dinner-at-todai-marina-bay-sands.html
154 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
144 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
158 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
149 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$58 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Seafood
  • Sashimi
  • Desserts
等級1
4
0
2014-02-12 683 瀏覽
As we all know, most of the international buffet provides prawns. However, Todai do not serve prawns. On the contrary, if you're crazy over crabs. You certainly should visit Todai. They serve fresh and juicy crabs.Todai has a pretty bad customer service. The staff are not knowledgeable about what the buffet serves. The worst of all was, they did not inform customers that despite making reservations they'll have to queue upon arrival.Variety of the food is not as much as those that I've gone befo
更多
As we all know, most of the international buffet provides prawns. However, Todai do not serve prawns. On the contrary, if you're crazy over crabs. You certainly should visit Todai. They serve fresh and juicy crabs.

Todai has a pretty bad customer service. The staff are not knowledgeable about what the buffet serves. The worst of all was, they did not inform customers that despite making reservations they'll have to queue upon arrival.

Variety of the food is not as much as those that I've gone before. Personally, I would still prefer The Line from Shangri La. It's more worth it for almost the same pricing.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-12-24
人均消費
$80 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
聖誕節
推介美食
  • Crabs
等級3
41
0
The king crab legs are piled in a stash in the centre circle of their buffet spread. Very welcoming to me. (I love seafood and especially CRABS!!)Okay, so I took one and went back to my table. They provide those crab scissors and it is available just next to the crabby station. How convenient The meat is so juicy and fresh!! sweet seafood I want to go back again for there is a variety of meats and other seafood selections too.
更多
158 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The king crab legs are piled in a stash in the centre circle of their buffet spread. Very welcoming to me. (I love seafood and especially CRABS!!)

Okay, so I took one and went back to my table. They provide those crab scissors and it is available just next to the crabby station. How convenient
The meat is so juicy and fresh!! sweet seafood


I want to go back again for there is a variety of meats and other seafood selections too.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
推介美食
  • King Crab Legs
等級3
90
1
2013-12-10 413 瀏覽
I can’t believe I took so long to blog about Todai even though I’ve been here like four times. The first time was when the husband decided to try out his first ever eating challenge at the Todai Spicy Sushi Roll Competition. He won the challenge and received free dining vouchers. The 2nd time, we had to come back before the vouchers expired. The 3rd time? We brought the parents here to celebrate the new year because I couldn’t think of another buffet place that could satisfy their fussy taste bu
更多
I can’t believe I took so long to blog about Todai even though I’ve been here like four times. The first time was when the husband decided to try out his first ever eating challenge at the Todai Spicy Sushi Roll Competition. He won the challenge and received free dining vouchers. The 2nd time, we had to come back before the vouchers expired. The 3rd time? We brought the parents here to celebrate the new year because I couldn’t think of another buffet place that could satisfy their fussy taste buds. And my most recent visit? It was the parents’ request as they really enjoyed the buffet the previous time.

If you ask the parents or husband to name their favourite buffet restaurant, I’m very sure they will (unanimously) say it’s Todai. And it is one of the rare occasions that I’m not quite with them. Don’t get me wrong. I do enjoy dining at Todai and the variety of the buffet never fails to impress me but….let’s read on to find out more.
161 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Nestled in one end of The Shoppes at Basement 2 of the Marina Bay Sands, Todai Singapore is a spacious 400-seater restaurant with a 87m long buffet line which apparently is also the longest buffet in Singapore.

“Todai” means “Light House” in Japanese. From where we are seated in the Western Zone with a maritime/nautical theme, we can see the keel of a ship on the ceiling with blue wavy light effects to signify we are ‘under the sea’ which is cleverly designed since Todai specialises in fresh seafood.

A paper place mat on the table shows you a self-explanatory map of the restaurant with the locations of the various food counters – Seafood, Sashimi, Korean, Chinese Hot Food, Western Hot Food, Oven Hot Food, Grill, Fry, Salad & Cold Appetisers, Sushi, Noodle, Churrasco, Dim Sum, Soup, Pizza, Pasta, Desserts and Beverages.

I do like the structure of the buffet line as it’s grouped into different sections that requires some walking between one another. I think it’s a plus point to have a large space so you don’t have to ‘rub elbows’ with other diners. And it is a good form of exercise (for digestion) as you scan through the buffet – extremely important when you have had too much to eat!
282 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Needless to say, the seafood section is the most popular counter that most people swarm to and the good thing is, replenishing of food is very quick so the buffet line never appears to be too empty. Thumbs up.

The counter boasts of an impressive bed of fresh, chilled seafood like snow crab legs, shrimps, half shell scallops, green mussels, blue mussels, clams, baby octopus and freshly shucked oysters. All beautifully presented with labels so you know what you’re taking. While the available variety and presentation are remarkable, taste wise, they are either so briny or bland that they don’t deserve a second helping. Pity.

It’s my first time seeing such a huge spread of freshly pressed sushi. Most of the times, I only see one tray with a small assortment of standard nigiri so for sushi lovers, you’d have to check out the sushi section because they are quite tasty. I do like the few saucy ones. I normally skip rice in buffets but I just couldn’t resist the unique flavours and mouthwatering sights of some.
152 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Just tell the sashimi chef what you’d like and he’d slice them up for you on the spot. The cuts of the sashimi aren’t great, in fact a few pieces have chewy veins in them. Also, it is quite obvious they haven’t been thawed properly as some parts still taste icy cold so it’s definitely not of premium air-flown standard.
151 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The cold appetisers and hot food sections compensated for the mediocre seafood. There is a great use of seafood in the various appetisers but because most of them have flavoursome dressings and seasonings, they manage to mask the lacklustre taste of the shrimps, squids and/or mussels. I enjoy the refreshing seafood salad, terrine, smoked salmon, caprese salad and assorted cold cuts.

The first dish that goes the fastest is the chilli crayfish. We just happen to sit near the hot food section so we are able to land a few servings of the crayfish when the chef brought it out, fresh from the wok. The crayfish is meaty and cooked to perfection so the flesh tastes just right, neither too soft nor chewy. The sauce is exactly the same as the chilli crab sauce that we are familiar with. It has the right amount of spice in it and is not too starchy.

The next must-try which I had seconds and thirds is the beef short ribs. Very well marinated and nicely grilled with a smoky flavour to it. It’s like the perfect thing to go with beer!

I ordered the laksa from the noodles counter which is made to order but the seemingly diluted gravy lacks punch and is too coconut-milky for my liking. Adding extra chilli doesn’t help either.

There is also abalone porridge but I don’t see where the abalone is. It is just bland, not worth any stomach space.

The Chinese dishes are surprisingly above average. Some notable ones would be the Braised Sea Cucumber with Mushrooms & Broccoli, Prime Ribs, Abalone Mushrooms which are of a good restaurant standard.

To continue reading, please visit http://springtomorrow.com/2013/11/26/todai-international-cuisine-seafood-sushi-buffet-restaurant-marina-bay-sands/
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
484
3
2013-11-30 328 瀏覽
My friend and I have always wanted to try Todai at Marina Bay Sands and so here we are to try their lunch buffet! The restaurant is huge and there is an extensive range of food! The sushi and sashimi section is practically one long lane of the buffet counter and there are various types like the salmon, tuna, ebi, inari, crab stick, tamago, ika, california maki, spicy california and etc. of which I can't remember as there were many fanciful ones. The seafood section consist of the crabs, scallop
更多
102 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
My friend and I have always wanted to try Todai at Marina Bay Sands and so here we are to try their lunch buffet! The restaurant is huge and there is an extensive range of food! The sushi and sashimi section is practically one long lane of the buffet counter and there are various types like the salmon, tuna, ebi, inari, crab stick, tamago, ika, california maki, spicy california and etc. of which I can't remember as there were many fanciful ones. The seafood section consist of the crabs, scallops, clams, mussels, octopus etc. There is also a Chinese, Italian, Korean section and even a grill station! The list just goes on and it is just impossible to cover all the food! The dessert section is crazy! All of them looked so appetizing and it is hard not to try everything! I didn't take much of the food pictures though but I definitely want to try their dinner buffet someday ^^
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-11-28
人均消費
$60 (午餐)
推介美食
  • Sushi
  • Sashimi
  • Salmon
  • Mussels
  • Clams
  • Scallops
  • Crabs
等級4
2013-11-20 231 瀏覽
Particular for big eater and buffet lover, you should never neglect Todai located friendly at Marina Bay Sands. Proud of its seafood selection, it promoted healthy living and finest quality culinary. Take your time to dine here, it was a cozy place to relax.Indeed, there was much other different type of cuisines that I don’t know where to start. I took a look at this pretty prime Crab Claw, I could not resist to get it on my plate. Recently, I switched my favourite food channel to Crab, just fou
更多
Particular for big eater and buffet lover, you should never neglect Todai located friendly at Marina Bay Sands. Proud of its seafood selection, it promoted healthy living and finest quality culinary. Take your time to dine here, it was a cozy place to relax.
138 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Indeed, there was much other different type of cuisines that I don’t know where to start. I took a look at this pretty prime Crab Claw, I could not resist to get it on my plate. Recently, I switched my favourite food channel to Crab, just found it very appetizing. Very juicy flesh and nice spicy gravy, it was fantastic ever.
122 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Simply take simply delicious, the food I picked so far was yummy no matter Japanese, Chinese or Western style. Even the humble fried rice and homely mixed veggies, Snow Crab was another legend with cutting scissor provided. My meal ended happily with excellent dessert, intense yet well-delicate light touch of it. Check out the latest promotion before going as it released different promotion every month. Dinner for weekdays would be $58++ for adult weekends was $68++ which refers to Friday until Sunday included public holidays.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-09-27
人均消費
$75 (晚餐)
推介美食
  • Snow Crab
  • Sashimi
  • Grilled Pork Belly
  • Lamb Rack
等級4
167
0
2013-10-28 151 瀏覽
I visited Viziti Korea on 27 Oct. Todai is the invited Cuisine stall in this event. Instead of paying $30 and above for a buffet, here I could enjoy a $5 per side dish at this place. I ordered the Lian Gao, the Korean New Year Rice Cake and a piece of fried dumpling. The Lian Gao is of the right size, the soup is hot and spicy with green chilli and onion. I love the dumpling. It is crispy. I ordered the chicken stick. The chicken is juicy. I also had a spring roll. I thought it was veg
更多
106 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
83 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
78 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
74 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I visited Viziti Korea on 27 Oct. Todai is the invited Cuisine stall in this event. Instead of paying $30 and above for a buffet, here I could enjoy a $5 per side dish at this place. I ordered the Lian Gao, the Korean New Year Rice Cake and a piece of fried dumpling. The Lian Gao is of the right size, the soup is hot and spicy with green chilli and onion. I love the dumpling. It is crispy.

I ordered the chicken stick. The chicken is juicy. I also had a spring roll. I thought it was vegetable roll but it is seaweed roll. It the seaweed has strong smell of sea. it is extra ordinary different.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-10-27
人均消費
$5 (下午茶)
推介美食
  • Dumpling