OpenRice Index
  
chewyjas
This is chewyjas living in Clementi. I am a Administrator, work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in Alexandra, Clementi, Jurong West. Japanese, Singaporean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Restaurant and Desserts and Cakes, Juices.
Member 112 First(s)
No. of Review265 Review(s)
編輯推介數目28 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity4801 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1032 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow29 Following
粉絲286 Follower(s)
chewyjas  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 265 Reviews in Singapore
Midnight Hunger Savior  Smile Dec 17, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong

Cheers to Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe for extending their operating hours to 4am in the morning. Best thing is it's not open at West Coast Plaza, a 5 minutes drive away from home. Now, neither do I have to torture my stomach by staying hungry nor do I have to took the trouble to cook instant noodle.
Voucher

Voucher

 
Big thanks to Churp Churp for letting me win the $20 voucher. It comes in handy even though the condition is I have to use it after 12 am. It was just enough to cover my portion of the meal. When my bf and I arrived there like 1am+, we were rather surprised that the whole restaurant are still quite filled with people. It still has the lively atmosphere. The staff greeted us warmly too. We got a big round table sofa seats and I felt very comfortable there.
$8.80 Lunchean Meat Bee Hoon with Papaya Soup

$8.80 Lunchean Meat Bee Hoon with Papaya Soup

 
I had their Luncheon Meat Bee Hoon with papaya soup and this is one dish that left me craving for more. I will definitely keep going back to Xin Wang Hong Kong Cafe just for this dish. The Luncheon Meat are served on a separate plate so that it remains crispy and won't be soggy from the soup. Inside the bee hoon, chunks of papaya, sweet corns and egg were added to make it more flavourful. The soup itself really has the taste of papaya.
$5.50 Shrimp Dumpling Soup

$5.50 Shrimp Dumpling Soup

 
I shared the Shrimp Dumpling Soup with bf and this is another dish that I will recommend to friends. The shrimp is fresh and the soup is so tasty I finished the whole bowl of soup. I'm so glad I found a venue to cure my midnight hunger.

 
Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dessert for the Afternoon Smile Dec 16, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Desserts | Desserts and Cakes

$5.50 Mango in Vanilla Sauce with Thai Black Glutinous Rice

$5.50 Mango in Vanilla Sauce with Thai Black Glutinous Rice

 
This is the first time I tried their Mango in Vanilla Sauce with Thai Black Glutinous Rice and I love it very much. Price was rather steep though, a small bowl of dessert for $5.50! shocked Next time I would just order the same item but without the mango and save $0.70 more. The mango is a bit sour and sting my tough with its sourness and I don't quite like dessert to be sour. The vanilla sauce actually acts like a replacement to the coconut milk that usually comes with the black glutinous rice and it matches really well too. There's some shaved vanilla ice too to make this a cold dessert.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best Ayam Panggang in Campus Smile Dec 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Food Court

Ayam Panggang

Ayam Panggang

 
With my brother's recommendation and having the most popular tip on Foursquare, I tried this Ayam Panggang set here at Munch. There was quite a long queue at this stall and portion was big. The sweet soy sauce with a bit of chili is just nice and not too spicy. The chili is not spicy enough but the curry compensate up for it. They even added baby tomato, lettuce and cucumber to make it a healthier choice.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value for money food Smile Dec 02, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Pasta | Steaks and Grills

Saizeriya is a Japanese chain of casual, family style Italian restaurant. Hidden at level 2 of Liang Court, one can find decent all time favourite dishes like soup, pastas and stews at a very affordable price. Although no service charge was imposed, we were still given quite good service by the waiters and waitress. Free flow drinks at $2.80 per head and for the drinks we have to serve ourselves at the drinks counter.
Minestrone Soup at $2.90

Minestrone Soup at $2.90

 

I had Minestrone soup which looks kind of diluted but the taste is still flavorful. A country style vegetable soup so every spoon of the soup comes with crunchy vegetable.
Mushroom Meat Sauce Spaghetti at $5.90

Mushroom Meat Sauce Spaghetti at $5.90

 
For main course, I choose the Mushroom Meat Sauce Spaghetti. The special sauce used make the whole dish more tasty.
Chicken Stew at $3.90

Chicken Stew at $3.90

 

Chicken stew is a must order dish here. The sauce may be too strong so it's best to dip with bread.
Oven Grilled Escargots at $5.90

Oven Grilled Escargots at $5.90

 
Oven Girlled Escargots for only $5.90. Where else can you find this type of price?

I will definitely went back to eat again.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 10, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Handmade cupcake with love Smile Nov 20, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

Walked pass Bugis Junction and decided to buy this Red Velvet cupcake. I've seen many reviews and photos from friends on how nice the cupcakes are at Twelve Cupcakes. In case you didn't already know, Twelve Cupcakes is opened by the famous Jamie Teo and Daniel Ong.
Red Velvet

Red Velvet

 
First, I must comment that the cupcake here is extremely soft and moist. It's not the dry type and since it's red velvet, the cupcake has a nice dark red colouring. The choice to put a simple red small red heart instead of sprinkling lots of sprinkles make the whole cupcake more classic and elegant. The top is vanilla cream cheese. One such cupcake cost $3 and if you buy 3, they will put them in a box. Otherwise, it's just a transparent casing.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 19, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0