17
3
0
等級2
8
1
凌晨到埗,風塵僕僕地到親友家睡了一小覺後算是回復了精神,也沒有多少時差的問題午飯後輕鬆周圍行一行,叫做初步認識一下新加坡的街道市貌後又到晚餐時間剛好當日興之所至,一行人來到Carlton酒店內的Wah Lok 華樂酒家難得可以嚐嚐四星酒店的中菜,若非大堆人聚會,我們大概在掃道地街頭小食了先有木耳醋青瓜作爽口清新的開胃小食,另外亦附上了其他後用的調味佐料席間基本上是大家見面寒暄一下,作一個聆聽者,因為太久沒有見面,其後才比較多話題前菜小食有脆皮燒肉,層層薄脂瘦肉相疊,不至乾韌柴口切成一口大小,鹹度適中,亦見香潤,不需多沾醬汁也足夠另一道是水潤多汁的涼拌車厘茄,酸甜開胃,爆汁一刻尤其清爽之後竟見我十分喜歡的北京片皮鴨,不過上菜方式及用料與多年來嚐到的顯然不同首先店方以粉紅蝦片墊起薄脆鴨皮,確保即使鴨油滲出也不會軟化皮層,同時為蝦片提香相配的青瓜、蔥段及醬汁沒有太大落差,只是餅皮就似春卷片,正方形,薄而滑身不太習慣餅皮的味道及質感,但是鴨皮的脆香確是頗討喜的後有菜乾湯,味濃甜而不油膩,叫做暖一暖胃都不錯同一環節趁機點了酸梅湯,因聽聞新加坡少見涼茶,就怕之後數天不能與廿四味相見先下手為強,酸酸
更多
凌晨到埗,風塵僕僕地到親友家睡了一小覺後算是回復了精神,也沒有多少時差的問題

午飯後輕鬆周圍行一行,叫做初步認識一下新加坡的街道市貌後又到晚餐時間

剛好當日興之所至,一行人來到Carlton酒店內的Wah Lok 華樂酒家
難得可以嚐嚐四星酒店的中菜,若非大堆人聚會,我們大概在掃道地街頭小食了
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
先有木耳醋青瓜作爽口清新的開胃小食,另外亦附上了其他後用的調味佐料
席間基本上是大家見面寒暄一下,作一個聆聽者,因為太久沒有見面,其後才比較多話題
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
前菜小食有脆皮燒肉,層層薄脂瘦肉相疊,不至乾韌柴口
切成一口大小,鹹度適中,亦見香潤,不需多沾醬汁也足夠

另一道是水潤多汁的涼拌車厘茄,酸甜開胃,爆汁一刻尤其清爽
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
之後竟見我十分喜歡的北京片皮鴨,不過上菜方式及用料與多年來嚐到的顯然不同
首先店方以粉紅蝦片墊起薄脆鴨皮,確保即使鴨油滲出也不會軟化皮層,同時為蝦片提香

相配的青瓜、蔥段及醬汁沒有太大落差,只是餅皮就似春卷片,正方形,薄而滑身

不太習慣餅皮的味道及質感,但是鴨皮的脆香確是頗討喜的
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
後有菜乾湯,味濃甜而不油膩,叫做暖一暖胃都不錯
同一環節趁機點了酸梅湯,因聽聞新加坡少見涼茶,就怕之後數天不能與廿四味相見
先下手為強,酸酸甜甜夠開胃去膩,應比涼茶溫和,亦可以消消暑
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
這時候,竟見鮑魚登場,滿滿的鮑汁以微透的晶亮光感襯托主角
鮑魚肉彈不韌,自身本味沒有被稠濃鮑汁蓋過,也不怕膩滯

以菜葉作底相搭,來一點青意清新,食時心裏罪惡感低一點
4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
再來蒸魚及燒雞等中式宴會常見菜式,個人是頗喜歡燒雞皮薄脂少無膩感
蔬菜纖維亦有顧及,補足不甩漏,在後段時候奉桌,烹調方式簡單,去膩不錯
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
其實早前鮑魚一戰還剩下了鮑汁,頓時叫了白飯相伴,食落依然夠香口
只要輕拌一拌,不要讓其浸泡過久至濕爛,那就是傳說中的鮑汁撈飯

其實同場還有肉絲乾燒伊麵,常見的酒樓菜,作為最後的澱粉質,乾爽不油,但味道稍淡
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
甜品方面選擇意外地不少,云云之中選擇了桂花糕拼美人腰
桂花糕分兩層,上層清爽富花香,下層為香芒布甸,卻來得不協調

美人腰外脆內鬆化酥綿,中間有甜得溫和的吉士餡,小小一件不至甜膩,反而恰到好處

整體而言是中規中矩的一頓飯,或者是我們沒有點到表現最為出色的菜式吧?

Wah Lok 華樂酒家
+65 6311 8188/ +65 6311 8189

Level 2, 76 Bras Basah Rd, Carlton Hotel, Singapore 189558

星期一至六 1130-1430 1830-2230 日及公眾假期 11-1430 1830-2230
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐時段
晚餐
等級4
167
0
2015-05-20 281 瀏覽
For pictures and full review, pls visit:http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/20/wah-lok-dim-sum/I’ve heard many positive reviews on Wah Lok’s dim sum and finally had the time to check it out. This is my first time at Carlton Hotel and I was impressed by the spacious lobby, featuring an eye-catching chandelier made out of blown glass.The grand entrance of the restaurant. I noticed numerous awards are display on the right; this upped my anticipation. Wah Lok’s decor is sophisticated, with Oriental archi
更多
For pictures and full review, pls visit:
http://madamechewy.com/2015/05/20/wah-lok-dim-sum/
I’ve heard many positive reviews on Wah Lok’s dim sum and finally had the time to check it out. This is my first time at Carlton Hotel and I was impressed by the spacious lobby, featuring an eye-catching chandelier made out of blown glass.
The grand entrance of the restaurant. I noticed numerous awards are display on the right; this upped my anticipation. Wah Lok’s decor is sophisticated, with Oriental architecture features and motifs. Tables are spaced comfortably apart. Service is brisk and helpful.
Unlike most restaurants that offer their dim sum in portions of 3, Wah Lok accommodated our request for 4 portions. No need to cut (and at the same time ruin) the dim sum for sharing. Fantastic!
No comments about the dish indicates I find it passable. I’ll elaborate further on the notable items, and also those I find lacklustre.
Wah Lok has a fixed soup of the day from Mondays to Saturdays. On Sundays, it varies. On this particular Sunday, it was Shark’s Fin Melon Soup ($7.50), aka 鱼翅瓜 soup. Don’t worry, no sharks were used to prepare this. The main ingredient is a type of melon, which got its name from its resemblance to shark’s fin. The texture of the melon is beautiful- juicy and soft noodle-like strands. Slurping up the melon and fortifying soup was a joy!
The Roasted Pork ($12) had enticing crackling skin, but the flesh itself was a tad dry and not as melt-in-the-mouth as expected.
Large Steamed Prawn Dumplings ($6.80/4 pcs) came with shimmery translucent skin which held the fresh, crunchy prawns very well. The Steamed Pork Dumplings ($6/4 pcs) was another well-executed classic. Nice bouncy texture with great flavours from the fresh pork and mushroom.
Century Egg with Pork Congee ($6.80) and Pig Liver Congee ($6.80). Portions were small for the price.
Deep fried Beancurd Skin Rolls with Shrimps($9.20) and Deep Fried Prawn Dumplings ($6/4 pcs) were delightfully crispy and not at all oily.
Steamed Carrot Cake ($4)
Steamed BBQ Pork Buns ($4.80/ 3 pcs)
The Steamed Custard and Egg Yolk Buns ($4.80) were having a bad day; they failed to flow. The custard was too sweet as well, overshadowing the salted egg yolk flavour.
Deep Fried Crabmeat and Scallop Balls with Chilli Sauce ($10). What a convenient and fuss-free way to enjoy chilli crab, made even better with succulent scallops. The gravy is truly highlight here- addictively spicy and tasty.
The Baked Mini Egg Tarts ($6/4 pcs) could do with a more flaky and buttery pastry.
We rounded off the excellent lunch with appealing desserts- Cold Aloe Vera with Lemongrass ($6) and Chilled Green Apple Jelly with Chrysanthemum ($6).
While prices may be a bit steep for Wah Lok, the quality, execution, ambiance and service makes it worthwhile.
 
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2015-04-25
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$38 (午餐)
等級4
2014-10-06 537 瀏覽
Dropped by my favourite dim sum place, Wah Lok, with my friends one weekday afternoon for a leisurely lunch. Suckling Pig ComboWe had the suckling pig and BBQ pork combination and it honestly wasn't a very good start to our meal. The BBQ pork sported a beautiful sheen but lacked bite whilst the suckling pig had a nice crisp skin to it but came across as overwhelmingly oily. Steamed Pork DumplingThe 烧卖 had a rather low fat to meat ratio thus didn't come across as too overwhelming. Pretty good.Dee
更多

Dropped by my favourite dim sum place, Wah Lok, with my friends one weekday afternoon for a leisurely lunch.
14 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Suckling Pig Combo

We had the suckling pig and BBQ pork combination and it honestly wasn't a very good start to our meal. The BBQ pork sported a beautiful sheen but lacked bite whilst the suckling pig had a nice crisp skin to it but came across as overwhelmingly oily.
11 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Pork Dumpling

The 烧卖 had a rather low fat to meat ratio thus didn't come across as too overwhelming. Pretty good.
10 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Deep Fried Beancurd Skin Roll

A crisp but a wee bit too oily exterior packed with crunchy prawns. Best eaten hot!
26 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Custard Buns

Now this wasn't quite impressive. The flowing custard lacked the saltiness and texture of egg yolk. It was just plain sweet honestly.
11 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Prawn Dumplings

Fresh tasting, crunchy prawns all bundled up in a thin, semi translucent skin. What's not to like?
13 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Crabmeat Dumpling

This tasted rather similar to the steamed prawn dumplings except that it was filled with crab paste instead of prawns and wrapped up in a mildly stretchable, semi translucent skin. Pretty decent.
9 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed BBQ Pork Cheong Fun

Another dim sum staple, the BBQ pork cheong fun boasted silky smooth skin with generous servings of BBQ pork within, all sitting in a pool of light soya sauce. Nice!
8 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Carrot Cake

The steamed carrot cake honestly didn't look like much but it came across as smooth, moist and encrusted with savoury dried shrimps. Simple yet nice!
22 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Baked BBQ Pork Bun

One of the signature dishes of Wah Lok, the baked BBQ pork bun ranks a close third behind that of Tim Ho Wan and Lung King Heen (top of my chart) in my humble opinion. Sporting a darker than usual colour probably due to a slight overbaking, the bun had a nice crusty top with mildly viscous, semi sweet pork filling encased in soft dough.
15 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Abalone & Chicken Pie

Exhibiting a nice sheen on the crust, the abalone and chicken pie was wonderfully buttery with generous bits of moist chicken and abalone cocooned within. It was so good that we had 2 servings!
19 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Baked Mini Egg Tarts

Quivery, not too sweet custard center on a flaky tart base. Pretty good but the tart could do with a little more butter in my humble opinion.
21 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Baked Custard Pastries

One of my must order dishes whenever I visit Wah Lok, the baked custard pasty (美人腰) was as good as my previous visit. "Lithe" and flaky with a smooth and sweetly satisfying custard filling.
23 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言
Homemade Soya Beancurd

To round up our largely excellent lunch, I had the homemade soya beancurd with gingko nut and chestnut. Though smooth, it honestly wasn't my cup of tea due to the amount of gelatin in it. I personally prefer the silky smooth, soft type. I did like the crunchiness from the chestnuts though.
73 瀏覽
3 讚好
0 留言
Bill

The 3 of us racked up a bill of over $150 for a pretty satisfying meal, in terms of quality and quantity. Wah Lok has been very consistent over the years and I look forward to returning soon!

Final Verdict:

Ambience: 7/10

Service: 7/10

Food: 7.5/10

Value for money: 7/10

Overall: 7.125/10

Address: 2nd floor, Carlton Hotel

Contact: 63118188/9

Opening Hours:

Lunch 11:30 am - 2.30 pm (Mon - Sat); 11 am - 2:30 pm (Sun & PH)

Dinner 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Website: http://www.carlton.com.sg/dining_wah.htm

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
2014-04-21 465 瀏覽
For full review, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/04/sg-wah-lok-cantonese-restaurant.htmlWah Lok at Carlton Hotel is a familiar name for most food connoisseurs given its sterling track record and list of accolades to its name. Consistently ranked by Singapore Tatler Magazine within the list of "Singapore's Best Restaurants" and Wine & Dine for "Singapore's Top Restaurants", can it continue to impress its fine diners after all these years?While most restaurants offer t
更多
For full review, please visit us at http://www.makeyourcaloriescount.com/2014/04/sg-wah-lok-cantonese-restaurant.html

Wah Lok at Carlton Hotel is a familiar name for most food connoisseurs given its sterling track record and list of accolades to its name. Consistently ranked by Singapore Tatler Magazine within the list of "Singapore's Best Restaurants" and Wine & Dine for "Singapore's Top Restaurants", can it continue to impress its fine diners after all these years?
While most restaurants offer their dim sum in portions of three, Wah Lok was able to prepare four portions for each of the dim sum dishes. Personally, I felt that was nice gesture especially if you are playing host to business associates or simply a lunch gathering with a few friends.
Baked barbecued pork polo bun (polo char siew bao) | S$6++/4pcs
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
On hindsight, this was one of my favourite dim sum dishes at Wah Lok. If you are a fan of baked char siew buns and polo buns, be sure to give this a shot. The crust of the polo bun was a beautiful crisp layer which complemented the overlying soft and fluffy bun. A subtle hint of sweetness stood out from the fragrant diced char siew, leaving us to crave for the next bite.

Baked barbecued pork pastry (char siew sou) | S$8++/4pcs
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The true test to a dim sum chef lies in perfecting the classic dishes such as this or more commonly known as char siew sou. Beautifully baked with a coat of golden brown, the flaky pastry crumbled upon the first bite and the aroma of the char siew took centerstage almost immediately. Surely a must-try in my personal opinion.

Steamed prawn dumpling (har gao) | S$6.80/4pcs
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
We enjoyed the juiciness and burst of freshness wrapped within the thin layer of dumpling skin. What I also liked was that subtle hint of natural sweetness that lingered. This was one of those classics done right that would instantly bring a smile to your face.

Steamed pork dumpling (siew mai) | S$6++/4pcs
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
All that needs to be done with the siew mai is to pop it into your mouth and enjoy the succulence of the pork dumpling coming through in a palatable manner. Like the har gao, there was a hint of natural sweetness from the fresh minced pork and reminiscing the flavours while writing was enough to make me salivate once more!
Carrot cake (stir-fried style) | S$8/++
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

When the dish was served, it was not quite what I had in mind but the large chunks of finely-grated radish made it one a palatable dish. Stir-fried and tossed with crunchy bean sprouts and fried shallots, we enjoyed the complementing layers of texture when tasted together with the soft and moist radish.
Barbecued combination of char siew and roast duck (siew mei) | S$22/++
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Quite frankly, this was one of the few lacklustre dishes on the table. While the barbecued and honey-glazed char siew was prepared in a truly Cantonese fashion, I felt that it was too lean for me and as such failed to shine. The roast duck on the other hand tasted pedestrian as I would have preferred the skin to have a nice crisp while the meat to remain tender and moist. On this occasion, I felt that the duck breast was slightly too stiff for my liking.
Baked mini egg tarts | S$6++/4pcs
14 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
Always on the hunt for the best egg tart in Singapore, I felt that this certainly made it to our "must-try" list as the flaky pastry was almost melt-in-your-mouth while the fragrant egg custard sitting in the middle carried a desired level of sweetness to please.
Steamed custard bun | S$6.40/4pcs
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Leaving the best to the last, the steamed custard bun is almost a dessert itself with a rich and creamy filling. Like most of the other dishes, the sweetness that cut across my palate was comforting with its mildness. While I enjoyed the fluff of the bun, the layer was too thick for my liking.
Despite the focus on dim sum, we also had a plate of greens, stir-fried kailan with garlic (S$16/++) which was cooked perfectly, allowing the kailan to retain succulence and crunch. Ending off on a sweet note, we had the herbal jelly (S$9/++) and cream of pomelo & mango (SS6/++) to share and both desserts hit the right notes to a sumptuous dim sum lunch.

We enjoyed the ambience at Wah Lok as it reminded me fondly of a few classic Chinese restaurants such as Fook Lam Moon or Luk Yu Tea House in Hong Kong. Hearing the service crew converse in Cantonese always gave that extra homely feeling and with the quality classic dim sum dishes served, it is a place which makes customers return.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
308
0
2014-03-06 313 瀏覽
First impression wasn't too good when i first arrived at the reception area! The staff was shouting to the customer on the phone. It was a "oh my god" moment. Waited a while and was usher in to our table. We ordered the usual items to try first. I can't recall every items but based on the available photos i took, i try my best ok =)Po Lo Bun - Lovely skin texture for the buns and the char siew filling is nice and moist! Pretty well executed for this dish. Char Siew Sou - I always love the flaky
更多
55 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
First impression wasn't too good when i first arrived at the reception area! The staff was shouting to the customer on the phone. It was a "oh my god" moment. Waited a while and was usher in to our table.

We ordered the usual items to try first. I can't recall every items but based on the available photos i took, i try my best ok =)

Po Lo Bun - Lovely skin texture for the buns and the char siew filling is nice and moist! Pretty well executed for this dish.

Char Siew Sou - I always love the flaky crisp texture of the skin + the char siew filling. The ones here didn't disappoint.

Carrot Cake with XO Sauce - This one i remembered it was decent but i didn't eat much cause was busy chatting when it arrived on my table.

Mini Egg Tart - This is nice! And being mini size, it's so easy to eat =)

Custard Bun - Judging from my pictures, i don't have to give any caption or description at all. Haha! Just look at the oozing goodness coming from the bun.

Chicken Feet - This is always a must order dish for dim sum! I like it enough to order a second serving.

Zha Leong - Fried dough stick wrapped with chee cheong fan. Not everywhere has this but seems to be gradually getting more popular. I find this ok, no wow factor though.

Overall, dim sum is rather good. Taste wise may be slightly on the saltier side! Price is of cause on the higher side too. Personally i thought service can be improve cause they seems to be rushing around and also not much smiles on their face. Maybe i'm not atas enough so not keen to entertain me. Haha
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2014-01-14 200 瀏覽
Decided to catch up with a couple of my ex colleagues over dim sum one Saturday afternoon @ Wah Lok. Reservations are recommended, especially for weekend dim sum as the place can be very popular and tables extend out towards the walkway leading up to the main dining areas of the restaurant.Steamed Carrot Cake -The carrot cake wasn't as smooth as I remembered it to be but I liked the bits of dried prawns atop which gave it flavour. Century Egg & Pork Porridge - Now, the porridge was rather disapp
更多
Decided to catch up with a couple of my ex colleagues over dim sum one Saturday afternoon @ Wah Lok.

Reservations are recommended, especially for weekend dim sum as the place can be very popular and tables extend out towards the walkway leading up to the main dining areas of the restaurant.

Steamed Carrot Cake -The carrot cake wasn't as smooth as I remembered it to be but I liked the bits of dried prawns atop which gave it flavour.

Century Egg & Pork Porridge - Now, the porridge was rather disappointing. Stodgy and rather bland with bits of pork and century egg. No wonder there was leftovers.

Steamed Crab Meat Dumplings - This was pretty decent with the skin translucently thin and chock full of crab meat paste. But to be honest, it tasted pretty similar to the steamed prawn dumplings so I'm not too sure if its worth the slight price premium.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Steamed Scallop Cheong Fun -Silky smooth cheong fun coupled with sizeable bits of scallops, what's not to like? Well, more scallops would always be welcomed.

Deep Fried Prawn Dumpling - The deep friend prawn dumplings came a nice crisp shell that didn't carry the residual oil taste. Add the fact that the prawns were crunchy made it all the better, especially with a dollop of mayonnaise.

Steamed Beef Balls - I personally didn't quite take to the beef balls even though I'm a fan of beef. It lacked that beefy punch (bland!) and the texture was rather soft. But on the upside, I did like the addition of water chestnuts for that extra crunch.

Meat Platter -Our meat platter consisted of roasted pork, BBQ pork and roasted duck. The roasted pork skin was crispy to a fault and evenly salted with an excellent fat to meat ratio whilst the BBQ pork sported a nice sheen over rather lean meat that didn't come across as too sweet. On the other hand, the roasted duck was a tad dry but compensated a little with its crisp skin.

Steamed Prawn Dumpling - The ubiquitous dim sum dish; har gao (虾饺). Translucent skin with a wee bit of elasticity enveloping a chunk of crunchy prawn. What's not to like?

Steamed Custard Bun - With a semi sweet molten center and nuances of saltiness all wrapped up in a reasonably delicate bun, the steamed custard bun was a nice sweet treat after all the preceding savoury ones.

BBQ Pork Bun - One of Wah Lok's signature dishes and one of my personal favourites as well, the BBQ pork bun sported a crusty sweet top with delectable morsels of BBQ pork cocooned in a soft and warm bun. Very good!

Baked Custard Pastry - Another one of my favourite dishes, the 美人腰 was obviously over baked this time round, as evident by the burnt nuts. But the pastry was still flaky and the custard filling, smooth and sweetly satisfying.

Dim sum for the 4 of us cost about $125, which isn't too expensive for the quality that Wah Lok offers. It is heartening to note that Wah Lok has managed to maintain its consistency even as competition heats up and traditional rivals (ie. Royal China) have fallen by the wayside.

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2014/01/wah-lok-part-iv.html
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
153
5
2013-10-06 151 瀏覽
for photos and more reviews, visit http://thelittlemomentsofmylife.blogspot.com/ ohmygosh. this must be one of the most decadent chinese lunches i've ever eaten!! hahaha. i felt like i was eating some sort of wedding dinner-esque kind of lunch. no need for introductions here. it is WAH LOK CANTONESE RESTAURANT in carlton hotel. okay fine, i should probably introduce it a little since they were so nice to us (: (: wah lok is one of the pioneers to introduce authentic cantonese cuisine into singap
更多
for photos and more reviews, visit http://thelittlemomentsofmylife.blogspot
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
.com/


ohmygosh. this must be one of the most decadent chinese lunches i've ever eaten!! hahaha. i felt like i was eating some sort of wedding dinner-esque kind of lunch. no need for introductions here. it is WAH LOK CANTONESE RESTAURANT in carlton hotel. okay fine, i should probably introduce it a little since they were so nice to us (: (: wah lok is one of the pioneers to introduce authentic cantonese cuisine into singapore! the plush opulent interior can be likened to stepping into one of those grand chinese palace dining rooms. we felt like royalty! the restaurant is famous for its cantonese dim sum and quintessential, authentic cantonese cuisine.

we started off with the bo lo bao, which is one of my favourite dim sum dishes. the bun was soft and fluffy with a thin delicately sweet crusty top which broke easily when we bit into it. the charsiew inside was simply delicious, very soft, with just the right amount of fat and lovely sauce, such that it melted in the mouth.

the next dish, braised shark's fin wrapped with egg white dumpling in superior soup was probably the most interesting sharks fin dish i've ever tasted! for the first time, the shark's fin wasn't found inside the soup itself! the soup was a heartwarming thick chicken broth that was fragrant and tasty. the shark's fin was encased in the thin egg white dumpling, and mind you, it was a very generous amount of shark's fin!

the baked cod fish wrapped in banana leaf with chef's sauce is one of the best fish i've ever eaten!!!!
save for the fact that it had a ton of bones in it (i would have definitely preferred a fillet), the fish was delicious. it had a slightly smoky flavour from the baking, and the sauce seemed kinda caramelized, which added a lovely taste to the fish, which was really soft and perfectly done (:

the braised homemade beancurd with vegetables was a very simple and homely dish which i loved. i tried it in another restaurant (which i didn't review...argh! kill me xP) and it was equally lovely (:

the fried rice with diced preserved meat was so fragrant, that once it arrived at my seat, the flavour just wooshed into my olfactory senses! haha i'm trying to sound cheem, but i think i just failed. anywayyy, it tasted as good as it smelled. every mouthful of rice was full of the lovely aroma and flavour. it was just delicious!

we ended off the meal with the baked custard pastry and osmanthus cake. i liked the crusty pastry with the smooth custard inside. and the osmanthus cake had a really interesting flowery flavour that ended off meal perfectly with on a lightly sweet note (:

JUST AWESOME.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
129
6
2013-06-21 113 瀏覽
It was my first time trying at Wah Lok. Located at Carlton hotel, I about them having some awardss but have not really had the opportunity to try their Dim Sums. Heard that their carrot cakes are unique different from other places. It definitely is, it came in a bowl. I ordered quite a number of dishes including other dishes such as Liu Sha Bao (Salted Egg Custard Bun). Char siew pork bun, Siew mai (Pork Shrimp Dumpling), Ha gao (Shrimp Dumpling), Pork Ribs, Egg Tarts, Chee Cheong Fun (Rice Noo
更多
28 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
21 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
25 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
31 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
It was my first time trying at Wah Lok. Located at Carlton hotel, I about them having some awardss but have not really had the opportunity to try their Dim Sums. Heard that their carrot cakes are unique different from other places. It definitely is, it came in a bowl. I ordered quite a number of dishes including other dishes such as Liu Sha Bao (Salted Egg Custard Bun). Char siew pork bun, Siew mai (Pork Shrimp Dumpling), Ha gao (Shrimp Dumpling), Pork Ribs, Egg Tarts, Chee Cheong Fun (Rice Noodle Roll), Crispy Skin Roll and some other Dim Sums. My favourite among the rest will be Char Siew pork bun. It wasn’t the typical Char Siew Pork Bun but the Polo Bun kind stuffed with Char Siew. Another favourite will be the Chee Cheong Fun. The skin thickness is just right and not too thick. Generally the Dim Sums here are delicious and fresh. It actually quite affordable though if you order for sharing. I’m certain that if you visit, you will enjoy it as much as I do.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$20 (午餐)
等級4
Before I start my review, I would like to commend a short-hair female staff named Siew Chin, for her excellent service and impeccable attention to the table. It was rare chance to be served by such a warm and lively lady who always carried a smile on her face and everyone was impressed with the service even though we did not feedback to the management. For full review : http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/01/wah-lok-at-carlton.htmlWe were there to have a family dinner and tried some alacarte dis
更多
Before I start my review, I would like to commend a short-hair female staff named Siew Chin, for her excellent service and impeccable attention to the table. It was rare chance to be served by such a warm and lively lady who always carried a smile on her face and everyone was impressed with the service even though we did not feedback to the management.

For full review : http://dairycream.blogspot.sg/2013/01/wah-lok-at-carlton.html

We were there to have a family dinner and tried some alacarte dishes. I am not a keen fan of expensive ingredients and thus I cannot comment on the taste of some food but those who had them enjoyed the delicacies.
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Mee Sua with Crab in Huatiao Stock ($12) was originally with Mee Sua with Lobster($22) but with opted for crabs since they were cheaper and the stock base remains the same.
This was surprisingly simple but flavorful and mildly sweet. It was highly recommended by the staff and now by me because it is a nice change from the usual Yi Mian or fried noodles/rice.
27 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Braised Tofu with Spinach and Sea Cucumber( $12 Per portion)
It was quite hard to find fault with this dish but nothing spectacular. Ignore the sea cucumber and you can quite easily cooked them or have them at local zi-chars. It chanced upon us that many Chinese dishes included oyster sauce. Seems like the Western brown sauce has found its long lost twin in China.
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
The signature XO sauce Cod Fish in Banana leaves ($12) was overrated. The small portion of cod sat on sliced mushrooms surrounded by the healthy fish oil. But the banana leaf did not seemed to fuse with the fish and neither was the xo sauce strongly distinguishable.
33 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This deep fried golden brown Durian Tempura is an irresistible sinful must have for durian fans

In short, the quality of Wah Lok's ala carte dishes truly lives up to its numerous awards and good reviews(even though most are for dim sum). However, what makes this place different from other Chinese restaurant here is the top-notched service by the service staff. It was not just simply our table that was lucky to be served extremely well but we notice how the staff attended to the needs of others and asked their opinions of the food. With such dedicated service, how can one not return for its dim sum?

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2013-01-18
人均消費
$120 (晚餐)
等級3
97
0
2012-04-11 85 瀏覽
Wah Lok restaurant has been around in the Orchard areas for a very long time already. Many regulars, especially the older generations would often patrol this restaurant for a high-tea session as they are quite popular for their Cantonese dim sums. Have tried some of the Chinese dishes during my grand father birthday celebration there. Love their stir fried vegetables with prawns. The prawns are fresh and crunchy and are not over cooked. The vegetables are not too oily and crunchy. Portion
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Wah Lok restaurant has been around in the Orchard areas for a very long time already. Many regulars, especially the older generations would often patrol this restaurant for a high-tea session as they are quite popular for their Cantonese dim sums. Have tried some of the Chinese dishes during my grand father birthday celebration there. Love their stir fried vegetables with prawns. The prawns are fresh and crunchy and are not over cooked. The vegetables are not too oily and crunchy. Portion of their foods are quite alright. Do note the air-conditioner there is quite cool, so do put on more sweaters during your visit.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-03-23
人均消費
$50 (午餐)
等級4
2012-04-09 70 瀏覽
Wah Lok Chinese restaurant has been popular for their Cantonese crusines for a very long period of time already. Happen to go for a friend's wedding dinner at this restaurant and get to try their popular dishes. However the dishes here was not really that generous in portion and the hot dishes was not really serve hot upon arrival on the table. Service here is quite slow and not that attentive. The environment is quite normal with some traditional chinese decoration on the wall. Overall was
更多
24 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Wah Lok Chinese restaurant has been popular for their Cantonese crusines for a very long period of time already. Happen to go for a friend's wedding dinner at this restaurant and get to try their popular dishes. However the dishes here was not really that generous in portion and the hot dishes was not really serve hot upon arrival on the table. Service here is quite slow and not that attentive. The environment is quite normal with some traditional chinese decoration on the wall. Overall was alright but would really hope that they can try to improve their food standard soon.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2012-03-23
人均消費
$50 (晚餐)
等級4
685
8
2012-03-15 50 瀏覽
This is a hong kong restaurant.I most like hong kong diam sum,because it is really nice.This egg tart is very nice..!the skin is more like many layers,not like the one sell in the bakery.It is very soft and the egg smell is strong.So when bite on it,it melt easily in mouth,and it is really tasty.This fried carrot cake is also nice.The carrot cake is very soft and it is quite chewy and wil not stuck in my teeth.The saltiness is just right and it is not very oily too.I like the skin of this dumpli
更多
This is a hong kong restaurant.
I most like hong kong diam sum,because it is really nice.
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This egg tart is very nice..!the skin is more like many layers,not like the one sell in the bakery.
It is very soft and the egg smell is strong.
So when bite on it,it melt easily in mouth,and it is really tasty.
19 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This fried carrot cake is also nice.The carrot cake is very soft and it is quite chewy and wil not stuck in my teeth.
The saltiness is just right and it is not very oily too.
17 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I like the skin of this dumpling,chewy and soft.
I like the freshness of the prawn too.It is really nice.
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
This chee cheong fun is very full of ingredient.
The soft and smooth skin covered with the nice ingredient.
So when i put one piece in my mouth,my mouth full with the fragrance of the chee cheong fun.It is nice..!!!
20 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
After the meal,must eat with the nice dessert.
Those dessert is really nice.
This make my day brighter..!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2011-10-06 29 瀏覽
A certain maniacal yearning for dim sum saw me at Wah Lok on a busy Saturday morning, in an attempt to kill off the tiny voice in my head that screamed "dim sum" over and over again.Carrot Cake - Best eaten piping hot, the carrot cake was smooth with bits of pork and shrimp, but not sublime enough with the gravy being a tad too salty. A decent eat nonetheless.BBQ Chee Cheong Fun - Silky semi translucent skin hiding a generous serving of BBQ pork and topped with chives, which gave it a nice contr
更多
A certain maniacal yearning for dim sum saw me at Wah Lok on a busy Saturday morning, in an attempt to kill off the tiny voice in my head that screamed "dim sum" over and over again.

Carrot Cake - Best eaten piping hot, the carrot cake was smooth with bits of pork and shrimp, but not sublime enough with the gravy being a tad too salty. A decent eat nonetheless.

BBQ Chee Cheong Fun - Silky semi translucent skin hiding a generous serving of BBQ pork and topped with chives, which gave it a nice contrast and helped cut through the nausea. Nice but best eaten warm/hot as well, lest the skin turns limp when cold.

Century Egg Porridge - I'm not a big fan of century egg so I shall reserve my comments save for the fact that the porridge was nicely textured with bits of grain evident.

Pork Dumpling - The siew mai hit the right notes with its low proportion of fatty meat as well as a generous serving of relatively fresh and crunchy prawns. Not too salty as well.

Prawn Dumpling - Another quintessential dim sum staple, the har gao had nice crunchy prawns enveloped in a thin, not too elastic skin.

BBQ Pork Bun - Wah Lok purportedly serves up one of the best BBQ Pork Bun aka Bo Lo Bao (波萝包) in Singapore and its easy to see why. A crusty semi sweet top coupled with a nice, almost oozing BBQ pork filling that wasn't cloyingly sweet - No complaints, really.

BBQ Pork Pastry - I thought that the char siew sou lacked the buttery goodness in its pastry, something which I personally prefer. But still a notch above most places with its flakiness and not too sweet BBQ pork filling that had nice chewy bits of fat.

Egg Tart - Flaky pastry with a nice, moderately sweet custard center. Came in a nice bite size as well. Only thing lacking was the butter, in my humble opinion.

Custard Pastry - The 美人腰 (pretty lady's waist) ended our dim sum session on a positive note with its flaky pastry coated with tons of icing sugar, belying a warm, smooth and mildly sweet custard filling within.

A satisfying dim sum lunch cost the both of us about $58, which is very reasonable considering the quality. Wah Lok has managed to maintain its consistency over the years and I am sure I'll be returning for many dim sum trips to come.

See all my pictures at http://www.timelessfacade.com/2010/06/wah-lok-part-iii.html
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
等級4
2011-10-04 16 瀏覽
Wah Lok Cantonese Restaurant for lunch with family Their baked cod fish which is wrapped in banana leaf is easily the best dish I had that night! the fish was delicious. The chef sauce on the fish made it even nicer as it is very flavourful. it also had a slightly smoky flavour, and this definitely added a lovely taste to the fish! Yummy! We also bought their egg tarts! Very nicely done!
更多
Wah Lok Cantonese Restaurant for lunch with family
Their baked cod fish which is wrapped in banana leaf is easily the best dish I had that night!
the fish was delicious. The chef sauce on the fish made it even nicer as it is very flavourful. it also had a slightly smoky flavour, and this definitely added a lovely taste to the fish! Yummy! We also bought their egg tarts! Very nicely done!
15 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
人均消費
$37
等級4
2011-08-18 11 瀏覽
this is my second visit to wah lok. it was for a family gathering. the food is really good, suits the elderly palettes. their stir fry meats and duck was the highlight of the day. it was so nice then even my grandparents sang their praises.
更多
this is my second visit to wah lok. it was for a family gathering. the food is really good, suits the elderly palettes. their stir fry meats and duck was the highlight of the day. it was so nice then even my grandparents sang their praises.
14 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食