OpenRice Index
  
jiaksimipng
This is jiaksimipng .
Member 120 First(s)
No. of Review271 Review(s)
編輯推介數目37 Editor's Choice
Recommended19 Recommended
Popularity2658 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1048 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant131 My Restaurant(s)
Follow8 Following
粉絲272 Follower(s)
jiaksimipng  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 271 Reviews in Singapore
Chic-A-Boo V.2 OK Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food

 
Chic-A-Boo is apparently yet another brand that is set up by the same owners behind Aston’s; apparently a fact that I only recently learnt about after reading a Facebook post by ieatishootipost, which probably told us why it actually was located beside an Aston’s Express stall when it was in Ang Mo Kio. The menu at the HillV2 outlet did seem pretty similar to the Ang Mo Kio one, and while prices still remain rather affordable there seems to be a rough increase about a dollar for all the sets.

 
Given that I had tried Set 1 ($7.90) previously at Ang Mo Kio, we decided to go for it again to see if they had made any improvements along with its move. The same deal goes; two sides, a corn muffin and two chicken parts with a soft drink. Chic-A-Boo does not allow their patrons to choose chicken parts, so you would have to do with a Drumstick and a Breast for Set 1. What’s good though is that you can mix flavours, which means you can actually order both Favourite and Hot ‘n’ Spicy in one set. Of the two, I preferred the Hot ‘n’ Spicy; its marination felt more thorough and the mild hotness did not kill that tangy flavour at the start. The Original was as tender, but felt less crisp, less thorough in marination and lacked a wow-factor to it. TCO Salad was an interesting side, but it was not the regular salad we were expecting; its zingy dressing is definitely refreshing especially after a fried meal as it felt like a Carpaccio instead. While the Sweet Potato Fries sounded enticing, it could have been better; more warm, more crisp and maybe slightly salty to tickle the taste buds. If anyone remembered my previous visit to the Ang Mo Kio outlet, you probably may have recalled that I was not too fond of the Corn Muffin. Glad to say they made major improvements to it now; its more crumbly and bread-like with the crusted top, and is no longer that greasy mushy mess that it was way back in the day!

 
To try a wider variety of food, I decided to go for the Fish Fillet burger ($4.50). Buns were heated upon serving, and you get a bit of crustiness from it as well. I also loved the Fish Fillet, served hot and crispy and felt similar to Long John Silver’s fish fillets when they used to be way better. The other ingredients; the lettuce, the tomatoes and that slice of cheese that looks like it came off a Kraft pack are simply too pedestrian and made the whole package felt kinda cheap. And yes, even at $4.50 I felt really confused about it; it just felt like a burger that came off from a stall in any coffeeshop.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/25/chic-a-boo-hillv2/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Set 1
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $6(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

New cafe up north! Smile Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
Victory8 sees yet another cafe opening again. In the same ground as Mootime and Something Sweet Dessert House, RoyceMary Cafe’s opening would make the cafe scene in the north a lot more vibrant and competitive.

 
Wanting to go for something light, I went with a quiche even though the sandwiches seemed a tad tempting. Out of the two quiches available, the Salmon Asparagus Quiche ($5.50) caught my eye. Prior to serving it, the quiche would be heated up. Mine seemed to take quite some time to get served. It came piping hot however, and I was surprised by how it tasted despite coming off from the display shelf. Not only was it fresh, the flaky pastry fell off neatly and was actually sufficiently buttery without feeling any bit greasy. The fillings were indeed savoury; cheesy enough without being too eggy, maintaining a bit of creaminess within. And nothing can ever go wrong with Smoked Salmon. The accompanying garden salad was similarly satisfying; despite its plain looks it had a zingy dressing which makes the fresh leaves even more refreshing to have.

 
I was actually pretty tempted by the Matcha Lava Cake ($8.90) that was served at To-Gather Cafe, so I was actually pretty glad to have found RoyceMary offering the same thing as well. There was an option to add a ice-cream, but I opted out of it as I was pretty much cashless that day. When served, the gooey puddle of Matcha in the centre was just simply eye-candy. Once it was cut, the lava just flowed endlessly. Matcha lava was not only thick, it was also rich. A dollop of cream also came by the side, and it was ingenious. When the cake got too overwhelming, just have a bit of cream and it just neutralises every flavour in the mouth. Simply fantastic.

 
For a drink, I went with my standard Flat White ($5.50). RoyceMary Cafe’s choice of blend is one that uses 100% Arabica Beans from Ethopia. My cuppa came, smooth and creamy, though the body seemed too light as the coffee was rather milky. Maybe a double shot would help.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/roycemary-cafe-victory8/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Salmon Asparagus Quiche,Matcha Lava Cake
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend

Mexican Lunch! Smile Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Mexican | Bars/Lounges

 
Lower East Side Tacqueria is brought by the same guys from Spathe. Specialising in Mexican fare, expect Tacos and Quesadilla offered here, with some plated dishes for mains. There are also a variety of alcoholic drinks available, which makes this spot a great place to head to for some drinks and snacks at night.

 
We were in for lunch, but both of us came with our stomachs still relatively full from breakfast. Upon looking at the menu, we thought it would be wise for us to share a Quesadilla, which we chose The Campesinos ($10.00+). Described in the menu to contain Campesino Chorizo Sausages, Monterey Cheese and Tomato Salsa, we could not really detect the sausages as the filling seemed to be rather mashed up. There was also a interesting hint of curry spices within the filling, which went well with the cheesiness within. The dressing also complimented the Quesadilla well as it invoked a rather subtle touch of spiciness. It was not particularly up the mark, but its taste was very much decent for a light snack.

 
I can’t get enough of Churros ($8.00+), so I knew I had to get those when I first saw the menu. The sticks may be short, and though it was on the dry side being crunchy and on the edge of being too hard, it was also satisfying at the same time as there was enough cinnamon sugar coated on each stick. Chocolate dip was watery, but had just the right amount of flavour. Dipping these sticks into the dip, the chocolate flavour goes nicely on top of the cinnamon sugar, rather than overwhelming it totally.

 
Coffee ain’t exactly their forte actually. The Latte ($5.50+) was rather milky, though there are traces of its nutty-flavoured body around. Could have been better though.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/11/lower-east-side-tacqueria-east-coast-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Churros,Campesinos
 
Table Wait Time: 20 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $13(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cool Petrol Station themed Cafe! Smile Oct 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
Refuel Cafe is the first cafe in Bedok to have opened in the Bedok Reservoir neighbourhood. Themed to model a petrol station, the interior was decked out with bare bulbs, petrol station signages and barrels. There are also traces of its theme in its menu, which are interestingly named with references to petrol station terminologies such as “Full Tank” and “V-Power”. Expect the usual brunch suspects to be served here, though they do also have sandwiches, mains and pastas as well.

 
Having studied the menu before making the visit, I ordered the Banana Pancakes ($8.90); an item that captured my attention even before my visit. Loved how the mushy bananas were beaten into the batter of the pancake, which made it sweetly fragrant and fluffy. Coming with a side of salad and scrambled eggs, I could not get over how runny they were, though they could probably do with a bit more seasoning as well. The greens for the salad was a bit too bitter though, and I had some trouble trying to finish it.

 
My dining partner ordered the Full Tank ($13.90), which is the full works here. This hearty breakfast came with the usuals; bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, sautéed mushrooms, roasted potatoes and a salad by the side. Of particular mention would be the runny scrambled eggs, the soft roasted potatoes and the crisp bacon that fortunately did not taste like bak-kwa (which many places do). Again, most items felt a wee bit light on flavour, and could do with more seasoning.

 
Our choice of dessert to finish off the meal was the White & Black Chocolate Tart ($7.90), which came with a choice of Vanilla or Chocolate Ice-Cream. With sinfully thick layers of both dark and white chocolate ganache, it was surprisingly moderate on sweetness as it did not heat up our throats. This is definitely a must-order for chocolate lovers, though it can get a tad heavy for one to finish.

 
For a drink, I went for the usual; Flat White ($5.20). They use Brazilian beans for their cuppa which is supplied from a local roaster, and I like the medium body with its strong, earthy finish.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/10/13/refuel-cafe-blk-744-bedok-reservoir-road/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Banana Pancakes,Full Tank,Flat White,Black & White Chocolate Tart
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Interesting fusion pancakes! Smile Sep 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Halal

 
T

he opening of East Village saw many interesting eateries pop up in the Simpang Bedok area. Sarah’s The Pancake Cafe is yet another one interesting eatery that has just recently opened its doors. Pancake specialty stores are not unheard of; there are already a couple of notable eateries that serve only pancakes in Singapore. To distinguish themselves from the rest, Sarah’s The Pancake Cafe is also fully Muslim-owned, which provides a complete Halal dining experience. Apart from both sweet and savoury pancakes, there are also items such as spaghetti to choose from if you are not into pancakes.

 
I visited on their very first day of operations, and as much as I wanted to try both variants of savoury and sweet pancakes, being alone meant that I could only choose one. Ala Dol ($12.00) caught my eye pretty naturally; a local-infused pancake that puts together pancakes and Chendol into one dish. Unlike usual pancakes, these were presented in a crepe-like form; each crepe containing multiple layers all smothered with thick red bean paste that was sweet but barley cloying. It also comes drizzled in Gula Melaka, but that sweet coconut flavour seemed to get covered off by the red bean paste easily; would have preferred the Gula Melaka to be thicker so its flavours could be better brought out. Savoury corn bits were all over, and it gave the dessert a small tinge of saltiness. Coconut ice-cream sits on the top; a flavour that cannot be missing in Chendol. Loved the Atap Chee added around the sides too; I have had countless Chendol local-infusion dishes but its the first to have included the usually-forgotten ingredient.

 
Homemade Iced Tea ($3.00) was light, cooling and refreshing for the hot weather, but I would have enjoyed a heavier tea aroma for their brewed tea.

 
For more photos and the full review, please visit: http://jiaksimipng.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/sarahs-the-pancake-cafe-east-village/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ala-Dol
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $15(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend