OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 542 First(s)
No. of Review1728 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity11994 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11203 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant565 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1967 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 1728 Reviews in Singapore
Wanton Noodles Cry Sep 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Hawker Centre | Noodles

Pontian Wanton Noodles Stall is almost seen everywhere in the hawkers or food court nowadays. Pontian Wanton Noodles has build her reputation base on its springy and non soggy noodles even after being kept for sometime.

Pontian Wanton Noodles stall offered a number of options for customers to choose from on how they want their noodle to be served ranging from chilli, chilli with black sauce, chilli and ketchup or just blacksauce only.

Having tried their wanton noodles from different location, I would say their standards varies base on their outlets. With a recent price hike, a small bowl of wanton mee cost $2.80 currently.

My colleagues and I bought the Wanton Noodles with our preferred sauces. Noodles were "Q" as expected with the reddish thin slices of Char Siew and vegetables.

Everything was fine until I drank the bowl of soup, it tastes of detergent. To double confirmed, I had checked with colleagues and we shared the same sentiments.

We took out the Wantons from it, abandoned the bowl of soup and continue our lunch. I guess its hardly I will buy from that particular stall again.
Wanton Noodle

Wanton Noodle

 
Wanton

Wanton

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

"Your Order is Next" Cry Sep 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Seafood | Chinese Soup

Everyone in the district speaks about Cai Li Yu Tou Guo when we popped the question "What's the To-Eat in Whampoa Makan Place", out of many asked, the reply normally goes "Fish Head Steamboat at the corner shop!". Inquisitive beings like will want to find out if these suits my taste buds.

To start off, I had a not so smooth encounter with the waiting time as well as the service. These were a total letdown and I would hesitate if I'm requested for a next visit.

We started placing our order from Cai Li Yu Tou Guo as soon as we got a seat and proceeded to order some sides while waiting for them. After completing our sides and drinks (about half hour), we were not served, not even was the portable gas stove placed onto our table. We were told the same thing for every approach when checking our order and was given a unfriendly response that our order was next. Waited for an hour and the food finally came but we was told what we had ordered was sold out! The wait was already a frustrating one and to make it worse, the "sold out" order was not indicated during ordering. It was the last straw for Cai Li Yu Tou Guo when we saw them serving the so called "sold out" order to the next table 5 minutes after serving us.

Nevertheless, we continued our dinner with 2 bowls of rice. I would say that portions of fish meat given was generous and fresh. The soup was tasty with dried fish included and it had reminded me of those small packets of "Ikan Satay" available in Malaysia. The soup was chalky in color with prawns and a great portions of yam included.
Hot Pot

Hot Pot

 
Hot Pot Over Gas Stove

Hot Pot Over Gas Stove

 
Scoop into my bowl

Scoop into my bowl

 
I find that service is rather important when it comes to F & B industries. I don't mind if the service is of average but having waited for an hour and was told at the eleventh hour that it was sold out is definitely a no no to me.
Cost: S$26.00
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Fish steamboat
 
Date of Visit: Aug 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Disappointed. Cry Sep 05, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Food Court | Chicken Rice

Sad to say, this will be another stall in Jurong Point's kopitiam blacklisted by us! Perhaps it is due to their low popularity that caused these hiccups. We felt very disappointed with the food, the rice served was cold and that applies to the soup too. We have never had such experience before. I felt that having food served warm is a basic requirement and this is absolutely unacceptable.

Cost: S$3.50 (Chicken Rice), S$1.00 (Tau Gua), S$0.50 (Braised Egg)
Chicken Rice Set

Chicken Rice Set

 
Chicken Rice Set

Chicken Rice Set

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sighs Cry Sep 04, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Food Court

sad It was such a waste to end a day with an unsatisfiable dinner. I waited in agony about 10 minutes in front of the stall, seeing customers who came after me got hold of their orders before me and hoping that my dinner will be a good one. Unfortunately it turned out to be a disaster, though the plate of Nian Gao (Rice Cake) was scooped and freshly fried from the wok, it tastes too gluey and with sourish taste. It was a total turn off. In the end I only ate its ingredients - the cabbages, mushrooms and shredded lean meat so as not to bring the food to waste.
Fried Nian Gao

Fried Nian Gao

 
Fried Nian Gao

Fried Nian Gao

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: Sep 03, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hop Over at 21 Home Kitchen Cry Sep 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

We visited Orginal 21 Home Kitchen while on our way to work. They are located in Tradehub 21 to the right hand side of shops after the ERP Carpark gantry. There were only a few stalls operating during my time of visit and since they had the most food displayed, we had decided to order our breakfast from them. Ranging from items like fried bee hoon, kway teow and fried rice, they are similar to selling economical bee hoon and customers can pick their sides for additional add on like fish cakes, otah.

I have ordered a plate of fried rice for my dad and Chai Tou Kway (Carrot Cake) for myself. I would say the service rendered by the guy was rather cheeky. During my order I pointed to the Chai Tou Kway and mentioned "I would like to have Chai" and I paused awhile then continue my sentence. He picked up the plate and scoop an adequate amount of carrot cake onto it and asked me to repeat my order so as to tease me.

Although the cost of the meal is very economical but I would say that both dishes are equally over salty. My plate of carrot cake tasted non sweet in the black sauce. It was a disaster, we couldnt finish the meal and went off.
Cost: S$1.20(Carrot Cake) & S$2.00 (Fried Rice)
Carrot Cake

Carrot Cake

 
 
Date of Visit: Aug 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0