OpenRice Index
  
W.HO
This is W.HO .
Member 13 First(s)
No. of Review48 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity56 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos75 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
W.HO  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 48 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hakka | Hawker Centre

This has been my regular stall to go to, as I lived close by and would like to have something healthy for lunch.
Thunder Tea Rice is a Hakka dish, where you have white or brown rice and its topped with 4 to 5 types of vegetables/ tofu and peanuts.
It comes with a bowl of puree/ grinded vegetables (including parsley). You can choose to add hot water to the puree, effectively getting a soup. or you can add this puree to your rice and mix it all up.
The stall also sells Yong Tau Foo. They have a variety of yong tau foo that are home-made: Brinjal, bittergourd, tau gwa, chilli, mushroom. These are sold ala carte and can be added to your thunder tea rice.
They also have braised pig trotters on offer.
The stall's offerings used to taste better. But their standard seems to have dropped in my last visit. In my most recent visit, I had fried anchioves on top ogf my rice, which I find a little strange, as other stalls did not have this at all. Will give them a shot in future to see if standards are up again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Thunder Tea Rice,Yong Tau Foo
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prawn Noodles at Ang Mo Kio OK Nov 12, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

I chanced upon this prawn noodles stall when I came to this food court to try their chicken rice.
The queue suggested it must be popular and I joined it to give it a try.
They also sell lor mee, but it was sold out for the day. So I ordered the prawn noodles soup to try.
The noodles were cooked well, and the soup was alright. However, there are better stalls which have tastier soups. It came with prawns, fish cake and sliced lean pork.
Decent noodles with a short wait time in the queue.

May try the lor mee in my next visit.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Noodles
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Find in Pandan Gardens! OK Nov 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Halal

I have driven past this restaurant, located at Pandan Gardens, just next to the Cycle & Carriage/ Republic Automobiles facility several times at night.
They are located at the old swimming pool that has since been converted into an indoor baseball area, indoor trampoline park, with shops selling bicycles, electric cars for children and remote control cars.
I came by to try out the food at this halal eatery for lunch today.
Here are the dishes I had with my lunch group:
- Mee Rebus: The mee rebus is good. The gravy is flavourful and coats the noodles sufficietly to enjoy with every bite. Good portion and fills the tummy easily.
- Nasi Lemak: They use long grain basmatic rice and the rice is lightly infused with pandan and coconut milk. Less coconut = healthier option! Good portions and the sambal goreng is good!
- Sambal Brinjal: Good cuts of chunky brinjal with sambal. Sambal is hot!
- Beef Rendang: Beef brisket is used and the meat is well marinated and flavourful. It goes well with nasi lemak rice.
- Sambal Sotong: Squid rings stir fried with sambal. Squid are cut into good size pieces. Not bad.
The place is air-conditioned and offers a good respite from the hot weather outside.
A good place to go for halal food - noodles and rice when you are in the West area.
Oh, and there's free parking at the back, limited lots!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mee Rebus,Nasi Lemak,Beef Rendang
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $7(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Restaurant

I am always on the lookout for places that serve good Italian food, as its my family's favourite cuisine and the kids always eat their food without much hassle, when we have Italian.
I had come across this restaurant recently and brought a colleague here for lunch.
Its set in a restored shophouse that faces the Police Cantonment Complex. Parking is also convenient, where you can park at Pinnacle on Duxton and walk over.
The restaurant was half full for Monday lunch, which augurs well for the restaurant.
Here are the highlights of our meal:
Starters
- Bruschetta - Complimentary dish. The tomatoes were fresh and chopped up and served atop focaccia bread. Bread was crunchy and tomato topping were yummy.
- Zuppetta Argentarina: $25. Mussels and cut prawns stewed in a creamy porcini sauce & served with focaccia bread slices. The seafood were fresh and the gravy went well with the bread. Delicious.
- Tagliata al Tartufo: $34. Grilled premium tenderloin with truffle sauce. Beef were nicely grilled to medium, sliced & served on a wooden board. The whiff of truffle oil stimulates my taste buds and beef lovers will like this.
- Parmigiana: $23. Eggplant layers baked with Mozarella and homemade tomato sauce, then topped with Parmesan. Best eaten when its served to your table as you can enjoy the freshly baked and hot! My colleague loved this.
- Carpaccio Di Manzo: $24. Bed of salad, topped with finely-sliced raw beef, porcini mushroom dressing & truffle oil. The beef has to be fresh, else it can’t be eaten raw.
Mains
- Pappardelle della Vigna: $28. Homemade pappardelle with homemade Italian sausages in a creamy Gorgonzola sauce. The noodles were handmade and soft. The sauce is blue cheese based, and may be strong for some. Sausage was also good. Nice.
- Penne al Granchio: $28. Penne with fresh crab meat in a creamy tomato sauce. The penne was al dente. And the crab meat sauce coats the penne well to give flavour to every bite. Good!
Thus far, I have tried 3 of their pastas and they have all been good. Looking forward to trying other pastas when I visit again.
Desserts
- Bonet Argentarino: $16. Traditional homemade Italian chocolate and rum pudding with home-made caramel sauce. A very rich and delicious dessert. The caramel sauce complements the pudding well. The cocoa powder used is good grade and added flavour to each mouthful. This was a unique dessert that I have not tried anywhere else. Must-order!
The restaurant has an Ospitalità Italiana seal awarded by the Italian Chamber of Commerce in Singapore. It's one of only five Italian restaurants in Singapore to have this award that marks a recognition for authentic representation of the Italian culture outside Italy.
Recommended!
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 15, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Find at Telok Blangah! Smile Dec 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Zi Char

I have driven past Telok Blangah Road countless times. Located opposite Keppel Club is Yeo's Building, which houses a Chinese restaurant.
I came by with my family for lunch to try out their food.
Ultraman chicken: $12 for small portion - With a 'superhero' name for a dish, it lives up to expectations. This is essentially 'popcorn chicken' where chicken is cut into bite sized pieces, deep fried and tossed with salted egg yoke sauce. The food is served piping hot and best eaten while its hot! Must-order!
Johor Hokkien Mee: $4 for small portion - I was longing for the KL style Hokkien Mee, and this was more of the Hokkien Mee that you can find in most cze-char stalls in Singapore. The sauce is not to thick and the noodles had fish cake and prawns in them. Most importantly, it also had pork lard!
Sum Loh Hor Fun: $6 for small portion - This was not bad. kway teow fried with bean sprouts and sliced fish pieces.
The food here is good and I have found a new haunt to bring my family and friends for good makan. Parking is also free!
Lots of stuff on their menu, so plenty to order over many occasions!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ultraman chicken,Sum Loh Hor Fun,Johor Hokkien Mee
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 18, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0