OpenRice Index
  
Hazelleo
This is Hazelleo living in Bendemeer/Boon Keng. I work in Bugis. I like to hang out in Bugis, Raffles Place, Outram. Japanese, Korean, Multi-Cuisine are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café, Restaurant and Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi, Omakase, Desserts.
Member 38 First(s)
No. of Review260 Review(s)
編輯推介數目34 Editor's Choice
Recommended8 Recommended
Popularity2574 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos1529 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲386 Follower(s)
Hazelleo  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 260 Reviews in Singapore
Fusion Ramen  OK Jun 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

For more food reviews: http://hazeldiary.com

 

 
I decided to try Xin Hao Ramen which located at Bugis Cube for lunch with colleagues. It is located just opposite Bugis Junction mall and next to Liang Seah Street which is easily noticeable. Oh well.. It’s my first time stepping into Bugis Cube mall. Believe it or not!
Since it’s lunch time with limited time, we headed to level 3 for the ramen lunch. The menu was just outside the restaurant with the tags on respective description. It’s is quite unique as compared with other ramen stall. All prices and descriptions are stated on the wood board on the wall.
So, once you decide your choice, take the tag and proceed to the counter to make payment. They only accept cash at this moment.
I had Salted Ramen S$10.50 which is tonkotsu ramen seasoned with sea salt and grilled meat, hanjuku egg and deep fried enoki mushroom. It was nicely presented with a big bowl with the katsuobushi ( dried bonito flakes) as toppings. I personally find that the broth is clear and not too heavy taste. The grilled meat tasted like Chinese style grilled meat rather than Japanese version. Thus, do not expect to taste Japanese ramen here. It’s fusion style with Chinese taste twist in it.

 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 17, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $11(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Wholly crab feast OK Jun 01, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Seafood

For more photos and food reviews: http://hazeldiary.com

 
Since I am meeting my friend for dinner, we decided to try Wholly Crab located at Satay by the Bay which is newly opened by Felicia Chin. This is her second venture into F&B after MamaShop. Unlike the casual dinning style, she decided to have hawker-theme affordable seafood offers to customers. The location was indeed an option for the locals to head on for suppers and tourists visiting to Garden by the Bay. However, it is quite inconvenient without a car though. If you are taking a cab, do tell the driver to stop at Satay by the Bay. The cab driver who drove us there got lost and we had a small walk from Marina Barrage to Satay by the Bay.

 
The menu and dishes available are printed on the signature stall where you can easily have reference for ordering. Firstly, choose your size (S$60.00 or S$120.00), choose your choice of sauces (available in cheese, kung pow, laksa, marmite or spicy tomato) and side dishes. We decided to try marmite sauce with S$60.00 value.
The staff will serve with a bucket and pour over all of the seafoods onto our table. And the feast begins!We used our bare hands to enjoy the crabs, prawns, clams, mussels and sausages. Overall it is quite a creative way to think of having marmite sauce for the seafoods. It has a bit of sweetness and sticky after taste with the fresh seafoods. But I can only taste the sauce while licking at the seafood shells instead of the inner meats. So, it would be best to cook them a while longer to have the sauce flows in to the meat.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 25, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Italian Cuisine OK May 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Latin American/South American | Pasta

 

 
Donna Carmela is an authentic family owned Italian restaurant located in the heart of Bukit Timah. In terms of accessibility, it is best to drive if you are heading there. It is located along the shophouses within the residential area.
Donna Carmela served authentic home-style South Italian fare and the foods are prepared using traditional recipes that have been passed down for generations. The restaurant has a homely bricks interior and alfresco dinning style for outdoor settings. We decided to enjoy our dinner outdoor to get a better snap on the foods that we ordered.

 

 
Once we placed our orders, we were given a complimentary basket of breads and two sides.
Our main course was Carbonara Spaghetti S$21.00 that serves in carbonara sauce made with eggs, bacon, cream and black pepper.

 
Aragosta (Lobster) Risotto S$29.00. It has a slight taste of spiciness and sweetness flavours in it. I personally like this dish as it has the interesting combination of ingredients for the sauce to tantalize the tastebuds.

 
Lastly Quattro Formaggi pizza S$24.00. The pizza has the tomato, mozzarella, four cheeses and oregano. Dedicated thin crusted pizza where the cheeses are widely spread all over. I could taste the rich cheese flavours in it.
We also ordered a glass of house pour wine and a glass of prosecco S$12.00 each to enjoy with the foods.
Overall was a pleasant dinning experience. Lucky for us as I read online reviews about the restaurant and it was not that pleasant. I was quite skeptical initially but it was fine for us though. I felt the prices here are quite affordable for an Italian cuisine and would be a nice place for chill and relax with families and friends. That’s explain the restaurants are mostly filled with families or neighborhoods customers.
Total Bill : S$112.99 inclusive of 10% service charges and 7% GST.

For more food post: http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Aragosta (Lobster) Risotto
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 24, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice & Easy To TakeAway Dessert OK May 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

 
Whenever I heard about waffles, the image that appears in my mind is the squarish shape with ice-cream toppings or savoury items on top of it. Oh boy, this time round is different! It is served is thin long waffles stick!
Located at Basement 3 of 313 Somerset shopping mall, there is another form of waffles that think out of the box. This waffle bar is operated by a young couple, Benmin and Lynette. The waffles are categorized into “ Fruitalicious” and “ Timeless Desserts”.
The business is apparently well after office hours on last Friday when we dropped by. Since it’s freshly made upon orders, you may need to wait a while. We had Smurfy S’mores S$3.80 and Berries Delight S$3.80. Healthy fresh fruits topped with the yogurt and cream cheese frosting. But my favourite is the Smurfy S’mores. The chocolate fondue with flame-touched marshmallows and graham crumbs and not overwhelmed with the chocolate sweetness.
Real Vanilla Soft Serve S$3.00 is available with a choice of chocolate fondue, maple syrup or salted caramel sauce. You can add S$2.50 for a cup of vanilla soft serve with waffles too. We tried their vanilla soft serve with maple syrup recommended by Benmin. The soft serve doesn’t melt that fast as we took some photos before enjoying it.
If you are craving for waffles and mind your calories or easy to take away, you can give Hvala Waffles a try when you are nearby. It is convenient to enjoy while doing some window shopping too! Show some support to them and give it a try! Perhaps you might love it!

More reviews: http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smurf S'mores
 
Takeaway Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 15, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pulled Duck Burger Perks OK Mar 04, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Burgers and Sandwiches

The Betterfield Cafe is 1-week old cafe that located within a walking distance from Bugis MRT station. The cafe's not easily noticeable as the storefront is currently facing the construction and it is not at the front entrance of the road. Thus, you might to search them within Waterloo Centre.

 
The staff recommended Pulled Duck Burger S$20.00 and Secret Thai Chilli Chicken S$14.50 for our dinner. Pulled Duck Burger was served with charcoal bun, french fries and tangy sauce. The sauce is specially made-in-house recipe by the chef to enhance the flavor of the pulled duck. The duck meat was moist and tender to enjoy.

 
Secret Thai Chilli Chicken served as ala-carte in the menu list. 8 pieces of chicken with symphony of spices, coriander and thai chilli sauce. Crispy skin tasted like KFC but the difference lies in their sauce.

 
The cafe also has all day breakfast menu. Some of the customers ordered egg benedicts for dinner. I also observed orders from other tables and duck confit is also one of the well-received dish here. So, if you are dropping by, you can have choices to give it a try. All prices are in nett price.
For more food reviews, check out http://hazeldiary.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pulled Duck Burger
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0