OpenRice Index
  
biba8169
This is biba8169 . I like to hang out in City Hall, Tanglin, Orchard. French, Italian, Japanese, American are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café, cakes, muffins, strawberries, coffee.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review35 Review(s)
編輯推介數目17 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1001 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos158 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲50 Follower(s)
biba8169  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 35 Reviews in Singapore
Sweet buttery scone! Smile Aug 01, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery | High Tea

For a more story coverage, please visit:
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/06/sun-moulin-singapore.html

Sun Moulin - a Japanese bakery, is familiar to many. Unlike Malaysia with 3 outlets (they have a small cafe space), Singapore has only one which is housed at the basement of Isetan Scotts.

Cheddar Scone - I'd love the light cheesy flavor, not overwhelming that will weigh you down. The taste has been mild, not overly salty nor sourish (from the fermented cheese). The color is alluring, light yellowish hue; brightens up any one's afternoon. Like many Japanese bread, it has a soft texture that is slightly crusty at the top. It is unusual, not able to equate with the English scones but still, it makes a good day's snack for only S$1.40.

There are plenty in the offerings at the bakery but as I have been a regular since many years ago, my list of favorites could possibly drown you. Hence, to refrain myself from that, I urged you to drop by to try them out yourself. The mini Belgian waffles have always been my all-time-love, flavors like chocolate and green tea, had never let me down. Do not pass up on the bagels, I often go for plain ones for a nice doughy chew. Alternatively, pick up cream buns from the shelve; the cream was very velvety with the right amount of sweetness (unsure if the cream bun works? Go for a half-half variation; the same bun but it comes with half a side chocolate cream and another half with cream). The country bowl (large/small size) is another hot favorite. Occasionally, the bakery makes special buns with seasonal produce from Japan; parallel to the gourmet fair at supermarket next to it.
cheddar scone

cheddar scone

 
 
Date of Visit: Jun 26, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A good try! OK Jul 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

For a full story and more pictures, please visit:
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/07/mr-obanyaki-singapore.html

In existence for quite a while, Mr. Obanyaki has been anchoring at the basement of Takashimaya shopping mall as early as 2008. If the name doesn't ring a bell, perhaps "車輪餅" in Mandarin or "Pancake" (think of Mr. Bean's pancake) or "Imagawayaki" (thick round version)/ "Taiyaki" (fish shaped), the way the Japanese named it.

I get to choose over a few fillings; Blueberry Cheese, Chocolate Cheese, Kaya Cheese or merely red beans. And if you know me well, I can be somewhat adventurous when it comes to trying out new flavour plus I am quite a sucker for things that are rare or are made limited. This time, the small cupboard says "limited edition / New opening specials" (new openings - I figured that it has been renovated) for Azuki bean in Green Tea & Mixed dry fruits with Banana - I know I had to have.

Azuki (Red Beans) in Green Tea batter cake - you can't go wrong with the combination, seriously. For those who dislikes the bitterness in green tea, this didn't taste the slightest bit. Instead, it has a faint green tea aroma in each bite. The cake was soft and moist. It balanced up the overly sweetened azuki beans fillings, I am glad.

Limited edition's Mixed fruits with Banana version had been inferior by an inch. I should have scrutinised the display to see what kind of fruit mix they were talking about - yes, you probably have guessed it; those cherries, citrus peel, sultanas mosaic (commonly seen here - Silver Bird brand)! The batter cake had the same texture as the green tea's, of course minus the tea fragrance. Though the candied dried mix fruits were plain ordinary, the fresh banana stuffing did a good job; allowing the cake to taste starchier with that additional moisture. Unfortunately, I didn't quite like the candied mosaic.

Still, these 2 Imagawayaki did ease my mid-day hunger pangs.

 
Date of Visit: Jul 17, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

For a full coverage and pictures, please visit:
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/07/dean-deluca-singapore.html

Some New Yorkers hot-favorite, no doubt. It rocks the island the day it made its debut here, choosing to open at 8pm in the evening and attracting its fans to queue as early as 7pm for the opening special goodies bags. I wasn't one of 'em but was hoping to pay an opening visit if only they have started their business in the morning.

Didn't had a chance to drop by Orchard Central until lately. I normally wouldn't walked to the far end of Orchard Road unless there's a good reason to. And today, I had a valid one - Brunch at Dean & DeLuca.

The All-day-breakfast selection written on the blackboard was limited. I had The Belgian Stack - was dainty and makes me feel so princessy sweet. The deep waffle pockets were filled with organic maple syrup and a dollop of vanilla ice-cream. The batter cake was baked to light crisp on the outer with a rich buttery center. Served with berries and chocolate sauce - the most conventional way. I could only comment that it was overpriced given its portion. For S$21+, I could get a more hearty breakfast to fill my day.

The other breakfast I have tried - American Country Breakfast for S$22+. This was a lackluster! The most classic dish but the worst I have ever tasted. Nothing lived up to D&D's except for the pork sausage which has a blasting sausage skin and flavorful pork fillings. They failed in their scrambled eggs which was cooked dry and too coagulated. Sautéed mushroom a tad ordinary while the bacon strips were too soft and layers of fats seen 'raw' instead of charred crisp. However, the harsh brown was house-made I presumed. Unlike the mass produced 'McDonald's' version; this big mashed potato ball with bits of ham embedded, was tasteless. I only figured it out at the end of the meal, that this was the harsh brown D&D refers to, in their dish description. Was it me who's slow to find the association? Anyway, I regretted having American Country breakfast, but I wish I could have more choices when the hot-favorite Brioche French Toasts was sold out for the day.
waffle stack

waffle stack

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 15, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Enjoyable afternoon tea Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Hotel | High Tea | Brunch

For full story cover;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/brasserie-les-saveur-st-regis-singapore.html

Here, the afternoon tea is served daily, except on Sunday when they offer a Sunday Champagne Brunch. Like most tea rooms in Britain, the tea session starts from 3-5pm. At Brasserie Les Saveurs, you may opt for a normal high tea costing $56++ or a high tea that comes with a glass of Champagne at $66++.

By standard, you will be served a 3-tier afternoon tea which comprises of 2 scones (middle-tier): Plain & Cranberry topped with chopped pistachio while an assortment of savory finger sandwiches appeared on the last tier. The clotted creme and homemade strawberry conserves are served alongside on the top tier. If you dislike strawberries for any reason, you may request for other commercial fruit jams which I felt are not worth the substitution.

The scones were by far most well-deserving. The size was smaller than usual but a comparable thickness. It was very rich and buttery. Sturdy-looking yet crumbly and moist that melts in your mouth. It taste more delightful as you dabbed the fragments with clotted creme. The creme was very refreshing & not heavy. I most liked the homemade strawberry conserve and adamantly vouch for its freshness and the right amount of sweetness.

The pretty-looking strawberry puff named "Shael", was the winner among the 4. It has a spongy puff and the strawberry cream oozes out as you cut open. The cream was light and refreshing. It has a strong strawberry flavour and was sweet. The pastry looked so girly with that macron tiara!

The blueberry tea cake was second best. The highlight of the dessert was the rose-infused custard creme, ..............
Strawberry "Shael"

Strawberry "Shael"

 
Blueberry tea cake with rose-infused custard

Blueberry tea cake with rose-infused custard

 
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Picnic brunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html

I was not at all disappointed with my Classic Benedict (S$12.00). The eggs were well poached which resulted in bouncy coagulated whites & oozy yolk at each incision. The highlight of the dish is the hollandaise sauce (sprinkled in herbs & chilli pepper) which was all rich & buttery with some cheesiness in them. But it balanced well with a strong lemony flavor than was usually mild in most Eggs Benedict served in other places. A place that I feel, serves the best Eggs Benedict among those that I have consumed. It was delectably paired with Paris ham, all tender and lean while the Pique Nique's fries were thick-cut and crisp. The portion can feed 2, given the sizable English muffins which yield 1.5 times that of McDonald's. I got to share it to make rooms for dessert!

Farmer's (S$10.00) can be somewhat improve on. A serving of thick white toast (presented in halves stack on top of each other) and whipped cream spread came alongside with the greasy-looking eggs. The omelette was done up with 3 whole eggs which I thought was excessive. The egg fold has been filled with diced ingredients, reasonably seasoned; onions, bacons, potatoes, mushrooms and fewer than none sausage bits. I'd wish the omelette had been more fluffier and not overly cooked like this while the bread can be more browned. The toast didn't appear to have been exposed to any heat, still whitish but lightly crisp when touched. The portion however, fits a gentleman.

To satisfy the sweet-toothed me, I ordered the Hot Iron Waffle (S$8.50) served with maple syrup and a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream. Again, the sad-looking dough cake was squashed up in the barely breathable "Lasagne baker", almost breaking into 2. To rescue the poor soul, we have to ask for an additional side plate which turned out to be another petite "Lasagne bake" (jaw-dropping reaction, no normal plates here?), of which I labelled it a size 0 if the proper meal was served in a size 10! At last, a quarter of the waffle could now fit nicely in the size 0 dishware. The waffle tastes Belgian but not Liege. It has larger pockets but the cake has a mild taste, almost tasteless.....

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html
Classic benedict

Classic benedict

 
Hot Iron Waffle

Hot Iron Waffle

 
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0