OpenRice Index
  
urbancityexplorer
This is urbancityexplorer .
Member 20 First(s)
No. of Review87 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended5 Recommended
Popularity424 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos353 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant60 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲83 Follower(s)
urbancityexplorer  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 87 Reviews in Singapore
Great cafe at Eng Kong Terrace Smile Dec 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/12/necessary-provisions-eng-kong-terrace/

When this place opened at Eng Kong Terrace, it has caused much hype (as this place is located in a rather inaccessible place). Since then, I had wanted to come here.

You can choose either 4oz, 6oz and 8oz for the Flat White ($5) (which I chose the 6oz variant). It tasted strong and thick and the right amount of milk added makes this one of the coffee that should be ordered here.

 
The Banana Nutella Panini is also great. Despite having it at night (like why would anyone not order food from the dinner menu instead?), the panini is nicely baked. The result is a nice tasting bread with sliced warm bananas covered with Nutella spread.

 
This is a suitable place to relax in with a cup of coffee in the day. Make sure not to visit during weekends if you are doing that (as they’re almost always full).
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Banana Nutella Panini
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Halal western food at Jalan Kayu! Smile Dec 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steaks and Grills | Halal | Kids-Friendly

Jalan Kayu has been famed for having the best roti prata in Singapore. Notwithstanding, it is also home to some renowned eateries that has chosen to grow its roots here. It is little wonder that one chef famous for his appearance in food programs aired by Suria has chosen Jalan Kayu to open his restaurant – Chef Amri.

The Inhouse Coffee looked and tasted like a single shot of espresso. The taste was not too strong but rather bitter.

 
The Beef Burger & Fries. The beef patty is juicy and came in a rather huge portion.

 
The Black Pepper Chicken resembles a bit like the Black Pepper Chicken at Aston’s, except that this tasted better. The veggies tasted flavourful (definitely the result of blanching them nicely before cooking then).

 
The Lemon Curd Tart is crusty and the lemon curd taste is strong (which reminds me of the taste of lemon biscuits). However, it was rather hard to eat this as the crust was rather hard and firm to cut off.

 
This is a great place to come for halal Western food. If you are around Jalan Kayu, this place is a good spot for dinner/supper (after which you can go for roti prata!)

For the full review and more photos http://makanarts.com/2013/12/13/le-steak-by-chef-amri-248-jalan-kayu/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Pepper Chicken
 
Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Noodles | Kids-Friendly

Tim Ho Wan has been all the rage in Singapore. The queue at Plaza Singapura for the first few weeks was so long one needs to wait for hours to go in. I finally was able to try their food when I decided to visit this outlet at Toa Payoh when I heard they opened. Priority were given to ERA agents (not surprising, since Tim Ho Wan is owned by Hersing Corporation, who owns ERA as well) and that the rest will have to wait at the join-in queue (on a Saturday there weren’t much ERA agents around).

The Glutinous Rice Dumpling took me by surprise. My initial thoughts before having it that the glutinous rice taste, being infused with the lotus leaf’s fragrance will overpower the taste of the ingredients inside. The ones here is a strong combination of tastes between the lotus-leaf infused glutinous rice, chicken and mushrooms.

 
The Prawn Dumpling should never be missed out in a dim sum restaurant. The differences between the ones here and elsewhere is that the ones here are the prawns used are slightly bigger and more juicier.

 
The Pork Dumpling with Shrimp should also never be missed out in a dim sum restaurant.

 
The Pan Fried Carrot Cake is soft and moist and the radish taste was rather apparent.

 
No one should ever leave here without ordering the Baked Bun with BBQ Pork. The outside of the bun is very crusty and tasted great. The BBQ Pork is even better. Well-marinated, it was sweet and meaty. This is a perfect combination.

 
The Vermicelli Roll with BBQ Pork was well-executed. The vermicelli roll is thin, the BBQ pork was juicy and succulent.

 
The Tonic Medlar & Osmanthus Cake (Cold) is a great dessert to end off the dim sum feast with. With a jelly-like texture consisting of wolfberries and osmanthus, it tasted sweet and refreshing.

 
The Chinese Tea is refillable and is always a refreshing drink to order in any dim sum places.

 
If you are around Toa Payoh, do visit the outlet here as they have branch-exclusive food items!

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/13/tim-ho-wan-era-centre/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Glutinous Rice Dumpling, Vermicelli Roll with BBQ Pork, Pan Fried Carrot Cake, The Tonic Medlar & Osmanthus Cake
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great ramen at 100AM! Smile Dec 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

After my previous visit to Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King Four Seasons , I found myself craving for their ramen again. This time round I went to the one situated at 100AM, which specialised in their chicken broth ramen.

The Green Tea Cola tasted a bit like Sprite. It's refreshing to drink this especially after finishing the ramen.

 
The Tori King Ramen with All Toppings is their signature ramen that comes with a chicken thigh, 2 half-boiled egg, a big piece of chashu and a big piece of seaweed. The chicken is tender, the egg tasted invigorating and the chashu was chewy. The greatest credit goes to the soup. It is flavourful, not too salty and accompanies well with the nice-cooked ramen (I didn't finish the soup as per what I did at Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King Four Seasons though).

 
The Black Spicy Tori King Ramen with All Toppings is the black pepper variant of the original ramen. It is nearly the same as the Tori King Ramen except with a little spice. If you do want your ramen to be slightly spicy, this should definitely be ordered.

 
Definitely will come back here again if I'm craving for ramen. If you are around the Tanjong Pagar area, this is one place to visit (the other being Ramen Keisuke Tonkotsu King, under the same company)

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/13/ramen-keisuke-tori-king-100am/
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Spicy Tori King Ramen
 
Date of Visit: Nov 02, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

For the full review and more photos, please visit http://makanarts.com/2013/12/07/oz-specialty-coffee-thomson-v-two/

A place that I would never have thought will have more shops opening due to its abysmal occupant rate, Oz Specialty Coffee is a week old cafe specializing more in their coffee.

Their selections of coffee and other sides. The cakes selection are brought over from Berry Gerry Bakes (which is also located within the same building, the Thomson V cluster), a confectionery that uses old school baking style.

 
The staircases that lead upstairs. Unfortunately there is no seating space on top.

 
The Flat White uses the Roadster blend from Pacamara Coffee Roasters (from Thailand), which has been the first in the region. The taste turns out great, very thick and has a smooth blend.

 
The Durian Canele is unpretentious. Full of durian taste, this will never disappoint durian lovers. I liked every bite of it.

 
Oz Specialty Coffee is a nice place to relax as well. If you want great coffee and cakes, this place should never be missed out!
 
Date of Visit: Nov 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0