OpenRice Index
  
Blancheeze
This is Blancheeze living in Ang Mo Kio. I am a Student Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café and Curries, Pasta, Ramen.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review135 Review(s)
編輯推介數目8 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity796 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos456 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews3 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant137 My Restaurant(s)
Follow47 Following
粉絲213 Follower(s)
Blancheeze  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 135 Reviews in Singapore
Lao Ban! Smile Nov 07, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

Lao Ban Soya Beancurd has saved my life while I was on a soft diet after my wisdom teeth surgery. So I've gotten 5 days worth of supplies which I had for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It was so easy to swallow for me who wasn't able to fully open my mouth. 
Original Lao Ban ($1.50)

Original Lao Ban ($1.50)

 
I switched between the Almond ($2) and Original ($1.50) from time to time and having it for 5 days straight didn't even make me sick of it! It also helps to open up my appetite along the way. Hard to believe but the taste was really exceptional thus it's true. I'm glad the outlet locations now are so convenient now because it has already became an addiction.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Original
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Late Night Desserts! Smile Oct 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

Was wandering around Bugis Junction to find a nice little place to chill. Chanced upon The Connoisseur Concerto (TCC) and decided to have our late night desserts there! 

We've ordered Zestiny ($8) & this is basically a like parfait topped with some fresh raspberries and sweet meringue sticks with hint of lemon. Really awesome! 
Zestiny

Zestiny

 

Another beautiful thing they have in their dessert menu includes the Perfect Pairing ($10) and this is a really gorgeous frozen parfait topped with raspberries and sided with strawberries and swirls, taste as good as it looks! 
Perfect Pairing

Perfect Pairing

 

Lastly, we can never forget about the classics! This below is a regular Marble Cheesecake ($6.50), baked true to perfection such that it's golden brown. The rich chocolate base also compliments the dedicated cheesecake taste so you don't get bored of it easily! 
Marble Cheesecake

Marble Cheesecake

 

 

This place hardly goes wrong and to think that they have really good service personnel too. So the next time I'm returning I'll make sure I'll try their mains too!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Zestiny
 
Date of Visit: Oct 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Smoked Turkey Leg at USS! Smile Nov 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

Some time ago I've went to Universal Studios Singapore and right till this very day I'm still having that lingering taste over something reallh amazing that I've tried on that day. 

It was from a kiosk located in the land of Far Far Away called Little Red's Ride. This kiosk sells finger food like corn dogs, nacho cheese and .. Smoked Turkey Leg ($12)! Gosh was this awesome! Despite the price, I got it anyway because I was kind of hungry and I was really glad! The piping hot, perfectly smoked and tendered turkey leg was so massive I had to share it with my buddy, we were both happily recharged after that!
Smoked Turkey Leg ($12)

Smoked Turkey Leg ($12)

 
If you're ever going to visit USS in the future, this is definitely a must try!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Turkey Leg
 
Spending per head: Approximately $12(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Paradise Dynasty 2 Smile Oct 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Chinese Noodles

So one evening I suddenly had this strong craving for some good Xiao Long Bao (Steamed Soup Dumpling) and then I thought of the colorful ones served at Paradise Dynasty 2. 

Before reading their menu, we've ordered some good Water Chestnut ($2.40) & Barley ($2.40) to quench our thirst. 

 


The Signature 8 Dynasty Xiao Long Bao ($14.80) is said to be their key offering in their menu. From the original (white), sze chuan (pink), ginseng (green), crabroe (orange), garlic (grey), cheese (yellow), foie gras (brown) and black truffle (black), all of them were impeccably amazing flavours containing plump meat & delicious soup beneath. My favorite will always be the black truffle and foie gras because they have left me with an unforgettable taste. 
Signature 8 Dynasty Xiao Long Bao

Signature 8 Dynasty Xiao Long Bao

 

The restaurant also offers some good noodle dishes which made me ordered the Vegetable Pork Dumpling La Mian ($8.80). It may look bland and simple but one learning point about eating, never judge before trying! I enjoyed every bit of this. 
Vegetable Pork Dumpling La Mian

Vegetable Pork Dumpling La Mian

 

My eating buddy has also ordered the Shanghai Fried Rice ($10.80) and honesty, it's really good! The rice was really fragrant and flavoured along with good waxed meat and fresh shrimp. 
Shanghai Fried Rice

Shanghai Fried Rice

 

In addition to the excellent quality food, the service here can also make your day. Despite being busy with continuous incoming customers, the staff remain efficient in refilling our drinks while always wearing their smiles. Overall experience here was awesome and I'll be definitely missing their colorful Xiao Long Bao!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Signature Xiao Long Bao,Shanghai Fried Rice
 
Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Indulge in Affordable Gourmet! Smile Dec 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Pasta

Platypus Restaurants offers some of the most diversified selection of Italian dishes. Under the Platypus group, there's multiple food concepts scattered around Singapore that caters to different customers from all walks of life with unique needs and preferences. This includes the Platypus Kitchen, Platypus Test Kitchen, Platypus Family Kitchen, Platypus Gourmet2Go as well as Platypus Dessert Bar. Its website is also very user-friendly with downloadable PDF menu and I consider this one of the many plus points as compared to many well-known brands out there.

I've visited the Platypus Kitchen outlet which is conveniently located at Bugis Junction. The exterior seemed to be beautifully designed which gives out a form of modern elegance at simplicity's best.
Platypus Kitchen

Platypus Kitchen

 
The interior was exceptionally inviting, full of warm and lovely furnishings mainly incorporating black and wooden colours in its spacious layout design. All the tabletop items such as menu and utensils were also meticulously placed with consistency.
Platypus's Interior

Platypus's Interior

 
Platypus Kitchen believes that gourmet cuisine should be affordable yet quality must not be forgone. The interior decorations are also creative and well thought of such that the entire place has already given customers some excellent impressions even before they order.
Platypus's Decor

Platypus's Decor

 
Their set lunch menu allows you to choose between hot soup or side salad along with your choice of beverages, some of which are pretty interesting. My buddy and I both went with the Roasted Pumpkin Soup, which would cost $3.90 on its own if we decide to go for ala carte. The soup was beautifully presented and were rich and full of true pumpkin taste, without any hint of unwanted preservatives. The soup alone was well-seasoned enough that we totally skipped the pepper! We also got the Mango Passion Fruit Tea (not in picture), which were very refreshing as well!
Pumpkin Soup

Pumpkin Soup

 
Everything was very efficient! The Truffle Fries ($5.90) came to our table even before we finished our soup. These thick cut fries were perfectly seasoned with white truffle oil then topped with perfectly shaved truffles, it was more than amazing! Definitely the best truffle fries I've ever had! The truffle taste were strong but not overpowering on those crispy non-oily fries. Highly recommended to order! The menu online showed that the price is $6.90 but they probably lowered the price which is great because it shows that they're definitely not those kind of restaurants that are all for profits!
Truffle Fries ($5.90)

Truffle Fries ($5.90)

 
The restaurant is especially well-known for their vast selection of fresh handmade pastas and risottos at pocket-friendly prices. One of their signature pastas, the Black & White, Scallop & Crab Pasta ($14.80), appealed to me the most in terms of colours and ingredients. This dish involves 2 kinds of pasta, for which the egg and squid-ink Tagliolini were nicely interwoven to create the attractive presentation. Generous amount of fresh crab meat, scallops and tomatoes were also included in the white wine consomme, which I find may be quite little, but from what I read from the menu, this was purposely cooked in traditional style and I could actually have asked for it to be more saucy. But ultimately, it was a really great dish and the handmade pasta were amazing! On its own, the dish cost up to $17.50 ala carte price.
Black & White, Scallop & Crab Pasta ($14.80)

Black & White, Scallop & Crab Pasta ($14.80)

 
My buddy ordered the Saffron & Caviar Risotto ($16.80) which costs up to $19.90 ala carte price. This saffron infused risotto were seasoned to perfection, not too wet nor dry. It was then topped with generous amount of fresh char-grilled prawns and scallops, finished with a good amount of caviar and fine herbs. On its own, its very aromatic and the caviar was my favourite part to mix!
Saffron & Caviar Risotto ($16.80)

Saffron & Caviar Risotto ($16.80)

 
We figured that since their appetizers and mains were so good, it would be a regretful idea to skip their desserts. So we got the Bailey's Extraordinaire ($8.90), which is basically a chilled alchol-infused mudpie served with crisp biscotti and shaved chocolate, topped with rich chocolate sauce. This was best enjoyed with the difference in textures by adding every spoon of mudpie on the biscotti to indulge. Perfect dessert makes an awesome ending!
Bailey's Extraordinaire ($8.90)

Bailey's Extraordinaire ($8.90)

 
Overall, every dish that came to our table were of top-notched quality with fresh and some organic ingredients to create unique flavours without adding any bad addictives that could make the dish unhealthy. The service at this restaurant was also flawless! Simply perfect! It could be one of the rarest service experience I've ever encountered unless you include hotels' and overseas' experiences. The waitstaff were all well-trained with great attitude and knowledge. Not forgetting the lovely ambience, Platypus Kitchen truly provides diners with experience close to perfection. Excellent thumbs up!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Bailey's Extraordinaire,Truffle Fries
 
Date of Visit: Dec 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0