OpenRice Index
  
Buffy
Member 5 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended13 Recommended
Popularity120 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos6 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant51 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲20 Follower(s)
Buffy  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date   Editor's Choice  Smile Cry  Cry Cry  Overall Score  
Display:  AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 Recommended Reviews in Singapore
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Exceptional good dinner Smile May 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Seafood

Me and my wife went there for our anniversary dinner.    It was very hidden inside the Robinson store and I was later told this is the intention.  

First came the cornbread, it was freshly made every day, with two kinds of cheese inside.  The cheese flavor was not strong, just a very subtle fragrance.
First, we tried half dozen oyster platter, they were surprisingly good, crispy and briny, almost comparable to French oysters like fine de claire or belon.

We then ordered ribeye, crab cake, and a side kale salad.  The manager is so thoughtful to share both ribeye and crab cake on one plate each for us.  The crab cake may be the best I have tasted in my life.  The ribeye is good, but not the best as it is not as tender as I expected.  Kale salad is also good, with a little bit taste of mint, not too oily and not too saucy.

Last we had grandma's apple pie as our dessert.  Again, it is good - the pastry was soft, never oily.  

We received a surprise chocolate cake from the manager, he also spent a long time to explain the food and history of this restaurant.  

Definitely worth recommending, and will surely come back again to try other dishes.

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Corn  bread, Oyster  platter, Ribeye  and  cake, Crab cake
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 16, 2019 

Celebration:  紀念日 

Spending per head: Approximately $180(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Very delicious shrimp soup Smile Jun 07, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Fusion | Restaurant | Ramen

As I mentioned in my other reviews, I am slowly switching from another F&B group to this Paradise group as I found their food is much better.  I didn't know they have shrimp noodle, and I find this 'innovative' as each country has its own special noodle soup base (Japan - Shoyu, Miso, Tonkotsu; Taiwan is beef) and then for shrimp - it is mostly from China Canton (for wanton noodle) and Malay/Singapore (the prawn mee).
Well, also I am not one amateur foodie but mostly respecting Japanese food philosophy which one restaurant should only limit their menu to a few of their expertise items.  
Le Shrimp Ramen focuses on shrimp soup noodle, and I must say, their soup is warranted with the signature.  In general, I will classify them as Taiwanese restaurant since they service like fried chicken steak rice, marinated tofu etc. (But Taiwanese noodle do not have shrimp soup though).  Also, a lot of the items are imported from Taiwan (e.g. soy bean milk, fruit vinegar).  
All the food, in general, is good, and in specific the shrimp soup is a must-try.
Last on service, nothing wrong, good, polite, but when I was ordering I told the waitress to give me only one glass with ice and the other without.  She just still gave me two glasses with ice.  This was actually very common in Singapore that waiter/waitress politely nodded to you but just ignoring your message 1 minute later.  

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 25, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant

I am a very picky Japanese food lover.  I admire the Japanese devoted way of cooking, and only serving one and only one cuisine, not sushi, tongatsu, ramen all over the places but just one type, their competent type.  I like this devotion, and it gives me confidence.
Tempura was claimed to be the most difficult cuisine in Japan.   Tenjin only have a few selections, but the quality of the ingredients, and the price value of the menu are so good that this is simply the best I've tried in Singapore.  Highly recommended.  
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Good for taste and value Smile Aug 17, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Restaurant | Noodles

I felt there is not much choice of food in Marina Link, since I am more a hot food, Asian food guy.  Also food here are generally expensive.One Bowl Man is one of my normal choices because first, the price is very reasonable, and the quality is good.
At the Pork section - the pork is Japanese style Char Siew, with soya sauce and some dried onion, the taste is very good.
Even the noodle are good.
At the rice section - I like the kimchi rice and pork.  The tofu is a bit tasteless and dried.  
Overall, this is a very good choice in term of value of food.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 07, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
Buffy
13 Review(s)
Level 2
Good but not exceptional OK May 27, 2019   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

First, the name itself is strange - it is Si Chuan, but it serves both Cantonese and Si Chuan food, which to me are two completely different menus that can hardly combine.  

We ordered:
Mala Dou Hua - just okay, the Dou Hua is not particularly smooth. 
"Dung Bo" braised pork belly - again just okay.  The pork is soft, however, the complaint is the sauce is not sweet enough.  BTW, I am not a sweet person, but this Pork must be sweet enough to make the taste good.   The key of good Dung Bo Pork Belly lies on the sauce.  And that why this dish is not good here.
Crispy rice bubble with seafood - the seafood is not abundant enough.  Surprise that the taste is a bit sour - it is absolutely okay but strange that there is a bit of tomato inside.  I think they can simply make this sour by using a good mix of vinegar.
Stir-fried scallop with asparagus and macadamia nuts.  This is again okay, but perhaps the best dish in the dinner.
Cabbage in thick stock - unfortunately, I am not a fish soup person and yet, this 'thick' soup is too strong in the fish taste that it becomes very fishy.  
Beef rice in claypot with truffle sauce.  This is a signature dish with the picture shown in many place - menu, website.  But this is actually the biggest disappointment of the night - it can never be classified as good at all if I cannot call this bad.  First, the whole point of mixing and pouring the truffle sauce in front of us is to let us see how hot the claypot is, and the claypot can make a kind of fried rice effect.  However, the claypot is definitely not hot enough.  There is no any steam, sound.  Imagine enough a Korean Bimbimbap will have a better effect than this.  Moreover, the beef is not attractive.  So this last dish brings a huge discount to the dining experience.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 26, 2019 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend