OpenRice Index
  
wenxi
This is wenxi living in Jurong West. I am a Executive, work in Clementi. I like to hang out in Clementi, Jurong West, Boon Lay. Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Hawker Centre and Sushi/Sashimi, Zi Char, Ramen, Fish.
Member 491 First(s)
No. of Review1729 Review(s)
編輯推介數目58 Editor's Choice
Recommended37 Recommended
Popularity12000 View(s)
Replies in Forum4 Comment(s)
Upload Photos11212 Photo(s)
Upload Videos22 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews1 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant566 My Restaurant(s)
Follow39 Following
粉絲1968 Follower(s)
wenxi  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 1729 Reviews in Singapore
Tasteless Barley Cry Jun 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Juices

Drinks
4 cups of barley drinks were purchased with 1 cup as the warm version while the rest is cold.

 
Every cup comes with a red marking "3149" to indicate that those cups belongs to Feng Quan Chai Shi as it's unit is #03-149. Though the cup is quite big, the quality is below par. It was simply too diluted for the cold barley while the warm barley is still within acceptable range. There was no sweetness in the drinks and no barley grains were included. What a disappointment!

 
Service
Service received is of average.

Price
Price is of market standard but I will prefer to have a richer taste in the barley drink with sweetness.

 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $1(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasteless drinks Cry Jun 02, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Coffee

Drinks
My Milo ice drink tastes more like Milo "kosong". The amount of mil powder and milk added was very little and drink was very diluted even though the ice cubes were not totally melted. sad

 
As for the Kopi "O", the taste of coffee is fairly thin. Felt so short changed by the drinks Ah Seng (Hai Nam) Coffee stall offered.

 
Service
There was a long queue and the stall helpers tried to rush through their orders with the quality and standards of their drinks compromised.

Ambience
There were not many drinks stalls in operation on a sunday morning in Amoy Street Food Centre level 2, queues starts to pile up at about 10 am sharp, at the time of my visit.

Recommendations / Tips
I will skip this stall if I have more drink choices the next time I visit Amoy Street Food Centre.
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

>.< Cry May 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Café | Kids-Friendly

Food
Being a regular of Jurong Point, it is quite common that I will run out of food choices fast. Despite the bad experience I had the last round, I decided to give OldTown another try.

After flipping the menu over repeated times, I came to a decision that I should have their Asam Laksa. It mentioned to customers that this dish might contain fish bones. As the dish was served, it somehow tells me off that this is just another bad choice. Presentation of the food is not of passing marks. With mint leaves and a small miserable piece of sardines and cut onions on the top among the pool of diluted Assam paste.

 
Bowl of Assam laksa is of mediocre standard. I will rate it 2.5 out of 5 marks.

 
Hainanese chicken cutlet looks great on the menu but dont get deceive by the outlook.

 
Looks great with fried egg white together with the plate of egg white, peas and sliced cucumbers. Presentation wise I will give it 3/5.

 
The chicken cutlet was just too saltish and there isnt any trace of sweet taste in the chicken meat.

 
Drinks are a let-down and a simply disastrous especially the chendol soya milk. The green jelly like substance tastes like a reminiscent of dried rubber-band. Both drinks are tasteless. Ice blended red bean in my impression wasnt this bad afterall! The overall reputation points of OldTown has been pulled down by this outlet.

 
Service
Service is of average and waiting time is not that long.

Ambience
Ambience is so-so. No long queues and now I know why.

Price
Over all 4 items cost an approximate amount of S$30.00 for 2 pax. Price is definitely not ok with the standard of food. O

Recommendation / Tips
Quite surprised to see them accepting CASH and NETS payment only.
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Porridge/Congee | Noodles

Food
The packet of food does not seem promising on a rainy day morning - is it due to the bad weather? Or is it the sauce issue? I had ordered my food with just only sweet sauce today, avoiding the spicy chilli for the morning.

As I opened the packet of "surprise", my chee cheong fun portion was shrunk and i noticed that that was very greasy and oily compared to the last few rounds I had.

 
Pool of oil (yellow in color) are found on the beside the yam cake. sad. It's just too oily for the morning.

 
Service
Efficient service with fast moving queues.

Ambience
Although its a wet morning, there are still many people queuing for their food especially the economical bee hoon.

Price
Economical and pocket saving pricing!
 
Date of Visit: May 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Zhi Char Cry May 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Hawker Centre | Seafood | BBQ | Kids-Friendly

Food
Lau Par Sat, the historic building in singapore is also well known by tourists for its food street. Lau Par Sat, tourists ideal place of local food, seems to be good about 10 to 15 years back however it got worsen nowadays.

Hotplate beancurd standard is still on the average side.

 
I guess the standard of food varies from stall to stall. This Sin Zhou Mee Fen is way beyond the expectations and a total turn off. Bee hoon are very dry in texture making it hard to swallow.

 
Mediocre plate of BBQ stingray. We had expected much more from them since they are specialized in BBQ seafood.

 
This plate of fried rice is below par. Dry and tasteless. A great disappointment!

 
Service
Waiting time was long. The lady was forced by circumstances whereby she can only show the menu and take her order after we order from the Satay Stall. huffy It seems like such hawker does not have a fair share on their say while serving the customers.

Ambience
The place doesnt seem to be the one I know anymore. Am I still in singapore? Nowadays its like the hawkers ambush you, show you their menu and make sure you eat their food as they settled you down by arranging the seats. With raging and gangster-liked hawkers there even though no touting is allowed. Dinning there dont seem comfortable anymore.

Price
Over rated place with the standards of food definitely NOT worth the money we are paying for.

Recommendation / Tips
This place has been too commercialized and it will not be my list of choices to bring my foreign friends here.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  -
 
Date of Visit: May 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0