OpenRice Index
  
Diner
This is Diner .
Member 76 First(s)
No. of Review230 Review(s)
編輯推介數目4 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2883 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos428 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews21 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant18 My Restaurant(s)
Follow79 Following
粉絲118 Follower(s)
Diner  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 230 Reviews in Singapore
Busy Ramen Outlet OK Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

It is easy to locate the newest Menya outlet : it is just next to the link bridge from JEM to Westgate. A more pleasant and spacious environment than the nearest other Menya outlet at Star Vista two MRT stations away. Fully aircon, tables reasonably spaced apart, tablets at every table for easy DIY ordering and friendly prompt service from the crew of Filipino and Malaysian staff.

I had the tsukumen ramen $14.90++ while my diningcompanion had the chashu tonkotsu ramen $13.90++. Menya allows diners to upsize their ramen up to 5x free of charge but requests for extra soup is billable. The basic 120gm portion of ramen sufficed for us. The soup was heavy and robust and a tad too greasy for our liking. The original/white soup was hearty and flavourful. Best as a soup base for the ramen but too runny as a gravy or dip for the tsukumen ramen. The black garlic soup was concentrated and reeked heavily of garlic - not for the faint hearted. We did not try the red or spicy soup. Each serving of ramen is served with a ling strip of marbled chashu, half of the tiniest lava egg we had seen in Sg and sliced bamboo shoots. Tsukumen ramen was ok but not impressive. Tonkotsu ramen fared better - it had additional topping of shredded black fungus and a strip of deep fried beancurd skin to dip into and soak up the soup. Pity the beancurd skin was not freshly fried and was soggy of being crispy
Tsukumen ramen

Tsukumen ramen

 
Tonkotsu ramen

Tonkotsu ramen

 
.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tonkotsu Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Dec 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Breakfast at Nom's Smile Jul 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian

 
Nom's Cafe is a good place to refuel as the place is always airy, bright and clean without the crowds at other food courts. It is a small cafe occupying two shop units but the open concept layout makes it look spacious. The all day breakfast set $3.60 which comes with a mug (yes not the miserable tiny disposable cup you get at Ya Kun) of coffee or tea is fair value. The toast was thin and crispy and smothered with butter and kaya (on the sweet side) while the soft boiled eggs were perfect. Thumbs up!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good food, good price Smile Jul 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Kids-Friendly

Kungfu Paradise, a HK style cafe, seems an unlikely place to have western food but trust me, you wont be disappointed. Since KFP scrapped their service charge and absorbed the GST this year, customers pay the prices displayed on the menu. For the western food prices are only $1 - $2 more than what you pay at food courts but your food is served to you at the table and the quality is much better.

The fish and chips, chicken cutlet (deep fried) and chicken chop (panfried), at $9.90 nett for each dish, are all very good I decided to enjoy the best of both world with the chicken and fish combo $11.90 (see photo). A juicy chicken steak served with black pepper sauce, a crispy white fish fritter served with tartar sauce, green salad with a zesty dressing and a cup of french fries made for a very satisfying dinner, leaving no room for dessert.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 25, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Happy Hour! Smile Jul 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Coffee

 
The baristas at this Starbucks outlet are always warm and friendly without bordering on being overfamiliar and too fake, so it is a happyplace to destress. More so on weekday afternoons this week as there is a one for one promotion on the limited edition summer drinks - Dark Mocha White Chocolate Pudding Frappucino (DMCP) $8.90 for Venti or large size and the Green Tea White Chocolate Pudding Frappucino (GTCP) $8.60 for Venti size. Without the 1for1 promo the price is a tad steep so this week is a good time to indulge and take advantage of the primotion. Most peoplke think so too and we had to queue for our drinks.

The DMCP Frappucino is a chocolate lover's dream come true with aromatic coffee, rich cocoa and lots of choc chips and java chips. However the white chocolate pudding does not complement or enhance the flavour of the drink. 3/5 for taste.

The GTCP Frappucino is a delightful and refreshing drink - concentrated matcha blended with ice, creamy nilk, fragrant vanilla. I like how the silky smooth and soft white chocolate pudding, which has a consistency resembling the famous tau huay from Old Airport Hawker Centre's Lao Ban Stall, glides down my throat. The pudding and green tea are a perfect pairing. 5/5 for taste. With 1for1 promition 4/5 for price.

 
Date of Visit: Jul 24, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New Menu Items Smile Jul 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Seafood | Halal | Kids-Friendly

 

 
MFM has introduced a fair selection of appetizers and pastas to their new menu. We picked the Caesar Salad $10.95++ and the Chipotle Fish Skewers $6.95++. The Caesar Salad had an irresistably moreish topping of crispy whitebait and tiny croutons, the former a welcome replacement for the usual bacon bits. The romaine leaves had been yossed prior to being served and were a little short of dressing so the salad was a wee bit too dry. The Chipotle Fish Skewers was a light mral in itself. Served with a big portion of coleslae the skewers were drizzled with a smokey, spicy, slightly tangy brown sauce. Pity the fish had been overcooked so the texture of the fish resembled chicken and would have been too dry without the sauce.

 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0