OpenRice Index
  
wallychel
This is wallychel living in Tampines. I am a Student I also love Bakery, Café and Desserts and Cakes, Pasta, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 76 First(s)
No. of Review484 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended9 Recommended
Popularity2682 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1071 Photo(s)
Upload Videos1 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant223 My Restaurant(s)
Follow4 Following
粉絲273 Follower(s)
wallychel  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 484 Reviews in Singapore
Thai food in the East Smile Oct 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

My friends and I have heard raving reviews of Nakhon and decided to meet up for dinner over here! All being east-siders, we were glad they have an outlet in Bedok! There was already a queue around 6 + pm and we waited for about 15 minutes before getting a table.
Thai Iced Milk Tea, $3

Thai Iced Milk Tea, $3

 
Everytime I dine in at a Thai restaurant/eatery, Cha Yen (Thai Iced Tea) is a must order! The taste is authentic and I love it!
Mango Salad, $5

Mango Salad, $5

 
The green mango salad, also known as Som Tum, is a kind of Thai salad that you either like or don't like as it had quite a distinct taste. As for me, I like the taste but I usually take a few spoonfuls of it only as I can't really take spicy food. Their green mango salad tasted quite bland actually.
Green Curry Chicken, $8

Green Curry Chicken, $8

 
The next dish is the Green Curry with Chicken! One of my favourite! I actually prefer this over Tom Yum. The chicken was tender and the green curry was so full of flavour! It had just the right amount of minty flavour in it and the coconut milk enhanced the creamy texture. I enjoyed it very much!
Stir-Fried Kai Lan with Mushrooms, $6

Stir-Fried Kai Lan with Mushrooms, $6

 
We needed a Vege dish and so we ordered the Stir-Fried Kai Lan with Mushrooms. I love this as well, very tasty!
Stir-Fried Minced Pork with Basil, $6

Stir-Fried Minced Pork with Basil, $6

 
A few years ago when I went over to Thailand for my internship, I often order this minced pork to go together with my rice. Although its spicy, the taste is awesome and I am willing to shed tears for this! Nakhon's version had the right balance of sweetness and saltiness.
Cereal Prawns, $8

Cereal Prawns, $8

 
The last item was the Cereal Prawns! This is everyone's favourite and the I love the crunchiness of the cereal prawns! tongue

Overall, Nakhon Kitchen serves good authentic Thai food at an affordable price! The staff are all Thai people, their service is efficient and the waiting time for the food is short despite the place being packed with people! I will certainly come back here again to satisfy future Thai food cravings! smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cha Yen,Green Curry Chicken,Stir-Fried Minced Pork w Basil Leaves
 
Date of Visit: Oct 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Little Cafe in Changi Smile Jul 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

I've always wanted to check out this cafe after seeing so many cute latte art pictures popping up on the internet! One of the more popular/common ones include the Angry Bird! Finally I have a chance to visit this cafe with my friend! It's located at the far end of East, near Changi Village. I was so happy to have found a direct bus from my house! Makes it very convenient to pop by this cafe as and when I want! lol
Vanilla Latte, $6

Vanilla Latte, $6

 
I ordered a hot Vanilla Latte - $6 and was eagerly waiting to see the latte art on my coffee! Seeing such cute meow meow latte art on my coffee just perks up my day ^^ and I'm thoroughly impressed by their skilled barista!
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, $13

Smoked Salmon Sandwich, $13

 
I ordered the Smoked Salmon Sandwich - $13 which had a very generous serving of salmon filling, totally love it tongue !
Iced Caramel Macchiato, $6.5

Iced Caramel Macchiato, $6.5

 
My friend's Iced Caramel Macchiato - $6.50 was so good!! A wonderful blend of espresso, vanilla and caramel. So far this is best version I've tried. A must-try!! Besides having those cute little coffee art designs, I'm also impressed by the quality of their coffee!

 
I love the interior and decor of this cafe, really pretty! Truly a hidden gem in Changi! They have quite a limited seating area though, so it's better to avoid peak hours if you plan to chill at this cafe.

 
The only reason I would go all the way to Changi Village was because of their nasi lemak and seafood. Having discovered this little hidden cafe gives me even more reason to visit Changi Village! What's even better is that this cafe have no GST and service charge! I foresee this becoming one of my frequent hangout places to chill! lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smoked Salmon Sandwich,Iced Caramel Macchiato
 
Date of Visit: Jul 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Birthday Lunch OK Jul 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | European | Café | Desserts and Cakes

As the restaurant name suggest, Au Chocolat focuses on chocolate and being an ultimate chocolate lover, I was very happy when my friend brought me here for my birthday! lol
Truffle Fries

Truffle Fries

 
Almost everyone have been raving about the Truffle Fries - $15 here and it is really a must-try! The fries were served with mayonnaise and BBQ sauce. The potato strips were seasoned with truffle sea salt and it was so fragrant, crispy and addictive! The serving is huge enough for 2 people but we could still finish it after having our mains. It was that good! smile
Au Chocolat Benedict, $18

Au Chocolat Benedict, $18

 
Being a fan of eggs benny, I was so eager to try this Au Chocolate Benedict - $18 as the hollandaise sauce is infused with red wine and dark chocolate! The poached eggs sat perfectly on top of the bacon, spinach, tomatoes and English muffins but the whole mixture of hollandaise, red wine and dark chocolate sauce was disappointing or rather not suited to my taste buds.
Smoked Salmon Sandwich, $20

Smoked Salmon Sandwich, $20

 
My friend ordered a Smoked Salmon Sandwich, which came together with normal fries. We didn't know it came with fries and when compared to the truffle fries, it was almost tasteless. Truffle fries are a must-try! A generous amount of salmon but other than that, it was quite normal.

 
There is a wide array of desserts at the Confiserie and I will try either the Chocolate Tart or Au Chocolate Tower Cake next time! tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Truffle Fries
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soft serve parfaits OK Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Frozen Yogurt

 
It seems like a soft serve craze now with so many cafes popping up every week. After my dinner at the recently opened one km mall, I happen to pop by this little cafe along the walkway outside the mall. 

There is a list of their Signature parfaits on the menu, about 8 different ones and you can also choose to DIY your own parfait! I decided to get one their Signatures which was the Coffee Addict XD

They were having a promo that day and every regular signature parfait comes with a small scoop of their plain yogurt soft serve. Personally I find it just alright as I was expecting a stronger coffee taste. Also, at $9.80 for the regular size, it is quite pricey to me.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tiny nostalgic cafe Smile Dec 17, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Fusion | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

 
This cafe is really small! The tiniest so far in Singapore with a seating capacity of less than 10pax!

 
I love peanut butter and this is a must order! Peanut prince milkshake is so deliciously thick though i prefer it to be sweeter.

 
Next up is the Okasaan Waffles! By the looks of it seems crispy but the waffles were the soft and spongy kind, not my kind of waffles but the filling inside were good!

 
This Muah Otah Roll is a must order as well! The otah meat was thick and shiok! I felt the owners were very innovative to serve the old school pinwheel crackers as a side ;)
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0